Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red

Garnier Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red

Garnier Olia 6.60 Intense Red is part of the first oil-powered home hair colour range, containing a technology breakthrough that conditions and boosts the colouring process.
Average Customer Rating:
2.539 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
23
21 out of 48(44%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Review 1 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!

Posted27 September 2012
Customer Avatar
paulajoxxx
I thought i would give Garnier Olia in Intense Red a try after changing from platinum blonde to red and none of the dyes i tried looking nice, they always looked wishy washy to which everyone commented "its because your hair is so porous you need to cut it". Well cutting it wasnt an option as i have short hair as it is so after nearly giving up snd going brown i saw this and thought i would give it one more shot. Well all i can say is WOW the colour is stunning it looks like i have had it done at a hairdressers so shiny too. I highly recommend this, i for one will not be using anything else EVER xxxx
I would recommend this to a friend!
+65points
69of 73voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Oh dear!

Posted21 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Cwick
from Birmingham
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Oh dear, I had a chin length curly bob and I have very thin hair, I needed two bottles of dye! When it came to using the conditioner I could tell it was poor quality, when it came to brushing my hair this was actually impossible and my partner had to razor the ends of my hair. When we looked at the cut areas my hair was actually 'glued' together. This was on previously undyed hair, and I have never used anything like henna, chemicals for a perm etc.
I was dying natural red hair, when I dried my hair not only was it significantly shorter due to having to cut it, but it was purple, not a hint or purple, but pure purple. All the tubes had the correct numbers on in the box and I did a skin test 48 hours before, but obviously that doesn't reveal that colour you will actually get.
Due to how much this dye has destroyed my hair I have had to have a pixie cut (which looks hideous) and I have to keep this vile purple colour until my hair is healthy enough to take a professional dye.
Disadvantages: destroys your hair
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
suzyqb2
manchester
 
Please wait while more information about suzyqb2 is loaded.
Additional information about suzyqb2 could not be loaded.
Posted 04 April 2013
its ruined my hair completely I've a good mind to write to them.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Olia

Posted18 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Emben
When I first saw this hair dye advertised I was really excited, finally a decent hair dye!! How wrong was i!! My hair is just below my chin and I needed two packs as there isn't enough in the bottle, when it was put on my hair felt awful, after washing off, I couldn't get my hair brush thru my hair as it was matted, when I finally dried it, it felt awful. And the colour is not anything like the box, I was expecting it to be a lovely vibrant red! How wrong was I. Very disappointed
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dizydodle
nottingham
 
Please wait while more information about dizydodle is loaded.
Additional information about dizydodle could not be loaded.
mrs
Posted 09 June 2013
hi tried very light blond did allergy test but no indication of what hair colour would look like, sad to say my hair went from blond to pewter grey, which would have been alright if that was the colour I wanted to go !but it was not!.so sad to say it will have to grow out be for I re-dye, but I will be using another brand . so sad to say unless you WANT TO GO PEWTER GREY I would not recomend
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

APPAULING PRODUCT

Posted28 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Sops19
Age:18-24
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this dye today, thought it would be the lovely colour on the box the very light blonde how wrong was I, I left it for around 20mins I looked in the mirror It looked brown, washed it and dryed it and my hair is grey I mean like grey grey it's awful, sooo upset and dissappointed in this product and would never ever ever ever use this again !!!!!!
Disadvantages: everything
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best red ive ever used!!

Posted30 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie44
This dye is best used on blonde/dark blonde/light brown hair if you want to get the intense red colour. Some reviews have slated this but it's one of the best reds I've used. The mixture is thick but I have shoulder length hair and one pack was just enough. Your better off getting someone to help you apply it in order to get full coverage an avoid patches. I left it on for 40 mins and my hair is now the colour on the box!! There's no nasty smell, it's easy to remove off the skin, and once conditioned my hair was super shiny. Very Happy :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A Mix of Colour

Posted30 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Wales, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have natural blonde hair, which means my roots show very prominently against my dyed brown hair.
I learnt that this dye helps maintain healthy hair and seeing as my hair had been damaged previously, it comforted me to know that I'd be getting a vibrant red with little damage.
The dye itself is a little darker than on the box on my very blonde roots and the rest of my hair has only a hint of red. Without daylight and sun, the rest of my hair looks black. The idea of having different colours on my hair doesn't bother me too much, but it'd annoy some.
This company needs to show a realistic colour of the hair on the box and perhaps include what'd happen to dyed hair.
Advantages: vibrant on natural blonde roots, beautiful floral fragrance, doesn't damage hair
Disadvantages: false claims on the vibrancy of red, darkens dyed hair but leaves a tint
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad

