Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Bleach-London Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit

Bleach-London Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit

Dye it yourself with this easy to use end lightening dip dye kit – brought to you by the experts at Bleach London.
Average Customer Rating:
4.257 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
17 out of 20(85%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Review 1 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best DIY dip dye kit

Posted23 November 2013
Customer Avatar
hatss
from North Yorkshire, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've previously ombred by hair using a normal packet of hair bleach, and admit I got a horrible line.
This is amazing at giving a gradual look.
I actually applied the bleach a little higher up every 10 or so minutes, because I wanted a very gradual and natural appearance. Despite this, I do think that if I'd applied it all at once, it would have been gradual anyway, and it was incredibly easy to apply. The only problem I had was the smell, and it actually burned my eyes, but I think this may be the case with all bleach, not just this product?
This product is also amazing at the lack of damage. Last time I bleached it, my hair felt dry and horrible, and was a haven for split ends. I don't know whether this was the dye itself, or the fact it came with a hair mask, but the damage is barely noticeable!
Overall there was LOADS of product, I have fairly thick mid-length hair (a good few inches past my shoulders), and I only used about half of it, to go up to about my chin!
I will definitely be using this again, and would recommend to anyone who doesn't want to pay salon price for the ombred look!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy days

Posted06 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Deee123
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
So, I've never dip dyed my hair before (I didn't want to spend much doing it in a salon, & at the same time didn't want results like some of the dire dip dyes I've seen around town). Anyway, after spending time looking at reviews of different DIY kits I was convinced this one would do the trick... and it did!
I am so, so pleased with the results. The kit was so easy to use and the Reincarnation Mask made my hair feel so amazingly soft I'm buying it separately for future use.
If you're weary about your first kit like I was, I'd strongly suggest this one!
Happy dyeing! (lol)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING NEW GRADUAL DIP DYE

Posted10 October 2013
Customer Avatar
gemdawwg1
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this dip dye because of its claims for a more gradual dip dye... and IT WORKED!!!
They have this amazing smelling blending lotion that actually did what it said. last time i tried dip dye i had a horrible straight line, but this is so subtle its amazing!!!!
I even covered the lighter ends with a super cool colour which looked incredible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted14 January 2014
Customer Avatar
bc1020
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although I've dyed my hair many times before, I've never bleached it. I was a bit hesitant at using this kit but after reading other reviews I thought I would give it a go.
The instructions are simple and explained very well, and I like that everything you need is supplied - although I found it useful to have a separate bowl and brush for the 'blending lotion', but this is not essential. It is easy enough for one person to do it themselves, but if your hair is long/thick it might be useful to get someone to help you, particularly for the back of the head.
I was so pleased with the results and it worked a lot better than I thought it would. If you just follow the instructions exactly, you really can't go wrong. The 'reincarnation mask' conditioner that is included is brilliant and leaves your hair soft, without feeling like it has been bleached, and has enough left for many uses afterwards.
I rarely receive comments on what I wear or how I look, but since I've used this product I have had several compliments on my hair and how natural and professional it looks - people were surprised when I said that I'd done it myself.
Overall this is a really great product. I've used it twice now and wouldn't hesitate to buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Creates a lovely gradual look

Posted28 May 2014
Customer Avatar
cloclo124
from Nottingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
This kit was perfect! It was easy to use and left me with a lovely gradual look rather than a straight line across my hair. The reincarnation mask that it comes with is also amazing, and has kept my hair from drying out and splitting. I would definitely use this product again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Product. Recommend 100%!

Posted16 February 2015
Customer Avatar
3lucy111
I LOVE this dye. I ombred my hair and it 100% did the job well. It comes with a blending lotion which avoids harsh lines, I used a dye before without a blending lotion and it left a harsh line. So I loved that this came with one. The bleach is very strong and hair looks very blonde. Can't recommend it more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant product!

Posted30 July 2014
Customer Avatar
fionarose13
from Newcastle uk
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
This is the first time I've used a Bleach London product and I couldn't be happier with the results. In the past when doing dip dye (ombré) I've used Loreal ombré and I've never achieved the results on the front of the box which is annoying as I've got very light brown hair so should be achievable in my opinion. So I decided give this dye ago and the results are amazing! Even without the toner the colour was beautiful and no where near as brassy/orange as other dyes. I also purchased the bleach London toner and applied this the next day just to make it more white, want the best results I highly recommend this product and also the toner certainly one of the best hair products I've used in a long time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's bleach really

Posted08 July 2015
Customer Avatar
Sarahd3
I used to dye my hair back in the day every colour under the sun including reverting back to black constantly. After retiring from my dying days and growing my natural hair colour out with dark brown semis it was finally getting there.
However, I had a moment of madness and wanted to have turquoise dip dye, desperately! I have seen bleach london around but never used it so thought I'd give it a go due to the good reviews.
As my tips have lots of build up I expected ginger, which is what I got really. The bleach is very strong and gave me onion syndrome, my eyes would not stop watering! The process is messy because it's a proper bleach rather than a bottle dye which can get better results but I just found it very messy.
I am happy my tips are lighter and I may bleach again, however it is just bleach and doesn't really differ from any other brand I've used which is slightly disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Used it on my lace front

