Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye

LOreal L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye

Introducing new Extreme Platinum from Préférence. Reveal your inner blonde goddess with our new generation of supreme lightening technology, with up to 8 levels of lift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.209 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
15
20 out of 38(53%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Review 1 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extreme platinum loreal preference

Posted13 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisaxx4
Brilliant hair dye turned my fairly light blonde hair to a bright white platinum colour with no brassy tones.my hair didn't feel over processed either. Really happy with results and would highly recommend and use again! This sort of colour you can only get by going to a salon so pleased I have found this brilliant hair dye !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
29of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best blonde dye ive used

Posted23 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have been waiting for a dye like this for a long time without going to salon's for the white hair look but this certainly does what it says on the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product I've tried.

Posted25 October 2012
Customer Avatar
CJS54
from South Wales
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been colouring my hair for over 40 years. In recent years I've been going to various salons. I've recently been having my hair coloured with a mobile stylist but was still disappointed that the lift wasn't great on my roots and they remained darker than the ends. I tried this product this evening and it is amazing! I should have combed it right through because the bottom is very slightly darker than my roots but it's dried fine. I will certainly be using this from now on. It's better than a salon. Fantastic.
Advantages: fantastic coverage.
Disadvantages: hairline is stinging very slightly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT PLATNIUM BLONDE!!

Posted07 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Emilliee
from Birmingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I saw this product and its reviews and thought WOW il give it a try, worst mistake my once ashy light blonde hair is now GOLD/YELLOW blonde!!! The only plus side is that all roots have completely vanished. The application itself isnt great as the powder gets stuck in the nosil and doesnt mix properly with the rest of the dye which is disapointing considering its not the cheapest brand out there. Iv also noticed slight patches in my hair. Its fine if you want cheap looking brassy blonde hair but if like me your hoping for a very light ASHY blonde hair then this is not for you!!
Advantages: strong dye, no roots
Disadvantages: brassy, powdery, nosil gets clogged
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Yellow hair, stick with your usual colour!

Posted07 November 2012
Customer Avatar
maria8legs
from Torquay
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was very excited when I saw this new colour. I have been using Preference Blondissimes 01 Lightest natural blonde for years and have always been pleased with the results, but have never been able to get that beautiful "white blonde" colour, so I thought this would be brilliant. Pros- It does not smell as bad as some hair colours and it didn`t sting.Cons-It was very thick and tricky to use. It left my hair very dry and worse of all instead of having lots of lovely pale shades of blonde it was a horrible flat yellow colour, even after using the conditioner.MORE yellow than before I coloured it! I thought I would just be able to wait a couple of weeks and colour over it with the Blondissimes I used to use but apparently I can`t use that over it, so I don`t know what to do now.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rubbish!! Very misleading

Posted23 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bristol
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I usually bleach my roots with 9% and then apply Stockholm 10.21 as a toner for 10 mins, to get the exact colour on the box. I seen this dye and thought it may stop me needing to pre bleach and will do it all in one? I was very wrong, it's brassy and patchy so I now need to go and buy another dye to tone. Definitely not platinum and my roots are not dark by any means naturally, a very light brown if that. Avoid like the plague!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont use, unless you want to spend £100 on full head of foils after!!!!

Posted01 December 2012
Customer Avatar
retro74
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Naturally my hair started off the lightest colour on the box (dark blonde), which this dye claims will turn platinum.
i have never previously dyed my hair
My friend, who is a trained hair dresser, applied this dye with a brush and bowl to apply a more effective coverage
3 boxes were used, due to my hair being thick.
instructions were followed, product applied well.
end result PATCHY YELLOW HAIR!!!!!!!
ended up paying a salon £100 and 3.5 hours to correct.
i phoned LOreal to complain, they were very quick to reply, photos were emailed. as always fobbed off that it was due to my hair having natutally lighter streaks from the sun.
they claim the photo on the box is not digitally enhanced. the packaging holds no warnings that this might not be effective on everyones hair (makes me wonder how dark brown hair would change, if it couldnt do my blonde!)
they would not pay for my hair treatment to correct the damage caused.
although they did send me vouchers for inconvience
Advantages: easy to mess your hair up
Disadvantages: turns hair patchy yellow
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not produce the colour is shows on the box

