Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss gives visible shimmering tones and harmonious grey coverage without ammonia. Lasts up to 28 shampoos.
Average Customer Rating:
3.943 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(438 Reviews) 438
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 438 reviews
5 stars
216
4 stars
102
3 stars
43
2 stars
33
1 star
44
327 out of 429(76%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Review 1 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted28 December 2014
Customer Avatar
Olya
After using permanent dark brown dyes for many years I decided to use a colour remover, go lighter and try light brown semi colour. This left my hair in great condition, health and very shiny. But this light brown is in actual fact much darker. So I'm going to try iced latte but having read the reviews, it appears that this shade also results in a much darker colour than shown on the packet. Will give it a go and write my review accordingly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 2 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted06 December 2014
Customer Avatar
NikCC
I've 've used this product in 'black currant' before with great results (I have naturally dark brown hair). I was really keen to go light brown and since I had great results with the black currant I thought I'd stick with the same brand. The result; no change in my hair colour at all!I noticed that my hair didnt have the red tinge from the previous dye but that was it.I am really disappointed!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 3 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted24 November 2014
Customer Avatar
onlym
Always super results with any of the colours and very easy to apply but... Please stop reducing the size of the gloves. I'm only a medium glove size but your gloves are so small and thin they break when I put them on, I've had to buy a box of gloves to use now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 4 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted30 June 2014
Customer Avatar
izzyandwillsmummy
Over the years I've coloured my hair at home more times than I've had hot dinners although. Casting Creme Gloss is a brand I'd never used before so was looking forward to seeing the results. I was able to try it for free in exchange for my opinion.I went for Chilli Chocolate as I usually lighten my hair so fancied a change.
For an old hand like myself, it was child's play to use. The basics are the same as any other home colour kit but for beginners there's easy to follow instructions with little pictures thrown in for good measure so it's hard to go wrong.
I loved that it was a 'no ammonia' formula. It didn't have a horrendous, 'chemically' smell and didn't burn or itch my scalp which usually comes hand in hand with colouring. You also get plenty to go round, my hair is rather thick and I actually had a little left over rather than worrying it was going to run out. It also took less time to develop than other colourants I've used. The recommended time is 20 minutes although I did leave it on a little longer as my hair is quite porous and due to the thickness of it. After rinsing it out I applied the conditioner and blow dried my hair ready to admire the finished result! It was gorgeous! Really glossy and shiny. And I loved the colour. I got lots of compliments too while on the school run so it was great that people had noticed my new look.
Unfortunately, it's not all good.
The gloves are too small! Way too small! I certainly don't have big hands but I struggled to get them on. I removed them while the colour was developing but they were so tight I ripped them putting them back on to rinse my hair.
The conditioner smells awful! This could just be my personal preference but I used it the once only then binned it!
And the biggy. It's definitely not lasted 28 washes! I know it says "up to" but I've not even made it half way and it's all but washed out. The colour washed off my cheeky greys within a handful of washes? Worse still, I have no idea what the hideous colour I've been left with is! What was once a gorgeous, deep auburn colour is now streaky orange! I've had to buy another colourant in an attempt to cover up my orange hair!
If the colour had lasted longer I'd have definitely used it again but unfortunately I won't be doing.
I'd only recommend this if you were wanting to colour your hair and cover your grey with something less harsh than ammonia based products but to definitely pick a colour that is virtually your natural colour.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 5 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted20 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Amioco
It looks like a lovely light brown/dark blonde shade on the box, but actual result came out MUCH MUCH darker than the colour on the box would imply - quite a dark brown! NOTHING like the colour guidelines!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 6 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted28 December 2014
Customer Avatar
Olya
Having used this product in light brown to which I wrote a review and found the results too dark, I used a dye remover and tried Iced Latte. To prevent a darker colour, I first dyed the roots leaving it on for 5 minutes, then using a wide tooth comb I combed it through to the ends but did not apply anymore solution. I left it to process for a further 10 minutes only (a total of 15 mins), rinsed thoroughly. Then used a gentle shampoo, rinsed again and the conditioner provided etc. Results.........perfect and just as illustrated on the box. As usual this product leaves my hair in excellent condition and shiny. Received several comments on how healthy my hair looks including the sutle natural colour.
If you're dark blonde or very light brown with grey roots as I have, the key is not to leave the solution on too long and concentrate on the roots only and just comb it through your damp hair.