Posted08 January 2015
Customer Avatar
makeupjunkie1
from Essex
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Used it on my HH lace front wig to change it up and it worked really well considering it was already dyed. The hair colour was dark brown or shade 2 and the dye gave it a light brown ombré the only negative was there was not enough blending solution for my bob style so longer hair my need 2 kits and the smell is really strong. Dark brown hair will take longer than 45mins but won't be blonde more ash brown
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product

Posted12 July 2015
Customer Avatar
Sarahhacker2609
from Milton keynes
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
I rarely write reviews but this product was so good I had too. My hair has a natural warmth to it so easily turns orange when I try and dye it blonde, and this was the first home hair dye that I had bought where it actually went blonde! And a nice blonde too. I bought the dip-dye kit and also the toner, both easy to use. I have long, thick hair and easily had enough in the kit. I would never use anything else now, if you want to go blonde, use bleach London- amazing price too!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

Posted27 April 2015
Customer Avatar
PeaBe
from Cheltenham
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
After many years of not dyeing my hair, I decided I fancied a change but didn't want to stray entirely from my natural mid to dark brown colour, which is in an okay condition. So I bought this kit and decided to go up to my collar bone. That way, it would look good if it worked, but give the option of a shoulder length hair cut if disaster materialised!
Once I started, I immediately regretted it and assumed I would have to cut the lengths. This was because I felt there was no way the small amount of blending lotion on my big-ish hair would prevent a skunk-like appearance, bar the thin strip of inbetween colour expected. How wrong I was! I blended well and really rubbed the transition part (between the soon-to-be blonde lengths and the natural top) into a lather and made sure every part of my hair from collarbone down was saturated in dye or lotion. The smell is REALLY overpowering, but considering the hair is being bleached, this is unsurprising. One thing: once you start, you have to work really fast as the bleach expands to double the size, in a mass of froth!
I carefully washed off the dye after 45 minutes, but dripped a little water on first and gave the blending lotion part one last rub into a lather, aiming for full graduated effect. After shampooing clear, I look owed the instructions accurately and left the heavenly Reincarnation Mask on for ten minutes.
The result is really good, a mid blonde, to dark blonde, to light reddish brown, to my natural slightly reddish brown. I was skeptical about this kit because I do have reddish tones to my natural colour, but it looks great! Two days later, I washed the ends with the Bleach London silver shampoo, which slightly 'ashened' the blonde, which was a bit yellowy until then. It now looks really great! Normal conditioner is good (I didn't buy the matching conditioner) and there is enough Reincarnation Masks for many more uses. Good stuff! I feel like a new woman! :D
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't use if you have ANY red hues in your hair!

Posted12 February 2014
Customer Avatar
delicatehues
from Newcastle, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
I'll start with the positives:
- It didn't smell too bad
- The conditioning mask you get for afterwards is amazing
- The instructions are step by step and very clear
Now for the negatives:
I used this on my mid/dark brown, natural hair. I'd never ever dyed my hair before this. And it went bright golden orange with streaks of white/yellow.
I asked a hairdresser why this happened and she said it was the natural red tones/highlights in my hair. I've dyed over it now with a red/brown colour but when it was first done, I looked like I was wearing a bad Disney princess wig!
So, yes, I'm sure this is awesome on the right kind of hair, but it wasn't for me.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

TURNED MY HAIR ORANGE

Posted31 July 2014
Customer Avatar
edeeenx
from Cumbria, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I used this kit a day ago and its turned my hair bright orange, I am not sure if this is because I have dyed my hair lots of times before this but I left it on for about 40 minutes and then washed it off expecting it to have worked a treat. No it was the complete opposite, I would not recommend this if you have previously dyed your hair.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best dip dye kit

Posted21 December 2013
Customer Avatar
cthrnfrd
I have dip dyed my hair previously using L'Oreal but it has gone coppery. I came across Bleach in Boots accidentally and noticed that it was 3for2 so I bought the dip dye kit and two of the colours (awkward peach and rose). My friend dip dyed my hair for me and it came out amazing, a nice shade of blonde and no severe line between my dark blonde and light blonde hair. The process was easy and there was no strong smells that dyed usually come with. I left it in for about half an hour and shampooed twice. The hair mask included is amazing too! The next day I used the rose coloured dye to dye strands of hair which looked really good. I bought another packed of the dip dye this week because I love it so much. I don't ever write reviews but I felt I needed to give things brand justice!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent gradient

Posted30 May 2014
Customer Avatar
aghsl
from Southampton. UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
This was my first time dip dyeing my hair and I was so nervous I would end up with a big yellow streak across the bottom half, BUT this kit was so easy to use and the blending cream helps to give an excellent gradient! It looks great and I'm really happy with the results. I have dark brown asian hair and the bleach lifted it very nicely. I bought the white toner to go along with it but I don't think that helped very much. This kit though is so worth the money :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and great results

