Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red

Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red

Garnier Olia 6.60 Intense Red is part of the first oil-powered home hair colour range, containing a technology breakthrough that conditions and boosts the colouring process.
Average Customer Rating:
2.6 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
24
21 out of 48(44%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Review 1 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Coverage. Amazing colour!

Posted05 November 2012
Customer Avatar
MarieMumofTwoGirls
from Dorset
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used this product yesterday. Fantastic colour and definitely an INTENSE red. I have dark brown hair and the red took really well to my dark locks. A few patches, but I imagine that's down to me as I did it myself with no help. Always worth getting someone to give you a hand when colouring at home. Overall very pleased with this hair colour.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Intense red - very disappointing colour

Posted27 September 2013
Customer Avatar
SarahBee1994
from Stoke
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this dye with the intention of turning my mid-brown hair to a bright red. Despite having no ammonia, the packaging convinced me that the dye was strong enough to get my hair reasonably bright. The dye itself was no more easy or difficult to apply than any other dye, yet the 'floral' scent was non-existent. The one positive of the dye was that it was kind and gentle to my scalp and skin. Once I had rinsed the dye from my hair, I could already see that the colour was nowhere as bright as had been pictured on the box. I dried my hair in panic to find it had turned a dark plum colour, nothing at all like I wanted it! Next time I will be buying a hair dye with ammonia, despite the damage it may cause my hair and scalp, as it seems ammonia-free dyes are no way near as effective as ammonia dyes.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL!!

Posted24 October 2012
Customer Avatar
smirving
from WIRRAL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Picked this up because the colour looked gorgeous on the adverts but I had trouble from the beginning. When shaking the bottle to mix the product, the snap-cap came off, making dye fly all over my carpet and bedsheets! GRRR!! When applying the dye, the applicator bottle kept slipping out of my hand and isn't very comfortable to hold. The dye made my hair feel very matted and difficult to rub in and during the 30min waiting time, turned oily looking and felt as though it was slowly pouring down my head. AFTER- The colour hasn't taken very well, is very patchy in parts and doesnt feel at all conditioned. Have used Garnier products before but never will again. Very disappointed and will be sticking with Schwarzkopf Live from now on.
Advantages: doesnt smell
Disadvantages: everything!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Intense Red

Posted08 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Sheffield
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like this dye, it's smell isn't overpowering, it doesn't hurt the skin on your scalp and it is a lovely, bright colour.
It is however a lot brighter than it looks on the box, this suited me fine but just be aware if you are going to try it.
I have at least 40% grey hair and it covered it really well.
I note others have said it has dried out their hair, well I have quite fine hair and it made mine feel lovely and soft, my hairdresser even commented that it felt really healthy.
Yes, it does take quite a few washes to rinse the colour out but just use a dark towel!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

APPAULING PRODUCT

Posted28 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Sops19
Age:18-24
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this dye today, thought it would be the lovely colour on the box the very light blonde how wrong was I, I left it for around 20mins I looked in the mirror It looked brown, washed it and dryed it and my hair is grey I mean like grey grey it's awful, sooo upset and dissappointed in this product and would never ever ever ever use this again !!!!!!
Disadvantages: everything
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Oh dear!

Posted21 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Cwick
from Birmingham
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Oh dear, I had a chin length curly bob and I have very thin hair, I needed two bottles of dye! When it came to using the conditioner I could tell it was poor quality, when it came to brushing my hair this was actually impossible and my partner had to razor the ends of my hair. When we looked at the cut areas my hair was actually 'glued' together. This was on previously undyed hair, and I have never used anything like henna, chemicals for a perm etc.
I was dying natural red hair, when I dried my hair not only was it significantly shorter due to having to cut it, but it was purple, not a hint or purple, but pure purple. All the tubes had the correct numbers on in the box and I did a skin test 48 hours before, but obviously that doesn't reveal that colour you will actually get.
Due to how much this dye has destroyed my hair I have had to have a pixie cut (which looks hideous) and I have to keep this vile purple colour until my hair is healthy enough to take a professional dye.
Disadvantages: destroys your hair
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
suzyqb2
manchester
 
Please wait while more information about suzyqb2 is loaded.
Additional information about suzyqb2 could not be loaded.
Posted 04 April 2013
its ruined my hair completely I've a good mind to write to them.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gives highlights, not colour

Posted29 November 2013
Customer Avatar
LadyGreenSleeves
from Outside the UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have dark blond/light chestnut hair with shatush. I tried this colour because I love red hair. The application is fairly easy, I poured a little from the bottle and then spread it with a flat brush. I have mid-back long and very full hair and one bottle was more than enough, even though I do not have many grey hair, so I did not need a perfectly spotless application. Anyway, the product was easy to prepare, the smell was pleasant and I didn't find it runny. Even the spots on the skin were easy to remove. What disappointed me was the final result: on the box it shows samples of before and after and even on very dark hair it shows a vibrant red shade. That is not true. I now have pretty red highlights and under direct sunlight my hair looks dark red, but it is not nearly as intense as pictured. I would recommend this product to someone who is not looking for a dramatic change of colour, because if you have dark hair the change is going to be very subtle. Still it is undoubtedly a good product and after using the conditioner included in the package my hair is wonderfully soft and smooth, almost as if I had blow-dried it with a round brush.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a letdown

