Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss gives visible shimmering tones and harmonious grey coverage without ammonia. Lasts up to 28 shampoos.
Average Customer Rating:
3.801 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(201 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 201 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
48
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 star
25
136 out of 198(69%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Review 1 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great colour

Posted25 June 2012
Customer Avatar
03cgreen
from London, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used the Amber colour, It is very difficult to find a decent ginger colour especially when I have medium brown hair. However, this colour, even though on the bottle it says for light brown to blondes was really good. My hair definitely more ginger, and the colour lasted for 8 weeks and stayed shiny. I just wish it had turned more ginger but baring in mind the type of hair it is for, I am not surprised that it didn't.
Advantages: easy to apply, great colour, leaved hair shiny, good value for money
Disadvantages: does stain any bathroom surface it touches, hair does smell for a couple of days
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

possitives and negatives... 'okay product'

Posted01 January 2013
Customer Avatar
JessicaLouise2
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
hi, well basically my natural hair colour is like a chestut/ mousey brown i wouldn't say light brown just slightly darker, and for the past 2 years or so started getting half head of highlights which were bleach blonde and golden blonde with my dark hair underneath which had never been dyed before. For ages i layed off getting highlights done because i just didn't have the money and as my dark roots started to come through i realised i would like to go back darker again for a change only problem of course is you can't just go over highlights in any old shade especially where there was bleach involved. If id have gone for a cool toned or ash colour highlights can turn green, there has to be some warmth ie red or golden undertones to put pigments back into highlighted strands which are missing thier natural pigments. So i purchased 'chestnut honey' and as it was my first time dying my hair i did a strand test with both natural hair (underneath) and highlighted bits and was disappointed to find it did hardly anything to my hair colour was mainly hopeing for the highlights to be coverd but werent at all the chestnut honey is meant for blondes and really light browns in order for it to come out as on box this is why it didnt work for me so i went back and purchased Medium brown 500 first thing i have to say about this is that its completely different to on the box ALOT darker then was expected. On the plus side if your wanting to go over highlights it does the trick and you cant see them. The condition it left my hair in was quite dry and it gave me a bit of a headache the first night of me having dyed my hair, the colour is quite flat and slightly dull looking but as its a semi perminant im hopeing it will fade out considerably if not i wont be happy! The conditioner in the box dye is not enough you need to wash dye out thoroughly and then aswell as the conditioner given apply a good hand full of your own conditioner and leave it for 10 15 mins... the dryness after dying isnt there forever the first few days its a bit dry and the chemical smell is quite noticable by day 4 chemical smell is gone and hair is in a good condition again. Ive only had it on a week and its faded out a bit to a dark chocolate brown with no red noticable so if you're looking for a medium/dark brown without it being really reddish then it will be a good choice just bare in mind. DO NOT leave it in for the time on the box (20mins) leave it in for 10 set a timer if you have to in order for it to not come out too dark, hope ive been helpfull x
Advantages: covers highlights, easy to apply (i'm a first timer), rich colour, doesnt smell overly chemically and strong
Disadvantages: colour looks a bit flat, dryies hair out a bit, darker then on the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fabulous hair

Posted19 May 2014
Customer Avatar
bzz96
from Manchester, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Casting Creme gloss hair dye gives your hair a deep colour with a silky shine, I found that the hair cuticle stays closed which makes the appearance of healthy, shiny hair. Along with this the product does not have an unpleasant smell in fact it is quite pleasant. 8/10 would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super!

Posted02 December 2011
Customer Avatar
HarrietSusannah
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking for a temporary purple to dye my hair with. My hair is mid brown and I used plum even though it's recommended for darker hair but it turned out fantastic! Really bright and vivid which is just what I wanted! One thing is it took FOREVER to rinse out. I literally had my head under the shower for an hour - and I still don't think I got it all out...
All in all a fab product and I will definitely be buying again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Casting Creme Gloss BLACK CHERRY

