Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Face or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

LOreal L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer

L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer offers a comfortable, mattifying result with an anti-shine finish. Easy to apply and comfortable: the finish is beautifully matte, smooth and velvety, as if by magic!
Average Customer Rating:
2.9 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
7 out of 20(35%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Review 1 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

Posted13 August 2009
Customer Avatar
Danielle31
When I bought this product I was skeptical about whether it would do what it claimed but once I smoothed it over my make up it took the shine off instantly, which was a huge relief as I have a shine prone T zone. I haven't rated it too high as I didn't have chance to see how long the results lasted for but I would definately buy this product again =D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

does what it says on the bottle

Posted27 July 2009
Customer Avatar
chelle
I'll admit I bought this on an impulse, purely because it was on offer - however, I'm so glad I did!
I've always had problems with very oily skin, especially over my nose and forehead. My foundation is forever splitting and I'm having to reapply powder throughout the day.
First day I used this, I was flabbergasted! (ha) It had been 5 hours.. My makeup hadn't split.. There was no shine, just a healthy glow. By about 9 hours I started to notice the shine, but it was so minimal & my foundation hadn't split at all.
Now a permanent fixture in my make up bag & I'm recommending it to everyone!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Studio Secrets primer

Posted08 July 2009
Customer Avatar
Stillshiny1
Very disappointing. I had high expectations of this but it made no difference at all. No less shine and certainly no difference to the look of the finished make up
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not The Biggest Fan

Posted21 September 2009
Customer Avatar
Sapphy
Although i think this product isn't 'bad', i don't think it's particularly great either. Personally, i found the consistency of the product to be both heavy and greasy on the skin, causing a bit of a breakout. I didn't find it to be particularly anti-shine either. I much prefer L'oreal's re-surfacing primer to keep my t-zone oil free as well as smooth (although it is two pounds more). Although i do think this product is better packaged, i would definatly go for the potted primer.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but not perfect

Posted20 October 2009
Customer Avatar
Daffy02
Bought this as I have a very oily t-zone and wear mineral make up, which means by the time I get home the make up has 'melted' away. Agree with previous reviews, I still need to re-touch my make up in the afternoon but my face is not half as shiny as before. Plus make up stays on and looks fresh. It's a 20ml tube but I think it will last me a while.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BRILLIANT!

Posted10 January 2010
Customer Avatar
PeskyP
I have oily skin and find my face becomes shiny very quickly and my makeup looks rubbish a few hours after I have put it on. This primer is amazing. When I put it on before my make-up, my make-up stays where it is for HOURS and my face stays looking matt for HOURS longer than it used to. This product will now be a staple in my make-up bag. I hope they never discontinue it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

small bottle of magic

Posted25 February 2010
Customer Avatar
MakeupFreak
this is a good product at a fab price of only 9.99
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i use this product everyday

Posted20 March 2010
Customer Avatar
Beth150691
it works so well, i have quite oily skin so my makeup can often come off and my skin goes shiny but this stops shine completly.
it lays such a nice base for foundation to be applied on top, it makes my skin much smoother
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointing

Posted22 March 2010
Customer Avatar
Amybear
I tried this product both with and without make-up on top: it did nothing to reduce shine or help my make-up last longer.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

On the fence

Posted11 April 2010
Customer Avatar
reviewer1982
I'm completely on the fence over this product. I bought it after reading some excellent reviews. I have a shiny (but not majorly oily) t-zone and would love to find a product that worked. Upon initial application this does take SOME shine away but definitely doesn't eliminate it (I use foundation and powder to do that).
I don't really believe I had to touch up my powder any less whilst using this product than without. So, having said that, would I buy it again? No. Obviously works for some, hence some excellent reviews. Buy if you have the spare cash but prepare to be disappointed.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Mattifying, really??

Posted29 April 2010
Customer Avatar
Megan121
Judging by the reviews already for this product it either works for you or it doesn't. Unfortunately for me, it doesn't. When I apply even the tiniest amount it makes my skin feel very slippery, but not in a smooth way. With this product on my face feels as if there is about a weeks build up of oil slicked across it, which is understandably not exactly the look I am going for! Admittedly it does after a few minutes, sink in slightly however there is no oil control at all, and I feel my make up lasts longer without it.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great :]

Posted17 April 2010
Customer Avatar
ellieliner
I bought this afew week ago, and in my opinion it work really well. I noticed before, when I came home from School, I'd have smile lines, and lines around my nose where my foundation had creased, but when I started using this primer underneath, I found that I don't have that problem anymore. My makeup also applies on alot smoother and stays looking fresh. I do touch up afew times during the day, but I don't necessarily have to. The only down side is that it can make your pores look bigger, and more noticable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No difference

Posted18 September 2010
Customer Avatar
yaksha87
It doesnt make any difference as i get a oily t-zone esp. on the sides of my nose couple of hours later!! waste of money really...
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good, just not great

Posted19 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
it works instantly, as soon as you rub it in any shine instantly is covered.
however it isn't very long lasting, id say about 4 hours tops.
healthier for your skin than using foundation to cover, but a LOT more expensive than foundation.
also bottle is alot smaller than expected
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

Posted12 November 2010
Customer Avatar
jaz198
I normally use Makeup Forevers HD Primer but they'd ran out so I got this instead. It works really well on my VERY oily skin. There was only very little shine on my t - zone after six hours ! Would buy again :)
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps the shine away

Posted01 December 2010
Customer Avatar
daisyduck1976
I wasn't convinved that this would work but it does. I have combination skin. I use this on my forehead and my nose and it keeps the shine away for most of the day. I would have to re-do my make-up for the evening, but then who wouldn't?
It's the best primer that I have tried for oily skin so far.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Made no difference - disappointed

Posted17 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Poorvi
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I bought this thinking that it would help me mattify the shine I get on my face but it didnt work.
It felt greasy on my skin and I wasted money by buying it.
Totally disappointed
Disadvantages: made no difference, felt greasy on skin
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless Buy

Posted19 March 2012
Customer Avatar
rusha77
Didn't deliver as promised...The product made the skin look really dry initially instead of mattifying . Changed the Foundation colour outcome. Didn't work for me.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good mattifying gel

Posted16 April 2013
Customer Avatar
hzxboots
from London
Age:18-24
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This primer is practically pure silicone fluid. It fills in any enlarged pores you may have, creating a smooth canvas on which to apply make-up if you so choose. Feels lightweight and breathable on top of the skin.
Does extend the wear of make-up when compared to application on bare skin. However, what I like to do is just dab the transluscent, odourless gel over the face for touch-ups. Absolutely great absorbing action! It magically replaces shine and sweat with matte and hydrated skin without ruining your painstakingly-applied make-up. Also great for sebum control.
Comes in a 20ml pump tube with a clear plastic cap. It's convenient for camera-ready partying, or in the middle of a work day, or after a workout. One hygienic pump dispenses enough product for the T-zone and then some. Lasts a few hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Anti-Shine Mattifying Primer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the best

Posted10 April 2013
Customer Avatar
medusaqueen
from Dublin, Ireland
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been using this for a year or so now, and have to say, although it is light and non-greasy going on, it doesn't stop shine very long. After 2 hours my nose is extremely shiny, and forehead and cheeks near my nose soon follow. I have combination skin, with a not overly oily T-zone, very shiny, and I was hoping this would solve my chine problems. I guess you get what you pay for as they say :-(
Advantages: feels non-greasy
Disadvantages: doesn't stop shine for very long
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.