Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01

LOreal L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01

Introducing new Extreme Platinum Power from Féria. Transform yourself into a statement blonde with Féria Extreme Platinum power, with up to 8 levels of lift. Protect against brassiness and with our brass-Defy conditioner.
Average Customer Rating:
2.783 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
6
10 out of 22(45%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Review 1 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BRILLIANT! LOVE THE SHADE AND EASY TO APPLY!

Posted13 November 2012
Customer Avatar
SilverSapphire1
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was thrilled with this product. For a start, the consistancy of the mixture is thick, making it much easier to apply ( I always mix in a bowl and use a colouring brush to apply. Best way to do it for pro results.)
I used it to do my roots only and it lightened them up to match my pre-coloured platinum shade perfectly. The colour was a lovely light, neutral platinum result. The conditioner/toner finishes off the process perfectly and my hair condition feels great. Just to mention that my natural hair colour is dark blonde).
Always do a strand test though!!!! We all have different hair so the result will be different on everyone. This colour was just perfect for my hair. The shade is a lovely and fashionable platinum and my hair looks more of a natural very pale blonde instead of a damaged bleached look. No brassy tones and very Sucker Punch heroine(the movie)
This will be my colour of choice from now on. DON'T STOP SELLING IT!!!! :-)
Advantages: great colour, easy to apply, fantastic toner conditioner included
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Edinburgh
I don't know
Posted 07 September 2014
I haven't tried this and I know this is for people who have tried this but I just need to know does it work on like dark blonde or just kinda in the middle just write a comment telling me thx bye
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Stay Clear!

Posted01 June 2013
Customer Avatar
sallensa
Over the years my hair has been every colour under the sun and iv had my fair share of disasters. Yesterday my hair was black so i used Colour B4 extra strength, this left my hair a nice strawberry blonde. I usually dont do strand tests but something told me i should with this product...thank god i listened to my gut!! This product left my hair bright orange! I used to toner on the strand too an the orange would not budge! Unless you have "virgin hair" or light blonde steer clear of this product! On the up side it didnt smell too bad and didnt damage my hair :-)
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product is brilliant

Posted30 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from belfast
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have always wanted the white blonde look for ages now and i recently went from red to blonde i stripped my hair and put ash blonde at the start it was yellow and brassy and then i used this product and it does exactly what it says my hair is the same colour on the box but my hair is shoulder length and i have to use 3 boxes but its brilliant i also wear extensions and my hair and extensions are both the same colour as on the box i will be sticking to this product its amazing!!
Disadvantages: having to use 3 boxes
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted11 October 2012
Customer Avatar
jadedeboer
This hair dye is so much better than bleach leaves your hair the colour it's says on the box my hair was already blonde but I wanted platinum my hair now is white platinum I did not even need a toner I normally pay £50 for my hair in the salon and its saved me £40 and I've got the colour I wanted would deffo recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+38points
39of 40voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for dark hair

Posted13 October 2012
Customer Avatar
AmyTriptyline
from Stonehouse, Glos
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have naturally really dark hair and this product does not ruin your hair at all. I have to pre-lighten my hair with 40 vol bleach and then used this to lift it out of the yellow to platinum and it works beautifully. It smells lovely, not like the Live Colour XXL 00A which is so strong it made my eyes water and all my cats refuse to come in the house! It doesn't burn your head or sting, either. Well done to Feria for making this dye, it's brilliant and I'll be getting it again to do my roots. The Hi Shine Shot adds to the overall good condition of the hair after use.
Advantages: the scent, ease of application, levels of lift
Disadvantages: bottle could be a bit bigger
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
22of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Awful

Posted14 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Abii3
I bought this product to lighten my medium blonde hair and could not have been more disappointed. The box says that it 'won't leave hair feeling wrecked or ravaged' but my hair is now dry and extremely breakable, it was in brilliant condition before. Not only that, the actual dye is very thick and i struggled to cover my shoulder length hair even with two boxes. My hair ended up a pale orangey-yellow on the lengths and pink on top. Pink ! I don't even know how that's possible. I had to use my usual choice of Schwarzkopf Live XXL to sort out the horrendous mess which this product made of my hair. I will be staying well clear of this rubbish in future. Really not impressed.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
21of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

feria platinum extreme this product best one i have used

Posted12 August 2013
Customer Avatar
pammullinex
Age:Over 65
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
been colouring my hair for a few yrs now ok but aleays a bit yellowy tried this product was amazed how good it worked no yellow perfect colour even roots went blonde from brown just a bit thick to come out of bottle but overall very pleased liked it that much went and bought 4 more to make sure shop don't run out of it will be using this product for next few yrs
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as good as I expected

Posted16 July 2013
Customer Avatar
2blond
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
I had already very light hair, even then I did not get white hair and left with quite yellow shade. I can tell that on my dark roots it did a quite good job to highlight but on hair lengths not. I will have to color again with something.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy with this product!

