Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Travel Health or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Dove Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

Dove Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml

A unique combination of active Dove moisturisers and a hint of self tanning agents to gradually build a natural summer glow.
Average Customer Rating:
4.465 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
33 out of 42(79%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Review 1 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

Posted15 April 2009
Customer Avatar
delsh21
I've tried lots of similar products and this one is the best for the money. It doesn't have a horrible smell, it moisturises well and the colour is really natural.
My only criticism would be that it doesn't dry that quickly but apart from that, I think the quality is comparable with St Tropez Everyday which is much, much more expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!

Posted23 May 2009
Customer Avatar
rebec
I love love love this product! I think I must have tried every gradual tanner going, but this is by far the best! It smells absolutely gorgeous- quite rare when it comes to fake tans- leaves a sparkly shimmer on your skin, and doesn't ever streak, it doesn't even stain inbetween the fingers! And the tan builds up gradually and evenly and looks really natural.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

Posted13 June 2009
Customer Avatar
rebeekah
Ive tried so many fake tans, even St tropez, but this Dove self tan is far the best and impressed me more. i love it. gives u a nice even, streak free tan that lasts for days. and with this the price its a bargain well worth the money. :D
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fab product!

Posted27 July 2009
Customer Avatar
RubyR
This product, both fair to medium skin and medium to dark skin is fantastic, streak free, dries literally within 15 minutes and lasts for days. It honestly looks like you have been on holiday for 2 weeks and got a really nice tan. Only downfall, there is a smell of Curry, like you get with most self tans. However the smell is so faint you will hardly notice it unless you put your arm to your nose! Brilliant product. Definately recommend it.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my view on the fake tan

Posted13 February 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
i have really fair skin, and ive tried a veriety of fake tans, this one is one of my best becuase you dont go orange and its easy to apply, if you apply it properly then it doesnt have any streaks, it smells pretty much like body moisturiser, i would recomend this :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SPF15??

Posted05 June 2010
Customer Avatar
Saranjay
I really like the Dove Self Tanning lotions, but my favourite seems to of disappeared from the shelves. Summer Glow Beauty Body Lotion SPF15. I liked using this product especially, because I didn't need to apply sunscreen after moisturising with the tanning product. Does anyone know if I can still get this product or why it's off the shelves? I'm giving this product 4 stars as I like it but not as much as the one containing SPF15.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted01 August 2010
Customer Avatar
lauraheartsmakeup
I brought this product as my first tanning experience and was very pleased at how easy the application was. I saw results after about 3 days however I continued for the recommended 5 days and it continued to give me a good tan without turning me orange.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

THE CHEAPER VERSION OF "ST TROPEZ EVERYDAY" RESULT

Posted19 October 2009
Customer Avatar
LJMarriott
I used this all the time untill I discovered St TROPEZ EVERYDAY w hen I couldnt afford to try the more expensive brands the suited me fine. I put up with the stickyness and the heavy oils overnight, you can ONLY JUST about get away with wearing it in the day under your clothes, but you do know its there! Still, it is the best low-budget version. Non of the other brands around that price wil ever be as good all round so dont bother with them. ( I've triied GARNIER SUMMER BODY, JOHNSONS HOLIDAY SKIN, WILKINSONS HOME BRAND!, etc..etc.. This is the best one for the price, but if you can -get ST TROPEZ EVERYDAY GRADUAL TAN, ITS THE BEST!! DAY AND NIGHT!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dove Summer Glow

Posted22 January 2010
Customer Avatar
OJ2394
it doesn't smell like curry as some other reviews have mentioned, it smells really nice, like caramel i'd say, but not quite like caramel, i can't describe it. it just smells like normal body lotion, with a hint of the usual self tan smell, but certainly not curry.
it's the best gradual tan i've used. feels velvety and soft, it goes on effortlessly, it's not sticky and absorbs fairly quickly. it doesn't streak or go patchy, totally even. gives a great colour thats lasts ages, you can't fault it.
amazing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brillitant tanning body lotion

Posted20 February 2010
Customer Avatar
dippycat
I have used this for a couple of years now and really like it. My skin is very fair and although I do tan, it takes a while and I have to be careful. This helps in the meantime. It is easy to apply and soaks in quickly. If you make sure you rub it in well and only use a bit over your knees and elbows, you will look like you have been out in the sun. Make sure you don't wax or use an epilator for a day or so before you use it because it will get into the open pores and look awful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice but a bit smelly

Posted25 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is true that this product leaves your skin really soft and the tan is gradual. But the next day there is a lingering smell, a bit like sweaty feet! Be careful... it's not so gradual on feet as legs...
Advantages: really nice colour - not orange
Disadvantages: funny smell
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Orange on legs!

