Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Hair loss products for men or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin German Caffeine Shampoo can help stimulate hair growth directly at the roots.
Average Customer Rating:
3.931 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
10
28 out of 49(57%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Review 1 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprising Results

Posted02 November 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from West Lothian
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
I am always sceptical of such claims but pleasantly surprised with the results, it does work!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for damaged hair

Posted29 August 2010
Customer Avatar
danyan
I continue used it for about 2 months. Sadly, it didn't help for hair losing, and made my hair totally dry out.. If u've got colored and permed hair like me, be really careful if u want to use it.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+54points
78of 102voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If it sounds too good to be true, it most probably is.

Posted29 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Timmy1994
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
I first bought Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo in February this year. Six months later on and it has done absolutely nothing. I definitely would go as far as my hair getting worse. I'm not saying this shampoo made it worse but it has not made any difference or slowed the process down. I can't say it doesn't work but I can say it didn't work for me.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very pleased

Posted28 September 2010
Customer Avatar
sally1976
really stimulates the scalp!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-29points
25of 79voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shocked by this

Posted05 August 2012
Customer Avatar
chrisjv
from South west
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I was told by my GP that I was going bald. I tried lots of other far more expensive products but this one has been the best by far. Im in my early 20's so starting to recede was my worst nightmare come true. This has helped beyond words. My hairline is much fuller and has actually almost completely grown back. I also use the liquid which is also great and very fresh feeling. Would seriously recommend if your starting to recede!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+7points
58of 109voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted02 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Steph514
from Cardiff
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
I would 100% recommend this to a friend. I'm a 20 year old female and my hair was very damaged from excess bleaching and wouldn't grow. I started using this shampoo and also the Alpecin liquid about a year ago for 2-3 times a week. My hair has grown from just above my shoulders to halfway down my back!! I love this shampoo!!!
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not sure yet

Posted29 March 2016
Customer Avatar
Dania1962
from London
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
My husbands been using this shampoo for 3 months, not quite sure if it's necassarily improved his future hair loss but he will persevere. His barber recommended the brand for long term effects.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good and bad.

Posted13 January 2013
Customer Avatar
caroline23323
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
I used this shamppo for two weeks and it is brilliant while you are using it, it made my hair grow by about 3 inches only after using it twice! , my hair looked really thick too. But then I stopped using it because it made my scalp dry, and I noticed that when I wasn't using it my hair actually looked thinner than it did before I started using it at all, so It does make your hair 'look' thick while you are using it, but after it actually makes it thinner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
7of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product ever for hair!

Posted06 January 2016
Customer Avatar
Macruz88
I have been using this product for a few week now, I have noticed less hair in the plug hole and my hair feels thicker and seems to be growing faster. I wash my hair as normal and leave the product on my hair for about 5 mins before I rinse out, I love this product and seems to be working for me I will continue using it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

hair loss treatment

Posted28 June 2016
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Haven't seen obvious improvement as only used twice.
but it leave my hair soft, smooth. Different to some peoples experience.
will continue to see if hair loss will improve
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

Posted28 June 2016
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Merseyside
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
Great product and the best value for money from Boots
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great value shampoo that works!

Posted25 February 2012
Customer Avatar
vebeus
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having tried one or two other products for thinning hair I have to say that this is the best I've used. Despite being aimed at men I do love its fragrance and it leaves my hair in a good enough condition not to bother with conditioner but then my hair is fairly short and fine. It has definitely stopped the amount of hair-loss I was suffering and my hair feels thicker as a result. Highly recommended, especially when used with the hair energiser too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
16of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would i recommend?!? YES YES YES!

Posted20 September 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I must start by saying I'm a woman. I cut all my hair off on a whim when i was 17, i am now 24 and up untill november last year it just wouldnt grow! I put it down to being pregnant and suffering from stress etc. last november my sister and i decided to try iton the off chance it might work… whats the worst that could happen right? Well by march this year (so 4 months of using alpecin) i had the hair i always longed for! I stopped using it recently and have noticed my hairs started to fall out so I'm definitly going to start using it again! Its just brilliant!!! Everyone asks me how my hair is so long and beautiful and i always say i used alpecin! A couple of things i would say is it has a very strong man smell and it realllly dries the hair out! But if anything i think it allows more conditioner to sink in leaving realy shiny hair! LOVE IT! X
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Considerable improvement in hair condition

Posted18 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Artshoes
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Once per week
I have bleached and dyed my hair every few months for years and years and effectively destroyed my hair. I finally settled for a natural colour and used this product and I can honestly say the thickness of my hair has drastically improved and the damage has been minimised. Hairdressers have told me my hairs in great condition and are surprised to hear that I have bleached and coloured it many times. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking to improve condition and thickness of hair, my hair is so much shinier and softer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has really worked for me!

Posted15 January 2013
Customer Avatar
AnnfromDorset
from Dorset
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I brought this about two weeks ago. I am almost 70 having had curly thick hair all my life, my hair was thinning fast and the curl had almost disappeared.
I used the product daily, leaving on for at least five minutes, within a few days I noticed the difference, the curl was begining to return, which of course made my hair feel thicker, no need for a conditioner. My hair feel clean and smells wonderful too!
I am so pleased with these quick results, I intend to buy the lotion so that my scalp can have a 'top up' after twelve hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
11of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic

Posted28 December 2011
Customer Avatar
sandy422
from coulsdon
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every few days
this really does work will use again and again really great
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
11of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't Work for me

Posted20 June 2012
Customer Avatar
10bob
Just seen they have resumed the advert, not now advertising money back, I wonder why?. Just an overpriced shampoo, save your money.
Disadvantages: price
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
16of 42voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

nice shampoo but does not do anything for hair loss

Posted20 January 2012
Customer Avatar
martnava
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
used faithfully for about 8 months now for much more than the average of 2 minutes. has not reduced hair loss or made my hair feel any stronger. has not reduced the itching associated with hair loss. most definitely does nothing for hair loss. It is quite refreshing tho and does condition the hair quite well, u can tell this from when u first use it. dont get it on your eyelids, i'm guessing as eyelids are thin they absorb the caffeine much more easily and u can feel your eyelids go strangely cold. def dont get it in your eyes it feels quite bad.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
15of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alleging Shampoo

Posted21 January 2016
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Pontefract
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
A great product. Makes my scalp tingle when used. It always makes my hair manageable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

Posted06 February 2013
Customer Avatar
mcliff2005
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Uses Product:Every few days
Have been using a minoxidil based product for a few years which stopped my hair shedding but thought i would give this a try,
After the post-minoxxidil hair fell out my hair was still falling out with alpecin on my hands when i shampoo and my pillow in the morning.
Alpecin will do nothing for hair loss. Caffeine will not stop male pattern baldness - end of discussion, I was a fool to even try it.
Save your money!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
5of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>