Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Hair loss products for women or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml

Alpecin German Caffeine Shampoo can help stimulate hair growth directly at the roots.
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
10
27 out of 48(56%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Review 1 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep your hair on

Posted16 September 2012
Customer Avatar
MrBatman8989
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
I've been using this product since July due to my hair line receding and I got to say it is fantastic my hair has grown more thicker. I am getting compliments about my hair getting thicker looking. I personally recommend this.
Advantages: it is a great product, lovely smell
Disadvantages: no disadvantage so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
30of 44voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has really worked for me!

Posted15 January 2013
Customer Avatar
AnnfromDorset
from Dorset
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I brought this about two weeks ago. I am almost 70 having had curly thick hair all my life, my hair was thinning fast and the curl had almost disappeared.
I used the product daily, leaving on for at least five minutes, within a few days I noticed the difference, the curl was begining to return, which of course made my hair feel thicker, no need for a conditioner. My hair feel clean and smells wonderful too!
I am so pleased with these quick results, I intend to buy the lotion so that my scalp can have a 'top up' after twelve hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Considerable improvement in hair condition

Posted18 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Artshoes
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Once per week
I have bleached and dyed my hair every few months for years and years and effectively destroyed my hair. I finally settled for a natural colour and used this product and I can honestly say the thickness of my hair has drastically improved and the damage has been minimised. Hairdressers have told me my hairs in great condition and are surprised to hear that I have bleached and coloured it many times. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking to improve condition and thickness of hair, my hair is so much shinier and softer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

does not work

Posted28 February 2013
Customer Avatar
lisaah
I bought this for my husband, and although he has been using it for months, his hair has became thinner, and has not helped his hair loss at all as there has been no improvement.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great for slow growing/damaged hair!

Posted10 May 2013
Customer Avatar
laurenex1
from uk
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
this isn't a over night cure to growing your hair you have to use this often to see results,i would recommend leaving it on the roots/scalp for 5-10 minutes at least once or twice a week!
note: i do not suffer from thinning hair or anything but i do have hair that grows slowly so this shampoo helps my hair grow quicker and healthier.i use this 3 times a month at the moment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If it sounds too good to be true, it most probably is.

Posted29 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Timmy1994
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
I first bought Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo in February this year. Six months later on and it has done absolutely nothing. I definitely would go as far as my hair getting worse. I'm not saying this shampoo made it worse but it has not made any difference or slowed the process down. I can't say it doesn't work but I can say it didn't work for me.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would i recommend?!? YES YES YES!

Posted20 September 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I must start by saying I'm a woman. I cut all my hair off on a whim when i was 17, i am now 24 and up untill november last year it just wouldnt grow! I put it down to being pregnant and suffering from stress etc. last november my sister and i decided to try iton the off chance it might work… whats the worst that could happen right? Well by march this year (so 4 months of using alpecin) i had the hair i always longed for! I stopped using it recently and have noticed my hairs started to fall out so I'm definitly going to start using it again! Its just brilliant!!! Everyone asks me how my hair is so long and beautiful and i always say i used alpecin! A couple of things i would say is it has a very strong man smell and it realllly dries the hair out! But if anything i think it allows more conditioner to sink in leaving realy shiny hair! LOVE IT! X
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it?

Posted07 October 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Cork, Ireland
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:Once per week
I love this product im on my second bottle this year as i cant use it all the time as i have eczema on my scalp. This has stopped my hair from falling out as much as it used to as i use heat on it between straightening curling and blow drying it and this has helped cut this down amazingly. The only thing i don't like is the smell is very boyish but it was designed as a product for men but im used to the smell now. Will continue to use and buy this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding product for me - may vary for others.

