Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Hair offers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Bleach-London Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit

Bleach-London Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit

Dye it yourself with this easy to use end lightening dip dye kit – brought to you by the experts at Bleach London.
Average Customer Rating:
4.159 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
17 out of 20(85%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Review 1 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

Posted30 March 2014
Customer Avatar
vikialove
from Edinburgh
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I have been dying my hair for years with all the good and bad results you might expect from home dying, but I have to say this is one of the BEST products I have ever used!
My hair was dyed black (I used Schwarzkopf Colour Mask, also a great product!). It was starting to fade a little to a very dark brown at the ends and I thought I was being very silly trying to dip dye my hair from this as it is commonly understood that black hair does not dye well. However, I thought I would give it a shot anyway. The lightening effect was amazing! Got me up to a mid blonde, a wee bit ginger but my hair is naturally quite reddish so I expected this.
I used one bleach and half of the developer liquid the first time and used the other half of the kit the next day (The product does not mention this AT ALL, but I knew it would be really difficult to lighten my hair so I was being cheeky). Blending lotion is great, nice even blend even from my very dark hair. Personally I found the product easy to use with the wee brush and tub included, though the gloves are HUGE! That is my only complaint and it doesn't really count. Oh, and the repair mask included is AMAZING, silky soft hair in no time, barely feels like I have bleached it at all.
Onto the white toner next so I can use some of Bleach London's funky colours! LOVE THEM! Buy this product if you want a shot at dip dying, I can not fault it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
chloeloxx
Birmingham
 
Please wait while more information about chloeloxx is loaded.
Additional information about chloeloxx could not be loaded.
Posted 16 July 2014
Hi, just wanted to ask if you have used the white toner kit yet? I've recently purchased the dip dye kit & the rose super cool colour dye, i'm thinking of buying the white toner kit to help the rose pink stand out but im not sure if it will work? thought id ask for advice if you don't mind :)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best DIY dip dye kit

Posted23 November 2013
Customer Avatar
hatss
from North Yorkshire, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've previously ombred by hair using a normal packet of hair bleach, and admit I got a horrible line.
This is amazing at giving a gradual look.
I actually applied the bleach a little higher up every 10 or so minutes, because I wanted a very gradual and natural appearance. Despite this, I do think that if I'd applied it all at once, it would have been gradual anyway, and it was incredibly easy to apply. The only problem I had was the smell, and it actually burned my eyes, but I think this may be the case with all bleach, not just this product?
This product is also amazing at the lack of damage. Last time I bleached it, my hair felt dry and horrible, and was a haven for split ends. I don't know whether this was the dye itself, or the fact it came with a hair mask, but the damage is barely noticeable!
Overall there was LOADS of product, I have fairly thick mid-length hair (a good few inches past my shoulders), and I only used about half of it, to go up to about my chin!
I will definitely be using this again, and would recommend to anyone who doesn't want to pay salon price for the ombred look!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Smells nice, good colour but not very gradual.

Posted23 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Dundee
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This isn't the easiest kit to use as it uses a proper mixing bowl and brush...you may find it useful to use a comb or hairbrush to apply the dye,especially when applying to the back.
The blending lotion smelt lovely but didn't seem to have any effect, in the sense that it did not give a gradual effect, so I have been left with a bit of a harsh line...
I have very long and very thick hair but there was plenty of dye to cover my hair with just one kit.
The dye doesn't leave your hair dry or with that horrible after smell you can sometimes get.
Overall, I was happy with the dye but the blending lotion was disappointing and let the kit down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost perfect

Posted30 November 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Brighton
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Having destroyed my poor strands many many times over the years, I swore never to DIY again, but succumbed to Bleach London after hearing so many good reviews. After using the Dip Dye kit followed by white toner, I can finally say I have found a successful method of lightening my hair without an expensive trip to the salon. The blending lotion is effective and smells lovely… until you apply the bleach itself (I'd advice NOT inhaling deeply during application!!!!) My only problem with the product is the pair of plastic gloves supplied - seriously guys - I simply do not possess the gigantic man hands these gloves were obviously designed for. Thankfully I had a pair of my own to massage the blending lotion. The gradual fading effect is essential to produce a good dip dye result so I can't understand why the gloves provided make this such a difficult task!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good!

Posted16 February 2016
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My hair was very dark brown. And it turned out really good using this kit. I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Yellow. So very very yellow.

