Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +

Garnier Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +

Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener + lightens your hair by 4 to 6 levels. Enriched with avocado oil, Nutrisse Crème nourishes hair as it lightens giving radiant, long-lasting blonde colour.
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
13
30 out of 49(61%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Review 1 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Used this over hair that has been coloured lots previously

Posted15 March 2013
Customer Avatar
tilley2904
from Nottingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this product today to pre lighten ready to dye a blonde colour. My hair has been dyed many times and at least twice so far this year (both permanent) Its turned my hair a golden blonde colour with some orangey parts underneath. So it has done what it says it will do.
Can't understand that people on here are moaning about it turning their hair yellow or orange. Maybe you should read up on hair colouring & the process of lightening hair at home before buying a product on the high street and expecting a £70 salon job.
Grab a blue or violet shampoo & conditioner and a toner or permanent dye & you'll be fine.
Would recommend & definitely use again :)
Advantages: goes over coloured hair, good value, plenty of product
Disadvantages: smells strong
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works but very brassy

Posted10 September 2013
Customer Avatar
Mikaela1991
I already had brassy blonde hair which I had been toning for weeks, I did hope this product would lighten the brassy parts but I actually think it's made them darker. However, it has lightened the other areas and especially my brown roots, it turned them to a light blonde to match the other areas and now looks very even, if not brassy blonde again.
Pros - doesn't smell nasty, hasn't damaged my hair, does lighten, hair feels good
Cons- so much brass!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant product

Posted14 April 2011
Customer Avatar
angelove11
from uk
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannot rate this product enough i have tried all the rest and found the best it works every time as my root growth in five week period my root growth would be at least 3 inch.It covers well lovely smell and it leaves my hair silky soft.I cannot rate this product highly enough
Advantages: very reasonable
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What to expect when using this dye.

Posted22 April 2013
Customer Avatar
chelseaaax16
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this dye as a pre-lightener like the box recommends its use for. I was a dark brown/black colour and I used this on my hair to lighten it. Like using any lightener the hair will always have some brassy/orange tones and this is just something you always have to deal with when dying your hair a lighter colour. The colour came out really light as I hoped it would (a sort of mustard colour) I then used a provoke purple toning shampoo to take out brassiness and dyed over with an ash blonde. My hair is still in really good condition and looks exactly how I wanted, I would recommend this product if you are familiar with dying your hair to lighter colours.
Advantages: good value for your money, easy to apply, not too drying on the hair
Disadvantages: creates orange tones as all prelighteners do
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy enough if you do your homework!

Posted24 February 2011
Customer Avatar
MsCClarkson
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
Okay, so there's mixed reviews about this product making brown/dark hair yellow/ginger/orange. I have literally dyed black hair and for safety was only going to dip the ends of my hair, so if worse came to worse I could always get it chopped off.
You need to do your homework, i would assume the people who complain of orange/yellow hair, didn't read up on the colour change and what's to be expected. I did a quick internet search to familiarise myself with the process. I am in no way a hairdresser or even close to it! Though I decided to do it to save cost and to the fact my hairdresser came up with worse results on tests and wanted to charge over £200 for the pleasure. But PLEASE remember i was happy to risk it and i'm comfortable with my skills, wouldn't recommend to everyone to go about it like this!However..
The mixture WILL make your hair go orange at first, however anyone will tell you this is natural. I left it on for 1.5 hours, I don't suggest this for many people as my hairs thick and can handle it. Then deeply conditioned and left it a day.
Then i applied a completely new bottle of lightener, and left that for 1.5 again, making my hair yellow. Again I was okay with it as I was expecting this.
I then left it a week, layed off the straighteners and conditioned. I then applied it once more for barely an hour and went a more lighter yellow. I then applied Nutirsse in Praline i think, from the blonde radiant range, it's like a honey blonde over it, and it worked and made my hair in better condition and a lovely natural colour. You will need some sort of permanent dye in a lighter shade of your choice over the top, otherwise it's too brassy and unnatural looking and in places uneven on its own.
I agree with the comment below, if you want to change your hair so radically, you have to be prepared to wait and be patient.
It's a long and and time consuming task, but worth it if you stick to it.
Tips: Cut a strand of hair from deep under your hair and secure with tape. Mix a sample size (According to the ratio of bottle size /satchet sizes,) in a plastic bowl a sample amount of the bleach and apply. Keep doing this, so you can see the results.
Have inc. a picture of the finished results!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
Garnier Nutrisse 7.31 radiant blonde
 
 
 
 
 
+28points
29of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

brilliant!

