Boots Ratings and Reviews
Gok
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye

LOreal L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye

Introducing new Extreme Platinum from Préférence. Reveal your inner blonde goddess with our new generation of supreme lightening technology, with up to 8 levels of lift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.051 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
15
20 out of 38(53%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Review 1 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This actually worked for me

Posted19 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Cardiff, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After using Live XXL and turning my hair bright yellow, I tried this. My hair had been toned down at a hairdressers so it was an ashy blonde, and my natural hair is a dark blonde.
The hair dye is a little difficult to spread over the hair as others have said, but it does smell nice and didn't make my eyes sting, compared to the Live XXL which made my head burn. I had to use two boxes as my hair is long.
The colour turned out to be a very light blonde. It was slightly yellow, but I put some Touch of Silver purple shampoo on it for 10 mins and it took the brassiness out. Overall I was very pleased. Slightly yellow is to be expected to be honest, you can't really expect a box dye to turn your hair from brown to completely platinum in one step. I have used this product several times on my dark roots and it has brought it up really light, almost white. The purple conditioner that comes with it is good too. My hair feels very nourished and soft afterwards.
I recommend using the Touch of Silver shampoo weekly to keep the brassiness away. There is also an every day shampoo and conditioner by the same brand that you can get for very cheap. I have added the links below in the related products section.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

Posted02 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie19122
from Preston, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was already a white blonde colour, but my roots needed a touch up, naturally i'm a medium/dark blonde. My flatmate applied the dye but found it very difficult because of how thick it was. It turned my roots and awful orange colour which i managed to self tone out, but it has also turned parts of my hair a very yellow blonde. I am very unhappy with the results and it has also dried out my hair. I would not recommend this product at all.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best blonde dye I have ever used!!

Posted01 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I can't believe all the bad reviews I'm reading this was absolutely fab for me! Ok it didn't go platinum but being naturally ginger I usually get yellow hair after home dyes but this was the opposite I got a lovely blonde colour :) I have really thick shoulder length hair and there was more than enough for me! Definitely recommended
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont use, unless you want to spend £100 on full head of foils after!!!!

Posted01 December 2012
Customer Avatar
retro74
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Naturally my hair started off the lightest colour on the box (dark blonde), which this dye claims will turn platinum.
i have never previously dyed my hair
My friend, who is a trained hair dresser, applied this dye with a brush and bowl to apply a more effective coverage
3 boxes were used, due to my hair being thick.
instructions were followed, product applied well.
end result PATCHY YELLOW HAIR!!!!!!!
ended up paying a salon £100 and 3.5 hours to correct.
i phoned LOreal to complain, they were very quick to reply, photos were emailed. as always fobbed off that it was due to my hair having natutally lighter streaks from the sun.
they claim the photo on the box is not digitally enhanced. the packaging holds no warnings that this might not be effective on everyones hair (makes me wonder how dark brown hair would change, if it couldnt do my blonde!)
they would not pay for my hair treatment to correct the damage caused.
although they did send me vouchers for inconvience
Advantages: easy to mess your hair up
Disadvantages: turns hair patchy yellow
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

yellow

Posted06 November 2012
Customer Avatar
coolrach89
from scotland uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
well i bought this as my hair was coloured with recital preference shade 10.21 stolkholm very light pearl blonde and i thought this dye would make my hair really white so i bought it. the application is hard to work thru the hair i prefer hait to be wet when using a dye like rectial preference other dye does. anyway i got most of it thru my hair waited the right time to develop noticed my hair looked yellow thought nothing of it so then rinsed my hair out, dryed my hair and yeah it looked white but was yellow when wet and i had a few yellow parts thru my hair aswell and brassy so i just re coloured my hair again with the previous dye i ued. i would only recommened this to people who are lightening there hair to blonde not as a regular dye i guess thats what its for anyway./
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
2of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Think I need another application

Posted07 March 2014
Customer Avatar
J4JONES
from Wigan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ok so as a child I was naturally platinum blonde, in my teens I went ashy which went dull. My usual dye is the pearl blonde. My roots are an ashy blonde colour. Put this all over....doesn't lift great I did have some platinum elements to my hair but a lot of yellow. It was patchy in places but this was due to my application technique. In my experience you can usually only tell the real colour after your first wash which usually washes a bit lighter. I think I will need another application which I'm confident will lift it and get rid of any yellowy tones. This will not lift brown hair, it won't, and if you are already light I think you may need more than one application. Long or thick hair will require more than one box of product and the thick mixture makes it hard to mix in the bottle. My advice is buy a mixing bowl and brush to mix, the bottle is useless the product is too thick. Ok product overall if your lifting light hair WONT lift brown or dark hair so don't attempt, it struggled with my ashy blonde hair which will need another application. On the plus side it was not over drying and didn't have a strong smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

