Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colour Perm or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL

If you’ve got the attitude we’ve got the colour! Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL a permanent colour with built-in wash-out protection for even longer lasting intensity and shine. The fresh, fragrant formulas in both the colour and the conditioner of Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL add to the 'just like a professional salon' experience with a great looking end result. Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL contains: Tube Live Colou Bottle Developer Tube Live Color Shield Conditioner Pair Of Gloves Instruction Leaflet
Average Customer Rating:
3.649 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
15
36 out of 76(47%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Review 1 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not platinum!

Posted26 May 2009
Customer Avatar
I purchased 2 x platinum of this, my hair was medium to light blonde and fairly long.
I left this on my hair for the maximum amount fo time but still my hair was NOT platinum!
This leaves an unnatural yellow tinge in hair!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not good colour

Posted09 July 2009
Customer Avatar
I chose cool brown and it more like dark brown then after 2 weeks my hair went a funny copper colour - horrible dye!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

couldn't see any difference

Posted13 November 2009
Customer Avatar
Wanted a red tint to my hair so went for this as i have dark hair and it made no difference to my hair colour
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not that Good

Posted01 February 2010
Customer Avatar
I noticed that for the first 2-3 days the colour was really nice and great but then afterwards it started to fade and left big fade marks also when my hair was being washed a load of the colouring came out! From my point of view it is Rubbish!! Also I would NOT recommend this to anyone!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Schwarzkopf

Posted21 March 2010
Customer Avatar
i hate this product.
it went patch and streaky the colour was a horrible shade and the texture was horrible, it was also verry thich which made it extreemly hard to apply.
do not buy this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not too happy

Posted14 February 2010
Customer Avatar
I used Platinum Blonde, following instructions on the box, on my natural hair (dark brown). The result was yellow, with ginger on top. Deffinately wouldn't reccomened this shade. Maybe darker ones are better, but don't go for Platinum Blonde.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible never use it again

Posted14 February 2010
Customer Avatar
i couldnt find the other range of colour dyes they do which is the LIVE Unlimted Gloss,i picked up tempting chocolate suspecting it to come out darker but didnt it made my hair go ginger and im never using there products again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dont use

Posted19 June 2010
Customer Avatar
used for the first time in 51 deep scarlet roots are fine but left the rest of my head with patches of blonde showing though would never use again and wont recommend
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Dissapointed

Posted28 April 2010
Customer Avatar
After using this product in three different shades (Cyber purple, Red Passion & Platinum Blonde) and not getting the desired result either time I've really been put off. None of the colours even slighty resembled the colour on the box and faded extremely quickly even though I used a fade defy system. Sorry to say but very dissapoited :(
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bitter Sweet Chocolate

Posted30 July 2010
Customer Avatar
I used Schwarzkopf Live XXL, in Bitter Sweet Chocolate. The colour was very Miss-represented, it is portrayed as a dark brown, but came out as a definate Black! Jet black! I have used most of the different hair dye brands in the past so am not new to home dying. I am very unhappy with how this colour has turned out.
I will say that the dye did leave my hair soft and healthy looking. But completely the wrong colour. Also the gloves were much worse than alot of equally cheap brands.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cost me a fortune!

Posted29 November 2010
Customer Avatar
Wanted to have a lighter hair colour, so I used a hair lightener from this range (chocolate blonde). It turned the top of my head ginger! Didnt affect the rest of my hair at all. Tried to correct this with another dye - which didnt work. So had to dye it almost black which I am not happy with.
(Hopefully next year though I will be using one of the bleach blonde colours as I've heard they are very good!)
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good, BUT...

Posted03 December 2010
Customer Avatar
I first dyed my hair when I was 15/16 (I am now 18) with the colour red passion. It came out a beautiful deep red and I loved it. Then I got sick of it and dyed it with XXL bitter sweet chocolate. It came out black and I was mortified. But I felt I could pull it off as my mam and dad are both naturally very very dark haired. I still have this colour now and I am desperate to get rid of it. I am terrified to bleach or strip this colour because of how rich and strong it is.
I just want to warn people that XXL is a NIGHTMARE to get out, it loads your hair with silicone which seals you hair big time and means colour removal is almost impossible. I have heard that stripping XXL hair dye out of your hair causes it to dissolve.
My message is that yes, XXL give fabulous bold colours that most hair dyes cannot give, but remember that its a pain to get out. In all honesty dying my hair with XXL hair dye is one of my biggest regrets.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rubbish!!

Posted12 January 2011
Customer Avatar
I baught the cyber purple XXL yesterday after going through the reviews on this site. After realising most of them were excellent reviews and most people were saying how bright and lovely it looks. So i baught it and BLEACHED my hair first before applying (which is supposed to give the best results) once i rinced the XXL dye out i couldnt belive that it had come out black/very dark brown with a tint on the roots of the purple. now the box shows that this should be an all over result which is rubbish! I now have to keep the dye in and hope that it washes out as fast as some people have mentioned on their reviews.
If i applied the dye without bleaching i would expect that kind of outcome but the fact that i was BLONDE and the box shows a purple (not black) colour on the lightest shade is crazy... never again will i be buying this.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

would never use again

Posted18 October 2010
Customer Avatar
I have used the blonde and it turned my hair yellow i have also just used the cool scarlett and it did not work it tinted my hair a dark purple red and looks nothing like what they show on the colour guides
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware the colour which can never come out!!!!!

