Boots Ratings and Reviews
Gok
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener

Garnier Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener

Garnier Nutrisse Pre-Lightener Crème lightens your hair by 4 to 6 levels. Enriched with avocado oil, Nutrisse Crème nourishes hair as it lightens giving radiant, long-lasting blonde colour.
Average Customer Rating:
3.34 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
13
30 out of 49(61%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Review 1 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

be careful

Posted22 May 2010
Customer Avatar
isabellj
i've used this product before, so that i could go from black hair to bright red, and it did what i wanted it to do, which was lighten it, but the thing is, you have to follow the instructions to the word, so don't put it on your roots first, don't rub it in, smooth it over your hair, and then do your roots for about 10 minutes. it will go ginger the first time you do it, unless you leave it on for an hour or two which i don't reccomend. it does go dry at first, but that's what the conditioner is for and condition it twice afterwards. if you want bright blonde hair use two of these boxes.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Need to be prepared for this!

Posted01 January 2011
Customer Avatar
elichaf
I guess it did do what it said, which was to remove previous dyes. I'm a natural med brown, dyed my hair an arrange of colours, with recently a dark brown/black. Used this and my hair was pure ginger, with the exception of yellow roots. Easily solved by dying over it - now have beautiful chestnut hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic for highlighting

Posted11 February 2011
Customer Avatar
herdon
from London
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am no hairdresser but I used a highlighting cap and then put this product on for half an hour - my hair looks amazing and it has saved me a fortune! My hair is dark so half an hour just lightened it enough to look subtle but with the highlights (or perhaps they should be called low lights) definitely showing. I didn't colour my hair on this occasion - just used this to lighten my natural hair - but If I use it with colour I either leave it on for longer before colouring, or put it on for half an hour after colouring. I don't know if this is how a professional would do it but it works for me. Brilliant product!
Advantages: so cheap!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the patient and daring!

Posted15 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from South Yorkshire, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Before I used this product I had used a colour remover to lift the semi-permanent black hair dye from my naturally brown hair. Although it lifted quite a lot of the colour, it did not make my hair as light as I wished, therefore I purchased this pre-lightener. My friend helped me apply it and after the first application I had yellow roots and ginger/brown lengths. After my second application (in which I avoided application to my roots) I still had yellow roots but my hair was orange. I have now dyed my hair using an ash toned blonde and it has left my hair lighter and there are less orange/ginger tones apparent.
If you are attempting to lift colour as I did, please be aware that there is a large chance that your hair will go through a ginger/yellow stage first and therefore will need 2 or even 3 boxes of the product. It isn't recommended to use them one after the other as I myself did, but I was willing to take the risk, yet with the conditioner which came with the product my hair is now shiny and soft.
I'd make sure you have a coloured dye ready to apply after the lightening process as the hair is left patchy and uneven (as with my yellow roots and ginger lengths).
All in all a brilliant product, yet you must be daring and ready for your hair to go ginger/yellow.
Advantages: easy to apply non-drip, conditioner included
Disadvantages: long development time, leaves hair uneven
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

does what it says

Posted21 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cupcakesss
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
so ive used this product twice on my hair in a few days and it does get colour out of your hair, for those complaining that it has made their hair ginger/yellow, if you put it on dark hair of course its going to make it that colour! it can only lighten your hair so much! Im trying to go blonde and after the second application have bright yellow roots and the rest of my hair (where there is a colour build up) is orange, im doing another application in a few days just on my ends and then im outting dye over it, so if your hair is orange just deep condition and re apply the lightener in a few days then dye on top :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant product

Posted14 April 2011
Customer Avatar
angelove11
from uk
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannot rate this product enough i have tried all the rest and found the best it works every time as my root growth in five week period my root growth would be at least 3 inch.It covers well lovely smell and it leaves my hair silky soft.I cannot rate this product highly enough
Advantages: very reasonable
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome!!!!

Posted11 June 2011
Customer Avatar
theyellowmarshmallow1989
from birmingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st time i tried this product so i was a bit apprehensive i only used one sachet and left for 20mins i used it on medium brown hair the end result was great came out a beautiful light blonde. My hair feels silky soft and smells great.
Advantages: great smell, leaves hair silky soft
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful Do NOT buy!

