Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Shampoo and Conditioner or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Free-from-Frizz Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair

Free-from-Frizz Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair

Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair provides up to 6 weeks frizz-free hair with just one application.
Average Customer Rating:
2.364 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
13
6 out of 20(30%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Review 1 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not loving this

Posted01 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Staffs
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Having had professional straightening treatments before I really wanted to love this product.
Pros- great packaging , masked smell of product well with watermelon fragrance. Hair seemed to dry quicker?
Although I didn't like this product my hair doesn't seem to have been adversely affected.
Cons- time consuming to apply the whole application with wait time took about 2 hours. They fail to tell you there is no way you could go out for 48 hours as your hair looks like you have dipped it in a fat fryer so beware of that. No patch test recommended on box although they do on site. Once washed out hair didn't feel any difference to frizz and I don't have horrifically frizzy hair. Hair very static. Faint 'chemical smell ' to hair. Didn't like applicator for product hair they should perhaps swap to an applicator that also combs as dispenses.
In all my hair is no worse but also is no better. Perhaps this product would work for really really frizzy hair but for me at 2 hours app and 48 hours not going out its just a no no.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
29of 67voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Devastated
Cumbria
 
Please wait while more information about Devastated is loaded.
Additional information about Devastated could not be loaded.
DO NOT BUY THIS
Posted 22 April 2014
After reading the glowing article in the daily mail. I thought this treatment would be ideal for my curly, life of its own hair! Well....I followed the instructions to the letter and I am writing this through my tears.... I have long red hair that is now frazzled. I have had to have 5 inches cut off and it is still frazzled. My hairdresser is at a loss as to why it has reached so badly to my hair and said it could take over 12 months to get my old hair style/length/condition back!! The whole process of carrying out the treatment to the devastating results has left me so very upset and my hair is totally ruined. I am heartbroken. Why on earth did I mess with it in the first place.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Totally impressed

Posted27 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Auzziegirl
from Chelmsford Essex
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this product with high hopes after reading a lot of reviews on this site & I've been totally impressed with the results.
I've got the sort of hair that can have controlling products but the weather will always have a stronger influence over the state of my hair.
My fiancé applied it for me, he has limited hairdressing skills, but still managed to follow the instructions & we did exactly as it said on the box.
My hair was put to the challenge, on a very rainy day & only a fine hood to protect me.... And guess what? Despite the rain, damp & hood hair... My hair remained straight.
I'm loving it... My only worry is that my local boots store has stopped stocking it.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

Posted20 March 2014
Customer Avatar
PurpleMcG
from Aberdeen, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The product was certainly easy to apply, the instructions simple and it smelt fairly pleasant! However, that's when the positive stuff ends - I totally agree with the other reviewer re the unpleasantness that the product adds to your hair, which gets worse after the first 12-24 hours. On day 2, I was totally paranoid about my hair's 'matted' appearance and was desperate to wash it out! Even after 2 or 3 washes, there was still a bit of residue and a slightly sticky texture.
I had high hopes, but on the second day, my hair was back to normal, especially my fringe which is still curly/frizzy and had to go back to using straightening products as well as my straighteners. I've also noticed a different texture to my hair since application (it's been 4 days) and with a loss of shine. Will continue to investigate other options
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleasantly surprised - don't let negative reviews put you off

Posted03 May 2016
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I ordered this item a while ago and after reading the reviews was worried i'd wasted my money and time. However considering keratine treatment is over £100 in salons i'd thought i'd give it a go.
I'd read about not being able to go out for 48 hours due to hair looking bad so I did it on a day where i didn't need to leave the house for a few days.
Putting it on was tricky, it was looser than expected as i thought it would be like hair dye. It was a lot more watery. I only used about half the bottle due to it being so liquid and the instructions said not to over saturate. Then wait 40 mins before washing out, blowdry and straighten.
After I straightened it I was really surprised. My hair felt normal and straightened as well as it normally did. I went to bed and the next day my hair was still straight and looked better than it usually would. Normally if i straighten my hair, it curls/frizzes overnight and I have to go over it again. This time, my hair was not frizzy at all and straight. The next day it was the same. I NEVER get 2 days straight hair without going over it. And i could leave the house, there was no greasy/matted hair that other reviews have said. My hair was dry but it normally is, but not frizzy. After the 48 hours i washed it out and straightened it and it still isn't frizzy. I will see if it lasts 6 weeks but for me it is a miracle. It means i dont have to damage my hair by straightening it every day to control the frizz.
My hair is curly/wavy and very frizzy normally so even if i wear it curly it is still frizzy unless i put loads of product. I have a feeling I can wear my hair curly with this treatment and i won't need to cover it in mousse to try and control it.
I am very happy. Maybe i've just got the right type of hair for it but it has worked a treat and i will be buying again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

