Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500

LOreal L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500

L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Natural Medium Brunette is the 1st reusable permanent hair colour. Mousse Absolue is reusable, ready-to-use and delivers multi-tonal flawless colour.
Average Customer Rating:
1.828 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
20
6 out of 27(22%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Review 1 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't bother

Posted02 April 2013
Customer Avatar
LJS64
from Norwich
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I saw this on display and per the current Boots slogan decided to "give it a go". Wish I hadn't bothered - in spite of following the instructions very carefully (I watched the clips and read the leaflet) and waited the required half hour. I was extremely disappointed to discover that it had not effect whatsoever, on colour, condition, grey coverage. Nothing. That's nine pounds and an hour of my life I won't get back! My advice - choose another product.
Disadvantages: difficult to control, does not cover grey, more expensive than my usual brand
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

easy on - easy off

Posted02 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Ranfje
from Colchester
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Easy to apply but absolutely no staying power. Compared to other products I have used: it loses most of it's colour after about 5 washes (a week for me); greys start to show within about the same time frame. I have used semi-permanents with more staying power.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Easy to use

Posted23 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Minimouse63
from Cornwall
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Product looks good and is easy to apply , but did not cover all my grey hair and doesn't have a very pleasant smell when applying. Prefer to stick to Nice & Easy .
Advantages: easy to use
Disadvantages: unpleasant smell
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very disappointed

Posted01 June 2013
Customer Avatar
LeaDee
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Seems most people paid £9 but I paid £11 at my nearest Boots, more than the usual products I buy, but it seemed worth trying. However, I tried it 3 times now, thinking the first time was not long enough, the second time was just roots, 3rd time today was a last attempt, but never again.
I've used Loreal hair colours for years, and was so disappointed with this one. It was darker than on the box, a LOT darker, and considering I was almost blonde before with constant highlights I thought this would bring me back to my natural colour. NOPE. Was too dark, took ages to rinse out and didn't even touch the grey. So now the grey stands out even more.
The only positive thing is the shine and the larger than normal tube of conditioner which I will keep using. The dye itself wont be used again.
Advantages: shine, large tube of conditioner
Disadvantages: too long to rinse, turns out too dark, doesn't cover grey
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

Posted10 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Olivia9518
The colour on the box looked beautiful and the product seemed very promising. There was just about enough mousse to cover my hair (I have long hair down to the middle of my back but it isn't particularly thick) but it didn't smell particularly strongly so that's a bonus.
The colour result was lovely at first - very shiny and smooth, even colour but darker than on the box.
THIS PRODUCT ONLY LASTED A WEEK. For permanent colour this is shocking! I will not ever buy this again, which is a shame because the initial result was beautiful.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

natural colour

Posted15 March 2014
Customer Avatar
kw1924
from Swansea
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Bought this after a friend had used it and suggested I try it. I found this gave me a good natural colour which I prefer, I find using other permanents the colours are too false for me. As I have very short hair I get about 5 uses out of it so good value for me, use it about once every 5/6 weeks
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT RESULTS EASY TO APPLY

Posted25 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Caterina
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I found this easy to apply,less mess and great results.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't do what it says on the Tin !!!!!!!

Posted11 May 2013
Customer Avatar
kittyn
from Tarleton
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this colour a few weeks ago, and it actually made my hair lighter and did not colour it at all. I came to the conclusion that the dispenser was faulty and I had just got the developer side on my hair. To check I was right, I took the cap off and dispensed the two sides separately into a dish and applied to my hair. Hey Presto, the colour worked, and it was actually a nice colour. I returned the dye to Boots, and bought another one. Big Mistake. Same thing happened. Good idea, but in my opinion hasn't been thought through enough. I would only buy again if they made the one aerosol into 2 separate ones so I could mix myself. I have waited for a long time for a product like this to come on the market, and I am so disappointed.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy if you want to cover grey roots

Posted05 August 2013
Customer Avatar
zolitaire
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A well presented product that is easy to use. When used to dye faded existing colour it worked well.
However, my 1 cm of new grey hair regrowth has not been covered at all. I have had to use my usual product - a 10 minute colourant worked well as usual
This product is ineffective and has been an annoying waste of my time.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is the worst hair colour I have ever tried. Don't buy it!