Posted29 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bournemouth, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was expecting this to be a lot better than it actually was, but I don't think the other reviews do it justice,
Yes, my hair initially felt quite dry after but I woke up the next day and brushed it and it felt the softest it's ever been, and looked quite healthy.
The application was easy, and there definitely was enough to cover all my hair (it's quite think and reaches quite a bit below my shoulders). The dye was really easy and quick to wash out in the shower, too, which made a nice change.
However, my hair isn't as intense as the colour on the box, and it is this which would make me not recommend the product. It is nowhere near as intense as it should be and instead is just a dark, boring red. It's not a horrible colour - just not the one I was expecting.
Advantages: hair feels softer after a couple of days, easy application, smell doesn't choke you to death, easy to wash out the dye
Disadvantages: initially hair feels dry, not as intense as you would think
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not that wonderful

Posted04 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Gemzyh
from Ayrshire,Scotland
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this dye on dark brown hair and even though I thought it would be pointless I was surprised when it gave my hair a very intense re tint. It is the same colour as the picture on the box (I think the picture is a bit to unrealistic) When sunlight hits my hair the red shines through and the colour is very noticeable.
Wouldn't recommend if you want Rihanna red but the dye is good on dark hair for a red tint or a subtle red.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointing

Posted05 November 2012
Customer Avatar
HappyG54
from Leiester
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I found this product difficult to apply due to the design of the application bottle which contains too much air and is difficult to hold. The end result is very poor, barely covering the grey and seems to be very patchy. Hair is very dull. The onlly plus is that it smells nice! As I had not tried it before I kept to the instructions religiously. I will not be using it again.
Advantages: none that i can see
Disadvantages: poor result which says it all really!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
suzyqb2
manchester
 
Please wait while more information about suzyqb2 is loaded.
Additional information about suzyqb2 could not be loaded.
Posted 04 April 2013
My hair too feels like straw worst hair colour ive ever used. shocking stuff. The bottle is awfull to hold.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Red

Posted06 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Jules1784
from Fife
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought Olia Intense Red 6.60 sceptically after reading reviews from other users but i am delighted with the product. I have used other Red hair dyes which are similar to this product but they did not bring out as intense a colour as Olia. I have been dying my hair red for many years and have quite thick, dark hair which is long and down to my shoulder blades. Other reviews have stated that 1 pack of the dye will not be enough for hair past the shoulders, i bought 2 packs just incase but had more than enough to cover all of my hair with 1 bottle. The colour is vibrant not quite as bright as on the box but much brighter than similar products. Overall this dye was easy to apply, smelled fruity and washed off with ease. My hair feels in great condition and is super soft and shiny after use. I will definitely be using this product again which is a bonus as i have a spare bottle!
Advantages: smells great, vibrant colour, hair is soft & shiny
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it!

Posted04 November 2012
Customer Avatar
acarnis
Was a bit worried reading the reviews after buying this (intense red) but I had no problems with it at all. I have long hair a few inches past my armpits, one box was enough but my hair is quite fine. I did find it a little hard to massage in because it's quite thick, but there was enough mixture. I wouldn't exactly call it non drip but the applicator bottle was easy to use and the mixture washes off of skin very easily. I did the reapplication and probably left it on longer than I should, about 40-50 mins (oops. It washed off pretty easily and the conditioner is nice. The colour looked very dark at first which I expected as reds are usually very dark at first, but after drying it and seeing it in different lights I am really loving the colour!! Very nice shade and lovely and shiny :). I have dark drown hair that was very slightly highlighted and previously dyed a similar red shade. You can see the different tones showing through already. I hope it lasts ok, if so ill definitely use again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

still coming out

Posted30 November 2012
Customer Avatar
emmilee90
from darwen, lancashire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i saw the advert and bought this product because it said it was nourishing. surprisingly it left my hair really dry and dull. it's now around 5 or 6 weeks since i used it, i wash my hair at least 3 times a week with shampoo and conditioner for coloured hair, and it is STILL coming out when i wash it!!! and its still dull compared to other reds i have used, and i've used quite a few.
Advantages: smells nice, cool applicator bottle
Disadvantages: still coming out when i wash hair 6 weeks later, left hair dull and dry, greasy application
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Intense Red

Posted08 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Sheffield
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like this dye, it's smell isn't overpowering, it doesn't hurt the skin on your scalp and it is a lovely, bright colour.
It is however a lot brighter than it looks on the box, this suited me fine but just be aware if you are going to try it.
I have at least 40% grey hair and it covered it really well.
I note others have said it has dried out their hair, well I have quite fine hair and it made mine feel lovely and soft, my hairdresser even commented that it felt really healthy.
Yes, it does take quite a few washes to rinse the colour out but just use a dark towel!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Some good and bad points...

