Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde

Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde

Garnier Olia 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde is part of the first oil-powered home hair colour range, containing a technology breakthrough that conditions and boosts the colouring process.
Average Customer Rating:
3.238 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
7
11 out of 20(55%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Review 1 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best hair colour yet!

Posted26 September 2012
Customer Avatar
beaute230
from kent
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i saw this was new in the garnier hair colour range and thought i'd give it a try....im so glad i did :D i had school photos the next day and i had to cover up some failed purple dip dye i did. it covered it completely and left my hair so soft! it has loads of natural oils in it and no ammonia so its the best dye for your hair. the colour comes out exactly as described and didnt leave me ginger like most dyes, it didnt irritate my hair either which is a bonus...best day ive tried yet!
Advantages: great colour, easy application, leaves hair feeling healthy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
29of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best hair dye ever!!!!

Posted08 October 2012
Customer Avatar
PixiDixi
from UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was using professional hair dye for the past 8 years but after I saw an advert of Garnier Olia I thought I am gonna give it a try - glad I did!!! This is the best hair dye ever.It left my hair in lovely condition, I was suprised I could comb fingers trough my hair as the professional hair dye I was using was really drying it out but not Garnier Olia. I love the smell too - nice and floral.The color came out very nice and natural.
Thank you Garnier.
Advantages: lovely smell, easy to apply, great hair color
Disadvantages: none!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Home Hair Colour!

Posted30 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Somerset, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have recently been using home hair colours as a trip to the hair dressers was just costing too much money.
I have used other hair dyes in the past and all of them have resulted in a slightly 'ginger' tinge!!
I saw this advertised on the television, and decided that I would give it a go, slightly concerned that this one would also give my hair an orange tinge. I did my roots first, and initially thought that the dye had actually turned my hair darker, but still followed the instructions and finished off covering the remainder of my hair.
I was pleasantly surprised when I checked my hair, and the colour is fantastic, I was so pleased and not a hint of ginger!!
I will be buying this again, as the colour is perfect and left my hair feeling soft and better conditioned compared to other dyes...brilliant
Advantages: doesn't turn your hair orange like other hair dyes
Disadvantages: none!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NHorton
London
 
Please wait while more information about NHorton is loaded.
Additional information about NHorton could not be loaded.
Colour 9.0 First Ever home dye job!100% Satisfied
Posted 02 August 2013
This is the first time I have EVER done a home job dye. I usually get foils at the hairdressers every 3 months which costs me a fortune. But now I am over paying so much money. I was VERY nervous about buying a packet dye and doing it myself as I have heard some horror stories, especially with blonde hair. But after a lot of research I caved and bought the Garnier Olia 9.0 Light Blonde. I left it on for 30 minutes, followed the instructions, washed it out and I am so pleased! If only I new it could of been this simple years ago!! My hair feels soft, shiny and the colour has blended very naturally. I have mousy brown roots with light blonde ends, and the colour has blended everything perfectly. I am very happy with the result and am so happy to know that I can colour my hair for so cheap!! I cannot wait to do it all again, perhaps another colour next time!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LILAC, yes LILAC!

Posted17 November 2012
Customer Avatar
hillyozz
from Nottingham
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have been using shade '10' in various brands of hair colour for years on my near white hair to give it blonde tones. However, Olia 10.00 Very Light Blonde, has made my hair LILAC! I am devastated. How can something that is made to give your hair blond tones be LILAC! I have now purchase something to take the colour out and another colour to bring my hair back to the blonde shade I was expecting. Do so hope it works as I am very nervous about using these products so soon after colouring! So, another £20 on top of the payment for the OLIA. Boots and L'Oreal/Garnier, you can't lose........but I have.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointing

Posted01 November 2012
Customer Avatar
thecomedienne
from Manchester, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I decided to use this to dye my already very light blonde hair. Subsequently, this turned bright blue! Nowhere on the instructions did it suggest this may happen and I still don't know why it did. I have now had to buy a hair colour remover and another hair dye which is another expense I can't really afford. Very disappointed by this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

blue rinse!!!

