Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener

Garnier Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener

Garnier Nutrisse Pre-Lightener Crème lightens your hair by 4 to 6 levels. Enriched with avocado oil, Nutrisse Crème nourishes hair as it lightens giving radiant, long-lasting blonde colour.
Average Customer Rating:
3.34 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
13
30 out of 49(61%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Review 1 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth it

Posted22 January 2010
Customer Avatar
stace22
i used this product and its terrible my hair is bright orange dry and tangled, im also now having to run to the hairdressers and pay 87pound for it to be sorted honestly think is it worth using i would recommend going to hairdressers so your not left upset.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i use this all the time

Posted15 July 2009
Customer Avatar
GaleXX
i have used this product for years - it's REALLY strong so be careful with it - it works so quickly you literally have to time it by the minute. and it does dry your hair so make sure you rinse it all out thoroughly (i shampoo twice with moisturising shampoo afterwards) and condition regularly and thoroughly too. gives you seriously blonde hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Its a pre-lighner

Posted16 January 2011
Customer Avatar
nono5
I have a natural light/medium brown hair coloured caramel followed by dark brown then temporary black and I am intending to go light ash brown for summer with lighter highlights. its difficult to get a proper ash unless hair is lightned first and most red/orange tones are reduced. I plan to use this before colouring. I am no hair expert but I always get complements for my hair which I do myself and sometimes with a sisters or a friends help..I guess from the pack it doesn't need a genius to figure that this product should be followed be a chosen colour. So for all those negative reviews...get yourself a bit of knowledge before using any product....It says on the pack its a pre-lightner and a pre-lightner it should be. The process might need to be repeated...Personally I guess I need to repeat it three times maximum. I will post a review after trying the product. I have no doubt about it.
By the way..its better to always clarify the hair from build up of styling products to get the best result out of any product...that's what salons and professionals do for the extra money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic for highlighting

Posted11 February 2011
Customer Avatar
herdon
from London
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am no hairdresser but I used a highlighting cap and then put this product on for half an hour - my hair looks amazing and it has saved me a fortune! My hair is dark so half an hour just lightened it enough to look subtle but with the highlights (or perhaps they should be called low lights) definitely showing. I didn't colour my hair on this occasion - just used this to lighten my natural hair - but If I use it with colour I either leave it on for longer before colouring, or put it on for half an hour after colouring. I don't know if this is how a professional would do it but it works for me. Brilliant product!
Advantages: so cheap!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EmmaLemma
Surrey
 
Please wait while more information about EmmaLemma is loaded.
Additional information about EmmaLemma could not be loaded.
Which ash blonde dye did you use?
Posted 29 May 2014
Like you i also striped my old colour but it left me with orange hair! I was hoping this product would get rid of the orange so I could dye it a more natural shade but now my roots are bleach blonde and the rest of my hair is pale orange. What brand of ash blonde did you use? I did a strand test with ‘nice and easy perfect 10’ but it hasn’t made much of a difference so I’m thinking about buying another box of pre-lightener.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Need to be prepared for this!

Posted01 January 2011
Customer Avatar
elichaf
I guess it did do what it said, which was to remove previous dyes. I'm a natural med brown, dyed my hair an arrange of colours, with recently a dark brown/black. Used this and my hair was pure ginger, with the exception of yellow roots. Easily solved by dying over it - now have beautiful chestnut hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for lightening dark hair

Posted08 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from sheffield uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my hair was the darkest brown, ive dyed my hair loads of times before, and i wanted to dye it blonde so i bought two boxes of this product, after i used the first one my hair was ginger with blonde roots, as i expected, so i then applied another, i left them both on for an hour, the second dye really lifted the ginger but there was still the odd bits in there so i purchased another and applied it a few days later and it left my hair really blonde with yellow tones so i bought a blonde hair dye to even it out and now i am left with a gorgous blonde, this product didnt leave my dry or damaged and i was really impressed with how soft my hair felt after all the dying, the only thing i dont like is the smell of this product is really strong, but it does its job really happy!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does as it says.