Posted17 April 2012
Customer Avatar
tamara1988
from northants
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this to strip colour from my hair because I wanted to go blonde, but my hair was bright bright red. had been using red dye for 6-8months before
I bought and used 2 packs (using 2 sachets of lightener each time)
First time my hair tuned very pale orange, 2nd time was blonde with orange hint. I put a blonde dye over the top (but chose the wrong shade so it looks brassy, am currently searching for a new shade of blonde to fix this)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Need to be prepared for this!

Posted01 January 2011
Customer Avatar
elichaf
I guess it did do what it said, which was to remove previous dyes. I'm a natural med brown, dyed my hair an arrange of colours, with recently a dark brown/black. Used this and my hair was pure ginger, with the exception of yellow roots. Easily solved by dying over it - now have beautiful chestnut hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awfull hair product

Posted03 January 2010
Customer Avatar
Catherine89
I died my coloured dark blonde hair with this hair dye to try and make it lighter. It turned it orange, patchy, tacky and repulsive. Do not buy this product!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
1of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

use this as preparation for dying your hair lighter

Posted23 October 2011
Customer Avatar
pinkandpurpleocean
from wales
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
it's a pre-lightener - buy with another box of blonde dye that you can put on your hair after.
sometimes causes hair to go orange/white/yellow in places.
it says to wait 2 weeks before dying over it, but i've used it to pre-lighten my hair, then used a really light blonde on-top straight after and it hasn't been a problem.
use on it's own and it probably won't give you the result you want, but as a pre-lightener and then blonde on-top, the result is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great result on dark blonde roots going lighter

Posted20 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reading some of the reviews on here, I felt the need to write one. This is a GOOD product if used for the right purposes. I've got naturally dark blonde hair and use this pre-lightener on my roots only to get them a nice blonde which I can then use a dye all over my hair for an even cool blonde colour.
So if you are like me and just looking to go a few shades of blonde lighter, this is perfect. 1 sachet and 25minutes!
Advantages: great colour, good result, easy to use
Disadvantages: need to use for right purpose! lightening!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

does what it says

Posted21 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cupcakesss
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
so ive used this product twice on my hair in a few days and it does get colour out of your hair, for those complaining that it has made their hair ginger/yellow, if you put it on dark hair of course its going to make it that colour! it can only lighten your hair so much! Im trying to go blonde and after the second application have bright yellow roots and the rest of my hair (where there is a colour build up) is orange, im doing another application in a few days just on my ends and then im outting dye over it, so if your hair is orange just deep condition and re apply the lightener in a few days then dye on top :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

never using this again

Posted17 April 2011
Customer Avatar
LILME
from dalington
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bought this pre lightener hoping it would make my hair blonder, it left my hair in different shade and patchy. i had light brown hair now it is, orange and yellow. now i am hoping that my hair dye will solve this.
never going to buy this again. doesnt really deserver 1 star
Disadvantages: leaves your hair looking unnatural, looks a yellow and orange colour after using it
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the patient and daring!

Posted15 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from South Yorkshire, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Before I used this product I had used a colour remover to lift the semi-permanent black hair dye from my naturally brown hair. Although it lifted quite a lot of the colour, it did not make my hair as light as I wished, therefore I purchased this pre-lightener. My friend helped me apply it and after the first application I had yellow roots and ginger/brown lengths. After my second application (in which I avoided application to my roots) I still had yellow roots but my hair was orange. I have now dyed my hair using an ash toned blonde and it has left my hair lighter and there are less orange/ginger tones apparent.
If you are attempting to lift colour as I did, please be aware that there is a large chance that your hair will go through a ginger/yellow stage first and therefore will need 2 or even 3 boxes of the product. It isn't recommended to use them one after the other as I myself did, but I was willing to take the risk, yet with the conditioner which came with the product my hair is now shiny and soft.
I'd make sure you have a coloured dye ready to apply after the lightening process as the hair is left patchy and uneven (as with my yellow roots and ginger lengths).
All in all a brilliant product, yet you must be daring and ready for your hair to go ginger/yellow.
Advantages: easy to apply non-drip, conditioner included
Disadvantages: long development time, leaves hair uneven
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible.