Posted03 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have never dyed my hair at all before so was a little apprehensive about using an at-home kit but this was so easy to use. The instructions were very clear and the equipment was great- I like that it has a sort of gel that you apply before the bleach so that it gives a more gradual fade. I have dark brown hair and this made it a light yellow colour with some orange tones- I used a silver shampoo to neutralise this and then went ahead and applied the Bleach White Toner over the dip dye which took all the coppery tones out. I have been getting a lot of compliments from friends and colleagues and will definitely use the Bleach range again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quite impressed

Posted14 June 2015
Customer Avatar
Coralz
from Wellington, NZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I used this on my hair about a week ago. My hair has been dyed a deep red for a long time so I wasn't expecting amazing blonde results but wanted to give it a go. I was also worried about the blending lotion, so I also backcombed each section of hair I bleached.
I left the bleach on for a full 45 minutes and used foil to try and get the bleach to process a bit more. Because of the red in my hair, it basically got to an orangey yellow before I had to wash the bleach off. I wasn't game enough to put more on or leave it longer. I really imagine this would work best on mid-brown hair or lighter, and they do state this on the box.
I used the silver toner as well but it was useless on the level of ginge I was dealing with, so I did have to buy another toner (dye) to get it to calm down. Fortunately that worked!
All in all, this is a great product. The blending lotion worked really well for me, I made sure to really blend it with the bleach, and I also wiped off my gloves between the bleach and the blending lotion applications to ensure I didn't get any bleach in the wrong place. I also focussed on getting the majority of the bleach on the ends then graduating up which I think helped.
I've had some great comments about my hair, people are astounded that it's an at-home job. I'll probably want to re-apply it in the future to get my ends lighter, but right now my hair needs some love so I'm gonna leave it alone! Plus, I kind of like the colour it's turned out.
My tips would be to use your own gloves (the ones they provide are huge and unwieldy) and to put the blending lotion in a bottle or pot before you use it, it's really runny and would go everywhere if you tried to just get it out of the sachet. I did these things and it made it easier.
Lastly, the reincarnation mask is lovely and smells nice. You get a huge generous tube of it too which is a bonus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this review especially for VERY dark haired people!

Posted05 July 2015
Customer Avatar
LakPat
from Greater london. UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Never
For DARK BROWN/BLACK HAIR persons - I have wanted to have highlights for a long time now. But did not know which product would work best with my hair. Most products on the market discourage and/or don't take responsibility for their product working on a certain type of hair. As per the disclaimer on this box this product would most likely not work on my hair. BUT IT DID. I bought it online so did not read the fine print until I had the box. managed to misplace the receipt so could not follow my first instinct of returning this product. Since I was stuck with it anyway... I decided to try it out.
- So as per this box a person who has dark brown/black hair should not expect good results. Also people who use hair colour are not good candidates for this product.
- I have dark brown almost black hair
- I have been colouring my hair every 3 months for the past 2 years.
- hair type - normal, slightly oily at roots (if not shampood for 2 days#
- I do not know about porosity mentioned. what it is OR what is it with regards to my hair.
-- I did 2 strand tests simultaneously. Made and used the same mixture on 2 separate samples. I did 1 sample for the recommended 30 mins and another for 45 mins. BOTH samples were remarkably lighter than my hair
- THE 30 MIN SAMPLE: It was a golden brown colour, considerably lighter than my hair AND also lighter than my expectations. After washing away the mixture I felt the strand was SLIGHTLY patchy when wet, but it did not seem so after drying.
-THE 45 MIN SAMPLE: turned out a proper medium-golden-blonde! Bordering on yellow. Brilliant colour.
-The treated hair felt very dry, but good conditioning should take care of that.
- I am leaning towards subtle look so im going to do 1 more strand test leaving for 25 mins and then go for it depending on the result.
--Unfortunately I will not be able to keep it for too long once I need to do the roots for grey again :#
-
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super easy for super gorgeous hair.

Posted19 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Oxford
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
This is by far the easiest, most effective and straightforward product out there. It gives amazing, flawless results and I could not be happier with how it turned out. The dyes are easy to mix and even easier to apply, the blending lotion really does blend the hair to create a gradient, rather than a thick line and overall the colour it turns out is perfect. There was only a hint of copper tones but mainly I would say 96% blonde. This product is so supper easy to use and affordable I would 100% recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what I expected...

Posted09 July 2015
Customer Avatar
MiaInglott
I bought this product because of the endless reviews about how amazing this was. i am however sorry to say that i am disappointed. I have very dark brown hair and i watched tutorials on how to use the dye properly. Overall the instructions were very clear and easy to understand but the smell of bleach once it had mixed was VERY strong. After doing all the steps and finally washing out my hair, i ended up with a lots of copper shades not the bleached blonde that I expected (like it was shown on the packaging). Also the blending lotion did not work well AT ALL and i could clearly see the lines where the bleach had started. I may have used it wrong but i clearly followed all the instructions.
Overall it was a fine result but I am disappointed compared to what the other reviews said.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>