Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for BLEACH Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit

BLEACH Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit

Dye it yourself with this easy to use end lightening dip dye kit – brought to you by the experts at Bleach London.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
16 out of 18(89%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Review 1 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ASTOUNDING DIP DYE!

Posted27 April 2014
Customer Avatar
This DIY dip dye kit from Bleach London is the by far the best dip dye kit you could buy!
I had my hair dip dyed at Sally Montagues but it just wasn't light enough, so I went to boots and asked for their best dip dye kit, I went home thinking oh god.. I'm going to mess this up! But it's super easy to mix and apply and it comes with a blending lotion so you don't get that horrible block look! I left it on for 30 minutes thinking my hairs going to be yellow! and when I took it off I was so amazed!! this is so good and looks great too! I've had lots of compliments! 10 out of 10!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super easy for super gorgeous hair.

Posted19 April 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oxford
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
This is by far the easiest, most effective and straightforward product out there. It gives amazing, flawless results and I could not be happier with how it turned out. The dyes are easy to mix and even easier to apply, the blending lotion really does blend the hair to create a gradient, rather than a thick line and overall the colour it turns out is perfect. There was only a hint of copper tones but mainly I would say 96% blonde. This product is so supper easy to use and affordable I would 100% recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Smells nice, good colour but not very gradual.

Posted23 November 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dundee
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This isn't the easiest kit to use as it uses a proper mixing bowl and brush...you may find it useful to use a comb or hairbrush to apply the dye,especially when applying to the back.
The blending lotion smelt lovely but didn't seem to have any effect, in the sense that it did not give a gradual effect, so I have been left with a bit of a harsh line...
I have very long and very thick hair but there was plenty of dye to cover my hair with just one kit.
The dye doesn't leave your hair dry or with that horrible after smell you can sometimes get.
Overall, I was happy with the dye but the blending lotion was disappointing and let the kit down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted14 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although I've dyed my hair many times before, I've never bleached it. I was a bit hesitant at using this kit but after reading other reviews I thought I would give it a go.
The instructions are simple and explained very well, and I like that everything you need is supplied - although I found it useful to have a separate bowl and brush for the 'blending lotion', but this is not essential. It is easy enough for one person to do it themselves, but if your hair is long/thick it might be useful to get someone to help you, particularly for the back of the head.
I was so pleased with the results and it worked a lot better than I thought it would. If you just follow the instructions exactly, you really can't go wrong. The 'reincarnation mask' conditioner that is included is brilliant and leaves your hair soft, without feeling like it has been bleached, and has enough left for many uses afterwards.
I rarely receive comments on what I wear or how I look, but since I've used this product I have had several compliments on my hair and how natural and professional it looks - people were surprised when I said that I'd done it myself.
Overall this is a really great product. I've used it twice now and wouldn't hesitate to buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and great results

Posted03 November 2013
Customer Avatar
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have never dyed my hair at all before so was a little apprehensive about using an at-home kit but this was so easy to use. The instructions were very clear and the equipment was great- I like that it has a sort of gel that you apply before the bleach so that it gives a more gradual fade. I have dark brown hair and this made it a light yellow colour with some orange tones- I used a silver shampoo to neutralise this and then went ahead and applied the Bleach White Toner over the dip dye which took all the coppery tones out. I have been getting a lot of compliments from friends and colleagues and will definitely use the Bleach range again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING NEW GRADUAL DIP DYE

Posted10 October 2013
Customer Avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this dip dye because of its claims for a more gradual dip dye... and IT WORKED!!!
They have this amazing smelling blending lotion that actually did what it said. last time i tried dip dye i had a horrible straight line, but this is so subtle its amazing!!!!
I even covered the lighter ends with a super cool colour which looked incredible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best dip dye kit

