Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Bleach-London Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit

Bleach-London Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit

Dye it yourself with this easy to use end lightening dip dye kit – brought to you by the experts at Bleach London.
Average Customer Rating:
4.178 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
17 out of 20(85%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Review 1 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best DIY dip dye kit

Posted23 November 2013
Customer Avatar
hatss
from North Yorkshire, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've previously ombred by hair using a normal packet of hair bleach, and admit I got a horrible line.
This is amazing at giving a gradual look.
I actually applied the bleach a little higher up every 10 or so minutes, because I wanted a very gradual and natural appearance. Despite this, I do think that if I'd applied it all at once, it would have been gradual anyway, and it was incredibly easy to apply. The only problem I had was the smell, and it actually burned my eyes, but I think this may be the case with all bleach, not just this product?
This product is also amazing at the lack of damage. Last time I bleached it, my hair felt dry and horrible, and was a haven for split ends. I don't know whether this was the dye itself, or the fact it came with a hair mask, but the damage is barely noticeable!
Overall there was LOADS of product, I have fairly thick mid-length hair (a good few inches past my shoulders), and I only used about half of it, to go up to about my chin!
I will definitely be using this again, and would recommend to anyone who doesn't want to pay salon price for the ombred look!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Smells nice, good colour but not very gradual.

Posted23 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Dundee
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This isn't the easiest kit to use as it uses a proper mixing bowl and brush...you may find it useful to use a comb or hairbrush to apply the dye,especially when applying to the back.
The blending lotion smelt lovely but didn't seem to have any effect, in the sense that it did not give a gradual effect, so I have been left with a bit of a harsh line...
I have very long and very thick hair but there was plenty of dye to cover my hair with just one kit.
The dye doesn't leave your hair dry or with that horrible after smell you can sometimes get.
Overall, I was happy with the dye but the blending lotion was disappointing and let the kit down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good!

Posted16 February 2016
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My hair was very dark brown. And it turned out really good using this kit. I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

Posted20 May 2016
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Cheshire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hair dye is amazing I have really long dark coloured hair and it did the job perfectly, it was super easy to use. My mum applied it for me and I ended up with a lovely faded ombré no block lines. Just follow instructions and do small pieces at a time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted14 January 2014
Customer Avatar
bc1020
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although I've dyed my hair many times before, I've never bleached it. I was a bit hesitant at using this kit but after reading other reviews I thought I would give it a go.
The instructions are simple and explained very well, and I like that everything you need is supplied - although I found it useful to have a separate bowl and brush for the 'blending lotion', but this is not essential. It is easy enough for one person to do it themselves, but if your hair is long/thick it might be useful to get someone to help you, particularly for the back of the head.
I was so pleased with the results and it worked a lot better than I thought it would. If you just follow the instructions exactly, you really can't go wrong. The 'reincarnation mask' conditioner that is included is brilliant and leaves your hair soft, without feeling like it has been bleached, and has enough left for many uses afterwards.
I rarely receive comments on what I wear or how I look, but since I've used this product I have had several compliments on my hair and how natural and professional it looks - people were surprised when I said that I'd done it myself.
Overall this is a really great product. I've used it twice now and wouldn't hesitate to buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

Posted01 September 2015
Customer Avatar
ckpe123
from glasgow
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
This is the 1st review I have EVER made on any purchase but I loved this product so much, I had to write it. Normally I spend a fortune at the salon getting highlights but i thought for once I would darken my roots to achieve an ombre effect and save my hair a whole lot of damage!! However, I over applied the product and ended up with dull, lacklustre, dry hair with blonde underneath (NOT a good look)
I then researched online into how to achieve a balayage effect but with ombre bottoms and this kit was the chosen product to do the job.
I must admit, the application was a bit tricky on my chin length bob and I had to use a mirror to reach the back of my hair, i made a few mistakes and didnt put foil on the bleached hair so the ends dried out a bit which meant I had to keep topping up. I asked myself, WHAT HAVE I DONE?
I thought another trip to the salon was inevitable as the colour developed. HOWEVER..after removing the product and washing the hair with the mask, folowed by some toning shampoo, there was not a line in sight. I had ended up with beautifully ombre'd locks with no visible markings. my ends were in remarkably good condition and looked like I had just been to the salon.
i dont know if the blending cream dilutes the bleach to prevent blunt streaks but this is a super addition to the kit. I would definately recommend!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Product. Recommend 100%!

