Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss gives visible shimmering tones and harmonious grey coverage without ammonia. Lasts up to 28 shampoos.
Average Customer Rating:
3.801 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(201 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 201 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
48
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 star
25
136 out of 198(69%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Review 1 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

so so...as they say

Posted22 September 2010
Customer Avatar
tralala24
I used to use this hair dye in the 'iced chocolate' shade which used to cover all of my roots and give a really even colour. I found that my hair sometimes felt a little dry at the ends after this but then saying that the conditioners are moisturising - I think that it's just because I also straighten my hair.
I have also tried the chocolate shade and found that this did not cover very well and my hair came out really patchy - most noticeably that it wasn't applying to my roots.
I think that this product seems to be dependant on the shade, but on the plus side, hair is really shiny for days after!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ruined my hair! Terrible product!

Posted28 July 2011
Customer Avatar
KentKings
from Kent
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nowadays, 99% of colourants are tested to such extremes that by the time we buy them, they're safe and easy to use. L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss is NOT one of these products. I agree with other reviewers who say that the descriptions and pictures of the resulting colour is NOTHING like the reality. My hair is almost black today, and I'm just praying this stuff will wash out as it says it does. It's left my hair brittle and with an unpleasant, chemically smell. My mid-dark brown hair has been coloured numerous times, and according to the picture, this should have left the shade pretty much the same. It didn't. I didn't leave it on for too long. I followed the instructions exactly. Be very careful when using this product. I will never buy L'Oreal again.
Disadvantages: colours are different to what's shown on the box, messy application, bad chemically smell, leaves hair brittle and dry
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My opinion

Posted11 June 2014
Customer Avatar
Mimi0383
from Manchester uk
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I was given this product for free in exchange for an honest review.
I used chilli chocolate #554 I was excited to use this product as I’ve been colouring my hair for many years and haven’t used this brand or colour before.
The gloves provided were much better quality than comparative brands although quite small in size.
I prepped my hair as directed, applied the colour and waited. 20 minutes as advised.
The smell was much more pleasant than other brands, and seemed silkier and smoother whilst it was setting.
Washing it off was easier than anticipated and my hair felt soft, smooth and smelt gorgeous! The conditioner provided was suffice cent enough to cover my hair and leave enough for a wash another day.
Before my hair was dark brown and afterwards the result wasn’t really very Noticeable. It wasn’t as I’d expected it to be according to the scale on the box for dark hair.
Plus I was also very dissatisfied that it did not cover greys as well as it brags. As Quoted below.
At last a conditioning colour – without ammonia, with visible shimmering tones, blends away grey.
The no-ammonia crème formula blends away grey. Your hair has all the richness of truly natural-looking colour, full of visible shimmering tones.
In all I wouldn’t buy this product again. Simply because it didn’t cover greys as promised and the colour result for my hair colour was not as advertised on the box.
Stars out of 5 given would be 2
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

black cherry

Posted28 June 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwormforever91
from finchampstead, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
black cherry is a wonderful dark brown shade with red tones.
one box has enough dye to dye almost bum length long thick hair. it also covers previously dyed hair really easily and only takes 20 mins to work.
it has no nasty smells and leaves your hair feeling great and very soft
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

28 washes? More like 2.8...

Posted16 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I loved this colour when it went on. I chose a semi-permanent because I wasn't sure if I wanted to be permanently 'red' - so I chose 'black cherry' - the colour was lovely but by the 3rd day had faded practically to my natural colour. I found that my hair felt quite greasy too - since the dye is quite thick and sticky. It really is a lovely colour but doesn't last well at all...
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

Posted26 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie2756
from Maidenhead, uk
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
That was the first hair dye I ever used and I really like it. I tried some other once but always come back to this one. The colour range is great too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely

Posted16 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Bing23
from Newcastle
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hair dye left my hair feeling beautiful! I used the 'Dark Cherry" colour as i have really dark (almost black) natural hair and i just wanted to inject a little colour. I used two boxes of this dye as the first time i used it i did not have enough dye. I do have long thick hair though!! Really easy to apply, doesn't take any time at all and the results were great!!
i now have subtle red tones going through my hair, when my hair catches the light it looks fabulous!! The smell is quite pleasant and my hair is silky soft! I'm very happy :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

possitives and negatives... 'okay product'