Posted14 November 2012
Customer Avatar
chennells000
from Wakefield
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very light blonde! Not on my hair! Application, texture and that fact it didn't irritate my scalp was a bonus. I have used a well known home hair dye for years but always end up with an itchy scalp. I saw this hair dye and as it was a similar shade as my usual one i thought i would try it. The end result was horrible! Very blue/ashy., verging on the grey side! Not at all what i was expecting! I had to use a clarifying shampoo and a lot of conditioner for about a week to remove some of the colour!
Advantages: didn't irritate my scalp
Disadvantages: awful colour
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible colour, dye barely covered my hair

Posted01 December 2012
Customer Avatar
spanter7
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The colour came out a light bright brassy yellow, it was nothing like pictured on the box. and secondly it barely only covered my scalp. I have shoulder length hair and needed two boxes. I would recommend getting at least 3 for longer hair.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Brassy and uneven

Posted12 December 2012
Customer Avatar
scowper
from UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
after some early positive reviews i thought i'd give this a go instead of touching up my roots with my normal colourant. however, it barely touched my roots, leaving them a very brassy yellow-tinged blonde. on the hair that had been dyed before, it removed a lot of colour, leaving my hair looking greyish, and even a bit lilac as some other reviewers have described. i have since re-dyed with the colourant i was using beforehand and it covered everything fine, i don't know why i bothered changing. my natural hair colour is dark blonde so it shouldn't have been too much for it to cover the roots. i certainly wouldn't recommend to anyone who already has a colour on their hair already. i would say that it did leave my hair very glossy and the conditioner that came with it was lovely, and the dye smelt nice, but the end result was not up to scratch.
Advantages: nice fragrance, good conditioner, easy to mix
Disadvantages: horrible colour, does not cover roots, does not blend in to existing dye, strips too much colour from hair, leaves uneven tones
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT EVEN SLIGHTLY DIFFERNT

Posted01 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Numonster
from Aberdeen, UK
Age:18-24
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used this product on undyed, very light brown-dark blonde hair. I used it perfectly, even left it on a bit longer because it looked no different. Afterward there was no change at all, not even slightly lighter.
I cannot complain about the horrid smell because I was expecting it due to the peroxide in it despite the promise of flowery goodness. I can complain about the price as it is expensive and failed to do anything.
This product does not work, I have only hear complaints for friends that have used it.
Disadvantages: doesn't work, expensive, smells bad
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best home dye ever!

Posted01 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Birros
from Nottingham UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have naturally dark blonde hair and have used pretty much every brand of hair dye in light blonde shades. This has left my hair in pretty bad condition, however after using this product my hair is lovely and soft. The colour was great, not at all blue or brassy as others have found. I was going to get my hair done professionally but didn't manage to get an appointment before new years eve so bought this as a last resort, however I will continue to use this rather than go to a salon as i don't think a professional could have done any better!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Colour

Posted15 June 2013
Customer Avatar
pinkdoll
from UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
After reading previous reviews I decided to give this a go. I've always used L'Oreal Preference lightest ash blonde and never found another dye that comes close. But this one is great.
The smell is a bit garlicky but it's better than the usual ammonia smell. Coverage was pretty good aswell.
When I washed it off (after about 40mins) my hair felt a lot better than after I've used other dyes. Didn't feel dry or straw like at all. The conditioner is average, but does the trick.
Final colour was a lovely silver blonde, exactly what I wanted. Will definitely use this again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gently on hair, lovely smell, great pure blonde

Posted14 July 2013
Customer Avatar
rutarackyte
from monaghan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
I loving this new garnier range, it came out out so beautiful and natural looking colour, i done only root touch up, i have semi highlighted hair, my natural colour is light ash blonde. i read reviews that girls complaining about purple,lilac silver shade, but for my experience it left pure cold yellowish colour without any purple shade.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

Posted06 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Monica80
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I can highly recommend. Colour as described. Leaves hair shiny and soft.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Colour 9.0 First Ever home dye job!100% Satisfied

Posted02 August 2013
Customer Avatar
NHorton
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is the first time I have ever dyed my hair from home, so I was very nervous and skeptical. I have been getting my hair lightened at the hairdresser for over 10 years now and have always been too scared to do a "packet job" as I have heard horror stories, particularly with blonde hair! So after alot of research on the best dyes out there, I decided to try the Garnier Olia 9.0 Light Blonde. The application was very simple, my hair is quite long and was impressed with how much dye was in the bottle. I followed the procedure, kept it in for half an hour, washed it out and was very surprised at how great it looked. I have darker roots as my natural colour is a light brown, but have very light highlights all throughout my hair. Everything blended perfectly, and it actually looked better than when I go to the hairdresser! IF ONLY I knew about this years ago! I am so happy there is something reliable like this on the market. I have spent years travelling through asia and they don't even know how to colour blonde hair, so this is perfect to take with me! I am so relieved and satisified with this product. I know every hair is different, but I wanted to give good feedback where it is deserved!! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Huge dissappointment!

