Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener

Garnier Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener

Garnier Nutrisse Pre-Lightener Crème lightens your hair by 4 to 6 levels. Enriched with avocado oil, Nutrisse Crème nourishes hair as it lightens giving radiant, long-lasting blonde colour.
Average Customer Rating:
3.34 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
13
30 out of 49(61%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Review 1 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

Posted05 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
i used this product for the 1st time today i got two boxes as with other brands leaves my hair yellow/ginger and frazzled. This is the only pre lightner i have found that can remove other hair colours with out damaging my hair. used one box with both sachets on a deep purple lifted very well left a slightly yellow tinge but toner will fix that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Need to be prepared for this!

Posted01 January 2011
Customer Avatar
elichaf
I guess it did do what it said, which was to remove previous dyes. I'm a natural med brown, dyed my hair an arrange of colours, with recently a dark brown/black. Used this and my hair was pure ginger, with the exception of yellow roots. Easily solved by dying over it - now have beautiful chestnut hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Its a pre-lighner

Posted16 January 2011
Customer Avatar
nono5
I have a natural light/medium brown hair coloured caramel followed by dark brown then temporary black and I am intending to go light ash brown for summer with lighter highlights. its difficult to get a proper ash unless hair is lightned first and most red/orange tones are reduced. I plan to use this before colouring. I am no hair expert but I always get complements for my hair which I do myself and sometimes with a sisters or a friends help..I guess from the pack it doesn't need a genius to figure that this product should be followed be a chosen colour. So for all those negative reviews...get yourself a bit of knowledge before using any product....It says on the pack its a pre-lightner and a pre-lightner it should be. The process might need to be repeated...Personally I guess I need to repeat it three times maximum. I will post a review after trying the product. I have no doubt about it.
By the way..its better to always clarify the hair from build up of styling products to get the best result out of any product...that's what salons and professionals do for the extra money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does as it says.

Posted23 January 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Turned my dark brown hair to ginger but when i went to dye it light brown the colour didn't take as it was non-permenant. I recommend using a permanent dye after using this product to get a lighter shade.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic for highlighting

Posted11 February 2011
Customer Avatar
herdon
from London
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am no hairdresser but I used a highlighting cap and then put this product on for half an hour - my hair looks amazing and it has saved me a fortune! My hair is dark so half an hour just lightened it enough to look subtle but with the highlights (or perhaps they should be called low lights) definitely showing. I didn't colour my hair on this occasion - just used this to lighten my natural hair - but If I use it with colour I either leave it on for longer before colouring, or put it on for half an hour after colouring. I don't know if this is how a professional would do it but it works for me. Brilliant product!
Advantages: so cheap!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EmmaLemma
Surrey
 
Please wait while more information about EmmaLemma is loaded.
Additional information about EmmaLemma could not be loaded.
Which ash blonde dye did you use?
Posted 29 May 2014
Like you i also striped my old colour but it left me with orange hair! I was hoping this product would get rid of the orange so I could dye it a more natural shade but now my roots are bleach blonde and the rest of my hair is pale orange. What brand of ash blonde did you use? I did a strand test with ‘nice and easy perfect 10’ but it hasn’t made much of a difference so I’m thinking about buying another box of pre-lightener.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

does what it says

Posted21 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cupcakesss
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
so ive used this product twice on my hair in a few days and it does get colour out of your hair, for those complaining that it has made their hair ginger/yellow, if you put it on dark hair of course its going to make it that colour! it can only lighten your hair so much! Im trying to go blonde and after the second application have bright yellow roots and the rest of my hair (where there is a colour build up) is orange, im doing another application in a few days just on my ends and then im outting dye over it, so if your hair is orange just deep condition and re apply the lightener in a few days then dye on top :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the patient and daring!