Posted08 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Fazey69
from Yorkshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
I recently went through a huge amount of stress which caused hairloss, leaving me with a very large receding hairline that looked ridiculous as a 23 year old. Upon visiting the doctors I was told this hair would grow back, so for those with male pattern baldness i'm not sure if this product would cause regrowth, rather slow down the process.
However I have used this product alongside the Alpecin liquid hair energiser for around 2 months now. And while I was advised that it would take several months before my hair would be back to normal, the condition of my hair now looks better than before I started loosing it! From the first week of use my fine hair looked notably shiner, healther and felt thicker. But the product does dry your hair out so be sure to use it with a conditioner.
More long term after around three weeks I really started to see results, whispy hair appears to be growing where it did not before. Whereas before I used to find about 20 hairs in the sink from applying wax, there are now almost none, however this took time to work. My hair is growing back much thicker and healthier, you can barely see my widows peak now. Only disadvantage is that my hair has appeared to grow much faster than normal, which means it needs to get cut more frequently.
All in all I was sceptical at first but the effects of this product appear to be fantastic for the price if you give it time to work and make sure you keep it in (5 mins or more each day).
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My Alpecin Shampoo Review

Posted20 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Mark206
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Having used the Alpecin shampoo for about 6 months for my hair loss condition, I must say, I had zero results from this, even tho I did feel tingly sensation which people talk about that is supposed to mean that its "working".
Anyway - I started using the Taoist Handmade soap about a month ago, and that has helped at least stop the hair from falling, which is what I wanted as a last resort. I am not sure if boots sell them but its pretty good.
Its important to massage your scalp everyday whatever you do... so remember that.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Silky smooth and tingly scalp

Posted27 November 2013
Customer Avatar
eekeeboo
from Wakefield
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
This is a product that actually seems to work, your health feels extremely clean and soft. You will notice within a short time all those random hairs you get falling out normally tend not to happen so frequently. I don't make it out to be a miracle cure for baldness, but it does appear to reduce any hairs being lost during styling etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not just for men!!

Posted18 January 2014
Customer Avatar
MeggD
from Nottingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Although it said for men on the advert, I gave this a go. My hair used to be thick and curly, but due to hair dye, it's been damaged and slowly getting thinner. Within a couple of weeks, my hair was in better condition, had more shine, and more importantly felt thicker! My hair has started to grow again. Would highly recommend! Although if you do dye your hair (men or women) it does fade the colour a lot. Although I didn't mind this, obv some might!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Alpecin -worth a shot!

Posted02 August 2009
Customer Avatar
Davec
I have been using Alpecin since March 09 and my hair loss has not worsened and I beieve slightly reversed. I am however using other clinically proven medication as awell but since you have to wash your hair why not use a product that might help? It is cheap and feels good to use.Even using it every day you only use a small amount so it does last and your hair never gets greasy. I would recommend it as an immiediate action for all men who realise they are losing hair whilst considering other options.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
35of 74voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

still falling out lots

Posted01 November 2009
Customer Avatar
honeymelon
been using alpecin for 3 wks now, a lot of hair still falling out, how long before i notice any difference??
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
33of 62voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THANK YOU!!

Posted03 March 2010
Customer Avatar
Mutzy
it was my birthday the other week and my friend bought me it as a joke but ive used it and it has made a change already...i can feel it working its great i feel like me again!! All i can say is thank you Alpecin & than you Stamatis (the hunk) xx
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
29of 70voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alpecin shampoo

Posted04 December 2009
Customer Avatar
bluray2k6
you have to be patient, but you will have results, it works really well, been using it for a few months now!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
23of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

alpecin shampoo - money well spent!

Posted03 November 2009
Customer Avatar
gazm87
this shampoo really works, it definately stops excessive shedding, and my hair is starting to grow thicker too, so happy with the results so far!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
41of 68voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for keeping hair thick...no miracle worker!

Posted18 May 2010
Customer Avatar
KwonJY
Been using this product for around 6 months now, it is very good at keeping your hair volume/thickness high. I have to say when I dont use it my hair feels very thin and I can clearly see the areas where my hair is thinning. By no means however is this a miracle worker but it is a good counter balance
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+30points
40of 50voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

alpecin caffenie shampoo

Posted29 March 2009
Customer Avatar
Arifahmed
brilliant it does really work best to leave for 10 mins
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+30points
79of 128voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Alpecin Caffeine Shampoo 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

great...not!

Posted08 December 2009
Customer Avatar
cosmico
I didn't like this product. It didn't work for me and I seemed to lose more hair. Prefer Nutrosome.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
23of 57voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>