Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Thermometers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Braun Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520

Braun Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520

The Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer measures your child’s temperature within seconds. Manufactured with Braun's unique patented pre-warmed tip, ThermoScan Ear Thermometers ensure professional accuracy every time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 out of 27(81%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Review 1 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Braun Thermoscan

Posted16 November 2009
Customer Avatar
exeter
I brought this item in January, it was verey good, quick and easy to use, but only after 10 months it will not read anymore, a little disapointing as the product was working so well.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
12of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

braun

Posted17 May 2010
Customer Avatar
flo234
so far so good! Simple, quick & easy to use. Worth the money so far!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says on the tin

Posted23 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Liskeard
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
The first one I brought was u/s, but boots replace it form my local store and that one works perfectly Very please with it
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
3of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable! Easy! Worth the extra cost!

Posted04 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from London, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
This is a fool-proof, reliable thermometer.
I purchased an expensive behind ear thermometer for my baby and have spent 2+ years getting unreliable results - its really not worth the stress when you are relying on the result to decide in the middle of the night! After a recent bout of family illness, I noticed what most of the doctors were using - these! You do have to buy the little plastic lens covers (this thermometer comes with a box of them though) and these are an extra expense, but you can purchase from Boots or other well known internet giants. SO worth the extra few pounds for peace of mind, especially if you have little ones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

Posted22 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Midlands
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Wanted a reliable thermometer that could be used for adults. This is great and really easy to use. Takes an accurate reading in seconds and is easy to position in the ear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice thermometer unit

Posted29 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Stockport, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Saw these Braun units being used in our local hospital, and this seemed better to use than the more traditional (and cheaper) thermometers we had at home. So we bought a Braun unit for home use, seems easy to use both on yourself and on other people. The package comes with an initial supply of sensor covers, but as these should be single use, then its worth knowing where to get a resupply if you are likely to use them up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

Posted06 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Peterhead, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Great tool to measure your child's temperature within a few seconds
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's good product!

Posted22 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Lincoln, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Good reliable product! I bought this because I know many hospital clinic using this. It's easy to operate and quick to the result! Also won't disturb my baby during temperature reading.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Purchase

Posted12 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Milton Keynes
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
The delivery was super quick, really pleased with the purchase. The thermometer had a small crack on the inner screen, however it is working fine. Would recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast & Accurate

Posted11 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Nottingham
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Need to take my temperature everyday (having Chemotherapy) and this thermometer is fast and accurate. Would recommend to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is easy to use

Posted24 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from preston
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
we went to the hospital, and they was using the same one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted27 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bordon
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Takes temperature reading quickly which is perfect for very small kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fast but big

Posted13 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from London UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
The positive feature of the ear thermometer is that it's very fast. However the measured temperature is higher than the body's one, so if the child has temperature it gives extremely high indications and this is very stressful. Also it is very big to carry while on trips.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Braun ThermoScan Ear Thermometer

Posted24 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Suffolk
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Bought this ear thermometer on line ,picked it up on the Tuesday and was using it in anger on the Thursday on my wife . Originally bought with the grandchildren in mind, ( 3 & 18 months ) but works great on us older folk too . Easy to use and is supplied with comprehensive instructions , easy to read screen and simple to use . Even when my wife was asleep still managed to take her temperature without waking her ! One of the best buys yet !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good and sensible product

Posted23 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Ognyana
from London UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I hope I do not have to use it often! Definitely comfortable and practical for the whole family. I would recommend it to any of my friends!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Temperature in a second! A necessary investment.

Posted13 April 2014
Customer Avatar
zoemays
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
When your child is sick and you need a temperature reading, you need it to be as quick and easy as possible so as not to distress the child any more. I needed a reliable result fast with no fussing about for My toddler who had an awful fever and this was just great. Cost wise it is expensive but I'm sure we'll have it for years to come, so more of an investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Buy

Posted25 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Merseyside
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Simple instructions. Easy to use, gives the reading instantly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

Posted15 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Mbt2004
from london
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
I've had this item for 5 year now and did not even replace batteries yet! so far so good. only downside is. wish it had a display light when using it in dark whilst baby is sleeping. other than that defo worth the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fab- best baby item I have bought

Posted21 August 2012
Customer Avatar
samo6
I've had this for almost five years now, and it is still going strong. In fact the batteries have only recently needed changing for the first time. It is the same as the doctors use also which gives me extra confidence I made the right choice. It gives a clear reading or will tell you if you have postioned it wrong. This is probably the best item I have bought (and I am pregnant with my third now so have bought a lot of baby gear!) - its one of the few things we havent felt the need to upgrade or needed to change for other reasons. Well worth the cost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
32of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Braun ThermoScan ExacTemp Ear Thermometer - IRT4520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

definately a "must-buy"

Posted07 June 2013
Customer Avatar
NewMama
from UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Don't worry about the cheaper ones on the market this is great. I've had this for two years now and still think it's good.
After an anxious night with my child last night who had a rapidly soaring temp, I kept a close eye on it. At 2am I was still very worried and crept in, in the dark. Slumbering, but I still had no idea whether his temp was still dangerously high. Armed with my Braun Thermoscan, I took the child's temperature within a couple of seconds (well, at least I THINK I found his ear!) and was out of the bedroom again with him still sleeping soundly. I have got through a LOT of lens filters within the last few hours but worth it to get a more accurate temp.
It's so easy to put in the right place and it doesn't start reading the temp until it is in the correct position (which isn't difficult anyway) - the light starts flashing to say it's reading then bingo! Two seconds later and you've got a reading.
Also as one other reviewer mentioned, there is familiarity when you visit doctor's/hospitals too as it is the same model.
Keeps my child amused when I pop the filter off as well - he thinks it/s hilarious!!! Daft.
Advantages: quick reading, easy to position, can be done in the dark whilst child is sleeping!, hygienic, comes with it's own carry case
Disadvantages: can get through lots of lens filters
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>