Posted12 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Enslavedangel
from manchester
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
This is my first review sorry if its a bit long
overall I am not to happy with the results of this product (I will be Glad when it washes out)
I had help from a friend to dye my hair as its long and thick I had to use two boxes, I personally this there should be a guide on what length a box will cover (as I first time user I luckily swayed on the cautious side) and what they recommend for longer hair.
My friend was able to put the gloves on with a very snug fit maybe larger gloves would be best but they were excellent quality!
Clear bottles would also be a good idea so you can see when your near the end of the dye!
As you can see in the picture my hair is more of a dark brown then a black cherry I think I would of liked it a shade lighter, as this is recommended for dark hair such as my natural colour I thought this would be great, I was sadly mistaken as my hair just seems to have got even darker and on the blonde bits in my hair it has the redish tint (which i am happy with but still quite dark) the slight shine is nice it doesnt feel softer or healthier then it did before seems to be nearing the same as before (in pic I have put product in my hair) I wish the smell of the conditioner was fruit rather then floral but that is personal preference.
I would only recommend this colour and product to someone with light hair wanting a dark red with tones in.
I would also suggest a tattoo hair dye tester as this would avoid it getting on cloths and makes sure it stays on for the 24/48hrs needed
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!

Posted08 February 2011
Customer Avatar
MMcGee
I used black cherry on medium brown hair and loved the result! gave me shiny rich colour without any hair damage! last around 2 months before a re-colour is needed, i will deffo be unsing this for a long time. i am trying the chocolate truffle next for a bit of a change
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

casting creme gloss

Posted16 February 2010
Customer Avatar
julia3
This was my second time using Casting Creme Gloss, and I'm in love! I have dark brown hair, and last time's colour - Rich Espresso - was too similar to my natural colour to make much difference, but friends and family did comment on my hair's shine. This time, I chose Chocolate Brownie, which came out a bit more red than on the box, but otherwise beautiful! My hair looks and feels healthy, with a long lasting glossy shine. Love love love this dye!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted09 June 2014
Customer Avatar
mjwilliams1991
from Great Yarmouth
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
I usually get my hair colored at the salon but as a one off I tried this home box color and was really impressed with the results. My work colleges couldn't believe it when I said i'd colored my hair at home!
It doesn't smell like your typical hair dye, it's quite pleasant and definitely not as potent as some hair dyes can be.
The reason I've given it 5 stars is because it's true to its color whilst being also very easy to prepare. The after results were very good, leaving my hair healthy looking & shiny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

360 Black Cherry

Posted01 January 2012
Customer Avatar
meensmc
from Herefordshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having never dyed my long very dark brown hair before I was quite scared but having read all the (very helpful!) reviews here I thought I would take a chance. My hair has a few sprinklings of grey but I'm not ready to go for a permanent colour.
I followed the instructions to the letter although whilst squeezing the colourant into the developer tube, the colourant tube split, so a good half a teaspoon of it was wasted. So go gently! For a beginner it was easy to use though and any drips washed off the floor and the towels.
I left it for 25 minutes as it said to give another 5 minutes to cover any greys. Like a couple of other reviewers said, it was easier to apply by squirting it onto the gloves and then massaging in my hair rather than straight onto my hair. Having long hair I found it easier (and less messier!) to do this leaning over the bath rather than stood up. It did take AGES to rinse out though, and even though the water had run clear I still noticed a couple of stains on the pillowcase this morning (should have put an old towel down like someone else suggested) The colour is very subtle, my natural hair colour is very dark so I wasnt expecting miracles. Most of the greys have covered well,although a few I noticed have gone a sort of pinkish copper colour. On very dark brown hair like mine I would say the end result is a dark reddish plum colour, more noticeable directly under electric light or in sunlight. The conditioner is very good, quite strong smelling as someone else said but fairly pleasant. Hair condition feels lovely.
Haven't washed it yet as only treated it last night so not sure how well the colour will last but overall I am pleased with it and would use it again.
Advantages: easy to use even for beginners like me!, conditioner very good
Disadvantages: some greys not completely covered, first rinse takes ages for water to run clear, colourant tube split
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

made no difference! (light iced blonde 1010)

Posted19 February 2012
Customer Avatar
littlemisslucky
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i used two boxes of this hair colour (light iced blonde 1010) and put it on for the maximum time it gives and it made no difference to my current hair colour (medium blonde). very disappointed!
it says no ammonia but my hair felt very straw like and brittle after colouring i t (like typical hair colorants do) but i thought because it isn't permanent and ammonia free it wouldn't do this but it still did.
;(
Disadvantages: made no difference to my colour, hair felt straw like afterwards and very brittle, waste of money
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad, not good either

