Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Body area or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Dove Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

Dove Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml

A unique combination of active Dove moisturisers and a hint of self tanning agents to gradually build a natural summer glow.
Average Customer Rating:
4.355 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
22 out of 30(73%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Review 1 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ace

Posted13 May 2009
Customer Avatar
hezzz
this product is good....dries quickly and isny greasy. Put it on along with another fake tan and it makes me look mint!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Fake Tan EVER!

Posted24 June 2010
Customer Avatar
Milly070F
It goes on really easily and smells gorgeous and nothing like fake tan! Leaves no streaks whatso ever and doesnt go dark around the knees! I would recomend this to anyone who wants a decent tan!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant product

Posted17 March 2010
Customer Avatar
brownsuga128
This product is a great and a great moisturiser.
I would recommend this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get your all year round summer glow!!

Posted27 March 2010
Customer Avatar
speedy
I have been using this product for about 4 years now and absolutely love it! It is by far my favourite out of the wide range that is now available! It gives a very natural colour, and most importantly not orange!!
I've always found it is best to put on when you have quite a long time, as it does take a while to dry, and feels tacky if you try and put clothes on straight away. If you are putting it on just before bed, beware that it may colour your sheets slightly.
The one thing I would change about the product is the smell. It is very distinct and lasts a long time. Therefore anyone who knows the product will recognise the smell on you (or so I think anyway). I wouldn't mind if it was perfumed, but it just smells funny I think!
The colour it gives is gradual, and so you have to be patient and not put too much on in one go to hurry things along, as you will end up with streaks! I usually apply it every few days, as it does come off with your skins natural peeling/in the shower. Also obviously works best when regularly reapplied to build up that gradual tan. Never really had a problem with streaks, as long as you put the right amount on and rub in properly. However, you do need to wash your hands properly or you end up with some dodgy staining!!
A great product for winter to give you a healthy glow, or a healthy alternative to sunbathing for the summer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is very good for people from Asian backgrounds

Posted15 June 2011
Customer Avatar
MsRJoshi
from Midlands
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In the summer months I enjoy having my legs and arms on display, as the Johnson's cream was on offer I bought it after using Dove for years, thinking time for change, especially in the economic down turn.
I ended up throwing away my Johnson's cream and going back to Dove, as this cream is easy to apply, looks great on my skin tone, gives a natural glow to my arms and legs, spreads evenly and most importantly does not look fake.
Not only do I use this cream during the summer months it is great for those nights out with friends/family.
It smells just fine and I am truly happy with this product and recommend this to anyone who likes to have that little extra glow as I do.
Advantages: easy to apply, spreads evenly, gives you a nautral glow
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Emmies
Exeter
 
Please wait while more information about Emmies is loaded.
Additional information about Emmies could not be loaded.
And one more thing.....
Posted 31 May 2012
Further to my review, it does not smell at all! A lot are saying they don't like the smell, but I never noticed a smell!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good stuff

Posted10 June 2010
Customer Avatar
cosmicredgirl
I used this last night. I didnt exfoliate or moisturise before hand. It was nice and easy to put on and smelt nice. After it dried i applied another layer. It didnt feel too sticky. After a few hours you do smell bit like fake tan, i think it smells like soy sauce personally. The next day, the colour was there and my legs were tanned and no streaks. Would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best one!

Posted17 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Abilu
I have used many of these and this is definately the best. It has a nice smell unlike others and also gives a good colour that is not of the tango variety! I always put moisturiser on my elbows knees and ankles first and put a 50/50 mix of normal moisturiser and Dove summer glow on the feet - this just avoids any streeks - Do this and you can not go wrong! Love it! ;0)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No streaks

Posted11 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Susy49
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every few days
I got this in a kit for Christmas and have only just got round to trying it out. I have used gradual tanners before and they all went streaky so was a bit dubious about using it especially as I am very pale and this is for normal to dark skin but I decided to try it.
I rubbed it in in a circular motion as directed, started on my legs and worked my way up and I even used it on my face. I had to wait ages for it to dry before putting my clothes on but next day I woke up and was so surprised, the colour was very natural and not too dark even my face looked a lot healthier and not pasty as it was before. There was one or two dark spots on my ankle where I had not rubbed it in properly but apart from that there was no streaks. The only downside is its very glittery but that disappears in the shower, although the glitter would look great on a night out. It lasted about 3 days before disappearing. It still has the typical self tan smell but not too strong.
Advantages: natural colour no orange or streaks
Disadvantages: a bit glittery
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

Posted07 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Hel23
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I started using this last summer because I didn't want milky pale legs whilst wearing shorts and dresses. I heard bad thing about competing brands so chose this one. It is great, it takes a few hours to develop, but when it does it is fab. I can choose how dark I want my skin to look because the first couple of applications just take the whiteness off my legs, so I apply it a few more times if I want a darker shade. I apply in circular motions to ensure even coverage. It works as a moisturiser as well, so after a shower I just apply this rather than a moisturiser as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for a first time tanner.