Posted15 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from South Yorkshire, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Before I used this product I had used a colour remover to lift the semi-permanent black hair dye from my naturally brown hair. Although it lifted quite a lot of the colour, it did not make my hair as light as I wished, therefore I purchased this pre-lightener. My friend helped me apply it and after the first application I had yellow roots and ginger/brown lengths. After my second application (in which I avoided application to my roots) I still had yellow roots but my hair was orange. I have now dyed my hair using an ash toned blonde and it has left my hair lighter and there are less orange/ginger tones apparent.
If you are attempting to lift colour as I did, please be aware that there is a large chance that your hair will go through a ginger/yellow stage first and therefore will need 2 or even 3 boxes of the product. It isn't recommended to use them one after the other as I myself did, but I was willing to take the risk, yet with the conditioner which came with the product my hair is now shiny and soft.
I'd make sure you have a coloured dye ready to apply after the lightening process as the hair is left patchy and uneven (as with my yellow roots and ginger lengths).
All in all a brilliant product, yet you must be daring and ready for your hair to go ginger/yellow.
Advantages: easy to apply non-drip, conditioner included
Disadvantages: long development time, leaves hair uneven
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

READ IF YOU HAVE DARK HAIR

Posted14 February 2011
Customer Avatar
demz1234
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i can never be bothered to write things about products because im one of the lazyest people in the world but i feel i have to so every one knows if you have dark hair and dont want it anymore u dont have to , i naturally have shade 2 ( darkest brown) as im mixed race its nearly black i baufght this product because i watched review on youtube i was scared as i have darkest hair , i died my hair black for soem reason and hated it but this on and it took it to no word of a lie , a goldy light brown colour my hair felt fine after like id not died it , since then iv used this after dying my hair dark brown to its natural colour to get it lightest brown i only used it once and it was light enuf to make my hair light brown/dark blonde if u hsve dark hair like me dont be afraid to use this is megga amazing i had dark brown and ill put a pic on this to show u it now after this one pre lightner lighest brown normal dye then highlites
+21points
28of 35voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

As expected

Posted04 May 2011
Customer Avatar
dolly37
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My hair is naturally very dark blonde, lightened to a paler shade and for the past couple of months i've been using Casting Creme Gloss in Berry Red to make a change from the light blonde/dark blonde root growth scenario! The summer weather arrived and I wanted to go blonde again so bought this product to strip the Creme Gloss colour. Dreadful to apply (compared to Creme Gloss) as it needs to be applied to dry hair...it's a thick substance even when mixed so trying to apply it to bone dry hair evenly was difficult. End result was as I expected, if not a little better....red colour was gone and I was left with a mid-blonde - although lighter at the roots and then a tiny bit yellow/ginger in places. After reading reviews I had both a Garnier Nutrisse permanent blonde colour at the ready, plus another trusty Casting Creme Gloss blonde colour. Applied the Nutrisse blonde first as I thought it would 'take' better....I was very wrong!! It was a nightmare to apply and made no difference whatsoever - in fact the colour was worse than before! Applied good old Creme Gloss on top and hey presto, a lovely blonde colour!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome!!!!

Posted11 June 2011
Customer Avatar
theyellowmarshmallow1989
from birmingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st time i tried this product so i was a bit apprehensive i only used one sachet and left for 20mins i used it on medium brown hair the end result was great came out a beautiful light blonde. My hair feels silky soft and smells great.
Advantages: great smell, leaves hair silky soft
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for lightening dark hair

Posted08 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from sheffield uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my hair was the darkest brown, ive dyed my hair loads of times before, and i wanted to dye it blonde so i bought two boxes of this product, after i used the first one my hair was ginger with blonde roots, as i expected, so i then applied another, i left them both on for an hour, the second dye really lifted the ginger but there was still the odd bits in there so i purchased another and applied it a few days later and it left my hair really blonde with yellow tones so i bought a blonde hair dye to even it out and now i am left with a gorgous blonde, this product didnt leave my dry or damaged and i was really impressed with how soft my hair felt after all the dying, the only thing i dont like is the smell of this product is really strong, but it does its job really happy!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst thing to ever put in your hair!

