Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Hair loss products for men or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin German Caffeine Shampoo can help stimulate hair growth directly at the roots.
Average Customer Rating:
3.717 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
10
28 out of 49(57%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Review 1 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

alpecin caffenie shampoo

Posted29 March 2009
Customer Avatar
Arifahmed
brilliant it does really work best to leave for 10 mins
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+31points
80of 129voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has really worked for me!

Posted15 January 2013
Customer Avatar
AnnfromDorset
from Dorset
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I brought this about two weeks ago. I am almost 70 having had curly thick hair all my life, my hair was thinning fast and the curl had almost disappeared.
I used the product daily, leaving on for at least five minutes, within a few days I noticed the difference, the curl was begining to return, which of course made my hair feel thicker, no need for a conditioner. My hair feel clean and smells wonderful too!
I am so pleased with these quick results, I intend to buy the lotion so that my scalp can have a 'top up' after twelve hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Considerable improvement in hair condition

Posted18 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Artshoes
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Once per week
I have bleached and dyed my hair every few months for years and years and effectively destroyed my hair. I finally settled for a natural colour and used this product and I can honestly say the thickness of my hair has drastically improved and the damage has been minimised. Hairdressers have told me my hairs in great condition and are surprised to hear that I have bleached and coloured it many times. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking to improve condition and thickness of hair, my hair is so much shinier and softer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not just for men!!

Posted18 January 2014
Customer Avatar
MeggD
from Nottingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Although it said for men on the advert, I gave this a go. My hair used to be thick and curly, but due to hair dye, it's been damaged and slowly getting thinner. Within a couple of weeks, my hair was in better condition, had more shine, and more importantly felt thicker! My hair has started to grow again. Would highly recommend! Although if you do dye your hair (men or women) it does fade the colour a lot. Although I didn't mind this, obv some might!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for keeping hair thick...no miracle worker!

Posted18 May 2010
Customer Avatar
KwonJY
Been using this product for around 6 months now, it is very good at keeping your hair volume/thickness high. I have to say when I dont use it my hair feels very thin and I can clearly see the areas where my hair is thinning. By no means however is this a miracle worker but it is a good counter balance
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+30points
40of 50voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not sure its working yet...

Posted25 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
l started using it after recommendation from a friend - she had short hair and by using this shampoo she managed to grow a massive head full of healthy hair..l am on my first bottle now. l like the sensation that it gives me when l leave it for 2-3 minutes during the wash. but conditioner after wash is A MUST! l will def continue the treatment,
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic

Posted28 December 2011
Customer Avatar
sandy422
from coulsdon
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every few days
this really does work will use again and again really great
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
11of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Good, dont even try it

Posted16 March 2010
Customer Avatar
xxkathxx12
I have read the other reviews about this product and most of them appear to be rating this product highly. Personally I have tried most products and this one I have tried does not work. I used this product for a long period of time, this was to maximise the effect of the product, however it still did not have any change to my hair. Waste of money and time, sorry.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
34of 64voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Alpecin for stronger feeling hair

Posted01 April 2012
Customer Avatar
elmatador36
from London, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Suffering of receding hair at the temples and having never considered a hair loss prevention product, I was initially sceptical of Alpecin claim to prevent hereditary hair loss and strengthen weakened hair roots. I have been using Alpecin German Caffeine Shampoo together with the Alpecin Hair Energizer Liquid for the past two months and have noticed a significant difference on the day to day feel of my hair. My hair does feel stronger and fuller, especially during the first 12 hours following usage. I have noticed minimal hair growth in my temples. However I would not attribute this to entirely to Alpecin, as I acknowledge the impact of stress on hair loss.
Advantages: no need for conditioner
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+6points
16of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
New York
Used better
Posted 07 June 2012
I bought this and have been using it for a while, but I got much faster and better results with this new product called Pro Naturals Moroccan Argan Oil Hair Shampoo. It cleanses and nourishes hair, restores damaged strands back to health and provides color protection, plus it leaves my hair soft, silky and shiny. My hair has never looked or felt better!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

absolutely fantastic

Posted10 May 2012
Customer Avatar
reidy07
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
I bought this because alot of my female friends use it and rated it very highly in reference to healthier looking, thicker hair and also hair growth. I know its for men but I've been growing my hair for years and its got to a stage where it doesnt seem to get much longer!
Ive been using this product for over a month now but also use the shampoo with regular conditioner and then the Alpecin Liquid after hair is towel dried. (in a blue bottle with red top), which leaves you scalp feeling so clean and tingley!
The results are just unbelieveable, i dyed my hair two weeks ago and already have 1cm roots. It's growing practically double the speed!
The only downside is dying my hair more but I just want long hair!
I've never written a review for anything, but I've been so impressed with this I just had to!
But for girls and guys who want longer hair I couldn't recommend this more!
It's pretty cheap considering what it achieves!
Advantages: hair growth speeds up, price of product, thickness of hair improves
Disadvantages: needs to offer a bigger bottle!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+12points
29of 46voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressed ( RONSEAL springs to mind lol )

