Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Skincare or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal-Men L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml

LOreal-Men L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml

Discover a powerful purifying complex combining Black Charcoal, a well-known purifying agent, and refreshing Menthol, for a complete cleansing action on your skin, to help protect against the appearance of spots and blackheads.
Average Customer Rating:
4.203 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
4
17 out of 20(85%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Review 1 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted08 December 2014
Customer Avatar
AntiCharcoal
Worst face wash I've ever used. Sickly smell, ineffective, disgusting texture on hands and face, and black tar-like consistency. Do you self a favor and avoid at all costs.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 2 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted18 August 2014
Customer Avatar
cmc
My son uses this while in the shower and it stains the bath black and is very difficult to remove. Also it seems to leave a white powdery film on his skin making him look very pale.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 3 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted12 January 2015
Customer Avatar
Robert997
Another L'Oreal product I wish I had not bought. Absolutely cleansing, a tiny bit of product creates a thick foamy lather. Sucks everything out of your skin, leaving your face feeling very tight and dry after use. I would have given higher stars for cleaning, but it's very unpleasant to use, does nothing pre-shave, and leaves your face needing a moisturiser afterwards. There are much better alternatives on the market.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 4 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted16 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Mario82
I bought this face wash as it was on sale. I am so glad I did it. This wash is GREAT!! When the sale is over I will still buy it at this product is worth the money! I would recomend to use a good moistuiser after use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 5 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted24 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Thom
Love it. Definately made an improvement to my acne!! Quite a thick and luxurious face wash. A+++++++++++++
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 6 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted25 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Michthewitch
Bought this for my teenage son, what a fab product, his skin is now blemish free . It really has cleared up all the teenage spots.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 7 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant product

Posted26 February 2016
Customer Avatar
Spursgazz
from Richmond
After receiving the pure power multi-action for free I can safely say it is one I intend to purchase in the future. It really is brilliant, it feels like it works straight from the first use.
It felt like it cleared the grease from my face straight away.
It has a nice smell to it as well even considering it's a charcoal wash.
You dont need a lot of the gel to use it properly but it makes you want to use more as it feels so nice.
Well done L'Oreal!
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 8 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pure Power Multi-Action Black Charcoal Wash

Posted28 February 2016
Customer Avatar
callumdjmax
from Eastfield
I was sent the Pure Power Multi-Action Black Charcoal Wash from L'Oréal Paris and I am so grateful. I love it. At first I put the product on a dry face and wasn't happy about how much I had to use to cover my full face. I read the directions of use to find that you're supposed to use on a wet face so I tried it again. The wash feels so nice on your skin because of the menthol and it immediately makes you feel clean. It easily washes off and leaves your skin clean, extremely smooth and blackhead free! 10/10 from me, thanks L'Oréal will definitely buy more!
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 9 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

wow I'm awake now but still a few blackheads.

Posted29 February 2016
Customer Avatar
3senough
from newcastle upon tyne
So I've tried L'Oréal Paris mens pure power multi-action wash for the past couple of days and nights now...first packaging looks cool...ITS black it bold it stands out, You know it's a man product cause it says it is. Haha!. But few draw backs, the menthol scent that it has can be over powering, but in this cold season we have...IT WAKES YOU UP. So kind of a catch 22. I can't really say it does much for black ends I work in factory build valves and get really thick of oils and greases I find that the wash does great for oily skin and the marks I have, but any black head I may have are still there after my couple of washes. The multi action purifier does work on three of the five things it says on the packaging it does...e.g 1. It fights marks 2. It does make your skin feel smooth and not as rough as before you wash 3. As I mentioned before it does take away your oily skin to leave it smooth but not dry which is a great thing. Spots I can't really say as I don't have any at the moument but then again it could be the wash helping them stay away. Black heads have only really stayed the same can't say it has done much for them but it may be different for other guys out there.
I would recommend L'Oréal men expert black charcoal wash for guys to have a go of, if you work a rough job engineering for example , after a tough day you can have your skin feeling smooth and clean again but for fighting spots and blackhead maybe not so much but It might work for you....so definitely have try.
I score the L'Oréal men expert 3 out of 5. I does 3 of the 5 things it says so 3 stars.
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 10 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A very surprising product indeed!

