Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

LOreal L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss

L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss gives visible shimmering tones and harmonious grey coverage without ammonia. Lasts up to 28 shampoos.
Average Customer Rating:
3.787 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(202 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 202 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
48
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 star
26
136 out of 198(69%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Review 1 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

so so...as they say

Posted22 September 2010
Customer Avatar
tralala24
I used to use this hair dye in the 'iced chocolate' shade which used to cover all of my roots and give a really even colour. I found that my hair sometimes felt a little dry at the ends after this but then saying that the conditioners are moisturising - I think that it's just because I also straighten my hair.
I have also tried the chocolate shade and found that this did not cover very well and my hair came out really patchy - most noticeably that it wasn't applying to my roots.
I think that this product seems to be dependant on the shade, but on the plus side, hair is really shiny for days after!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Darkest Brown colour

Posted30 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Chelski90
I'd never coloured my own hair so took a risk and trusted L'oreal as it's a known brand, and I am so glad I did Found the perfect colour, tried Chocolate first which wasn't right for me, and now Darkest Brown which is perfect!!
Would say not to pay too much attention to 'who should use this colour' based on your current colour though! I was a dark blonde, and the dark brown has covered perfectly!
So easy to use, takes 20minutes, covers well, and its cheaper than any hairdresser!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product is extremely misleading

Posted02 July 2011
Customer Avatar
callmemegan
from Ireland
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this colour in medium brown because i wanted a rich cover . My hair was dyed previously a dark brown semi-perminant colour and it faded to an auburn colour so I decided to dye it again to make it brown . The application was fine and there was no bad smell. I left it on for 20 minutes as it said to . I followed the instructions exactly. But the colour I got was an extremely dark brown almost BLACK .. I was very dissapointed with this and it didnt turn out the way it said it would on the box ! I do not reccomend getting this brand as it is very misleading.
Advantages: easy applicaton, all over cover
Disadvantages: misleading colour guide
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ruined my hair! Terrible product!

Posted28 July 2011
Customer Avatar
KentKings
from Kent
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nowadays, 99% of colourants are tested to such extremes that by the time we buy them, they're safe and easy to use. L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss is NOT one of these products. I agree with other reviewers who say that the descriptions and pictures of the resulting colour is NOTHING like the reality. My hair is almost black today, and I'm just praying this stuff will wash out as it says it does. It's left my hair brittle and with an unpleasant, chemically smell. My mid-dark brown hair has been coloured numerous times, and according to the picture, this should have left the shade pretty much the same. It didn't. I didn't leave it on for too long. I followed the instructions exactly. Be very careful when using this product. I will never buy L'Oreal again.
Disadvantages: colours are different to what's shown on the box, messy application, bad chemically smell, leaves hair brittle and dry
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely

Posted16 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Bing23
from Newcastle
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hair dye left my hair feeling beautiful! I used the 'Dark Cherry" colour as i have really dark (almost black) natural hair and i just wanted to inject a little colour. I used two boxes of this dye as the first time i used it i did not have enough dye. I do have long thick hair though!! Really easy to apply, doesn't take any time at all and the results were great!!
i now have subtle red tones going through my hair, when my hair catches the light it looks fabulous!! The smell is quite pleasant and my hair is silky soft! I'm very happy :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hair transormer.

Posted10 May 2014
Customer Avatar
satcherd91
from london, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
This product is amazing and is the best hair dye i have ever tried in years. It left my hair feeling soft, shinny but not greasy, light weight and the colour is just amazing it lasts for ages and is kind and gentle on your hair. I would highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My opinion

Posted11 June 2014
Customer Avatar
Mimi0383
from Manchester uk
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I was given this product for free in exchange for an honest review.
I used chilli chocolate #554 I was excited to use this product as I’ve been colouring my hair for many years and haven’t used this brand or colour before.
The gloves provided were much better quality than comparative brands although quite small in size.
I prepped my hair as directed, applied the colour and waited. 20 minutes as advised.
The smell was much more pleasant than other brands, and seemed silkier and smoother whilst it was setting.
Washing it off was easier than anticipated and my hair felt soft, smooth and smelt gorgeous! The conditioner provided was suffice cent enough to cover my hair and leave enough for a wash another day.
Before my hair was dark brown and afterwards the result wasn’t really very Noticeable. It wasn’t as I’d expected it to be according to the scale on the box for dark hair.
Plus I was also very dissatisfied that it did not cover greys as well as it brags. As Quoted below.
At last a conditioning colour – without ammonia, with visible shimmering tones, blends away grey.
The no-ammonia crème formula blends away grey. Your hair has all the richness of truly natural-looking colour, full of visible shimmering tones.
In all I wouldn’t buy this product again. Simply because it didn’t cover greys as promised and the colour result for my hair colour was not as advertised on the box.
Stars out of 5 given would be 2
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

