Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Hair loss products for women or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin German Caffeine Shampoo can help stimulate hair growth directly at the roots.
Average Customer Rating:
3.717 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
10
28 out of 49(57%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Review 1 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does work but......

Posted14 June 2009
Customer Avatar
xHEROx
It's a very good product for anyone who is worried about thinning hair. Its not a one hit miracle worker and it requires you to treat your hair over a very long period. I must admit its very cost effective compared to rival products and even my hairdresser my has noticed my hair has gotten thicker!!! So result!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+29points
60of 91voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Alpecin -worth a shot!

Posted02 August 2009
Customer Avatar
Davec
I have been using Alpecin since March 09 and my hair loss has not worsened and I beieve slightly reversed. I am however using other clinically proven medication as awell but since you have to wash your hair why not use a product that might help? It is cheap and feels good to use.Even using it every day you only use a small amount so it does last and your hair never gets greasy. I would recommend it as an immiediate action for all men who realise they are losing hair whilst considering other options.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
38of 81voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

still falling out lots

Posted01 November 2009
Customer Avatar
honeymelon
been using alpecin for 3 wks now, a lot of hair still falling out, how long before i notice any difference??
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
35of 68voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted23 February 2011
Customer Avatar
Leah09
from london
Age:18-24
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The second time I used the shampoo I only found one strand of hair that came out, usually I find at least 20 hairs in the bath when I wash my hair. What I did was massage the shampoo into my roots for 10 minutes and washed it out after and I know a few people said it didn't work for them but then every body is different
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
36of 55voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC PRODUCT!

Posted24 June 2013
Customer Avatar
delicious25
from Cheltenham
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
A MIRACLE IN A LIQUID!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. MADE MY HAIR SUPER SOFT, SMELLS LOVELY AND REALLY DOES MAKE MY HAIR GROW FASTER. NOT EXPENSIVE AND SHAPE OF THE BOTTLE MAKES IT REALLY COMFORTABLE TO HOLD IT.
Advantages: cheap, amazing smell, faster hair growth guaranteed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding product for me - may vary for others.

Posted08 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Fazey69
from Yorkshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
I recently went through a huge amount of stress which caused hairloss, leaving me with a very large receding hairline that looked ridiculous as a 23 year old. Upon visiting the doctors I was told this hair would grow back, so for those with male pattern baldness i'm not sure if this product would cause regrowth, rather slow down the process.
However I have used this product alongside the Alpecin liquid hair energiser for around 2 months now. And while I was advised that it would take several months before my hair would be back to normal, the condition of my hair now looks better than before I started loosing it! From the first week of use my fine hair looked notably shiner, healther and felt thicker. But the product does dry your hair out so be sure to use it with a conditioner.
More long term after around three weeks I really started to see results, whispy hair appears to be growing where it did not before. Whereas before I used to find about 20 hairs in the sink from applying wax, there are now almost none, however this took time to work. My hair is growing back much thicker and healthier, you can barely see my widows peak now. Only disadvantage is that my hair has appeared to grow much faster than normal, which means it needs to get cut more frequently.
All in all I was sceptical at first but the effects of this product appear to be fantastic for the price if you give it time to work and make sure you keep it in (5 mins or more each day).
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THANK YOU!!

Posted03 March 2010
Customer Avatar
Mutzy
it was my birthday the other week and my friend bought me it as a joke but ive used it and it has made a change already...i can feel it working its great i feel like me again!! All i can say is thank you Alpecin & than you Stamatis (the hunk) xx
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
33of 80voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for damaged hair

Posted29 August 2010
Customer Avatar
danyan
I continue used it for about 2 months. Sadly, it didn't help for hair losing, and made my hair totally dry out.. If u've got colored and permed hair like me, be really careful if u want to use it.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+46points
68of 90voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work for me...

Posted23 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Willpf
Been using this shampoo diligently for months now..........
Unfortunately, I can see no visable change.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
50of 93voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boosted my confidence!

