Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red

Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red

Garnier Olia 6.60 Intense Red is part of the first oil-powered home hair colour range, containing a technology breakthrough that conditions and boosts the colouring process.
Average Customer Rating:
2.561 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
25
21 out of 48(44%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Review 1 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed.

Posted07 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I have long and thick hair and this dye did not work at all! It left my hair all streaky and the dye wouldn't rinse out! Extremely disappointed.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful!

Posted02 January 2013
Customer Avatar
mynameisHANNAH
It turned my hair a blackish purple not red. My hair was auburn underneath so I don't understand.
I'm not sure how it can claim it improves the quality of hair as my hair was in pretty good condition before, now it feels like straw. Do not buy!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

still coming out

Posted30 November 2012
Customer Avatar
emmilee90
from darwen, lancashire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i saw the advert and bought this product because it said it was nourishing. surprisingly it left my hair really dry and dull. it's now around 5 or 6 weeks since i used it, i wash my hair at least 3 times a week with shampoo and conditioner for coloured hair, and it is STILL coming out when i wash it!!! and its still dull compared to other reds i have used, and i've used quite a few.
Advantages: smells nice, cool applicator bottle
Disadvantages: still coming out when i wash hair 6 weeks later, left hair dull and dry, greasy application
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great colour, lasts well

Posted26 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Ainsley199944
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been colouring my hair red for a while now and have tried quite a few hair dyes, none of them lasting particularly well or giving me a decent shade of red. This one however gave me a great shade from the first. Nothing like the one one the box, in fact it came out more bronzey but i am a natural blonde. Apllication was a bit easier than the traditional ones but as its oil based, its a nightmare to get out of your hair and took me about an hour for the water to run clear. And I have very short hair! The smell is gorgeous so no complaints there. The shade now is lovely, its faded to a natural-looking dark ginger. Love it.
Advantages: great colour, smells good, good value
Disadvantages: difficult to apply, very sticky
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
suzyqb2
manchester
 
Please wait while more information about suzyqb2 is loaded.
Additional information about suzyqb2 could not be loaded.
Posted 04 April 2013
It is rubbish your right. my hair feels like straw. And the bottle is awful to hold.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nice colour

Posted05 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i dye my hair red all the time, i was using loreal feria P37 plum power which faded badly after just 2 washes so wanted to find something else that lasts abit longer.....
application was ok, didnt drip, i have chin length fine hair, but still didnt seem to be enough die, was very thick dye.
washing out didnt take aslong as other dyes though some of my hair fell out which i havent had happen before
colour was lovely, matched the box
hopefully it wont fade so quick
Advantages: smelt nice, easy to wash off
Disadvantages: not enough dye, made some of my hair fall out
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this product

Posted01 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Leila96
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this hair dye last week because I wanted a change from my usual dark brown colour, it was only after I had massaged the formula through my hair that I read the reviews on various sites warning me that it was no good. I tried to be an optimist about it as it was already on my hair and I didn't want to believe what I had seen however I could not deny the brittle feeling of my once thick silky hair. (I have only ever dyed my hair once before with semi permanent casting creme which turned out wonderful)
To cut a long story short the dye only shows up in certain lights and even then looks pretty boring. My hairdresser who had no idea about the dying incident refused to straighten my hair as she felt how dried out it was, it has never been like this before. I have been told to moisturize it each and every night with intensive repairing cream. Needless to say this product has caused me more grief than I'd anticipated and I want to warn others off it before they make the same mistake I did.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it!

Posted28 May 2013
Customer Avatar
haichess
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
I was very sceptical. I have always used John Frieda, so I was worried.
My hair is thick and comes just below my shoulders.
I will admit, it is a little sticky. What I reccomend you do is after washing the dye off, before you put the conditioner in, wash your hair with a colour shampoo and then put the conditioner in.
My results were brilliant. A lot better then John Frieda.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great condition of my hair has drastically improved

Posted02 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I have just used this today and although it has many bad reviews I am very pleased of the outcome, my hair isn't as bright as what is on the box which is why I am not awarding 5 stars. However 2 boxes was enough to cover my long quite thick hair. The condition of my hair after has improved greatly it is so soft and not a tangle in sight. However the water after washing hair quite a dark orange color quite a bit darker than what you get with other hair dyes so I wouldn't recommend using white towels when you dry your hair. However I will definitely be using this product again.
Advantages: soft and untangled hair
Disadvantages: not as bright as on the packaging
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

