Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Clear skin or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Freederm Freederm Gel 10g

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

Freederm Freederm Gel 10g

Freederm Gel 10g is for the treatment of mild to moderate inflamed acne spots and pimples.
Average Customer Rating:
3.593 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
16 out of 23(70%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Freederm Gel 10g
Review 1 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not that good

Posted17 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Neks23
Gender:Female
it is truly for mild acne spots(they should have actually added very, very mild acne) because if you have regular acne and pimples like everybody else, these will not clear it up.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says on the tube

Posted11 July 2011
Customer Avatar
diaco1965
from Leeds, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am in my forties and have struggled with mild acne all my adult life. I became allergic to my prescription acne gel so I thought I'd try this.
At first I wasn't sure it was doing anything, but a couple of small tubes later I am hooked. Not a spot in sight! It is certainly worth giving a try
This item is marketed at teenagers but I would say if you like me have middle aged acne then this could be the product for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Derbyshire
Works for me too
Posted 15 March 2013
At 45 I developed mild/moderate jawline and neck acne (hormonal). Did no research on products and just picked this at random. It has worked for me. What I would say after since researching products for acne is that you have to use them for six weeks before you see any improvement - which is why people give up on them too quickly as they dont see an immediate improvement. After 1 weekIi saw a slight improvement, after 2 weeks of use, morning and night after cleansing and occasionally scrubbing prior to application I would say I have a 70% improvement and I am very pleased. At my age, with countless different product experience there is no one product that suits everyone. We have to accept that products fantastic for one will be poor for somebody else. I would say this product is great for mild acne which will work after a few weeks.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hasn't worked for me

Posted11 November 2011
Customer Avatar
bogbrush14
from York, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This product has had absolutely no effect whatsoever on my spots, I've been using it morning and night for a few days and there's just no difference!! I'm so disappointed because I've read good reviews but unfortunately it just isn't for me!
Disadvantages: useless, expensive, small tube
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

If you have sensitive skin, do not use!

Posted08 August 2012
Customer Avatar
SwiftAddict
from UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am a teenager and I first bought this product hearing relatively good things about it. However, I did not consider the fact that I have sensitive skin. I used this product daily, in the morning and in the evening. For the first 3 days, my skin started to clear up. But then, my face started to get sore, and very red, and the areas around where I had been applying were peeling as well. I had to stop using this product completely. So if you have sensitive skin, do NOT use!
Advantages: results in a few days.
Disadvantages: bad for sensitive skin.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

AWWWWYYYEEEAAAHHH.

Posted05 June 2011
Customer Avatar
BeThouMine
from UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay...so maybe that title wasn't necessary. But I've been using this for two weeks and already my spots are going. I was really worried about using it because I have dry/combination skin and this stuff says it drys out the spots. BUT IT DOESN'T DRY THE REST OF THE SKIN. YAAAAAAYYYY. The only problem is you need only a tiny bit but when you squeeze the tube LOAAADDDSSS comes out :S So it's kinda bad value too... ah well. I'm just so happy my spots are finally leaving me alone :))
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BUY THIS STUFF! AMAZING!

Posted25 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Hopee18x
from Wales
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you haven't tried Freederm Gel you seriously need to get it! I bought Freederm about two to three weeks ago and the first day I had it and put it on I could see a difference. I also have Freederm's Sensitive facial wash, I wash my face with this every morning and night and apply my Freederm Gel after. The facial wash also works very well. I don't actually get many spots but when I get a couple they are usually quite big, which can be for me quite embarrassing. I have tried lots of different spot treatments but none of them have worked but Freederm works for me! Yes it is a little bit pricey at £5.00 - £6.00 but it is TOTALLY worth it. If your a teen and want your spots gone fast and easy, BUY FREEDERM GEL! :-)
Advantages: get's rid of spots fast, get's rid of spots quickly if your off to a party, no greasy-ness after applying, doesn't bring back spots, doesn't give any redness to the skin
Disadvantages: little pricey but worth it !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This is a tricky product

Posted12 December 2012
Customer Avatar
xomittensloveox
from Scotland, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this on and off, but it' can be really tricky. It works amazingly on spots, but then again it can do absolutely nothing to them, and sometimes it can make them bigger! I had this horrible 'under the skin' spot, and it was annoying me too much so i squeezed it, i got rid of all the main stuff inside of it, but it was throbbing and it swelled up a little. I didn't want to leave it like that, so i took my Freederm gel and put about 5 layers of it on, focusing on the spot and making sure to not get it on the skin surrounding it. And over night it had reducing in size down to a little bit smaller than it's original size. So then i put some on this morning and it's now about 4pm and the spot has reduced in size by far, it's drying up and it will probably go in 1-2 days. Like i said it's tricky, but i can work.
Advantages: deduces swelling, deduces redness
Disadvantages: does nothing for spots without a head, not much in the tube, can be messy when getting it out the tube, works then stops
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miraculous!

