Boots Ratings and Reviews
Gok
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Body area or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Dove Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

Dove Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml

A unique combination of active Dove moisturisers and a hint of self tanning agents to gradually build a natural summer glow.
Average Customer Rating:
4.355 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
22 out of 30(73%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Review 1 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ace

Posted13 May 2009
Customer Avatar
hezzz
this product is good....dries quickly and isny greasy. Put it on along with another fake tan and it makes me look mint!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get your all year round summer glow!!

Posted27 March 2010
Customer Avatar
speedy
I have been using this product for about 4 years now and absolutely love it! It is by far my favourite out of the wide range that is now available! It gives a very natural colour, and most importantly not orange!!
I've always found it is best to put on when you have quite a long time, as it does take a while to dry, and feels tacky if you try and put clothes on straight away. If you are putting it on just before bed, beware that it may colour your sheets slightly.
The one thing I would change about the product is the smell. It is very distinct and lasts a long time. Therefore anyone who knows the product will recognise the smell on you (or so I think anyway). I wouldn't mind if it was perfumed, but it just smells funny I think!
The colour it gives is gradual, and so you have to be patient and not put too much on in one go to hurry things along, as you will end up with streaks! I usually apply it every few days, as it does come off with your skins natural peeling/in the shower. Also obviously works best when regularly reapplied to build up that gradual tan. Never really had a problem with streaks, as long as you put the right amount on and rub in properly. However, you do need to wash your hands properly or you end up with some dodgy staining!!
A great product for winter to give you a healthy glow, or a healthy alternative to sunbathing for the summer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its got that lovely glow!

Posted02 June 2010
Customer Avatar
r3313
great moisturiser with a very natural looking tan! a few applications for a much darker colour or one application is great for taking covering that pale look. very easy to apply & it doesnt have an unpleasant smell unlike others. most importantly i didnt feel my skin peeled with dove unlike other tanning moisturisers!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Fake Tan EVER!

Posted24 June 2010
Customer Avatar
Milly070F
It goes on really easily and smells gorgeous and nothing like fake tan! Leaves no streaks whatso ever and doesnt go dark around the knees! I would recomend this to anyone who wants a decent tan!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okkk..

Posted04 July 2010
Customer Avatar
laurennnxxxx
it has to be put on in all places evenly, mine ended up very streaky. people could also tell i fake tanned. at my age that just made people laugh! but it might just be because i have old skin.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great start to summer

Posted13 August 2010
Customer Avatar
LUMOT
Fantastic for giving a light, even tan, particularly for those legs when first exposed after the winter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best one!

Posted17 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Abilu
I have used many of these and this is definately the best. It has a nice smell unlike others and also gives a good colour that is not of the tango variety! I always put moisturiser on my elbows knees and ankles first and put a 50/50 mix of normal moisturiser and Dove summer glow on the feet - this just avoids any streeks - Do this and you can not go wrong! Love it! ;0)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Very Gradual !

Posted10 September 2010
Customer Avatar
Samuelsmum
Not as Gradual as described.
I applied it on my legs, taking care around knees and ankles, jst incase, but was quite confident as it says it takes on a colour after a few days of application....however, I woke up the next morning to a fake tan smell, orange ankles and knees !
I thought I would leave it a few days to fade, then try again..maybe I did it wrong..but it faded very patchy and looked really fake !
So overall, ok but treat it like a Fake tan, not a gradual tan/moisturizer.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dove Moisturising Tan

Posted18 October 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I bought this product this morning and applied it and it is perfect, NO streaks at all and the colour has come up within a few hours and looks natural and sunkissed unlike others that I have used that always look fake!
The smell of it is also much better than others, not perfect but I will keep on using this one :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is good for pale skin

Posted10 April 2011
Customer Avatar
amy9593
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
im very pale like a sheet of paper, this product gave me a good glow for the summer :) i would recommend this for pale skins
Advantages: good coverage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

Posted07 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Hel23
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I started using this last summer because I didn't want milky pale legs whilst wearing shorts and dresses. I heard bad thing about competing brands so chose this one. It is great, it takes a few hours to develop, but when it does it is fab. I can choose how dark I want my skin to look because the first couple of applications just take the whiteness off my legs, so I apply it a few more times if I want a darker shade. I apply in circular motions to ensure even coverage. It works as a moisturiser as well, so after a shower I just apply this rather than a moisturiser as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It's okay..

Posted26 May 2011
Customer Avatar
natalieannie
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this product having fair-ish skin. My legs were very pale so I thought it'd be a good idea to get ready for summer! I bought the dark one because I needed the colour quickly, and couldn't wait weeks (as some people said on the fair skinned one) for it to develop.
At first, it was lovely. It smelt really nice, I didn't need much to cover my whole leg. I exfoliated and moisturised loads before I applied it so I was sure that I didn't go orange. I scrubbed my hands clean after applying it. I wiped my feet, nails, knees, and in between my toes with a baby wipe. I was sure I wouldn't go oompa-loompa-ish.
How wrong I was. The colour on my legs didn't appear after an hour, which I thought was fine because after all, it's a gradual tanner. But the colour on my knees, feet, and in between my fingertips was ridiculous. Nothing would get the colour off. I looked awful – my legs were frightfully pale but my ankles were a ‘lovely’ glowing orange!
I applied some more the next evening, this time with an applicator mitt – which is silly, because it’s meant to be a moisturiser, not a full on tanning cream. I shouldn’t have had to do that! Anyway, the colour still didn’t appear on my legs, but it was definitely still there on my ankles. I repeated the process everyday for a week, and finally some colour appeared! It was unbelievably patchy. How?! I had wiped the cream from ankle to knee, and then just above my knee up my leg. I hadn’t rubbed my legs; I hadn’t worn tight clothes or rubbed against anything for at least an hour after each application; I hadn’t applied it in circular motions. It was just silly.
I kept re-applying until the tan was even. Yayy!
But then, disaster struck. As most people know, tan rubs off when you shave. That’s fine by me, I’ll just reapply. That’s what I had been doing. But nooooo. This tan likes to go into little blobs of colour. I didn’t realise that the whole back of my legs looked like I had some sort of disease. I wore shorts! To the beach! It was only halfway there in the car when I realised I hadn’t moisturised that I looked down! Ohh it was awful. My boyfriend found it hilarious. I looked like Mr Blobby on the back of my legs. The front was fine, the back was hideous. Luckily I’d packed some spare loose-fitting harem trousers.
It’s been three weeks since ‘the incident’ and I haven’t used the product since. My ‘tan disease’ has just faded. I’m buying real tan gel next time. Never, ever again will I buy this! Which is disappointing, because I’m the biggest Dove fan – I use all their other products!
Advantages: good colour in patches, smells nice
Disadvantages: went incredibly patchy, left my knees orange and legs pale, tooks weeks to fade properly, just a terrible experience really
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for a first time tanner.

