Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Hair loss products for men or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin German Caffeine Shampoo can help stimulate hair growth directly at the roots.
Average Customer Rating:
3.741 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
10
28 out of 49(57%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Review 1 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

still falling out lots

Posted01 November 2009
Customer Avatar
honeymelon
been using alpecin for 3 wks now, a lot of hair still falling out, how long before i notice any difference??
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
36of 70voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THANK YOU!!

Posted03 March 2010
Customer Avatar
Mutzy
it was my birthday the other week and my friend bought me it as a joke but ive used it and it has made a change already...i can feel it working its great i feel like me again!! All i can say is thank you Alpecin & than you Stamatis (the hunk) xx
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
34of 82voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boosted my confidence!

Posted28 November 2011
Customer Avatar
anonymous12323
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I realised from an early age that I had a genetic receding hairline. I was scared that I was going to lose my hair prematurely so started using Alcepin Shampoo. I've been using it for a year now and it's been great. Areas that were of a lighter shade to my thick brown hair have thickened and now feel stronger. I still shed hair but that's normal and it's only single figures a day. Anyone who is worried about a thinning hairline should definitely give this a try. The only negative about the product is that it sometimes leaves hair dry, I normal use head and shoulders 2in1 to help this. I also tried the liquid as well, felt that helped as well, you could really feel the tingling on the scalp. Hope it works for anyone who reads this!
Advantages: cheap, thickens hair, reduces hair loss
Disadvantages: leaves hair dry, quite a small bottle
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+34points
42of 50voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't Work for me

Posted20 June 2012
Customer Avatar
10bob
Just seen they have resumed the advert, not now advertising money back, I wonder why?. Just an overpriced shampoo, save your money.
Disadvantages: price
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
15of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding product for me - may vary for others.

Posted08 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Fazey69
from Yorkshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
I recently went through a huge amount of stress which caused hairloss, leaving me with a very large receding hairline that looked ridiculous as a 23 year old. Upon visiting the doctors I was told this hair would grow back, so for those with male pattern baldness i'm not sure if this product would cause regrowth, rather slow down the process.
However I have used this product alongside the Alpecin liquid hair energiser for around 2 months now. And while I was advised that it would take several months before my hair would be back to normal, the condition of my hair now looks better than before I started loosing it! From the first week of use my fine hair looked notably shiner, healther and felt thicker. But the product does dry your hair out so be sure to use it with a conditioner.
More long term after around three weeks I really started to see results, whispy hair appears to be growing where it did not before. Whereas before I used to find about 20 hairs in the sink from applying wax, there are now almost none, however this took time to work. My hair is growing back much thicker and healthier, you can barely see my widows peak now. Only disadvantage is that my hair has appeared to grow much faster than normal, which means it needs to get cut more frequently.
All in all I was sceptical at first but the effects of this product appear to be fantastic for the price if you give it time to work and make sure you keep it in (5 mins or more each day).
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My Alpecin Shampoo Review

Posted20 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Mark206
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Having used the Alpecin shampoo for about 6 months for my hair loss condition, I must say, I had zero results from this, even tho I did feel tingly sensation which people talk about that is supposed to mean that its "working".
Anyway - I started using the Taoist Handmade soap about a month ago, and that has helped at least stop the hair from falling, which is what I wanted as a last resort. I am not sure if boots sell them but its pretty good.
Its important to massage your scalp everyday whatever you do... so remember that.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprising Results

Posted02 November 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from West Lothian
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
I am always sceptical of such claims but pleasantly surprised with the results, it does work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for damaged hair

Posted29 August 2010
Customer Avatar
danyan
I continue used it for about 2 months. Sadly, it didn't help for hair losing, and made my hair totally dry out.. If u've got colored and permed hair like me, be really careful if u want to use it.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+47points
69of 91voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work for me...

