Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener

Garnier Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener

Garnier Nutrisse Pre-Lightener Crème lightens your hair by 4 to 6 levels. Enriched with avocado oil, Nutrisse Crème nourishes hair as it lightens giving radiant, long-lasting blonde colour.
Average Customer Rating:
3.359 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
13
30 out of 49(61%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Review 1 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

its worth a try

Posted04 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Abibroom
Age:18-24
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i used this product on my dyed black hair my natural hair colour is a dark blonde but i had been dyeing it black for about 5 years. i put this on and after an hour my hair had gone orange with white roots, which i was actually ok with as at least it was a change from black.i waited a month with orange hair and used a second one on my hair and it is still orange but is alot lighter. i have found that blonde dyes over it just fade on my hair, but im pleased with the product overall as i saw a lot of change from black to orange is alot in an hour. i will be using it again in a couple of weeks time. this product takes patience and be prepared to be orange but worth it if u actually want to see a change, plus it left my hair so soft and shiny not dry at all.
Advantages: does lighten your hair colour
Disadvantages: possible orange hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Used this over hair that has been coloured lots previously

Posted15 March 2013
Customer Avatar
tilley2904
from Nottingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this product today to pre lighten ready to dye a blonde colour. My hair has been dyed many times and at least twice so far this year (both permanent) Its turned my hair a golden blonde colour with some orangey parts underneath. So it has done what it says it will do.
Can't understand that people on here are moaning about it turning their hair yellow or orange. Maybe you should read up on hair colouring & the process of lightening hair at home before buying a product on the high street and expecting a £70 salon job.
Grab a blue or violet shampoo & conditioner and a toner or permanent dye & you'll be fine.
Would recommend & definitely use again :)
Advantages: goes over coloured hair, good value, plenty of product
Disadvantages: smells strong
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic for highlighting

Posted11 February 2011
Customer Avatar
herdon
from London
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am no hairdresser but I used a highlighting cap and then put this product on for half an hour - my hair looks amazing and it has saved me a fortune! My hair is dark so half an hour just lightened it enough to look subtle but with the highlights (or perhaps they should be called low lights) definitely showing. I didn't colour my hair on this occasion - just used this to lighten my natural hair - but If I use it with colour I either leave it on for longer before colouring, or put it on for half an hour after colouring. I don't know if this is how a professional would do it but it works for me. Brilliant product!
Advantages: so cheap!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EmmaLemma
Surrey
 
Please wait while more information about EmmaLemma is loaded.
Additional information about EmmaLemma could not be loaded.
Which ash blonde dye did you use?
Posted 29 May 2014
Like you i also striped my old colour but it left me with orange hair! I was hoping this product would get rid of the orange so I could dye it a more natural shade but now my roots are bleach blonde and the rest of my hair is pale orange. What brand of ash blonde did you use? I did a strand test with ‘nice and easy perfect 10’ but it hasn’t made much of a difference so I’m thinking about buying another box of pre-lightener.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

destructive

Posted26 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel2410
from taunton
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It is terrible. It destroyed my hair. It was patchy and a terrible colour. Stay way away from this product. This has put me off home colouring for life. This is horrific
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its for virgin hair not coloured!!

Posted30 August 2011
Customer Avatar
dejabrew
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
girls please !! I've read couple of reviews suggestion that their hair went orange , patchy etc... This product is not for colored hair. I've done the same mistake with this pre lightener , I had red hair it was pretty faded away so I decided to go blonde , my roots was absolutely fine it was shiny blonde , but my mid-part and my ends were bright orange .. So I had to dye my hair dark again . But now I've learned my lesson I'm growing my hair , as this product is NOT for colored hair, its for virgin/natural hair.
Advantages: does what it says
Disadvantages: not for colored hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
15of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great result on dark blonde roots going lighter

Posted20 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reading some of the reviews on here, I felt the need to write one. This is a GOOD product if used for the right purposes. I've got naturally dark blonde hair and use this pre-lightener on my roots only to get them a nice blonde which I can then use a dye all over my hair for an even cool blonde colour.
So if you are like me and just looking to go a few shades of blonde lighter, this is perfect. 1 sachet and 25minutes!
Advantages: great colour, good result, easy to use
Disadvantages: need to use for right purpose! lightening!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

did not work!!!

Posted28 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from derby
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this lightener did not even work on me so i am very disappointed with it as it has so many great reviews! i know i did it properly because i have been dying my hair for 6 years. my hair is dyed black and it only seems to have made the top of my hair lighter, a browny gingery, where it was already lighter from the colour b4. the rest of my hair has stayed the same. nothing seems to be getting rid of the black!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

NOT for blonde miracles!! ALWAYS strand test!