Posted04 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hertford
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
It seems to work - good conditioning and easy to use instructions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rubbish!

Posted09 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Gloucestershire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Never
Used this product on my daughters wavy and frizzy hair, followed instructions to the letter as determined to do something to banish the frizz. The product has a revolting smell (like perm lotion) vaguely masked with a fruity flavour. This smell remained in her hair and our house for days. It recommends not washing hair for at least 48 hours so we left for 72 hours and after the first wash her frizz was back possibly worse than ever. I have emailed Free from frizz with a photo, they are yet to respond. Very disappointed.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed

Posted20 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Nat1084
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product after reading the daily mail review about it. The smell of the shampoo and conditioner is lovey. The kit on the other hand is not a nice smell it reminded me of Perming solution. I only used half of the bottle on my hair as I didn't want to over do as my hair is fine and that was enough. I followed the instructions to a tee. The look of my hair after applying the solution was awful. Felt so dry. The smell of it was not nice at all and I felt conscious of it all day as I could smell it. The end of my hair have frazzled and broke off so now I have to cut my hair after spending months growing it. I could not last the full 48hrs so day one I washed it out after seeing the state of my hair. Even after washing it I can still smell the solution slightly. For me I won't be buying this product again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it.

Posted23 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Surrey
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Did absolutely nothing to my untameable frizzy hair.
Process takes ages and no results!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Free from frizz

Posted16 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from south west
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was good - I have had a professional hair straighening procedure so I was interested to try this at this price
It is not perfect and it should be made clear that the shampoo and conditioner should be bought at the same time
Really good value for money - I have been on a cruise holiday and my hair was not frizzy at all. The product has been on my hair for three weeks now so I cannot vouch for the longevity but made a difference to my holiday not having to spend ages on my hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

Posted12 May 2016
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Cardiff
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has certainly helped tame my thick curly hair which is a nightmare in damp conditions. I used the Watermelon option as I was not sure how it would affect my hair so thought I'd tread with caution. I only applied the treatment just over a week ago but it has made my hair much softer and easier to style and I have been out in rain and haven't got the frizzies at all! I wanted to try it as I am going on a cruise shortly and the thought of trying to control my hair with all that water and humidity filled me with dread.... I feel much more relaxed about it now. It was easy to apply following the instructions and not much fussing about at all. I will definitely be using the product again and will stick with the Watermelon version of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Free from frizz

Posted09 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Essex
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I followed instructions and put it on towel dried hair, it was slighty damp, as suggested and the product did not absorb into the hair properly, it felt very gunky,for two days,very hard to straighten with it in. Washed it off after two days and blow dried it, went out in damp conditions and it was fluffy as ever, so i think this product does not do what it says on the box. Very disappointing.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is a waste of money

Posted27 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Helen611
from Bromley
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would not buy this product again. It smells awful, it is extremely difficult to apply and it doesn't deliver the results stated. Never mind six weeks I didn't even get one day. After 24 hours I had what looked like a bad case of dandruff. The smell gave me a headache and it costs a fortune. I would personally stick with the Frizzease range in future.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

Posted16 March 2014
Customer Avatar
abbiej981
Whilst hair felt a little strange in the 48 hour waiting period can honestly say result is amazing and well worth the wait. Definitely recomend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of time and money