Posted04 February 2014
Customer Avatar
bewhit
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have just tried this product - normally use Garnier Nutrisse. It has left my hair like straw. Will not be using again!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointing

Posted05 November 2012
Customer Avatar
HappyG54
from Leiester
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I found this product difficult to apply due to the design of the application bottle which contains too much air and is difficult to hold. The end result is very poor, barely covering the grey and seems to be very patchy. Hair is very dull. The onlly plus is that it smells nice! As I had not tried it before I kept to the instructions religiously. I will not be using it again.
Advantages: none that i can see
Disadvantages: poor result which says it all really!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
suzyqb2
manchester
 
Please wait while more information about suzyqb2 is loaded.
Additional information about suzyqb2 could not be loaded.
Posted 04 April 2013
My hair too feels like straw worst hair colour ive ever used. shocking stuff. The bottle is awfull to hold.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favourite so far

Posted08 January 2013
Customer Avatar
cairo3121
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having used many brands of hair dye over the years i thought i would give this a try. The application in my opinion was very easy, virtually no dripping and no horrible smell of ammonia. I used two bottles as i have long hair and it covered every little bit perfectly. I wrapped my hair in cling film and left the colour on for the recommended time. When washing it out, it ran red for a long time which i expected and after applying the conditioner seem to settle. When my hair was dry i could finally see the colour in all its glory and i must say i am impressed. Glossy hair, good coverage and a lovely shade of red; i will be buying this again!
Advantages: easy application, lovely end result, shinny glossy hair, no dripping, no ammonia
Disadvantages: a little on the expensive side
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!! vibrant and gorgeous

Posted15 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Jooles22
from Somerset
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was getting bored of my dark brown hair so decided I wanted a big change and opted for Olia intense Red 6.60. Now after reading many different reviews on many different sites I found they were good and bad so decided there is only one way to find out for sure and to just go for it. When I dye my hair I look to see what is on offer at the time. I saw Olia Intense red and loved the colour on the box plus it was on offer 2 for £11 in Boots, my hair is about 20" long so the two boxes at this price I thought was very good plus you would pay alot more than this in the hairdressers. Now anyone with hair past the shoulders and who dye their hair will know already that two boxes is usually needed so this isn't really of any surprise. You don't already get some of the mix in one of the bottles before adding the colour tube you have to add them both to the bottle yourself and then shake to mix, not a problem just a little different to how it normally is, I think perhaps Garnier should look into this as I feel its a waste of packaging. It was however very easy to mix and the bottle changed from white to a lovely pink pearly colour. Putting the dye on was very easy and didn't go everywhere like some dyes tend to do. When it was first put on my hair it was a very bright red and I thought oooo interesting but it went darker over time, I left it on for the recommended 30mins and by that time the red wasn't as vibrant than when I had first applied it to my hair so was a little worried as to what the end result would be, is this going to work? I was thinking or will i need to put a brighter one on top......how wrong was I. I rinsed it out and applied the conditioner to which I could feel my hair was softer even at this stage plus there is enough conditioner for future washes. I rinsed out the conditioner and set to work drying it, I have natural very curly hair so used plenty of mousse and used a diffuser, .......wow!!! I love love love the colour and it was the same as the picture on the box which doesn't always happen and can cause great disappointment. I adore this color and cant wait to go off and show my 'new' hair off. I would totally recommend this product to anyone. Go for it ladies I promise you will love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok but.....

Posted26 April 2013
Customer Avatar
SugarPieHoneyBun
from London, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've dyed my hair varying shades of red for about 15 years and it never seems to come out as vibrant as I would like. Unfortunately this was no exception.
Initially it was lovely, exactly as I wanted but it faded within a week. 3 weeks later my hair just looks brown with some reddish patches.
The thing that I really disliked about this dye was the fact that it took about 40 minutes and 7 washes to get the dye out of my hair. It then preceded to bleed dye in the shower for weeks afterwards, this has never happened with any other dye I've used.
I don't think I will be buying this again.
Advantages: hair felt nice afterwards., 1 pack was enough for shoulder length hair
Disadvantages: dye bleeds for weeks afterwards., takes 40 minutes to wash out., fades quickly to leave hair looking patchy.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

rubbish!!!