Posted06 August 2011
Customer Avatar
ARDEN
from Northants
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product works for me!! Whenever I washed my hair or put styling product in my hair my hands and fingers would be covered in hairs that had fallen out. Not anymore thanks to this awesome shampoo that I use every other day. I can run my fingers through my hair now without any hairs falling out. I guess it won't work for everyone but it has for me!!. I definitely recommend it and to be honest at just over a £5 you haven't lost much by giving it a try, compared to some of the more expensive products out there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
58of 98voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep your hair on

Posted16 September 2012
Customer Avatar
MrBatman8989
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
I've been using this product since July due to my hair line receding and I got to say it is fantastic my hair has grown more thicker. I am getting compliments about my hair getting thicker looking. I personally recommend this.
Advantages: it is a great product, lovely smell
Disadvantages: no disadvantage so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
30of 44voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

Posted22 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Howard5074
from Leicester uk
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every few days
I have alway had fine thin hair but just recently I have noticed it was particularly thin and flat. I read all reviews and decided to purchase the shampoo and liquid. I immediately put the liquid on my hair and then waited until the following day to use the shampoo. After gently drying I noticed my hair is a lot fuller. Not so flat looking. It feels like all of my hair strands have expanded. It doesn't feel sticky and doesn't leave any residue either. So far so good!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

still falling out lots

Posted01 November 2009
Customer Avatar
honeymelon
been using alpecin for 3 wks now, a lot of hair still falling out, how long before i notice any difference??
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
35of 69voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THANK YOU!!

Posted03 March 2010
Customer Avatar
Mutzy
it was my birthday the other week and my friend bought me it as a joke but ive used it and it has made a change already...i can feel it working its great i feel like me again!! All i can say is thank you Alpecin & than you Stamatis (the hunk) xx
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
34of 81voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't Work for me

Posted20 June 2012
Customer Avatar
10bob
Just seen they have resumed the advert, not now advertising money back, I wonder why?. Just an overpriced shampoo, save your money.
Disadvantages: price
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
15of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding product for me - may vary for others.

Posted08 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Fazey69
from Yorkshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
I recently went through a huge amount of stress which caused hairloss, leaving me with a very large receding hairline that looked ridiculous as a 23 year old. Upon visiting the doctors I was told this hair would grow back, so for those with male pattern baldness i'm not sure if this product would cause regrowth, rather slow down the process.
However I have used this product alongside the Alpecin liquid hair energiser for around 2 months now. And while I was advised that it would take several months before my hair would be back to normal, the condition of my hair now looks better than before I started loosing it! From the first week of use my fine hair looked notably shiner, healther and felt thicker. But the product does dry your hair out so be sure to use it with a conditioner.
More long term after around three weeks I really started to see results, whispy hair appears to be growing where it did not before. Whereas before I used to find about 20 hairs in the sink from applying wax, there are now almost none, however this took time to work. My hair is growing back much thicker and healthier, you can barely see my widows peak now. Only disadvantage is that my hair has appeared to grow much faster than normal, which means it needs to get cut more frequently.
All in all I was sceptical at first but the effects of this product appear to be fantastic for the price if you give it time to work and make sure you keep it in (5 mins or more each day).
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work for me...

Posted23 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Willpf
Been using this shampoo diligently for months now..........
Unfortunately, I can see no visable change.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
50of 93voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boosted my confidence!

Posted28 November 2011
Customer Avatar
anonymous12323
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I realised from an early age that I had a genetic receding hairline. I was scared that I was going to lose my hair prematurely so started using Alcepin Shampoo. I've been using it for a year now and it's been great. Areas that were of a lighter shade to my thick brown hair have thickened and now feel stronger. I still shed hair but that's normal and it's only single figures a day. Anyone who is worried about a thinning hairline should definitely give this a try. The only negative about the product is that it sometimes leaves hair dry, I normal use head and shoulders 2in1 to help this. I also tried the liquid as well, felt that helped as well, you could really feel the tingling on the scalp. Hope it works for anyone who reads this!
Advantages: cheap, thickens hair, reduces hair loss
Disadvantages: leaves hair dry, quite a small bottle
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+34points
42of 50voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Works

Posted28 June 2012
Customer Avatar
ToBeMarried
from Birmingham, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I've been using this shampoo for a month now for the little patches of hair i lost through stress. Already i can see the hair growing back an the hairs about 1cm long now, i really recommend this shampoo. As its for men there's no conditioner in it, so i just use a normal conditioner after the shampoo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+12points
25of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>