Boots Ratings and Reviews
Gok
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Hair loss products for men or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin German Caffeine Shampoo can help stimulate hair growth directly at the roots.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
9
26 out of 46(57%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Review 1 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does work but......

Posted14 June 2009
Customer Avatar
xHEROx
It's a very good product for anyone who is worried about thinning hair. Its not a one hit miracle worker and it requires you to treat your hair over a very long period. I must admit its very cost effective compared to rival products and even my hairdresser my has noticed my hair has gotten thicker!!! So result!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+31points
58of 85voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

problem hair

Posted09 December 2009
Customer Avatar
murphwa
I started using Alpecin hair loss shampoo and cannot believe how good this product is. I used to have to clear my plug hole every other day and the guys at the car wash asked if I had a dog. Since using the product only 5 days ago I have seem a remarkable difference in my hairloss...it has stopped stopped. I would reccommend this product. I have a genetic receeding hair line
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
41of 75voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Good, dont even try it

Posted16 March 2010
Customer Avatar
xxkathxx12
I have read the other reviews about this product and most of them appear to be rating this product highly. Personally I have tried most products and this one I have tried does not work. I used this product for a long period of time, this was to maximise the effect of the product, however it still did not have any change to my hair. Waste of money and time, sorry.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
33of 62voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ALPECIN SHAMPOO

Posted05 June 2010
Customer Avatar
PAMLUV
MY MOTHER BOUGHT IT FOR ME WHEN SHE NOTICED I WAS HAVING THE SAME HAIR LOSE PROBLEM SHE HAD ,I STARTED USING IT AND MY FRIENDS AND HAIRDRESSER NOTICED THE DIFFERENCE ,WHEN I USED TO COMB MY HAIR I WOULD REMOVE A CHUNK OF HAIR BUT NOW I DONT , I CAME ON THE WEBSITE LOOKING FOR OTHER PRODUCTS FROM THEM AND I SAW THE LIQUID ONE WHICH AM GOING TO BUY TO GET A BETTER RESULT .THANK YOU DR.WOLFF
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-37points
20of 77voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for damaged hair

Posted29 August 2010
Customer Avatar
danyan
I continue used it for about 2 months. Sadly, it didn't help for hair losing, and made my hair totally dry out.. If u've got colored and permed hair like me, be really careful if u want to use it.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+44points
64of 84voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very pleased

Posted28 September 2010
Customer Avatar
sally1976
really stimulates the scalp!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-26points
24of 74voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted23 February 2011
Customer Avatar
Leah09
from london
Age:18-24
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The second time I used the shampoo I only found one strand of hair that came out, usually I find at least 20 hairs in the bath when I wash my hair. What I did was massage the shampoo into my roots for 10 minutes and washed it out after and I know a few people said it didn't work for them but then every body is different
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
33of 49voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I don't know

Posted01 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Allymb
from Preston
Age:25-34
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have been using this product for a while now (i.e 1 year) i definitely cannot say that it has brilliant results, because upto now i'm still loosing a few hair strands. I would say that yes it minimized the hair loss - but it took a VERY long time to see results and by then i have lost alot of hair.
I am still using it in conjunction with regaine foam and fingers crossed - hope for the best.
Advantages: price
Disadvantages: no or minimal effect
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
20of 49voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

GOOD & BAD

Posted21 March 2011
Customer Avatar
hairlossill
from manchester, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
If i knew about this product 2-3 years ago, i would have been very happy. I've been using this product for 3 weeks, it slows down hair loss, and my hair is a lot healthier. Its too late for me know because ive lost way too much hair and im only 23. For people who have just start losing hair, or for around less than 2 years, this product would be awesome for you, it will make a big diiference, because you will have a good chance to stop further hair loss.
All the technology in this modern time, they should have a product that grows your hair back!!!
HAIR LOSS SUCKS
Advantages: cheap does work
Disadvantages: if you have lost alot of hair your hair will not
+73points
82of 91voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work for me...

Posted23 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Willpf
Been using this shampoo diligently for months now..........
Unfortunately, I can see no visable change.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
45of 87voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good

Posted23 March 2011
Customer Avatar
SugarSpunSister
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is aimed at men but after losing my hair quite drastically after having a baby, I gave it a go through sheer desperation.
I noticed my hair had grown twice as fast as normal and I saw the results within 1 month of using it every other day.
It does say on the back that it holds no moisture so you do need to use a good conditioner, but only use a small amount because overloading your hair with a heavy conditioner isn't very good.
Great! I have bought it over and over again and it is good value for money. I even left it in for a couple of hours because I desperately needed my hair to grow back and it was even more fuller and thicker.
Advantages: quick results
Disadvantages: no moisture needs to be used with conditioner
I would recommend this to a friend!
+61points
106of 151voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressed ( RONSEAL springs to mind lol )

Posted06 August 2011
Customer Avatar
ARDEN
from Northants
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product works for me!! Whenever I washed my hair or put styling product in my hair my hands and fingers would be covered in hairs that had fallen out. Not anymore thanks to this awesome shampoo that I use every other day. I can run my fingers through my hair now without any hairs falling out. I guess it won't work for everyone but it has for me!!. I definitely recommend it and to be honest at just over a £5 you haven't lost much by giving it a try, compared to some of the more expensive products out there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
58of 97voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works for me

Posted26 November 2011
Customer Avatar
1Chris57
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
After the menopause my usually thick hair has become thin especially the front hairline. I have tried various shampoos which havent made any difference, but after 1 month using Alpecin my hair is thicker with regrowth around the front.I usually get my short hair trimmed every month but after 2 1/2 weeks it was ready for its usual cut! Some people comment hair needs extra conditioning but I havent found this. Will definately
buy again.
Advantages: regrowth and thickness
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
36of 51voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boosted my confidence!