Posted16 February 2015
Customer Avatar
3lucy111
I LOVE this dye. I ombred my hair and it 100% did the job well. It comes with a blending lotion which avoids harsh lines, I used a dye before without a blending lotion and it left a harsh line. So I loved that this came with one. The bleach is very strong and hair looks very blonde. Can't recommend it more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Creates a lovely gradual look

Posted28 May 2014
Customer Avatar
cloclo124
from Nottingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
This kit was perfect! It was easy to use and left me with a lovely gradual look rather than a straight line across my hair. The reincarnation mask that it comes with is also amazing, and has kept my hair from drying out and splitting. I would definitely use this product again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant product!

Posted30 July 2014
Customer Avatar
fionarose13
from Newcastle uk
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
This is the first time I've used a Bleach London product and I couldn't be happier with the results. In the past when doing dip dye (ombré) I've used Loreal ombré and I've never achieved the results on the front of the box which is annoying as I've got very light brown hair so should be achievable in my opinion. So I decided give this dye ago and the results are amazing! Even without the toner the colour was beautiful and no where near as brassy/orange as other dyes. I also purchased the bleach London toner and applied this the next day just to make it more white, want the best results I highly recommend this product and also the toner certainly one of the best hair products I've used in a long time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's bleach really

Posted08 July 2015
Customer Avatar
Sarahd3
I used to dye my hair back in the day every colour under the sun including reverting back to black constantly. After retiring from my dying days and growing my natural hair colour out with dark brown semis it was finally getting there.
However, I had a moment of madness and wanted to have turquoise dip dye, desperately! I have seen bleach london around but never used it so thought I'd give it a go due to the good reviews.
As my tips have lots of build up I expected ginger, which is what I got really. The bleach is very strong and gave me onion syndrome, my eyes would not stop watering! The process is messy because it's a proper bleach rather than a bottle dye which can get better results but I just found it very messy.
I am happy my tips are lighter and I may bleach again, however it is just bleach and doesn't really differ from any other brand I've used which is slightly disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Used it on my lace front

Posted08 January 2015
Customer Avatar
makeupjunkie1
from Essex
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Used it on my HH lace front wig to change it up and it worked really well considering it was already dyed. The hair colour was dark brown or shade 2 and the dye gave it a light brown ombré the only negative was there was not enough blending solution for my bob style so longer hair my need 2 kits and the smell is really strong. Dark brown hair will take longer than 45mins but won't be blonde more ash brown
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't use if you have ANY red hues in your hair!

Posted12 February 2014
Customer Avatar
delicatehues
from Newcastle, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
I'll start with the positives:
- It didn't smell too bad
- The conditioning mask you get for afterwards is amazing
- The instructions are step by step and very clear
Now for the negatives:
I used this on my mid/dark brown, natural hair. I'd never ever dyed my hair before this. And it went bright golden orange with streaks of white/yellow.
I asked a hairdresser why this happened and she said it was the natural red tones/highlights in my hair. I've dyed over it now with a red/brown colour but when it was first done, I looked like I was wearing a bad Disney princess wig!
So, yes, I'm sure this is awesome on the right kind of hair, but it wasn't for me.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