Posted01 January 2013
Customer Avatar
JessicaLouise2
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
hi, well basically my natural hair colour is like a chestut/ mousey brown i wouldn't say light brown just slightly darker, and for the past 2 years or so started getting half head of highlights which were bleach blonde and golden blonde with my dark hair underneath which had never been dyed before. For ages i layed off getting highlights done because i just didn't have the money and as my dark roots started to come through i realised i would like to go back darker again for a change only problem of course is you can't just go over highlights in any old shade especially where there was bleach involved. If id have gone for a cool toned or ash colour highlights can turn green, there has to be some warmth ie red or golden undertones to put pigments back into highlighted strands which are missing thier natural pigments. So i purchased 'chestnut honey' and as it was my first time dying my hair i did a strand test with both natural hair (underneath) and highlighted bits and was disappointed to find it did hardly anything to my hair colour was mainly hopeing for the highlights to be coverd but werent at all the chestnut honey is meant for blondes and really light browns in order for it to come out as on box this is why it didnt work for me so i went back and purchased Medium brown 500 first thing i have to say about this is that its completely different to on the box ALOT darker then was expected. On the plus side if your wanting to go over highlights it does the trick and you cant see them. The condition it left my hair in was quite dry and it gave me a bit of a headache the first night of me having dyed my hair, the colour is quite flat and slightly dull looking but as its a semi perminant im hopeing it will fade out considerably if not i wont be happy! The conditioner in the box dye is not enough you need to wash dye out thoroughly and then aswell as the conditioner given apply a good hand full of your own conditioner and leave it for 10 15 mins... the dryness after dying isnt there forever the first few days its a bit dry and the chemical smell is quite noticable by day 4 chemical smell is gone and hair is in a good condition again. Ive only had it on a week and its faded out a bit to a dark chocolate brown with no red noticable so if you're looking for a medium/dark brown without it being really reddish then it will be a good choice just bare in mind. DO NOT leave it in for the time on the box (20mins) leave it in for 10 set a timer if you have to in order for it to not come out too dark, hope ive been helpfull x
Advantages: covers highlights, easy to apply (i'm a first timer), rich colour, doesnt smell overly chemically and strong
Disadvantages: colour looks a bit flat, dryies hair out a bit, darker then on the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great colour

Posted25 June 2012
Customer Avatar
03cgreen
from London, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used the Amber colour, It is very difficult to find a decent ginger colour especially when I have medium brown hair. However, this colour, even though on the bottle it says for light brown to blondes was really good. My hair definitely more ginger, and the colour lasted for 8 weeks and stayed shiny. I just wish it had turned more ginger but baring in mind the type of hair it is for, I am not surprised that it didn't.
Advantages: easy to apply, great colour, leaved hair shiny, good value for money
Disadvantages: does stain any bathroom surface it touches, hair does smell for a couple of days
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fabulous hair

Posted19 May 2014
Customer Avatar
bzz96
from Manchester, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Casting Creme gloss hair dye gives your hair a deep colour with a silky shine, I found that the hair cuticle stays closed which makes the appearance of healthy, shiny hair. Along with this the product does not have an unpleasant smell in fact it is quite pleasant. 8/10 would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great coverage

Posted10 June 2014
Customer Avatar
Nic871
I must say I did expect more from this product. My hair felt quite dry though after using this product although there was a slight glossy look I didn't like the way my hair felt. I was pleased with the overall colour though and it even covered my greys. I would suggest trying for yourself though before writing it off as everyone's hair is different and I have seen some very positive results from other people who have tried it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very dark!

Posted10 May 2011
Customer Avatar
MissKatVonG
from UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This hair dye leaves your hair in a lovely condition, but the colour result is a LOT darker that it appears on the box. I bought 415 Iced Chocolate, but the results were more like dark chocolate with a reddish tint. I bought this because I wanted a milk chocolate colour with no red or orange tones, but that isn't what I got. The colour itself is not unpleasant, it's a reddish dark brown, but it's not what I expected from the colours on the box. I will not be buying this again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super!