black cherry

Posted28 June 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwormforever91
from finchampstead, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
black cherry is a wonderful dark brown shade with red tones.
one box has enough dye to dye almost bum length long thick hair. it also covers previously dyed hair really easily and only takes 20 mins to work.
it has no nasty smells and leaves your hair feeling great and very soft
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

28 washes? More like 2.8...

Posted16 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I loved this colour when it went on. I chose a semi-permanent because I wasn't sure if I wanted to be permanently 'red' - so I chose 'black cherry' - the colour was lovely but by the 3rd day had faded practically to my natural colour. I found that my hair felt quite greasy too - since the dye is quite thick and sticky. It really is a lovely colour but doesn't last well at all...
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

Posted26 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie2756
from Maidenhead, uk
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
That was the first hair dye I ever used and I really like it. I tried some other once but always come back to this one. The colour range is great too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for browns but not for red colours

Posted27 October 2011
Customer Avatar
MissSakurai
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used this product a few times and for brown colours it is excellent. The colour comes out nice and shiny and is long lasting. It is also very easy to apply, doesn't drip and can be wiped off skin easily. However, I tried the amber colour on my friend who has mousy brown hair (never coloured) and it didn't change her hair in the slightest. Knowing that it can be impossible to colour hair lighter with semi-permanent colour I assumed this was why the colour hadn't taken. However, I later tried the mahogony for myself and it changed slightly, the colour lasted a few days and by the end of the week there was no colour left.
Advantages: great for brunette shades, nice and shiny, easy application
Disadvantages: red colours don't work even on virgin hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Used Chocolate, loved it

Posted19 November 2011
Customer Avatar
LaurenJ2807
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Of course, not what it says on the box, however very good quality. I've had my hair semi-permenantly dyed before at a professional salon and this was just as good. My hair was a golden blonde colour, and now it's auburn/copper, very beautiful. Used it at least 3 weeks ago and still as vibrant as ever. Very glossy and bright, perfect shade for autumn. Do not use the samples on the website or box, go on to Loreal website to see the proper colour it comes out as. Would definately use it again, enough hair dye to cover all my hair which is very long... almost seemed like too much product! Easy to apply, not a bad smell, leaves your hair in good condition
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The blonde colours are BAD!

Posted20 February 2012
Customer Avatar
mrsfeast
from Cornwall
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have bleached hair, well the ends are bleached as i have the ombre look. I decided to try the 1010 to tone down the brassy colour that came over time. WISH i hadn't as it's completely dried out my hair and now it's breaking off, and when it's wet it's like chewing gum (this is over processed hair - like it's been bleached for too long - something in this product does the same to your hair although they say it's not permanent it's still as damaging! my hair was fine before hand) i am GUTTED as it's finally got to a length i liked... now i have to have it cut to my above shoulders again. to anyone thinking about dyeing their hair - DON'T, you'll wish you left it in it's natural state!
Also the colour was grey! an illusion to make it look like it's "brightened" your blonde. no it doesn't.. it makes it dull and no shine what so ever!
Disadvantages: bottle slips out of hand when applying, very damaging to hair, not a nice colour for blondes, stinks to high heaven!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
Garnier HerbaShine Hair Colourant
3.9 out of 5(47)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

possitives and negatives... 'okay product'