Posted10 February 2016
Customer Avatar
boothylaroux
from Soutwest, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Well... it certainly does bleach your hair... but be prepared for super yellow ends! I wish I could upload pictures of just how dodgy it looked! I'm not even that dark on top but the yellow ends just looked AWFUL... even after I left it for as long as you can (they tell you to do this to take the hair past the copper stage).
I did as it says to as well as using foils + backcombing to avoid straight lines but I still got them. There are videos on youtube for these instructions.
Two salons and £160 later, I have my lovely natural look back. Should have just gone to the professionals in the first place!!!
One good thing is the blending liquid. That is the ONLY thing that stopped this ombre looking completely nightmareish. In the areas where I didn't apply it so well (i.e. for the hair that lies at the back where you can't predict placement so well), I got straight lines and it looked so nasty - going from brown to yellow.
Avoid this but if you want to try it, make sure to use the blending lotion accurately and generously.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy days

Posted06 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Deee123
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
So, I've never dip dyed my hair before (I didn't want to spend much doing it in a salon, & at the same time didn't want results like some of the dire dip dyes I've seen around town). Anyway, after spending time looking at reviews of different DIY kits I was convinced this one would do the trick... and it did!
I am so, so pleased with the results. The kit was so easy to use and the Reincarnation Mask made my hair feel so amazingly soft I'm buying it separately for future use.
If you're weary about your first kit like I was, I'd strongly suggest this one!
Happy dyeing! (lol)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Dip Dye!!!

Posted09 October 2013
Customer Avatar
xprettiiblux
from UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've always been a little skeptical about dip dye as most of the time when you see it girls have a awful line across from dark to blonde. Anyway, I had tried a different dip dye before and it wasn't brilliant so thought i would give this ago. It looks a bit difficult when you open the box as its got a proper dying brush and mixing bowl - but!!!! this one has a blending lotion with it! Do as it says in the instructions and you will get a lovely graduated look not the dreaded line that seperates your dark hair and your blonde. Mine didn't go completely bleached as i started with very dark hair before, but it looks lovely and I've had no end of compliments about it! and for the price its great! Definitely definitely definitely give it a go!!!!!!!! Just deciding on which one of the colours i want to use now!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
39of 48voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING NEW GRADUAL DIP DYE

Posted10 October 2013
Customer Avatar
gemdawwg1
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this dip dye because of its claims for a more gradual dip dye... and IT WORKED!!!
They have this amazing smelling blending lotion that actually did what it said. last time i tried dip dye i had a horrible straight line, but this is so subtle its amazing!!!!
I even covered the lighter ends with a super cool colour which looked incredible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted14 January 2014
Customer Avatar
bc1020
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although I've dyed my hair many times before, I've never bleached it. I was a bit hesitant at using this kit but after reading other reviews I thought I would give it a go.
The instructions are simple and explained very well, and I like that everything you need is supplied - although I found it useful to have a separate bowl and brush for the 'blending lotion', but this is not essential. It is easy enough for one person to do it themselves, but if your hair is long/thick it might be useful to get someone to help you, particularly for the back of the head.
I was so pleased with the results and it worked a lot better than I thought it would. If you just follow the instructions exactly, you really can't go wrong. The 'reincarnation mask' conditioner that is included is brilliant and leaves your hair soft, without feeling like it has been bleached, and has enough left for many uses afterwards.
I rarely receive comments on what I wear or how I look, but since I've used this product I have had several compliments on my hair and how natural and professional it looks - people were surprised when I said that I'd done it myself.
Overall this is a really great product. I've used it twice now and wouldn't hesitate to buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

Posted01 September 2015
Customer Avatar
ckpe123
from glasgow
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
This is the 1st review I have EVER made on any purchase but I loved this product so much, I had to write it. Normally I spend a fortune at the salon getting highlights but i thought for once I would darken my roots to achieve an ombre effect and save my hair a whole lot of damage!! However, I over applied the product and ended up with dull, lacklustre, dry hair with blonde underneath (NOT a good look)
I then researched online into how to achieve a balayage effect but with ombre bottoms and this kit was the chosen product to do the job.
I must admit, the application was a bit tricky on my chin length bob and I had to use a mirror to reach the back of my hair, i made a few mistakes and didnt put foil on the bleached hair so the ends dried out a bit which meant I had to keep topping up. I asked myself, WHAT HAVE I DONE?
I thought another trip to the salon was inevitable as the colour developed. HOWEVER..after removing the product and washing the hair with the mask, folowed by some toning shampoo, there was not a line in sight. I had ended up with beautifully ombre'd locks with no visible markings. my ends were in remarkably good condition and looked like I had just been to the salon.
i dont know if the blending cream dilutes the bleach to prevent blunt streaks but this is a super addition to the kit. I would definately recommend!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Product. Recommend 100%!

Posted16 February 2015
Customer Avatar
3lucy111
I LOVE this dye. I ombred my hair and it 100% did the job well. It comes with a blending lotion which avoids harsh lines, I used a dye before without a blending lotion and it left a harsh line. So I loved that this came with one. The bleach is very strong and hair looks very blonde. Can't recommend it more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Creates a lovely gradual look

Posted28 May 2014
Customer Avatar
cloclo124
from Nottingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
This kit was perfect! It was easy to use and left me with a lovely gradual look rather than a straight line across my hair. The reincarnation mask that it comes with is also amazing, and has kept my hair from drying out and splitting. I would definitely use this product again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's ok....

