Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss gives visible shimmering tones and harmonious grey coverage without ammonia. Lasts up to 28 shampoos.
Average Customer Rating:
3.787 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(202 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 202 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
48
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 star
26
136 out of 198(69%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Review 1 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

so so...as they say

Posted22 September 2010
Customer Avatar
tralala24
I used to use this hair dye in the 'iced chocolate' shade which used to cover all of my roots and give a really even colour. I found that my hair sometimes felt a little dry at the ends after this but then saying that the conditioners are moisturising - I think that it's just because I also straighten my hair.
I have also tried the chocolate shade and found that this did not cover very well and my hair came out really patchy - most noticeably that it wasn't applying to my roots.
I think that this product seems to be dependant on the shade, but on the plus side, hair is really shiny for days after!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely

Posted16 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Bing23
from Newcastle
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hair dye left my hair feeling beautiful! I used the 'Dark Cherry" colour as i have really dark (almost black) natural hair and i just wanted to inject a little colour. I used two boxes of this dye as the first time i used it i did not have enough dye. I do have long thick hair though!! Really easy to apply, doesn't take any time at all and the results were great!!
i now have subtle red tones going through my hair, when my hair catches the light it looks fabulous!! The smell is quite pleasant and my hair is silky soft! I'm very happy :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My opinion

Posted11 June 2014
Customer Avatar
Mimi0383
from Manchester uk
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I was given this product for free in exchange for an honest review.
I used chilli chocolate #554 I was excited to use this product as I’ve been colouring my hair for many years and haven’t used this brand or colour before.
The gloves provided were much better quality than comparative brands although quite small in size.
I prepped my hair as directed, applied the colour and waited. 20 minutes as advised.
The smell was much more pleasant than other brands, and seemed silkier and smoother whilst it was setting.
Washing it off was easier than anticipated and my hair felt soft, smooth and smelt gorgeous! The conditioner provided was suffice cent enough to cover my hair and leave enough for a wash another day.
Before my hair was dark brown and afterwards the result wasn’t really very Noticeable. It wasn’t as I’d expected it to be according to the scale on the box for dark hair.
Plus I was also very dissatisfied that it did not cover greys as well as it brags. As Quoted below.
At last a conditioning colour – without ammonia, with visible shimmering tones, blends away grey.
The no-ammonia crème formula blends away grey. Your hair has all the richness of truly natural-looking colour, full of visible shimmering tones.
In all I wouldn’t buy this product again. Simply because it didn’t cover greys as promised and the colour result for my hair colour was not as advertised on the box.
Stars out of 5 given would be 2
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great colour

Posted25 June 2012
Customer Avatar
03cgreen
from London, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used the Amber colour, It is very difficult to find a decent ginger colour especially when I have medium brown hair. However, this colour, even though on the bottle it says for light brown to blondes was really good. My hair definitely more ginger, and the colour lasted for 8 weeks and stayed shiny. I just wish it had turned more ginger but baring in mind the type of hair it is for, I am not surprised that it didn't.
Advantages: easy to apply, great colour, leaved hair shiny, good value for money
Disadvantages: does stain any bathroom surface it touches, hair does smell for a couple of days
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

possitives and negatives... 'okay product'

Posted01 January 2013
Customer Avatar
JessicaLouise2
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
hi, well basically my natural hair colour is like a chestut/ mousey brown i wouldn't say light brown just slightly darker, and for the past 2 years or so started getting half head of highlights which were bleach blonde and golden blonde with my dark hair underneath which had never been dyed before. For ages i layed off getting highlights done because i just didn't have the money and as my dark roots started to come through i realised i would like to go back darker again for a change only problem of course is you can't just go over highlights in any old shade especially where there was bleach involved. If id have gone for a cool toned or ash colour highlights can turn green, there has to be some warmth ie red or golden undertones to put pigments back into highlighted strands which are missing thier natural pigments. So i purchased 'chestnut honey' and as it was my first time dying my hair i did a strand test with both natural hair (underneath) and highlighted bits and was disappointed to find it did hardly anything to my hair colour was mainly hopeing for the highlights to be coverd but werent at all the chestnut honey is meant for blondes and really light browns in order for it to come out as on box this is why it didnt work for me so i went back and purchased Medium brown 500 first thing i have to say about this is that its completely different to on the box ALOT darker then was expected. On the plus side if your wanting to go over highlights it does the trick and you cant see them. The condition it left my hair in was quite dry and it gave me a bit of a headache the first night of me having dyed my hair, the colour is quite flat and slightly dull looking but as its a semi perminant im hopeing it will fade out considerably if not i wont be happy! The conditioner in the box dye is not enough you need to wash dye out thoroughly and then aswell as the conditioner given apply a good hand full of your own conditioner and leave it for 10 15 mins... the dryness after dying isnt there forever the first few days its a bit dry and the chemical smell is quite noticable by day 4 chemical smell is gone and hair is in a good condition again. Ive only had it on a week and its faded out a bit to a dark chocolate brown with no red noticable so if you're looking for a medium/dark brown without it being really reddish then it will be a good choice just bare in mind. DO NOT leave it in for the time on the box (20mins) leave it in for 10 set a timer if you have to in order for it to not come out too dark, hope ive been helpfull x
Advantages: covers highlights, easy to apply (i'm a first timer), rich colour, doesnt smell overly chemically and strong
Disadvantages: colour looks a bit flat, dryies hair out a bit, darker then on the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fabulous hair

