Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +

Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +

Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener + lightens your hair by 4 to 6 levels. Enriched with avocado oil, Nutrisse Crème nourishes hair as it lightens giving radiant, long-lasting blonde colour.
Average Customer Rating:
3.389 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
13
30 out of 49(61%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Review 1 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

Posted05 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
i used this product for the 1st time today i got two boxes as with other brands leaves my hair yellow/ginger and frazzled. This is the only pre lightner i have found that can remove other hair colours with out damaging my hair. used one box with both sachets on a deep purple lifted very well left a slightly yellow tinge but toner will fix that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

use this as preparation for dying your hair lighter

Posted23 October 2011
Customer Avatar
pinkandpurpleocean
from wales
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
it's a pre-lightener - buy with another box of blonde dye that you can put on your hair after.
sometimes causes hair to go orange/white/yellow in places.
it says to wait 2 weeks before dying over it, but i've used it to pre-lighten my hair, then used a really light blonde on-top straight after and it hasn't been a problem.
use on it's own and it probably won't give you the result you want, but as a pre-lightener and then blonde on-top, the result is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not very happy, actually.

Posted09 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I did a fair bit of research into how to get my hair from dark reddy-brown to blonde, and decided to buy a colour remover, this product, and blonde hair dye.
The colour remover was brilliant and got my hair to a slightly orangey-yellow, and then when I put this stuff on my hair turned bright orange with white-blonde roots, even though I followed the instructions very very carefully.
So yeah, pretty grumpy now, to be honest.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jrddd
 
Please wait while more information about jrddd is loaded.
Additional information about jrddd could not be loaded.
Posted 07 March 2012
Yes but this is a pre lightener, not a blonde dye...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great result on dark blonde roots going lighter

Posted20 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reading some of the reviews on here, I felt the need to write one. This is a GOOD product if used for the right purposes. I've got naturally dark blonde hair and use this pre-lightener on my roots only to get them a nice blonde which I can then use a dye all over my hair for an even cool blonde colour.
So if you are like me and just looking to go a few shades of blonde lighter, this is perfect. 1 sachet and 25minutes!
Advantages: great colour, good result, easy to use
Disadvantages: need to use for right purpose! lightening!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

does what it says

Posted21 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cupcakesss
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
so ive used this product twice on my hair in a few days and it does get colour out of your hair, for those complaining that it has made their hair ginger/yellow, if you put it on dark hair of course its going to make it that colour! it can only lighten your hair so much! Im trying to go blonde and after the second application have bright yellow roots and the rest of my hair (where there is a colour build up) is orange, im doing another application in a few days just on my ends and then im outting dye over it, so if your hair is orange just deep condition and re apply the lightener in a few days then dye on top :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does exactly what is says

Posted16 December 2012
Customer Avatar
nicolapee
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This did exactly what I was expecting it to do after reading the other reviews. Yes, my hair went a little bit yellow, but dyeing from dark to light will almost always have this effect.
I dyed over my lightened hair, which if anything made my hair worse, but the product did exactly what it said it would, it lightened my hair significantly.
The product is quite hard to apply as it turns your hair very stiff and is hard to apply evenly, so ask someone to help if you can. I would use this again as I know it will do exactly what it says.
Advantages: does what it says
Disadvantages: hard to apply
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

be careful

Posted22 May 2010
Customer Avatar
isabellj
i've used this product before, so that i could go from black hair to bright red, and it did what i wanted it to do, which was lighten it, but the thing is, you have to follow the instructions to the word, so don't put it on your roots first, don't rub it in, smooth it over your hair, and then do your roots for about 10 minutes. it will go ginger the first time you do it, unless you leave it on for an hour or two which i don't reccomend. it does go dry at first, but that's what the conditioner is for and condition it twice afterwards. if you want bright blonde hair use two of these boxes.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

never using this again

Posted17 April 2011
Customer Avatar
LILME
from dalington
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bought this pre lightener hoping it would make my hair blonder, it left my hair in different shade and patchy. i had light brown hair now it is, orange and yellow. now i am hoping that my hair dye will solve this.
never going to buy this again. doesnt really deserver 1 star
Disadvantages: leaves your hair looking unnatural, looks a yellow and orange colour after using it
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the patient and daring!