TURNED MY HAIR ORANGE

Posted31 July 2014
Customer Avatar
edeeenx
from Cumbria, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I used this kit a day ago and its turned my hair bright orange, I am not sure if this is because I have dyed my hair lots of times before this but I left it on for about 40 minutes and then washed it off expecting it to have worked a treat. No it was the complete opposite, I would not recommend this if you have previously dyed your hair.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best dip dye kit

Posted21 December 2013
Customer Avatar
cthrnfrd
I have dip dyed my hair previously using L'Oreal but it has gone coppery. I came across Bleach in Boots accidentally and noticed that it was 3for2 so I bought the dip dye kit and two of the colours (awkward peach and rose). My friend dip dyed my hair for me and it came out amazing, a nice shade of blonde and no severe line between my dark blonde and light blonde hair. The process was easy and there was no strong smells that dyed usually come with. I left it in for about half an hour and shampooed twice. The hair mask included is amazing too! The next day I used the rose coloured dye to dye strands of hair which looked really good. I bought another packed of the dip dye this week because I love it so much. I don't ever write reviews but I felt I needed to give things brand justice!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent gradient

Posted30 May 2014
Customer Avatar
aghsl
from Southampton. UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
This was my first time dip dyeing my hair and I was so nervous I would end up with a big yellow streak across the bottom half, BUT this kit was so easy to use and the blending cream helps to give an excellent gradient! It looks great and I'm really happy with the results. I have dark brown asian hair and the bleach lifted it very nicely. I bought the white toner to go along with it but I don't think that helped very much. This kit though is so worth the money :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

Posted19 September 2015
Customer Avatar
SarahMc11
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although this kit isn't the easiest to use, it does give amazing results and I would definitely use this product again! I have medium to dark brown dyed hair and my dip dye turned a blonde/light brown shade without turning it a horrible orange colour, which I noticed happened to other people when looking into other dip dye and bleach kits.
I also found that you get a lot of product in this kit, I was able to do two applications to get a lighter colour and the resurrection mask is amazing. I would warn anyone though that they should definitely buy the silver shampoo or the white toner, because without it my hair would have had that more orange brassy tone.
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and great results

Posted03 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have never dyed my hair at all before so was a little apprehensive about using an at-home kit but this was so easy to use. The instructions were very clear and the equipment was great- I like that it has a sort of gel that you apply before the bleach so that it gives a more gradual fade. I have dark brown hair and this made it a light yellow colour with some orange tones- I used a silver shampoo to neutralise this and then went ahead and applied the Bleach White Toner over the dip dye which took all the coppery tones out. I have been getting a lot of compliments from friends and colleagues and will definitely use the Bleach range again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+15points
21of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product is decent

Posted29 August 2015
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
I used this to dye my hair that was originally a very dark brown colour. It did what it said which was lighten it up 7 shades lighter. This was fine as I was trying to get it to a much lighter colour so that I could use another dye kit to get it honey blonde.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super easy for super gorgeous hair.

Posted19 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Oxford
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
This is by far the easiest, most effective and straightforward product out there. It gives amazing, flawless results and I could not be happier with how it turned out. The dyes are easy to mix and even easier to apply, the blending lotion really does blend the hair to create a gradient, rather than a thick line and overall the colour it turns out is perfect. There was only a hint of copper tones but mainly I would say 96% blonde. This product is so supper easy to use and affordable I would 100% recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what I expected...

Posted09 July 2015
Customer Avatar
MiaInglott
I bought this product because of the endless reviews about how amazing this was. i am however sorry to say that i am disappointed. I have very dark brown hair and i watched tutorials on how to use the dye properly. Overall the instructions were very clear and easy to understand but the smell of bleach once it had mixed was VERY strong. After doing all the steps and finally washing out my hair, i ended up with a lots of copper shades not the bleached blonde that I expected (like it was shown on the packaging). Also the blending lotion did not work well AT ALL and i could clearly see the lines where the bleach had started. I may have used it wrong but i clearly followed all the instructions.
Overall it was a fine result but I am disappointed compared to what the other reviews said.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>