Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss gives visible shimmering tones and harmonious grey coverage without ammonia. Lasts up to 28 shampoos.
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(703 Reviews) 703
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 703 reviews
5 stars
352
4 stars
194
3 stars
67
2 stars
39
1 star
51
327 out of 429(76%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Review 1 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted28 December 2014
Customer Avatar
Olya
After using permanent dark brown dyes for many years I decided to use a colour remover, go lighter and try light brown semi colour. This left my hair in great condition, health and very shiny. But this light brown is in actual fact much darker. So I'm going to try iced latte but having read the reviews, it appears that this shade also results in a much darker colour than shown on the packet. Will give it a go and write my review accordingly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 2 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted06 December 2014
Customer Avatar
NikCC
I've 've used this product in 'black currant' before with great results (I have naturally dark brown hair). I was really keen to go light brown and since I had great results with the black currant I thought I'd stick with the same brand. The result; no change in my hair colour at all!I noticed that my hair didnt have the red tinge from the previous dye but that was it.I am really disappointed!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 3 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted24 November 2014
Customer Avatar
onlym
Always super results with any of the colours and very easy to apply but... Please stop reducing the size of the gloves. I'm only a medium glove size but your gloves are so small and thin they break when I put them on, I've had to buy a box of gloves to use now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 4 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted30 June 2014
Customer Avatar
izzyandwillsmummy
Over the years I've coloured my hair at home more times than I've had hot dinners although. Casting Creme Gloss is a brand I'd never used before so was looking forward to seeing the results. I was able to try it for free in exchange for my opinion.I went for Chilli Chocolate as I usually lighten my hair so fancied a change.
For an old hand like myself, it was child's play to use. The basics are the same as any other home colour kit but for beginners there's easy to follow instructions with little pictures thrown in for good measure so it's hard to go wrong.
I loved that it was a 'no ammonia' formula. It didn't have a horrendous, 'chemically' smell and didn't burn or itch my scalp which usually comes hand in hand with colouring. You also get plenty to go round, my hair is rather thick and I actually had a little left over rather than worrying it was going to run out. It also took less time to develop than other colourants I've used. The recommended time is 20 minutes although I did leave it on a little longer as my hair is quite porous and due to the thickness of it. After rinsing it out I applied the conditioner and blow dried my hair ready to admire the finished result! It was gorgeous! Really glossy and shiny. And I loved the colour. I got lots of compliments too while on the school run so it was great that people had noticed my new look.
Unfortunately, it's not all good.
The gloves are too small! Way too small! I certainly don't have big hands but I struggled to get them on. I removed them while the colour was developing but they were so tight I ripped them putting them back on to rinse my hair.
The conditioner smells awful! This could just be my personal preference but I used it the once only then binned it!
And the biggy. It's definitely not lasted 28 washes! I know it says "up to" but I've not even made it half way and it's all but washed out. The colour washed off my cheeky greys within a handful of washes? Worse still, I have no idea what the hideous colour I've been left with is! What was once a gorgeous, deep auburn colour is now streaky orange! I've had to buy another colourant in an attempt to cover up my orange hair!
If the colour had lasted longer I'd have definitely used it again but unfortunately I won't be doing.
I'd only recommend this if you were wanting to colour your hair and cover your grey with something less harsh than ammonia based products but to definitely pick a colour that is virtually your natural colour.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 5 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted20 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Amioco
It looks like a lovely light brown/dark blonde shade on the box, but actual result came out MUCH MUCH darker than the colour on the box would imply - quite a dark brown! NOTHING like the colour guidelines!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 6 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted28 December 2014
Customer Avatar
Olya
Having used this product in light brown to which I wrote a review and found the results too dark, I used a dye remover and tried Iced Latte. To prevent a darker colour, I first dyed the roots leaving it on for 5 minutes, then using a wide tooth comb I combed it through to the ends but did not apply anymore solution. I left it to process for a further 10 minutes only (a total of 15 mins), rinsed thoroughly. Then used a gentle shampoo, rinsed again and the conditioner provided etc. Results.........perfect and just as illustrated on the box. As usual this product leaves my hair in excellent condition and shiny. Received several comments on how healthy my hair looks including the sutle natural colour.
If you're dark blonde or very light brown with grey roots as I have, the key is not to leave the solution on too long and concentrate on the roots only and just comb it through your damp hair.
