Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +

Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +

Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener + lightens your hair by 4 to 6 levels. Enriched with avocado oil, Nutrisse Crème nourishes hair as it lightens giving radiant, long-lasting blonde colour.
Average Customer Rating:
3.359 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
13
30 out of 49(61%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Review 1 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Used this over hair that has been coloured lots previously

Posted15 March 2013
Customer Avatar
tilley2904
from Nottingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this product today to pre lighten ready to dye a blonde colour. My hair has been dyed many times and at least twice so far this year (both permanent) Its turned my hair a golden blonde colour with some orangey parts underneath. So it has done what it says it will do.
Can't understand that people on here are moaning about it turning their hair yellow or orange. Maybe you should read up on hair colouring & the process of lightening hair at home before buying a product on the high street and expecting a £70 salon job.
Grab a blue or violet shampoo & conditioner and a toner or permanent dye & you'll be fine.
Would recommend & definitely use again :)
Advantages: goes over coloured hair, good value, plenty of product
Disadvantages: smells strong
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works but very brassy

Posted10 September 2013
Customer Avatar
Mikaela1991
I already had brassy blonde hair which I had been toning for weeks, I did hope this product would lighten the brassy parts but I actually think it's made them darker. However, it has lightened the other areas and especially my brown roots, it turned them to a light blonde to match the other areas and now looks very even, if not brassy blonde again.
Pros - doesn't smell nasty, hasn't damaged my hair, does lighten, hair feels good
Cons- so much brass!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful Do NOT buy!

Posted28 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Summer212
from Liverpool
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So i bought this today and I had light brown hair with dark blonde highlights... Now I have orange/yellow hair with brown patches EVERYWHERE!
I was expecting miricals but i was not expecting this, I would say use before you dye your hair to make it light enough, but just prepare for the orangeness!!
Disadvantages: yellow/orange hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant product

Posted14 April 2011
Customer Avatar
angelove11
from uk
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannot rate this product enough i have tried all the rest and found the best it works every time as my root growth in five week period my root growth would be at least 3 inch.It covers well lovely smell and it leaves my hair silky soft.I cannot rate this product highly enough
Advantages: very reasonable
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth it

Posted22 January 2010
Customer Avatar
stace22
i used this product and its terrible my hair is bright orange dry and tangled, im also now having to run to the hairdressers and pay 87pound for it to be sorted honestly think is it worth using i would recommend going to hairdressers so your not left upset.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What to expect when using this dye.

Posted22 April 2013
Customer Avatar
chelseaaax16
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this dye as a pre-lightener like the box recommends its use for. I was a dark brown/black colour and I used this on my hair to lighten it. Like using any lightener the hair will always have some brassy/orange tones and this is just something you always have to deal with when dying your hair a lighter colour. The colour came out really light as I hoped it would (a sort of mustard colour) I then used a provoke purple toning shampoo to take out brassiness and dyed over with an ash blonde. My hair is still in really good condition and looks exactly how I wanted, I would recommend this product if you are familiar with dying your hair to lighter colours.
Advantages: good value for your money, easy to apply, not too drying on the hair
Disadvantages: creates orange tones as all prelighteners do
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect product

Posted01 December 2014
Customer Avatar
KimMichelleCharlie
from Surrey
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you have mucked up your hair colour at home and have got to that point where you are scared what to do next, then this product will take you back to square one to start again. It removes all previous colour applied, although please do bear in mind that I'm already a mid blond, so I can't speak for those going from a really dark colour to blond.
I had tried all kinds of blondes and practically none of them came out as shown 'on the tin' so to speak. Then I realised that if I wanted to go lighter than my natural mid blond, I'd have to lighten first but was scared of my hair turning green (that has happened to be before!). This took away all colour and although I was left with a 'blank canvass' I could then choose the colour I wanted to then apply, taking that decision very seriously under consideration.
I would recommend this product to someone who has done the same as me. I've put uses product as never, as in never before, but I will do again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy enough if you do your homework!

