Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500

LOreal L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500

L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Natural Medium Brunette is the 1st reusable permanent hair colour. Mousse Absolue is reusable, ready-to-use and delivers multi-tonal flawless colour.
Average Customer Rating:
1.796 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(280 Reviews) 280
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 280 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
16
3 stars
8
2 stars
27
1 star
196
49 out of 276(18%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Review 1 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted03 September 2014
Customer Avatar
yoyogagirl
I usually don't take the time to review products, however, after my bad experience with Mousse Absolue I had to write about it.
First of all, this product does not cover grays! I thought it would be helpful to use this product for quick touch ups. It's not worth the time, effort or money.
Secondly, the dye left an off-colored, light hue on my part. Very odd and annoying.
Finally, this product left my hair feeling tacky, dull and lifeless.
I am so discouraged and disappointed with Loreal's Mousse Absolue. Next time, I will stick with what works for me and never stray again.
Lesson learned. Girls, don't bother trying this, it's not worth the disappointment, time, money, and frustration.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 2 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted06 September 2014
Customer Avatar
atyson1950
I have short red hair and usually buy light auburn and the color is perfect. I decided to try this product and I didn't think it mixed well and had a strong odor to it. My hair got very dry and had no shine at all. I was very disappointed and will go back to my regular brand Olia after this. My hairdresser even noticed how dry my hair was and the color was not even. I have been coloring my hair for 20 years and never had this problem before.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 3 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted12 September 2014
Customer Avatar
michelle58
Great idea with the "no-mix reusable" hair color. I thought it would be great for root touchups. It was twice the price of the normal hair color, but I thought it would be worth it to be able to just apply it without having to mix and to be able to save the unused portion for another application. I applied the color exactly as directed, left it on for 40 minutes, as I always do for my gray roots on top, and...... nothing. After shampooing, my roots were still gray. You couldn't even tell I had done anything. Big waste of time (and $$)! I had to wait another 3 weeks to use the regular hair color to touch up my roots again because I wasn't sure if it would damage my hair if it was done too soon. Was really hoping for an easier product to use for touch-ups that didn't involve mixing partial applications from the regular hair color box. The reusable mousse didn't do the trick.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 4 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted05 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Celeste C
I was happy at first with the uniqueness of the product. I love the fact that you could use it to cover your roots and also all over your hair. I bought the some color I have bought for 9 years which was light auburn brown. In the Preference color it was called 6 AM. I put it on my hair and used it just to cover the roots thinking it would be somewhat like the 6AM color. Well that was where I went wrong. I applied the color and found out that it was much darker then the 6AM Preference color. It was a darker deeper red color. That was ok to have a different color but it did not match the color I had in my hair. I did not see that it did not match until I was done drying my hair. I bought another package of Mousse Absolue hair color to cover the rest of my hair, so it would blend together. Again that was ok to have a change in color, but this time when I washed out the dye it continued to rinse out. I washed it with water only over and over again, but the water still did not run clear as it had with the Preference product. I put on the conditioner that comes with the Mousse Absolue product and still the water was running out of my hair and still did not run clear. I dried my hair and the next day I washed my hair and still the color continued to run out of my hair with just water only. I put shampoo on my hair to see if it would wash some of the dye out of my hair, but it did not run clear even then. I continued to condition my hair and still again even with conditioner it still did not wash out clear. I have washed my hair 4 times now and still the color is coming out of my hair. I color of my hair is not changing in color but the dye is still coming out. I am not sure what to do to get this to stop and worry if it rains it will bleed onto my clothing. I would really like to know what to do about this. I have gotten many complements on my hair and the color of my hair but worry about the color bleeding out on my clothes and how long will it take to rinse out excess dye. HELP!.... HELP! .....HELP!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 5 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted03 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Ginger K
I LOVE this product. So easy to use, so quick to get on, I can decide last minute to color my hair because it is not a big project anymore!!! Plus (and this is bad) I'm allergic to most hair color but this mousse is so light I can color my hair WITHOUT it touching my scalp. Thank goodness because Henna was my last resort. I've used this to color my hair 4 times now with no reaction because it's a super light mousse and stays exactly where I put it! Which means no mess either, it's not on my face, ears, walls, floor :) Covers ALL my grays and my natural color is really black, so gray shows up BIG. This covers them as black as night. PLEASE DON'T STOP MAKING THIS!! I'm buying multiple just in case...............
