Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Hair loss products for men or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin German Caffeine Shampoo can help stimulate hair growth directly at the roots.
Average Customer Rating:
3.717 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
10
28 out of 49(57%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Review 1 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

still falling out lots

Posted01 November 2009
Customer Avatar
honeymelon
been using alpecin for 3 wks now, a lot of hair still falling out, how long before i notice any difference??
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
35of 69voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THANK YOU!!

Posted03 March 2010
Customer Avatar
Mutzy
it was my birthday the other week and my friend bought me it as a joke but ive used it and it has made a change already...i can feel it working its great i feel like me again!! All i can say is thank you Alpecin & than you Stamatis (the hunk) xx
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
34of 81voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work for me...

Posted23 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Willpf
Been using this shampoo diligently for months now..........
Unfortunately, I can see no visable change.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
50of 93voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If it sounds too good to be true, it most probably is.

Posted29 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Timmy1994
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
I first bought Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo in February this year. Six months later on and it has done absolutely nothing. I definitely would go as far as my hair getting worse. I'm not saying this shampoo made it worse but it has not made any difference or slowed the process down. I can't say it doesn't work but I can say it didn't work for me.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My Alpecin Shampoo Review

Posted20 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Mark206
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Having used the Alpecin shampoo for about 6 months for my hair loss condition, I must say, I had zero results from this, even tho I did feel tingly sensation which people talk about that is supposed to mean that its "working".
Anyway - I started using the Taoist Handmade soap about a month ago, and that has helped at least stop the hair from falling, which is what I wanted as a last resort. I am not sure if boots sell them but its pretty good.
Its important to massage your scalp everyday whatever you do... so remember that.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Works

Posted28 June 2012
Customer Avatar
ToBeMarried
from Birmingham, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I've been using this shampoo for a month now for the little patches of hair i lost through stress. Already i can see the hair growing back an the hairs about 1cm long now, i really recommend this shampoo. As its for men there's no conditioner in it, so i just use a normal conditioner after the shampoo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+12points
25of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

great...not!

Posted08 December 2009
Customer Avatar
cosmico
I didn't like this product. It didn't work for me and I seemed to lose more hair. Prefer Nutrosome.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
23of 59voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

nice shampoo but does not do anything for hair loss

Posted20 January 2012
Customer Avatar
martnava
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
used faithfully for about 8 months now for much more than the average of 2 minutes. has not reduced hair loss or made my hair feel any stronger. has not reduced the itching associated with hair loss. most definitely does nothing for hair loss. It is quite refreshing tho and does condition the hair quite well, u can tell this from when u first use it. dont get it on your eyelids, i'm guessing as eyelids are thin they absorb the caffeine much more easily and u can feel your eyelids go strangely cold. def dont get it in your eyes it feels quite bad.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
15of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

alpecin shampoo - money well spent!

Posted03 November 2009
Customer Avatar
gazm87
this shampoo really works, it definately stops excessive shedding, and my hair is starting to grow thicker too, so happy with the results so far!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
42of 70voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

problem hair

Posted09 December 2009
Customer Avatar
murphwa
I started using Alpecin hair loss shampoo and cannot believe how good this product is. I used to have to clear my plug hole every other day and the guys at the car wash asked if I had a dog. Since using the product only 5 days ago I have seem a remarkable difference in my hairloss...it has stopped stopped. I would reccommend this product. I have a genetic receeding hair line
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
42of 80voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shocked by this

Posted05 August 2012
Customer Avatar
chrisjv
from South west
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I was told by my GP that I was going bald. I tried lots of other far more expensive products but this one has been the best by far. Im in my early 20's so starting to recede was my worst nightmare come true. This has helped beyond words. My hairline is much fuller and has actually almost completely grown back. I also use the liquid which is also great and very fresh feeling. Would seriously recommend if your starting to recede!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+8points
57of 106voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very pleased

Posted28 September 2010
Customer Avatar
sally1976
really stimulates the scalp!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-27points
25of 77voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted02 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Steph514
from Cardiff
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
I would 100% recommend this to a friend. I'm a 20 year old female and my hair was very damaged from excess bleaching and wouldn't grow. I started using this shampoo and also the Alpecin liquid about a year ago for 2-3 times a week. My hair has grown from just above my shoulders to halfway down my back!! I love this shampoo!!!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good

Posted23 March 2011
Customer Avatar
SugarSpunSister
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is aimed at men but after losing my hair quite drastically after having a baby, I gave it a go through sheer desperation.
I noticed my hair had grown twice as fast as normal and I saw the results within 1 month of using it every other day.
It does say on the back that it holds no moisture so you do need to use a good conditioner, but only use a small amount because overloading your hair with a heavy conditioner isn't very good.
Great! I have bought it over and over again and it is good value for money. I even left it in for a couple of hours because I desperately needed my hair to grow back and it was even more fuller and thicker.
Advantages: quick results
Disadvantages: no moisture needs to be used with conditioner
I would recommend this to a friend!
+63points
108of 153voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works for me

Posted26 November 2011
Customer Avatar
1Chris57
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
After the menopause my usually thick hair has become thin especially the front hairline. I have tried various shampoos which havent made any difference, but after 1 month using Alpecin my hair is thicker with regrowth around the front.I usually get my short hair trimmed every month but after 2 1/2 weeks it was ready for its usual cut! Some people comment hair needs extra conditioning but I havent found this. Will definately
buy again.
Advantages: regrowth and thickness
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
36of 54voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good and bad.

Posted13 January 2013
Customer Avatar
caroline23323
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
I used this shamppo for two weeks and it is brilliant while you are using it, it made my hair grow by about 3 inches only after using it twice! , my hair looked really thick too. But then I stopped using it because it made my scalp dry, and I noticed that when I wasn't using it my hair actually looked thinner than it did before I started using it at all, so It does make your hair 'look' thick while you are using it, but after it actually makes it thinner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
5of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

Posted06 February 2013
Customer Avatar
mcliff2005
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Uses Product:Every few days
Have been using a minoxidil based product for a few years which stopped my hair shedding but thought i would give this a try,
After the post-minoxxidil hair fell out my hair was still falling out with alpecin on my hands when i shampoo and my pillow in the morning.
Alpecin will do nothing for hair loss. Caffeine will not stop male pattern baldness - end of discussion, I was a fool to even try it.
Save your money!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alpecin shampoo

Posted04 December 2009
Customer Avatar
bluray2k6
you have to be patient, but you will have results, it works really well, been using it for a few months now!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
25of 41voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hard to say...

Posted21 August 2012
Customer Avatar
Markofu
Gender:Male
Uses Product:Every day
So it's always hard to judge a product like this. I guess the way to tell would be to stop using it and see if I go bald (I'm not going to do that). My hair doesn't seem to have got any thinner and my hair is clean, so I suppose it achieves the "shampoo" part of it's title if nothing else.
In conclusion, use it, become scared of *not* using it and then buy it irregardless of whether it's working or not, which, despite this being a product review, I can neither confirm nor deny if that is the case.
HTH
Advantages: might work
Disadvantages: might not work
-24points
12of 48voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great for slow growing/damaged hair!

Posted10 May 2013
Customer Avatar
laurenex1
from uk
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
this isn't a over night cure to growing your hair you have to use this often to see results,i would recommend leaving it on the roots/scalp for 5-10 minutes at least once or twice a week!
note: i do not suffer from thinning hair or anything but i do have hair that grows slowly so this shampoo helps my hair grow quicker and healthier.i use this 3 times a month at the moment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>