Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum

LOreal L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum

Introducing new Extreme Platinum from Préférence. Reveal your inner blonde goddess with our new generation of supreme lightening technology, with up to 8 levels of lift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.292 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
28
22 out of 47(47%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Review 1 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted02 April 2015
Customer Avatar
lelly
Does turn your hair yellow/orange but as always with bleaching, you have to use a good toner to finish and get rid of the brassy colours.
I do however think they should provide this in the box as bleaching always turns hair yellow etc.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 2 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted08 August 2015
Customer Avatar
Shuna
This is the worst colour product I've ever bought. I came here for some emergency help. I have blond hair with a lot of grey. I applied the product exactly as instructed and the result is terrifying. I need to do something before Monday when I have an important business meeting. I was just too late to phone the help line (it's Saturday). I have no idea what to do. Hair is bright yellow/orange.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 3 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted26 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Kat
This is an awsome colour.....its a colour I have been trying to get for years thankyou L'Oreal.....its brilliant
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 4 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted14 January 2015
Customer Avatar
sally-r
I tried this & it just didn't work for me. Despite having fair, mousey colour hair & it lifted only to a light brown golden/ginger-ish shade by leaving the product for on the recommended max. time of 45 mins. The 'Brass-defy'conditioner is no more than a tube of blueish conditioner - the kind that can be purchased from any high street chemist! Despite the dowdy colour, the condition of my hair was left lifeless, cracked & dull. On mentioning this to 2 friends, their reactions were "We could have told you not to use this"..... Great!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 5 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted06 March 2014
Customer Avatar
FunkiFi
Bought this for the first time as my natural blonde hair is already lightened and thought it would do my roots without the rest of it breaking off. Hair stayed where it was however, the roots were very yellow instead of very platinum as advertised. Wish I had left it on longer that the 45 mins it stated and may give it another try in a few weeks...am using the TOC products to keep the yellow away for now...watch this space...
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 6 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted22 August 2013
Customer Avatar
Noodle1987
A trained hairdresser applied this to my hair exactly as the instructions advised. I have dark blonde hair and although the tips had been died before it was mainly virgin natural hair. Although the paste was well applied and left for 40 minutes it came out patchy and extremely yellow. I have dyed my hair platinum blonde many times and it has never ever gone yellow like this. I look utterly ridiculous and am going to ring the helpline tomorrow for advice as I am at a loss as to what to do. This product has ruined my hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 7 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted01 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Mia1990
My hair was as light as this colour only my roots needed doing. I am naturally quite dark so thought this dye would be perfect as i have used this brand before hand had no problem at all, However after applying to my hair and leaving for the full debelopment time (45mins) my roots had turned nearly orange!!!
I never normally have any problems with hair colour, I use any brand and they all seem to work as my hair is quite pourus, this however was disgusting.
I had to go to a Salon and pay more money to have my hair fixed needless to say I won't be using this brand again let alone the colour!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 8 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted13 July 2014
Customer Avatar
maria49
i always use recital , usaually number 9 or 10, however today i used extreme platinum, not good, very yellow and brassy, had to then recover with a number 9, just to tone down the brassy yellow
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 9 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted04 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Dizzyjane
just used L'Oreal PReference Extreme Platinum -Useless no change at all. Waste of my money!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 10 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted01 April 2014
Customer Avatar
casimir
I really love and Love this product. Great product
Domi
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 11 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted30 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Blondie Brandie
First time I have used this product but was very pleased with the out come.Can you buy the conditioner only ?
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 12 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great hair dye kit

Posted09 March 2016
Customer Avatar
lynncarol
from Wiltshire
After receiving my hair colour kit free from L'Oréal Paris I couldn't wait to get started. First of all I have to say that the quality of the products in the box looked very professional, a decent pair of gloves which are stronger than the usual thin plastic ones in other hair kits and a nice touch was the high shine elixir and a good size conditioner as well. First of all I would suggest you do the safety test 48 hours before as you never know if you will have a bad reaction to something new. After doing the test and all being ok I went ahead and mixed up the colour then applied as specified, working from lengths and tips and then roots last. My hair is already coloured with a blonde colour but hadn't been done for about two months. I left the colour on for about 25 mins. I must admit I was a bit worried about the colour as it does say 'Extreme Platinum' but after rinsing it out, I was left with a really nice colour, like a creamy blonde. The conditioner is very nice and leaves hair soft and the elixir shine helps too. All in all I would recommend this hair dye.
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 13 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good coverage and fabulous condition