Posted02 July 2011
Customer Avatar
MegssXx
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this, it doesn't go streaky, cling on to dry patches or go too dark. Just a noticeable, natural tan that I've received lots of compliemts for :D . Great for my skin too as it made it very soft :) although, I do find it takes AGES for it to work on places like the stomach, hips and ribs... maybe this is just me?
Advantages: natural looking tan, worth the money, skin feels silky
Disadvantages: slight sickly smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted08 May 2011
Customer Avatar
632sharon
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product best tanning moisturiser i have used nice smell and makes your skin feel nice and soft and developes into a nice deep tan i would definately recommend this to all my friends great value for money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fab moisturiser with great self tanning agents.

Posted28 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Jadie92
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a beauty therapist, so It's imperative that I use the best products possible, Personally I have used many tanning agents before, including, St Moritz, St Tropez, Johnsons, Xtan and many others, none of which have even come close to this.
The best time to apply is when you come out of the bath or shower, this allows your pores to open so the skin becomes easier to exfoliate. Exfoliation is key if you have very dry skin, using some exfoliation gloves and a body scrub is all you will need in order to achieve a smoother look and feel to your skin.
Before applying Dove Summer Body lotion, apply a little moisturiser to your elbows, ankles, knees and wrists. Rub the Dove summer Body in circular motions, this will prevent streaks, allowing the tanner to absorb instantaneously.
The colour is great, doesn't smell like a tanning product either, I love the smell to be fair, and the colour is great, not of the tango variety. Leaves skin looking sunkissed, though if you prefer a deeper colour then just simply re-apply.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As good as Fake tan with more even results

Posted22 June 2011
Customer Avatar
EMANDRE
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using a few different moisturisers with tanning agent in, and find this to be one of my 2 favorites (other Garnier summer Body). i find that a little spreads a very long way (quite thin and slippery actually!) and the results from the first day are amazing! The thing I prefer about this is because the tanning agent is mixed with moisturiser you get a much more even tan (if rubbed in well) without the streaks and patches that I have experienced with fake tan. It also has a nice sweet fresh smell unlike most self tanners.
Advantages: even coverage, nice smell
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product looks beautiful

Posted06 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Stretchlifefurtherlaura
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I tried quite a few products before this one however this one has been the best by far. I have a natural tan but this product really enhances it and leaves my skin glowing and soft. I apply this product regularly and it looks brown on my skin not orange, which is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is very good for people from Asian backgrounds

Posted15 June 2011
Customer Avatar
MsRJoshi
from Midlands
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In the summer months I enjoy having my legs and arms on display, as the Johnson's cream was on offer I bought it after using Dove for years, thinking time for change, especially in the economic down turn.
I ended up throwing away my Johnson's cream and going back to Dove, as this cream is easy to apply, looks great on my skin tone, gives a natural glow to my arms and legs, spreads evenly and most importantly does not look fake.
Not only do I use this cream during the summer months it is great for those nights out with friends/family.
It smells just fine and I am truly happy with this product and recommend this to anyone who likes to have that little extra glow as I do.
Advantages: easy to apply, spreads evenly, gives you a nautral glow
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Emmies
Exeter
 
Please wait while more information about Emmies is loaded.
Additional information about Emmies could not be loaded.
And one more thing.....
Posted 31 May 2012
Further to my review, it does not smell at all! A lot are saying they don't like the smell, but I never noticed a smell!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best of its kind!

Posted08 July 2011
Customer Avatar
rosyposy2001
from Cornwall
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dove Summer Glow is great - gives a nice, even, very natural tan, which never looks orange or "fake". I use it every day from spring to autumn (and sometimes winter too, to cheer up pastey-looking skin!), and it just builds up a very gentle glow to your skin, but never streaks or makes you look as if you've "been Tangoed"! It also moisturises beautifully and is very good to use as an aftersun treatment to help keep a natural tan. Excellent product, love it, and so do both my daughters!
Advantages: doesn't streak, lasts well
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

Posted17 July 2011
Customer Avatar
RyubiRarefied
from Sheffield, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product. There's not many negatives. It's affordable, doesn't streak and genuinely gives a natural looking, sun-kissed tan without looking orange. Definitely works. The only downside the smell. I'd prefer if it was fragrance free but it's still good.
Advantages: no streaking, natural looking not orange, blends easily, no dark patches, relatively cheap, moisturising, develops more after a few days
Disadvantages: the smell is off-putting
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>