Posted22 March 2011
Customer Avatar
from Derby
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Where can I begin with this colour!! I used the shade 'bittersweet chocoloate' about a year ago, and it has been the bane of my life ever since!!!
I have naturally sandy-blonde hair, I had dyed it red with the Live XXL Hypnotic Red & Red Passion shades. These dyes are good value for money and produce dramatic results, which I loved with the red shades. I stuck with them for a while, but the brightness of them began to ware on me, I wanted something a bit less drastic and decided to go for a 'dark brown' shade. 'Bittersweet chocolate' sounded lovely, it was meant to be a 'dark chocolate brown', which sounded perfect, and I decided to dye over the red with this colour.
The result was pitch, jet-black. The blackest-black you could imagine. As black as a raven. I just can't emphasize enough how black it came out! The thing that made it more intense, was that there was absolutely no tone to it. No other shades shining through. Just a flat, jet-black all over. On other occasions when I used dark coloured dyes, the gold tones of the blonde or firey tones of the red colour I had beforehand would shine through, but not with this one!!
I didn't panic too much at first...as in the past when I'd dyed over blonde or other brand reds with brown shades by Loreal & Nice & Easy they too came out a lot darker than on the box, but over time they faded, despite saying 'permanant' on the box. I CANNOT STRESS THIS POINT ENOUGH...THIS DYE DOES NOT FADE!!! It says 'WATERPROOFED' on the box, and it absolutely is!
What it doesn't explain on the box, is that in order to 'waterproof' this dye to prevent it from fading, they put a kind of sulphate in it, which makes it impossible to get rid of. It doesn't fade, nothing will dye over it, I tried so many dyes and because it was so dark, all they did was dye my roots and the rest stayed black. The months roll by, the roots come through, but the lengths stayed jet black.
A few weeks ago I tried the new colour removal product available at Boots 'Colour B4' by Scott Cornwall. It wasnt until I got it home that I read on the instructions that the product is incapable of removing some 'waterproofed' dyes that use this sulphate such as 'Live' dyes. Some people had left reviews for the product saying theyd used LIVE XXL and it did remove it even though it says it might not, so I gave it a go. It was a very long (and smelly) process, and all it did was remove the other branded dyes I put on my regrowth, and the lengths of my hair that had the Live Colour on, remained black.
Last week I finally went to the hair dresser (£80) to get the colour removed with a professional stripper, as after a YEAR it still hadnt faded at all and I was so sick of flat black hair! To my amazement even the professional stripper could not remove it!!!!!
In the end the hair dresser advised me the only way to get rid of the black was to put bleach all over my hair for 15 minutes, toning the black down to brown, then dye over it with a more even brown shade.
I have to tell you now, even after having the bleach on for 15 minutes, the hair dresser and I were both supprised to find my hair was still very dark brown. I accepted this colour as my hair just couldn't take any more and is now in pretty bad condition (I recommend Aussie 3 minute heat protect for any others out there with dried out hair by the way!!)
So please please please bare all of this in mind if you are going to use this product!! When it says it doesnt wash out...it really means it!! Not necessarily a good thing if it comes out the wrong colour or you ever want to change the colour of your hair again!!!!
Advantages: if you like it it will never ever wash out!
Disadvantages: if you dont like it you are stuck with it!!
 
My product recommendations
 
Natur Vital Anti-breakage hair loss mask 300ml
4 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

lasted one week

Posted18 August 2009
Customer Avatar
i dyed my hair using the red shade of this permant hair dye, for the first 3 days it was really good and the colour was still the same after i dyed it but i had noticed everytime i wash my hair it leaked. after about a week the colour came out completely and now its gone back to brown :/ i was really disapointed because it says washproof on the pack. waste of money and time in my opinion.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

All washed out

Posted30 August 2009
Customer Avatar
I had my hair bleached and dyed a really light brown with blonde streaks, so I assumed the black, and hypnotic red would take really well. BOTH even the black washed out ofter 2 weeks. Every time I wash my hair Im covered in red dye. its now an awful light pinkish.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

disapointed in this one

Posted26 October 2009
Customer Avatar
I have always used live and been really happy with the colours but I decided to try the bitter sweet chocolate and it has come out really black.My hair was mid brown so according to the picture on the box it should look nothing like what it does.If you are thinking about this colour you might as well buy the black because thats what it will be anyway
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

xxl didnt work

Posted24 June 2009
Customer Avatar
I have used the passionate red hair dye and it came out perfectly. It was bright and my hair looked very natural. However I then decided to dye my hair back to my natural colour brown or as close as I could get to it. I have tried 6 different hair dyes to get my hair to go back to brown unfortunitly none of them have worked and only made my red hair darker. I would be very cautious when using this hair dye.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Schwarzkopf Live Color XXL
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Platinum = brash yellow

Posted03 August 2009
Customer Avatar
I was not too happy with the platinum dye. My hair was short and light anyway but i wanted to be white blonde. The dye gave a brash, yellow tinge to my hair. I think there is also an "ice" blonde dye available, although i did not find this in the big boots stores, only some smaller ones so maybe that would've been better but either way i won't buy it again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>