Posted09 March 2016
Customer Avatar
pinkelephant113
from Newcastle Upon Tyne
I received this product free to review. I was impressed by the good even coverage and how easy the product was to use. My experience in the past with home colouring has been patchy uneven results but this product was the opposite of that. Those pesky greys were also well hidden! Equally impressive was the condition of the hair after treatment. It felt silky smooth and we'll conditioned. The anti brassy conditioner was a nice touch too!
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 14 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

L'oreal paris extreme platinum

Posted09 March 2016
Customer Avatar
teeann65
from Aylesbury
After receiving my free sample from L'oreal i was very keen to give it a try. I always think of this as one of the more premium ranges of home hair colour, but wasn't off to a good start when my thumb went through the glove almost immediately. I was however pleasantly suprised by the subtle and quite nice aroma, which so often isn't the case particularly with blonde colour.
Applying to tips first and having to wait before applying to roots and waiting again i found frustrating. I didn't want to move about to much as the dye was quite runny and found sitting still for that length of time annoying.
The final outcome was good but not the best i've had , i must confess to being a little disappointed. My hair does feel very silky however and i pleased that this product comes with plenty of great conditioner.
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 15 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

L'Oreal Extreme Platinum Test.

Posted09 March 2016
Customer Avatar
Mccmail
from Gateshead
Sing someone who generally get their hair professionally dyed I thought I would give this a go. After receiving my free pack from L'Oreal I was a little dubious as to whether I could follow the instructions correctly, but I did! I loved the 'idiot' guide!
After applying I was quite confused as to why you initially don't apply to the roots, but stuck to it.
Overall, I was impressed with the packaging, with the ease of use of the product and with the fragrance. The times did 15-25, I did 30.
The conditioner provided was very pleasant and helped me feel like my hair had not suffered during the process.
Even though gloves where, thankfully provided, I wish that there had been a cap provided as waiting time made it difficult to move until finished.
The final colour of my hair after the treatment was noticeably lighter but quite a way off the picture on the front of the box. This however is mentioned on the actual product, so should not be a major surprise.
The result from me is that I would use the product again, but may try for a slightly more natural colour blonde.
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 16 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

l'oreal paris preference colour

Posted10 March 2016
Customer Avatar
adrienne13
from Newcastle
I have just tried a free sample of the l,oreal paris preference colour in platenum blonde. Lovely even colour, covering greys well and enhancing my hairs natural blonde tones. Left hair in lovely silky smooth condition. Would definately recommend to a friend and will use again
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 17 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great hair colourant and a lovely colour.

Posted11 March 2016
Customer Avatar
mistygnombe
from Ammanford
I received this product free to trial and was so pleased with it. The package which is a box of just the right size to hold the contents, (no wasted packaging) is attractive to look at and immediately appealed to me .
It comes with clear and simple instructions on how to mix and use it, It is important to read these instructions and follow them carefully for the best results. It does what it says and covered all the grey in my hair and left it not only looking good but feeling good too. This is helped by a large tube of conditioner supplied which you can use for many washes to help keep it looking and feeling great. Overall I think it is as good if not better than many other colourants on the market and certainly gave me a nicer colour than many others I have tried.
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 18 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not quite platinum.....

Posted12 March 2016
Customer Avatar
Caron0505
from Monifieth
I received a free box of extreme platinum to try from L'Oreal. My hair is brownish with a warm tone so I made sure to follow recommended instructions, using the enclosed brass removing conditioner for the maximum amount of time. The result is a warm blonde. Not really platinum. Even after following up with a toner, it was still quite warm in tone.
On a positive note, the smell is extremely pleasant and my hair doesn't feel at all stressed.
I've gone blonde a few times in the past and have had better results with other products. Good lightening but not cool enough a tone for me.
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 19 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

Posted13 March 2016
Customer Avatar
baLiskris
from Bedford
I tried this product and it did everything I expected of it. It has given me a lovely even colour, covering all grey. It was easy to use and I will definitely be buying this product in the future as well as recommending it to friends and family.
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
Review 20 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfection

Posted13 March 2016
Customer Avatar
meggiroo
from Durham
Wow platinum blonde hair dye made my hair look amazing. Easy to use and hair feels smooth and silky .
Lots of compliments on the gorgeous colour .
Definitely recommend
Written by a customer while visiting Product Sampling Community
1 2 3 4 5 next>>