Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye

LOreal L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye

Introducing new Extreme Platinum from Préférence. Reveal your inner blonde goddess with our new generation of supreme lightening technology, with up to 8 levels of lift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.027 / 5
3
 / 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
15
19 out of 36(53%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Review 1 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Even after leaving the product on for 10 minutes over the max time, my hair was still yellow

Posted31 March 2013
Customer Avatar
from Devon, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have naturally dark blonde hair and have coloured my hair an ash blonde for several years now.
I thought I would try a platinum colour and I wanted to use a brand I trusted to ensure it went fine. The packet did say that even brown hair could go platinum and so I thought I would have no problems.
The instructions said not leave the colour on for longer than 45 minutes however I noticed it was still very yellow at 45 minutes and so I left it on for ten more minutes but it was still very yellow even after all that time.
The "brass defy" conditioner is just a purple tone conditioner which normally would be good for toning out yellow but didn't really make a difference due to how yellow the dye came out. I had also used a purple shampoo to try and calm the yellow down but that didn't work either!
It is a massive shame as the colour looked stunning and I've always used L'oreal hair colours. However, I would NOT recommend anyone use this product. So disappointing!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY IT

Posted31 March 2013
Customer Avatar
They should ban this product!!! I now have canary yellow hair - please please DO NOT buy this - your crowning glory will not be platinum but yellow/orange....... It's disgraceful don't waste your money
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Think I need another application

Posted07 March 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wigan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ok so as a child I was naturally platinum blonde, in my teens I went ashy which went dull. My usual dye is the pearl blonde. My roots are an ashy blonde colour. Put this all over....doesn't lift great I did have some platinum elements to my hair but a lot of yellow. It was patchy in places but this was due to my application technique. In my experience you can usually only tell the real colour after your first wash which usually washes a bit lighter. I think I will need another application which I'm confident will lift it and get rid of any yellowy tones. This will not lift brown hair, it won't, and if you are already light I think you may need more than one application. Long or thick hair will require more than one box of product and the thick mixture makes it hard to mix in the bottle. My advice is buy a mixing bowl and brush to mix, the bottle is useless the product is too thick. Ok product overall if your lifting light hair WONT lift brown or dark hair so don't attempt, it struggled with my ashy blonde hair which will need another application. On the plus side it was not over drying and didn't have a strong smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product I've tried.

Posted25 October 2012
Customer Avatar
from South Wales
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been colouring my hair for over 40 years. In recent years I've been going to various salons. I've recently been having my hair coloured with a mobile stylist but was still disappointed that the lift wasn't great on my roots and they remained darker than the ends. I tried this product this evening and it is amazing! I should have combed it right through because the bottom is very slightly darker than my roots but it's dried fine. I will certainly be using this from now on. It's better than a salon. Fantastic.
Advantages: fantastic coverage.
Disadvantages: hairline is stinging very slightly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LIFE SAVER.

Posted03 April 2014
Customer Avatar
natural hair colour: dark brown
colour previous to first stripping: copper (7.44)
i had my hair stripped with 30vol on tuesday and again on the wednesday. unfortunately, it didn't turn out platinum but a pale yellow colour with a more brown and pale orangey colour at the ends. i bought this hoping it would even it out and lift my hair as pale yellow as possible as toner wasn't helping. it worked! my application wasn't great and i found the dye quite drying. remember i was applying at the bottom first and then moving upwards every 15 minutes, so this was difficult and i had to brush my hair a lot with a wide tooth comb but this didn't damage my hair.
of course, this dye could be better in that sense, but it did help me a lot.
i'm not yet platinum blonde but i am a very pale blonde and i will be using my purple/white directions toner to correct this soon! my hair isnt in bad condition at all yet either. it feels a little dry (as expected) but not falling out or splitting or wirey.
thank you so much loreal for saving me from my embarrassment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best product for achieving a platinum look at home.