Posted05 June 2012
Customer Avatar
Louisa1992
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Im not really one for writting reviews, but after seeing other contrasting reviews i thought i would add my input.:) really hope it helps!!
Im currently a dyed dark brown and decided i wanted a more lighter brown/caramel colour with highlights for the summer. As i have very dark brow hair i was terrifed i would end up with a mixtuer of yellow and orange hair and decided i would be sensible and do a srand test first! to aviod disaster. I used the Garnier pre- lightner for 40 mins, following the application instrustions to the letter, the result was a light brown/dark blond. I had no intentions that the pre-lightner would bring my hair out perfect, i only used it as a means to strip the dark coulor, i also bought Garniers hair coulor in 5.3 golden brown. The pre-lightner suggest to leave your hair 2 weeks untill puting a coulor on your pre-lighned hair, for me i decided this was just to long to wait! so again i used my pre lightend strand and coulored it with my hair dye. the stand came out perfect and i decided to proceed with no worries that i would end up orange. i decided to proceed and left the pre lightner on my hair for 55 minuets, the result was ginger, but after the hair dye i ended up with a light brown.
I also bought a deep conditioner as im well aware hair dye and pre lightning is damaging. my hair was already in tip top condition. but i would always recommend a deep hair mask.
I also suggest not using this for blond miracles!! its a pre lightner and not great if you want to go ultra blond. I would defiinitely recomend a normal hair dye to go over your pre lightend hair.
ALWAYS do a strand test! it saves having a disastrous hair dye incident!
hope this helps =)
Advantages: dose what it says on the box- pre lightens
Disadvantages: i dont think you will achine the coulor on the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
Garnier Nutrisse Cream Permanent Colour
3.4 out of 5(47)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You Need Experience To Get The Best Results

Posted07 March 2015
Customer Avatar
RawrImBecca
Reading all of these reviews were driving me crazy. I'm not going to claim this product is the dogs bollocks, but no-one can expect this product to do miracles.
You can't dye your hair from black to a perfect honey blonde just with this product.. It takes time, money and effort. I'm about to go blonde for the third time, and unlike every other time, Now I know what I'm doing.
I suggest if you are going to use this product, you also buy a permanent blonde hair dye.
Toners & Blonde shampoo and conditioners. (These brands work well for me; Touch Of Silver, Lee Stafford Bleach Blondes) are the secret to getting out all of the orangey canary tones. They wont all disappear at once, although gradually you will see a change.
For the record, I have shoulder length curly hair. I've dyed my hair over 20 times in the past 5 years. (Not the healthiest I know, but it hasn't fallen out yet)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What an ordeal.

Posted29 August 2012
Customer Avatar
EmiL92
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I never ever write reviews but as I sat here hiding my hair under a towel I feel like I have to give out a warning, to think very very carefully before using this product!
I HAD light brown hair and decided it looked a bit dull, having been blonde before (from the hairdressers) I decided to give it a go myself, so, I bought this pre-lightener dye after reading reviews on it and got a garnier blonde dye also, as garnier recommended this. When I put the pre-lightener on I was amazed by how quickly it lightened, personally I don't think the time of 20 minutes was needed never mind 30; it also tells you to put it on the roots later, however I found that the roots didn't need anywhere near as much time! In fact, my length colour would have been fine after all this, if it wasn't for the colour of the top of my head.
From the reviews, I assumed my hair would go yellow so I didn't worry too much when this did happen; I put on the blonde dye I bought but when I took that off and my hair was still just as yellow, I had to drag my dearest friend to the shops who went in and bought a darker blonde for me to put on. I did this and yet my hair is STILL just as yellow as when I started, and am planning to just put brown dye on my head and be done with it.
So if you do use the product, keep an eye on your hair and don't just assume the lighter the better, as the yellow is really hard to get out! If I could stand keeping my hair this colour for a bit longer I would try some purple shampoo that is supposed to take away the yellow tinge, but with my very yellow hair and my lack of boots points, I think it's time to give up and give in to the brunette.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-15points
2of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works but very brassy