Posted17 November 2013
Customer Avatar
rachel858
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am disserpointed with this product. I followed the instructions after reading carefully, however the application was very difficult.
It wasn't made for easy application, the mixture was so thick that it did not come out of the nozzle easily. I ended up having to cut the bottle open in order to get to the dye.
secondly there is not enough mixture for my hair, I applied all the dye as per the instructions but I have now being left with more orange than blonde hair. I have blonde to light brown hair anyway so this should not of happened. I now have to go and purchase a second pack in order to dye it again and hope this turns my hair the desired colour. I am not happy with this. It does not state anywhere on the box or instructions that two boxes may be needed. my hair is just past my shoulders and it is not particularly thick.
Overall I am not happy with this product, I expected a much higher standard. If I knew I would need two boxes I would never have purchased the first and turned my hair orange!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

If you're going to use it use atleast 3 boxes

Posted07 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicegrace2309
I had been reading up alot about this product before using because it just sounds to good to be true. I had virgin hair and id say it was a light mousy brown, the kind of brown you get when you grow older after having blonde hair. I bought 3 boxes of this hair dye. The first box I did just made my hair very yellow.. Patchy and yellow the mixture Doesn't feel nice against the plastic gloves and your hair, so you don't know how much mixture is on your hair.. Plus my roots were a different colour even after following all the instructions correctly, plus when I mixed it I had to use an original hair dye bowl and colouring brush. I attempted the second box it made my hair lighter but still very brassed by this point my hair felt so dry compared to my hair previously but still I did the third box and finally some results, my hair is now very blonde!.. Bit yellow.. But blonde and I'm now going to put a more gentle colour on top to get rid of the brass :) best of luck but honestly if you're going to use it by at least 2 boxes for back up.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Extreme platinum? More like extreme damage!!

Posted15 December 2012
Customer Avatar
empris85
Product was very thick after mixing which made applying with the nozzle difficult (I couldnt find my brush!!) anyhoo my hair was already a light blonde and I just wanted to touch up the roots and lighten rest of hair. I did achieve a semi platinum colour but this product has dried out my hair like straw!!! I have never dyed my hair and had it feel this awful before! Usually its lovely and soft. Had to do some extreme conditioning to repair! Won't be using this product ever again!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Longer hair will need three boxes

Posted20 August 2013
Customer Avatar
Hefzi
from Liverpool
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
This is a good product to lighten hair that is already light blonde or platinum, but, as ever, don't fall into the trap of believing the box that indicates (as so many platinum dyes) it will leave light brown hair a shiny platinum!
I have been steadily lightening my hair to remove a very dark dye I had, and I found this was very good for helping to remove the inevitable gingery tones. It left the area at my roots very shiny and beautifully platinum, and lightened the other areas of my hair considerably. However, I did find it extremely drying, despite the oil you add to the product, and even with two packets, there was insufficient to cover my shoulder length thick hair. I was surprised by this - ordinarily, two boxes are plenty.
It's a good product, but not brilliant -and because of the need to buy three packs, I wouldn't buy this again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible!

Posted23 March 2014
Customer Avatar
6330356000009082491
Bought this after my hairdresser made a mess of my hair! I was working to gradually get it platinum blonde and after several attempts I gave up after it turned yellow! This product however finally got my hair white blonde and it goes exactly the colour it said on the box! Hairs in great condition and I will definitely be using it again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

most useless color ever

Posted25 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Silence
from london
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i tried this platinum blonde wanting to cover my ugly ginger bleached hair..my roots were light brown...the application was very hard because the texture felt very powdery...also the color needs to be applied first on the length and end of the hair and then on the roots...i left it to develop 25 min for the length and 25 for the roots...my hair are UNCHANGED...im so disappointed ,i didnt even get to blonde...or lightened the roots i cannot believe this!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good!