Posted15 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from South Yorkshire, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Before I used this product I had used a colour remover to lift the semi-permanent black hair dye from my naturally brown hair. Although it lifted quite a lot of the colour, it did not make my hair as light as I wished, therefore I purchased this pre-lightener. My friend helped me apply it and after the first application I had yellow roots and ginger/brown lengths. After my second application (in which I avoided application to my roots) I still had yellow roots but my hair was orange. I have now dyed my hair using an ash toned blonde and it has left my hair lighter and there are less orange/ginger tones apparent.
If you are attempting to lift colour as I did, please be aware that there is a large chance that your hair will go through a ginger/yellow stage first and therefore will need 2 or even 3 boxes of the product. It isn't recommended to use them one after the other as I myself did, but I was willing to take the risk, yet with the conditioner which came with the product my hair is now shiny and soft.
I'd make sure you have a coloured dye ready to apply after the lightening process as the hair is left patchy and uneven (as with my yellow roots and ginger lengths).
All in all a brilliant product, yet you must be daring and ready for your hair to go ginger/yellow.
Advantages: easy to apply non-drip, conditioner included
Disadvantages: long development time, leaves hair uneven
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great

Posted05 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Calcifer3
I used this on my hair after dyeing my hair several colours (red, black, green and brown) and it worked amazing in taking the previous dye out of my hair (which i think was because it was a nutrisse dye). However, my roots werent exactly the same colour which i think was because the previous hair had been bleached before to get it green and they turned a yellow/orange colour. I do recommend this product if you have already used a nutrisse dye and want a lighter colour but i dont recommend it for a final step and i think you should dye your hair afterwards because it can leave your hair an uneven colour especially at the roots. Also, it does leave your hair feeling dry and less shiny looking but i dyed my hair a grey/brown colour a few days after and after a few washes my hair is back to the way it was (shiny and soft). Hope this helped.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for lightening dark hair

Posted08 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from sheffield uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my hair was the darkest brown, ive dyed my hair loads of times before, and i wanted to dye it blonde so i bought two boxes of this product, after i used the first one my hair was ginger with blonde roots, as i expected, so i then applied another, i left them both on for an hour, the second dye really lifted the ginger but there was still the odd bits in there so i purchased another and applied it a few days later and it left my hair really blonde with yellow tones so i bought a blonde hair dye to even it out and now i am left with a gorgous blonde, this product didnt leave my dry or damaged and i was really impressed with how soft my hair felt after all the dying, the only thing i dont like is the smell of this product is really strong, but it does its job really happy!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible.

Posted09 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Zoeee30
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i used this a few years ago on my already dark blonde hair. it turned out yellow - like nicotine yellow. it was horrible and also made my hair feel so dry. seriously never use this! Go to a salon instead!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

As expected

Posted04 May 2011
Customer Avatar
dolly37
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My hair is naturally very dark blonde, lightened to a paler shade and for the past couple of months i've been using Casting Creme Gloss in Berry Red to make a change from the light blonde/dark blonde root growth scenario! The summer weather arrived and I wanted to go blonde again so bought this product to strip the Creme Gloss colour. Dreadful to apply (compared to Creme Gloss) as it needs to be applied to dry hair...it's a thick substance even when mixed so trying to apply it to bone dry hair evenly was difficult. End result was as I expected, if not a little better....red colour was gone and I was left with a mid-blonde - although lighter at the roots and then a tiny bit yellow/ginger in places. After reading reviews I had both a Garnier Nutrisse permanent blonde colour at the ready, plus another trusty Casting Creme Gloss blonde colour. Applied the Nutrisse blonde first as I thought it would 'take' better....I was very wrong!! It was a nightmare to apply and made no difference whatsoever - in fact the colour was worse than before! Applied good old Creme Gloss on top and hey presto, a lovely blonde colour!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

its worth a try

Posted04 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Abibroom
Age:18-24
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i used this product on my dyed black hair my natural hair colour is a dark blonde but i had been dyeing it black for about 5 years. i put this on and after an hour my hair had gone orange with white roots, which i was actually ok with as at least it was a change from black.i waited a month with orange hair and used a second one on my hair and it is still orange but is alot lighter. i have found that blonde dyes over it just fade on my hair, but im pleased with the product overall as i saw a lot of change from black to orange is alot in an hour. i will be using it again in a couple of weeks time. this product takes patience and be prepared to be orange but worth it if u actually want to see a change, plus it left my hair so soft and shiny not dry at all.
Advantages: does lighten your hair colour
Disadvantages: possible orange hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i love it!!!

Posted30 July 2015
Customer Avatar
huamde
from Estonia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this ptoduct very good ..you may qweckly change your style.thruly blonde. thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its for virgin hair not coloured!!

Posted30 August 2011
Customer Avatar
dejabrew
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
girls please !! I've read couple of reviews suggestion that their hair went orange , patchy etc... This product is not for colored hair. I've done the same mistake with this pre lightener , I had red hair it was pretty faded away so I decided to go blonde , my roots was absolutely fine it was shiny blonde , but my mid-part and my ends were bright orange .. So I had to dye my hair dark again . But now I've learned my lesson I'm growing my hair , as this product is NOT for colored hair, its for virgin/natural hair.
Advantages: does what it says
Disadvantages: not for colored hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
15of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

did not work!!!

