Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss gives visible shimmering tones and harmonious grey coverage without ammonia. Lasts up to 28 shampoos.
Average Customer Rating:
4.068 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(705 Reviews) 705
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 705 reviews
5 stars
352
4 stars
194
3 stars
67
2 stars
39
1 star
53
327 out of 429(76%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Review 1 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted03 August 2014
Customer Avatar
Twiggy
I have only recently been dying my hair, primarily to blend away the greys on my hair line and I rate this product for me, personally. My hair is a natural deep auburn and I normally use 'amber', however, when I fancy a change, something a bit darker I go for 'chilli chocolate'. Easy to use, great product for a great price. I tend to buy it when it is offer offer to make it even greater value for money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 2 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted05 June 2014
Customer Avatar
Keeley
I found this product very very good. I do not colour my hair usually, I haven't done it since university about 5 years ago.
I was a bit apprehensive about colouring again, but the fact it was semi permanent made me choose to sign up for the campaign when it was offered to me by Bzzagent.
I enlisted a friend to give me a hand with it all.
The gloves were so much better than any I had used before and I colour my friends hair fairly often.
The overall effect was lovely and subtle and showed up the red in the light. Sure, it doesn't change your hair colour dramatically, but I was prepared for this as the colour scale on the back of the box also didn't look that different.
Will be using again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 3 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted19 May 2014
Customer Avatar
CoopsCake
If you are looking for a great treatment to make your hair soft, shiny and smooth for weeks then this is the treatment for you, but it doesn't do much in terms of a dye.
The dye itself is easy to use and makes a great change from other products of the market. Firstly there is no nasty ammonia smell to contend with, which if like me you do your dying in a small bathroom where air is at a premium! Instead the lovely smell of Royal Jelly makes the experience a much more relaxing one. The formula is drip free, and works like a creamy lather rather than an abrasive dye, you can feel the difference from other colourants as your put it on. Even the gloves that are provided are different. Goodbye cheap petrol station man-sized gloves! Hello satin feel gloves that fit and actually help getting right into the roots of your hair!
Afterwards, hair is left feeling loved and soft. The crème makes hair shine after drying and even weeks after my hair is feeling softer, more manageable and smoother. Definitely a great hair treatment.
However, the downside is that the colour is poor. Not only did my hair not change to the lovely chilli-chocolate shade on the box, but there was little if any noticeable change from the dull brown I had before. I waited a few days to see if the hints of red tone would shine through after having a few days to develop but no such luck.
Good Points:
- Scent- It's lovely a fresh smelling instead of harsh chemicals.
- Treats hair- softer, smoother, shinier than it was before for a good while afterwards.
- Gloves- satin feel gloves designed for actual use instead of those oversized plastic ones in other dyes
Bad Points:
- Colour- no change, did not stick to what it said on the box and really disappointing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 4 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted30 September 2013
Customer Avatar
mazdoll4
The castings colours always give a nice shine and condition to your hair, and this one is no exception. However they are generally darker than on the box. The chilli-chocolate colour is nice but despite having dark blonde base, the colour is not a vibrant as I hoped for. It is certainly still nice and starting to lighten with a few washes, but will probably need to dye with another brand to a more fun colour. Shame, if these didn't produce darker results- we would could use them all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 5 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted12 May 2014
Customer Avatar
iaietta
I was pleased with the result of my dye.
I received this product as a part of a Bzz campaign. When I first saw the package, I thought it might have been a bot too bold for me but decided to go ahead. In the end, one dyes their hair to make themselves noticed!
Instructions were very clear and easy to follow. Nice to have a pair of proper gloves that don't wrinkle and shrink as soon as they meet some water. Quickly mixed, the cream stayed on for 10-15 minutes. I then rinsed and applied the conditioner. I was a bit worried as my hair seemed quite dry before applying the conditioner but all was back to normal softness thereafter. Another good point is the smell of the conditioner - absolutely lovely.
Results were much better than expected. A shiny, glossy colour without that plastic look of most cheap brands. Now time to experience more shades...
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 6 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted26 June 2014
Customer Avatar
sarahma17
I was really excited about this product after receiving it free to try out. I usually just pick up whatever hair colour brand is the nearest and cheapest (i have to buy 2 boxes because of my hair length). However I recently had my hair cut to shoulder length so thought one box will definitely be enough.
I chose the 554 Chili Chocolate shade and followed the instructions as i normally would. The application and process was easy enough, but i was really disappointed when there was no difference to my hair colour! It looked like my hair hadn't had any dye on it at all! The only real difference was the softness provided by the conditioner after washing out the hair dye.
Really disappointed as i have used Loreal hair dye in the past. Will try again in a week with a different shade, maybe i was unfortunate to get a dud box!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 7 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted26 May 2014
Customer Avatar
kimmer2111
On first impression the L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss looks just like any other hair dye that's out there in the market...
The instructions were clear and easy to read.....It was the usual process of mixing the tube of dye with the other bottle of solution....When it came to putting the gloves on I did struggle.....I wouldn't say I had large hands but they were really small and a faff on to get on.
There was plenty of the product....I have medium length hair....Just past my shoulders and was concerned that one bottle would not be enough but I was surprised to find it covered my hair completely.....I also liked the fact there was no nasty ammonia smell to contend with....
I left it on for the directed 20 minutes and had no adverse effects...The dye washed off easily - some dyes seem to take forever to wash out....running coloured water for a very long time....This was very quick....
