Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +

Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +

Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener + lightens your hair by 4 to 6 levels. Enriched with avocado oil, Nutrisse Crème nourishes hair as it lightens giving radiant, long-lasting blonde colour.
Average Customer Rating:
3.359 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
13
30 out of 49(61%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Review 1 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

its worth a try

Posted04 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Abibroom
Age:18-24
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i used this product on my dyed black hair my natural hair colour is a dark blonde but i had been dyeing it black for about 5 years. i put this on and after an hour my hair had gone orange with white roots, which i was actually ok with as at least it was a change from black.i waited a month with orange hair and used a second one on my hair and it is still orange but is alot lighter. i have found that blonde dyes over it just fade on my hair, but im pleased with the product overall as i saw a lot of change from black to orange is alot in an hour. i will be using it again in a couple of weeks time. this product takes patience and be prepared to be orange but worth it if u actually want to see a change, plus it left my hair so soft and shiny not dry at all.
Advantages: does lighten your hair colour
Disadvantages: possible orange hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Used this over hair that has been coloured lots previously

Posted15 March 2013
Customer Avatar
tilley2904
from Nottingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this product today to pre lighten ready to dye a blonde colour. My hair has been dyed many times and at least twice so far this year (both permanent) Its turned my hair a golden blonde colour with some orangey parts underneath. So it has done what it says it will do.
Can't understand that people on here are moaning about it turning their hair yellow or orange. Maybe you should read up on hair colouring & the process of lightening hair at home before buying a product on the high street and expecting a £70 salon job.
Grab a blue or violet shampoo & conditioner and a toner or permanent dye & you'll be fine.
Would recommend & definitely use again :)
Advantages: goes over coloured hair, good value, plenty of product
Disadvantages: smells strong
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its for virgin hair not coloured!!

Posted30 August 2011
Customer Avatar
dejabrew
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
girls please !! I've read couple of reviews suggestion that their hair went orange , patchy etc... This product is not for colored hair. I've done the same mistake with this pre lightener , I had red hair it was pretty faded away so I decided to go blonde , my roots was absolutely fine it was shiny blonde , but my mid-part and my ends were bright orange .. So I had to dye my hair dark again . But now I've learned my lesson I'm growing my hair , as this product is NOT for colored hair, its for virgin/natural hair.
Advantages: does what it says
Disadvantages: not for colored hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
15of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

did not work!!!

Posted28 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from derby
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this lightener did not even work on me so i am very disappointed with it as it has so many great reviews! i know i did it properly because i have been dying my hair for 6 years. my hair is dyed black and it only seems to have made the top of my hair lighter, a browny gingery, where it was already lighter from the colour b4. the rest of my hair has stayed the same. nothing seems to be getting rid of the black!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You Need Experience To Get The Best Results

Posted07 March 2015
Customer Avatar
RawrImBecca
Reading all of these reviews were driving me crazy. I'm not going to claim this product is the dogs bollocks, but no-one can expect this product to do miracles.
You can't dye your hair from black to a perfect honey blonde just with this product.. It takes time, money and effort. I'm about to go blonde for the third time, and unlike every other time, Now I know what I'm doing.
I suggest if you are going to use this product, you also buy a permanent blonde hair dye.
Toners & Blonde shampoo and conditioners. (These brands work well for me; Touch Of Silver, Lee Stafford Bleach Blondes) are the secret to getting out all of the orangey canary tones. They wont all disappear at once, although gradually you will see a change.
For the record, I have shoulder length curly hair. I've dyed my hair over 20 times in the past 5 years. (Not the healthiest I know, but it hasn't fallen out yet)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

NOT for blonde miracles!! ALWAYS strand test!

Posted05 June 2012
Customer Avatar
Louisa1992
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Im not really one for writting reviews, but after seeing other contrasting reviews i thought i would add my input.:) really hope it helps!!
Im currently a dyed dark brown and decided i wanted a more lighter brown/caramel colour with highlights for the summer. As i have very dark brow hair i was terrifed i would end up with a mixtuer of yellow and orange hair and decided i would be sensible and do a srand test first! to aviod disaster. I used the Garnier pre- lightner for 40 mins, following the application instrustions to the letter, the result was a light brown/dark blond. I had no intentions that the pre-lightner would bring my hair out perfect, i only used it as a means to strip the dark coulor, i also bought Garniers hair coulor in 5.3 golden brown. The pre-lightner suggest to leave your hair 2 weeks untill puting a coulor on your pre-lighned hair, for me i decided this was just to long to wait! so again i used my pre lightend strand and coulored it with my hair dye. the stand came out perfect and i decided to proceed with no worries that i would end up orange. i decided to proceed and left the pre lightner on my hair for 55 minuets, the result was ginger, but after the hair dye i ended up with a light brown.
I also bought a deep conditioner as im well aware hair dye and pre lightning is damaging. my hair was already in tip top condition. but i would always recommend a deep hair mask.
I also suggest not using this for blond miracles!! its a pre lightner and not great if you want to go ultra blond. I would defiinitely recomend a normal hair dye to go over your pre lightend hair.
ALWAYS do a strand test! it saves having a disastrous hair dye incident!
hope this helps =)
Advantages: dose what it says on the box- pre lightens
Disadvantages: i dont think you will achine the coulor on the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
Garnier Nutrisse Cream Permanent Colour
3.4 out of 5(47)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works but very brassy