Posted21 September 2013
Customer Avatar
from Perth, Scotland
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Uses Product:A few times per year
I am surprised that this hair dye has such a low rating. As a veteran blonde-hair-dyer I have tried nearly all the 'platinum' dyes out there, and this one is by far one of the best box dyes I have used.
It doesn't quite give you the white-look that the picture on the box claims, but of course that picture will have been edited to perfection, so it's unrealistic to think that your hair will end up looking like the model's. It does NOT, I repeat NOT give you yellow hair though - it is the closest shade to platinum that you could expect from a shop bought dye.
For the people who have said that they have been left with yellow hair, they have probably tried to dye over previously dyed hair that is too dark to lighten fully with a one-off use of this dye. If you want to dye straight over your natural hair, or are going for a root touch up, then I'd completely recommend this product.
This dye, coupled with a purple shampoo, is definitely the way to go if you want to achieve a platinum look at home. Boots sell a very reasonably priced purple shampoo (around £3), called Touch of Silver, and it is one of the best toning shampoos I have ever used. Don't waste your money on all those ridiculously priced toners and shampoos!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful product, does not do what it says on the box !!!!!

Posted28 June 2014
Customer Avatar
from Anglesey
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
As my hair is getting greyer by the day I decided to give this a go to try and get an all over platinum colour, well what a mistake! Having applied the thick cream to my hair exactly as per the instructions and left it on for 45 minutes max as advised, my hair turned out an awful orangey yellow colour, the so called toning conditioner is a total waste of time, just a purple coloured cream. This is the worst bad hair day in all my life (and I've had a few!). BE WARNED, this will not make you hair platinum but more like a cheap and tacky brassy blonde. I would definately not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extreme platinum loreal preference

Posted13 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Brilliant hair dye turned my fairly light blonde hair to a bright white platinum colour with no brassy tones.my hair didn't feel over processed either. Really happy with results and would highly recommend and use again! This sort of colour you can only get by going to a salon so pleased I have found this brilliant hair dye !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
29of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best blonde dye ive used

Posted23 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have been waiting for a dye like this for a long time without going to salon's for the white hair look but this certainly does what it says on the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT PLATNIUM BLONDE!!

Posted07 November 2012
Customer Avatar
from Birmingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I saw this product and its reviews and thought WOW il give it a try, worst mistake my once ashy light blonde hair is now GOLD/YELLOW blonde!!! The only plus side is that all roots have completely vanished. The application itself isnt great as the powder gets stuck in the nosil and doesnt mix properly with the rest of the dye which is disapointing considering its not the cheapest brand out there. Iv also noticed slight patches in my hair. Its fine if you want cheap looking brassy blonde hair but if like me your hoping for a very light ASHY blonde hair then this is not for you!!
Advantages: strong dye, no roots
Disadvantages: brassy, powdery, nosil gets clogged
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant Stuff!

Posted17 June 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kirkcaldy
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
I've finally found a hair dye that matches my platinum roots without doing too much damage to my hair. It did make it a little dry but nothing that can't be rectified with a good conditioner. Will definiyely be buying again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Yellow hair, stick with your usual colour!

Posted07 November 2012
Customer Avatar
from Torquay
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was very excited when I saw this new colour. I have been using Preference Blondissimes 01 Lightest natural blonde for years and have always been pleased with the results, but have never been able to get that beautiful "white blonde" colour, so I thought this would be brilliant. Pros- It does not smell as bad as some hair colours and it didn`t sting.Cons-It was very thick and tricky to use. It left my hair very dry and worse of all instead of having lots of lovely pale shades of blonde it was a horrible flat yellow colour, even after using the conditioner.MORE yellow than before I coloured it! I thought I would just be able to wait a couple of weeks and colour over it with the Blondissimes I used to use but apparently I can`t use that over it, so I don`t know what to do now.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the best product but brassiness from the product can easily be fixed.

Posted02 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product on a whim after getting bored of waiting to go back to college to get my roots touched up and all over toned. (I'm a level 3 hairdressing student). To get an idea I was a light pale blonde to start with and wanted to be a lighter more ashy blonde. I was going to use this product to lighten my hair about 2 levels before going over it with an ash toner. Now the product says lightening so i'll presume it's just a basic bleach mix. I applied the product all over the hair with great precision yet not all my hair was covered. I was left with lots of patches underneath and some near my fringe which were still left untouched. So the next day I went and bought the same product again to cover the missed parts. This time I used a tint brush and still found it hard to make the product go all the way (even though i was only touching up my missed roots). I left it on for the specified time and noticed my hair had gone yellow, again. Luckily I had bought some silver/purple shampoo and used that on my hair. I left it on about 5 minutes and now all the brassiness has gone! Can't believe it went that easy so yes the product doesn't do what it says but it is a bleach and if you've ever used bleach before you will know it usually goes yellow. Using the silver shampoo is just like a weaker toner that you would usually put on after bleach anyway. So if you're using this product to lighten your hair i'd say it has quite a few pro's but prepare to use a toner, shampoo or even another colour after.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Steer well clear!!