Posted09 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Zoeee30
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i used this a few years ago on my already dark blonde hair. it turned out yellow - like nicotine yellow. it was horrible and also made my hair feel so dry. seriously never use this! Go to a salon instead!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i love it!!!

Posted30 July 2015
Customer Avatar
huamde
from Estonia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this ptoduct very good ..you may qweckly change your style.thruly blonde. thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its for virgin hair not coloured!!

Posted30 August 2011
Customer Avatar
dejabrew
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
girls please !! I've read couple of reviews suggestion that their hair went orange , patchy etc... This product is not for colored hair. I've done the same mistake with this pre lightener , I had red hair it was pretty faded away so I decided to go blonde , my roots was absolutely fine it was shiny blonde , but my mid-part and my ends were bright orange .. So I had to dye my hair dark again . But now I've learned my lesson I'm growing my hair , as this product is NOT for colored hair, its for virgin/natural hair.
Advantages: does what it says
Disadvantages: not for colored hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
15of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

did not work!!!

Posted28 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from derby
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this lightener did not even work on me so i am very disappointed with it as it has so many great reviews! i know i did it properly because i have been dying my hair for 6 years. my hair is dyed black and it only seems to have made the top of my hair lighter, a browny gingery, where it was already lighter from the colour b4. the rest of my hair has stayed the same. nothing seems to be getting rid of the black!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You Need Experience To Get The Best Results

Posted07 March 2015
Customer Avatar
RawrImBecca
Reading all of these reviews were driving me crazy. I'm not going to claim this product is the dogs bollocks, but no-one can expect this product to do miracles.
You can't dye your hair from black to a perfect honey blonde just with this product.. It takes time, money and effort. I'm about to go blonde for the third time, and unlike every other time, Now I know what I'm doing.
I suggest if you are going to use this product, you also buy a permanent blonde hair dye.
Toners & Blonde shampoo and conditioners. (These brands work well for me; Touch Of Silver, Lee Stafford Bleach Blondes) are the secret to getting out all of the orangey canary tones. They wont all disappear at once, although gradually you will see a change.
For the record, I have shoulder length curly hair. I've dyed my hair over 20 times in the past 5 years. (Not the healthiest I know, but it hasn't fallen out yet)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not the best for dyed hair, but does what is says

Posted28 April 2012
Customer Avatar
thegingerlady
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read a lot of reviews, good and bad, before deciding to use this product. I had been dying my hair ginger (not red, like an orange-y colour) for a few years and decided to go back to blonde for the summer. I had previously been using a loreal colour called 'mango' or something.
I found the pre-lightener really easy to mix and apply, obviously it has a strong smell as its a bleach but it didn't irritate my skin at all. It was thicker than a normal home hair colourant but I still got a good even coverage.
The mistake I made was applying the product to all of my hair at once. I had a good inch or so of roots and although I left the product on for the full hour, using 2 sachets of the powder as recommended, when I rinsed my hair I ended up with yellowish roots and pale orange lengths.
I attempted to dye over this right away with a light blonde garnier nutrisse colour, which made no difference at all, my hair looked exactly the same. The next morning I dashed to town and bought a dark blonde colour, loreal in 'florida honey'. The result is that now I have a pretty strawberry blonde colour, kind of like Amy Adams. I'm happy with it for now, however this is not what I set out to achieve, and I'll probably end up spending more money trying to go blonder.
This product worked a treat on my naturally mousy brown roots, but I would recommend being really careful using on coloured hair, you will probably need 2 applications, or you might need to leave it on longer than an hour. The product did not dry my hair out, but I only used it once, and I used a deep conditioner afterwards.
Overall a good product if used correctly. Its not meant as a dye so don't expect a lovely blonde colour using this alone, you will need to follow up with a proper dye.
Advantages: easy home application
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garnier Nutrisse Truly Blonde Crème Pre-Lightener +
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bottle bleach available

Posted04 May 2013
Customer Avatar
same
from Widnes
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used this several times in the summer and was extremely pleased with the results. It was effective on my dark, stubbornly coloured regrowth and had a much greater lightening effect than other bottle bleaches that I've tried in the past like Live XXL, with far less damage. If you are looking to lighten your hair dramatically without spending £50 at the salon or having to buy big bottles of developer and bleach powder then this is the best product to use - just remember to use a purple toner if you want to stay blonde.
Advantages: fairly cheap, little damage, very effective
Disadvantages: not quite as strong as professional products
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>