Posted02 April 2014
Customer Avatar
SarahP81
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
I have never written a product review before, ever. I am so annoyed by this product that I am warning you all now to save you time and money. Having seen an article on FFF I excitedly bought 2 kits. I am white British (hence not Afro hair but still frizzy) so thought I would be a perfect customer as have plenty of frizz to tame without it being excessive.
You need to find 2 days available where you don't need to leave the house as once you have the product in your hair is unsightly and you can't even tie it up.
Shampoo is fine. Then I blow dried to damp as per instructions and added product. Left for 40 mins as instructured then the torture began of drying and straightening. Your hair will be so straw like it is impossible to brush and so painful pulling and tugging. Anyway after an hour I had finally dried and straightened my hair as best I could. It was like a scarecrow - straw like, impossible to run your hands through, full of flakes and generally gross. So I endured 2 days - it got more and more knotty and couldn't get a hair brush through. But carried on in promise of frizz free hair. Then d day came and the joy of washing it out (I had even bought the special shampoo and conditioner). Then ........ My hair was exactly the same, I mean NO CHANGE. I thought as a minimum it would have reduced frizz by 10% but no. I cannot imagine for one second that I am alone. I reckon the people giving it 5stars here are employed by the product company and they are fake reviews. Total waste of money, time and painful. Just stick to your GHDs that is my advice. (P.s. took the second kit back to boots today for a refund).
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of time and money

Posted24 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Leen
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have a straight normal hair, that tends to be a bit frizzy. I thought this might work on my hair since frizz is my only problem and otherwise I have a healthy shiny hair.
I applied this following the instruction religiously. I have tolerated the awful smell for 48 hours. My hair was straw-like and looked like I haven't washed it for weeks so I avoided meeting people during those two days. I followed that with the recommended shampoo and conditioner. However, I did not realise any difference with may hair after the treatment. the frizz did not improve at all. I have to say that the hair was even frizzy when the awful stinky treatment was still on my hair.
I really wanted this product to work, but I have to agree with other reviews, it does not work at all. and the search for anti-frizz treatment continues. Until then, I will stick with hair oil, it is cheaper, healthier and it tames the frizz even though temporarily.
Sorry "Free From Frizz", you failed to deliver what you promise!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

Posted17 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Caroline1008
from Brighton, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I agree with the previous reviewer - the first thing they should put in the instructions is to tell the user to do this on a Friday night and lock themselves away for the weekend! I was expecting some residue and unpleasant-feeling hair as I have had salon keratin treatments before but this is a lot heavier on the hair - there is no way I could have left the house with it on my head over the 48 hours.
Luckily I DID do it on a Friday evening...I got my sister to help me. She very carefully followed the instructions and straightened small sections of my hair thoroughly and did not over-saturate etc.
I could not wait to get the stuff off my hair on Sunday evening! I used the Free From Frizz shampoo and conditioner and left my hair to largely air dry before blowing drying it straight. When blowdrying it, it seemed to behave itself a little better than usual and I thought this was encouraging.
However this morning...I have to say I'm disappointed. I cannot really see any tangible difference to my hair. I still had to straighten it this morning. Hoping that the treatment would mean less effort I only gave my hair one pass of the straighteners. After going out at lunchtime it looks 'puffy'. It is also considerably less shiny than usual.
I'm going to save my money and go back to salon treatments. Sad really as I wanted to love this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adore this product

Posted20 February 2014
Customer Avatar
curnow22
from Cornwall
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am often trying to buy shampoos that prevent frizzy hair so I was very keen to try this product. I absolutely love it. Nice colours, good texture, easy application and definitely works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
24of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Absolute Rubbish

Posted07 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Devon
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product broke off the ends of my hair and left it totally frazzled. Would have sent it back if I'd kept the carton. Total waste of £14 !!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

avoid using at all cost

Posted03 August 2014
Customer Avatar
AnneF69
from lanarkshire, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am not the type of person who ever writes a review. However, I feel compelled to do so as this is the worst hair product I have ever used and it damaged my hair. It caused my hair to break all over leaving one inch clumps of hair in places. I would advise anyone thinking to using the product to avoid it at all cost.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Free From Frizz: 6 Week Blowout Watermelon Kit for Normal/Fine Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Expensive disappointment

Posted31 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Disappointed72
Echo the other reviewers -about the awful feeling and looking hair for 48 hours. Thought it would be worth it and was excited about washing my hair and seeing a difference. My hair is fine, flyaway with a little frizz normally but now seems to be more frizzy after the treatment than before and certainly feels much drier. Would not recommend this to anyone.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>