Posted25 April 2013
Customer Avatar
mrsclogg
from Midlands
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have dark hair with a fair amount of grey. I usually use a make which thoroughly covers all my grey roots in ten minutes. I thought this new hair colour was a great idea as I could use as much as I needed then put it away for another day. However I have used it twice. Each time I have done Exactly what the instructions said. Both times it has not made any colour change to my hair at all!! Not one bit! It was as if the bottle contained no dye! A complete waste of time and money. I intend to write to L'Oreal. Don't waste your money.
Disadvantages: doesn't colour your hair at all!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product just doesn't work

Posted29 May 2013
Customer Avatar
SparklyArchie
from London, UK
In years of trying different types of hair colour I have never come across one that failed so spectacularly as this. I can't understand how it made it through the company's assessment process and ended up on the shelves.
Disadvantages: it doesn't colour your hair – at all
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing for the price

Posted08 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Janbie
from Midlands
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
This product is easy to use in that you don't need to mess around mixing the colour and the non drip foam is good. However it doesn't smell very nice (my husband thought a tom cat had gone into the house). I bought this because I like the idea of being able to re-use it but you have no idea how much you're using when you apply it. More importantly though, it didn't actually work! I only have a few greys but still did the full application as per the instructions and although it darkened my hair slightly, you can still see the grey hairs. The worse thing though was that even though I rinsed my hair thoroughly, it felt disgusting, like I'd gone overboard with hair wax (even though I didn't put any product in my hair). I went to work the next day feeling very conscious that my hair looked like an oil slick. I have some of the colour left over but it's going in the bin. For this price I can buy two normal hair colours that actually work.
Disadvantages: hair felt waxy and greasy, didn't cover grey, can't tell how much you've used, doesn't say how long the unused product lasts
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't cover greys

Posted08 April 2013
Customer Avatar
sheila777
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used exactly as instructed and my roots are exactly the same colour (grey) as before I started. I always do my eyebrows at the same time (they are very light brown) and they too have not changed colour. I've thrown out the rest of the pack of which I've probably used less than a third, and I'll re-do it tomorrow with 'Loving Care' by Clairol instead.
Very disappointed as I thought this would be the answer to regular touch-up of my temples and parting.
Advantages: none
Disadvantages: doesn't work
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't cover grey at all

Posted04 November 2013
Customer Avatar
scorpionqueen
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been using Loreal dye for years now.. I was quite excited to see there is something available which is reusable. However I was really disappointed. My hair are mid- length and there is not enough left after first application. And despite it claiming it covers grey perfectly I was literally shocked it did not even cover one grey hair of mine(I am serious). So for me it was a sheer waste of money and extra damage to my hair as I have to do another round to do grey coverage.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont Bother

Posted24 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Isle of Wight
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Having read the only 2 reviews at time of purchasing thought i would give this a try. First of all one of the cylinders of the mousse would not work straight away (so lost a lot of the solution - contacting the suppliers at the moment). When I finally mangaged to apply - although the mousse seemed to go on ok - the results were extremely disappointing. The colour was nothing like I was expecting, and it did not touch my roots. I dont know how much i have left as there are no indication to see this. I have been colouring my hair for years and this is by far the worst colourant I have used.
Advantages: none
Disadvantages: too numerous to mention
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Only good point is ease of use but it is still a waste of time

Posted21 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Comfy1st
from stafford
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Having used Excellence for over 15 years, I was keen to get started on this. Initial expectations were boosted with how easy it was to apply. Unfortunately, having followed all instructions closely, the lovely initial colour rapidly faded over 5 days. OK, perhaps it was my fault. So I tried again a couple of weeks later. Same thing. I'm now looking like a skunk again after 5 days. Both new boxes will now be thrown in the bin, as I'm not wasting 2 hrs of my life again. Further, my hair was left rougher than with the Excellence product the first time round and this time round, it has got "crisp". So I have to spend time bringing my original condition back again. Not only has it cost me lots, it has left me with a lot less confidence in L'Oreal research and expertise.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coverage

Posted24 August 2013
Customer Avatar
paigiey
from West Midlands
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Love this, I've used pretty much every hair colour but that this covers all my greys (even though it only claims to cover 70%), plus the fact that you can reuse it saves me tonnes of money and loads of time as I don't have to colour my entire head.
Don't see why the other reviews are so bad, it's a really good product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A total waste of time and money!

Posted25 July 2013
Customer Avatar
lisajsingleton
from York
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
I can only echo what the majority of reviewers have written about this product and only wish that I'd thought to read a review before buying. This dye has made absolutely no difference to my grey hairs and left the rest feeling like I had run hair wax through it. I even tried to remove it with shampoo and it still feels coated! It's a shame because if it had lived up to its claims it would have been fantastic.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as good as the hairdressers dye

Posted01 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was suprisingly really impressed with this.
As it is reuseable my hair colour looks good for months at a fraction of the cost of the hairdressers & The conditioner makes my hair really glossy.
I will be buying again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless

Posted17 April 2013
Customer Avatar
abirees
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Really disappointed with this product. Was looking forward to a product that could be kept between applications so root touch up was easier. What I got...a product that didn't do anything! I followed all the instructions, I left it on for the required time, I showered it off and my hair was still grey! All the shine had gone and my hair was limp and grey. Bought 2 packets as I could keep them in the cupboard for future use and now I have one and a half products in the bin
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>