Posted02 July 2011
Customer Avatar
MegssXx
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this, it doesn't go streaky, cling on to dry patches or go too dark. Just a noticeable, natural tan that I've received lots of compliemts for :D . Great for my skin too as it made it very soft :) although, I do find it takes AGES for it to work on places like the stomach, hips and ribs... maybe this is just me?
Advantages: natural looking tan, worth the money, skin feels silky
Disadvantages: slight sickly smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best of its kind!

Posted08 July 2011
Customer Avatar
rosyposy2001
from Cornwall
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dove Summer Glow is great - gives a nice, even, very natural tan, which never looks orange or "fake". I use it every day from spring to autumn (and sometimes winter too, to cheer up pastey-looking skin!), and it just builds up a very gentle glow to your skin, but never streaks or makes you look as if you've "been Tangoed"! It also moisturises beautifully and is very good to use as an aftersun treatment to help keep a natural tan. Excellent product, love it, and so do both my daughters!
Advantages: doesn't streak, lasts well
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

Posted17 July 2011
Customer Avatar
RyubiRarefied
from Sheffield, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product. There's not many negatives. It's affordable, doesn't streak and genuinely gives a natural looking, sun-kissed tan without looking orange. Definitely works. The only downside the smell. I'd prefer if it was fragrance free but it's still good.
Advantages: no streaking, natural looking not orange, blends easily, no dark patches, relatively cheap, moisturising, develops more after a few days
Disadvantages: the smell is off-putting
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product looks beautiful

Posted06 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Stretchlifefurtherlaura
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I tried quite a few products before this one however this one has been the best by far. I have a natural tan but this product really enhances it and leaves my skin glowing and soft. I apply this product regularly and it looks brown on my skin not orange, which is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is good for pale skin

Posted10 April 2011
Customer Avatar
amy9593
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
im very pale like a sheet of paper, this product gave me a good glow for the summer :) i would recommend this for pale skins
Advantages: good coverage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MY HG FAKE TAN!!!!

Posted17 July 2012
Customer Avatar
angel89
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using this product now for the past 5 years, i apply it on a thursday and friday night and i get a deep natural looking tan for the weekend.
i moisturise elbows, knees, ankles and feet etc before applying and i get a flawless streak free tan
the only problem with this is that it take hours to sink in, but the end result is worth it, i just apply in the evening and wear loose fitting clothes
love it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would recommend to friends

Posted14 August 2012
Customer Avatar
Bellabella123
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I havenatural tan but lately it has faded and i wanted to top it up but I have never used fake tan so wanted to stay clear .i bought this as it build up tans and I was very happy with this product as it topped up my tan with making it look orange
Advantages: even tan no marks, smell, easy to apply, looks natural
Disadvantages: long to dry
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Changed product

Posted26 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebecca437
from North west
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been using summer glow ever since it first came out and I love it. It was on offer when I went at the weekend 3for2... Great! Got home and put it on as usual and in the morning I was shocked! I was all glittery! When I looked at the bottle it said very subtly 'with shimmer particles'. So disappointed. Now the 3for2 offer didnt seem that great having spent £10 and now having 3 bottles of the stuff. Not only was the new product not advertised very well it also seems to have replaced the original dove summer glow which is a great shame if that is the case.
Unless you want to sparkle, this product is not for you. Without shimmer particles however this product is brilliant and does give a natural, gradual tan.
Disadvantages: new product not well advertised, not a natural tan with shimmer
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its got that lovely glow!

Posted02 June 2010
Customer Avatar
r3313
great moisturiser with a very natural looking tan! a few applications for a much darker colour or one application is great for taking covering that pale look. very easy to apply & it doesnt have an unpleasant smell unlike others. most importantly i didnt feel my skin peeled with dove unlike other tanning moisturisers!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great start to summer

Posted13 August 2010
Customer Avatar
LUMOT
Fantastic for giving a light, even tan, particularly for those legs when first exposed after the winter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Body Lotion for Medium to Dark skin 250ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Very Gradual !

Posted10 September 2010
Customer Avatar
Samuelsmum
Not as Gradual as described.
I applied it on my legs, taking care around knees and ankles, jst incase, but was quite confident as it says it takes on a colour after a few days of application....however, I woke up the next morning to a fake tan smell, orange ankles and knees !
I thought I would leave it a few days to fade, then try again..maybe I did it wrong..but it faded very patchy and looked really fake !
So overall, ok but treat it like a Fake tan, not a gradual tan/moisturizer.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>