Conclusion, I have natural looking hair without the over processed effect and my grey roots are completed. And instead of unsightly roots visibly growing out, they gradually fade when it's time to reapply. Results........I have professionally looking hair in great condition for a fraction of the cost!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 7 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted04 December 2014
Customer Avatar
StyleExp
I wanted to get omber effect at home, already had really golden bleached with very light blonde highlights . The coverage color of the product was very appealing ! But as a result the color came out dark -ash brown. After first shower the color appeared better on my hair . I think you can get this cover model color if you try product on virgin natural dark blonde hair but not on already colored , cause result is definitely darker. Now if you really wanna get this iced latte hair color then I suggest you to try product number 9.1 Natural Ash Blonde from L'oreal Excellence Creme . Trying this product after 2 weeks from product 7.13 , finally got the color you see on this Iced Latte cover model.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 8 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted20 August 2014
Customer Avatar
Clare
I bought this product from Boots in Wood Green and although it was very easy to apply, I must say the results are extremely disappointing. I followed the instructions, waited for 20 mins and I'm pretty sure I did everything else right but for some reason the colour didn't even come out!!!!! I wouldn't recommend this to anyone- my hair is still the same old brown it always was. Very disappointed and will be looking for a new product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 9 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted16 February 2015
Customer Avatar
Jenny
I have been dying my own hair for years and this is the BEST product I have ever used. It gives me even coverage unlike other home dyes. My roots grow out really light, other dyes normally leave me with 2 different shades of red (light red roots and dark red at the length), but this dye leaves me with the same colour all over!!! I will never try another product.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 10 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted05 January 2015
Customer Avatar
Weirdartist13
I really love the casting creme gloss hair dyes. These are the only dye that don't turn my naturally frizzy hair in to straw. Seriously they are amazing dyes. However I was really sad with the results on this dye, it's a beautiful colour but despite claiming to cover up to 50% greys, it doesn't cover my grey hair very well at all. I can still clearly see shimmering roots and it makes me feel really self conscious as a 27yr old. It's such a shame, as I said I would usually recomend this range without question, but I was so disappointed when I washed this out last night. I will probably try another shade to cover my greys in this brand, as I have had good results before, but I cannot honestly recomend this otherwise lovely product if you have some greys to cover. Sorry.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 11 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted29 January 2015
Customer Avatar
Swiggy77
I have been using Loreal Casting for more than ten years, and love it. It has not been so harsh on my hair as the permanent colours are. I have very fine hair and have gone nearly completely grey now. The blonde colours put a special sheen on my hair, which gets me complements all the time. Not even a hairdresser can obtain those results! I have recommended it to many people who complement me. Unfortunately the blondes seem to be unobtainable in my country, and our local shops say it was no longer manufactured. If more people know the fabulous results on gray and graying hair the demand will be staggering, I am sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 12 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted06 July 2014
Customer Avatar
S lesley
I have a blonde hair with a few white hairs, and was looking for a blonde colour that would cover grey, and maybe even brighten it without needing to be strong enough to damage it, and this has been ideal. Only problem I have is the info is confusing, as web site says it blends away grey, but box says unsuitable for grey hair. Is that just because the peroxide isn't strong, so might not be strong enough to cover grey, or the colour wouldn't turn out right? The colour looks ok when covering my few grey hairs though. I think most casting gloss is semi permanent but this box doesn't say if the blonde shades are. Is that just because they slightly lighten or is the colour as a whole non permanent?
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 13 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted27 May 2013
Customer Avatar
mckati
The picture in the product is misleading. I have always used Casting Colours because they are lovely but this one turned out to be beetroot rather than plum or aubergine as it looks in the packaging picture. I would suggest changing hte packaging and including the real colour, I was looking for a nice discreet shade and got this shocking dark fucsia instead! Can't wait for it to wash off!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 14 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted05 June 2014
Customer Avatar
freakfire
I was sent a packet of this to test for L'Oreal. I usually don't stray from my usual brand, Nice & Easy, but I was pleased to be given the chance to sample this for free and to compare it. I was sent the plum one, and thought it would be nice to try a new colour and see the difference. I usually dye my hair black, but it's naturally a medium brown, and hadn't been dyed for a few months by the time I received the Casting Creme Gloss so I was expecting a decent amount of plum to show.
I found the process of mixing the dye up etc. to be pretty much as standard, easy enough, not too messy, no problems. The only thing I wasn't too keen on is that this has to go on wet hair, which adds another stage to the process and I also find it more difficult to ensure full coverage as, when you put wet dye on dry hair, it's really easy to see and feel which bits of hair have been covered. Nevertheless, I think I did a decent job of covering my hair, which is below shoulder length, and I was pleased to see that there was plenty of dye mixture in the bottle.
