Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Jerome-Russell Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit

Jerome-Russell Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit

Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit is for light to dark brown hair for controlled highlights.
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
28 out of 37(76%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Review 21 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My highlights have never looked so good!!

Posted13 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Lottie1234
from Lancashire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never writer reviews, but after using this kit, I had to.
I used this kit to do my roots which were about 1.5 inches, but didn't use the cap. Instead I used a spatula to 'paste' against (and bought a better brush than the one in the kit). My hair is naturally mousey brown so I left the bleach on around 45 mins and the colour is amazing!!! Very natural looking cool blond that blends perfectly with my old highlights. (I did use blue toning shampoo just in case it was at all warm!) ...left hair in great condition!
I will never being going to the hairdressers for highlights ever again!!!
Advantages: fab colour
Disadvantages: the brush in the kit wasn't the best
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked really well for me!

Posted08 March 2013
Customer Avatar
buddyholly1959
from Middlesex
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had highlights done by a hairdresser last week that you could hardly notice, and didn't feel I could go back, so decided to buy a home kit. After reading other reviews i went for this one, as I have medium brown hair.
Found cap easy to use & got my daughter to pull through strands of hair- not too thick, and after doing a strand test, left it on for 3/4 hour - the results are really nice subtle highlights that you can actually see. could have done more but was worried how it would turn out.
Will definitely use again & won't be paying a hairdresser to do something thats so easy to do at home for a fraction of the cost!
Advantages: easy to prepare & use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great highlighting kit

Posted13 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Bry2205
This kit was really good, I didn't quite use it as you are meant to... I wanted to put a few blonde highlights underneath my hair to give it a subtle sunkissed look but I was too impatient to wait to go to the hairdressers so decided to use this kit but use foils instead of the cap. It's really easy to mix the dye and easy to applicate using the brush provided. The finished result was exactly what I was hoping for, gorgeous light blonde streaks with no brassyness (I was kind of expecting a bit of brassyness because I have dyed my hair a variety of Browns over the years so I was very happy that it didn't!!). All in all I would definately use this again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant for dying hair blonde by yourself

Posted20 July 2011
Customer Avatar
steph5369
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this product for 6 years now and never had trouble with it. It is by far the best bleach on the market. My hair is naturally dark brown and this is the only dye that has turned it blonde and not ginger/yellow. There are a lot of comments saying it ruins the condition of your hair, what do you expect when you are putting strong bleach on your hair?! It leaves it dry for the first week but if you look after it and condition it well it gets back to normal in no time. Easy to apply, since dying it blonde I just paint over my roots every time. It leave my hair a lovely white colour. Using Lee Stafford purple shampoo takes any brashy colour out and leaves it a lovely white colour.
Advantages: easy to use, cheap, beautiful colour results
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+12points
19of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing results!

Posted21 September 2010
Customer Avatar
yr136
As I am now a poor student I couldn't afford the pricey salon highlights. I have long and thick brown hair which is dark underneath so i bought two packets which was more than enough. I didn't use the plastic cap provided but instead highlighted my hair with foils, this took a lot longer but gave me more flexibility on where I wanted my highlights. I had to take off some foil before others were done otherwise some would have been left on for a lot longer! I left the solution on my darker sections of hair for an hour but the lighter hair only needed half an hour. The results I got were amazing, they look really naturally and my hair is now a lovely creamy blonde. I will definitely buy this product again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best kit EVER.

Posted27 October 2012
Customer Avatar
SarahLizzy
from Middlesbrough
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I used this to ombre dip dye my hair a few days ago. Bought it based on the reviews on here! After being worried about my hair going ginger or orange, i was really worried, but the results came out a perfect light blonde caramel colour, looks completely natural and matches my own hair colour.
I am SO happy with the result, the kit it easy to use, there is plenty of it and i would recommend it to anyone.
I know i didn't use the highlighting cap, as i used it on the ends of my hair, but it's the colour that matters!
The toning after shampoo is also great, smells nice and my hair even though it's been damaged by straighteners for YEARS came out feeing amazingly soft.
Very very happy & i'll be using nothing else in the future :D!
Advantages: easy, cheap, brilliant colour result, plenty of mix, hair feels great after
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
33of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best highlighting kit for dark/coloured hair

Posted08 August 2009
Customer Avatar
roxanne
This is the best highlighting kit for dark or coloured hair. I have brown hair naturally, and ive also coloured it black or dark brown in the past. The jerome russell formulas are the only ones ive used that give you blonde highlights- not dark orange, or ginger, or a brassy colour.
The kit is high quality- comprising the powder, the peroxide, a mixing tray, a good quality cap, a brush, plastic and metal hooks, and gloves and a plastic cap. It also includes moisturising shampoo.
The secret here is the 40% vol peroxide instead of the usual 20 or 30. It really is fast acting and lifts the colour. This is the only kit ive used that is effective.
What's more- the colour is a light blonde, not orange. My hair felt silky after using this, not dry and brittle like so many bleaches. I will be buying this again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't fault it!