Posted23 January 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Turned my dark brown hair to ginger but when i went to dye it light brown the colour didn't take as it was non-permenant. I recommend using a permanent dye after using this product to get a lighter shade.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant product

Posted14 April 2011
Customer Avatar
angelove11
from uk
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannot rate this product enough i have tried all the rest and found the best it works every time as my root growth in five week period my root growth would be at least 3 inch.It covers well lovely smell and it leaves my hair silky soft.I cannot rate this product highly enough
Advantages: very reasonable
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great result on dark blonde roots going lighter

Posted20 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reading some of the reviews on here, I felt the need to write one. This is a GOOD product if used for the right purposes. I've got naturally dark blonde hair and use this pre-lightener on my roots only to get them a nice blonde which I can then use a dye all over my hair for an even cool blonde colour.
So if you are like me and just looking to go a few shades of blonde lighter, this is perfect. 1 sachet and 25minutes!
Advantages: great colour, good result, easy to use
Disadvantages: need to use for right purpose! lightening!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

never using this again

Posted17 April 2011
Customer Avatar
LILME
from dalington
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bought this pre lightener hoping it would make my hair blonder, it left my hair in different shade and patchy. i had light brown hair now it is, orange and yellow. now i am hoping that my hair dye will solve this.
never going to buy this again. doesnt really deserver 1 star
Disadvantages: leaves your hair looking unnatural, looks a yellow and orange colour after using it
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not very happy, actually.

Posted09 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I did a fair bit of research into how to get my hair from dark reddy-brown to blonde, and decided to buy a colour remover, this product, and blonde hair dye.
The colour remover was brilliant and got my hair to a slightly orangey-yellow, and then when I put this stuff on my hair turned bright orange with white-blonde roots, even though I followed the instructions very very carefully.
So yeah, pretty grumpy now, to be honest.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jrdd
 
Please wait while more information about jrdd is loaded.
Additional information about jrdd could not be loaded.
Posted 07 March 2012
Yes but this is a pre lightener, not a blonde dye...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what is says on the packet!!

Posted31 January 2012
Customer Avatar
helenkitty92
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Before you use this product, think first as if you have really dark hair it won't make you instantly blonde, it's not a miracle worker it just makes it as light as it can! I have natural brown hair which it works wonderfully on! And will make it very blonde on first application! (but I have dyed my hair most colours!)
Best product for lightening and keeping it healthy!! It won't make your hair go like straw.
You have to follow the instructions by every word to get it right!
Advantages: instant results without damage
Disadvantages: buy two packs if you have very dark hair!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the patient and daring!

Posted15 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from South Yorkshire, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Before I used this product I had used a colour remover to lift the semi-permanent black hair dye from my naturally brown hair. Although it lifted quite a lot of the colour, it did not make my hair as light as I wished, therefore I purchased this pre-lightener. My friend helped me apply it and after the first application I had yellow roots and ginger/brown lengths. After my second application (in which I avoided application to my roots) I still had yellow roots but my hair was orange. I have now dyed my hair using an ash toned blonde and it has left my hair lighter and there are less orange/ginger tones apparent.
If you are attempting to lift colour as I did, please be aware that there is a large chance that your hair will go through a ginger/yellow stage first and therefore will need 2 or even 3 boxes of the product. It isn't recommended to use them one after the other as I myself did, but I was willing to take the risk, yet with the conditioner which came with the product my hair is now shiny and soft.
I'd make sure you have a coloured dye ready to apply after the lightening process as the hair is left patchy and uneven (as with my yellow roots and ginger lengths).
All in all a brilliant product, yet you must be daring and ready for your hair to go ginger/yellow.
Advantages: easy to apply non-drip, conditioner included
Disadvantages: long development time, leaves hair uneven
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful Do NOT buy!

Posted28 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Summer212
from Liverpool
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So i bought this today and I had light brown hair with dark blonde highlights... Now I have orange/yellow hair with brown patches EVERYWHERE!
I was expecting miricals but i was not expecting this, I would say use before you dye your hair to make it light enough, but just prepare for the orangeness!!
Disadvantages: yellow/orange hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome!!!!