Posted25 August 2015
Customer Avatar
Rach87
from Preston
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
I’ve been a fan of the dip dye / ombré trend for ages, and have had my hair in the style for well over a year. I have fine, dark blonde, just past shoulder length hair. I have used a different brand of ombré kit many times before and always had good results, but wanted a brighter blonde this time. So after reading all the glowing reviews of this one, I decided to give it a go. How hard could it be? Turns out, harder than I thought. The bleach powder and solution are fairly easy to mix, and produce an eye burningly strong creamy mixture, so be sure to work in a well ventilated area. Although I loved the idea of the blending lotion, I thought it made it hard to see exactly where and how much bleach I’d used on that area. Maybe it’s because I have lightish hair anyway? I left the dye on for around 20 minutes, before rinsing and shampooing twice as instructed. I then dried it to check the colour (my poor frazzled hair!) to find some parts weren’t any lighter than they were before, and some bits were stripy! Luckily I managed to fix it, I hadn’t thrown the bleach away, and although I know it’s not recommended to use bleach that’s been sat around for a while, I reapplied to the dodgy bits. Crisis trip to the hairdressers averted! After re-rinsing and re-shampooing, I layered the conditioner on, wrapped it in a warm towel and left it on overnight to repair the frazzle. Overall I think the colour is quite nice, but probably not a million miles away from the colour I achieved with the other (easier to use) kit I've used previously to be truthful. I don't think I'd be in a rush to use this one again. The kit’s ok, if you’re confident with a dye brush and can work quickly and accurately, or if you’ve got your mate / mum / sister on hand to help!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't work for me

Posted29 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Amyw35
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I was really excited about using this product as it had lots of good reviews, however it didn't work for me. I realise this could be down to my hair type and natural colour, but the bleach sent my hair a horrible yellowy colour, I'm naturally dark blonde. I kept it on for half the time that was recommended as I didn't want my hair to go white blonde. I wouldn't recommend this product if your hair is already light, it probably works best on dark hair. I personally won't be using this again as I've got to try and get rid of this nasty colour. Other than me not getting the colour I wanted it is a good gradual dip dye, no block colouring.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant product!

Posted30 July 2014
Customer Avatar
fionarose13
from Newcastle uk
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
This is the first time I've used a Bleach London product and I couldn't be happier with the results. In the past when doing dip dye (ombré) I've used Loreal ombré and I've never achieved the results on the front of the box which is annoying as I've got very light brown hair so should be achievable in my opinion. So I decided give this dye ago and the results are amazing! Even without the toner the colour was beautiful and no where near as brassy/orange as other dyes. I also purchased the bleach London toner and applied this the next day just to make it more white, want the best results I highly recommend this product and also the toner certainly one of the best hair products I've used in a long time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's bleach really

Posted08 July 2015
Customer Avatar
Sarahd3
I used to dye my hair back in the day every colour under the sun including reverting back to black constantly. After retiring from my dying days and growing my natural hair colour out with dark brown semis it was finally getting there.
However, I had a moment of madness and wanted to have turquoise dip dye, desperately! I have seen bleach london around but never used it so thought I'd give it a go due to the good reviews.
As my tips have lots of build up I expected ginger, which is what I got really. The bleach is very strong and gave me onion syndrome, my eyes would not stop watering! The process is messy because it's a proper bleach rather than a bottle dye which can get better results but I just found it very messy.
I am happy my tips are lighter and I may bleach again, however it is just bleach and doesn't really differ from any other brand I've used which is slightly disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Used it on my lace front

Posted08 January 2015
Customer Avatar
makeupjunkie1
from Essex
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Used it on my HH lace front wig to change it up and it worked really well considering it was already dyed. The hair colour was dark brown or shade 2 and the dye gave it a light brown ombré the only negative was there was not enough blending solution for my bob style so longer hair my need 2 kits and the smell is really strong. Dark brown hair will take longer than 45mins but won't be blonde more ash brown
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing DIP DYE!!

Posted07 August 2015
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I had a dip dye at a salon last week, which was lovely, but just a bit too subtle - it really wasn't noticeable at all! So I bought BLEACH DIY Dip Dye to get a lighter effect. I am so happy with the result! It was very easy to use (though I would definitely suggest getting a friend to do it for you - even easier!) and it looks exactly how I wanted it. I only left it on for 25 mins as I chickened out slightly, so it's a nice golden blonde colour, which I think looks better on my dark hair. But I know if I had left it on for 35/40 minutes it would have been full on bleach blonde!
I would definitley recommend this product, even for those with dark hair :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product

Posted12 July 2015
Customer Avatar
Sarahhacker2609
from Milton keynes
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
I rarely write reviews but this product was so good I had too. My hair has a natural warmth to it so easily turns orange when I try and dye it blonde, and this was the first home hair dye that I had bought where it actually went blonde! And a nice blonde too. I bought the dip-dye kit and also the toner, both easy to use. I have long, thick hair and easily had enough in the kit. I would never use anything else now, if you want to go blonde, use bleach London- amazing price too!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>