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 6 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted31 August 2014
Customer Avatar
Did not cover Gray
This is a terrible product, very disappointing. Did not cover my gray's, washed out, color not very true. Expensive for nothing.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 7 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted09 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Le Sen
I'm so sad that I used this. The color on the box is so gorgeous, a little more gold than my light brown hair was. Now I'm straight up a CHOCOLATE BRUNETTE. Not at all what I wanted. I was hoping after a few washes it would lighten up. Five washes later I'm still starting at a stranger in the mirror. Be aware, the color on the box is not the true color. It's actually 3-4 shades darker.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 8 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted31 August 2014
Customer Avatar
Teresa Adkins
Love, Love, Love this product! My hair is very short (Pixie cut) and I had been paying $65.00 to get my hair colored, so I decided to do it myself and save the money. I was a little reluctant at first, because of the price, but I must say, it's worth every penny!!! I will get three applications out of it. That averages to be less than $5.00 each time I color my hair. Easy application, not messy at all, don't drip or run, and my hair feels amazing. I've got lots of compliments on my hair! I have found my color!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 9 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted12 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Shellmax
I am thrilled by the results with this product! My color result was exactly as shown on the box. My hair has great shine and no dryness. I found the application process easy and the coverage with mouse is so complete, even on those pesky white and grays. I have long hair and 2 boxes were necessary for coverage. The guidelines on the package helped me anticipate this. The only disappointment was the strong chemical smell to the formula. Luckily the after use conditioner in the kit has a very pleasant smell that leaves your hair smelling fresh. With this formula root touch ups are going to be much easier than before. Looking forward to using this product from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 10 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted27 August 2014
Customer Avatar
d1977
This product is terrible. IT doesn't mix you can't tell if the color is coming out in your hair and it burns your scalp terrible. I got scared and rinsed it off after ten minutes no color applied. After talking at work I wasn't the only one it happened to! Don't buy
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 11 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted15 September 2014
Customer Avatar
JanetSNC
Shame on me for not believing the other reviews I read, thinking that I would be any different. This haircolor is expensive and I had high hopes, but I feel I wasted my money and wish I could get it back. The application was easy enough, the mousse distributes easily, but my color turned out weird and it didn't cover my greys at all, and I only have a few of them. The smell is pretty terrible as well. I'd made sure the cap snapped on both sides, shook it for probably a good thirty seconds, and never over tilted. I never felt the product fully washed out and my hair is basically a greasy blob now. I've always heard its best to process hair that's a few days out from its last washing, so that the natural oils protect it; could that have been my mistake?
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 12 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted14 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Shelly144
I wished I looked on this site and read these reviews before I tried it. SO disappointed!!! It did not cover the grays at all complete waste of time and money as I have to re-do it. Also my scalp was still tingling/itchy even after I rinsed it out. I don't understand how this product is still on the market it's horrible!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 13 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted26 August 2014
Customer Avatar
jb2014
I was not happy with this new product at all.... I finally decided to try it and it did not cover my gray roots at all... I followed the instructions precisely to no avail.... I have never EVER had this problem with any color products before!!!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 14 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted02 September 2014
Customer Avatar
LilMorongo
I would not use this again. First application, my hair felt gooey until a second hair wash. The color was beautiful though. Second application, strong ammonia smell felt like it burned my nostrils. Doesn't cover much. I will go back to using their regular Superior coverage. I normally like all LOreal products so I tried this. Would not recommend. Maybe better on shorter hair. Mine is shoulder length.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 15 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted14 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Still Grey
I WANT A REFUND!!!! I was very disappointed in this product. I bought it in the hopes it would be easier for me cover my roots. Boy was I wrong!!!! It was easy to use but did nothing for my roots. My roots are still as grey as they were before I applied the mousse and waited my 30 minutes. I have always used the Root Touch Up product and think I will stick with that.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 16 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted28 August 2014
Customer Avatar
Lauren I
I just recently started getting gray hair and I have never used any other product to dye my gray hairs. I was looking through all the products at the store and this one seemed like it was going to be exactly what I was looking for. On the front of the box it says it covers gray hairs beautifully and it was in a reusable bottle which I thought was very convenient. Also the price for this one was a little more than all the others. So I thought for sure it was going to leave me with beautiful brown hair (not gray). After I did everything correctly according to the directions it left my hair exactly the same. It did not color my gray hairs at all. I'm very disappointed and it was a complete waste of time.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 17 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted19 August 2014
Customer Avatar
katdeskin
Horrible. Doesn't cover the gray at all and very expensive. I like the concept; how it is dispensed but other than that a big waste of money
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 18 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted30 August 2014
Customer Avatar
Angie in VA
Very disappointed in this hair color. Did not cover my gray or my existing color and I followed the instructions. Truth is it did nothing at all, my hair looks exactly the same as it did before I put it on. What a waste of time and money!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 19 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted15 September 2014
Customer Avatar
debbie1422
Not pleased at all. Did not cover any gray after leaving it on 30+ minutes. Will not use it again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 20 for L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Permanent Hair Colour Natural Medium Brunette 500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted03 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Sally
I have used John Frieda hair coloring for years. I saw this new product and tried it. BIG MISTAKE. The ammonia odor is overwhelming to the point that it stings my eyes and nose. I will never buy this product again. Very poor quality.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>