Posted02 December 2011
Customer Avatar
HarrietSusannah
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking for a temporary purple to dye my hair with. My hair is mid brown and I used plum even though it's recommended for darker hair but it turned out fantastic! Really bright and vivid which is just what I wanted! One thing is it took FOREVER to rinse out. I literally had my head under the shower for an hour - and I still don't think I got it all out...
All in all a fab product and I will definitely be buying again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

Posted01 July 2012
Customer Avatar
ellesea
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I'm naturally a light redhead but purchased this product in Amber to really brighten up my natural colour. The box is incredibly misleading, I have been left with a dark almost brown/cherry red colour and it is going to cost me a lot of money to fix. In terms of applying the colour, it's simple and easy to follow like most home dyes but I cannot fathom how they can get the colour chart so wrong. An incredible disappointment, I'm tempted to ask for a refund. Not what I would expect after using a Loreal dye in the past. I would definitely not recommend this colour if you are looking for a natural red colour:(
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great grey coverage and glossy colour

Posted26 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Kwallace22
Used the medium brown Loreal casting Creme gloss recently. Was most concerned with grey coverage and it did a great job on this. The final colour was rich and glossy making my hair look really healthy. One small problem is that the gloves provided with the kit are rather small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

fab process, poor results

Posted29 May 2014
Customer Avatar
originalkezzy
from norfolk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
I chose the chocolate colour dye as i wanted to cover up my bright gingery hair.
The design of the box was okay but very similar to all the others out there, each of the separate bottles/tubes were clearly labeled so i could easily pic out what i wanted but i did find the instructions to be slightly confusing as i kept reading straight through to the foreign instructions, the gloves did not fit my hands and were too tight and ended up tearing and finally the conditioner bottle is a silly shape and does not stand upright.
Mixing the dye in the bottle was very easy and there was plenty of mix in there to cover more than the hair on my head, it did not drip and was a lot less messy than some of the other dyes i have used in the past, i also found that the smell wasn't strong at all and didn't sting my eyes. on rinsing the dye out i was surprised that it didn't take very long at all, i didn't have to spend long stooped over the bath before the water was running clear.
Initially i was very impressed with the colour result even if i was a lot darker than expected and the shine was fantastic but this hasn't lasted long, bout 2 weeks after dying my hair it is getting greasy a lot quicker than normal and just looks dull and lank all the time also after 3 washes the colour was considerably lighter and i am almost back to my starting colour after 15 or so washes. i would not buy this dye again due to the poor results but the dying process was alot easier than other dyes i have used.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

absolutely amazing

Posted30 June 2011
Customer Avatar
theyellowmarshmallow1989
from birmingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the first time i used casting creme gloss I have light brown hair. used the shade mahogany (550). It smells lovely, really easy to apply It last alot longer than it says on the box. Had so many comments on how lovely the colour is... would highly recommend! Will definatley buy this product again, the
Advantages: leaves hair in a great condition, smells lovely, doesn't stain skin or clothes, easy to apply
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Iced Chocolate looked black

Posted05 February 2012
Customer Avatar
theziggystardust
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My hair is naturally a mousy brown colour with natural ginger/auburn streaks. I picked out Casting in Iced Chocolate, hoping to dye it darker. The result (after following the instructions precisely- though my hair is near waist length and so required two boxes) was a shade of black that has taken seven months to fade to the colour I had originally desired.
You can imagine how I felt when as I washed out the dye I noticed my damp hair was jet black. I had hoped that when blow-dried it would lighten up (maybe it was just the water making it darker!) but unfortunately not. I am very fair skinned and the clash was unfortunate.
I tried everything BUT a colour stripper to lighten it: washing up liquid; medicated shampoo; oil; dandruff shampoo, the lot. I dyed it in July and here I am in January with hair that remains considerably darker than my natural colour. The dye is still locked in there somewhere and my roots are several inches long.
The only good thing I have to say about this product is that the conditioner that is included leaves hair soft and smooth. It smells very strong and slightly sickly, but at least my hair was not damaged. I would advise ANYBODY who is considering dying their hair with Casting to pick a shade lighter than the colour they desire... it's a rule of thumb that semi-permanent ends up darker than intended.
Advantages: hair soft and shiny afterwards, application easy
Disadvantages: strange smelling conditioner, colours do not match those on box, colour has still not faded 6m on
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Looks great at first, completely different after a week!