Posted13 June 2013
Customer Avatar
kiersten96
from Essex
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this hair dye! I have never had such good highlights, I love the fact you can vary the shade (blondeness) of your highlights by the time you leave the dye on. I'm a typical unorganised teenager and this dye is so quick and easy to use, it only takes 10 minutes of leaving the hair dye on my naturally mousey brown hair to turn it into a gorgeous soft blonde that doesn't fade. The only disadvantage of the fact it is bleach is that it can leave your hair feeling a bit dry and brittle if you leave it on too long but for me personally that isn't a problem as I only leave it on for 10 minutes and find that any dry hair (mostly my ends) can be restored either with a good conditioner or hair mask :-) I have recommended this product so many times and every one I've recommended it to has loved it as much as I have and have continued to use it. Overall brilliant product!
Advantages: colour doesn't fade, quick, easy to use, can vary shades of highlights, cheap
Disadvantages: can dry out hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please don't damage your hair with this stuff!

Posted09 October 2010
Customer Avatar
CattyAnya
I desperately wanted blonde hair for summer but at the time couldn't afford to pay lots to get the colour done by a good hairdresser. Decided to brave it and highlight my long hair myself using this kit. The colour was hideous: pale yellow, like straw, cheap and tacky. Awful! Worse still was the condition of my hair. I had a very brittle, unhealthy looking mop on my head. Obviously, I've since coloured my hair a lovely, glossy brown colour and am nursing it back to its former glory with expensive hair treatments. The best thing to do is to enhance your natural colour, not try and change it radically. Using 40% peroxide and bleach is hair abuse! If you really want lighter hair, go to a professional, otherwise you'll have no hair at all. People who use this product and think they have natural looking blonde highlights are wishful thinkers as their hair most likely looks fake, yellowish and cheap. So be warned...: )
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-21points
12of 45voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lottie1234
Lancashire
 
Please wait while more information about Lottie1234 is loaded.
Additional information about Lottie1234 could not be loaded.
Posted 13 April 2013
Hmmm, I used this product and can assure you my hair doesn't look yellow or tacky!!! Sounds as though you didn't use the kit properly.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice colour but more than I expected!

Posted11 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Alicet1990
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had hairdresser highlighted hair with 3 months worth of roots. As a student I can't afford to maintain this so decided to try this product.
Firstly I could definitely not have done this myself. My housemate had to do it all for me!
The result I am happy with, it has come out very blonde, and it's a nice creamy blonde! I was worried it would come out yellowy!
However, I was hoping for highlights and actuAlly it looks like my whole hair has been dyed blonde. I used every hole on the cap and pulled around half the hair through. Also I seems for have missed the bits around the ears, so you need to be careful to make sure you've pulled some of those bits through,
I'd also say if you have long or thick hair you'd need 2 packs. My hairs a few inches below my shoulders and quite thin and 1 packet almost didn't cover it.
All in all I've been very impressed! Really lovely creamy blonde! And there are different tones to it so it doesn't look all one uniform colour.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

Posted02 February 2013
Customer Avatar
leanne1927
from Sunderland, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First let me start by explaining every home hair dye experience i've ever had has ended in me crying whilst staring at my yellow hair clutching the pack of hair dye and wondering why I never learn. I had been getting my hair highlighted in a salon but with christmas and being a student couldn't afford too and my roots were appalling they were so bad people I just met thought I had dip dyed hair (thank god for that trend saved people thinking I was just a state). I decided to try this after reading reviews on here and thought it would be worth a try. I was apprehensive about trying it and I did have moments of when my hair was wet wondering if id left it on long enough so was relieved when I dried it. My hair has come out so lovely not even slightly yellow just a lovely creamy blonde. Although I would say it is a good idea to have help especially on the back part. I will definitely continue using this from now on and it is a fraction of the price of highlights in a salon!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best hair dye yet