Posted28 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from derby
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this lightener did not even work on me so i am very disappointed with it as it has so many great reviews! i know i did it properly because i have been dying my hair for 6 years. my hair is dyed black and it only seems to have made the top of my hair lighter, a browny gingery, where it was already lighter from the colour b4. the rest of my hair has stayed the same. nothing seems to be getting rid of the black!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

NOT for blonde miracles!! ALWAYS strand test!

Posted05 June 2012
Customer Avatar
Louisa1992
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Im not really one for writting reviews, but after seeing other contrasting reviews i thought i would add my input.:) really hope it helps!!
Im currently a dyed dark brown and decided i wanted a more lighter brown/caramel colour with highlights for the summer. As i have very dark brow hair i was terrifed i would end up with a mixtuer of yellow and orange hair and decided i would be sensible and do a srand test first! to aviod disaster. I used the Garnier pre- lightner for 40 mins, following the application instrustions to the letter, the result was a light brown/dark blond. I had no intentions that the pre-lightner would bring my hair out perfect, i only used it as a means to strip the dark coulor, i also bought Garniers hair coulor in 5.3 golden brown. The pre-lightner suggest to leave your hair 2 weeks untill puting a coulor on your pre-lighned hair, for me i decided this was just to long to wait! so again i used my pre lightend strand and coulored it with my hair dye. the stand came out perfect and i decided to proceed with no worries that i would end up orange. i decided to proceed and left the pre lightner on my hair for 55 minuets, the result was ginger, but after the hair dye i ended up with a light brown.
I also bought a deep conditioner as im well aware hair dye and pre lightning is damaging. my hair was already in tip top condition. but i would always recommend a deep hair mask.
I also suggest not using this for blond miracles!! its a pre lightner and not great if you want to go ultra blond. I would defiinitely recomend a normal hair dye to go over your pre lightend hair.
ALWAYS do a strand test! it saves having a disastrous hair dye incident!
hope this helps =)
Advantages: dose what it says on the box- pre lightens
Disadvantages: i dont think you will achine the coulor on the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
Garnier Nutrisse Cream Permanent Colour
3.3 out of 5(48)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You Need Experience To Get The Best Results

Posted07 March 2015
Customer Avatar
RawrImBecca
Reading all of these reviews were driving me crazy. I'm not going to claim this product is the dogs bollocks, but no-one can expect this product to do miracles.
You can't dye your hair from black to a perfect honey blonde just with this product.. It takes time, money and effort. I'm about to go blonde for the third time, and unlike every other time, Now I know what I'm doing.
I suggest if you are going to use this product, you also buy a permanent blonde hair dye.
Toners & Blonde shampoo and conditioners. (These brands work well for me; Touch Of Silver, Lee Stafford Bleach Blondes) are the secret to getting out all of the orangey canary tones. They wont all disappear at once, although gradually you will see a change.
For the record, I have shoulder length curly hair. I've dyed my hair over 20 times in the past 5 years. (Not the healthiest I know, but it hasn't fallen out yet)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not the best for dyed hair, but does what is says

Posted28 April 2012
Customer Avatar
thegingerlady
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read a lot of reviews, good and bad, before deciding to use this product. I had been dying my hair ginger (not red, like an orange-y colour) for a few years and decided to go back to blonde for the summer. I had previously been using a loreal colour called 'mango' or something.
I found the pre-lightener really easy to mix and apply, obviously it has a strong smell as its a bleach but it didn't irritate my skin at all. It was thicker than a normal home hair colourant but I still got a good even coverage.
The mistake I made was applying the product to all of my hair at once. I had a good inch or so of roots and although I left the product on for the full hour, using 2 sachets of the powder as recommended, when I rinsed my hair I ended up with yellowish roots and pale orange lengths.
I attempted to dye over this right away with a light blonde garnier nutrisse colour, which made no difference at all, my hair looked exactly the same. The next morning I dashed to town and bought a dark blonde colour, loreal in 'florida honey'. The result is that now I have a pretty strawberry blonde colour, kind of like Amy Adams. I'm happy with it for now, however this is not what I set out to achieve, and I'll probably end up spending more money trying to go blonder.
This product worked a treat on my naturally mousy brown roots, but I would recommend being really careful using on coloured hair, you will probably need 2 applications, or you might need to leave it on longer than an hour. The product did not dry my hair out, but I only used it once, and I used a deep conditioner afterwards.
Overall a good product if used correctly. Its not meant as a dye so don't expect a lovely blonde colour using this alone, you will need to follow up with a proper dye.
Advantages: easy home application
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>