Posted12 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Lostinmydreams
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was easy to apply, had a nice smell and didn't burn my scalp. The colour was vibrant and looked great but after 2 weeks my hair had almost returned to my natural colour. I have since re-dyed it and the same has happened again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favourite so far

Posted08 January 2013
Customer Avatar
cairo3121
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having used many brands of hair dye over the years i thought i would give this a try. The application in my opinion was very easy, virtually no dripping and no horrible smell of ammonia. I used two bottles as i have long hair and it covered every little bit perfectly. I wrapped my hair in cling film and left the colour on for the recommended time. When washing it out, it ran red for a long time which i expected and after applying the conditioner seem to settle. When my hair was dry i could finally see the colour in all its glory and i must say i am impressed. Glossy hair, good coverage and a lovely shade of red; i will be buying this again!
Advantages: easy application, lovely end result, shinny glossy hair, no dripping, no ammonia
Disadvantages: a little on the expensive side
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great - hair in great condition

Posted10 January 2013
Customer Avatar
remie97
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
okay so before this product i was a hair colouring virgin. it worked absolutely great. i have very dark, very coarse, thick hair. its such a good dye and great to use if its your first time. it smelled great, looked great, and the application was easy.
only complaint was it bled for about a week or two, and colour fades - obviously.
it came out a bit darker than the box, i had to buy two because i have very long hair. but one was plenty!
its also non-damaging
Advantages: smelled great, leaves hair in good condition
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

really disappointed =(

Posted22 January 2013
Customer Avatar
fleurre21
from cheltenham UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
i bought this after the advert promised long lasting, intense colour without the use of bleach, however i am overall very disappointed with this product.
First of all the amount of packaging is disgraceful for the amount of product you get, something which bothers me every time i use it. Secondly there is not nearly enough dye provided- my hair is chin length and fairly thick but one bottle has never been enough which gets very expensive! The dye is an odd texture and tends to mat up my hair making it difficult to spread it around, a problem i have never experienced before (i have naturally dark brown, healthy hair and have been dying red for 10 years). It also takes a while to wash out (luckily my towels and pillowcases are all red by now anyway). The colour was beautiful initially but fades far, far quicker than any other red i've used. I had hoped this would improve with re-application but after 2 months of trying i can't get the results i would expect for the price and always end up ginger within a couple of weeks which has never been an issue with other brands.
I would say this product is good if you are sensitive/allergic to ammonia, and have short or fine hair which doesn't require much washing, however i was extremely disappointed and will be switching back to schwartzkopf live colours ASAP. *sigh* too good to be true.
Advantages: nice initial colour, true to box colour
Disadvantages: far too much packaging, not enough dye included, weird consistency, bleeds constantly, fades almost immediately, expensive
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Coverage. Amazing colour!

Posted05 November 2012
Customer Avatar
MarieMumofTwoGirls
from Dorset
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used this product yesterday. Fantastic colour and definitely an INTENSE red. I have dark brown hair and the red took really well to my dark locks. A few patches, but I imagine that's down to me as I did it myself with no help. Always worth getting someone to give you a hand when colouring at home. Overall very pleased with this hair colour.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nice colour

Posted05 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i dye my hair red all the time, i was using loreal feria P37 plum power which faded badly after just 2 washes so wanted to find something else that lasts abit longer.....
application was ok, didnt drip, i have chin length fine hair, but still didnt seem to be enough die, was very thick dye.
washing out didnt take aslong as other dyes though some of my hair fell out which i havent had happen before
colour was lovely, matched the box
hopefully it wont fade so quick
Advantages: smelt nice, easy to wash off
Disadvantages: not enough dye, made some of my hair fall out
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garnier Olia Permanent Hair Colour 6.60 Intense Red
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not use if you like your hair to all be the same colour!

Posted28 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The product was very difficult to apply and spread throught the hair. My hair is just past my shoulders and medium to fine in texture, there was not nearly enough dye to cover the lengths of my hair. As a result I have ended up with the first inch of root hair bight red and the rest of it the same chocolate brown I began with! Not a good look.
Have always used (and would highly recommend) Live colour xl and thats what ill be buying to cover up this mess tomorrow.
Advantages: smells nice
Disadvantages: does not work!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>