Posted24 February 2011
Customer Avatar
MsCClarkson
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
Okay, so there's mixed reviews about this product making brown/dark hair yellow/ginger/orange. I have literally dyed black hair and for safety was only going to dip the ends of my hair, so if worse came to worse I could always get it chopped off.
You need to do your homework, i would assume the people who complain of orange/yellow hair, didn't read up on the colour change and what's to be expected. I did a quick internet search to familiarise myself with the process. I am in no way a hairdresser or even close to it! Though I decided to do it to save cost and to the fact my hairdresser came up with worse results on tests and wanted to charge over £200 for the pleasure. But PLEASE remember i was happy to risk it and i'm comfortable with my skills, wouldn't recommend to everyone to go about it like this!However..
The mixture WILL make your hair go orange at first, however anyone will tell you this is natural. I left it on for 1.5 hours, I don't suggest this for many people as my hairs thick and can handle it. Then deeply conditioned and left it a day.
Then i applied a completely new bottle of lightener, and left that for 1.5 again, making my hair yellow. Again I was okay with it as I was expecting this.
I then left it a week, layed off the straighteners and conditioned. I then applied it once more for barely an hour and went a more lighter yellow. I then applied Nutirsse in Praline i think, from the blonde radiant range, it's like a honey blonde over it, and it worked and made my hair in better condition and a lovely natural colour. You will need some sort of permanent dye in a lighter shade of your choice over the top, otherwise it's too brassy and unnatural looking and in places uneven on its own.
I agree with the comment below, if you want to change your hair so radically, you have to be prepared to wait and be patient.
It's a long and and time consuming task, but worth it if you stick to it.
Tips: Cut a strand of hair from deep under your hair and secure with tape. Mix a sample size (According to the ratio of bottle size /satchet sizes,) in a plastic bowl a sample amount of the bleach and apply. Keep doing this, so you can see the results.
Have inc. a picture of the finished results!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
Garnier Nutrisse 7.31 radiant blonde
 
 
 
 
 
+27points
28of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

brilliant!

Posted17 April 2012
Customer Avatar
tamara1988
from northants
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this to strip colour from my hair because I wanted to go blonde, but my hair was bright bright red. had been using red dye for 6-8months before
I bought and used 2 packs (using 2 sachets of lightener each time)
First time my hair tuned very pale orange, 2nd time was blonde with orange hint. I put a blonde dye over the top (but chose the wrong shade so it looks brassy, am currently searching for a new shade of blonde to fix this)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst thing to ever put in your hair!

Posted20 July 2011
Customer Avatar
holyzoe
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My hair was coloured a redish bron but had faded a bit and my roots were very fair so I decided to try to go blonder. My hair ended up with patches of blonde near the roots which faded to bright orange on the top of my head. The rest of my hair was a light brown with some lighter streaks. Straight after i coloured my hair back to the original colour which thankfully rescued my hair from the worst colour i have ever seen... Pretty much a rubbish product and does not do what it claims to on the box! Although if you want bright orange hair with white blonde roots this is the best thing for the job...
Disadvantages: extremely patchy
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
5of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Need to be prepared for this!

Posted01 January 2011
Customer Avatar
elichaf
I guess it did do what it said, which was to remove previous dyes. I'm a natural med brown, dyed my hair an arrange of colours, with recently a dark brown/black. Used this and my hair was pure ginger, with the exception of yellow roots. Easily solved by dying over it - now have beautiful chestnut hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, even colour!