Posted11 June 2011
Customer Avatar
theyellowmarshmallow1989
from birmingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st time i tried this product so i was a bit apprehensive i only used one sachet and left for 20mins i used it on medium brown hair the end result was great came out a beautiful light blonde. My hair feels silky soft and smells great.
Advantages: great smell, leaves hair silky soft
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst thing to ever put in your hair!

Posted20 July 2011
Customer Avatar
holyzoe
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My hair was coloured a redish bron but had faded a bit and my roots were very fair so I decided to try to go blonder. My hair ended up with patches of blonde near the roots which faded to bright orange on the top of my head. The rest of my hair was a light brown with some lighter streaks. Straight after i coloured my hair back to the original colour which thankfully rescued my hair from the worst colour i have ever seen... Pretty much a rubbish product and does not do what it claims to on the box! Although if you want bright orange hair with white blonde roots this is the best thing for the job...
Disadvantages: extremely patchy
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
5of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Claims to be a colour remover but it is not

Posted11 February 2012
Customer Avatar
RedGold
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Over the years I have had my hair a number of colours, recently I decided to try to go back to my natural dark blonde from a deep red.
This product claims to be a COLOUR REMOVER as well as a pre-lightener. Well, despite following the instructions very carefully (I've had bad experiences in the past) it turned my hair, white/blonde, yellow, orange and pink, in uneven patches .
Luckily I had bought a dark blonde permanent dye at the same time in the two for £8 offer. I put this on as soon as I had conditioned and dried my hair as I wasn't prepared to walk round looking like a freak.
On the outside of the packet they say use this first if you want to use one of the lighter shades, not use this and walk round like a freak for two weeks before you use one of their lighter shades!
On the plus side, despite the weird colours and my decision to use the final permanent colour straight away, my hair still feels soft and in seems still to be in good condition although it is definitely not the colour on the box! My hair is now a coppery red/blonde but fairly even and natural looking (and I rather like it).
Disadvantages: patchy results
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

use this as preparation for dying your hair lighter

Posted23 October 2011
Customer Avatar
pinkandpurpleocean
from wales
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
it's a pre-lightener - buy with another box of blonde dye that you can put on your hair after.
sometimes causes hair to go orange/white/yellow in places.
it says to wait 2 weeks before dying over it, but i've used it to pre-lighten my hair, then used a really light blonde on-top straight after and it hasn't been a problem.
use on it's own and it probably won't give you the result you want, but as a pre-lightener and then blonde on-top, the result is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

brilliant!

Posted17 April 2012
Customer Avatar
tamara1988
from northants
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this to strip colour from my hair because I wanted to go blonde, but my hair was bright bright red. had been using red dye for 6-8months before
I bought and used 2 packs (using 2 sachets of lightener each time)
First time my hair tuned very pale orange, 2nd time was blonde with orange hint. I put a blonde dye over the top (but chose the wrong shade so it looks brassy, am currently searching for a new shade of blonde to fix this)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garnier Nutrisse Blonde Pre-Lightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, even colour!

Posted24 April 2012
Customer Avatar
chlolo
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I did a lot of research about pre lightening my own hair and didn't expect it to go as well as it did!
This product didn't burn or itch at all and left my hair once light brown hair a pale yellow, which I then dyed over with the colour I wanted. I'd put it on your roots earlier than the box says though as mine were still dark and I had to go over them again.
It smells awful but I didn't expect it to smell nice as it's such a strong product and also the application was pretty difficult, even with a friend helping me - you wouldn't be able to do this alone unless you have short hair - as it it gets really claggy and sort of sticks together.
The colour this leaves is too brassy to have on it's own if you've dyed it from any darker than blonde. After washing out and putting the conditioner on, my hair was really soft, although my hair was in really good condition anyway.
Advantages: even colour, soft hair
Disadvantages: difficult to apply, smells bad
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>