Applying it to my hair was easy enough, aside from the wet hair issue mentioned above, and I found that it was easier to wipe off my face/ears than Nice & Easy seems to be, which was a bonus (note: I did use Vaseline too, as is usual for me). Waiting time and washing out were as standard really, and the conditioner was nice-smelling and usefully came in a little plastic bottle rather than a sachet, making it easier to open and save for future uses.
After my hair had dried, I was hoping to really be able to see the plum colour shining through, but I have to say I was a little disappointed here. It's really visible on my greys, so I guess would work for blondes or very light brown shades, but to me my hair just looks darker brown, with some bits of plum/purple in the greys. My boyfriend told me he could see the plum shade quite a bit in direct sunlight, but I couldn't see it myself, which was a little disappointing. I don't think I would use this shade again, personally.
I have given my hair a few washes now and it has been a couple of weeks since dyeing it. I did notice that a lot of dye still came out in the first few washes, more than I usually see with Nice & Easy, although I didn't notice any difference in the colour of my hair when dry, thankfully.
My hair does feel nice in texture and does have a shine to it more than usual, so I'm happy with that side of things. I think in future I would go for a black shade as I know that will turn out more as it should.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 15 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted01 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I received the L’oreal Paris Casting Crème Gloss in the colour Plum free to try from L’oreal via BzzAgent. My hair was annoying me as the colour had faded and it looked dull and lifeless, so I chose the colour Plum, when it came I was so excited. I read the instructions and it said it would develop in 20 minutes and that it was ammonia free. It came with the colour, the developer, gloves and conditioner, I also had some coupons to hand out to friends for them to try with some money off. I opened it and mixed it together, there was no horrible smell like the other colours I have used in the past, it was a nice smell, it was very easy to apply and didnt take to long, I have very thick and long hair so it would of been nice to have a little extra product. I waited the 20 minutes and i had no dripping. I washed the colour out which took approx 10-15 minutes for the water to fully run clear and I used the conditioner. My hair smelt really nice. I went downstairs to dry my hair so I couldn’t see myself in the mirror, I wanted the full effect, after finishing drying my hair I went and looked in the mirror….WOW, my hair was a bit darker than I expected but I thought it was great, it was a nice dark purple colour and when you stepped in the light you could see a really light vibrant purple tone. My hair felt great, it did not feel damaged in any way and felt renewed, vibrant and full of life. The colour actually did what it said on the packaging and it fulfilled what it promised. I am impressed, I have washed my hair and havn’t found it has faded yet as it says it lasts upto 28 washes. I would recommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 16 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted25 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Easy to prepare no strong chemical smell whats not to love? Well apart from the fact my hair didn't take it very well, my own fault really for tryin to put it on top of a blue black without strippin my hair. I did get some colour though almost a purlple/red gloss that shows up lovely in the sunlight. Would definitely recommend this for people who have lighter hair than me if the want an easy, gentle hair colour.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 17 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted17 December 2014
Customer Avatar
Hairaholic
This is a really nice colour not too red but still with warmer tones. Been using this brand in various colours for a long time now and always happy. I find they come out slightly lighter on me than the professional ones I have used so the base 6 is more like a 7 I think. Very nice glossy colour had lots of compliments.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 18 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted14 June 2015
Customer Avatar
Erin
I don't normally review hair products but this home hair colourant was so good i had to! My hair before colouring was a faded light copper brown (more on the ginger side) fading into a lighter caramel blonde colour and wasn't in the best condition from using previous dyes. I chose to use this "chocolate caramel" shade as I wanted a darker brown to cover the ginger and blonde tones without making it ashy. This dye did absolutely that! Beautiful natural brown shade with hints of caramel to brighten up my (very) pale complexion. Left my hair in amazing condition as well. 5 stars!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 19 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted17 December 2014
Customer Avatar
selg123
This is my go to product! Its great! So easy to use and I love how it is a semi permanent so you can change up the shades after a month if you like. I would say this range is best for brunettes from my experience :) love this colour its nice for winter as it has warm tones in it. Cant wait to try a new shade soon!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 20 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted21 June 2014
Customer Avatar
TremereRegent
I got to try out this dye free as a Bzzagent, but I'd happily pay for it now that I know how good it is. I was thoroughly impressed with the Creme Gloss dye. I've used from-the-box dyes before and they never live up to expectations, but this time I'm very pleased with the result. It was so easy to apply without dripping everywhere, it was mild on my sensitive skin due to the lack of ammonia, the colour took very well to my hair and it was so glossy afterwards, something I can never normally achieve with my dull, poor-condition locks. The colourant and the conditioner both smelled gorgeous too. My hair looks very natural, the medium brown I chose was perfect for enhancing my natural colour. A couple of weeks later and my hair is still shiny and feels lovely. I'll buy this again and definitely recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>