Posted24 April 2012
Customer Avatar
chlolo
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I did a lot of research about pre lightening my own hair and didn't expect it to go as well as it did!
This product didn't burn or itch at all and left my hair once light brown hair a pale yellow, which I then dyed over with the colour I wanted. I'd put it on your roots earlier than the box says though as mine were still dark and I had to go over them again.
It smells awful but I didn't expect it to smell nice as it's such a strong product and also the application was pretty difficult, even with a friend helping me - you wouldn't be able to do this alone unless you have short hair - as it it gets really claggy and sort of sticks together.
The colour this leaves is too brassy to have on it's own if you've dyed it from any darker than blonde. After washing out and putting the conditioner on, my hair was really soft, although my hair was in really good condition anyway.
Advantages: even colour, soft hair
Disadvantages: difficult to apply, smells bad
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awfull hair product

Posted03 January 2010
Customer Avatar
Catherine89
I died my coloured dark blonde hair with this hair dye to try and make it lighter. It turned it orange, patchy, tacky and repulsive. Do not buy this product!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
1of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

use this as preparation for dying your hair lighter

Posted23 October 2011
Customer Avatar
pinkandpurpleocean
from wales
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
it's a pre-lightener - buy with another box of blonde dye that you can put on your hair after.
sometimes causes hair to go orange/white/yellow in places.
it says to wait 2 weeks before dying over it, but i've used it to pre-lighten my hair, then used a really light blonde on-top straight after and it hasn't been a problem.
use on it's own and it probably won't give you the result you want, but as a pre-lightener and then blonde on-top, the result is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

Posted05 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
i used this product for the 1st time today i got two boxes as with other brands leaves my hair yellow/ginger and frazzled. This is the only pre lightner i have found that can remove other hair colours with out damaging my hair. used one box with both sachets on a deep purple lifted very well left a slightly yellow tinge but toner will fix that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not very happy, actually.

Posted09 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I did a fair bit of research into how to get my hair from dark reddy-brown to blonde, and decided to buy a colour remover, this product, and blonde hair dye.
The colour remover was brilliant and got my hair to a slightly orangey-yellow, and then when I put this stuff on my hair turned bright orange with white-blonde roots, even though I followed the instructions very very carefully.
So yeah, pretty grumpy now, to be honest.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jrddd
 
Please wait while more information about jrddd is loaded.
Additional information about jrddd could not be loaded.
Posted 07 March 2012
Yes but this is a pre lightener, not a blonde dye...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great result on dark blonde roots going lighter

Posted20 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reading some of the reviews on here, I felt the need to write one. This is a GOOD product if used for the right purposes. I've got naturally dark blonde hair and use this pre-lightener on my roots only to get them a nice blonde which I can then use a dye all over my hair for an even cool blonde colour.
So if you are like me and just looking to go a few shades of blonde lighter, this is perfect. 1 sachet and 25minutes!
Advantages: great colour, good result, easy to use
Disadvantages: need to use for right purpose! lightening!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

does what it says

Posted21 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cupcakesss
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
so ive used this product twice on my hair in a few days and it does get colour out of your hair, for those complaining that it has made their hair ginger/yellow, if you put it on dark hair of course its going to make it that colour! it can only lighten your hair so much! Im trying to go blonde and after the second application have bright yellow roots and the rest of my hair (where there is a colour build up) is orange, im doing another application in a few days just on my ends and then im outting dye over it, so if your hair is orange just deep condition and re apply the lightener in a few days then dye on top :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does exactly what is says

Posted16 December 2012
Customer Avatar
nicolapee
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This did exactly what I was expecting it to do after reading the other reviews. Yes, my hair went a little bit yellow, but dyeing from dark to light will almost always have this effect.
I dyed over my lightened hair, which if anything made my hair worse, but the product did exactly what it said it would, it lightened my hair significantly.
The product is quite hard to apply as it turns your hair very stiff and is hard to apply evenly, so ask someone to help if you can. I would use this again as I know it will do exactly what it says.
Advantages: does what it says
Disadvantages: hard to apply
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

be careful

Posted22 May 2010
Customer Avatar
isabellj
i've used this product before, so that i could go from black hair to bright red, and it did what i wanted it to do, which was lighten it, but the thing is, you have to follow the instructions to the word, so don't put it on your roots first, don't rub it in, smooth it over your hair, and then do your roots for about 10 minutes. it will go ginger the first time you do it, unless you leave it on for an hour or two which i don't reccomend. it does go dry at first, but that's what the conditioner is for and condition it twice afterwards. if you want bright blonde hair use two of these boxes.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>