Posted14 March 2012
Customer Avatar
chloehannah95
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decided to dye my hair after having my highlighted hair bleached completely (a white toned light blonde) this ended up with my hair very dry and very high maintenance and i couldnt style it much in fear of it snapping off so decided to dye it with L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss in the shade 'Chocolate Brownie 454. The shade on the box is a warm medium brown with a slight red tone to it which was good as i needed to put some red tone back in my hair as bleach strips it. The product although applied by a friend of mine training to be a hairdresser seemed easy enough for anybody to do and the dye did not smell of chemicals but had a nice smell and a rich creamy texture although one box does not last very far and if you have hair longer than shoulder length will probs need 2 boxes! The gloss however did not have a nice smell in my opinion as it was very fruity but may appeal to some. My hair felt instantly healthier and more conditioned in the dying process, once washed off and dried the colour was very even and glossy, silky and healthy looking and looked thicker however the colour was a dark brown in some lighting and a dark red in others, so far i was pleased to say it was a cheap home dye and didn't expect too much although the colour was too dark and too red, unfortunately after only a couple of washes the colour had faded lots, i had a full tube and half a tube of creme gloss spare so used this everytime i washed it aswell as the pink bottle L'Oreal Nutrigloss shampoo and conditioner, after a week the water still ran red when i washed it and was now very faded, dull and dry looking and was a very dull reddish colour with hints of blonde starting to appear making parts look slightly ginger, v.disappointed! hair looked great at first and a week later a lot of the colour was gone and my hair was much lighter with people even asking if i'd dyed it light? i am aware of the fact it is a semi-permanant but the bottle says lasts up to 28 shampoos and this looked ready for a re-dye after only 4/5 washes, have now decided to use a different brand of dye in a couple of weeks and dye it brown defeating the point of dying it in the first place which was to be more low maintenance. I am also aware red fades easily however this was supposed to be a brown colour and also this faded dramatically within the first couple washes. Would not recommend buying at all!!!
Advantages: cheap compared to salon and often on offer, easy to apply, looks good for the first day after dying it
Disadvantages: most of the dye comes out in the first few washes, needs more than one box, not accurate colour on box, would need redying very very often, only looks good for 1-2 days, comes out dark despite my hair, being a bleached white before dying it
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MissFairy
Kent
 
Please wait while more information about MissFairy is loaded.
Additional information about MissFairy could not be loaded.
Good Product
Posted 13 April 2012
I have been using this product for years. My natural hair colour is a light mousey brown and I first used ebony black and the colour is exactly whats on the box. I really liked it although i do have pale skin so some people said it was a bit dark however others thought it looked really good. I then used Dark cherry a few years later it showed a reddish hue but wasnt really bold. I then used Darkest brown which if you are looking for a dark colour but it want to be warm and not cold looking then i recommened this colour. I have very long hair down to my waist and I only use one bottle and it does cover well because there is alot of dye in one box. So buy one and if you need more go and get some but dont buy 2 straight away as you may be surprised by the amount in there. I find the colour has a nice lasting result and it does fade well. Overall, a very good hairdye.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as nice as other L'Oreal products.

Posted04 October 2013
Customer Avatar
abysmaline
from Milton Keynes
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
1.This type of hair colour (ones where you apply to towel dried / damp hair) works nicely to cover longer hair.
2.With 2 boxes of dye and sufficient time, my greys are still visible. I feel disappointed about this.
3. The colour isn't anything special.
4. My hair feels unusually dry.
5. Was nice not to have a nose full of chemicals, but would rather have the results I looked forward to.
L'Oreal Prefference is a superior product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>