Posted02 May 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Yorkshire
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this product after some of my friends recommended it to me. I have really pale skin and wanted a sun-kissed look for spring/summer, and after seeing my friends with lovely skin, I decided to get this product.
As soon as I got it, I applied it straight away, it leaves your skin soft and smooth, but that's about it until the tan kicks in. If you apply too much of this product, you literally look like an orange. It has little, if no, brown pigmentation and so you only need a little bit. It has a nice smell and functions the same as an all over body moisturizer/lotion.
I'd apply it before you go to bed, leaving about 10 minutes for the majority to soak in and then wake up and see the results.
Advantages: lovely smell, leaves skin soft and silky, works as a tanner
Disadvantages: can leave you looking very orange!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Buy

Posted21 April 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
This Dove moisturiser is amazing. I've tried several similar products from other companies and was really put off by a greater tendancy towards uneven coverage. This product has saved me during the winter months by preventing me from looking too pale, and when I apply more of it, its also perfect for the summer. It was perfect for my holiday last year, as after a day in the sun I would use some mousturiser and build up a lovely tan.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good.

Posted15 May 2010
Customer Avatar
Amybear
This gives a natural, even looking tan with no streaks. However I hate the packaging - when there's still about a third left in the bottle it becomes impossible to squeeze it out and I always have to cut the bottle in half with a big pair of scissors to get it out. They used to sell this with SPF15 - it's a shame they don't seem to any more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quite natural looking on skin that has a slight tan already

Posted15 June 2011
Customer Avatar
EternityBeckons
from Kent UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having used the lotion for normal to darker skin and turned out orange I decided to try the lighter version. Looks much more natural if you don't use too much. Don't put it on before you go to bed if you have white sheets. It stains! If you put on the Dove body butter afterwards it helps to diminish the self tan smell.
Advantages: looks natural
Disadvantages: a bit of a nasty niff
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best gradual tan on the market!

Posted21 June 2010
Customer Avatar
lf2010
Out of every gradual tan I have tried and believe me I've tried everything! This is by far the best! It has no disgusting smell like every other tan I've tried in fact It has a really nice fragrance to it! I have never found it to streak or go patchy as long as you exfoliate first and go careful on knees ,elbows, hands and ankles! It is a nice shade not orange like most tans! Since trying this I've never used any other gradual tan! The perfect summer glow/base tan! I even recommended to friends and they use it now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My kind of thing

Posted14 July 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Havant, Hampshire
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a slight tan but I HATE fake tan as it just looks fake but I think this product smells good, and looks light and gives you a nice glow rather than an orange look, just wash your hands thoroughly straight after to avoid stains inbetween your fingers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cheap and Cheerful

Posted07 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheralynn
Age:18-24
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is great for a gradual tan for pale skin. The price is very good for how much you get, and the smell isnt too bad. The only problems I had were it takes a very long time to dry so putting clothes on soon after isnt an option. I also found that it sometimes goes slightly patchy but that may be a result of giving up waiting for it to dry after an hour or so and just getting into bed
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing!!

Posted28 February 2011
Customer Avatar
emmaoliviajane
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this stuff it is great! gives a really nice tan over a few days, no streaks at all no matter how much you use and as for smell well id say hardly any compared to some of the stuff out there.overall a great product well worth the small price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Fair to Normal Skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it! :)

Posted04 April 2011
Customer Avatar
LauraxMay
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product as I wanted to get a bit of a tan but was weary of getting the fake tan stuff having never used anything like that before, and I thought this sounded perfect for me. The first time I used it I got good results and could definitely see a difference after one use. Its easy to apply, but just make sure you rub it in properly to get the best results. It does have a smell to it, not sure the best way to describe it but its nothing unbearable, you soon get used to it. I find it best to apply at night and then shower in the morning to get rid of the smell that it leaves.
I would definitely recommend this product if you want to get a nice, natural looking tan. Its great value for money and gives you great results. I have been complimented a few times on how well I was looking after using this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>