Posted21 December 2013
Customer Avatar
I have dip dyed my hair previously using L'Oreal but it has gone coppery. I came across Bleach in Boots accidentally and noticed that it was 3for2 so I bought the dip dye kit and two of the colours (awkward peach and rose). My friend dip dyed my hair for me and it came out amazing, a nice shade of blonde and no severe line between my dark blonde and light blonde hair. The process was easy and there was no strong smells that dyed usually come with. I left it in for about half an hour and shampooed twice. The hair mask included is amazing too! The next day I used the rose coloured dye to dye strands of hair which looked really good. I bought another packed of the dip dye this week because I love it so much. I don't ever write reviews but I felt I needed to give things brand justice!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic at home ombré kit

Posted04 July 2014
Customer Avatar
from Scottish Borders
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
This kit gives a lovely high lift blonde result, the blending lotion allows for a more even and gradual blend preventing such an obvious line where natural colour and bleach meet. My hair was a little dry after but I have used a couple of kits in a fairly short period of time which is more to blame than this kit, the mask provided is amazing, lasts for ages gives super soft hair and smell really expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy days

Posted06 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
So, I've never dip dyed my hair before (I didn't want to spend much doing it in a salon, & at the same time didn't want results like some of the dire dip dyes I've seen around town). Anyway, after spending time looking at reviews of different DIY kits I was convinced this one would do the trick... and it did!
I am so, so pleased with the results. The kit was so easy to use and the Reincarnation Mask made my hair feel so amazingly soft I'm buying it separately for future use.
If you're weary about your first kit like I was, I'd strongly suggest this one!
Happy dyeing! (lol)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent gradient

Posted30 May 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southampton. UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
This was my first time dip dyeing my hair and I was so nervous I would end up with a big yellow streak across the bottom half, BUT this kit was so easy to use and the blending cream helps to give an excellent gradient! It looks great and I'm really happy with the results. I have dark brown asian hair and the bleach lifted it very nicely. I bought the white toner to go along with it but I don't think that helped very much. This kit though is so worth the money :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't work for me

Posted29 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I was really excited about using this product as it had lots of good reviews, however it didn't work for me. I realise this could be down to my hair type and natural colour, but the bleach sent my hair a horrible yellowy colour, I'm naturally dark blonde. I kept it on for half the time that was recommended as I didn't want my hair to go white blonde. I wouldn't recommend this product if your hair is already light, it probably works best on dark hair. I personally won't be using this again as I've got to try and get rid of this nasty colour. Other than me not getting the colour I wanted it is a good gradual dip dye, no block colouring.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Dip Dye!!!

Posted09 October 2013
Customer Avatar
from UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've always been a little skeptical about dip dye as most of the time when you see it girls have a awful line across from dark to blonde. Anyway, I had tried a different dip dye before and it wasn't brilliant so thought i would give this ago. It looks a bit difficult when you open the box as its got a proper dying brush and mixing bowl - but!!!! this one has a blending lotion with it! Do as it says in the instructions and you will get a lovely graduated look not the dreaded line that seperates your dark hair and your blonde. Mine didn't go completely bleached as i started with very dark hair before, but it looks lovely and I've had no end of compliments about it! and for the price its great! Definitely definitely definitely give it a go!!!!!!!! Just deciding on which one of the colours i want to use now!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
33of 41voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best DIY dip dye kit

Posted23 November 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Yorkshire, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've previously ombred by hair using a normal packet of hair bleach, and admit I got a horrible line.
This is amazing at giving a gradual look.
I actually applied the bleach a little higher up every 10 or so minutes, because I wanted a very gradual and natural appearance. Despite this, I do think that if I'd applied it all at once, it would have been gradual anyway, and it was incredibly easy to apply. The only problem I had was the smell, and it actually burned my eyes, but I think this may be the case with all bleach, not just this product?
This product is also amazing at the lack of damage. Last time I bleached it, my hair felt dry and horrible, and was a haven for split ends. I don't know whether this was the dye itself, or the fact it came with a hair mask, but the damage is barely noticeable!
Overall there was LOADS of product, I have fairly thick mid-length hair (a good few inches past my shoulders), and I only used about half of it, to go up to about my chin!
I will definitely be using this again, and would recommend to anyone who doesn't want to pay salon price for the ombred look!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Creates a lovely gradual look