Posted28 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Summer212
from Liverpool
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So i bought this today and I had light brown hair with dark blonde highlights... Now I have orange/yellow hair with brown patches EVERYWHERE!
I was expecting miricals but i was not expecting this, I would say use before you dye your hair to make it light enough, but just prepare for the orangeness!!
Disadvantages: yellow/orange hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

As expected

Posted04 May 2011
Customer Avatar
dolly37
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My hair is naturally very dark blonde, lightened to a paler shade and for the past couple of months i've been using Casting Creme Gloss in Berry Red to make a change from the light blonde/dark blonde root growth scenario! The summer weather arrived and I wanted to go blonde again so bought this product to strip the Creme Gloss colour. Dreadful to apply (compared to Creme Gloss) as it needs to be applied to dry hair...it's a thick substance even when mixed so trying to apply it to bone dry hair evenly was difficult. End result was as I expected, if not a little better....red colour was gone and I was left with a mid-blonde - although lighter at the roots and then a tiny bit yellow/ginger in places. After reading reviews I had both a Garnier Nutrisse permanent blonde colour at the ready, plus another trusty Casting Creme Gloss blonde colour. Applied the Nutrisse blonde first as I thought it would 'take' better....I was very wrong!! It was a nightmare to apply and made no difference whatsoever - in fact the colour was worse than before! Applied good old Creme Gloss on top and hey presto, a lovely blonde colour!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great result on dark blonde roots going lighter

Posted20 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reading some of the reviews on here, I felt the need to write one. This is a GOOD product if used for the right purposes. I've got naturally dark blonde hair and use this pre-lightener on my roots only to get them a nice blonde which I can then use a dye all over my hair for an even cool blonde colour.
So if you are like me and just looking to go a few shades of blonde lighter, this is perfect. 1 sachet and 25minutes!
Advantages: great colour, good result, easy to use
Disadvantages: need to use for right purpose! lightening!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

destructive

Posted26 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel2410
from taunton
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It is terrible. It destroyed my hair. It was patchy and a terrible colour. Stay way away from this product. This has put me off home colouring for life. This is horrific
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
3of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Claims to be a colour remover but it is not

Posted11 February 2012
Customer Avatar
RedGold
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Over the years I have had my hair a number of colours, recently I decided to try to go back to my natural dark blonde from a deep red.
This product claims to be a COLOUR REMOVER as well as a pre-lightener. Well, despite following the instructions very carefully (I've had bad experiences in the past) it turned my hair, white/blonde, yellow, orange and pink, in uneven patches .
Luckily I had bought a dark blonde permanent dye at the same time in the two for £8 offer. I put this on as soon as I had conditioned and dried my hair as I wasn't prepared to walk round looking like a freak.
On the outside of the packet they say use this first if you want to use one of the lighter shades, not use this and walk round like a freak for two weeks before you use one of their lighter shades!
On the plus side, despite the weird colours and my decision to use the final permanent colour straight away, my hair still feels soft and in seems still to be in good condition although it is definitely not the colour on the box! My hair is now a coppery red/blonde but fairly even and natural looking (and I rather like it).
Disadvantages: patchy results
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not very happy, actually.

Posted09 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I did a fair bit of research into how to get my hair from dark reddy-brown to blonde, and decided to buy a colour remover, this product, and blonde hair dye.
The colour remover was brilliant and got my hair to a slightly orangey-yellow, and then when I put this stuff on my hair turned bright orange with white-blonde roots, even though I followed the instructions very very carefully.
So yeah, pretty grumpy now, to be honest.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jrdd
 
Please wait while more information about jrdd is loaded.
Additional information about jrdd could not be loaded.
Posted 07 March 2012
Yes but this is a pre lightener, not a blonde dye...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

use this as preparation for dying your hair lighter

Posted23 October 2011
Customer Avatar
pinkandpurpleocean
from wales
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
it's a pre-lightener - buy with another box of blonde dye that you can put on your hair after.
sometimes causes hair to go orange/white/yellow in places.
it says to wait 2 weeks before dying over it, but i've used it to pre-lighten my hair, then used a really light blonde on-top straight after and it hasn't been a problem.
use on it's own and it probably won't give you the result you want, but as a pre-lightener and then blonde on-top, the result is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

NOT for blonde miracles!! ALWAYS strand test!

