Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum

LOreal L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum

Introducing new Extreme Platinum from Préférence. Reveal your inner blonde goddess with our new generation of supreme lightening technology, with up to 8 levels of lift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.07 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
22
22 out of 47(47%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Review 1 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted02 April 2015
Customer Avatar
lelly
Does turn your hair yellow/orange but as always with bleaching, you have to use a good toner to finish and get rid of the brassy colours.
I do however think they should provide this in the box as bleaching always turns hair yellow etc.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 2 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted08 August 2015
Customer Avatar
Shuna
This is the worst colour product I've ever bought. I came here for some emergency help. I have blond hair with a lot of grey. I applied the product exactly as instructed and the result is terrifying. I need to do something before Monday when I have an important business meeting. I was just too late to phone the help line (it's Saturday). I have no idea what to do. Hair is bright yellow/orange.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 3 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted26 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Kat
This is an awsome colour.....its a colour I have been trying to get for years thankyou L'Oreal.....its brilliant
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 4 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted14 January 2015
Customer Avatar
sally-r
I tried this & it just didn't work for me. Despite having fair, mousey colour hair & it lifted only to a light brown golden/ginger-ish shade by leaving the product for on the recommended max. time of 45 mins. The 'Brass-defy'conditioner is no more than a tube of blueish conditioner - the kind that can be purchased from any high street chemist! Despite the dowdy colour, the condition of my hair was left lifeless, cracked & dull. On mentioning this to 2 friends, their reactions were "We could have told you not to use this"..... Great!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 5 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted06 March 2014
Customer Avatar
FunkiFi
Bought this for the first time as my natural blonde hair is already lightened and thought it would do my roots without the rest of it breaking off. Hair stayed where it was however, the roots were very yellow instead of very platinum as advertised. Wish I had left it on longer that the 45 mins it stated and may give it another try in a few weeks...am using the TOC products to keep the yellow away for now...watch this space...
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 6 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted22 August 2013
Customer Avatar
Noodle1987
A trained hairdresser applied this to my hair exactly as the instructions advised. I have dark blonde hair and although the tips had been died before it was mainly virgin natural hair. Although the paste was well applied and left for 40 minutes it came out patchy and extremely yellow. I have dyed my hair platinum blonde many times and it has never ever gone yellow like this. I look utterly ridiculous and am going to ring the helpline tomorrow for advice as I am at a loss as to what to do. This product has ruined my hair!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 7 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted01 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Mia1990
My hair was as light as this colour only my roots needed doing. I am naturally quite dark so thought this dye would be perfect as i have used this brand before hand had no problem at all, However after applying to my hair and leaving for the full debelopment time (45mins) my roots had turned nearly orange!!!
I never normally have any problems with hair colour, I use any brand and they all seem to work as my hair is quite pourus, this however was disgusting.
I had to go to a Salon and pay more money to have my hair fixed needless to say I won't be using this brand again let alone the colour!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 8 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted13 July 2014
Customer Avatar
maria49
i always use recital , usaually number 9 or 10, however today i used extreme platinum, not good, very yellow and brassy, had to then recover with a number 9, just to tone down the brassy yellow
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 9 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted04 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Dizzyjane
just used L'Oreal PReference Extreme Platinum -Useless no change at all. Waste of my money!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 10 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted01 April 2014
Customer Avatar
casimir
I really love and Love this product. Great product
Domi
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 11 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted30 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Blondie Brandie
First time I have used this product but was very pleased with the out come.Can you buy the conditioner only ?
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 12 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY

Posted03 May 2015
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
I am dark blonde and ended up ginger!!!
YOU GET YELLOW HAIR GINGER HAIR BUT NOT PLATINUM!!!
I will have to pay now for a professional to do it.
Don't waste money on this!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Even after leaving the product on for 10 minutes over the max time, my hair was still yellow

Posted31 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Giggidy86
from Devon, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have naturally dark blonde hair and have coloured my hair an ash blonde for several years now.
I thought I would try a platinum colour and I wanted to use a brand I trusted to ensure it went fine. The packet did say that even brown hair could go platinum and so I thought I would have no problems.
The instructions said not leave the colour on for longer than 45 minutes however I noticed it was still very yellow at 45 minutes and so I left it on for ten more minutes but it was still very yellow even after all that time.
The "brass defy" conditioner is just a purple tone conditioner which normally would be good for toning out yellow but didn't really make a difference due to how yellow the dye came out. I had also used a purple shampoo to try and calm the yellow down but that didn't work either!
It is a massive shame as the colour looked stunning and I've always used L'oreal hair colours. However, I would NOT recommend anyone use this product. So disappointing!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product!!