Posted28 May 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nottingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
This kit was perfect! It was easy to use and left me with a lovely gradual look rather than a straight line across my hair. The reincarnation mask that it comes with is also amazing, and has kept my hair from drying out and splitting. I would definitely use this product again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

Posted22 May 2014
Customer Avatar
from Henfield
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Was nervous about trying this at home, but so glad I did. My hair has been dyed over and over again for years a browny-red colour and I was worried it wouldn't work. I would recommend buying two boxes especially if you are new to it and have previously dyed hair. I did first box for 30mins and second for 20 mins a few days later and starting just a little lower. Perfect! The blending product is magic!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

Posted30 March 2014
Customer Avatar
from Edinburgh
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I have been dying my hair for years with all the good and bad results you might expect from home dying, but I have to say this is one of the BEST products I have ever used!
My hair was dyed black (I used Schwarzkopf Colour Mask, also a great product!). It was starting to fade a little to a very dark brown at the ends and I thought I was being very silly trying to dip dye my hair from this as it is commonly understood that black hair does not dye well. However, I thought I would give it a shot anyway. The lightening effect was amazing! Got me up to a mid blonde, a wee bit ginger but my hair is naturally quite reddish so I expected this.
I used one bleach and half of the developer liquid the first time and used the other half of the kit the next day (The product does not mention this AT ALL, but I knew it would be really difficult to lighten my hair so I was being cheeky). Blending lotion is great, nice even blend even from my very dark hair. Personally I found the product easy to use with the wee brush and tub included, though the gloves are HUGE! That is my only complaint and it doesn't really count. Oh, and the repair mask included is AMAZING, silky soft hair in no time, barely feels like I have bleached it at all.
Onto the white toner next so I can use some of Bleach London's funky colours! LOVE THEM! Buy this product if you want a shot at dip dying, I can not fault it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
chloeloxx
Birmingham
 
Please wait while more information about chloeloxx is loaded.
Additional information about chloeloxx could not be loaded.
Posted 16 July 2014
Hi, just wanted to ask if you have used the white toner kit yet? I've recently purchased the dip dye kit & the rose super cool colour dye, i'm thinking of buying the white toner kit to help the rose pink stand out but im not sure if it will work? thought id ask for advice if you don't mind :)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

Posted18 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm not the type of person who goes and cuts and dyes there hair crazy colours and styles frequently. For years now I've been wanting to try the ombre style but not had the confidence to do it myself or the money to get it done in a salon.
I have very dark brown hair so have been very dubious of the outcome I'd get from the wild ombre loreal kit, which I was going to risk using a very long time ago. BUT MY GOD AM I GLAD I WAITED AND CAME ACROSS THIS! It's a god send. The colour now has gone a bit coppery but next time im going to buy the silver shampoo to go along side. The application is a bit tricky but I managed it and I'm not use to hair dye at all. It really does blend aswell. Amazing product. All you dark haired babes that want some blonde in your life I insist you give this a go! Well worth the money, worry and effort!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bleach DIY Dip Dye Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't use if you have ANY red hues in your hair!

Posted12 February 2014
Customer Avatar
from Newcastle, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
I'll start with the positives:
- It didn't smell too bad
- The conditioning mask you get for afterwards is amazing
- The instructions are step by step and very clear
Now for the negatives:
I used this on my mid/dark brown, natural hair. I'd never ever dyed my hair before this. And it went bright golden orange with streaks of white/yellow.
I asked a hairdresser why this happened and she said it was the natural red tones/highlights in my hair. I've dyed over it now with a red/brown colour but when it was first done, I looked like I was wearing a bad Disney princess wig!
So, yes, I'm sure this is awesome on the right kind of hair, but it wasn't for me.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.