Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Softcup Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack

Softcup Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack

Softcup−12 hours of whatever you feel like. Experience your most comfortable period yet with Softcup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.964 / 5
4
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
20 out of 27(74%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Review 1 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Revoluntary

Posted24 August 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
I bought Softcup as on off chance to give it a try as I was interested in the 12 hour protection. I find that I can use the Softcup in the morning and can completly forget about it all day. Once you get used to using it then you dont feel it at all. I was never able to use tampons before and this has been amazing, I will not be going back to towels.
Advantages: can wear it all day, comfortable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+63points
73of 83voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has changed my life!

Posted24 August 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
I purchased Softcup after recommendation from a friend. I'll never use tampons again! It is so easy to use, you can't feel it at all, and doesn't interrupt your life in any way! ;) I cannot recommend Softcup enough!! Just give it a try!
Advantages: easy to use, no strings, can't be felt, doesn't impact "physical activity", no smells, no link to tss
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
40of 63voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A travellers best friend!

Posted24 August 2012
Customer Avatar
rosielf6
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Has made travelling a lot easier. It has always been a bit of dilemma and a nuisance finding a bathroom to freshen up (or planning my day around using a toilet!) . Using these has truely been amazing! Once you get the hang of them, you'll be suprised how easy to use they are.
Advantages: practical, convenient, value for money
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
44of 70voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FluffyBunnie
 
Please wait while more information about FluffyBunnie is loaded.
Additional information about FluffyBunnie could not be loaded.
Posted 30 August 2012
I have one question... how do you take it out?
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just so easy

Posted05 October 2012
Customer Avatar
alwaysbusy
from Edinburgh
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Try these, they are so much better than tampons, they may be a bit more expensive but I will not be using to any other products now, so easy and comfortable to use
Advantages: use for up to 12 hours including overnight
Disadvantages: bit more expensive, no stocked in many stores
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Freedom!

Posted31 October 2012
Customer Avatar
1969Johanna
from Ely
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using soft cup for the past 3 months and I can't recommend it more highly. I saw them on the shelf back in August and was curious to see what they were like. Went to the Softcup website to read more about it and that was really useful. From day one I had complete success and haven't looked back since. The freedom it gives you is unbelievable! I wish they had been available earlier. Even my 14 year old daughter uses them! She never has to worry about whether she has enough supplies for the day at school or asking to go to the loo all the time. It's just once in the morning and once before bed. It couldn't be easier! Telling all my friends about it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
28of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleased

Posted16 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Nottinghamshire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall I am pleased with this product and will definitely buy again. However, I have a couple of gripes:
* Pack size would work better as a 10 or 12 (priced accordingly of course)
* Not great to remove, especially if you are out and about and do not have a sink in the cubicle!
But as you can wear these for up to 12hrs, one in the morning and one at night is great, so incredibly easy to insert, can't tell it is there when wearing.
I would definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
22of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

expensive ,good idea,but can be messy

Posted03 December 2012
Customer Avatar
samia1977
from doncaster,uk
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i bought these online.ive not seen them in any shops.the first time i unwrapped one,i was surprised at the size,and didnt think they would work.i have used as full pack now.i never ever left one in for 12 hrs,and wouldnt want to.i found that after 6 hrs i wanted to change it. they are not absorbant at all,so they are very messy to change.( imagine trying to remove ,empty / or wrap in tissue before binning)however i didnt experience bad leakage while using them.i think if they were absorbant or flushable i would like them more.i felt like i should use pads at the same time
Advantages: discreet, hygenic
Disadvantages: messy to remove, expensive, cant flush them
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
16of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So happy I found these.

Posted18 December 2012
Customer Avatar
Duckyboots
from Swansea
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been suffering for years with a very heavy flow and have reached the stage where I have been offered a hysterectomy if I want one because it is so bad. I heard about these from a post on fb and decided to give them a try after visiting the product's website and doing some research.
According to the many comments I've read from other users of this product I inserted the product while I was in the shower. The next tip I picked up was that when going to the loo for a wee - to bear down slightly and it would empty and slip back into place. Both tips worked beautifully and I have had no leaks. I used the softcup for 12 hours at a time and tied in the removal/ insertion process with my shower schedule in the morning and at bedtime - which made the slightly messy process irrelevant and easy to cope with.
As long as I nip to the loo every couple of hours to drain the cup to prevent over-filling it works beautifully. I've laughed heartily, coughed hard, gone for walks and had 'marital relations' (can't use the 's' word here LOL) while wearing softcup - all in the the first three days of my period which are usually wasted days for me.
I've been housebound for a number of years for at least 4 days a month and now I am able to lead a normal life again. I won't need a major operation with all its attendant risks because Softcup has made such a difference. I can accept invitations to events and travel and not worry my period might turn up and ruin my plans. And I can stop taking the medication prescribed by my GP to try and stem the flow and which has dangerous side-effects and doesn't make all that much difference anyway.
I have only been using Softcup for three days and want to tell everyone about it. For women like me who have been suffering for years with heavy periods it is a life-changer.
My only fear now is that Boots will stop selling the product as I can't face the thought of going back to how I was before. I wish they would start selling the re-usable version as I would like to try that too.
Advantages: only need to use one a day
I would recommend this to a friend!
+77points
81of 85voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

Posted14 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This was a great discovery! Easy to use and effective. Although a bit disconcerting at first I do like the fact that when you go to the loo it does empty to some extent, and so far no drips when I don't want any! The long-wearing time is really useful. Please can you stock in more Boots stores!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What a mess

Posted27 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Warks
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tried this because was sick of using pads and tampax.
It is quite easy to insert but not easy to take out I had to bear down to remove them. The cup stayed flat and did not catch much in the cup it over flowed.
It is very hard to use if you have a high pelvis like myself, It is rather messy to take out. I purchased two boxes and still have a box left.
I was not impressed !
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Total surprise!

