Boots Ratings and Reviews
Gok
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red

Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red

Garnier Olia 6.60 Intense Red is part of the first oil-powered home hair colour range, containing a technology breakthrough that conditions and boosts the colouring process.
Average Customer Rating:
2.625 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
20
21 out of 47(45%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Review 1 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!

Posted27 September 2012
Customer Avatar
paulajoxxx
I thought i would give Garnier Olia in Intense Red a try after changing from platinum blonde to red and none of the dyes i tried looking nice, they always looked wishy washy to which everyone commented "its because your hair is so porous you need to cut it". Well cutting it wasnt an option as i have short hair as it is so after nearly giving up snd going brown i saw this and thought i would give it one more shot. Well all i can say is WOW the colour is stunning it looks like i have had it done at a hairdressers so shiny too. I highly recommend this, i for one will not be using anything else EVER xxxx
I would recommend this to a friend!
+65points
69of 73voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Olia

Posted18 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Emben
When I first saw this hair dye advertised I was really excited, finally a decent hair dye!! How wrong was i!! My hair is just below my chin and I needed two packs as there isn't enough in the bottle, when it was put on my hair felt awful, after washing off, I couldn't get my hair brush thru my hair as it was matted, when I finally dried it, it felt awful. And the colour is not anything like the box, I was expecting it to be a lovely vibrant red! How wrong was I. Very disappointed
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dizydodle
nottingham
 
Please wait while more information about dizydodle is loaded.
Additional information about dizydodle could not be loaded.
mrs
Posted 09 June 2013
hi tried very light blond did allergy test but no indication of what hair colour would look like, sad to say my hair went from blond to pewter grey, which would have been alright if that was the colour I wanted to go !but it was not!.so sad to say it will have to grow out be for I re-dye, but I will be using another brand . so sad to say unless you WANT TO GO PEWTER GREY I would not recomend
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Oh dear!

Posted21 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Cwick
from Birmingham
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Oh dear, I had a chin length curly bob and I have very thin hair, I needed two bottles of dye! When it came to using the conditioner I could tell it was poor quality, when it came to brushing my hair this was actually impossible and my partner had to razor the ends of my hair. When we looked at the cut areas my hair was actually 'glued' together. This was on previously undyed hair, and I have never used anything like henna, chemicals for a perm etc.
I was dying natural red hair, when I dried my hair not only was it significantly shorter due to having to cut it, but it was purple, not a hint or purple, but pure purple. All the tubes had the correct numbers on in the box and I did a skin test 48 hours before, but obviously that doesn't reveal that colour you will actually get.
Due to how much this dye has destroyed my hair I have had to have a pixie cut (which looks hideous) and I have to keep this vile purple colour until my hair is healthy enough to take a professional dye.
Disadvantages: destroys your hair
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
suzyqb2
manchester
 
Please wait while more information about suzyqb2 is loaded.
Additional information about suzyqb2 could not be loaded.
Posted 04 April 2013
its ruined my hair completely I've a good mind to write to them.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL!!

Posted24 October 2012
Customer Avatar
smirving
from WIRRAL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Picked this up because the colour looked gorgeous on the adverts but I had trouble from the beginning. When shaking the bottle to mix the product, the snap-cap came off, making dye fly all over my carpet and bedsheets! GRRR!! When applying the dye, the applicator bottle kept slipping out of my hand and isn't very comfortable to hold. The dye made my hair feel very matted and difficult to rub in and during the 30min waiting time, turned oily looking and felt as though it was slowly pouring down my head. AFTER- The colour hasn't taken very well, is very patchy in parts and doesnt feel at all conditioned. Have used Garnier products before but never will again. Very disappointed and will be sticking with Schwarzkopf Live from now on.
Advantages: doesnt smell
Disadvantages: everything!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

APPAULING PRODUCT

Posted28 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Sops19
Age:18-24
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this dye today, thought it would be the lovely colour on the box the very light blonde how wrong was I, I left it for around 20mins I looked in the mirror It looked brown, washed it and dryed it and my hair is grey I mean like grey grey it's awful, sooo upset and dissappointed in this product and would never ever ever ever use this again !!!!!!
Disadvantages: everything
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad

Posted29 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bournemouth, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was expecting this to be a lot better than it actually was, but I don't think the other reviews do it justice,
Yes, my hair initially felt quite dry after but I woke up the next day and brushed it and it felt the softest it's ever been, and looked quite healthy.
The application was easy, and there definitely was enough to cover all my hair (it's quite think and reaches quite a bit below my shoulders). The dye was really easy and quick to wash out in the shower, too, which made a nice change.
However, my hair isn't as intense as the colour on the box, and it is this which would make me not recommend the product. It is nowhere near as intense as it should be and instead is just a dark, boring red. It's not a horrible colour - just not the one I was expecting.
Advantages: hair feels softer after a couple of days, easy application, smell doesn't choke you to death, easy to wash out the dye
Disadvantages: initially hair feels dry, not as intense as you would think
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best red ive ever used!!