Posted10 September 2013
Customer Avatar
Mikaela1991
I already had brassy blonde hair which I had been toning for weeks, I did hope this product would lighten the brassy parts but I actually think it's made them darker. However, it has lightened the other areas and especially my brown roots, it turned them to a light blonde to match the other areas and now looks very even, if not brassy blonde again.
Pros - doesn't smell nasty, hasn't damaged my hair, does lighten, hair feels good
Cons- so much brass!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

does what it says

Posted21 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cupcakesss
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
so ive used this product twice on my hair in a few days and it does get colour out of your hair, for those complaining that it has made their hair ginger/yellow, if you put it on dark hair of course its going to make it that colour! it can only lighten your hair so much! Im trying to go blonde and after the second application have bright yellow roots and the rest of my hair (where there is a colour build up) is orange, im doing another application in a few days just on my ends and then im outting dye over it, so if your hair is orange just deep condition and re apply the lightener in a few days then dye on top :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful Do NOT buy!

Posted28 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Summer212
from Liverpool
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So i bought this today and I had light brown hair with dark blonde highlights... Now I have orange/yellow hair with brown patches EVERYWHERE!
I was expecting miricals but i was not expecting this, I would say use before you dye your hair to make it light enough, but just prepare for the orangeness!!
Disadvantages: yellow/orange hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does exactly what is says

Posted16 December 2012
Customer Avatar
nicolapee
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This did exactly what I was expecting it to do after reading the other reviews. Yes, my hair went a little bit yellow, but dyeing from dark to light will almost always have this effect.
I dyed over my lightened hair, which if anything made my hair worse, but the product did exactly what it said it would, it lightened my hair significantly.
The product is quite hard to apply as it turns your hair very stiff and is hard to apply evenly, so ask someone to help if you can. I would use this again as I know it will do exactly what it says.
Advantages: does what it says
Disadvantages: hard to apply
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Will not strip colour

Posted06 April 2015
Customer Avatar
Yazc89
Brought this product to use before applying Garnier Nutrisse Caramel hair dye as it says to in the instructions. It worked well at lightening my natural very dark brown hair, it actually went blonde which i was shocked by. However this product also claims to be able to remove old hair dye which it did not, so the ends of my hair were still a dark brown with some dark red. When I then applyed my caramel hair dye, i was left with orange roots despite following the instructions to use this pre lightener! And the rest of my hair colorur did not change. Also i have just had a baby and therefore had not dyed my hair for over a year before trying this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

be careful

Posted22 May 2010
Customer Avatar
isabellj
i've used this product before, so that i could go from black hair to bright red, and it did what i wanted it to do, which was lighten it, but the thing is, you have to follow the instructions to the word, so don't put it on your roots first, don't rub it in, smooth it over your hair, and then do your roots for about 10 minutes. it will go ginger the first time you do it, unless you leave it on for an hour or two which i don't reccomend. it does go dry at first, but that's what the conditioner is for and condition it twice afterwards. if you want bright blonde hair use two of these boxes.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant product

Posted14 April 2011
Customer Avatar
angelove11
from uk
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannot rate this product enough i have tried all the rest and found the best it works every time as my root growth in five week period my root growth would be at least 3 inch.It covers well lovely smell and it leaves my hair silky soft.I cannot rate this product highly enough
Advantages: very reasonable
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but can give you yellow hair

Posted16 December 2009
Customer Avatar
elllllie
Yeah the first time you use it, your hair does go yellow thats because it is a pre lightener, you should dye your hair twice with the prelightner for white blonde hair or use the pre lightner then dye it with a blonde colour of your choice, this should get rid of the yellow tones :)
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth it

Posted22 January 2010
Customer Avatar
stace22
i used this product and its terrible my hair is bright orange dry and tangled, im also now having to run to the hairdressers and pay 87pound for it to be sorted honestly think is it worth using i would recommend going to hairdressers so your not left upset.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Its a pre-lighner

Posted16 January 2011
Customer Avatar
nono5
I have a natural light/medium brown hair coloured caramel followed by dark brown then temporary black and I am intending to go light ash brown for summer with lighter highlights. its difficult to get a proper ash unless hair is lightned first and most red/orange tones are reduced. I plan to use this before colouring. I am no hair expert but I always get complements for my hair which I do myself and sometimes with a sisters or a friends help..I guess from the pack it doesn't need a genius to figure that this product should be followed be a chosen colour. So for all those negative reviews...get yourself a bit of knowledge before using any product....It says on the pack its a pre-lightner and a pre-lightner it should be. The process might need to be repeated...Personally I guess I need to repeat it three times maximum. I will post a review after trying the product. I have no doubt about it.
By the way..its better to always clarify the hair from build up of styling products to get the best result out of any product...that's what salons and professionals do for the extra money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>