Posted01 January 2013
Customer Avatar
JessicaLouise2
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
hi, well basically my natural hair colour is like a chestut/ mousey brown i wouldn't say light brown just slightly darker, and for the past 2 years or so started getting half head of highlights which were bleach blonde and golden blonde with my dark hair underneath which had never been dyed before. For ages i layed off getting highlights done because i just didn't have the money and as my dark roots started to come through i realised i would like to go back darker again for a change only problem of course is you can't just go over highlights in any old shade especially where there was bleach involved. If id have gone for a cool toned or ash colour highlights can turn green, there has to be some warmth ie red or golden undertones to put pigments back into highlighted strands which are missing thier natural pigments. So i purchased 'chestnut honey' and as it was my first time dying my hair i did a strand test with both natural hair (underneath) and highlighted bits and was disappointed to find it did hardly anything to my hair colour was mainly hopeing for the highlights to be coverd but werent at all the chestnut honey is meant for blondes and really light browns in order for it to come out as on box this is why it didnt work for me so i went back and purchased Medium brown 500 first thing i have to say about this is that its completely different to on the box ALOT darker then was expected. On the plus side if your wanting to go over highlights it does the trick and you cant see them. The condition it left my hair in was quite dry and it gave me a bit of a headache the first night of me having dyed my hair, the colour is quite flat and slightly dull looking but as its a semi perminant im hopeing it will fade out considerably if not i wont be happy! The conditioner in the box dye is not enough you need to wash dye out thoroughly and then aswell as the conditioner given apply a good hand full of your own conditioner and leave it for 10 15 mins... the dryness after dying isnt there forever the first few days its a bit dry and the chemical smell is quite noticable by day 4 chemical smell is gone and hair is in a good condition again. Ive only had it on a week and its faded out a bit to a dark chocolate brown with no red noticable so if you're looking for a medium/dark brown without it being really reddish then it will be a good choice just bare in mind. DO NOT leave it in for the time on the box (20mins) leave it in for 10 set a timer if you have to in order for it to not come out too dark, hope ive been helpfull x
Advantages: covers highlights, easy to apply (i'm a first timer), rich colour, doesnt smell overly chemically and strong
Disadvantages: colour looks a bit flat, dryies hair out a bit, darker then on the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

casting creme colour

Posted26 November 2013
Customer Avatar
suzewooze
this product always leaves my hair very dry even with the conditioner the color us ok. its also quite difficult to find another semi-permanent product in most shops as the range tends towards permant dyes. i will not be using agsin
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Glossy hair

Posted10 June 2014
Customer Avatar
Cattie3030
from Worcs
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
This is a fab product but I found I needed two boxes for my long thick hair.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wouldn't recomend

Posted10 January 2010
Customer Avatar
emdenben
I used Praline, a shade much darker than my own, and i found that it had faded considerably by the second time i had washed my hair afterwards. A friend used the same brand and it did exactly the same. I think the price is too much and i won't be using it again. I prefer Garnier Movida.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

Posted14 May 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynnuk
I have been having my hair salon coloured for a long time now but have had a few bad experiences lately. I took the plunge and went for the choloclate 535 colour, wow! My hair was brown and flat but now it has a beautiful shine with a great colour. My hair is long and bought 2 packets thinking one would not cover enough, but one packet would definately be enough. It also covered the little grey that I have too. I have had loads of great comments so far. I would definately recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Chocolate Truffle

Posted21 August 2010
Customer Avatar
geegee95
So i picked colour 515 (Chocolate Truffle) because it looked like it would turn my hair a reddy brown.I've never dyed it before so I was a little wary, but decided to go for it. My hair was about the same colour as a clean penny so I didn't want to stray too far from my natural colour. I used a little more than half the bottle for the recomended time and my hair turned most definatley turned a very dark brown, almost black in some places. No reddy tint what so ever. Its an alright colour, but just not what I wanted, I really hope it fades out after a couple of washes. Deffinatley not buying this colour again, but its not so terrible that I wont say I'll never use this brand but a different colour again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Casting Crème Gloss
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great colour

Posted25 June 2012
Customer Avatar
03cgreen
from London, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used the Amber colour, It is very difficult to find a decent ginger colour especially when I have medium brown hair. However, this colour, even though on the bottle it says for light brown to blondes was really good. My hair definitely more ginger, and the colour lasted for 8 weeks and stayed shiny. I just wish it had turned more ginger but baring in mind the type of hair it is for, I am not surprised that it didn't.
Advantages: easy to apply, great colour, leaved hair shiny, good value for money
Disadvantages: does stain any bathroom surface it touches, hair does smell for a couple of days
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>