Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Clear skin or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion

Boots Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion

Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion works to provide an instant matte complexion, reduce shine and remove excess oil.
Average Customer Rating:
4.435 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
15 out of 22(68%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Review 1 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted18 November 2010
Customer Avatar
HannaKB
The Boots Skin Clear range is the reason I now have clear skin. I have sensitive oily skin which is prone to spots/scarring and have been spotty for the past 10 or so years. About 6 months ago tried the cleaser and spot gel purely because it was on offer and I'd tried everything else and they cleared up my skin and it has stayed clear! Since then I've tried other products in the range and this moituriser is the best find, for the first time in my life my skin isn't like an oil slick within an hour of washing my face. Brilliant range which I couldn't cope without!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would buy it again

Posted01 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Lincs
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As good as the more expensive moisture creams. Not as all greasy and rubs in well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

Posted01 February 2010
Customer Avatar
Loubychew
I just discovered this after suffering from mild - moderate acne for as long as I can remember. Now I am actually seeing real results. My skin is better than it has been in a very long time. Great product. The whole range does exactly what it says on the tin!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for blackheads

Posted08 June 2010
Customer Avatar
Lolitapocket
after reading all the reviews and seeing the price, i thought i'd give it a shot, it's great for blackheads! after only two days they appear smaller, how ever I wouldn't use it on your whole face, only on the bits it needs, because it does dry your face out and I had to use a face cream afterwards
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the price

Posted30 April 2012
Customer Avatar
lauramcg17
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this as it had good ratings overall, and for the cheap price it's pretty good; obviously you can't expect stunning results with such a cheap product. Needs to be reapplied once or twice a day, but overall my face is a lot less shiny now and I wouldn't mind buying it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

Posted05 April 2010
Customer Avatar
SeeSee
Excellent product for greasy to combination skin and good value too. Reduces shine on the forhead and nose....better than ALL of the other products that I have tried on the market. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great skin

Posted12 September 2013
Customer Avatar
karens27
I've just written a longer review on the Skin clear cleansing lotion product so I'll keep this short....please if you have bad skin try this alongside the blackhead clearing cleansing lotion, my skin is the best it's been in 10 years (I'm 31 and still suffer cystic acne) and is almost completely clear! Plus it's super cheap so excellent value! I use both products at night only.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worsens the skin

Posted06 April 2012
Customer Avatar
producttesterman
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dries my skin out and dosn't moisturise the skin in the slightest. Feels very sticky and blockes poors. sensitive area around the eyes becomes red, so I looked like I had been out in the sun wearing sun glasses.
Disadvantages: made skin worse
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mattifying product I've ever used

Posted06 September 2011
Customer Avatar
kdeveuve
Age:18-24
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've tried so many different brands that have mattifying lotions, and none have ever worked, I tried this as a last resort as it was cheap.
and I've found it's amazing - it's cheap, and it works like a dream.
I can apply in the morning and in the afternoon I'm still oil free.
Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

Posted17 August 2009
Customer Avatar
Vic12
I honestly cannot believe how good value for money this moisturiser is! It's amazing! I have very oily teenage skin and I hate it because it's so shiny and embarrasing and i have been quite upset about it until I read about this in a magazine and decided to try it out, it's fabulous! It has solved my shiny skin problem and reduced the amout of breakouts in my skin! Thankyou boots skin clear! I will definately be trying the other skin clear products! Great investment 5* product! :D
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

Posted14 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Beautynovice
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have extremely oily skin and I've been searching for a product that keeps my skin looking matte. This product is a god send, I cannot believe what good value it was for something that works so well. The product spreads easily, you only need about a pea sized amount for your face, so it lasts ages. Since using it I have seen a significant reduction in the amount oil on my face. I use it everyday. Would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mattifying Lotion

Posted12 March 2010
Customer Avatar
Doow90
I have OILY skin and it shines all the time, my face is red aswell and i have lumps, this stuff is great, it feels in the lumps and reduces the shine. On top of this it provides a perfect mattifying cover to help with red or blotchy skin. So my face looks natural. I give 5 stars easily.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mattifying Lotion

Posted15 November 2011
Customer Avatar
alana25
from Glasgow
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This mattifying lotion is great, easily as good as other premium products i have used. It goes on smooth and dries in quickly. This is a good base for make up too. My husband has also been using this product and really likes it because its not powdery like other mattifying lotions can be.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good at first but...

Posted19 July 2010
Customer Avatar
liacoconut
I bought this on the strength of the reviews and at the beginning I was pleasently surprised.
It smells nice and feels good when put on. It sinks in very nicely.
It kept my oil at bay but I noticed on regular use that my skin would become oilier and oilier.
I looked at the ingredients and it contains alcohol.
Alcohol will dry out your skin, yes, which is why your skin seems less oily but when used constantly, your skin will try and make up for the driness and produce even more sebum.
That's what happened with me and thus this moisturiser really isn't working for me.
I use it every now and again but definitely not every day or even every second day.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps your skin well moisturised without becoming oily

Posted07 July 2011
Customer Avatar
lowdown
from Uk
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is fantastic. I've suffered with bad skin since the age of 13. I've used low cost brands and high street Market ones to combat my acne prone/oily skin. Tried this product recently, and wished I bought it years ago. No more oily skin & a definite improvement in my skin. I won't be buying any other moisturiser from now on. Boots, you have excelled yourself. Just brilliant!!
Advantages: no more oily skin, price
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not do what it says

Posted15 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Ireland
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
There was no instant effect and it also doesn't mention the fact you can't wear make-up because the lotion will basically rub off.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant !

Posted19 March 2010
Customer Avatar
klee1
I have tried so many different moisturisers for my skin. I got really feed up and I approached a member of staff in boots and asked for her help. She recommended this boots own product and i was so suprised. It stopped my skin being so oily immediately I would recommend to anyone with oily skin. I have since purchased the facial wipes and pads and I have thrown oput all my simple products which seemed to make it worse. Very pleased.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted25 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Lucy521
I bought this two days ago after reading the reviews and I have already seen a difference. I have very oily skin and have tried some expensive products that haven't worked. This is brilliant!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for oily skin

Posted22 July 2011
Customer Avatar
Stacey
from Manchester, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great product which doesn't leave my skin feeling greasy. The matifying effect it gives doesn't last all day (which is what I was expecting) but it does lasts for a good few hours. I wouldn't recommend it in the winter time as it doesn't moisturise much but it's a good summer moisturiser.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Skin Clear Oil Free Mattifying Lotion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatstuff

Posted07 February 2010
Customer Avatar
Muffy
This is superb. I am not a teenager but have a shiny nose and shiny forehead which make my fringe greasy. I always use a mattifier for these areas. Better than my usual Clinique pore minimiser and much cheaper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>