Posted29 February 2016
Customer Avatar
nikgreenwood
from Newquay
After receiving : L'Oreal Men Expert Pure Power Multi-Action Black Charcoal Wash for free from L'Oréal Paris.
Initial views are that it looks quite manly, and would not look out of place on my bathroom shelf, it is Black bold, clearly aimed at men, and would certainly jump out at you from the shelf.
Upon initial use, I was a little bit nervous of the fact that it was black, and it did seem very thick in nature. But after reading the instructions and wetting my face, and applying a small amount to the forehead, nose and chin as directed. I was pleasantly surprised to see the texture change to almost a silk like feeling and it had very good coverage over the face.
It does have quite a pleasant fragrance to it. Not to overpowering.
I would mention the menthol effect that it has on the skin and to be extra careful not to get it in the eyes - as I did, but with some clear warm water to wash it out its fine.
It does have a very nice awakening effect on the skin ( so is ideal for using first thing in the morning) , and certainly left my skin looking and feeling good even after the 1st use.
I'm so pleased that I have had the chance to try this product for free from L'Oreal and it will be certainly a product that I am going to add to my shopping list and daily routine.
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 11 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One of the most effective face scrubs I've used!

Posted01 March 2016
Customer Avatar
UKRS2016
from Cheltenham
I've always been sceptical of any face wash, as I haven't had great success with them in the past! So I was interested to see if this product would be any different once I was sent it by L'Oréal Paris to try out for free. I applied it the night it arrived in the post, ready to see how it would work. When you squeeze it out the bottle you see why it's called a Black Charcoal wash!
I'll start with what could be seen as one negative - the day after I put it on, I woke up with spots on my face - this face wash does seem to draw out the spots so that it could get rid of them: something to be wary of when you first use it. Yet I carried on using it and found a visible difference in my skin. It's not made my skin perfect, but after a few days using this it's now visibly clearer with less spots, marks and blackheads.
I'm going to continue to use this and hope that it keeps doing the same job!
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 12 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pure Power Multi-Action Black Charcoal Facewash by lOREAL MEN EXPERT

Posted29 February 2016
Customer Avatar
Devante123
from 1 Cromartie Road
I am lucky enough to have been given the opportunity to try this product by bzzagent. I tried it and the first thing I noticed was the tingling, okay I thought hope this does not tingle and more that's as much as I want to tingle in the morning but then when I washed it off, tons of dirt just literally fell off from my facial skin and with it the black heads that I had been battling for months, where did it all come from! I am a convert and will purchase this charcoal wash from now on. I love this product Loreal Men Experts you ARE!
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 13 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Squeaky clean, smooth skin with a blast of menthol freshness!

Posted03 March 2016
Customer Avatar
simonlenton
from Hanwell
The first morning I tried this in the shower, I was hit by the menthol in this face wash! Prepare yourself for the freshness that'll hit your eyes/ nose -- I wasn't expecting it as it isn't on the front label. Once I'd got over that little surprise at 6AM, I carried on showering and left this on my face to work -- you can certainly feel it doing it's thing (a nice tingly feeling in the T-Zone, which is reassuring). Once washed off you can noticeably feel the difference in your skin -- it's smoother/ tighter almost? Hard to describe, but certainly a good thing.
Not the most charcoal in this, compared to others I've used in the past, as this is more a silver-grey colour vs. the deep-black coloured versions I've used from other brands. That being said, it's much better at getting your face clean and leaves it feeling fresh afterward (mainly the menthol doing that though).
Over the first week of using it, I've certainly seen an improvement in my skin, which is usually blotchy; it makes your skin look and feel clean. One thing to note though is that if you have dry skin normally (as I do), you'll probably find that this face wash makes your skin feel tight until you put some moisturiser on -- though this is something you'd do with every face wash in my experience.
Overall, this is my new favourite face wash. Just make sure that you brace yourself for the blast of menthol, especially if you have to shower before sunrise ;)
NB: I received Pure Power Multi-Action Black Charcoal for free from L'Oréal Paris. I've not been paid for this review or instructed to say anything I wouldn't normally.
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 14 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Review of Pure Power Multi-Action Black Charcoal from L'Oréal Paris

Posted03 March 2016
Customer Avatar
stipn001
from Burgess Hill
I received the "Pure Power Multi-Action Black Charcoal" from L'Oréal Paris for free and I was not sure what to expect as the concept of charcoal in a facewash is bizarre. So when I used the facewash for the first time I was correct in thinking that it was a strange combination. The reason for this is that when you use the product it comes out as a black lotion and when you put it on your face and start rubbing it turns a light grey. Added to this was the fact that this product felt like what I can imagine a mud faskmask would feel like, however this is definetly not a negative as it is nice for the product to be different to its competitors. In addition, when you wash off the product (even if it seems to take a bit longer to wash off than regular facewashes) your skin feels extremely clean and fresh as it has menthol in it. Therefore, all in all the product is a strange experience but nonethless a very nice product that I would use again.
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 15 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Squeaky clean

Posted06 March 2016
Customer Avatar
Jamesm85
from Swindon
Wow, Pure Power this most certainly is! I have tried this face wash a few times now since being given a trial sample by L'Oreal. First of all you don't need to use much to get full coverage and work up a nice lather. Don't worry about the mention of charcoal, this isn't full of bits like something your good lady would use. Once applied to your face there is a slight tingling sensation, as if you have lost a layer of skin, in a good way, and as such leaves you feeling squeaky clean. I also haven't felt as dry afterwards as when using similar products. Nice manly looking packaging to boot. All in all very impressed and will buy again.
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 16 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pure Power Multi-Action Black Charcoal Face Wash