Posted22 August 2013
Customer Avatar
aindylind
from Dundee
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I usually use Garnier Nutrisse ice blonde so when I saw this new product on a tv advert promising brilliant shine and great colour without ammonia I thoght it was worth a try - BIG mistake!
I followed the instructions faithfully but at the end of it all I was left with roots which, although a bit lighter were still clearly noticeable. Worse still the colour of the ends was darker than it started. Not only that there was a definite hint of blue! I've washed my hair several times since and the blueness has decreased a bit but my hair's now a dirty blonde colour a million miles away from the beautiful baby blonde of the model in the advert. And the promised shine was not there! The Nutrisse definitely gives a better shine. I'm now in the position where I need to redye my hair with an ammonia based dye - exposing my hair to the risk of further damage. And who knows what'll happen to the blue colour. I home dye to save money on the hairdressers but having had to buy 2 lots of dye it's not been that great a saving!
The only plus I can find was the fact that it doesn't have the nose stinging smell other dyes can have - though it doesn't have the promised lovely smell of flowers - it doesn't really smell of anything.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect colour

Posted31 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Fran271
from Harold Wood, Essex
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
This hair colour turns out exactly as it should and matches the colour on the front of the box, would definitly use again.
The only thing I would say is that I used this hair colour last night (30/01/14) and today (31/01/14) my hair looks ever so slightly greasy. Tip: if colouring your hair for a special occaision colour it on the day and not the day before.
Al in all, the colour turned out as it should and there was more of the product then I thought :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good - surprised !

Posted15 February 2014
Customer Avatar
starblondie
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mt hair isn't that dark, but has strong red undertones and at the moment I colour it blonde. I usually have to bleach it and then tone it, box blonde dyes don't usually lift if at all - well they might lift it to a bright orange. Thought I would try this on the basis it would be much better than bleach for my hair if it worked! Didn't expect it to though.....was amazed that it has lifted it to an almost white blonde, little bit of a yellow tinge in some places, but as good if not better than what the bleach lifts it too and obviously my hair feels much less ravaged. From experience I can say the product is much runnier than other box dyes, which are normally more like a cream - so can be a bit messier to apply than others and drip. Also I found it much harder to wash out - my hair felt really coated in oil and has that slight stiffness/coating feel now it's dry so obviously didn't get it all out. I see lots of reviewers found this turned their hair blue. I guess that means it's a really good ash shade for those of us that have a lot of red tones and hence why it has lifted my hair so well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good

Posted21 September 2013
Customer Avatar
Beata8
from london
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
In my opinion it is very good product. But I would advice to leave it longer on hair about 50minutes not 30. And also f.ex. I used 2 boxes mixed 10 very light blond and 8.13 sandy blond. I have shoulder lenght light brown hair and 1 box would be not enough. The colour come natural blond with a bit of nice ginger. But this if you want you can correct with tone-correcting shampoo. Smell lovely and my hair are in great condition. Looks nice and natural but if you want bleach blond barbie look this product is not for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't lighten

Posted05 October 2013
Customer Avatar
linsyann
from Nottingham
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
My hair is quite porous and tends to grab colour easily, and similarly needs a decent amount of bleach to lift it. My natural colour is a very light brown/dark blonde but then I tend to put a strawberry blonde colour to give it some warmth. It had gone a bit too "red" so I decided to go back to a brighter blonde and use this colour in 10.0 Very Light Blonde. I left it on for a good 45 minutes as I could see it wasn't lightening much. Washed off, conditioned etc.
It only lightened my hair by perhaps 1 shade, but what it did was tone down the redness in my hair. So I would imagine, as other reviewers have said, that if you already have darkish blonde hair with no warm tones in, it could give that lilac/blueish tinge to it, so I would take care! However, if you are looking to tone down redness in strawberry blonde hair, this could be perfect!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 10.1 Very Light Ash Blonde
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect!

Posted28 June 2014
Customer Avatar
cutecub79
I love this hair dye.
It gives an excellent natural look. Easy to use and not overly powerful smell.
I left it on for 40 minutes and washed off as instructed. Conditioner it comes with is nice. Leaves hair looking very natural and in good condition.
The only bad point is it doesn't seem to last as long as other hair dyes. I have to touch up my roots every 3-4 weeks where as it might be 6-7 with other products. It's worth it though for the natural results.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>