Posted28 November 2011
Customer Avatar
anonymous12323
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I realised from an early age that I had a genetic receding hairline. I was scared that I was going to lose my hair prematurely so started using Alcepin Shampoo. I've been using it for a year now and it's been great. Areas that were of a lighter shade to my thick brown hair have thickened and now feel stronger. I still shed hair but that's normal and it's only single figures a day. Anyone who is worried about a thinning hairline should definitely give this a try. The only negative about the product is that it sometimes leaves hair dry, I normal use head and shoulders 2in1 to help this. I also tried the liquid as well, felt that helped as well, you could really feel the tingling on the scalp. Hope it works for anyone who reads this!
Advantages: cheap, thickens hair, reduces hair loss
Disadvantages: leaves hair dry, quite a small bottle
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+32points
40of 48voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't Work for me

Posted20 June 2012
Customer Avatar
10bob
Just seen they have resumed the advert, not now advertising money back, I wonder why?. Just an overpriced shampoo, save your money.
Disadvantages: price
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
14of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Works

Posted28 June 2012
Customer Avatar
ToBeMarried
from Birmingham, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I've been using this shampoo for a month now for the little patches of hair i lost through stress. Already i can see the hair growing back an the hairs about 1cm long now, i really recommend this shampoo. As its for men there's no conditioner in it, so i just use a normal conditioner after the shampoo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+12points
25of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If it sounds too good to be true, it most probably is.

Posted29 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Timmy1994
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
I first bought Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo in February this year. Six months later on and it has done absolutely nothing. I definitely would go as far as my hair getting worse. I'm not saying this shampoo made it worse but it has not made any difference or slowed the process down. I can't say it doesn't work but I can say it didn't work for me.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My Alpecin Shampoo Review

Posted20 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Mark206
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Having used the Alpecin shampoo for about 6 months for my hair loss condition, I must say, I had zero results from this, even tho I did feel tingly sensation which people talk about that is supposed to mean that its "working".
Anyway - I started using the Taoist Handmade soap about a month ago, and that has helped at least stop the hair from falling, which is what I wanted as a last resort. I am not sure if boots sell them but its pretty good.
Its important to massage your scalp everyday whatever you do... so remember that.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great value shampoo that works!

Posted25 February 2012
Customer Avatar
vebeus
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having tried one or two other products for thinning hair I have to say that this is the best I've used. Despite being aimed at men I do love its fragrance and it leaves my hair in a good enough condition not to bother with conditioner but then my hair is fairly short and fine. It has definitely stopped the amount of hair-loss I was suffering and my hair feels thicker as a result. Highly recommended, especially when used with the hair energiser too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
16of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

great...not!

Posted08 December 2009
Customer Avatar
cosmico
I didn't like this product. It didn't work for me and I seemed to lose more hair. Prefer Nutrosome.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
23of 59voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

nice shampoo but does not do anything for hair loss

Posted20 January 2012
Customer Avatar
martnava
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
used faithfully for about 8 months now for much more than the average of 2 minutes. has not reduced hair loss or made my hair feel any stronger. has not reduced the itching associated with hair loss. most definitely does nothing for hair loss. It is quite refreshing tho and does condition the hair quite well, u can tell this from when u first use it. dont get it on your eyelids, i'm guessing as eyelids are thin they absorb the caffeine much more easily and u can feel your eyelids go strangely cold. def dont get it in your eyes it feels quite bad.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
15of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My secert best mens hair product

Posted28 June 2014
Customer Avatar
wayne82
from kent
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
I started using this years ago even though my hair was very thick and even now in my early 30s it remains the same - My honest opinion its best to use something like this before you really need it to get the best long term effect for sure I am now reaping the benefits of using this sooner rather than later.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

alpecin shampoo - money well spent!

Posted03 November 2009
Customer Avatar
gazm87
this shampoo really works, it definately stops excessive shedding, and my hair is starting to grow thicker too, so happy with the results so far!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
42of 70voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

problem hair

Posted09 December 2009
Customer Avatar
murphwa
I started using Alpecin hair loss shampoo and cannot believe how good this product is. I used to have to clear my plug hole every other day and the guys at the car wash asked if I had a dog. Since using the product only 5 days ago I have seem a remarkable difference in my hairloss...it has stopped stopped. I would reccommend this product. I have a genetic receeding hair line
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
42of 80voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>