Over all I’m very pleased with the L’Oreal Paris Casting Crème hair dye....The colour result was pretty much how it should be according to the box.....My hair didn’t feel dried out as it can with some hair dyes and most importantly it covered my greys.....I would certainly recommend this to friends!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 8 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted06 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Rachel2091
I LOVE this colour! It doesn't come out just a flat brown colour, there are so many different highlights in it that really complimented my hair. Will definitely keep using this colour!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 9 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted21 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Clairey125
I received this free from a product testing site (Bzzagent). I chose the chilli chocolate colour. I was very impressed, the instructions where simple and easy to follow. There was a genrous amount of conditioner and plenty of dye mix, especially for my hair which is very fine. After I had followed the instructions and dried my hair I was very impressed with the result. My colour was lovely and natural looking (even though a few shades darker than my natural hair, by choice) and super shiny and silky smooth. It even looked thicker than normal which was great.
All in a really good product. The only slight complaint would be that the gloves were a bit small and difficult to get on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 10 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted22 October 2013
Customer Avatar
lea20d
i love this colour so much! my hair feels great after i have dyed it, looks shiny, easy to apply! the only downfall is that the colour washes out far too quickly! after the second wash my hair is a couple shades lighter than the orignal result! i wish this colour was permanent! i do however colour my hair with it every 2 weeks to keep the colour going!i just this its a lovely shade! very warm tones. :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 11 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted10 May 2014
Customer Avatar
danig1
I received this product as part of Bzzagent campaign @#GotItFree and I used on my mum's hair as I'm heavily pregnant, I was super impressed with the results. We used the chilli chocolate shade and it left a gorgeous auburn/red tone to her hair when it meets the light. Very easy to apply and one dye gave her long hair great coverage covering up all those greys!. Quick development time for a even colour at only 20 minutes and no harsh fumes as no ammonia. I would strongly recommend this product leaves hair feeling healthy and looking great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 12 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted28 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Mimi0383
Bzz report for L’ORÉAL PARIS CASTING CRÈME GLOSS
I was given this product for free in exchange for an honest review.
I used chilli chocolate #554 I was excited to use this product as I’ve been colouring my hair for many years and haven’t used this brand or colour before.
The gloves provided were much better quality than comparative brands although quite small in size.
I prepped my hair as directed, applied the colour and waited. 20 minutes as advised.
The smell was much more pleasant than other brands, and seemed silkier and smoother whilst it was setting.
Washing it off was easier than anticipated and my hair felt soft, smooth and smelt gorgeous! The conditioner provided was suffice cent enough to cover my hair and leave enough for a wash another day.
Before my hair was dark brown and afterwards the result wasn’t really very Noticeable. It wasn’t as I’d expected it to be according to the scale on the box for dark hair.
Plus I was also very dissatisfied that it did not cover greys as well as it brags. As Quoted below.
At last a conditioning colour – without ammonia, with visible shimmering tones, blends away grey.
The no-ammonia crème formula blends away grey. Your hair has all the richness of truly natural-looking colour, full of visible shimmering tones.
In all I wouldn’t buy this product again. Simply because it didn’t cover greys as promised and the colour result for my hair colour was not as advertised on the box.
Stars out of 5 given would be 2
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 13 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted04 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Love this colour bout it over a red/brown and was expecting it to be a bit red but the colour turned out exactly like on the box, which was fine and loved it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 14 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted23 November 2014
Customer Avatar
Molly38
So I have light ginger hair, a sort of Titan shade and I was looking to go a dark auburn shade but the colours didn't really match what I was looking for, some were too red or too ginger but I got this product hoping it would. There were no reviews on the chilli chocolate hair dye that were for gingers so I thought I would try it out. The application was so easy but when I was half way through waiting for the dye to work it went a brown colour which really scared me but once it was blowed dried it was gorgeous! There is auburn, red and light brown tones in there and it definitely suits a ginger! Really happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 15 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted26 May 2014
Customer Avatar
LizzieH
Amazing. Easy to apply and amazing results. Very pleased and amazing difference!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 16 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted20 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Amioco
It looks like a lovely light brown/dark blonde shade on the box, but actual result came out MUCH MUCH darker than the colour on the box would imply! NOTHING like the colour guidelines!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 17 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted09 January 2015
Customer Avatar
Pracco
I love this colour but were can I buy it from or can I order direct from you and the cost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 18 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted24 January 2015
Customer Avatar
sebona
I used thisdye on dark blonde hair with slightly warm shade (want to get rid of the warm shade). I read previous review so I was ready for it, but the result was much darket than on the box. The colour similar to teh one on teh box appear after around 10 washings, so either you have to leave the dye on much shorter or count with darker result (which is nice, but nothing like on the box)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 19 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted23 February 2014
Customer Avatar
mrs t
smells lovely and doesn't drip at all but so much darker than the box colour that it was a huge shock! may be ok when it has been washed 5 or 6 times. it is a cold colour, doesn't make scalp itch like lots of colours. It isn't anything like the box shade at all.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 20 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted31 December 2013
Customer Avatar
redhead
I am a natural red head/auburn and this colour is perfect! It covers the grey and as it washes out I do not ever get that dreaded grey line. I have been using it for over 5 years now and am in my 50s.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
1 2 3 4 5 ... 36 next>>