Posted20 July 2011
Customer Avatar
holyzoe
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My hair was coloured a redish bron but had faded a bit and my roots were very fair so I decided to try to go blonder. My hair ended up with patches of blonde near the roots which faded to bright orange on the top of my head. The rest of my hair was a light brown with some lighter streaks. Straight after i coloured my hair back to the original colour which thankfully rescued my hair from the worst colour i have ever seen... Pretty much a rubbish product and does not do what it claims to on the box! Although if you want bright orange hair with white blonde roots this is the best thing for the job...
Disadvantages: extremely patchy
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
5of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant product

Posted14 April 2011
Customer Avatar
angelove11
from uk
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannot rate this product enough i have tried all the rest and found the best it works every time as my root growth in five week period my root growth would be at least 3 inch.It covers well lovely smell and it leaves my hair silky soft.I cannot rate this product highly enough
Advantages: very reasonable
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

destructive

Posted26 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel2410
from taunton
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It is terrible. It destroyed my hair. It was patchy and a terrible colour. Stay way away from this product. This has put me off home colouring for life. This is horrific
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its for virgin hair not coloured!!

Posted30 August 2011
Customer Avatar
dejabrew
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
girls please !! I've read couple of reviews suggestion that their hair went orange , patchy etc... This product is not for colored hair. I've done the same mistake with this pre lightener , I had red hair it was pretty faded away so I decided to go blonde , my roots was absolutely fine it was shiny blonde , but my mid-part and my ends were bright orange .. So I had to dye my hair dark again . But now I've learned my lesson I'm growing my hair , as this product is NOT for colored hair, its for virgin/natural hair.
Advantages: does what it says
Disadvantages: not for colored hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
15of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

use this as preparation for dying your hair lighter

Posted23 October 2011
Customer Avatar
pinkandpurpleocean
from wales
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
it's a pre-lightener - buy with another box of blonde dye that you can put on your hair after.
sometimes causes hair to go orange/white/yellow in places.
it says to wait 2 weeks before dying over it, but i've used it to pre-lighten my hair, then used a really light blonde on-top straight after and it hasn't been a problem.
use on it's own and it probably won't give you the result you want, but as a pre-lightener and then blonde on-top, the result is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great result on dark blonde roots going lighter

Posted20 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reading some of the reviews on here, I felt the need to write one. This is a GOOD product if used for the right purposes. I've got naturally dark blonde hair and use this pre-lightener on my roots only to get them a nice blonde which I can then use a dye all over my hair for an even cool blonde colour.
So if you are like me and just looking to go a few shades of blonde lighter, this is perfect. 1 sachet and 25minutes!
Advantages: great colour, good result, easy to use
Disadvantages: need to use for right purpose! lightening!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

its worth a try

Posted04 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Abibroom
Age:18-24
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i used this product on my dyed black hair my natural hair colour is a dark blonde but i had been dyeing it black for about 5 years. i put this on and after an hour my hair had gone orange with white roots, which i was actually ok with as at least it was a change from black.i waited a month with orange hair and used a second one on my hair and it is still orange but is alot lighter. i have found that blonde dyes over it just fade on my hair, but im pleased with the product overall as i saw a lot of change from black to orange is alot in an hour. i will be using it again in a couple of weeks time. this product takes patience and be prepared to be orange but worth it if u actually want to see a change, plus it left my hair so soft and shiny not dry at all.
Advantages: does lighten your hair colour
Disadvantages: possible orange hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not very happy, actually.

Posted09 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I did a fair bit of research into how to get my hair from dark reddy-brown to blonde, and decided to buy a colour remover, this product, and blonde hair dye.
The colour remover was brilliant and got my hair to a slightly orangey-yellow, and then when I put this stuff on my hair turned bright orange with white-blonde roots, even though I followed the instructions very very carefully.
So yeah, pretty grumpy now, to be honest.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jrdd
 
Please wait while more information about jrdd is loaded.
Additional information about jrdd could not be loaded.
Posted 07 March 2012
Yes but this is a pre lightener, not a blonde dye...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what is says on the packet!!

Posted31 January 2012
Customer Avatar
helenkitty92
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Before you use this product, think first as if you have really dark hair it won't make you instantly blonde, it's not a miracle worker it just makes it as light as it can! I have natural brown hair which it works wonderfully on! And will make it very blonde on first application! (but I have dyed my hair most colours!)
Best product for lightening and keeping it healthy!! It won't make your hair go like straw.
You have to follow the instructions by every word to get it right!
Advantages: instant results without damage
Disadvantages: buy two packs if you have very dark hair!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>