Conclusion, I have natural looking hair without the over processed effect and my grey roots are completed. And instead of unsightly roots visibly growing out, they gradually fade when it's time to reapply. Results........I have professionally looking hair in great condition for a fraction of the cost!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 7 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted04 December 2014
Customer Avatar
StyleExp
I wanted to get omber effect at home, already had really golden bleached with very light blonde highlights . The coverage color of the product was very appealing ! But as a result the color came out dark -ash brown. After first shower the color appeared better on my hair . I think you can get this cover model color if you try product on virgin natural dark blonde hair but not on already colored , cause result is definitely darker. Now if you really wanna get this iced latte hair color then I suggest you to try product number 9.1 Natural Ash Blonde from L'oreal Excellence Creme . Trying this product after 2 weeks from product 7.13 , finally got the color you see on this Iced Latte cover model.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 8 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted20 August 2014
Customer Avatar
Clare
I bought this product from Boots in Wood Green and although it was very easy to apply, I must say the results are extremely disappointing. I followed the instructions, waited for 20 mins and I'm pretty sure I did everything else right but for some reason the colour didn't even come out!!!!! I wouldn't recommend this to anyone- my hair is still the same old brown it always was. Very disappointed and will be looking for a new product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 9 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted16 February 2015
Customer Avatar
Jenny
I have been dying my own hair for years and this is the BEST product I have ever used. It gives me even coverage unlike other home dyes. My roots grow out really light, other dyes normally leave me with 2 different shades of red (light red roots and dark red at the length), but this dye leaves me with the same colour all over!!! I will never try another product.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 10 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted05 January 2015
Customer Avatar
Weirdartist13
I really love the casting creme gloss hair dyes. These are the only dye that don't turn my naturally frizzy hair in to straw. Seriously they are amazing dyes. However I was really sad with the results on this dye, it's a beautiful colour but despite claiming to cover up to 50% greys, it doesn't cover my grey hair very well at all. I can still clearly see shimmering roots and it makes me feel really self conscious as a 27yr old. It's such a shame, as I said I would usually recomend this range without question, but I was so disappointed when I washed this out last night. I will probably try another shade to cover my greys in this brand, as I have had good results before, but I cannot honestly recomend this otherwise lovely product if you have some greys to cover. Sorry.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 11 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted21 June 2014
Customer Avatar
TremereRegent
I got to try out this dye free as a Bzzagent, but I'd happily pay for it now that I know how good it is. I was thoroughly impressed with the Creme Gloss dye. I've used from-the-box dyes before and they never live up to expectations, but this time I'm very pleased with the result. It was so easy to apply without dripping everywhere, it was mild on my sensitive skin due to the lack of ammonia, the colour took very well to my hair and it was so glossy afterwards, something I can never normally achieve with my dull, poor-condition locks. The colourant and the conditioner both smelled gorgeous too. My hair looks very natural, the medium brown I chose was perfect for enhancing my natural colour. A couple of weeks later and my hair is still shiny and feels lovely. I'll buy this again and definitely recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 12 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted15 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Khansq
I regularly colour my hair to cover up my unsightly white hairs. Casting Creme Gloss has coloured my hair beautifully giving me evenly coloured glossy hair. My natural hair colour is dark chocolate colour- so that’s the colour I picked. However when dying my hair I left the colour on for too long and the colour appeared blacker than dark chocolate. The conditioner that comes with the colour is lovely, nice and thick and great smelling! The only downside is I have long hair and I had to purchase another box of hair dye to ensure even colouring throughout my hair and the smell of the chemicals is about for a couple of days. The packaging is really nice as well. Other than that, it’s ok but I would not purchase this dye again – maybe another colour…
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 13 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted22 March 2014
Customer Avatar
grrr
DEEPLY IRRITATING conditioner bottle-almost IMPOSSIBLE to open, too thick to get out, painful to squeeze-POINTLESS. also, previous applicator for colour much better. VERY ANNOYING
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 14 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted20 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Sooky1960
I tried this color on recommendation of my husband, and although it looked dark at first, it started getting better and better, everyone at my work christmas night out, said I looked younger and it suited me, they told me to keep it that color. I bought 2 packs as I thought with very long hair I would use 2, but we only used 1, I had to throw the other 1 away as I had mixed it. I might go for more shocking red like the cherry red to try it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 15 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted15 March 2013
Customer Avatar
emma 82
love this colour, i have dark hair and its come like a deep dark red. my hair feels soft and lovely too
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 16 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted15 September 2014
Customer Avatar
sjgrabs
Amazing colour, shine, easy application. natural hair colour is a rich medium brown, due to holiday had a ombre effect which I wanted to even out. Perfect, super rich chocolately colour. LOVE LOVE LOVE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 17 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted21 June 2014
Customer Avatar
Sarah23
Just WOW! This is the best covering, glossiest hair colour I have ever used. Even bets the hairdresser :-) Thank you L'Orèal - perfect for a natural brown shade!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 18 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted22 May 2014
Customer Avatar
lizzie69
I have used L'OREAL semi permanent Castings for a few years now.
I find it very good. After putting on the conditioner at the end of the procedure it leaves your hair really soft and shining.
I am in my late sixties so have to be careful not to leave it on any longer than the 25 minutes suggested as it colours my hair to dark for my skin colour. I am thinking of going a shade lighter as nothing look worse on an older person than your hair colour being to dark.
I think it is brilliant and can recommend it 100%.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 19 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted20 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Amioco
I've had this problem with casting colours before, the cplour on the pack is no reflection of the colour result! I was aiming for a light brown as it says on the pack and as the colour on the box would imply, but it came out a VERY dark dark shade of brown, - nothing at all like the colour guide!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 20 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted10 March 2014
Customer Avatar
idemos01
I have never have my hair painted because i loved my natural hair colour but i wanted to make them more shiny. So i decided to use a semi permanent colour in case i did not like it and i first bought this colour which is PERFECT! it looks perfectly natural as all hair have to be and my hair now are like they were before but more beautiful and shiny!! i recommend it 100%.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
1 2 3 4 5 ... 36 next>>