Posted12 April 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
It smelled incredible, made my hair very glossy and thick, but started to fade after about a week. It then went positively ginger (I used a dark brown one, rich chocolate or something) and it just kept fading. I disapprove.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

Posted05 March 2010
Customer Avatar
vsmith81
I have colored my hair for many years now, but wanted to shy away from permanent hair color. As my hair is growing out from the permanent dye used 7 months prior, I wanted a semi-permanent color to add some 'zing'. I am impressed with how lovely my hair turned out - a dark, flat color became alive, especially in the sunlight. It is a mild difference, but that is what I wanted. Also, my hair smelled great, even after several shampoos.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My hair has never been so shiny

Posted13 May 2014
Customer Avatar
yogalka
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I love the Loreal Paris Casting Creme Gloss. It gives my hair a high shine and is semi premanent.
The conditioner is lovely and gave my hair such a soft feel. The coverage is great and the end colour just as what it says on the box. My hair has never been so shiny and have had so many comments about it. Would definitely buy again.
easy to use even for beginners like me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product does not look how it does on the box :(

Posted18 September 2011
Customer Avatar
mollylew
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I'm very upset with the colour my hair came out after using casting creme gloss Amber, it does not look at all like it does on the box, it just looks like a dark brown. i originally had blonde hair so by the sugestions on the box, mine should have come out even lighter, but it came out darker!
Advantages: easy to apply, smells nice
Disadvantages: not the colour on the box, just looks brown
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Casting Creme Gloss

Posted19 October 2009
Customer Avatar
Jesslily
This product does what it says. And my hair always seemed in good condition throughout the time I used this. The colour was very bold aswell so that it never became dull, and instead just washing out completely it fades out to the natural colour, however mine lasted a good few months! Very worth the money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

403 Chocolate Fudge

Posted07 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Klasm
from UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
I used this in the shade chocolate fudge. I had light brown hair to start with and after using this it was almost black! It went quite a bit darker than the colour on the box but my hair still felt great after and didn't have that horrible straw like feeling you get after using some home dyes. Have since washed my hair three times and the colour still looks shiny and hasn't faded at all (still really dark!). A few people mentioned the conditioner wasn't very good but they may have changed it because i thought it was great, only used a tiny bit and my hair felt lovely!
Would recommend this but if deciding between colours pick the lighter one because it will end up darker than pictured on the box!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok

Posted19 December 2011
Customer Avatar
1987katie24
from Lincoln
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
This is an ok hair dye, not fantastic like it says in the adverts.
I have dark brown hair and wanted to turn it red, think i bought amber.
It managed to tint my hair but not fully change the colour. It didn't damage my hair and the colour is still visable 3 months on, so overall not bad but i bought it for a full colour change.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant product 10/10

Posted27 May 2014
Customer Avatar
16Paloma
from Berkshire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Never
First time ever trying a dyeing product at home. Instructiones were very straight forward and my hair is veri very soft. I love the colour! I will use it again and I'll recommend it to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great lasting colour

Posted30 June 2014
Customer Avatar
66bubbles99
from Bucks
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I was kindly given a box of L'Oreal Paris Casting Creme Gloss to test. The colour I chose was Chocolate Truffle. The colour on the box looked amazing.
The kit was easy to use and as it was semi-permanent I didn't have to worry if the colour wasn't quite as expected. However, I did end up liking the colour results, even if it was a little lighter than the model on the box.
The instructions were easy to follow and you get given a set of gloves so you don 't dye your hands. I put the product on my hair and waited 20 minutes as per the instructions. When I rinsed it out, it all seemed to come out quite quickly which was nice. The pack comes with a conditioner as well and this made my hair feel super soft. I even have some left for next hair wash.
The results were good but not quite as dark as I had hoped so I think I'll choose a slightly darker shade next time. I would definitely purchase L'Oreal Paris Casting Creme Gloss again. As it is semi-permanent I might like to experiment with some new shades as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

castings creme gloss

Posted17 April 2010
Customer Avatar
kate6150
what a lovely colour iced latte turned out, i had my hair done at a salon but it was a disaster from highlights,not sure if hair would go green i tried this colour anyway it had to be better than what i looked like from salon,i was so pleased i got a lovely light brown and the condition is brilliant
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>