Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red

Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red

Garnier Olia 6.60 Intense Red is part of the first oil-powered home hair colour range, containing a technology breakthrough that conditions and boosts the colouring process.
Average Customer Rating:
2.688 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
25
22 out of 49(45%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Review 1 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Used for Blue Hair Cover up

Posted11 May 2016
Customer Avatar
moni00
before using this hair colour, i had gone a bright blue (i am naturally dark haired so my hair was pretty dead anyway) and i bought this as my roots were showing bad and didn't want to try and go blue again with my roots (so i chose a progression back to my natural colour)
I have to say, i expected to go a purple rather than a red due to the hair colour i had already, but to my surprise it was a nice shade of red, the only real issue i had with the dying process, which seems common amongst some of the other reviewers was my hair was a pig to brush/comb through after dying I figured this was from how dead my hair was, but now realise it might have been due to the dye.
when i used this, my hair was just below my shoulders and to my surprise (with my thick hair) one box covered well.
the only other issue i have, which may be linked more so with my previous colour was the fact that the blue of my previous colour showed through within a couple of weeks and i had to do it again to cover it up, finally resorting to a professional dye job that finally fixed the issue
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting garnier.co.uk
Review 2 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL!!

Posted24 October 2012
Customer Avatar
smirving
from WIRRAL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Picked this up because the colour looked gorgeous on the adverts but I had trouble from the beginning. When shaking the bottle to mix the product, the snap-cap came off, making dye fly all over my carpet and bedsheets! GRRR!! When applying the dye, the applicator bottle kept slipping out of my hand and isn't very comfortable to hold. The dye made my hair feel very matted and difficult to rub in and during the 30min waiting time, turned oily looking and felt as though it was slowly pouring down my head. AFTER- The colour hasn't taken very well, is very patchy in parts and doesnt feel at all conditioned. Have used Garnier products before but never will again. Very disappointed and will be sticking with Schwarzkopf Live from now on.
Advantages: doesnt smell
Disadvantages: everything!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

rubbish!!!

Posted31 March 2013
Customer Avatar
GemmaScene
Was so disappointed! Was over priced but cuz i had bleach blonde hair was expecting a brighter colour, it was dark and once it dried it made my hair feel horrid! Not a good at all!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

better than average

Posted19 November 2012
Customer Avatar
sarahbb
from Somerset
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use hair dye every 4-6 weeks to cover my grey, so I was excited to try a product which doesn't contain ammonia. The product comes with really good instructions and is fairly easy to apply.
It didn't have the same feel and smell as normal hair dyes and it had a slightly strange consistency when you rub it in, which i'm guessing is the oils. After rinsing and conditioning my hair didn't feel as shiny as it normally does after colouring, and even looked a little dull. I think this was some oil residue. However after the first wash I would say my hair is slightly softer and shinier than normal, but not hugely different. The colour is not as intense red as the box shows, and is also a little patchy however this may be down to how i applied it so will try it again in another 4-6 weeks to see if I can get a better result. Overall I think better than average as it doesn't contain ammonia and is gentler on my hair than a normal hair dye, but colour and application not as good as other dyes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great colour

Posted23 August 2013
Customer Avatar
ironkitten
from Hampshire, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am pleased with the colour this has left my hair, it is a vibrant red. I had plenty of dye in the pack to colour all my hair (I have hair that is about shoulder level).
But it did leave my hair feeling awful after rinsing the colour out & it was really difficult to comb through it. It was worth it for the colour though, next time I will try my own conditioner & see if that makes it any better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS DYE

Posted28 January 2013
Customer Avatar
beautyqueen5
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been dying my hair red for about 4 years now. I naturally have VERY dark brown hair and always found getting to a bright red very difficult without damaging my hair. I used to use the Garnier Nutrisse 6.6 dye as this was the gentlest dye I could find that still gave bright results...until Olia was created that is, I will not use another brand ever again now! My hair does not feel damaged after an application and looks sooooooooooooo healthy and shiny, it also gives a vibrant colour that lasts and looks great! Would recommend this product to anybody!
Advantages: looks fantastic, love this dye, such a bright colour...even on dark hair, smells delish too, no ammonia!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not happy

Posted18 March 2013
Customer Avatar
suzyqb2
from manchester
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been colouring my hair for about 20 years, and this has to be one of the worst hair dyes I have ever used. The colour is dull and it has left my hair really dry. the bottle is really difficult to handle when its wet because of its shape. the only good thing about this is the fact it doesn't smell. I will not be using it again.
Advantages: no smell
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good initial colour but all down hill from there!

Posted12 August 2013
Customer Avatar
beckyylouiseee
from Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been dying my hair red for almost 2 years but had never previously tried the Olia product so I thought I would! The initial colour was lovely, made my hair smooth (unlike some other previously tried red dyes), when rinsing, it ran quite a bit and didn't seem to stop but I'd experienced this many times before with other red dyes so it didn't bother me!
HOWEVER, nearly A MONTH after first dying my hair this colour, the running of the dye still hasn't stopped. It still runs every single time I wash my hair which is an absolute pain and obviously it just fades ridiculously quickly. Out of all the red dyes I've tried over the years, this one is definitely the WORST one I have used!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed.

Posted07 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I have long and thick hair and this dye did not work at all! It left my hair all streaky and the dye wouldn't rinse out! Extremely disappointed.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Patchy.

