Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38

LOreal L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38

Introducing new Violet Vendetta from Féria. Transform yourself with one-of-a-kind vibrant colour. Fade defiant technology locks in ultra-intense, stand-out colour for weeks.
Average Customer Rating:
1.909 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
6
3 out of 10(30%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38
Review 1 for L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

How can L'Oreal sell this?!!

Posted02 December 2012
Customer Avatar
from Dorset
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have just dyed my hair and i'm bitterly disappointed with the result. My dark hair is almost waist length and very dark brown to my shoulders but medium dark brown from shoulders to ends (i used a colour remover to create a subtle ombre effect without dying about 8 weeks ago so it was the natural colour from sun lightening.
I wanted to do something a little different and opted for purple rather than red. I had searched for a true deep purple without red in it and this colour was one of the few on the market that ticked all the boxes but after using i am so disappointed, the colour is virtually black and on the odd areas where you can see a hint of colour in the sun it is a burgundy red shade. I have used colour removers in the past to ensure that my hair never goes black as the harsh tones just don't suit me.
This has done such a poor job on all counts i can't believe they are able to sell it, as the previous reviewer showed the colour is not purple at all! To add insult to injury the odd greys that i have on my temples are only partially covered. Not only have i wasted £9 (on offer) but I have also wasted time and i will now have to remove the colour with 2 packs of colour remover (£10 each). Having used L'oreal products for years i feel really let down.
I was expecting a much darker purple shade to my shoulders and i slightly more obvious purple like that on the packet through to my ends but my hair is really really dark all over :(
Advantages: easy application
Disadvantages: colour doesn't resemble packet in any way, hair is not as shiny as expected even with booster, hair feels dry, hair is saturated with product and too dark
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No sign of purple...

Posted24 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I brought this hair dye along with the blondes shade in the same Feria range, mainly because I was looking for anything that could cover up my streaky dark brown hair, and the purple looked lovely on the box.
I know it say's in the instructions for use on hair that hadn't been dyed on before or within the past three months. But, I bleached it before (which went a lovely shade of ginger) although it said the dark brown hair would go a dark purple, but I hoped it would come up a bit brighter.
However, after I dyed it, it's turned out to be more of a burgandy colour and does look dark red. It is a nice colour and it doesn't look awful, but also according to the other reviews, don't even hope for any shade of purple in there. I've only washed my hair once, so I'm not sure what colour it would fade to.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ok if you want muddy pink hair

Posted13 May 2013
Customer Avatar
from dorset, uk
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Doesn't look anything like the colour on the box, not even purple....its a muddy pink colour, don't waste your money on it
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

Posted02 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gave great coverage and no dye left on scaple afterwards
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

About as purple as a baboon's behind.

Posted17 December 2012
Customer Avatar
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
As with others I am highly disappointed with this product. Having used other colours in the Feria range I ofcourse had high hopes for Violet Vendetta, as I had always been pleased with other colours in the past and have never been let down.
Seduced by the colour swatches on the box and the impressive purple hair of the model on the front I thought it was time for a change from the norm. I went one step further and used Decolour Hair Colour Stripper beforehand, as it is safe to colour straight after stripping your hair with this product and I thought it might help the colour be just that little more vibrant. I don't often write to companies to let them know if I have been let down by their product but in this case I felt the need to and was told "We provide pictures and colour guides on our packaging to help our consumers to see what the expected final colour result is likely to be. It is possible that the base colour of your hair was darker than you perceived it to be, which meant the colour result you achieved was not what you expected". Well I can safely say that I definitely did not expect it to turn out pretty much black with a slight hint of reddy/purpleness. To be fair it is a nice colour if that was what I was aiming for but it wasn't what I had in mind.
If you are wanting a nice, vibrant purple hair colour I would definitely not pick this up off the shelf as you will be sorely disappointed. I wish I had read reviews beforehand, but having had nothing but a good experience with previous colours I didn't feel the need to check up on this one. As this leaves hair pretty dark it will take time to get it back to how you may want it, as it has left my hair pretty close to black and other than stripping the colour out you may have a long wait for this to grow out. They always say 'Never judge a book by it's cover'. I think the same should go for this particular hair product - don't be seduced by the picture on the front thinking your hair will end up as nice as the model on the front... because it really won't I'm afraid.
Advantages: easy application, doesn't dry out hair
Disadvantages: not the expected colour
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lovely

Posted07 January 2013
Customer Avatar
I personally love this dye and my friends said it looks great but the other reviews do have a veeery valid point. The colour on the box is completely wrong-you'd only be able to achieve that purple if your current hair is very light blonde, i think.
I have dark brown hair so my end result is a lovely, black-ish/purple ( the purple is most obvious when theres a light above you!) and the condition of my hair is great too-its glossy and soft.
All in all, if you are looking for a subtle change from dark hair this might be a good choice! The only reason i'm giving it 4 * is because it doesnt match the photo so is misleading.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

would not recommend

Posted08 July 2013
Customer Avatar
from redditch
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
my hair is dark brown & after using this product my hair just looks black with a slight tint of purple on the roots. doesn't look anything like the colour on the box. really disappointed. will use a different brand next time.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Probably ok if you have virgin hair !

