Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red

Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red

Garnier Olia 6.60 Intense Red is part of the first oil-powered home hair colour range, containing a technology breakthrough that conditions and boosts the colouring process.
Average Customer Rating:
2.509 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
24
21 out of 48(44%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Review 1 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL!!

Posted24 October 2012
Customer Avatar
smirving
from WIRRAL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Picked this up because the colour looked gorgeous on the adverts but I had trouble from the beginning. When shaking the bottle to mix the product, the snap-cap came off, making dye fly all over my carpet and bedsheets! GRRR!! When applying the dye, the applicator bottle kept slipping out of my hand and isn't very comfortable to hold. The dye made my hair feel very matted and difficult to rub in and during the 30min waiting time, turned oily looking and felt as though it was slowly pouring down my head. AFTER- The colour hasn't taken very well, is very patchy in parts and doesnt feel at all conditioned. Have used Garnier products before but never will again. Very disappointed and will be sticking with Schwarzkopf Live from now on.
Advantages: doesnt smell
Disadvantages: everything!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Oh dear!

Posted21 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Cwick
from Birmingham
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Oh dear, I had a chin length curly bob and I have very thin hair, I needed two bottles of dye! When it came to using the conditioner I could tell it was poor quality, when it came to brushing my hair this was actually impossible and my partner had to razor the ends of my hair. When we looked at the cut areas my hair was actually 'glued' together. This was on previously undyed hair, and I have never used anything like henna, chemicals for a perm etc.
I was dying natural red hair, when I dried my hair not only was it significantly shorter due to having to cut it, but it was purple, not a hint or purple, but pure purple. All the tubes had the correct numbers on in the box and I did a skin test 48 hours before, but obviously that doesn't reveal that colour you will actually get.
Due to how much this dye has destroyed my hair I have had to have a pixie cut (which looks hideous) and I have to keep this vile purple colour until my hair is healthy enough to take a professional dye.
Disadvantages: destroys your hair
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
suzyqb2
manchester
 
Please wait while more information about suzyqb2 is loaded.
Additional information about suzyqb2 could not be loaded.
Posted 04 April 2013
its ruined my hair completely I've a good mind to write to them.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gives highlights, not colour

Posted29 November 2013
Customer Avatar
LadyGreenSleeves
from Outside the UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have dark blond/light chestnut hair with shatush. I tried this colour because I love red hair. The application is fairly easy, I poured a little from the bottle and then spread it with a flat brush. I have mid-back long and very full hair and one bottle was more than enough, even though I do not have many grey hair, so I did not need a perfectly spotless application. Anyway, the product was easy to prepare, the smell was pleasant and I didn't find it runny. Even the spots on the skin were easy to remove. What disappointed me was the final result: on the box it shows samples of before and after and even on very dark hair it shows a vibrant red shade. That is not true. I now have pretty red highlights and under direct sunlight my hair looks dark red, but it is not nearly as intense as pictured. I would recommend this product to someone who is not looking for a dramatic change of colour, because if you have dark hair the change is going to be very subtle. Still it is undoubtedly a good product and after using the conditioner included in the package my hair is wonderfully soft and smooth, almost as if I had blow-dried it with a round brush.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favourite so far

Posted08 January 2013
Customer Avatar
cairo3121
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having used many brands of hair dye over the years i thought i would give this a try. The application in my opinion was very easy, virtually no dripping and no horrible smell of ammonia. I used two bottles as i have long hair and it covered every little bit perfectly. I wrapped my hair in cling film and left the colour on for the recommended time. When washing it out, it ran red for a long time which i expected and after applying the conditioner seem to settle. When my hair was dry i could finally see the colour in all its glory and i must say i am impressed. Glossy hair, good coverage and a lovely shade of red; i will be buying this again!
Advantages: easy application, lovely end result, shinny glossy hair, no dripping, no ammonia
Disadvantages: a little on the expensive side
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

rubbish!!!

Posted31 March 2013
Customer Avatar
GemmaScene
Was so disappointed! Was over priced but cuz i had bleach blonde hair was expecting a brighter colour, it was dark and once it dried it made my hair feel horrid! Not a good at all!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

better than average

Posted19 November 2012
Customer Avatar
sarahbb
from Somerset
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use hair dye every 4-6 weeks to cover my grey, so I was excited to try a product which doesn't contain ammonia. The product comes with really good instructions and is fairly easy to apply.
It didn't have the same feel and smell as normal hair dyes and it had a slightly strange consistency when you rub it in, which i'm guessing is the oils. After rinsing and conditioning my hair didn't feel as shiny as it normally does after colouring, and even looked a little dull. I think this was some oil residue. However after the first wash I would say my hair is slightly softer and shinier than normal, but not hugely different. The colour is not as intense red as the box shows, and is also a little patchy however this may be down to how i applied it so will try it again in another 4-6 weeks to see if I can get a better result. Overall I think better than average as it doesn't contain ammonia and is gentler on my hair than a normal hair dye, but colour and application not as good as other dyes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you want red hair that is per,rant for ever and I mean ever then get this