Posted01 October 2014
Customer Avatar
strangemuffin
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I have been dying my hair at home for years and thought I would give this dye a try. It is nice not to have the horrible smell of ammonia and it is easy to apply.
However this product left my hair in one giant knot (yes I did use the conditioner), it is still knotty now. And it has left my hair dry and dull.
I'm not happy with the colour but the way this has left the condition of my hair upsets me more.
I will not be using this again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Coverage. Amazing colour!

Posted05 November 2012
Customer Avatar
MarieMumofTwoGirls
from Dorset
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used this product yesterday. Fantastic colour and definitely an INTENSE red. I have dark brown hair and the red took really well to my dark locks. A few patches, but I imagine that's down to me as I did it myself with no help. Always worth getting someone to give you a hand when colouring at home. Overall very pleased with this hair colour.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Intense red - very disappointing colour

Posted27 September 2013
Customer Avatar
SarahBee1994
from Stoke
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this dye with the intention of turning my mid-brown hair to a bright red. Despite having no ammonia, the packaging convinced me that the dye was strong enough to get my hair reasonably bright. The dye itself was no more easy or difficult to apply than any other dye, yet the 'floral' scent was non-existent. The one positive of the dye was that it was kind and gentle to my scalp and skin. Once I had rinsed the dye from my hair, I could already see that the colour was nowhere as bright as had been pictured on the box. I dried my hair in panic to find it had turned a dark plum colour, nothing at all like I wanted it! Next time I will be buying a hair dye with ammonia, despite the damage it may cause my hair and scalp, as it seems ammonia-free dyes are no way near as effective as ammonia dyes.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Intense Red

Posted08 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Sheffield
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like this dye, it's smell isn't overpowering, it doesn't hurt the skin on your scalp and it is a lovely, bright colour.
It is however a lot brighter than it looks on the box, this suited me fine but just be aware if you are going to try it.
I have at least 40% grey hair and it covered it really well.
I note others have said it has dried out their hair, well I have quite fine hair and it made mine feel lovely and soft, my hairdresser even commented that it felt really healthy.
Yes, it does take quite a few washes to rinse the colour out but just use a dark towel!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

APPAULING PRODUCT

Posted28 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Sops19
Age:18-24
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this dye today, thought it would be the lovely colour on the box the very light blonde how wrong was I, I left it for around 20mins I looked in the mirror It looked brown, washed it and dryed it and my hair is grey I mean like grey grey it's awful, sooo upset and dissappointed in this product and would never ever ever ever use this again !!!!!!
Disadvantages: everything
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a letdown

Posted04 February 2014
Customer Avatar
bewhit
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have just tried this product - normally use Garnier Nutrisse. It has left my hair like straw. Will not be using again!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointing

Posted05 November 2012
Customer Avatar
HappyG54
from Leiester
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I found this product difficult to apply due to the design of the application bottle which contains too much air and is difficult to hold. The end result is very poor, barely covering the grey and seems to be very patchy. Hair is very dull. The onlly plus is that it smells nice! As I had not tried it before I kept to the instructions religiously. I will not be using it again.
Advantages: none that i can see
Disadvantages: poor result which says it all really!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
suzyqb2
manchester
 
Please wait while more information about suzyqb2 is loaded.
Additional information about suzyqb2 could not be loaded.
Posted 04 April 2013
My hair too feels like straw worst hair colour ive ever used. shocking stuff. The bottle is awfull to hold.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!! vibrant and gorgeous

