Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener

Garnier Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener

Garnier Nutrisse Pre-Lightener Crème lightens your hair by 4 to 6 levels. Enriched with avocado oil, Nutrisse Crème nourishes hair as it lightens giving radiant, long-lasting blonde colour.
Average Customer Rating:
3.34 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
13
30 out of 49(61%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Review 1 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Garnier Pre Lightener

Posted12 July 2009
Customer Avatar
jojokabono
I tried this today on my already quite light blonde natural (non dyed) coloured hair.
It completely wrecked it and now its left yellow and very course and tangled! Tomorrow I'm going to hopefully dye it again but am nearly in tears right now because my hair looks horrific.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i use this all the time

Posted15 July 2009
Customer Avatar
GaleXX
i have used this product for years - it's REALLY strong so be careful with it - it works so quickly you literally have to time it by the minute. and it does dry your hair so make sure you rinse it all out thoroughly (i shampoo twice with moisturising shampoo afterwards) and condition regularly and thoroughly too. gives you seriously blonde hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awfull hair product

Posted03 January 2010
Customer Avatar
Catherine89
I died my coloured dark blonde hair with this hair dye to try and make it lighter. It turned it orange, patchy, tacky and repulsive. Do not buy this product!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but can give you yellow hair

Posted16 December 2009
Customer Avatar
elllllie
Yeah the first time you use it, your hair does go yellow thats because it is a pre lightener, you should dye your hair twice with the prelightner for white blonde hair or use the pre lightner then dye it with a blonde colour of your choice, this should get rid of the yellow tones :)
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth it

Posted22 January 2010
Customer Avatar
stace22
i used this product and its terrible my hair is bright orange dry and tangled, im also now having to run to the hairdressers and pay 87pound for it to be sorted honestly think is it worth using i would recommend going to hairdressers so your not left upset.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL :|

Posted01 May 2010
Customer Avatar
peanuts9144
I'm sitting here, almost in tears. My hair is a red colour from previous dye, and I wanted to go blonde for the summer.
So I decided to buy this product to 'pre-lighten' to reduce the chance of it going bright ginger.
I use almost the whole bottle (which I hardly ever do) repeatedly going over my hair again and again taking me about half an hour to put on. I leave it for another 20 mins, and then wash it out.
I look in the mirror and I have bright blonde/yellow roots with the rest of my hair still red completely unchanged.
I do not recommend this product to anyone, not even worth 1*.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

be careful

Posted22 May 2010
Customer Avatar
isabellj
i've used this product before, so that i could go from black hair to bright red, and it did what i wanted it to do, which was lighten it, but the thing is, you have to follow the instructions to the word, so don't put it on your roots first, don't rub it in, smooth it over your hair, and then do your roots for about 10 minutes. it will go ginger the first time you do it, unless you leave it on for an hour or two which i don't reccomend. it does go dry at first, but that's what the conditioner is for and condition it twice afterwards. if you want bright blonde hair use two of these boxes.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

Posted05 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
i used this product for the 1st time today i got two boxes as with other brands leaves my hair yellow/ginger and frazzled. This is the only pre lightner i have found that can remove other hair colours with out damaging my hair. used one box with both sachets on a deep purple lifted very well left a slightly yellow tinge but toner will fix that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great

Posted05 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Calcifer3
I used this on my hair after dyeing my hair several colours (red, black, green and brown) and it worked amazing in taking the previous dye out of my hair (which i think was because it was a nutrisse dye). However, my roots werent exactly the same colour which i think was because the previous hair had been bleached before to get it green and they turned a yellow/orange colour. I do recommend this product if you have already used a nutrisse dye and want a lighter colour but i dont recommend it for a final step and i think you should dye your hair afterwards because it can leave your hair an uneven colour especially at the roots. Also, it does leave your hair feeling dry and less shiny looking but i dyed my hair a grey/brown colour a few days after and after a few washes my hair is back to the way it was (shiny and soft). Hope this helped.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Need to be prepared for this!

Posted01 January 2011
Customer Avatar
elichaf
I guess it did do what it said, which was to remove previous dyes. I'm a natural med brown, dyed my hair an arrange of colours, with recently a dark brown/black. Used this and my hair was pure ginger, with the exception of yellow roots. Easily solved by dying over it - now have beautiful chestnut hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Its a pre-lighner

Posted16 January 2011
Customer Avatar
nono5
I have a natural light/medium brown hair coloured caramel followed by dark brown then temporary black and I am intending to go light ash brown for summer with lighter highlights. its difficult to get a proper ash unless hair is lightned first and most red/orange tones are reduced. I plan to use this before colouring. I am no hair expert but I always get complements for my hair which I do myself and sometimes with a sisters or a friends help..I guess from the pack it doesn't need a genius to figure that this product should be followed be a chosen colour. So for all those negative reviews...get yourself a bit of knowledge before using any product....It says on the pack its a pre-lightner and a pre-lightner it should be. The process might need to be repeated...Personally I guess I need to repeat it three times maximum. I will post a review after trying the product. I have no doubt about it.
By the way..its better to always clarify the hair from build up of styling products to get the best result out of any product...that's what salons and professionals do for the extra money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does as it says.