Posted14 January 2015
Customer Avatar
al1ckscak3s
from Sheffield
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have very dark hair and it has been pre-lightened. I needed two boxes as I have short but thick hair. My hair is now platinum and looks wondersful, I left it on for the full application time and I am very pleased with the results.
As the box states only use this on blonde hair as it's not strong enough to lift dark hair. I'll be stocking up on this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY IT

Posted31 March 2013
Customer Avatar
aandrews68
They should ban this product!!! I now have canary yellow hair - please please DO NOT buy this - your crowning glory will not be platinum but yellow/orange....... It's disgraceful don't waste your money
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
6of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Think I need another application

Posted07 March 2014
Customer Avatar
J4JONES
from Wigan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ok so as a child I was naturally platinum blonde, in my teens I went ashy which went dull. My usual dye is the pearl blonde. My roots are an ashy blonde colour. Put this all over....doesn't lift great I did have some platinum elements to my hair but a lot of yellow. It was patchy in places but this was due to my application technique. In my experience you can usually only tell the real colour after your first wash which usually washes a bit lighter. I think I will need another application which I'm confident will lift it and get rid of any yellowy tones. This will not lift brown hair, it won't, and if you are already light I think you may need more than one application. Long or thick hair will require more than one box of product and the thick mixture makes it hard to mix in the bottle. My advice is buy a mixing bowl and brush to mix, the bottle is useless the product is too thick. Ok product overall if your lifting light hair WONT lift brown or dark hair so don't attempt, it struggled with my ashy blonde hair which will need another application. On the plus side it was not over drying and didn't have a strong smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product I've tried.

Posted25 October 2012
Customer Avatar
CJS54
from South Wales
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been colouring my hair for over 40 years. In recent years I've been going to various salons. I've recently been having my hair coloured with a mobile stylist but was still disappointed that the lift wasn't great on my roots and they remained darker than the ends. I tried this product this evening and it is amazing! I should have combed it right through because the bottom is very slightly darker than my roots but it's dried fine. I will certainly be using this from now on. It's better than a salon. Fantastic.
Advantages: fantastic coverage.
Disadvantages: hairline is stinging very slightly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LIFE SAVER.

Posted03 April 2014
Customer Avatar
emmaporch
natural hair colour: dark brown
colour previous to first stripping: copper (7.44)
i had my hair stripped with 30vol on tuesday and again on the wednesday. unfortunately, it didn't turn out platinum but a pale yellow colour with a more brown and pale orangey colour at the ends. i bought this hoping it would even it out and lift my hair as pale yellow as possible as toner wasn't helping. it worked! my application wasn't great and i found the dye quite drying. remember i was applying at the bottom first and then moving upwards every 15 minutes, so this was difficult and i had to brush my hair a lot with a wide tooth comb but this didn't damage my hair.
of course, this dye could be better in that sense, but it did help me a lot.
i'm not yet platinum blonde but i am a very pale blonde and i will be using my purple/white directions toner to correct this soon! my hair isnt in bad condition at all yet either. it feels a little dry (as expected) but not falling out or splitting or wirey.
thank you so much loreal for saving me from my embarrassment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

Posted04 August 2014
Customer Avatar
crystal45
from Canary Islands
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
After having hi-lighted my medium brown hair for years, I have been fed up with constant breakage from the bleach and having to have my hair trimmed regularly to remove the "dead ends" A hairdresser friend of mine suggested I try using a high lift colourant instead of bleach to minimize the constant damage to my hair. I used this product and the results were amazing - just the same colour (ash blonde) I would have got from using a bleach based hair streaking kit! Very impressed. I must mention though, that my natural hair colour has approx 20 per cent grey. As I was nervous about using a new product for the first time I used a hi-lighting cap too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oréal Préférence Extreme Platinum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best product for achieving a platinum look at home.

Posted21 September 2013
Customer Avatar
Nadine2704
from Perth, Scotland
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Uses Product:A few times per year
I am surprised that this hair dye has such a low rating. As a veteran blonde-hair-dyer I have tried nearly all the 'platinum' dyes out there, and this one is by far one of the best box dyes I have used.
It doesn't quite give you the white-look that the picture on the box claims, but of course that picture will have been edited to perfection, so it's unrealistic to think that your hair will end up looking like the model's. It does NOT, I repeat NOT give you yellow hair though - it is the closest shade to platinum that you could expect from a shop bought dye.
For the people who have said that they have been left with yellow hair, they have probably tried to dye over previously dyed hair that is too dark to lighten fully with a one-off use of this dye. If you want to dye straight over your natural hair, or are going for a root touch up, then I'd completely recommend this product.
This dye, coupled with a purple shampoo, is definitely the way to go if you want to achieve a platinum look at home. Boots sell a very reasonably priced purple shampoo (around £3), called Touch of Silver, and it is one of the best toning shampoos I have ever used. Don't waste your money on all those ridiculously priced toners and shampoos!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>