Posted02 January 2013
Customer Avatar
MissNicola
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My hair was already dyed previously and was trying this as a new colour and more importantly to cover my roots. Not impressed at all considering the price tag. Bottle was a pain simply because I was having to squeeze it so hard to get the remaining dye out.. But that wasn't the worst of it. Despite leaving it for the time stated, my roots have barely taken on the colour at all. It's so patchy. I'm really disappointed in this colour and will be definitely going back to using Live colour or similar. Never had such a patchy outcome - despite me making sure I paid particular attention to my roots because they were the ones without colour.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful!!

Posted11 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Peachy7
from Hampshire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used this on already dyed but faded red hair (usually use feria in scarlet power), thought I'd try this as others fade very quickly and this looked a nice vibrant red, followed all the instructions and it came out a very dull washed out red, not entirely different to the colour mine had faded to!! I would not recommend this to anyone, I think I'll take the dying every 4 weeks with the feria one, at least it comes out the colour on the box and shiny!! I haven't washed it yet as only coloured it last night, who knows how much will wash out tomorrow!!
Advantages: easy to use
Disadvantages: everything else
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful!

Posted02 January 2013
Customer Avatar
mynameisHANNAH
It turned my hair a blackish purple not red. My hair was auburn underneath so I don't understand.
I'm not sure how it can claim it improves the quality of hair as my hair was in pretty good condition before, now it feels like straw. Do not buy!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great condition of my hair has drastically improved

Posted02 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I have just used this today and although it has many bad reviews I am very pleased of the outcome, my hair isn't as bright as what is on the box which is why I am not awarding 5 stars. However 2 boxes was enough to cover my long quite thick hair. The condition of my hair after has improved greatly it is so soft and not a tangle in sight. However the water after washing hair quite a dark orange color quite a bit darker than what you get with other hair dyes so I wouldn't recommend using white towels when you dry your hair. However I will definitely be using this product again.
Advantages: soft and untangled hair
Disadvantages: not as bright as on the packaging
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

brilliant hair colour

Posted26 February 2016
Customer Avatar
liann
from Birmingham
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is amazing brilliant coverage loads of colour pigment I was sceptical at first as I had seen some bad reviews but I found this product amazing alot better than some professional colours much richer in colour
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

Posted01 October 2014
Customer Avatar
strangemuffin
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I have been dying my hair at home for years and thought I would give this dye a try. It is nice not to have the horrible smell of ammonia and it is easy to apply.
However this product left my hair in one giant knot (yes I did use the conditioner), it is still knotty now. And it has left my hair dry and dull.
I'm not happy with the colour but the way this has left the condition of my hair upsets me more.
I will not be using this again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Intense Red

Posted08 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Sheffield
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like this dye, it's smell isn't overpowering, it doesn't hurt the skin on your scalp and it is a lovely, bright colour.
It is however a lot brighter than it looks on the box, this suited me fine but just be aware if you are going to try it.
I have at least 40% grey hair and it covered it really well.
I note others have said it has dried out their hair, well I have quite fine hair and it made mine feel lovely and soft, my hairdresser even commented that it felt really healthy.
Yes, it does take quite a few washes to rinse the colour out but just use a dark towel!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Intense red - very disappointing colour

Posted27 September 2013
Customer Avatar
SarahBee1994
from Stoke
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this dye with the intention of turning my mid-brown hair to a bright red. Despite having no ammonia, the packaging convinced me that the dye was strong enough to get my hair reasonably bright. The dye itself was no more easy or difficult to apply than any other dye, yet the 'floral' scent was non-existent. The one positive of the dye was that it was kind and gentle to my scalp and skin. Once I had rinsed the dye from my hair, I could already see that the colour was nowhere as bright as had been pictured on the box. I dried my hair in panic to find it had turned a dark plum colour, nothing at all like I wanted it! Next time I will be buying a hair dye with ammonia, despite the damage it may cause my hair and scalp, as it seems ammonia-free dyes are no way near as effective as ammonia dyes.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

APPAULING PRODUCT

Posted28 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Sops19
Age:18-24
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this dye today, thought it would be the lovely colour on the box the very light blonde how wrong was I, I left it for around 20mins I looked in the mirror It looked brown, washed it and dryed it and my hair is grey I mean like grey grey it's awful, sooo upset and dissappointed in this product and would never ever ever ever use this again !!!!!!
Disadvantages: everything
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad

Posted29 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bournemouth, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was expecting this to be a lot better than it actually was, but I don't think the other reviews do it justice,
Yes, my hair initially felt quite dry after but I woke up the next day and brushed it and it felt the softest it's ever been, and looked quite healthy.
The application was easy, and there definitely was enough to cover all my hair (it's quite think and reaches quite a bit below my shoulders). The dye was really easy and quick to wash out in the shower, too, which made a nice change.
However, my hair isn't as intense as the colour on the box, and it is this which would make me not recommend the product. It is nowhere near as intense as it should be and instead is just a dark, boring red. It's not a horrible colour - just not the one I was expecting.
Advantages: hair feels softer after a couple of days, easy application, smell doesn't choke you to death, easy to wash out the dye
Disadvantages: initially hair feels dry, not as intense as you would think
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not bad not brilliant

Posted24 August 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy666
from manchester
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
i thought i would give this brand a try as the advert showed a lovely red tone to the hair. i am a dark red anyway so this shade was practically the same. the application was messy but smell was lovely unlike my usual brand. however the color result didn't blow me away like the advert. if anything it has taken me to a shade darker than what i was which was disappointing . the shine is nice though and my hair does feel well conditioned. all in all i don't think i will purchase this again but for those who want a more natural shade this range would be ideal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>