Posted19 May 2014
Customer Avatar
bzz96
from Manchester, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Casting Creme gloss hair dye gives your hair a deep colour with a silky shine, I found that the hair cuticle stays closed which makes the appearance of healthy, shiny hair. Along with this the product does not have an unpleasant smell in fact it is quite pleasant. 8/10 would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super!

Posted02 December 2011
Customer Avatar
HarrietSusannah
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking for a temporary purple to dye my hair with. My hair is mid brown and I used plum even though it's recommended for darker hair but it turned out fantastic! Really bright and vivid which is just what I wanted! One thing is it took FOREVER to rinse out. I literally had my head under the shower for an hour - and I still don't think I got it all out...
All in all a fab product and I will definitely be buying again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

fab process, poor results

Posted29 May 2014
Customer Avatar
originalkezzy
from norfolk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
I chose the chocolate colour dye as i wanted to cover up my bright gingery hair.
The design of the box was okay but very similar to all the others out there, each of the separate bottles/tubes were clearly labeled so i could easily pic out what i wanted but i did find the instructions to be slightly confusing as i kept reading straight through to the foreign instructions, the gloves did not fit my hands and were too tight and ended up tearing and finally the conditioner bottle is a silly shape and does not stand upright.
Mixing the dye in the bottle was very easy and there was plenty of mix in there to cover more than the hair on my head, it did not drip and was a lot less messy than some of the other dyes i have used in the past, i also found that the smell wasn't strong at all and didn't sting my eyes. on rinsing the dye out i was surprised that it didn't take very long at all, i didn't have to spend long stooped over the bath before the water was running clear.
Initially i was very impressed with the colour result even if i was a lot darker than expected and the shine was fantastic but this hasn't lasted long, bout 2 weeks after dying my hair it is getting greasy a lot quicker than normal and just looks dull and lank all the time also after 3 washes the colour was considerably lighter and i am almost back to my starting colour after 15 or so washes. i would not buy this dye again due to the poor results but the dying process was alot easier than other dyes i have used.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Casting Creme Gloss BLACK CHERRY

Posted12 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Enslavedangel
from manchester
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
This is my first review sorry if its a bit long
overall I am not to happy with the results of this product (I will be Glad when it washes out)
I had help from a friend to dye my hair as its long and thick I had to use two boxes, I personally this there should be a guide on what length a box will cover (as I first time user I luckily swayed on the cautious side) and what they recommend for longer hair.
My friend was able to put the gloves on with a very snug fit maybe larger gloves would be best but they were excellent quality!
Clear bottles would also be a good idea so you can see when your near the end of the dye!
As you can see in the picture my hair is more of a dark brown then a black cherry I think I would of liked it a shade lighter, as this is recommended for dark hair such as my natural colour I thought this would be great, I was sadly mistaken as my hair just seems to have got even darker and on the blonde bits in my hair it has the redish tint (which i am happy with but still quite dark) the slight shine is nice it doesnt feel softer or healthier then it did before seems to be nearing the same as before (in pic I have put product in my hair) I wish the smell of the conditioner was fruit rather then floral but that is personal preference.
I would only recommend this colour and product to someone with light hair wanting a dark red with tones in.
I would also suggest a tattoo hair dye tester as this would avoid it getting on cloths and makes sure it stays on for the 24/48hrs needed
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marvellous 1st Time Home Colourer !

Posted19 April 2012
Customer Avatar
choc24
from Newport
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I find this amazing. I have had so many comments how healthy and shiny my hair is looking. I was paying over £100 in the hairdressers having a cut & foils just can't afford it with other expenses going up. I had never coloured my hair myself so a bit scared of the result but think I did a good job with thanks to this even my hairdresser was impressed when I went for a cut. I have a bit of grey but that blended away, I wash my hair everyday I am into the 3rd week and it is still looking good. I used light brown it is a natural looking colour for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best of the best - Dark Chocolate 323

Posted15 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Sheyoncex
from Kent
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
Tried this product out on my Mum and the results were effortless. The packaging was lovely, bright and not too big nor small. The smell of the product was divine! Easy application, the results were amazing. Mum had lots of grey to cover and it glided through her hair at ease, results were outstanding! Would recommend again and again, brilliant product! So very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

casting creme gloss

Posted24 February 2010
Customer Avatar
shell1
this the first time i ahve bought this colour (amber 645)and thought it look brillant and a good shine to my hair
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!