Posted05 December 2012
Customer Avatar
jadeann93
from Birmingham, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have natural quite dark blonde hair that I have never dyed at all. Recently I decided that I'd love to get platinum hair- I wanted exactly the beautiful white/silver colour shown on the box. The back of the box clearly states that dark blond hair will become white. However, this dye did not deliver anything near that result. Also, application is very awkward and leaves your hair with a very powerful bleach smell. After applying as directed and leaving for the maximum advised time of 45 minutes, I had extremely patchy hair ranging from barely lighter than my natural hair colour to bright yellow. The patchiness may have been my fault for not applying it correctly, but even the completely covered bits just turned a horrible bright yellow colour. If it does this to blonde hair I dread to think what it would do to brunettes! Avoid! I think even a standard much cheaper bleaching kit would have delivered a better result. Extremely disappointed
Advantages: not too damaging
Disadvantages: produces yellow colour even on light hair, patchy, difficult to apply, expensive for essentially just bleach
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good!

Posted19 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Daisy900
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have naturally very dark brown hair, and after bleaching my hair with another brand bleach, it went very orange as expected. However, a friend recommended me using this product on top of the bleached hair, and it worked very well! Not the shade i was exactly hoping for but it was ALOT less orange! Still some brassy tones but that also was fixed by using some purple shampoo. Im still not at the colour i want (a natural looking blonde) but i will definatley continue using this product as i think it is my best bet, however i would recommend using a pre-lightner or bleach first.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than the ordinary bleach

Posted14 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Female013
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After trying many hair products and bleaching my hair several times, I decided to buy this product. This lifted a lot of colour without damaging my hair. This is a really good product and I will gladly recommended this to anyone :)
Advantages: smells divine, does not damage hair, better than bleach
Disadvantages: a bit pricey
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst I have ever used

Posted28 December 2012
Customer Avatar
missycjx
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When it comes to colouring and bleaching my hair I am pretty experienced at it. After taking my hair to level 10 (lightest blonde) I saw this and desperately wanted it to work as I have always wanted to be true platinum. I followed the instructions to the letter but the mixture is so extremely thick that I just couldnt get it through my hair. I would apply it to a very thin section at a time but even that didnt work to cover the strands. A whole box did less than 1/5 of my hair. In the end, after trying to get it on for at least what must have been 30 minutes I gave up and just washed it out. It also had not changed the colour at all.
Half the problem I think is that the instructions say to apply it to dry hair - its impossible! Even 5 boxes would have struggled to cover all my hair properly. Waste of money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Steer well clear!!

Posted02 January 2013
Customer Avatar
GersPrincess
I wish I'd read the reviews before buying.I bought 2 bottles to dye my daughters's light brown hair. It's now ruined. Patchy awful shades of yellow, orange and paler yellow throughout her head ever after being left on for the full 45 mins. Looks terrible.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This actually worked for me

Posted19 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Cardiff, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After using Live XXL and turning my hair bright yellow, I tried this. My hair had been toned down at a hairdressers so it was an ashy blonde, and my natural hair is a dark blonde.
The hair dye is a little difficult to spread over the hair as others have said, but it does smell nice and didn't make my eyes sting, compared to the Live XXL which made my head burn. I had to use two boxes as my hair is long.
The colour turned out to be a very light blonde. It was slightly yellow, but I put some Touch of Silver purple shampoo on it for 10 mins and it took the brassiness out. Overall I was very pleased. Slightly yellow is to be expected to be honest, you can't really expect a box dye to turn your hair from brown to completely platinum in one step. I have used this product several times on my dark roots and it has brought it up really light, almost white. The purple conditioner that comes with it is good too. My hair feels very nourished and soft afterwards.
I recommend using the Touch of Silver shampoo weekly to keep the brassiness away. There is also an every day shampoo and conditioner by the same brand that you can get for very cheap. I have added the links below in the related products section.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing lightening over failed dye

Posted01 February 2013
Customer Avatar
SheWhoDyesExtreme
My hair is naturally dark brown, this plus some toner comes up beautifully. My hair is just a tad less bright than on the box.
DO NOT wet your hair to apply this product, just massage it in.
If dying over a previous blonde that is not as light it will take a few dyes to lift the shade. Otherwise it will look a bit yellow... Tone it! Don't just give up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

