Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Screening kits or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for ANI-Biotech Biotech Biocard Celiac Test

ANI-Biotech Biotech Biocard Celiac Test

Biotech Biocard Celiac Test is a rapid and reliable home test for the detection of celiac disease from a fingertip blood sample. Celiac disease is an intolerance to gluten.
Average Customer Rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
7 out of 13(54%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Review 1 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

Posted13 March 2014
Customer Avatar
caileoc
from DEVON
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Bought this card a relative.Came up a definate positive yet when followed up by doctors lab test it came back negative.CONFUSED
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

Posted27 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Easy to use coeliac test, does what it promises. Can't be adverse to drawing a drop of blood as a sample is needed to do the test.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant test if you suffer with IBS

Posted21 September 2010
Customer Avatar
PriceC1
I suffer from IBS and heared that 1 in 10 people with IBS can suffer from Celiac disease so i got a test. it was simple to use and i could easily draw blood as the test kit i bought online gave me a free extra lancet!
Great test all round.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
20of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick & Painless

Posted28 September 2010
Customer Avatar
onlysophie
I'm a bit of a needle phobic, so I bought this rather than having to go to the doctors and having to have a blood test. I also hate the long wait for results to come through.
In my opinion, this is a brilliant alternative to a blood test from your GP, it's painless and quick, and the results are practically instant.
It pierced my skin easily, but make sure you rub your fingers together to make the skin warm and supple. (Easier to pierce) But even if I hadn't I don't think there would have been a problem.
I would recommend this product to anyone that doesn't want to go to their GP. Sometimes GP's are reluctant to give blood tests as well.
So I would give this a 5 rating!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
32of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great test

Posted15 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
The main benefit of this test is the fact it exists! Being able to test myself gave me the confidence to go to the doctor for a blood test and to persevere when my doctor didn't want to send me for tests. Brilliant to be able to get this so easily in Boots.
The test was quick and didn't hurt and the result was easy to read quickly. The only reasons not to give it five stars are that the process was a little bit fiddly (read the instructions careful and take your time) and the price is quite high.
Advantages: quick to use, accurate result
Disadvantages: small parts to handle, price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Test quite straightforward

Posted28 December 2009
Customer Avatar
PhilMid
The previous review suggested that the lancet would not draw blood. I found the lancet perfectly adequate to draw blood and I made sure that my finger was warm before the test.
The instructions were quite good and fairly clear but I took my time to ensure that I was following the steps correctly. Results were shown in about 3 minutes and I found the information that it gave was very useful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
25of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Coeliac test

Posted14 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
My son used it to test for Coeliac disease - the positive result was subsequently confirmed. His life changed for the better for £27.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A lot of box and not a lot in it.

Posted14 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Kent
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
Perhaps, as is my wont, I'm viewing this with the cynical eye of someone who was trying to get round the system (or lack of it) for getting my NHS GP to do anything.
I was (and still am) having symptoms similar to those of someone i know who has a gluten allergy.
The GP simply could not (would not) arrange a hospital test this side of you know where freezing over despite my having been a cancer patient with stomach cancer.
So I ordered the kit on line and collected it from my local boots in-store pharmacy. Now this isn't cheap at just over £20 and as I said above, there's not a lot in it for that money. There's an alcohol swap, a sterile lancet, a small container of reagent, a microglass tube blood collector, a sealed test strip, and a sticky plaster for where you have to pierce your finger. The test is easy to administer but should you make a mistake there's no second try and you'll need to buy another test kit.
I can't explain why but the kit didn't fill me with great deal of faith in its efficacy and the negative result I obtained, whilst being good to see felt a bit suspect.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unreliable

Posted04 October 2013
Customer Avatar
vulpes
An over priced product with unreliable results and no way to retest if something doesn't work correctly as product comes with only one of each item.
I did everything the instructions asked but when it came to piercing my finger with the lancet, if simply did not pierce the skin enough despite the pressure I applied. This being the case, the next instruction was to fill the tube completely with blood. I could not do this simply because the skin was not pierced anywhere near enough for the tube to fill and they even supplied a plaster with the kit which proved useless due to my skin healing within moments of piercing. I managed to obtain approximately 1/5 of blood in the tube and had to carry on. I could not re-use the lancet.
Then the instructions say to shake the buffer solution with the blood, so I did, but not too much. Except, bubbles formed and the instructions said that bubbles would affect the outcome of the test. I waited and waited, still there. So, I got a negative result. That's good, except I can't be sure if it's reliable and will go to the GP anyway.
. My opinion is to simply go to the GP and ask for a blood test. This test doesn't hurt because it doesn't work - it's not worth the money even though other people have had good results. It seems to be hit and miss for other people, but don't take the chance as £20 is much too expensive.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money.

Posted08 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Mushaboom13
Seemed simple enough to use. Read all the instructions thoroughly before I used it. Lancet didn't move at all and so didn't come out far enough to puncture my finger. Completely useless. Should have waited to see my doctor and not wasted £20.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor product

Posted18 November 2013
Customer Avatar
sbk82
Please don't waste the money on this product. Go to the doctor. I followed all the instructions but it is near impossible to draw enough blood to fill the needle thin glass vile. My test was inconclusive so I will just go to the doctor what I should have done to start with.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lancet cannot draw blood

Posted11 November 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
It seems, like many of these tests, that the flimsy lancet provided cannot draw blood. I wasted the test as a result. It seems like such a simple thing to get right.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
14of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

celiac test

Posted16 March 2010
Customer Avatar
katiea
Followed the instructions to the letter but unfortunately even though i could get blood from my finger the glass capillary would not fill more than about a third. The test was therefore wasted.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
20of 51voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Biotech Biocard Celiac Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lancet did not work

Posted13 November 2013
Customer Avatar
cbcheshire
from Stockport
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Overall a good idea, instructions clear and straightforward. However the lancet to pierce the skin bent rather than pricked, so we had to resort to a clean needle and hoped for the best! Not ideal, especially as you are against the clock once the test strip has been removed from the packet.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.