whoot whoot

Posted06 November 2012
Customer Avatar
makeupobsessive
from london uk
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this one instead of my usual xxl absolute platinum. I used it to do my roots, i have med brown hair, it has lifted it to a very light blonde and the conditioner is toning like the violet toned shampoos u can buy for blondes. So it does not look yellow, it looks great like really nice!!
The hair dye is simple to mix, it comes with a special oil to add nutrients while colouring, my hair is soft, smells lovely and color is fab, very light pale slightly silvery blonde. The only thing i noticed is you dont get a lot of product, i had enough to do my roots and my hair is fine.
If you have chin length hair i would go for 2 bottles, any longer and thicker you would need even more, the mixture is fairly thick, unlike the xxl which spread well, this one is thick and creamy, so take that into consideration, but its on offer 2 for 10 so even if u had to get 4 lots i think its still a bargain :)
The gloves that come with it are better quality, black, tighter fitting so u can feel ur hair, not like the loose thinner plastic ones that make a scrunching noise and u cant really feel ur hair cos they kind of slip through your hair? if that makes sense, these black ones are slightly rubbery textured, more like proffessional ones. Overall this product is excellent, the colour looks expensive not brassy and my hair is super soft and shiny.
Advantages: great colour on medium brown, leaves hair in good condition, easy to use, smells nice, gloves are tighter fitting and good quality helps, expensive looking hair cheap to buy
Disadvantages: could do with more product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please DO NOT buy this dye!

Posted04 February 2014
Customer Avatar
jodiejodjod
from North West, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I never usually write reviews like this, but this dye messed up my hair so badly I felt I had to!
I have been dying my hair blonde myself for the last year and have been a bottle blonde for 5 years altogether, I am pretty much a pro when it comes to getting perfect icy blonde shades! I usually use the L'Oreal Colour Preference colours in the shade Lightest Ash Blonde, however there were none in stock so I opted for this one, thinking it would be a suitable replacement. I was WRONG. Let me just clarify my hair was already light blonde, but my regrowth at the roots was a darker blonde.
The dye itself must have contained a lot of bleach as it was a horrible grainy/powdery texture when I applied it to my hair, making it hard to get even coverage.
After about 10 minutes I noticed my lovely light blonde hair turning bright yellow. I nervously waited the full time recommended and washed it off to uncover almost orange hair! It had completely stripped it of all its colour and left it brassy and extremely damaged. The purple conditioner didn't even come close to making a difference.
After spending a fortune on toners and purple shampoos I have managed to get my colour back to normal but it was not easy.
I just want to tell people to avoid this dye at all costs, unless you actually want orange hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product I've tried.

Posted25 October 2012
Customer Avatar
CJS54
from South Wales
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been colouring my hair for over 40 years. In recent years I've been going to various salons. I've recently been having my hair coloured with a mobile stylist but was still disappointed that the lift wasn't great on my roots and they remained darker than the ends. I tried this product this evening and it is amazing! I should have combed it right through because the bottom is very slightly darker than my roots but it's dried fine. I will certainly be using this from now on. It's better than a salon. Fantastic.
Advantages: fantastic coverage.
Disadvantages: hairline is stinging very slightly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LIFE SAVER.

Posted03 April 2014
Customer Avatar
emmaporch
natural hair colour: dark brown
colour previous to first stripping: copper (7.44)
i had my hair stripped with 30vol on tuesday and again on the wednesday. unfortunately, it didn't turn out platinum but a pale yellow colour with a more brown and pale orangey colour at the ends. i bought this hoping it would even it out and lift my hair as pale yellow as possible as toner wasn't helping. it worked! my application wasn't great and i found the dye quite drying. remember i was applying at the bottom first and then moving upwards every 15 minutes, so this was difficult and i had to brush my hair a lot with a wide tooth comb but this didn't damage my hair.
of course, this dye could be better in that sense, but it did help me a lot.
i'm not yet platinum blonde but i am a very pale blonde and i will be using my purple/white directions toner to correct this soon! my hair isnt in bad condition at all yet either. it feels a little dry (as expected) but not falling out or splitting or wirey.
thank you so much loreal for saving me from my embarrassment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just no.