Posted02 January 2013
Customer Avatar
I wish I'd read the reviews before buying.I bought 2 bottles to dye my daughters's light brown hair. It's now ruined. Patchy awful shades of yellow, orange and paler yellow throughout her head ever after being left on for the full 45 mins. Looks terrible.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent colour

Posted01 April 2013
Customer Avatar
from Glasgow
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I have read through a lot of these reviews and can honestly say I'm shocked that so many people don't like it!
I have dark blonde hair naturally and apply this straight onto my hair and it turns it white platinum without me having to do anything extra to it! Absolutely love it, the best platinum hair dye I've ever used (and I've tried out a few).
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nowhere near Platinum

Posted23 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a platinum blonde heavily reliant on bleach I was pretty eager to give this a try. Oh yes, it's a nice dye but it's NOT platinum. I now have platinum hair with ginger roots - nice! My natural hair isn't even that dark. Product wise, brilliant - hair is soft and in very good condition, application wise - difficult (the bottle got clogged easily), colour wise - not what it said on the tin. Give this one a miss.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not recomended

Posted01 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had used the pearl shade of this product before which was fine so opted for light pearl which left my roots with a really orange tone. I then re-dyed with the platinum due to its claim that its suitable for most hair colours and will not cause brassiness. Due to the lightening powder used it doesn't spread well through the hair and leaves it patchy. On rinsing the dye it was extremely yellow so I used a purple shampoo (10mins) to no affect. The following day I used a blue toner (20mins) which helped the colour slightly but highlights how patchy it is. Wish I had read these reviews before buying, I'm really disappointed with the product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This actually worked for me

Posted19 January 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cardiff, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After using Live XXL and turning my hair bright yellow, I tried this. My hair had been toned down at a hairdressers so it was an ashy blonde, and my natural hair is a dark blonde.
The hair dye is a little difficult to spread over the hair as others have said, but it does smell nice and didn't make my eyes sting, compared to the Live XXL which made my head burn. I had to use two boxes as my hair is long.
The colour turned out to be a very light blonde. It was slightly yellow, but I put some Touch of Silver purple shampoo on it for 10 mins and it took the brassiness out. Overall I was very pleased. Slightly yellow is to be expected to be honest, you can't really expect a box dye to turn your hair from brown to completely platinum in one step. I have used this product several times on my dark roots and it has brought it up really light, almost white. The purple conditioner that comes with it is good too. My hair feels very nourished and soft afterwards.
I recommend using the Touch of Silver shampoo weekly to keep the brassiness away. There is also an every day shampoo and conditioner by the same brand that you can get for very cheap. I have added the links below in the related products section.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rubbish!! Very misleading

Posted23 November 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bristol
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I usually bleach my roots with 9% and then apply Stockholm 10.21 as a toner for 10 mins, to get the exact colour on the box. I seen this dye and thought it may stop me needing to pre bleach and will do it all in one? I was very wrong, it's brassy and patchy so I now need to go and buy another dye to tone. Definitely not platinum and my roots are not dark by any means naturally, a very light brown if that. Avoid like the plague!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst I have ever used

Posted28 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When it comes to colouring and bleaching my hair I am pretty experienced at it. After taking my hair to level 10 (lightest blonde) I saw this and desperately wanted it to work as I have always wanted to be true platinum. I followed the instructions to the letter but the mixture is so extremely thick that I just couldnt get it through my hair. I would apply it to a very thin section at a time but even that didnt work to cover the strands. A whole box did less than 1/5 of my hair. In the end, after trying to get it on for at least what must have been 30 minutes I gave up and just washed it out. It also had not changed the colour at all.
Half the problem I think is that the instructions say to apply it to dry hair - its impossible! Even 5 boxes would have struggled to cover all my hair properly. Waste of money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>