Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss gives visible shimmering tones and harmonious grey coverage without ammonia. Lasts up to 28 shampoos.
Average Customer Rating:
3.801 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(201 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 201 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
48
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 star
25
136 out of 198(69%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Review 1 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent, will keep using this

Posted26 February 2010
Customer Avatar
polos
I was really scared because i had never dyed my hair myself or had it dyed by a hairdresser. I played it safe the first time and chose a colour similar to my natural colour. The bottle contained a lot of dye so I only used about half of it, thus the colour only lasted about 5 washes!! The next time I was braver and chose a darker colour, and I used the entire bottle, I had soooo many compliments and the colour has so far lasted about a month :) very pleased, it makes your hair so shiny and it is unbelievably simple to use.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Casting

Posted30 May 2009
Customer Avatar
Cathy1
The colour certainly lasts... and lasts. I used the lightest blond shade 4 months ago and it is still there and yes, there is visible root re-growth. When I called the L'oreal Help-line they said it isn't a semi-permanent colour but a tone on tone so the colour fades instead of being washed out and if the colour is 2 shades lighter than your natural colour it will take longer to go. Saying that though, it is a really nice natural colour and although my hair was a bit dry for the first couple of weeks it is now in really good condition. Certainly value for money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never again.

Posted17 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
In spite of following instructions to the letter, plum colour came out black. Extremely unstable dye, every wash or rinse producing a stream of purple water which stains everything it touches. I will now have to have my hair "stripped" to get rid of it and goodness only knows what damage that will cause.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quite Good...

Posted13 July 2011
Customer Avatar
Lilo15
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well I'm 15 and wanted a change in my hair colour - like a reddy brown colour so i bought the Mahogany 550 so yeah - (one thing is if you have medium/thick hair you would need to buy at least 2 packs depending on the length of your hair mines is shoulder length and i bought 2 which was all used up)
It does smell really good, it left my hair lovely and shiny (obviously it didn't improve the condition of it) but it is nice and soft.
However the colour was supposed to be a medium brown/red colour as it indicates on the box and my hair is dirty blond - but it turned out a really dark dark red/purple almost burgundy you could say so the colours are misleading - but i still love it.
Advantages: smells good good gloves easy application
Disadvantages: colour is misleading
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Iced Latte :)

Posted03 May 2010
Customer Avatar
mandysparkles
For many years now i have been dyeing my hair at home using hi lift tints, my hair was looking a bit over processed, too blonde and i was bored!! Originally set out to buy another dye but it was out of stock so thought i would bite the bullet and try this!!!
Thought my hair would maybe turn green as it was very light but to my delight it didn't!!! It is now a lovely glossy medium brown, darker than i thought but the name iced latte describes it perfectly!!! I am very pleased and will be using this dye from now on!! Also hair in much much better condition!!! v pleased!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

shade 500 medium brown

Posted21 May 2014
Customer Avatar
linzipinzi79
from Monmouthshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
I tried the above shade, found it easy mix and to apply, it smelt nice too! The colour was true to the shade on the box but if you are in doubt go for a shade lighter. AND if you have hair longer than shoulder length you will need two boxes!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great coverage

Posted14 May 2014
Customer Avatar
beanydog
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
I dyed my hair using this product, so mess free and easy to do the colour is lovely and you get good coverage and the conditoner after is so nice and leaves my hair so smooth and silky,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lovely colour!

Posted21 May 2014
Customer Avatar
kmichelle7
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Would definitely recommend this product. Most hair dyes usually leave my already thin hair quite dry and feeling awful so I have to condition like mad. But this one left it soft and silky for ages, and the colour was amazing too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't trust the colour on the box!

Posted17 February 2011
Customer Avatar
Lunapoppet
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After dyeing my hair red with xl live for a year i used a dye stripper and my hair went a really nice auburn shade - my roots were a mucky blonde so i bought the casting creme gloss in auburn and it has gone a warm brown colour. It's a very even colour, smells lovely and my hair feels really soft but it's such a boring colour nothing like on the box. :(
TBH i should've known because i used a light brown before that came out nearly black.
Advantages: smells good, v. easy to use
Disadvantages: colour doesnt come out right
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

Posted24 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Monkwood
from Cambridge
Even thou this product left my hair feeling amazing , it didn't grab the roots n left me with my natural colour
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not quite sure

Posted28 July 2010
Customer Avatar
prismatikitty
The colour turned out 'alright' - however the product and packaging is just *wrong* (it's in a tube not a jar-like bottle which makes it VERY hard to squeeze out when you're wearing gloves. There wasn't enough colourant to cover my hair (med-length). I've written L'oreal about it too. Not something i'd buy again in the future.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't wash out

Posted26 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Wasp4963
I dyed my hair with this at the beginning of September and it hasn't washed out completely, now i have to waste my time trying to get my colour back. Though this is the case it was a very nice colour just annoying that it didn't wash out.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great colour

Posted25 June 2012
Customer Avatar
03cgreen
from London, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used the Amber colour, It is very difficult to find a decent ginger colour especially when I have medium brown hair. However, this colour, even though on the bottle it says for light brown to blondes was really good. My hair definitely more ginger, and the colour lasted for 8 weeks and stayed shiny. I just wish it had turned more ginger but baring in mind the type of hair it is for, I am not surprised that it didn't.
Advantages: easy to apply, great colour, leaved hair shiny, good value for money
Disadvantages: does stain any bathroom surface it touches, hair does smell for a couple of days
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

possitives and negatives... 'okay product'