Posted11 November 2012
Customer Avatar
from South East UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Well I have used pretty much every hair dye under the sun ! So I know exactly what Im doing. My hair before using this was a dark brown with purple as I had been using Live XXL Cyber purple before this, so I didnt expect this to make a huge difference anyway, just top up the colour. Thought Id give it a go as Feria is usually pretty good from my previous experience and the model had really pretty purple hair on the front of the box, and on the swatches on the back it went right down to darkest brown and that it would still give a vibrant result.
Well I followed instructions as per usual, I found that there was plenty of dye in the bottle for my hair which is just below shoulder length, if not too much ! My hair was sodden when I had used it all which makes a change from having to make sure I have got everything as you normally dont get much solution. I always think hairdye smells nice anyway so this smelt nice to me haha.
I washed it out, dried it, and was very disappointed to see that it was black with just a very slight tinge of purple at my roots. Now from previous experience, I know that usually when you first dye your hair it is a lot darker than on the box, and you need to give it a week and wash it every day to get the proper colour to come out, so I did this, but it has been a week and it is still black, but the purple has washed out now so I just have black hair with reddy looking roots !
I also found this made my hair extremely dried out and I had to deep condition my hair every day for 2 weeks afterwards to get it at least shiny and soft again.
Very disappointed as I havent had a bad experience with Feria before but this was awful, I know my hair was not virgin hair so this may be why, so if you have not dyed your hair previously this dye would probably work really well for you, but for anyone looking to buy this who HAS dyed their hair, and is hoping for a vibrant purple, do not waste your money or time as it will only come out black and leave you with dull dry hair and very disappointed.
If you want a nice vibrant permanent light purple I would recommend Schwarzkopf Live XXL in Cyber purple, as this is what I had been using before I tried this and even on my dyed dark brown hair it still gave it a really vibrant pinky purple tinge, especially in the light, and even more so when it had washed out a little.
Now Im going to have to get some more colour B4 to get this black out !
Advantages: lots of solution, smells nice, would probably work on virgin un-dyed hair
Disadvantages: leaves hair very dry and dull, end result black with red roots not purple !, will have to strip to get the black out
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gaalea
 
Please wait while more information about Gaalea is loaded.
Additional information about Gaalea could not be loaded.
I HAD virgin hair
Posted 22 September 2013
I just tried this color a day ago. It looked nice so I wanted to make ombre hair with it. I had slightly darker brown hair then the one shown on the packaging. I had the color in my hair for around 15 min, maybe even less and my hair became black ... so I bought another one to dye my whole head. The second time was even worst. It came out dark red and I had it in my hair for 30 min like it says in the description. So it is also not good for virgin hair.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst hair dye i have ever used.

Posted07 August 2013
Customer Avatar
from Liverpool
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been dying my hair for many years now, and this is the worst product i have ever used. The dye was easy apply but after rinsing the dye off and drying my hair i was left with patches of purple and it had just darkened my original colour of light brown. Even though this dye was permanent it washed out after two washes which i was relived about after the state my hair was left in after dying it.
I expected more from L'Oreal, i strongly recommend using a different brand.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please do not buy

Posted08 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It is a shame that I did not see the reviews for this product before I purchased it because it is absolutely terrible. I have naturally medium brown hair and I wanted something fun for a change so I thought this violet would be perfect especially since it did not seem to require any pre bleaching because on the box even the darkest shade supposibly looked vibrant purple. It is a lie. My hair does not even resemble any kind of purple. It is nearly black with the tiniest hint of dark red in the sun. I am extremely disappointed and angry that I now have to spend additional money to attempt to lighten or remove this color. Just terrible.
Advantages: condition of hair was not too damaged after
Disadvantages: everything else
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Feria Violet Vendetta Hair Dye P38
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the clour on the box!

Posted08 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Picked out this colour because on the box it showed a bright purple and it also said it worked on darker/brown hair. My hair was light to medium brown and now it has gone reddish purpley black. I happen to love the colour its gone and if you are looking for a purpley black, go for it, but if you want the bright purple on the box, be cautious!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.