Posted30 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie44
This dye is best used on blonde/dark blonde/light brown hair if you want to get the intense red colour. Some reviews have slated this but it's one of the best reds I've used. The mixture is thick but I have shoulder length hair and one pack was just enough. Your better off getting someone to help you apply it in order to get full coverage an avoid patches. I left it on for 40 mins and my hair is now the colour on the box!! There's no nasty smell, it's easy to remove off the skin, and once conditioned my hair was super shiny. Very Happy :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A Mix of Colour

Posted30 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Wales, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have natural blonde hair, which means my roots show very prominently against my dyed brown hair.
I learnt that this dye helps maintain healthy hair and seeing as my hair had been damaged previously, it comforted me to know that I'd be getting a vibrant red with little damage.
The dye itself is a little darker than on the box on my very blonde roots and the rest of my hair has only a hint of red. Without daylight and sun, the rest of my hair looks black. The idea of having different colours on my hair doesn't bother me too much, but it'd annoy some.
This company needs to show a realistic colour of the hair on the box and perhaps include what'd happen to dyed hair.
Advantages: vibrant on natural blonde roots, beautiful floral fragrance, doesn't damage hair
Disadvantages: false claims on the vibrancy of red, darkens dyed hair but leaves a tint
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not that wonderful

Posted04 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Gemzyh
from Ayrshire,Scotland
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this dye on dark brown hair and even though I thought it would be pointless I was surprised when it gave my hair a very intense re tint. It is the same colour as the picture on the box (I think the picture is a bit to unrealistic) When sunlight hits my hair the red shines through and the colour is very noticeable.
Wouldn't recommend if you want Rihanna red but the dye is good on dark hair for a red tint or a subtle red.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it!

Posted04 November 2012
Customer Avatar
acarnis
Was a bit worried reading the reviews after buying this (intense red) but I had no problems with it at all. I have long hair a few inches past my armpits, one box was enough but my hair is quite fine. I did find it a little hard to massage in because it's quite thick, but there was enough mixture. I wouldn't exactly call it non drip but the applicator bottle was easy to use and the mixture washes off of skin very easily. I did the reapplication and probably left it on longer than I should, about 40-50 mins (oops. It washed off pretty easily and the conditioner is nice. The colour looked very dark at first which I expected as reds are usually very dark at first, but after drying it and seeing it in different lights I am really loving the colour!! Very nice shade and lovely and shiny :). I have dark drown hair that was very slightly highlighted and previously dyed a similar red shade. You can see the different tones showing through already. I hope it lasts ok, if so ill definitely use again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointing

Posted05 November 2012
Customer Avatar
HappyG54
from Leiester
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I found this product difficult to apply due to the design of the application bottle which contains too much air and is difficult to hold. The end result is very poor, barely covering the grey and seems to be very patchy. Hair is very dull. The onlly plus is that it smells nice! As I had not tried it before I kept to the instructions religiously. I will not be using it again.
Advantages: none that i can see
Disadvantages: poor result which says it all really!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
suzyqb2
manchester
 
Please wait while more information about suzyqb2 is loaded.
Additional information about suzyqb2 could not be loaded.
Posted 04 April 2013
My hair too feels like straw worst hair colour ive ever used. shocking stuff. The bottle is awfull to hold.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Coverage. Amazing colour!