Posted01 January 2013
Customer Avatar
JessicaLouise2
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
hi, well basically my natural hair colour is like a chestut/ mousey brown i wouldn't say light brown just slightly darker, and for the past 2 years or so started getting half head of highlights which were bleach blonde and golden blonde with my dark hair underneath which had never been dyed before. For ages i layed off getting highlights done because i just didn't have the money and as my dark roots started to come through i realised i would like to go back darker again for a change only problem of course is you can't just go over highlights in any old shade especially where there was bleach involved. If id have gone for a cool toned or ash colour highlights can turn green, there has to be some warmth ie red or golden undertones to put pigments back into highlighted strands which are missing thier natural pigments. So i purchased 'chestnut honey' and as it was my first time dying my hair i did a strand test with both natural hair (underneath) and highlighted bits and was disappointed to find it did hardly anything to my hair colour was mainly hopeing for the highlights to be coverd but werent at all the chestnut honey is meant for blondes and really light browns in order for it to come out as on box this is why it didnt work for me so i went back and purchased Medium brown 500 first thing i have to say about this is that its completely different to on the box ALOT darker then was expected. On the plus side if your wanting to go over highlights it does the trick and you cant see them. The condition it left my hair in was quite dry and it gave me a bit of a headache the first night of me having dyed my hair, the colour is quite flat and slightly dull looking but as its a semi perminant im hopeing it will fade out considerably if not i wont be happy! The conditioner in the box dye is not enough you need to wash dye out thoroughly and then aswell as the conditioner given apply a good hand full of your own conditioner and leave it for 10 15 mins... the dryness after dying isnt there forever the first few days its a bit dry and the chemical smell is quite noticable by day 4 chemical smell is gone and hair is in a good condition again. Ive only had it on a week and its faded out a bit to a dark chocolate brown with no red noticable so if you're looking for a medium/dark brown without it being really reddish then it will be a good choice just bare in mind. DO NOT leave it in for the time on the box (20mins) leave it in for 10 set a timer if you have to in order for it to not come out too dark, hope ive been helpfull x
Advantages: covers highlights, easy to apply (i'm a first timer), rich colour, doesnt smell overly chemically and strong
Disadvantages: colour looks a bit flat, dryies hair out a bit, darker then on the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fabulous hair

Posted19 May 2014
Customer Avatar
bzz96
from Manchester, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Casting Creme gloss hair dye gives your hair a deep colour with a silky shine, I found that the hair cuticle stays closed which makes the appearance of healthy, shiny hair. Along with this the product does not have an unpleasant smell in fact it is quite pleasant. 8/10 would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super!

Posted02 December 2011
Customer Avatar
HarrietSusannah
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking for a temporary purple to dye my hair with. My hair is mid brown and I used plum even though it's recommended for darker hair but it turned out fantastic! Really bright and vivid which is just what I wanted! One thing is it took FOREVER to rinse out. I literally had my head under the shower for an hour - and I still don't think I got it all out...
All in all a fab product and I will definitely be buying again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Casting Creme Gloss BLACK CHERRY

Posted12 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Enslavedangel
from manchester
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
This is my first review sorry if its a bit long
overall I am not to happy with the results of this product (I will be Glad when it washes out)
I had help from a friend to dye my hair as its long and thick I had to use two boxes, I personally this there should be a guide on what length a box will cover (as I first time user I luckily swayed on the cautious side) and what they recommend for longer hair.
My friend was able to put the gloves on with a very snug fit maybe larger gloves would be best but they were excellent quality!
Clear bottles would also be a good idea so you can see when your near the end of the dye!
As you can see in the picture my hair is more of a dark brown then a black cherry I think I would of liked it a shade lighter, as this is recommended for dark hair such as my natural colour I thought this would be great, I was sadly mistaken as my hair just seems to have got even darker and on the blonde bits in my hair it has the redish tint (which i am happy with but still quite dark) the slight shine is nice it doesnt feel softer or healthier then it did before seems to be nearing the same as before (in pic I have put product in my hair) I wish the smell of the conditioner was fruit rather then floral but that is personal preference.
I would only recommend this colour and product to someone with light hair wanting a dark red with tones in.
I would also suggest a tattoo hair dye tester as this would avoid it getting on cloths and makes sure it stays on for the 24/48hrs needed
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!

Posted08 February 2011
Customer Avatar
MMcGee
I used black cherry on medium brown hair and loved the result! gave me shiny rich colour without any hair damage! last around 2 months before a re-colour is needed, i will deffo be unsing this for a long time. i am trying the chocolate truffle next for a bit of a change
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

casting creme gloss

Posted16 February 2010
Customer Avatar
julia3
This was my second time using Casting Creme Gloss, and I'm in love! I have dark brown hair, and last time's colour - Rich Espresso - was too similar to my natural colour to make much difference, but friends and family did comment on my hair's shine. This time, I chose Chocolate Brownie, which came out a bit more red than on the box, but otherwise beautiful! My hair looks and feels healthy, with a long lasting glossy shine. Love love love this dye!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted09 June 2014
Customer Avatar
mjwilliams1991
from Great Yarmouth
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
I usually get my hair colored at the salon but as a one off I tried this home box color and was really impressed with the results. My work colleges couldn't believe it when I said i'd colored my hair at home!
It doesn't smell like your typical hair dye, it's quite pleasant and definitely not as potent as some hair dyes can be.
The reason I've given it 5 stars is because it's true to its color whilst being also very easy to prepare. The after results were very good, leaving my hair healthy looking & shiny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>