Posted01 May 2013
Customer Avatar
dizzyinthestars
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been home dying my hair for ever. I am good at dying as the hairdresser always says that I should retrain as a hair dresser because its not patchy. I have lots and lots of hair in a bob it is strong I condition it weekly with a hair mask and never ever had bad hair once dying it.
But olia has RUNIED MY HAIR. I colour it this colour firstly the colour was patchy so had to colour it again within the week. I hate the colour so tried colouring it brown NO COLOUR WILL GO OVER THIS COLOUR. I tried a perm and non prm colour no avail. My hair is also falling out and the split ends are horrific
I never go on these things but thought it was important to give others a view on this colour. It's great if you want this red FOREVER UNTIL IT GROWS OUT but not of you like to change colour.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great colour

Posted23 August 2013
Customer Avatar
ironkitten
from Hampshire, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am pleased with the colour this has left my hair, it is a vibrant red. I had plenty of dye in the pack to colour all my hair (I have hair that is about shoulder level).
But it did leave my hair feeling awful after rinsing the colour out & it was really difficult to comb through it. It was worth it for the colour though, next time I will try my own conditioner & see if that makes it any better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Long, Fine Hair Beware!

Posted12 May 2014
Customer Avatar
maity101
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been dying my hair using home dye for 15 years. I don't mind the smell, but my family does, so when I heard about Olia, I was very excited to try it (even though the colour options are very limited).
What a mistake that was! Application wasn't great. In fact, I found it worse than foam hair dye. After ward was the real horror though. Not only was the coverage extremely uneven (I actually had roots, if you can believe it), but the dryness of the product cause my very fine, very long hair to become matted in a rat's nest of a knot the likes of which I haven't had since I was a little girl. It took my 3 days to get it out.
I contacted Garnier to complain about the product... and they never even replied!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

really disappointed =(

Posted22 January 2013
Customer Avatar
fleurre21
from cheltenham UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
i bought this after the advert promised long lasting, intense colour without the use of bleach, however i am overall very disappointed with this product.
First of all the amount of packaging is disgraceful for the amount of product you get, something which bothers me every time i use it. Secondly there is not nearly enough dye provided- my hair is chin length and fairly thick but one bottle has never been enough which gets very expensive! The dye is an odd texture and tends to mat up my hair making it difficult to spread it around, a problem i have never experienced before (i have naturally dark brown, healthy hair and have been dying red for 10 years). It also takes a while to wash out (luckily my towels and pillowcases are all red by now anyway). The colour was beautiful initially but fades far, far quicker than any other red i've used. I had hoped this would improve with re-application but after 2 months of trying i can't get the results i would expect for the price and always end up ginger within a couple of weeks which has never been an issue with other brands.
I would say this product is good if you are sensitive/allergic to ammonia, and have short or fine hair which doesn't require much washing, however i was extremely disappointed and will be switching back to schwartzkopf live colours ASAP. *sigh* too good to be true.
Advantages: nice initial colour, true to box colour
Disadvantages: far too much packaging, not enough dye included, weird consistency, bleeds constantly, fades almost immediately, expensive
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS DYE

Posted28 January 2013
Customer Avatar
beautyqueen5
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been dying my hair red for about 4 years now. I naturally have VERY dark brown hair and always found getting to a bright red very difficult without damaging my hair. I used to use the Garnier Nutrisse 6.6 dye as this was the gentlest dye I could find that still gave bright results...until Olia was created that is, I will not use another brand ever again now! My hair does not feel damaged after an application and looks sooooooooooooo healthy and shiny, it also gives a vibrant colour that lasts and looks great! Would recommend this product to anybody!
Advantages: looks fantastic, love this dye, such a bright colour...even on dark hair, smells delish too, no ammonia!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like any other dye - I have no complaints?

Posted29 November 2012
Customer Avatar
MissA2
from Birmingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After reading the reviews I was hesitant about using this on my mums hair (who dyes her hair to cover the greys) and very nearly didnt try it but I had no problems at all and didnt see what the problems were. Process was easy enough - not sure about the non-drip formula because compared to all other hair dyes used this has got to be the thinnest and most runny so can imagine this going all over the show if you used it on yourself. No ammonia = no gagging or sore eyes - big thumbs up. The colour was a real intense red like it says bt nothing at all like the one on the box, nowhere near as dark (and this was used on black hair). Only problem for me was that your hair still runs colour after a few times shampooing it (was running colour after showering on day 2+3) and I have noticed this with all Garnier colourants. and eventually the colour fades - so after a few weeks the colour is not as intense and requires reappplication.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not happy

Posted18 March 2013
Customer Avatar
suzyqb2
from manchester
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been colouring my hair for about 20 years, and this has to be one of the worst hair dyes I have ever used. The colour is dull and it has left my hair really dry. the bottle is really difficult to handle when its wet because of its shape. the only good thing about this is the fact it doesn't smell. I will not be using it again.
Advantages: no smell
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good initial colour but all down hill from there!