Posted05 June 2012
Customer Avatar
Louisa1992
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Im not really one for writting reviews, but after seeing other contrasting reviews i thought i would add my input.:) really hope it helps!!
Im currently a dyed dark brown and decided i wanted a more lighter brown/caramel colour with highlights for the summer. As i have very dark brow hair i was terrifed i would end up with a mixtuer of yellow and orange hair and decided i would be sensible and do a srand test first! to aviod disaster. I used the Garnier pre- lightner for 40 mins, following the application instrustions to the letter, the result was a light brown/dark blond. I had no intentions that the pre-lightner would bring my hair out perfect, i only used it as a means to strip the dark coulor, i also bought Garniers hair coulor in 5.3 golden brown. The pre-lightner suggest to leave your hair 2 weeks untill puting a coulor on your pre-lighned hair, for me i decided this was just to long to wait! so again i used my pre lightend strand and coulored it with my hair dye. the stand came out perfect and i decided to proceed with no worries that i would end up orange. i decided to proceed and left the pre lightner on my hair for 55 minuets, the result was ginger, but after the hair dye i ended up with a light brown.
I also bought a deep conditioner as im well aware hair dye and pre lightning is damaging. my hair was already in tip top condition. but i would always recommend a deep hair mask.
I also suggest not using this for blond miracles!! its a pre lightner and not great if you want to go ultra blond. I would defiinitely recomend a normal hair dye to go over your pre lightend hair.
ALWAYS do a strand test! it saves having a disastrous hair dye incident!
hope this helps =)
Advantages: dose what it says on the box- pre lightens
Disadvantages: i dont think you will achine the coulor on the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

brilliant!

Posted17 April 2012
Customer Avatar
tamara1988
from northants
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this to strip colour from my hair because I wanted to go blonde, but my hair was bright bright red. had been using red dye for 6-8months before
I bought and used 2 packs (using 2 sachets of lightener each time)
First time my hair tuned very pale orange, 2nd time was blonde with orange hint. I put a blonde dye over the top (but chose the wrong shade so it looks brassy, am currently searching for a new shade of blonde to fix this)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, even colour!

Posted24 April 2012
Customer Avatar
chlolo
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I did a lot of research about pre lightening my own hair and didn't expect it to go as well as it did!
This product didn't burn or itch at all and left my hair once light brown hair a pale yellow, which I then dyed over with the colour I wanted. I'd put it on your roots earlier than the box says though as mine were still dark and I had to go over them again.
It smells awful but I didn't expect it to smell nice as it's such a strong product and also the application was pretty difficult, even with a friend helping me - you wouldn't be able to do this alone unless you have short hair - as it it gets really claggy and sort of sticks together.
The colour this leaves is too brassy to have on it's own if you've dyed it from any darker than blonde. After washing out and putting the conditioner on, my hair was really soft, although my hair was in really good condition anyway.
Advantages: even colour, soft hair
Disadvantages: difficult to apply, smells bad
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for dip dye

Posted10 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Buckinghamshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this product instead of bleach to use on the ends of my hair when I dip dyed it pink, purple, blue and turquoise. My hair is light brown/dark blonde and needed to lighten the ends of my hair for my dip dye to work, which is what the product did. Left it on for 20 minutes and it went light blonde and did the job perfectly. I will be using this again when I dip dye again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What an ordeal.

Posted29 August 2012
Customer Avatar
EmiL92
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I never ever write reviews but as I sat here hiding my hair under a towel I feel like I have to give out a warning, to think very very carefully before using this product!
I HAD light brown hair and decided it looked a bit dull, having been blonde before (from the hairdressers) I decided to give it a go myself, so, I bought this pre-lightener dye after reading reviews on it and got a garnier blonde dye also, as garnier recommended this. When I put the pre-lightener on I was amazed by how quickly it lightened, personally I don't think the time of 20 minutes was needed never mind 30; it also tells you to put it on the roots later, however I found that the roots didn't need anywhere near as much time! In fact, my length colour would have been fine after all this, if it wasn't for the colour of the top of my head.
From the reviews, I assumed my hair would go yellow so I didn't worry too much when this did happen; I put on the blonde dye I bought but when I took that off and my hair was still just as yellow, I had to drag my dearest friend to the shops who went in and bought a darker blonde for me to put on. I did this and yet my hair is STILL just as yellow as when I started, and am planning to just put brown dye on my head and be done with it.
So if you do use the product, keep an eye on your hair and don't just assume the lighter the better, as the yellow is really hard to get out! If I could stand keeping my hair this colour for a bit longer I would try some purple shampoo that is supposed to take away the yellow tinge, but with my very yellow hair and my lack of boots points, I think it's time to give up and give in to the brunette.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-15points
2of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does exactly what is says

Posted16 December 2012
Customer Avatar
nicolapee
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This did exactly what I was expecting it to do after reading the other reviews. Yes, my hair went a little bit yellow, but dyeing from dark to light will almost always have this effect.
I dyed over my lightened hair, which if anything made my hair worse, but the product did exactly what it said it would, it lightened my hair significantly.
The product is quite hard to apply as it turns your hair very stiff and is hard to apply evenly, so ask someone to help if you can. I would use this again as I know it will do exactly what it says.
Advantages: does what it says
Disadvantages: hard to apply
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>