Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Hair loss products for women or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin German Caffeine Shampoo can help stimulate hair growth directly at the roots.
Average Customer Rating:
3.726 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
10
28 out of 49(57%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Review 1 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THANK YOU!!

Posted03 March 2010
Customer Avatar
it was my birthday the other week and my friend bought me it as a joke but ive used it and it has made a change already...i can feel it working its great i feel like me again!! All i can say is thank you Alpecin & than you Stamatis (the hunk) xx
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
32of 77voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for damaged hair

Posted29 August 2010
Customer Avatar
I continue used it for about 2 months. Sadly, it didn't help for hair losing, and made my hair totally dry out.. If u've got colored and permed hair like me, be really careful if u want to use it.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+46points
68of 90voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If it sounds too good to be true, it most probably is.

Posted29 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
I first bought Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo in February this year. Six months later on and it has done absolutely nothing. I definitely would go as far as my hair getting worse. I'm not saying this shampoo made it worse but it has not made any difference or slowed the process down. I can't say it doesn't work but I can say it didn't work for me.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

great...not!

Posted08 December 2009
Customer Avatar
I didn't like this product. It didn't work for me and I seemed to lose more hair. Prefer Nutrosome.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
23of 59voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

problem hair

Posted09 December 2009
Customer Avatar
I started using Alpecin hair loss shampoo and cannot believe how good this product is. I used to have to clear my plug hole every other day and the guys at the car wash asked if I had a dog. Since using the product only 5 days ago I have seem a remarkable difference in my hairloss...it has stopped stopped. I would reccommend this product. I have a genetic receeding hair line
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
42of 79voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shocked by this

Posted05 August 2012
Customer Avatar
from South west
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I was told by my GP that I was going bald. I tried lots of other far more expensive products but this one has been the best by far. Im in my early 20's so starting to recede was my worst nightmare come true. This has helped beyond words. My hairline is much fuller and has actually almost completely grown back. I also use the liquid which is also great and very fresh feeling. Would seriously recommend if your starting to recede!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+8points
56of 104voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very pleased

Posted28 September 2010
Customer Avatar
really stimulates the scalp!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-27points
25of 77voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good and bad.

Posted13 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
I used this shamppo for two weeks and it is brilliant while you are using it, it made my hair grow by about 3 inches only after using it twice! , my hair looked really thick too. But then I stopped using it because it made my scalp dry, and I noticed that when I wasn't using it my hair actually looked thinner than it did before I started using it at all, so It does make your hair 'look' thick while you are using it, but after it actually makes it thinner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alpecin shampoo

Posted04 December 2009
Customer Avatar
you have to be patient, but you will have results, it works really well, been using it for a few months now!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
24of 40voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great for slow growing/damaged hair!

Posted10 May 2013
Customer Avatar
from uk
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
this isn't a over night cure to growing your hair you have to use this often to see results,i would recommend leaving it on the roots/scalp for 5-10 minutes at least once or twice a week!
note: i do not suffer from thinning hair or anything but i do have hair that grows slowly so this shampoo helps my hair grow quicker and healthier.i use this 3 times a month at the moment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted23 February 2011
Customer Avatar
from london
Age:18-24
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The second time I used the shampoo I only found one strand of hair that came out, usually I find at least 20 hairs in the bath when I wash my hair. What I did was massage the shampoo into my roots for 10 minutes and washed it out after and I know a few people said it didn't work for them but then every body is different
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
36of 55voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC PRODUCT!

Posted24 June 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cheltenham
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
A MIRACLE IN A LIQUID!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. MADE MY HAIR SUPER SOFT, SMELLS LOVELY AND REALLY DOES MAKE MY HAIR GROW FASTER. NOT EXPENSIVE AND SHAPE OF THE BOTTLE MAKES IT REALLY COMFORTABLE TO HOLD IT.
Advantages: cheap, amazing smell, faster hair growth guaranteed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great value shampoo that works!

Posted25 February 2012
Customer Avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having tried one or two other products for thinning hair I have to say that this is the best I've used. Despite being aimed at men I do love its fragrance and it leaves my hair in a good enough condition not to bother with conditioner but then my hair is fairly short and fine. It has definitely stopped the amount of hair-loss I was suffering and my hair feels thicker as a result. Highly recommended, especially when used with the hair energiser too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
16of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My secert best mens hair product

Posted28 June 2014
Customer Avatar
from kent
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
I started using this years ago even though my hair was very thick and even now in my early 30s it remains the same - My honest opinion its best to use something like this before you really need it to get the best long term effect for sure I am now reaping the benefits of using this sooner rather than later.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would recommend

Posted29 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
I have been using this for roughly a year on and off. I can definitely say it has an effect on your hair quality. By this i mean after using it your hair will feel much thicker and have more grip to it. Please note that i am saying it FEELS much thicker, and not that it is actually thickening hair. Like many have said before you can definitely feel a tingling on your scalp when on head which must be a good sign? I cannot comment on its actual effect on hair loss as it may well be slowing it down but i would not know that unless i stopped using it, but for me at least it has not "grown back" hair. What i will say is that it is a good product to conceal thin hair and give it more volume and leave a very nice fragrance afterwards.
Advantages: thicker looking hair, very nice smell, very reasonable price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
21of 40voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would i recommend?!? YES YES YES!

Posted20 September 2013
Customer Avatar
I must start by saying I'm a woman. I cut all my hair off on a whim when i was 17, i am now 24 and up untill november last year it just wouldnt grow! I put it down to being pregnant and suffering from stress etc. last november my sister and i decided to try iton the off chance it might work… whats the worst that could happen right? Well by march this year (so 4 months of using alpecin) i had the hair i always longed for! I stopped using it recently and have noticed my hairs started to fall out so I'm definitly going to start using it again! Its just brilliant!!! Everyone asks me how my hair is so long and beautiful and i always say i used alpecin! A couple of things i would say is it has a very strong man smell and it realllly dries the hair out! But if anything i think it allows more conditioner to sink in leaving realy shiny hair! LOVE IT! X
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

alpecin caffenie shampoo

Posted29 March 2009
Customer Avatar
brilliant it does really work best to leave for 10 mins
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+31points
80of 129voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has really worked for me!

Posted15 January 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dorset
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I brought this about two weeks ago. I am almost 70 having had curly thick hair all my life, my hair was thinning fast and the curl had almost disappeared.
I used the product daily, leaving on for at least five minutes, within a few days I noticed the difference, the curl was begining to return, which of course made my hair feel thicker, no need for a conditioner. My hair feel clean and smells wonderful too!
I am so pleased with these quick results, I intend to buy the lotion so that my scalp can have a 'top up' after twelve hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Considerable improvement in hair condition

Posted18 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Once per week
I have bleached and dyed my hair every few months for years and years and effectively destroyed my hair. I finally settled for a natural colour and used this product and I can honestly say the thickness of my hair has drastically improved and the damage has been minimised. Hairdressers have told me my hairs in great condition and are surprised to hear that I have bleached and coloured it many times. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking to improve condition and thickness of hair, my hair is so much shinier and softer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not just for men!!

Posted18 January 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nottingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Although it said for men on the advert, I gave this a go. My hair used to be thick and curly, but due to hair dye, it's been damaged and slowly getting thinner. Within a couple of weeks, my hair was in better condition, had more shine, and more importantly felt thicker! My hair has started to grow again. Would highly recommend! Although if you do dye your hair (men or women) it does fade the colour a lot. Although I didn't mind this, obv some might!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>