Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

LOreal L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette

L'Oreal Preference Mousse Absolue Natural Medium Brunette is the 1st reusable permanent hair colour. Mousse Absolue is reusable, ready-to-use and delivers multi-tonal flawless colour.
Average Customer Rating:
1.819 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(452 Reviews) 452
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 452 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
22
3 stars
12
2 stars
48
1 star
312
78 out of 442(18%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Review 1 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted05 July 2013
Customer Avatar
jackie15
after all the advertising i wanted to try this, did what it said on the pack, and i was not happy at all, my roots were still showing and the colour was patchy, my friends have also experienced the same. i would like my money back.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 2 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted04 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Jbt81
Sadly not impressed with this product. I purchased Absolute mousse shade 500 to cover my roots, specifically the grey hairs around my hairline and temples. I first tried the mousse before Christmas but was left with as much grey hair as before. I have tried the mousse again today in case I had done something wrong the first time, but grey hairs are still clearly visible. Will not buy again and would like my money refunded as product does not meet its description.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 3 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted24 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Misty Lady
Mousse Absolue. I used this to try to cover a few stray grey hairs on my temple area. It sounded really exciting from the adverts and should have been simple, BUT I was really dissapointed. I tried this TWICE to rule out user error but still NO COVERAGE AT ALL. Don't waste your money. I have told my friends not to bother using this.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 4 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted04 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Fafsmam
Very easy to use but I wanted it to cover grey hairs. I just wanted to use in between hairdressers appointment to cover my parting. Mine are actually silver and I know are hard to cover so I left the product on for 30 mins. When I washed it off it had made no difference at all! it would be brilliant if it worked.:0((
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 5 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted22 May 2013
Customer Avatar
mamme
it looks nice,but it dasnt work, didnt colour my hair just made it darker a bit, like black or somethig, should be brown.and it wash of after 2 days and my gray hair was out again!lovley!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 6 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted05 May 2013
Customer Avatar
CAS100
End result was not as good as expected. Product doesn't cover greys very well. It's difficult to know how much product to use and also how much is left in the container.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 7 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted16 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Angry grey woman
Absolute rubbish! does not work, followed instructions in pack ,still grey, do NOT but this product, it is a waste of time and money and does not do as it promised
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 8 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted15 August 2013
Customer Avatar
Maizemac
Sitting here 45 min later with hair as grey as before i started. Is there a design fault? Did the coulour mix at all in the can? I'm bringing this back and asking for a refund. Doesn't do what it says on the tin.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 9 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted14 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Sammac72
This is the third time that I am using this and trying to give it the benefit of the doubt but this will be the last time! The first time my grey hardly covered but I thought it was me and my hair felt like I'd not washed it out properly! The second was a bit better coverage but again greasy so this time I thought that it must be the conditioner so I didn't use the one supplied and same again! Greasy gross hair to go to bed with! Going out tomorrow night so it better was out tomorrow or I'll be very angry indeed!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 10 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted13 August 2014
Customer Avatar
lliyya
terrible results. no coverage of grey hairs, makes no difference what so ever. for the price that i paid i am deeply outraged that i saw no results from this product due to the high standard that Loreal live up to.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 11 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted06 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Carlotta
The idea of a re-usable colour is wonderful, the packet is stylish and the mousse easy to use...pity that it doesn’t work. I’ve tried it twice, following the instructions very carefully, but it didn’t cover my grey hair at all in spite of what is written on the packet ‘perfect grey coverage’. It is a big let down from L’Oreal which I have been using for over 15 years. Waste of time and money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 12 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted25 January 2015
Customer Avatar
Angela77
Don't waste your money on this product ! I used this on my roots exactly as instructed with no colour result at all. Very disappointed as I use a lot of loreal products.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 13 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted21 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Cwoody
Mousse absolute didn't work at all. Don't no what I did wrong but it didn't dye my hair at all. Still had grey roots . Tried again the next day ,just the same
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 14 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted10 February 2014
Customer Avatar
KK001
As with the other reviews this product did not work! Greys still there, and I have tried it twice. Very disappointing.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 15 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted22 October 2014
Customer Avatar
Summer400
I used L'oréal Mousse Absolue, shade 500 on my never dyed before medium brown hair. I had some grey hairs I wanted to cover at the front of my hairline, so I only used the product on this area. I was worried in case the colour would not match my natural hair colour, but I needn't have been. The colour seemed to blend in with my natural hair colour, and the blond in my hair still shines through. I will be using this again to cover any grey hair! The joy of this product is that it can be stored until next time I need it - a massive pluspoint! All I would say is that you may need to apply more than once to cover all greys - it took me about 3 applications. Love this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 16 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted27 July 2015
Customer Avatar
Northernmissie
Very excited by this to try this product, more than I would normally pay for of the shelf colour. However due to multi use I thought this would be a great touch up product in between colours. I have short hair and ended up applying it twice in one evening to try and get grey coverage. Still failed. Waste of time and money. Would not purchase again.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 17 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted17 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Shocking product, I have always used professional salon hair dyes, however, I was attracted to the 2 applications in one because of how quickly my hair grows and my roots show. So I thought I would try this, very very dissatisfied did not cover my grey hair at all. Followed the instructions to the letter, left my hair feeling very greasy afterwards even though I spent a considerable amount of time in the shower rising it out! Total waste of money, I DO NOT recommend this product and will not be using again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 18 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted15 June 2014
Customer Avatar
misshickey
colored just like expected on my non-gray hair. about 30% coverage on grays. i've only tried to color my grays 4 times, and no product to date has been able to penetrate at all. so i guess this product is not so bad. good shine. not too stinky. not sure though i would buy it again as i am on the hunt for something to cover gray.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 19 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted16 June 2014
Customer Avatar
Annoyed
Wasted 30 minutes with the foam on my hair for no colour change at all. Clearly the dye part had not been pumped out as there was no colour washed out when I rinsed my hair. What about compensation for a product that obviously doesn't work?
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 20 for L'Oréal Mousse Absolue 500 Medium Brunette
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted05 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol54
Like the other reviews this product didn't cover my grey hair at all. The foam stayed white so not sure how it would colour the hair. Very disappointing and would not advise buying this product if you require covering grey hair.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>