Posted10 September 2013
Customer Avatar
Mikaela1991
I already had brassy blonde hair which I had been toning for weeks, I did hope this product would lighten the brassy parts but I actually think it's made them darker. However, it has lightened the other areas and especially my brown roots, it turned them to a light blonde to match the other areas and now looks very even, if not brassy blonde again.
Pros - doesn't smell nasty, hasn't damaged my hair, does lighten, hair feels good
Cons- so much brass!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful Do NOT buy!

Posted28 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Summer212
from Liverpool
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So i bought this today and I had light brown hair with dark blonde highlights... Now I have orange/yellow hair with brown patches EVERYWHERE!
I was expecting miricals but i was not expecting this, I would say use before you dye your hair to make it light enough, but just prepare for the orangeness!!
Disadvantages: yellow/orange hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant product

Posted14 April 2011
Customer Avatar
angelove11
from uk
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannot rate this product enough i have tried all the rest and found the best it works every time as my root growth in five week period my root growth would be at least 3 inch.It covers well lovely smell and it leaves my hair silky soft.I cannot rate this product highly enough
Advantages: very reasonable
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth it

Posted22 January 2010
Customer Avatar
stace22
i used this product and its terrible my hair is bright orange dry and tangled, im also now having to run to the hairdressers and pay 87pound for it to be sorted honestly think is it worth using i would recommend going to hairdressers so your not left upset.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not the best for dyed hair, but does what is says

Posted28 April 2012
Customer Avatar
thegingerlady
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read a lot of reviews, good and bad, before deciding to use this product. I had been dying my hair ginger (not red, like an orange-y colour) for a few years and decided to go back to blonde for the summer. I had previously been using a loreal colour called 'mango' or something.
I found the pre-lightener really easy to mix and apply, obviously it has a strong smell as its a bleach but it didn't irritate my skin at all. It was thicker than a normal home hair colourant but I still got a good even coverage.
The mistake I made was applying the product to all of my hair at once. I had a good inch or so of roots and although I left the product on for the full hour, using 2 sachets of the powder as recommended, when I rinsed my hair I ended up with yellowish roots and pale orange lengths.
I attempted to dye over this right away with a light blonde garnier nutrisse colour, which made no difference at all, my hair looked exactly the same. The next morning I dashed to town and bought a dark blonde colour, loreal in 'florida honey'. The result is that now I have a pretty strawberry blonde colour, kind of like Amy Adams. I'm happy with it for now, however this is not what I set out to achieve, and I'll probably end up spending more money trying to go blonder.
This product worked a treat on my naturally mousy brown roots, but I would recommend being really careful using on coloured hair, you will probably need 2 applications, or you might need to leave it on longer than an hour. The product did not dry my hair out, but I only used it once, and I used a deep conditioner afterwards.
Overall a good product if used correctly. Its not meant as a dye so don't expect a lovely blonde colour using this alone, you will need to follow up with a proper dye.
Advantages: easy home application
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i use this all the time

Posted15 July 2009
Customer Avatar
GaleXX
i have used this product for years - it's REALLY strong so be careful with it - it works so quickly you literally have to time it by the minute. and it does dry your hair so make sure you rinse it all out thoroughly (i shampoo twice with moisturising shampoo afterwards) and condition regularly and thoroughly too. gives you seriously blonde hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What to expect when using this dye.

Posted22 April 2013
Customer Avatar
chelseaaax16
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this dye as a pre-lightener like the box recommends its use for. I was a dark brown/black colour and I used this on my hair to lighten it. Like using any lightener the hair will always have some brassy/orange tones and this is just something you always have to deal with when dying your hair a lighter colour. The colour came out really light as I hoped it would (a sort of mustard colour) I then used a provoke purple toning shampoo to take out brassiness and dyed over with an ash blonde. My hair is still in really good condition and looks exactly how I wanted, I would recommend this product if you are familiar with dying your hair to lighter colours.
Advantages: good value for your money, easy to apply, not too drying on the hair
Disadvantages: creates orange tones as all prelighteners do
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect product

Posted01 December 2014
Customer Avatar
KimMichelleCharlie
from Surrey
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you have mucked up your hair colour at home and have got to that point where you are scared what to do next, then this product will take you back to square one to start again. It removes all previous colour applied, although please do bear in mind that I'm already a mid blond, so I can't speak for those going from a really dark colour to blond.
I had tried all kinds of blondes and practically none of them came out as shown 'on the tin' so to speak. Then I realised that if I wanted to go lighter than my natural mid blond, I'd have to lighten first but was scared of my hair turning green (that has happened to be before!). This took away all colour and although I was left with a 'blank canvass' I could then choose the colour I wanted to then apply, taking that decision very seriously under consideration.
I would recommend this product to someone who has done the same as me. I've put uses product as never, as in never before, but I will do again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy enough if you do your homework!