Posted15 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Jooles22
from Somerset
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was getting bored of my dark brown hair so decided I wanted a big change and opted for Olia intense Red 6.60. Now after reading many different reviews on many different sites I found they were good and bad so decided there is only one way to find out for sure and to just go for it. When I dye my hair I look to see what is on offer at the time. I saw Olia Intense red and loved the colour on the box plus it was on offer 2 for £11 in Boots, my hair is about 20" long so the two boxes at this price I thought was very good plus you would pay alot more than this in the hairdressers. Now anyone with hair past the shoulders and who dye their hair will know already that two boxes is usually needed so this isn't really of any surprise. You don't already get some of the mix in one of the bottles before adding the colour tube you have to add them both to the bottle yourself and then shake to mix, not a problem just a little different to how it normally is, I think perhaps Garnier should look into this as I feel its a waste of packaging. It was however very easy to mix and the bottle changed from white to a lovely pink pearly colour. Putting the dye on was very easy and didn't go everywhere like some dyes tend to do. When it was first put on my hair it was a very bright red and I thought oooo interesting but it went darker over time, I left it on for the recommended 30mins and by that time the red wasn't as vibrant than when I had first applied it to my hair so was a little worried as to what the end result would be, is this going to work? I was thinking or will i need to put a brighter one on top......how wrong was I. I rinsed it out and applied the conditioner to which I could feel my hair was softer even at this stage plus there is enough conditioner for future washes. I rinsed out the conditioner and set to work drying it, I have natural very curly hair so used plenty of mousse and used a diffuser, .......wow!!! I love love love the colour and it was the same as the picture on the box which doesn't always happen and can cause great disappointment. I adore this color and cant wait to go off and show my 'new' hair off. I would totally recommend this product to anyone. Go for it ladies I promise you will love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok but.....

Posted26 April 2013
Customer Avatar
SugarPieHoneyBun
from London, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've dyed my hair varying shades of red for about 15 years and it never seems to come out as vibrant as I would like. Unfortunately this was no exception.
Initially it was lovely, exactly as I wanted but it faded within a week. 3 weeks later my hair just looks brown with some reddish patches.
The thing that I really disliked about this dye was the fact that it took about 40 minutes and 7 washes to get the dye out of my hair. It then preceded to bleed dye in the shower for weeks afterwards, this has never happened with any other dye I've used.
I don't think I will be buying this again.
Advantages: hair felt nice afterwards., 1 pack was enough for shoulder length hair
Disadvantages: dye bleeds for weeks afterwards., takes 40 minutes to wash out., fades quickly to leave hair looking patchy.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad

Posted29 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bournemouth, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was expecting this to be a lot better than it actually was, but I don't think the other reviews do it justice,
Yes, my hair initially felt quite dry after but I woke up the next day and brushed it and it felt the softest it's ever been, and looked quite healthy.
The application was easy, and there definitely was enough to cover all my hair (it's quite think and reaches quite a bit below my shoulders). The dye was really easy and quick to wash out in the shower, too, which made a nice change.
However, my hair isn't as intense as the colour on the box, and it is this which would make me not recommend the product. It is nowhere near as intense as it should be and instead is just a dark, boring red. It's not a horrible colour - just not the one I was expecting.
Advantages: hair feels softer after a couple of days, easy application, smell doesn't choke you to death, easy to wash out the dye
Disadvantages: initially hair feels dry, not as intense as you would think
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not bad not brilliant

Posted24 August 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy666
from manchester
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
i thought i would give this brand a try as the advert showed a lovely red tone to the hair. i am a dark red anyway so this shade was practically the same. the application was messy but smell was lovely unlike my usual brand. however the color result didn't blow me away like the advert. if anything it has taken me to a shade darker than what i was which was disappointing . the shine is nice though and my hair does feel well conditioned. all in all i don't think i will purchase this again but for those who want a more natural shade this range would be ideal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Red

Posted06 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Jules1784
from Fife
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought Olia Intense Red 6.60 sceptically after reading reviews from other users but i am delighted with the product. I have used other Red hair dyes which are similar to this product but they did not bring out as intense a colour as Olia. I have been dying my hair red for many years and have quite thick, dark hair which is long and down to my shoulder blades. Other reviews have stated that 1 pack of the dye will not be enough for hair past the shoulders, i bought 2 packs just incase but had more than enough to cover all of my hair with 1 bottle. The colour is vibrant not quite as bright as on the box but much brighter than similar products. Overall this dye was easy to apply, smelled fruity and washed off with ease. My hair feels in great condition and is super soft and shiny after use. I will definitely be using this product again which is a bonus as i have a spare bottle!
Advantages: smells great, vibrant colour, hair is soft & shiny
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>