Posted01 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Shazzzie
My sister in law asked me what I thought to this product, I was a little unsure but decided to try it. So far I am very impressed, can't feel a thing & no leakage at all. Wow best invention ever. My partner agrees ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for all, but worth trying

Posted26 March 2013
Customer Avatar
KashaUK
from Newcastle, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I've used menstrual cups like Mooncup for 10 years, but decided to try Softcups to see how they compare.
For me Softcups don't work because my pelvic bone is too high so the softcup simply wouldn't stay in place, as such it was messy to use because the cup wouldn't stay cup-shaped and wouldn't stay horizontally positioned under my cervix to catch the flow, it also meant unfortunately that my partner could feel the cup while we were intimate - we normally use diaphragms for mess-free intimate time during menstruation with no problems. I will say however that although Softcups won't work for many they are well worth trying because like menstrual cups they're far safer and more hygienic than tampons so far lower risk of infections, menstrual cramps and TSS, as such they can be worn for 12 hours with any flow and even overnight without needing to alternate with pads so a more convenient option too.
If you find Softcups don't work for you, or want to try another option, try menstrual cups like Mooncup - safer, hygienic, and convenient like softcups, but menstrual cups like Mooncup are far easier to use, better suited to all women, and don't leak like other options.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-13points
7of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Been using these for years! Very happy to find them locally!

Posted30 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Kiki73
from Dorset
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started using soft cups about 15 years ago as they were readily available in North America, where I was living at the time. Once you get used to using them (you know you've got it in right when you can't feel it) they're a doddle, you'll never go back to pads or tampons, you've got one less thing to think about as they don't overflow, you won't get caught out by wrong absorbency, you can have... Er... *cuddles* with your other half wearing one and there's no chance of Toxic Shock Syndrome like with tampons. Not a lot of products are a life changer but this one is. At least for those few days each month. One less thing to think about, you can just live your life like you don't have your period. And that's nice.
Advantages: quite economical all things considered, clean, no chance of toxic shock syndrome like with tampon
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not good for me

Posted10 May 2013
Customer Avatar
bailey63
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I got a couple of these as samples, sounded like a great idea as I'm allergic to most tampons and towels. On the plus side, very easy to put in, very comfortable (you can't feel it at all when you're wearing one), and no allergy related discomfort at all. On the minus side, very very messy. The cup didn't seem to catch anything, and taking it out, well, being as it didn't catch anything, removing it was quite messy. Perhaps its a size issue as some people say they are great, or perhaps I just didn't use them right. Either way I don't think I'll be giving them another go.
Advantages: allergy free
Disadvantages: messy
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth trying

Posted13 May 2013
Customer Avatar
nrobo
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had wanted to try something different during my period for a while, but wasn't sure I wanted to pay out £20 for a mooncup only to find it wasn't for me, so softcup seemed like a good idea. The more I use them, the better it gets! I can just get on with life, only having to change it in the morning and before bed. It can be a little messy when removing, but I do feel that it's made me more in tune with my body. My only fear is that Boots stops stocking them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

Posted03 June 2013
Customer Avatar
pinknfluffy87
from Devon UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I brought these after suffering with irritation & thrush during my monthly cycle. Since using these I have had no irritation at all.
Once you get the hang of insertion you cant tell its there & you don't have you worry about changing it just once every 12 hours. So I am free to do what I want when I want!! freedom! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Try it!

Posted08 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I saw these in boots, did some research (watched the videos about them online) and bought a box. I generally used tampons before but was starting to find them uncomfortable and I find pads irritating. At first the size worried me having had no children etc. They are a soft plastic type ring which is really easy to insert and comfortable to wear. I was always very aware of tampons but you can't feel this. I saw a tip on here about bearing down when you're in the loo to prevent overflow and so far I've had no leaks over 2 cycles. I work long shifts and find it liberating to not need to worry about my soft cup throughout the day. They are a bit expensive and I think there should be more in the box (this is 4 day supply) as I usually require a full week, but I think the peace of mind and comfort is worth it. I definitely recommend them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GET THEM!!!!!!

Posted14 July 2013
Customer Avatar
pixie77
from UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
I was interested in trying Mooncup but not willing to pay the high price and didn't fancy washing it out - which is totally impractical when in a cubicle with no sink! I saw these and thought I'd give them a try. Wow! I am so glad I did. They have a soft rubber ring with a small bag attached to it. You insert them by pinching together the soft ring. Once inserted you cant feel them at all. I have also never suffered any leaks from them, you can put them change them in the morning and then once you go to bed and thats it, even on heavy days! You can leave them in during intercourse with no horrid side effects. They are simply great and I cant recommend them enough! The only down side is I find taking them out takes a bit of getting used to. They say put them back into the packet of the new one, but I find it much easier to wrap in toilet tissue and place in a scented sanitary bag.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst menstrual product I have ever bought

Posted20 July 2013
Customer Avatar
sunnyislesbeach
from London UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used this product and for 4 hours it was great. The product dislodged itself and I was left in the most embarrassing situation.
I am surprised this product sells. Awful experience. Will stick with tampax.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

life changing

Posted29 July 2013
Customer Avatar
snellie
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bought one box on a whim to see what they were and can't imagine ever going back to tampons. Insertion is a walk in the park. Maybe it's me but after c4 months of using these, I still find removal messy but I simply don't care because it is a small price to pay for 12 hours of complete comfort, no nasty little string hanging out, no odour and no leakage at all in my experience (apart from when using the loo anyway). May not be for everyone but what downside can there be from trying as I did. My only regrets are that I didn't discover these years ago AND that Boots don't stock them more widely. Come on Boots!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>