Posted14 December 2013
Customer Avatar
mollaehilly
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have medium/ long hair that is quite thick. I am a natural blonde with a few highlights. I used this product and it immediately lifted my hair colour. I would recommend 2 boxes for anyone with similar hair type, and I will repeat it again with 2 boxes to achieve that pure platinum look. Great easy to use product. Just make sure you have some 'Lee Stafford Bleach Blondes' shampoo to use afterwards as this is also great for getting rid of that canary yellow look.
I will be sticking with this product as it's easy and a lot cheaper than a hairdressers!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

Posted08 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Princessgreg
My hair was at dark blonde and still is, wouldn't recommend at all
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only works on browns/blondes.

Posted01 March 2013
Customer Avatar
charrcoal
from manchester
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've been slowly stripping colour out of my hair, going from darkest black/blue to an auburn colour over the last two months using non-harsh stripping products. I'd gotten to a medium auburn colour and figured this would lighten my hair to a yellowy colour given that medium/dark brown was said to go platinum with this product. Sadly, it made my roots (which were my natural colour, a honey blonde) WHITE. And the rest of my hair bright, Hayley Williams ginger. After a wash it faded to a blondey ginger, which I hate but it is closer to the blonde I suppose. I likely can't argue it's a bad product as it gives no insight as to it's effects on reds so it was my own personal gamble, however it can't be that great a lightener if it only took me two shades lighter when it claims to lighten by 8.
Disadvantages: not for reds, left hair dry, needed three lots
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good

Posted26 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Tasha189
Lightened my roots slightly but did absolutely nothing to my hair other than damage it. Such a waste of money!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not use!

Posted20 June 2014
Customer Avatar
rebeckaay94
from Leeds, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Never
I have fairly light blonde hair anyway and just needed a root touch up. I have always wanted a white blonde look to my hair and thought using this would create that look. How wrong was I?! The gloopy, thick dye barely covered half my hair so the results are patchy. My roots have all taken to the colour which would be a positive if my hair wasn't now bright yellow! So disappointed with this product as the toners and the regular Loreal Preference range works so well on my hair. My hair also now feels really damaged and every time I brush it, it has gotten all matted and knotted without me even moving. Awful, awful hair dye that ruins your hair and leaves such a bad colouring. I would suggest using Loreal's other ranges in future.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Feria Extreme Platinum Power Hair Dye L01
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only good if you have virgin hair or hair that is not coloured or highlighted

Posted10 November 2012
Customer Avatar
zoeadele
from swansea
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I went to my hairdressers the other week as I wanted to go blonde. I am naturally a medium brown colour. My hairdresser stripped my hair and gave me a full head of highlights and painted in between them with a slightly darker base to tone down the ginger. I then at home decided that it was far more ginger and not nice on my skin tone. I saw this in boots and thought it would be a good step to get an even colour that was more blonde. I even bought the manic panic snow white semi toner/mixer to use afterwards. I prepared the mixture correctly and found that when I was applying it it was so thick it was clogging the nozzle. I left it on for the max of 45 mins and my roots were pale & the rest bright yellow with large bright ginger patches. I used the toner on my head afterwards with heat for an hour and it was still just as bad and really bright and uneven and the toner is usually fantastic!. Its not as if I haven't been blonde before. I am booked in the hairdressers on tues (4 days away :-( ) and am wearing a hat until then. I might consider buying another box but of the stronger one to touch up the especially bright ginger patches and try and even out the colour to more of a pale yellow to make the job easier for my hairdresser and cheaper for me on the day.
Advantages: good for root touch ups, good for virgin hair, smells nice
Disadvantages: not suitable for highlighted hair, not good for colour build up, mixture doesnt come out easily, uneaven result on previously coloured hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jessssssssssssssssssssss
 
Please wait while more information about jessssssssssssssssssssss is loaded.
Additional information about jessssssssssssssssssssss could not be loaded.
THE BEST LIGHTENING PRODUCT I'VE EVER USED
Posted 15 November 2012
Having used Feria Platinum last night i am absoloutley amazed at the result!
The whole experience was great, the insturction were clear and it really made my hair platinum! Loved that it didnt have ammonia in it because it meant it didnt smell bad like other products i have used before.
Results at the end were amazing, i am really really happy with it. I would highly reccomend this product and i certainly shall never be using another brand again. Thanks FERIA!!! :)
Jess
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1 2 next>>