Posted23 January 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Turned my dark brown hair to ginger but when i went to dye it light brown the colour didn't take as it was non-permenant. I recommend using a permanent dye after using this product to get a lighter shade.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic for highlighting

Posted11 February 2011
Customer Avatar
herdon
from London
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am no hairdresser but I used a highlighting cap and then put this product on for half an hour - my hair looks amazing and it has saved me a fortune! My hair is dark so half an hour just lightened it enough to look subtle but with the highlights (or perhaps they should be called low lights) definitely showing. I didn't colour my hair on this occasion - just used this to lighten my natural hair - but If I use it with colour I either leave it on for longer before colouring, or put it on for half an hour after colouring. I don't know if this is how a professional would do it but it works for me. Brilliant product!
Advantages: so cheap!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EmmaLemma
Surrey
 
Please wait while more information about EmmaLemma is loaded.
Additional information about EmmaLemma could not be loaded.
Which ash blonde dye did you use?
Posted 29 May 2014
Like you i also striped my old colour but it left me with orange hair! I was hoping this product would get rid of the orange so I could dye it a more natural shade but now my roots are bleach blonde and the rest of my hair is pale orange. What brand of ash blonde did you use? I did a strand test with ‘nice and easy perfect 10’ but it hasn’t made much of a difference so I’m thinking about buying another box of pre-lightener.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

does what it says

Posted21 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cupcakesss
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
so ive used this product twice on my hair in a few days and it does get colour out of your hair, for those complaining that it has made their hair ginger/yellow, if you put it on dark hair of course its going to make it that colour! it can only lighten your hair so much! Im trying to go blonde and after the second application have bright yellow roots and the rest of my hair (where there is a colour build up) is orange, im doing another application in a few days just on my ends and then im outting dye over it, so if your hair is orange just deep condition and re apply the lightener in a few days then dye on top :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the patient and daring!

Posted15 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from South Yorkshire, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Before I used this product I had used a colour remover to lift the semi-permanent black hair dye from my naturally brown hair. Although it lifted quite a lot of the colour, it did not make my hair as light as I wished, therefore I purchased this pre-lightener. My friend helped me apply it and after the first application I had yellow roots and ginger/brown lengths. After my second application (in which I avoided application to my roots) I still had yellow roots but my hair was orange. I have now dyed my hair using an ash toned blonde and it has left my hair lighter and there are less orange/ginger tones apparent.
If you are attempting to lift colour as I did, please be aware that there is a large chance that your hair will go through a ginger/yellow stage first and therefore will need 2 or even 3 boxes of the product. It isn't recommended to use them one after the other as I myself did, but I was willing to take the risk, yet with the conditioner which came with the product my hair is now shiny and soft.
I'd make sure you have a coloured dye ready to apply after the lightening process as the hair is left patchy and uneven (as with my yellow roots and ginger lengths).
All in all a brilliant product, yet you must be daring and ready for your hair to go ginger/yellow.
Advantages: easy to apply non-drip, conditioner included
Disadvantages: long development time, leaves hair uneven
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful Do NOT buy!

Posted28 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Summer212
from Liverpool
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So i bought this today and I had light brown hair with dark blonde highlights... Now I have orange/yellow hair with brown patches EVERYWHERE!
I was expecting miricals but i was not expecting this, I would say use before you dye your hair to make it light enough, but just prepare for the orangeness!!
Disadvantages: yellow/orange hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

never using this again

Posted17 April 2011
Customer Avatar
LILME
from dalington
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bought this pre lightener hoping it would make my hair blonder, it left my hair in different shade and patchy. i had light brown hair now it is, orange and yellow. now i am hoping that my hair dye will solve this.
never going to buy this again. doesnt really deserver 1 star
Disadvantages: leaves your hair looking unnatural, looks a yellow and orange colour after using it
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

READ IF YOU HAVE DARK HAIR

Posted14 February 2011
Customer Avatar
demz1234
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i can never be bothered to write things about products because im one of the lazyest people in the world but i feel i have to so every one knows if you have dark hair and dont want it anymore u dont have to , i naturally have shade 2 ( darkest brown) as im mixed race its nearly black i baufght this product because i watched review on youtube i was scared as i have darkest hair , i died my hair black for soem reason and hated it but this on and it took it to no word of a lie , a goldy light brown colour my hair felt fine after like id not died it , since then iv used this after dying my hair dark brown to its natural colour to get it lightest brown i only used it once and it was light enuf to make my hair light brown/dark blonde if u hsve dark hair like me dont be afraid to use this is megga amazing i had dark brown and ill put a pic on this to show u it now after this one pre lightner lighest brown normal dye then highlites
+21points
28of 35voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

As expected

Posted04 May 2011
Customer Avatar
dolly37
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My hair is naturally very dark blonde, lightened to a paler shade and for the past couple of months i've been using Casting Creme Gloss in Berry Red to make a change from the light blonde/dark blonde root growth scenario! The summer weather arrived and I wanted to go blonde again so bought this product to strip the Creme Gloss colour. Dreadful to apply (compared to Creme Gloss) as it needs to be applied to dry hair...it's a thick substance even when mixed so trying to apply it to bone dry hair evenly was difficult. End result was as I expected, if not a little better....red colour was gone and I was left with a mid-blonde - although lighter at the roots and then a tiny bit yellow/ginger in places. After reading reviews I had both a Garnier Nutrisse permanent blonde colour at the ready, plus another trusty Casting Creme Gloss blonde colour. Applied the Nutrisse blonde first as I thought it would 'take' better....I was very wrong!! It was a nightmare to apply and made no difference whatsoever - in fact the colour was worse than before! Applied good old Creme Gloss on top and hey presto, a lovely blonde colour!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome!!!!

Posted11 June 2011
Customer Avatar
theyellowmarshmallow1989
from birmingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st time i tried this product so i was a bit apprehensive i only used one sachet and left for 20mins i used it on medium brown hair the end result was great came out a beautiful light blonde. My hair feels silky soft and smells great.
Advantages: great smell, leaves hair silky soft
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>