Posted23 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Willpf
Been using this shampoo diligently for months now..........
Unfortunately, I can see no visable change.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
50of 93voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Works

Posted28 June 2012
Customer Avatar
ToBeMarried
from Birmingham, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I've been using this shampoo for a month now for the little patches of hair i lost through stress. Already i can see the hair growing back an the hairs about 1cm long now, i really recommend this shampoo. As its for men there's no conditioner in it, so i just use a normal conditioner after the shampoo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+12points
25of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If it sounds too good to be true, it most probably is.

Posted29 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Timmy1994
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
I first bought Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo in February this year. Six months later on and it has done absolutely nothing. I definitely would go as far as my hair getting worse. I'm not saying this shampoo made it worse but it has not made any difference or slowed the process down. I can't say it doesn't work but I can say it didn't work for me.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

great...not!

Posted08 December 2009
Customer Avatar
cosmico
I didn't like this product. It didn't work for me and I seemed to lose more hair. Prefer Nutrosome.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
23of 60voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

nice shampoo but does not do anything for hair loss

Posted20 January 2012
Customer Avatar
martnava
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
used faithfully for about 8 months now for much more than the average of 2 minutes. has not reduced hair loss or made my hair feel any stronger. has not reduced the itching associated with hair loss. most definitely does nothing for hair loss. It is quite refreshing tho and does condition the hair quite well, u can tell this from when u first use it. dont get it on your eyelids, i'm guessing as eyelids are thin they absorb the caffeine much more easily and u can feel your eyelids go strangely cold. def dont get it in your eyes it feels quite bad.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
15of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

problem hair

Posted09 December 2009
Customer Avatar
murphwa
I started using Alpecin hair loss shampoo and cannot believe how good this product is. I used to have to clear my plug hole every other day and the guys at the car wash asked if I had a dog. Since using the product only 5 days ago I have seem a remarkable difference in my hairloss...it has stopped stopped. I would reccommend this product. I have a genetic receeding hair line
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
42of 80voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

alpecin shampoo - money well spent!

Posted03 November 2009
Customer Avatar
gazm87
this shampoo really works, it definately stops excessive shedding, and my hair is starting to grow thicker too, so happy with the results so far!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
42of 70voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very pleased

Posted28 September 2010
Customer Avatar
sally1976
really stimulates the scalp!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-27points
25of 77voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shocked by this

Posted05 August 2012
Customer Avatar
chrisjv
from South west
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I was told by my GP that I was going bald. I tried lots of other far more expensive products but this one has been the best by far. Im in my early 20's so starting to recede was my worst nightmare come true. This has helped beyond words. My hairline is much fuller and has actually almost completely grown back. I also use the liquid which is also great and very fresh feeling. Would seriously recommend if your starting to recede!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+8points
57of 106voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted02 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Steph514
from Cardiff
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
I would 100% recommend this to a friend. I'm a 20 year old female and my hair was very damaged from excess bleaching and wouldn't grow. I started using this shampoo and also the Alpecin liquid about a year ago for 2-3 times a week. My hair has grown from just above my shoulders to halfway down my back!! I love this shampoo!!!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good

Posted23 March 2011
Customer Avatar
SugarSpunSister
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is aimed at men but after losing my hair quite drastically after having a baby, I gave it a go through sheer desperation.
I noticed my hair had grown twice as fast as normal and I saw the results within 1 month of using it every other day.
It does say on the back that it holds no moisture so you do need to use a good conditioner, but only use a small amount because overloading your hair with a heavy conditioner isn't very good.
Great! I have bought it over and over again and it is good value for money. I even left it in for a couple of hours because I desperately needed my hair to grow back and it was even more fuller and thicker.
Advantages: quick results
Disadvantages: no moisture needs to be used with conditioner
I would recommend this to a friend!
+63points
108of 153voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works for me

Posted26 November 2011
Customer Avatar
1Chris57
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
After the menopause my usually thick hair has become thin especially the front hairline. I have tried various shampoos which havent made any difference, but after 1 month using Alpecin my hair is thicker with regrowth around the front.I usually get my short hair trimmed every month but after 2 1/2 weeks it was ready for its usual cut! Some people comment hair needs extra conditioning but I havent found this. Will definately
buy again.
Advantages: regrowth and thickness
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
36of 54voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>