Posted12 August 2013
Customer Avatar
beckyylouiseee
from Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been dying my hair red for almost 2 years but had never previously tried the Olia product so I thought I would! The initial colour was lovely, made my hair smooth (unlike some other previously tried red dyes), when rinsing, it ran quite a bit and didn't seem to stop but I'd experienced this many times before with other red dyes so it didn't bother me!
HOWEVER, nearly A MONTH after first dying my hair this colour, the running of the dye still hasn't stopped. It still runs every single time I wash my hair which is an absolute pain and obviously it just fades ridiculously quickly. Out of all the red dyes I've tried over the years, this one is definitely the WORST one I have used!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed.

Posted07 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I have long and thick hair and this dye did not work at all! It left my hair all streaky and the dye wouldn't rinse out! Extremely disappointed.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Olia

Posted18 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Emben
When I first saw this hair dye advertised I was really excited, finally a decent hair dye!! How wrong was i!! My hair is just below my chin and I needed two packs as there isn't enough in the bottle, when it was put on my hair felt awful, after washing off, I couldn't get my hair brush thru my hair as it was matted, when I finally dried it, it felt awful. And the colour is not anything like the box, I was expecting it to be a lovely vibrant red! How wrong was I. Very disappointed
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dizydodle
nottingham
 
Please wait while more information about dizydodle is loaded.
Additional information about dizydodle could not be loaded.
mrs
Posted 09 June 2013
hi tried very light blond did allergy test but no indication of what hair colour would look like, sad to say my hair went from blond to pewter grey, which would have been alright if that was the colour I wanted to go !but it was not!.so sad to say it will have to grow out be for I re-dye, but I will be using another brand . so sad to say unless you WANT TO GO PEWTER GREY I would not recomend
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Patchy.

Posted02 January 2013
Customer Avatar
MissNicola
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My hair was already dyed previously and was trying this as a new colour and more importantly to cover my roots. Not impressed at all considering the price tag. Bottle was a pain simply because I was having to squeeze it so hard to get the remaining dye out.. But that wasn't the worst of it. Despite leaving it for the time stated, my roots have barely taken on the colour at all. It's so patchy. I'm really disappointed in this colour and will be definitely going back to using Live colour or similar. Never had such a patchy outcome - despite me making sure I paid particular attention to my roots because they were the ones without colour.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Avoid like the plague. Simply terrible.

Posted02 May 2013
Customer Avatar
casperface
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I can honestly say this is the single worst hair product I have EVER used. The reason I'm so sure of this is because I've used it twice (months apart) and had disasters both times. Of course I'm a fool to have used it a second time, but I'd had a different base colour the first time so I thought the results might be different. I was in a hurry and this was the only product anywhere near the colour I wanted in store, so I went against my better judgement and decided to try it again. And the moral of the story here is: Don't be so impatient!
Anyway, both times it has ended up two completely different colours. The roots are red (but not nearly as bright as the box advertises) and the rest is a weird gingery colour (And when I say completely different, I mean COMPLETELY different. No resemblance between the two colours at all). It might be that my hair is previously dyed, so it could be better on natural hair.. but I've used many other red dyes on my previously dyed hair and never have I had such a result. If it was just abit patchy I wouldn't mind so much, but there's literally a line where one colour ends and the other begins. I now have to go out and buy another dye to correct this mess, wrecking my hair even more.
The only positive was that the application went very smoothly and there was plenty to cover my hair. But that doesn't really mean much when the end result is this laughable.
With so many other terrible reviews, I'm surprised this product is still on the shelves..
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best red ive ever used!!

Posted30 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie44
This dye is best used on blonde/dark blonde/light brown hair if you want to get the intense red colour. Some reviews have slated this but it's one of the best reds I've used. The mixture is thick but I have shoulder length hair and one pack was just enough. Your better off getting someone to help you apply it in order to get full coverage an avoid patches. I left it on for 40 mins and my hair is now the colour on the box!! There's no nasty smell, it's easy to remove off the skin, and once conditioned my hair was super shiny. Very Happy :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A Mix of Colour

Posted30 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Wales, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have natural blonde hair, which means my roots show very prominently against my dyed brown hair.
I learnt that this dye helps maintain healthy hair and seeing as my hair had been damaged previously, it comforted me to know that I'd be getting a vibrant red with little damage.
The dye itself is a little darker than on the box on my very blonde roots and the rest of my hair has only a hint of red. Without daylight and sun, the rest of my hair looks black. The idea of having different colours on my hair doesn't bother me too much, but it'd annoy some.
This company needs to show a realistic colour of the hair on the box and perhaps include what'd happen to dyed hair.
Advantages: vibrant on natural blonde roots, beautiful floral fragrance, doesn't damage hair
Disadvantages: false claims on the vibrancy of red, darkens dyed hair but leaves a tint
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>