Posted28 November 2011
Customer Avatar
anonymous12323
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I realised from an early age that I had a genetic receding hairline. I was scared that I was going to lose my hair prematurely so started using Alcepin Shampoo. I've been using it for a year now and it's been great. Areas that were of a lighter shade to my thick brown hair have thickened and now feel stronger. I still shed hair but that's normal and it's only single figures a day. Anyone who is worried about a thinning hairline should definitely give this a try. The only negative about the product is that it sometimes leaves hair dry, I normal use head and shoulders 2in1 to help this. I also tried the liquid as well, felt that helped as well, you could really feel the tingling on the scalp. Hope it works for anyone who reads this!
Advantages: cheap, thickens hair, reduces hair loss
Disadvantages: leaves hair dry, quite a small bottle
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+31points
37of 43voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic

Posted28 December 2011
Customer Avatar
sandy422
from coulsdon
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every few days
this really does work will use again and again really great
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
9of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

nice shampoo but does not do anything for hair loss

Posted20 January 2012
Customer Avatar
martnava
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
used faithfully for about 8 months now for much more than the average of 2 minutes. has not reduced hair loss or made my hair feel any stronger. has not reduced the itching associated with hair loss. most definitely does nothing for hair loss. It is quite refreshing tho and does condition the hair quite well, u can tell this from when u first use it. dont get it on your eyelids, i'm guessing as eyelids are thin they absorb the caffeine much more easily and u can feel your eyelids go strangely cold. def dont get it in your eyes it feels quite bad.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
13of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great value shampoo that works!

Posted25 February 2012
Customer Avatar
vebeus
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having tried one or two other products for thinning hair I have to say that this is the best I've used. Despite being aimed at men I do love its fragrance and it leaves my hair in a good enough condition not to bother with conditioner but then my hair is fairly short and fine. It has definitely stopped the amount of hair-loss I was suffering and my hair feels thicker as a result. Highly recommended, especially when used with the hair energiser too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
15of 35voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Alpecin for stronger feeling hair

Posted01 April 2012
Customer Avatar
elmatador36
from London, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Suffering of receding hair at the temples and having never considered a hair loss prevention product, I was initially sceptical of Alpecin claim to prevent hereditary hair loss and strengthen weakened hair roots. I have been using Alpecin German Caffeine Shampoo together with the Alpecin Hair Energizer Liquid for the past two months and have noticed a significant difference on the day to day feel of my hair. My hair does feel stronger and fuller, especially during the first 12 hours following usage. I have noticed minimal hair growth in my temples. However I would not attribute this to entirely to Alpecin, as I acknowledge the impact of stress on hair loss.
Advantages: no need for conditioner
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+5points
15of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
New York
Used better
Posted 07 June 2012
I bought this and have been using it for a while, but I got much faster and better results with this new product called Pro Naturals Moroccan Argan Oil Hair Shampoo. It cleanses and nourishes hair, restores damaged strands back to health and provides color protection, plus it leaves my hair soft, silky and shiny. My hair has never looked or felt better!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

absolutely fantastic

Posted10 May 2012
Customer Avatar
reidy07
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
I bought this because alot of my female friends use it and rated it very highly in reference to healthier looking, thicker hair and also hair growth. I know its for men but I've been growing my hair for years and its got to a stage where it doesnt seem to get much longer!
Ive been using this product for over a month now but also use the shampoo with regular conditioner and then the Alpecin Liquid after hair is towel dried. (in a blue bottle with red top), which leaves you scalp feeling so clean and tingley!
The results are just unbelieveable, i dyed my hair two weeks ago and already have 1cm roots. It's growing practically double the speed!
The only downside is dying my hair more but I just want long hair!
I've never written a review for anything, but I've been so impressed with this I just had to!
But for girls and guys who want longer hair I couldn't recommend this more!
It's pretty cheap considering what it achieves!
Advantages: hair growth speeds up, price of product, thickness of hair improves
Disadvantages: needs to offer a bigger bottle!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+14points
29of 44voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would recommend

Posted29 May 2012
Customer Avatar
hackett89
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
I have been using this for roughly a year on and off. I can definitely say it has an effect on your hair quality. By this i mean after using it your hair will feel much thicker and have more grip to it. Please note that i am saying it FEELS much thicker, and not that it is actually thickening hair. Like many have said before you can definitely feel a tingling on your scalp when on head which must be a good sign? I cannot comment on its actual effect on hair loss as it may well be slowing it down but i would not know that unless i stopped using it, but for me at least it has not "grown back" hair. What i will say is that it is a good product to conceal thin hair and give it more volume and leave a very nice fragrance afterwards.
Advantages: thicker looking hair, very nice smell, very reasonable price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
20of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>