Posted05 November 2012
Customer Avatar
MarieMumofTwoGirls
from Dorset
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used this product yesterday. Fantastic colour and definitely an INTENSE red. I have dark brown hair and the red took really well to my dark locks. A few patches, but I imagine that's down to me as I did it myself with no help. Always worth getting someone to give you a hand when colouring at home. Overall very pleased with this hair colour.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Red

Posted06 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Jules1784
from Fife
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought Olia Intense Red 6.60 sceptically after reading reviews from other users but i am delighted with the product. I have used other Red hair dyes which are similar to this product but they did not bring out as intense a colour as Olia. I have been dying my hair red for many years and have quite thick, dark hair which is long and down to my shoulder blades. Other reviews have stated that 1 pack of the dye will not be enough for hair past the shoulders, i bought 2 packs just incase but had more than enough to cover all of my hair with 1 bottle. The colour is vibrant not quite as bright as on the box but much brighter than similar products. Overall this dye was easy to apply, smelled fruity and washed off with ease. My hair feels in great condition and is super soft and shiny after use. I will definitely be using this product again which is a bonus as i have a spare bottle!
Advantages: smells great, vibrant colour, hair is soft & shiny
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

better than average

Posted19 November 2012
Customer Avatar
sarahbb
from Somerset
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use hair dye every 4-6 weeks to cover my grey, so I was excited to try a product which doesn't contain ammonia. The product comes with really good instructions and is fairly easy to apply.
It didn't have the same feel and smell as normal hair dyes and it had a slightly strange consistency when you rub it in, which i'm guessing is the oils. After rinsing and conditioning my hair didn't feel as shiny as it normally does after colouring, and even looked a little dull. I think this was some oil residue. However after the first wash I would say my hair is slightly softer and shinier than normal, but not hugely different. The colour is not as intense red as the box shows, and is also a little patchy however this may be down to how i applied it so will try it again in another 4-6 weeks to see if I can get a better result. Overall I think better than average as it doesn't contain ammonia and is gentler on my hair than a normal hair dye, but colour and application not as good as other dyes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like any other dye - I have no complaints?

Posted29 November 2012
Customer Avatar
MissA2
from Birmingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After reading the reviews I was hesitant about using this on my mums hair (who dyes her hair to cover the greys) and very nearly didnt try it but I had no problems at all and didnt see what the problems were. Process was easy enough - not sure about the non-drip formula because compared to all other hair dyes used this has got to be the thinnest and most runny so can imagine this going all over the show if you used it on yourself. No ammonia = no gagging or sore eyes - big thumbs up. The colour was a real intense red like it says bt nothing at all like the one on the box, nowhere near as dark (and this was used on black hair). Only problem for me was that your hair still runs colour after a few times shampooing it (was running colour after showering on day 2+3) and I have noticed this with all Garnier colourants. and eventually the colour fades - so after a few weeks the colour is not as intense and requires reappplication.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

still coming out

Posted30 November 2012
Customer Avatar
emmilee90
from darwen, lancashire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i saw the advert and bought this product because it said it was nourishing. surprisingly it left my hair really dry and dull. it's now around 5 or 6 weeks since i used it, i wash my hair at least 3 times a week with shampoo and conditioner for coloured hair, and it is STILL coming out when i wash it!!! and its still dull compared to other reds i have used, and i've used quite a few.
Advantages: smells nice, cool applicator bottle
Disadvantages: still coming out when i wash hair 6 weeks later, left hair dull and dry, greasy application
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Intense Red

Posted08 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Sheffield
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like this dye, it's smell isn't overpowering, it doesn't hurt the skin on your scalp and it is a lovely, bright colour.
It is however a lot brighter than it looks on the box, this suited me fine but just be aware if you are going to try it.
I have at least 40% grey hair and it covered it really well.
I note others have said it has dried out their hair, well I have quite fine hair and it made mine feel lovely and soft, my hairdresser even commented that it felt really healthy.
Yes, it does take quite a few washes to rinse the colour out but just use a dark towel!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Some good and bad points...

Posted12 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Lostinmydreams
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was easy to apply, had a nice smell and didn't burn my scalp. The colour was vibrant and looked great but after 2 weeks my hair had almost returned to my natural colour. I have since re-dyed it and the same has happened again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful!

Posted02 January 2013
Customer Avatar
mynameisHANNAH
It turned my hair a blackish purple not red. My hair was auburn underneath so I don't understand.
I'm not sure how it can claim it improves the quality of hair as my hair was in pretty good condition before, now it feels like straw. Do not buy!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Patchy.

Posted02 January 2013
Customer Avatar
MissNicola
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My hair was already dyed previously and was trying this as a new colour and more importantly to cover my roots. Not impressed at all considering the price tag. Bottle was a pain simply because I was having to squeeze it so hard to get the remaining dye out.. But that wasn't the worst of it. Despite leaving it for the time stated, my roots have barely taken on the colour at all. It's so patchy. I'm really disappointed in this colour and will be definitely going back to using Live colour or similar. Never had such a patchy outcome - despite me making sure I paid particular attention to my roots because they were the ones without colour.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>