Posted18 October 2013
Customer Avatar
jsw220167
from London
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My 14 year old son recently developed quite severe facial acne. I bought Freederm Gel for him and within a few days we saw excellent results. The spots reduced significantly virtually overnight. He says it's a bit tricky to apply but if he manages it anyone can! Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product works

Posted24 October 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
All is so good however it is tiny for the price so really not value for money
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please Persevere

Posted21 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Kayam88
from Nottingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read quite a few reviews saying that the cream didnt work for them and its a waste of money after they've only used it for a few days or a week-ish. It does state in the instructions that it takes a few weeks to start working as it helps and encourages your own natural healing process. It takes a while for your own healing process to start working properly. So you may have to buy a few tubes before you start to see a difference. But if you dont have the money then I know it'll be hard to buy it as it's very pricey and you only get a tiny bit in the tube which is the own downfall in my opinion. I use after cleansing, I wait a good few minutes for it to fully soak into the skin (it doesnt leave residue or flakiness on my skin like other people have experianced,) and then I moisturise. If I have big spots then I dont put moisturiser on them as I want the gel to competely use its full effect on them, but if I just have a few tiny ones then I put a little moisturiser over them so the gel doesnt competely dry out my skin. Im in my early 20's and have only experianced rather bad spots the past few years but for me this product is fantastic. It almost makes up for the price of the tube! Sorry this review is long but I hope it helps some of you
Advantages: actually works when you perservere, doesnt dr out my skin, doesnt flake off
Disadvantages: the price for such a small amount, the size of the tube
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

Posted07 January 2014
Customer Avatar
XEmmaX
This has helped me with my spots soo much and reduces redness overnight! No longer have to worry! (:
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Give it a chance!

Posted28 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Ss1234
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really can't recommend this enough. Having been trying to get rid of my acne for the last 8 months, this is the product that made the biggest difference. I will say that the results were not immediate though - I am on my third (25ml) tube and have been using this day and night for almost 3 months and only really saw a noticeable difference in the last few weeks. This might be to do with the fact that I was only putting the gel on my spots instead of over most of my face like I do now, but I do think you need to use the product consistently for at least a couple of months to benefit from it.
While I frequently used to get really large sore spots that would take weeks to disappear, I have now not had any new spots for the last couple of weeks and the old ones are fading fast.
If you have sore and inflamed spots I really would suggest you try this but do make sure you try it for fair bit of time to get results!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not effective

Posted15 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Worcestershire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Although you do get a lot of product in the tube, I have been using this Freederm gel for months at night after I have cleansed my face and have not seen any effect on the redness, appearance or size of my spots. It forms a gel film and just seems to sit on top of your skin not doing anything. I wish I had bought one of the face washes instead after reading the reviews. This gel is a waste of money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay!!!

Posted22 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Pinnerz28
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've been using this for ages. Like others have said, wouldn't say it does much good but for me it doesn't do bad ie give me spots either. I usually use this to try and get the redness down in new spots, but it doesn't help with fading the marks or anything. I have found that after application I cannot touch my face as it will make it 'peel' off into a white crust almost as if my skin is flaking. I am very prone to spots and have always come back to this product.
TIP: If you get a nasty spot coming use the brand of cream I've recommended in this post!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing product and value!

Posted17 October 2014
Customer Avatar
Arabella3
from Reading
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is amazing! I used it on my spots for the first time and within one hour they all disappeared it works less overtime though unfortunately! It's not great under make up either as it flakes but good for use overnight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fab!

Posted19 January 2011
Customer Avatar
Snp135
i bought this a while ago and found that it didnt work so i gave up on it, however after reading reviews of other spot treatments i found that applying a thin layer to a spot (after being cleansed) dries the yellowhead out and therfore makes it easier to pop. Once the spot has been popped if you apply a thin layer to the spot then within minutes you can feel it drying up....Its well worth the wait, you just have to persevere :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Has worked for me!

Posted24 August 2013
Customer Avatar
Lucy297
from Essex
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 20 years old, and throughout my teenage years I have been very lucky with my skin, never suffering from acne and only occasionally breaking out with the odd spot.
However, around a month or so ago, I started to get quite bad spots around my jaw line and chin. They were red and often contained a white head. As I had never suffered from this many spots before, I was starting to feel self conscious! A came across this product in boots and asked a friend of mine (who had previously suffered from acne and has tried Freederm products in the past) if Freederm was any good, and she said it was. Only being £4.99, I decided to give this product a go.
And I am so glad I did! Admittedly, I have only being using this product twice daily for around a week but I have got some pretty good results! The spots haven't gone completely, I am still left with some very faint marks on my face, but overall, the appearance and size of the spots have dramatically reduced!
The only criticism I have with this product is that it can flake. First time I used it, I applied the gel as so, and then applied my makeup. As I rubbed my foundation into my face, the gel started to flake and rub off. So I would recommend washing your face as soon as you get up, apply the gel then let it dry for 30mins-1hour before applying any makeup.
But overal I think this is a great product and would highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Perfect

Posted08 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Maymeggie
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have always had spots around my chin and forehead, not particularity bad but just always constantly mild spots and inflammation and was told it was probably hormonal so there was nothing I could do. First time I used this product I was blown away. Within a week I could see a drastic difference in the appearance of my spots and could see an improvement so quickly. At first it dries out your spots so for the first few days they may look a little worse, it's one of those things that has to get worse before it gets better, but it's totally worth it. But make sure you remember to apply it both day and night! when you stop using it, your spots come back (obviously) so you just have to keep using it. I love this product so much and wouldn't use anything else, so glad I found it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not effect at all

Posted07 January 2011
Customer Avatar
Ladm23
Unfortunately this had no effect at all on my spots. A waste of money in my view. It is also quite sticky and turns to a film when it dries which rubs off and looks crusty.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Freederm Gel 10g
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rubbish

Posted23 February 2011
Customer Avatar
sleepinginlife
from uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I tried this for one month and didn't help at all, Never will I use or buy Freederm products in future. Waste of money
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>