Posted23 April 2010
Customer Avatar
Patsworth
This product saved my masses and rescued me from a hair dye disaster!
I had had my hair dyed at a salon costing me nearly 100 pounds. It was too dark and I hated it. Looking to get back to my previous blonde hair, I first used Colour B4 - an amazing product if you want to get dark due out of your hair. It left me a lighter shade of brown, but not quite the blonde I wanted.
I have previously highlighted my hair myself but, like others, ended up with that red/ginger tinge. I used the cap method to dye my hair. It was a little tricky at first and I needed help at the back, but worked out really well. I'd pierce the cap first before putting it on as that can be tough when you are wearing the cap.
I left the dye on for about 50 mins to 1 hour. When I first took the plastic cover off it looked white! I was worried and panicked. However, after I had washed it with the shampoo provided and dried it, I was amazed. It looked as good, if not better, than when I have it done at the hairdressers. It is a light blonde with no red hint at all.
I'm not sure I would recommend it for a full all over dye but certainly for highlights. I'm planning on doing it myself from now on using this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall good product

Posted04 July 2012
Customer Avatar
LindseyGrace
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I don't normally write reviews, but I feel I should for this product as I purchased it based on its reviews.
My hair was a medium/light brown, I have wanted to go lighter for ages, however as getting highlights at hairdressers can be so expensive, based on its good reviews I thought I would give this product a try, thinking if it went horribly wrong I would just dye my hair brown again!
I don't know if it is just me being a wimp, but pulling my hair through the cap REALLY hurt! it would tangle to easily and little knots would form, and a few got ripped out from the metal rod!
Apart from that, the cap provided good coverage but mainly for the top of my hair, as it is so thick, a bit of hair at the back of my head was left.
Taking the cap off in the shower was also a very painfull experience and the cap ended up ripping! but when it was off i rinsed throroughly and applied the shampoo as stated.
Overall, my hair is A LOT lighter, it is now almost platinum blonde, (I left the bleach on for around and hour.) There are slight yellow/brassy tones, which I have purchased a "silver" shampoo to try and get rid of that. I have put a further blonde "ash" colour on my hair, as the colour was slightly patchy in places, and now the coverage is even, and I am very pleased with the result. It is definitly blonde! Also saved me about £60-£100 so i'm pleased with that.
My hair is past shoulder length, I purchased two boxes, but only ended up needing one.
Advantages: works!
Disadvantages: painfull
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

impressed

Posted07 August 2012
Customer Avatar
makeupobsessive
from london uk
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is great, it really helps if you have a friend to help though cos i found it hard if not impossible to pull the strands through the back section. ( big thanks to my lovely boyfriend who sat patiently and helped!) I wanted a really blonde look and we pulled hair through every hole, it was a lengthy process but it was worth it, if you are doing this for the 1st time be careful not to snag the plastic cap because it will tear and bleach will seep through to the rest of hair under hat. Once the hair was pulled through, i recommend combing it so no loops in hair cos that will cause patches of uneven haircolour.
The mixture is easy to do, another tip is make sure theres no lumpy bits, give it a good mix, i left my bleach on maximum time 90 minutes ( i was worried about damage but my hair is still great ) and at 1st it looked yellow, i felt sick, but i washed the bleach off with the jerome shampoo that comes with the pack then i used a toning shampoo, i used john frieda the purple tinted one and left it on for 20 mins then conditioned with the john frieda toner and blow dried it i used a heat protector and also the john freida mousse to help rid the yellow, i was really really happy with the results, ive never achieved such a light blonde look at home, its a lot cheaper than hairdressers.
Bleach will dry your hair out so use a reconstructive nourishing treatment once a week or try a little olive oil on dry hair before you go to bed ( put a towel on pillow!!)
My hair is fine collar length, one box was just enough so if you have thick or longer hair definetly get two boxes.
Every time i look in the mirror i feel excited, this is this has really brightened me up inside and out :)
Advantages: great results, inexpensive compared to salons
Disadvantages: tricky to pull strands through back of head, could have been more product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Natural Blonde!