Posted08 February 2011
Customer Avatar
MMcGee
I used black cherry on medium brown hair and loved the result! gave me shiny rich colour without any hair damage! last around 2 months before a re-colour is needed, i will deffo be unsing this for a long time. i am trying the chocolate truffle next for a bit of a change
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great colour, rubbish conditioner

Posted01 June 2012
Customer Avatar
nikkik3
from North yorks
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a bit of a hair disaster the other night with trying to highlight my own hair. My fringe and top of my head were light bright orange, the rest of my hair a darkish blonde colour. To correct this my daughter in law rushed out the next morning and bought a nice and easy semi in ash blonde and this product in chestnut honey.
She applied the ash blonde first which got rid of the orange really well but my hair now looked to light in colour for me so we then applied this.
The application was easy and felt really creamy. When I washed it off the water turned purple but luckily my hair is now a gorgeous dark honey blonde and even looking and because of previous hair colouring attempts I also have the affect of highlights and low lights. Brilliant. My daughter in law and the products both did a great job so at least I could go outside in public again!
My only complaint with this product is that the conditioner supplied is the worst I have ever used, didn't really feel to do the job and left my hair with an aweful sticky residue. So I will be using this product as neccesary but will use my own conditioner.
Advantages: great colour for me
Disadvantages: terrible conditioner
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Creates beautiful tone and gloss

Posted15 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Malkavian
from Edinburgh
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I'm thrilled with this product after having tried it out for free. I usually don't have a very high opinion of box dyes but the Creme Gloss was really different from most; so easy to apply, fast-acting, and my hair was so glossy and sleek afterwards which is normally unattainable for me as my hair isn't in very good condition. The colourant even smelled nice. I'll definitely be using this product again, especially after seeing how cheap it would be normally. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!

Posted04 June 2014
Customer Avatar
Kellz18
from Aberdeen
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
I have just triied this colouring product, in the mahogany and i love it. My hair is so shiny and it smells great since it is ammonia free! I would recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

casting creme gloss

Posted16 February 2010
Customer Avatar
julia3
This was my second time using Casting Creme Gloss, and I'm in love! I have dark brown hair, and last time's colour - Rich Espresso - was too similar to my natural colour to make much difference, but friends and family did comment on my hair's shine. This time, I chose Chocolate Brownie, which came out a bit more red than on the box, but otherwise beautiful! My hair looks and feels healthy, with a long lasting glossy shine. Love love love this dye!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As others have said, it doesn't wash out it just fades and that fading can take quite a while. All the same, I love this product.

Posted29 October 2011
Customer Avatar
c0ventry
from Coventry (no surprises there!)
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whilst I agree with the other reviewers in that it comes out darker than expected, the plum colour itself is vivid against the dark brown background and very, very vivid in the sunlight. I love it.
I find it leaves my hair feeling softer than normal for a week or so then it just goes back to how it was before dying. My hair was in great condition before dying it and, once the extra softness from the conditioning gloss had worn off my hair, was still in the great condition as when I started.
Others have mentioned the colour coming out every time they wash their hair but I have found that if you are patient when you are dying it you can get all the surplus colour out in that first wash. However, I'd still recommend an old towel over your pillowcases for the first week at least, just in case any surplus dye gets onto your linen in the night.
I've been using this brand (Plum 316) for over a year now and I think its fantastic. I fancy trying the Black Cherry sometime but I'm concerned it will be too black for me. I might patch test a Black Cherry streak in my hair to check it out - even if I don't like it enough to want all of my hair to go that colour it should still look ok as a black streak, as if it was there deliberately.
It covers my grey hair completely (only about 5% grey at the moment thankfully) but I can see regrowth as it is slow to fade. However, when I want to stop colouring my hair I have decided to use a colour that is very similar to my own hair colour and let it grow out slowly as I use more and more of my own colouring.
I have had many people ask me what I use and everyone I recommended it to has really liked it. I did warn everyone about the issues raised here before they bought it though, so they knew what to expect.
(When I say I have 'owned' the product for over a year I meant that I have been using it over a year rather then using one box for over a year - the check boxes don't allow for one application-type products. I use it about 5 times a year.)
Advantages: colour lasts well, fades gradually, great grey coverage, leaves hair in the same condition as before dying, reasonable price
Disadvantages: sadly this is never on special offer, shade on hair doesn't match box, always darker than expected, can be hard to rinse clear after application, can stain pillowcases if not washed clear at first
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted09 June 2014
Customer Avatar
mjwilliams1991
from Great Yarmouth
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
I usually get my hair colored at the salon but as a one off I tried this home box color and was really impressed with the results. My work colleges couldn't believe it when I said i'd colored my hair at home!
It doesn't smell like your typical hair dye, it's quite pleasant and definitely not as potent as some hair dyes can be.
The reason I've given it 5 stars is because it's true to its color whilst being also very easy to prepare. The after results were very good, leaving my hair healthy looking & shiny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

awful, bad colour twice

Posted12 March 2015
Customer Avatar
laurajade97
the dark brown goes jet black and the chocolate brown made my hair go dark BLUE highly reccomend to use olia if you're home dyeing your hair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>