yellow

Posted06 November 2012
Customer Avatar
coolrach89
from scotland uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
well i bought this as my hair was coloured with recital preference shade 10.21 stolkholm very light pearl blonde and i thought this dye would make my hair really white so i bought it. the application is hard to work thru the hair i prefer hait to be wet when using a dye like rectial preference other dye does. anyway i got most of it thru my hair waited the right time to develop noticed my hair looked yellow thought nothing of it so then rinsed my hair out, dryed my hair and yeah it looked white but was yellow when wet and i had a few yellow parts thru my hair aswell and brassy so i just re coloured my hair again with the previous dye i ued. i would only recommened this to people who are lightening there hair to blonde not as a regular dye i guess thats what its for anyway./
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
2of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

whoot whoot

Posted06 November 2012
Customer Avatar
makeupobsessive
from london uk
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this one instead of my usual xxl absolute platinum. I used it to do my roots, i have med brown hair, it has lifted it to a very light blonde and the conditioner is toning like the violet toned shampoos u can buy for blondes. So it does not look yellow, it looks great like really nice!!
The hair dye is simple to mix, it comes with a special oil to add nutrients while colouring, my hair is soft, smells lovely and color is fab, very light pale slightly silvery blonde. The only thing i noticed is you dont get a lot of product, i had enough to do my roots and my hair is fine.
If you have chin length hair i would go for 2 bottles, any longer and thicker you would need even more, the mixture is fairly thick, unlike the xxl which spread well, this one is thick and creamy, so take that into consideration, but its on offer 2 for 10 so even if u had to get 4 lots i think its still a bargain :)
The gloves that come with it are better quality, black, tighter fitting so u can feel ur hair, not like the loose thinner plastic ones that make a scrunching noise and u cant really feel ur hair cos they kind of slip through your hair? if that makes sense, these black ones are slightly rubbery textured, more like proffessional ones. Overall this product is excellent, the colour looks expensive not brassy and my hair is super soft and shiny.
Advantages: great colour on medium brown, leaves hair in good condition, easy to use, smells nice, gloves are tighter fitting and good quality helps, expensive looking hair cheap to buy
Disadvantages: could do with more product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY IT

Posted31 March 2013
Customer Avatar
aandrews68
They should ban this product!!! I now have canary yellow hair - please please DO NOT buy this - your crowning glory will not be platinum but yellow/orange....... It's disgraceful don't waste your money
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the best product but brassiness from the product can easily be fixed.

Posted02 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Gem93ma
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product on a whim after getting bored of waiting to go back to college to get my roots touched up and all over toned. (I'm a level 3 hairdressing student). To get an idea I was a light pale blonde to start with and wanted to be a lighter more ashy blonde. I was going to use this product to lighten my hair about 2 levels before going over it with an ash toner. Now the product says lightening so i'll presume it's just a basic bleach mix. I applied the product all over the hair with great precision yet not all my hair was covered. I was left with lots of patches underneath and some near my fringe which were still left untouched. So the next day I went and bought the same product again to cover the missed parts. This time I used a tint brush and still found it hard to make the product go all the way (even though i was only touching up my missed roots). I left it on for the specified time and noticed my hair had gone yellow, again. Luckily I had bought some silver/purple shampoo and used that on my hair. I left it on about 5 minutes and now all the brassiness has gone! Can't believe it went that easy so yes the product doesn't do what it says but it is a bleach and if you've ever used bleach before you will know it usually goes yellow. Using the silver shampoo is just like a weaker toner that you would usually put on after bleach anyway. So if you're using this product to lighten your hair i'd say it has quite a few pro's but prepare to use a toner, shampoo or even another colour after.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nowhere near Platinum

Posted23 December 2012
Customer Avatar
misfitofska
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a platinum blonde heavily reliant on bleach I was pretty eager to give this a try. Oh yes, it's a nice dye but it's NOT platinum. I now have platinum hair with ginger roots - nice! My natural hair isn't even that dark. Product wise, brilliant - hair is soft and in very good condition, application wise - difficult (the bottle got clogged easily), colour wise - not what it said on the tin. Give this one a miss.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Preference Les Blondissimes Extreme Platinum Hair Dye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not recomended

Posted01 April 2013
Customer Avatar
bethan00
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had used the pearl shade of this product before which was fine so opted for light pearl which left my roots with a really orange tone. I then re-dyed with the platinum due to its claim that its suitable for most hair colours and will not cause brassiness. Due to the lightening powder used it doesn't spread well through the hair and leaves it patchy. On rinsing the dye it was extremely yellow so I used a purple shampoo (10mins) to no affect. The following day I used a blue toner (20mins) which helped the colour slightly but highlights how patchy it is. Wish I had read these reviews before buying, I'm really disappointed with the product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>