Posted07 March 2016
Customer Avatar
Blog84
from Birtley
I received the Pure Power Multi-Action Black Charcoal Face Wash free from L'Oreal Paris. The packaging is sleek and attractive - it's something I would pick myself off a shelf of products. For me it's a good size for my wash bag so easy to transport around. On trying the product it's a nice consistency and goes on well. The wash initially goes on black and turns white - for me this is great as you can see if you have missed any bits! I like the small - menthol. My face felt tingly and clean which I what I wanted from this face wash. It left my skin feeling quite dry and tight and I have fairly oily skin so this was a surprise. Id recommend using it less often than instructed (which is daily) if your skin is moderately oily like mine. I think it might overly dry the skin. Overall I'd buy this once my current free supply runs out!
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 17 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lovely Face Wash

Posted10 March 2016
Customer Avatar
DanielKing97
from Inverurie
After using this product for about a week it has left my face feeling very soft, however it has not got rid of many spots (that could be because i'm still young!). I have very oily skin and it does reduce to oil left on my skin but my nose is still really shiny.
I will repurchase this product again and I am delighted I have been offered to try this product for free from L'Oréal Paris. You have a new customer who will keep buying this face wash!
Product Reviewed - Pure Power Multi-Action Black Charcoal Wash
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 18 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product for sure!!!

Posted09 March 2016
Customer Avatar
nayanayan
from Birmingham
I'm someone who is generally clean - good shower and wash in morning - but as the day goes on, my skin gets really oily and the first thing I have to do is go up into the bathroom and just wash my face. Water helps shift the oily skin (mind you I'm not making out as if I just sweat - but its just slightly oily) but just like water doesn't help clean oily dishes in the kitchen completely and you need some fairy - this does the job perfectly for skin. I received this Loreal Paris charcoal wash in the post for free and have been delighted! I'm not sure if the charcoal thing is gimmicky but results have been delighted. Its a black/dark grey colour which is understandable but I literally only put a small little squijj of the cleaner on my finger, circle movements, and wham - it covers my entire face. I've tried loads of different ones in the market which run out so quick - but this'll last you ages one bottle, and your skin feels so much cleaner and better. Mind you, after you put it on, you do have to moisturise. Reason being, once you wash your face with this cleaner, my skin has that rubbery feel as you splash water over it (a bit like when i use soap as opposed to shower gel) and so cause of this rubbery feeling, a little dabble of some face moisturiser really helps. I've been using this over a week now, and honestly can say my skin feels so much more cleaner and less blemish-ier with less visible spots and black AND white heads!!!! Great job Loreal thanks - i'm definitely a convert to this!
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 19 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for me

Posted09 March 2016
Customer Avatar
MarkTheScot
from Gosport
I think that this product would be great if you don't have any skin conditions or sensitive skin issues. As I have eczema and there were no warnings I tried this product, only to suffer from bad burning pain and red blotchy skin for a day afterwards. A family member tried it and said it wasn't too uncomfortable and that their skin felt noticeably smoother, so the product does as intended, but do be careful of sensitive skin. After recieveing this product for free from L'Oreal Paris I can say it is effective but needs to be properly labeled and used.
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 20 for L'Oréal Men Expert Pure Power Black Charcoal Wash Multi-Action Purifier 150ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice menthol feeling, a bit hard to wash off

Posted09 March 2016
Customer Avatar
malvavisco
from Surbiton
The packaging of this product is quite appealing and is clearly aimed at a male audience. It looks like something that belongs in a toolbox.
The product itself is pearly black and quite thick. Not something you'd necessarily want on your face.
Instructions state that the product should be applied on a wet face and it will create a white foam. In reality I found that in needs a lot of extra water to be made into a foam and even then it's quite thick and clingy.
The menthol kicks in straight away and must admit it's quite pleasantly refreshing. However, though it says to avoid contact with the eyes, the vapours alone are enough to make your eyes water.
Washing the foam off is not an easy task. Again, the fact that it's so thick makes it quite time consuming to rinse off.
End result is a squeaky clean feeling. Really squeaky. Too squeaky for my taste, almost dry. The refreshing feeling of the menthol on the other hand is rather pleasant and stays for a while.
I would not incorporate this product into my daily routine but I'd definitely understand other people doing it. The result feels really clean and fresh but almost too clean for my taste. The use of this product takes a bit more work than what I'm willing to do for my skin care routine.
Disclosure: I was not financially compensated for this post. I received a sample for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
1 2 3 4 next>>