Posted31 May 2012
Customer Avatar
HelenD87
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am naturally fair haired. I always had light blonde hair as a child and now (age 25) my roots grow out a dark/ash blonde colour.
I bought this highlighting kit due to the fact that my friend and usual hairdresser was on holiday so I decided to take the risk and touch up my roots myself!
I decided to apply the dye by painting it on with the brush provided in the box. I was very careful to select even small size strands on the t-bar and throughout the rest of my hair (basically half head). I was unsure about how long to leave on the product as its does have a guide time depending on your hair but I wanted to really lighten up my roots so I left the dye on for a good hour.
IMPORTANT NOTE: I think the colour will always look lighter when the dye is on your hair as its a whitish colour but don't be decieved, just keep the process going for as long as you can. It might look as blonde as you want after 20 minutes but when you wash it out it can still come out yellow. Tip of the day - the longer the better!!
Anyway, once I washed the colour out and brushed my hair (still wet) I was shocked to see my hair a LOT lighter, but once I dried it out I was so pleased as it came out the same light, natural looking blonde as the rest of my hair, no yellow tones. So I don't think Ill have my friend dye it again now as I know I can just use this for only £6.
I think to get the best results from this kit, you ideally need to already have light brown/dark blonde hair and to leave it on as long as possible as the only reason you tend to hear about 'yellow hair' is because I don't think people are allowing the bleach to set into their hair long enough and also, bleach on black or dark hair is never a good idea....leave that to the professionals I say!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Black to Blonde!!

Posted12 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Lyndseyxxx
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When i was younger i had really light brown hair, but over the years my hair has ranged from dark brown, to dark blonde, to purple, red black etc! Basically every colour and I recently wanted a nice blonde colour. I read lots of reviews online about BBlonde highlighting kit as hair dressers are far to expensive in my area!
I read mostly very good reviews, saying the colour worked well, however was slightly put off by comments saying it leaves hair in bad condition!
About 3 weeks before highlighting, i took drastic actions and bleached my (dyed black hair) 6 times in one night! Well, you could imagine the condition my hair was in, and considering i dyed it red right afterwards and then brown the next day.. It was awful! Felt like straw and i swore i wouldnt dye my hair again!
However, decided to take the chance and go with the highlighting kit and i was very surprised. My hair started off very dark brown, almost black.. i applied a few highlights to begin with, left it on for 3 hours(not the recomended 1 and a half) and when rinsing it was orange! However, when dry was a lovely blonde/white colour!
So i then bought another kit and added more. And the results were good! Ive decided to keep building the highlights untill my head is covered.
The only bad point i would make.. I was left with ginger spots of dye on my fringe (due to my friends lack of highlighting skills) so i had leftover bleach from the first bleach disated and applied this to the spot and it now left me with BRIGHT GINGER spots.
So, i would recommended for really dark hair, it works! Just leave it on longer than it says.. and also, i left silver shampoo on for about 10 mintues to make it lighter(however, you dont need to do this)
Just DONT put a differant bleach over it... ginger spots are NOT nice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
13of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Jerome Russell B Blonde Highlight Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant product

Posted29 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Uses Product:A few times per year
Thers how it goes
do not attempt to use it unless you have some knowledge of the process.
I use it on my long hair using foils and doing very densley place highlights, that hairdressers can never do for me. And it does not look cheap at all, my hair is naturally brown and Bblonde makes it light blonde. i actually preffered older product from this company but now cannot buy it anywhere.
If your hair had previously been coloured dark, no matter what bleach you use it will come out orange, with bblonde it will dry to look quite nice and honey like. I know ,after being blonde for 5 years (using hairdressers than b blonde) I went and got my hair coloured chocolate brown, Than used use-at- home dye. That was on top of bleach blonde hair...
The dyes you buy to use at home are much stronger and abusive than the ones used by salons so harder to remove.
I than changed my mind and 3 months later decided to go back to blonde. It took hairdresser the first time. I than Highlighted them myself and they look quite good, than again and ended up with a lovely blonde shade.
The product is designed for highlights. Also, unless you have short hair, do not use the cap, best to go with the foils, its not as difficult as it seems. The colour will be light blonde, however you need to know how to look after the hair. It will be dry for about 1 week and restore itself in 2 to 3 weeks back to normal. Its not dry on the root, only the mids and ends, where you are re-layering the product. That however is the case with any bleaching product, only that hairdressers knbow how to use conditioners effectivly.
make sure you use a good replenishing conditioner (loreal have some good conditioners) and hair mask (go for frizz ease straightening mask, leave in for 20 minutes and than rinse).
This will help your hair. If you want to keep the blonde light, use lee stafford shampoo for bleach blondes once a week, it does wonders.
For drying use hair protective spray amd serum, they will really make the difference.
Bblonde is a great product, you just need to use it correctly.
I did not need to buy extra package but do buy two if you have long hair like me, as i can only do half head for myself, so if you go for full head it may work out as 2.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
29of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2