Posted31 March 2013
Customer Avatar
GemmaScene
Was so disappointed! Was over priced but cuz i had bleach blonde hair was expecting a brighter colour, it was dark and once it dried it made my hair feel horrid! Not a good at all!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad

Posted29 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bournemouth, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was expecting this to be a lot better than it actually was, but I don't think the other reviews do it justice,
Yes, my hair initially felt quite dry after but I woke up the next day and brushed it and it felt the softest it's ever been, and looked quite healthy.
The application was easy, and there definitely was enough to cover all my hair (it's quite think and reaches quite a bit below my shoulders). The dye was really easy and quick to wash out in the shower, too, which made a nice change.
However, my hair isn't as intense as the colour on the box, and it is this which would make me not recommend the product. It is nowhere near as intense as it should be and instead is just a dark, boring red. It's not a horrible colour - just not the one I was expecting.
Advantages: hair feels softer after a couple of days, easy application, smell doesn't choke you to death, easy to wash out the dye
Disadvantages: initially hair feels dry, not as intense as you would think
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

better than average

Posted19 November 2012
Customer Avatar
sarahbb
from Somerset
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use hair dye every 4-6 weeks to cover my grey, so I was excited to try a product which doesn't contain ammonia. The product comes with really good instructions and is fairly easy to apply.
It didn't have the same feel and smell as normal hair dyes and it had a slightly strange consistency when you rub it in, which i'm guessing is the oils. After rinsing and conditioning my hair didn't feel as shiny as it normally does after colouring, and even looked a little dull. I think this was some oil residue. However after the first wash I would say my hair is slightly softer and shinier than normal, but not hugely different. The colour is not as intense red as the box shows, and is also a little patchy however this may be down to how i applied it so will try it again in another 4-6 weeks to see if I can get a better result. Overall I think better than average as it doesn't contain ammonia and is gentler on my hair than a normal hair dye, but colour and application not as good as other dyes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you want red hair that is per,rant for ever and I mean ever then get this

Posted01 May 2013
Customer Avatar
dizzyinthestars
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been home dying my hair for ever. I am good at dying as the hairdresser always says that I should retrain as a hair dresser because its not patchy. I have lots and lots of hair in a bob it is strong I condition it weekly with a hair mask and never ever had bad hair once dying it.
But olia has RUNIED MY HAIR. I colour it this colour firstly the colour was patchy so had to colour it again within the week. I hate the colour so tried colouring it brown NO COLOUR WILL GO OVER THIS COLOUR. I tried a perm and non prm colour no avail. My hair is also falling out and the split ends are horrific
I never go on these things but thought it was important to give others a view on this colour. It's great if you want this red FOREVER UNTIL IT GROWS OUT but not of you like to change colour.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great colour

Posted23 August 2013
Customer Avatar
ironkitten
from Hampshire, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am pleased with the colour this has left my hair, it is a vibrant red. I had plenty of dye in the pack to colour all my hair (I have hair that is about shoulder level).
But it did leave my hair feeling awful after rinsing the colour out & it was really difficult to comb through it. It was worth it for the colour though, next time I will try my own conditioner & see if that makes it any better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not bad not brilliant

Posted24 August 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy666
from manchester
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
i thought i would give this brand a try as the advert showed a lovely red tone to the hair. i am a dark red anyway so this shade was practically the same. the application was messy but smell was lovely unlike my usual brand. however the color result didn't blow me away like the advert. if anything it has taken me to a shade darker than what i was which was disappointing . the shine is nice though and my hair does feel well conditioned. all in all i don't think i will purchase this again but for those who want a more natural shade this range would be ideal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Long, Fine Hair Beware!

Posted12 May 2014
Customer Avatar
maity101
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been dying my hair using home dye for 15 years. I don't mind the smell, but my family does, so when I heard about Olia, I was very excited to try it (even though the colour options are very limited).
What a mistake that was! Application wasn't great. In fact, I found it worse than foam hair dye. After ward was the real horror though. Not only was the coverage extremely uneven (I actually had roots, if you can believe it), but the dryness of the product cause my very fine, very long hair to become matted in a rat's nest of a knot the likes of which I haven't had since I was a little girl. It took my 3 days to get it out.
I contacted Garnier to complain about the product... and they never even replied!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

really disappointed =(

Posted22 January 2013
Customer Avatar
fleurre21
from cheltenham UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
i bought this after the advert promised long lasting, intense colour without the use of bleach, however i am overall very disappointed with this product.
First of all the amount of packaging is disgraceful for the amount of product you get, something which bothers me every time i use it. Secondly there is not nearly enough dye provided- my hair is chin length and fairly thick but one bottle has never been enough which gets very expensive! The dye is an odd texture and tends to mat up my hair making it difficult to spread it around, a problem i have never experienced before (i have naturally dark brown, healthy hair and have been dying red for 10 years). It also takes a while to wash out (luckily my towels and pillowcases are all red by now anyway). The colour was beautiful initially but fades far, far quicker than any other red i've used. I had hoped this would improve with re-application but after 2 months of trying i can't get the results i would expect for the price and always end up ginger within a couple of weeks which has never been an issue with other brands.
I would say this product is good if you are sensitive/allergic to ammonia, and have short or fine hair which doesn't require much washing, however i was extremely disappointed and will be switching back to schwartzkopf live colours ASAP. *sigh* too good to be true.
Advantages: nice initial colour, true to box colour
Disadvantages: far too much packaging, not enough dye included, weird consistency, bleeds constantly, fades almost immediately, expensive
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>