Posted24 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Christina2602
from Nottingham, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
So here's my hair story: my natural hair is dark ash blonde/very light brown and I've been dyeing my hair blonde for the last 2-3 years now. I've tried to find the perfect dye and even though on my stay in the US I managed to find the perfect shade of very light blonde by Garn. O. lia (which I love and recommend using), for some silly reason they don't have it in Europe/UK so I was forced to try something else... This seemed good, but alas - only seemed. I did my roots first and then applied the rest of the dye, basically it turned my hair this unfortunate yellow blonde we all dislike. The toner that comes with the dye, however, helped get everything else except the roots more white, less brassy, but the roots are still pretty bad. I will keep using the toner and hopefully it'll get better in a few washes but in conclusion, I will NOT be using this product again. Don't know what didn't match or work, but this isn't the product for me.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than the ordinary bleach

Posted14 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Female013
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After trying many hair products and bleaching my hair several times, I decided to buy this product. This lifted a lot of colour without damaging my hair. This is a really good product and I will gladly recommended this to anyone :)
Advantages: smells divine, does not damage hair, better than bleach
Disadvantages: a bit pricey
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

Posted04 August 2014
Customer Avatar
crystal45
from Canary Islands
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
After having hi-lighted my medium brown hair for years, I have been fed up with constant breakage from the bleach and having to have my hair trimmed regularly to remove the "dead ends" A hairdresser friend of mine suggested I try using a high lift colourant instead of bleach to minimize the constant damage to my hair. I used this product and the results were amazing - just the same colour (ash blonde) I would have got from using a bleach based hair streaking kit! Very impressed. I must mention though, that my natural hair colour has approx 20 per cent grey. As I was nervous about using a new product for the first time I used a hi-lighting cap too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

brilliant

Posted25 March 2014
Customer Avatar
chanthira
from kent
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
i used this after my colour l oreal preference very platinum was dropping out so i had very dark roots & i find my hair goes yellowy when needs re dyeing. my hair has gone a lovely light blonde with no ginger at all.like people have said it is really thick i have fine hair & it was only just enough ,yes it does make your hair look ginger bright yellow when wet but i find it goes really light when dry.using the very platinum then this i found this to be the better colour on my hair as was less yellow. dont give up on this i found if it does have a bit of ginger the lee stafford hot shots really tone it down on the next wash.i have had more comments on my hair colour with this than spending £65 on foils at hairdressers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best product for achieving a platinum look at home.

Posted21 September 2013
Customer Avatar
Nadine2704
from Perth, Scotland
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Uses Product:A few times per year
I am surprised that this hair dye has such a low rating. As a veteran blonde-hair-dyer I have tried nearly all the 'platinum' dyes out there, and this one is by far one of the best box dyes I have used.
It doesn't quite give you the white-look that the picture on the box claims, but of course that picture will have been edited to perfection, so it's unrealistic to think that your hair will end up looking like the model's. It does NOT, I repeat NOT give you yellow hair though - it is the closest shade to platinum that you could expect from a shop bought dye.
For the people who have said that they have been left with yellow hair, they have probably tried to dye over previously dyed hair that is too dark to lighten fully with a one-off use of this dye. If you want to dye straight over your natural hair, or are going for a root touch up, then I'd completely recommend this product.
This dye, coupled with a purple shampoo, is definitely the way to go if you want to achieve a platinum look at home. Boots sell a very reasonably priced purple shampoo (around £3), called Touch of Silver, and it is one of the best toning shampoos I have ever used. Don't waste your money on all those ridiculously priced toners and shampoos!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful product, does not do what it says on the box !!!!!

Posted28 June 2014
Customer Avatar
hafan
from Anglesey
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
As my hair is getting greyer by the day I decided to give this a go to try and get an all over platinum colour, well what a mistake! Having applied the thick cream to my hair exactly as per the instructions and left it on for 45 minutes max as advised, my hair turned out an awful orangey yellow colour, the so called toning conditioner is a total waste of time, just a purple coloured cream. This is the worst bad hair day in all my life (and I've had a few!). BE WARNED, this will not make you hair platinum but more like a cheap and tacky brassy blonde. I would definately not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extreme platinum loreal preference

Posted13 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisaxx4
Brilliant hair dye turned my fairly light blonde hair to a bright white platinum colour with no brassy tones.my hair didn't feel over processed either. Really happy with results and would highly recommend and use again! This sort of colour you can only get by going to a salon so pleased I have found this brilliant hair dye !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
29of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best blonde dye ive used

Posted23 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have been waiting for a dye like this for a long time without going to salon's for the white hair look but this certainly does what it says on the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant Stuff!

Posted17 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Kirkcaldy
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
I've finally found a hair dye that matches my platinum roots without doing too much damage to my hair. It did make it a little dry but nothing that can't be rectified with a good conditioner. Will definiyely be buying again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT PLATNIUM BLONDE!!

Posted07 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Emilliee
from Birmingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I saw this product and its reviews and thought WOW il give it a try, worst mistake my once ashy light blonde hair is now GOLD/YELLOW blonde!!! The only plus side is that all roots have completely vanished. The application itself isnt great as the powder gets stuck in the nosil and doesnt mix properly with the rest of the dye which is disapointing considering its not the cheapest brand out there. Iv also noticed slight patches in my hair. Its fine if you want cheap looking brassy blonde hair but if like me your hoping for a very light ASHY blonde hair then this is not for you!!
Advantages: strong dye, no roots
Disadvantages: brassy, powdery, nosil gets clogged
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>