Posted24 February 2011
Customer Avatar
MsCClarkson
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
Okay, so there's mixed reviews about this product making brown/dark hair yellow/ginger/orange. I have literally dyed black hair and for safety was only going to dip the ends of my hair, so if worse came to worse I could always get it chopped off.
You need to do your homework, i would assume the people who complain of orange/yellow hair, didn't read up on the colour change and what's to be expected. I did a quick internet search to familiarise myself with the process. I am in no way a hairdresser or even close to it! Though I decided to do it to save cost and to the fact my hairdresser came up with worse results on tests and wanted to charge over £200 for the pleasure. But PLEASE remember i was happy to risk it and i'm comfortable with my skills, wouldn't recommend to everyone to go about it like this!However..
The mixture WILL make your hair go orange at first, however anyone will tell you this is natural. I left it on for 1.5 hours, I don't suggest this for many people as my hairs thick and can handle it. Then deeply conditioned and left it a day.
Then i applied a completely new bottle of lightener, and left that for 1.5 again, making my hair yellow. Again I was okay with it as I was expecting this.
I then left it a week, layed off the straighteners and conditioned. I then applied it once more for barely an hour and went a more lighter yellow. I then applied Nutirsse in Praline i think, from the blonde radiant range, it's like a honey blonde over it, and it worked and made my hair in better condition and a lovely natural colour. You will need some sort of permanent dye in a lighter shade of your choice over the top, otherwise it's too brassy and unnatural looking and in places uneven on its own.
I agree with the comment below, if you want to change your hair so radically, you have to be prepared to wait and be patient.
It's a long and and time consuming task, but worth it if you stick to it.
Tips: Cut a strand of hair from deep under your hair and secure with tape. Mix a sample size (According to the ratio of bottle size /satchet sizes,) in a plastic bowl a sample amount of the bleach and apply. Keep doing this, so you can see the results.
Have inc. a picture of the finished results!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
Garnier Nutrisse 7.31 radiant blonde
 
 
 
 
 
+27points
28of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bottle bleach available

Posted04 May 2013
Customer Avatar
same
from Widnes
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used this several times in the summer and was extremely pleased with the results. It was effective on my dark, stubbornly coloured regrowth and had a much greater lightening effect than other bottle bleaches that I've tried in the past like Live XXL, with far less damage. If you are looking to lighten your hair dramatically without spending £50 at the salon or having to buy big bottles of developer and bleach powder then this is the best product to use - just remember to use a purple toner if you want to stay blonde.
Advantages: fairly cheap, little damage, very effective
Disadvantages: not quite as strong as professional products
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked a treat

Posted23 March 2012
Customer Avatar
Nicola238
from Chester-le-Street
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I started with dark brown hair, which had been dyed multiple times. I stripped it with Colour B4 and it went a golden brown/gingery colour. After 2 sets of highlights the rest of my golden brown/gingery colour was not lifting. So I bought this. I applied it to my ends first for 20 mins and my roots for 20 mins (uning 2 sachets) - NOTE it is very claggy and sticky so don't attempt to comb your hair, it was really hard - But when i rinsed it, my hair was ultra light on the roots (ive got natural dirty brown hair) quite yellowish, then orangy on the ends. But the golden brown/gingery colour was gone. I used Lee Strafford Bleach Blondes shampoo, then dyed it Garnier Baby Blonde and its a lovely colour. Only a few brassy ends, which im hoping the Purple shampoo will cure. Overall a really good product i will buy again to lighten my roots before colouring :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL :|

Posted01 May 2010
Customer Avatar
peanuts9144
I'm sitting here, almost in tears. My hair is a red colour from previous dye, and I wanted to go blonde for the summer.
So I decided to buy this product to 'pre-lighten' to reduce the chance of it going bright ginger.
I use almost the whole bottle (which I hardly ever do) repeatedly going over my hair again and again taking me about half an hour to put on. I leave it for another 20 mins, and then wash it out.
I look in the mirror and I have bright blonde/yellow roots with the rest of my hair still red completely unchanged.
I do not recommend this product to anyone, not even worth 1*.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

brilliant!

Posted17 April 2012
Customer Avatar
tamara1988
from northants
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this to strip colour from my hair because I wanted to go blonde, but my hair was bright bright red. had been using red dye for 6-8months before
I bought and used 2 packs (using 2 sachets of lightener each time)
First time my hair tuned very pale orange, 2nd time was blonde with orange hint. I put a blonde dye over the top (but chose the wrong shade so it looks brassy, am currently searching for a new shade of blonde to fix this)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for dip dye

Posted10 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Buckinghamshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this product instead of bleach to use on the ends of my hair when I dip dyed it pink, purple, blue and turquoise. My hair is light brown/dark blonde and needed to lighten the ends of my hair for my dip dye to work, which is what the product did. Left it on for 20 minutes and it went light blonde and did the job perfectly. I will be using this again when I dip dye again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>