Boots Ratings and Reviews
Gok
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Tampons or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Softcup Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack

Softcup Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack

Softcup−12 hours of whatever you feel like. Experience your most comfortable period yet with Softcup.
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
24 out of 32(75%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Review 1 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just so easy

Posted05 October 2012
Customer Avatar
from Edinburgh
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Try these, they are so much better than tampons, they may be a bit more expensive but I will not be using to any other products now, so easy and comfortable to use
Advantages: use for up to 12 hours including overnight
Disadvantages: bit more expensive, no stocked in many stores
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Try it!

Posted08 June 2013
Customer Avatar
I saw these in boots, did some research (watched the videos about them online) and bought a box. I generally used tampons before but was starting to find them uncomfortable and I find pads irritating. At first the size worried me having had no children etc. They are a soft plastic type ring which is really easy to insert and comfortable to wear. I was always very aware of tampons but you can't feel this. I saw a tip on here about bearing down when you're in the loo to prevent overflow and so far I've had no leaks over 2 cycles. I work long shifts and find it liberating to not need to worry about my soft cup throughout the day. They are a bit expensive and I think there should be more in the box (this is 4 day supply) as I usually require a full week, but I think the peace of mind and comfort is worth it. I definitely recommend them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

life changing

Posted29 July 2013
Customer Avatar
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bought one box on a whim to see what they were and can't imagine ever going back to tampons. Insertion is a walk in the park. Maybe it's me but after c4 months of using these, I still find removal messy but I simply don't care because it is a small price to pay for 12 hours of complete comfort, no nasty little string hanging out, no odour and no leakage at all in my experience (apart from when using the loo anyway). May not be for everyone but what downside can there be from trying as I did. My only regrets are that I didn't discover these years ago AND that Boots don't stock them more widely. Come on Boots!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never looked back

Posted27 June 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southampton, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
I started using the product because I have the problem of a tampon not being enough. No matter what size I use, they always leak! I end up using pads and tampons together to control it all! I debated getting softcups and when I was tried of not being able to swim on my period, I bought these!
I was so surprised, they are brilliant! They were easy to insert and remove (albeit slightly messy the first few tries). You might have to be careful the first few times you wear them, as some will fill up more quickly, depending on your flow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GET THEM!!!!!!

Posted14 July 2013
Customer Avatar
from UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
I was interested in trying Mooncup but not willing to pay the high price and didn't fancy washing it out - which is totally impractical when in a cubicle with no sink! I saw these and thought I'd give them a try. Wow! I am so glad I did. They have a soft rubber ring with a small bag attached to it. You insert them by pinching together the soft ring. Once inserted you cant feel them at all. I have also never suffered any leaks from them, you can put them change them in the morning and then once you go to bed and thats it, even on heavy days! You can leave them in during intercourse with no horrid side effects. They are simply great and I cant recommend them enough! The only down side is I find taking them out takes a bit of getting used to. They say put them back into the packet of the new one, but I find it much easier to wrap in toilet tissue and place in a scented sanitary bag.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth trying

Posted13 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had wanted to try something different during my period for a while, but wasn't sure I wanted to pay out £20 for a mooncup only to find it wasn't for me, so softcup seemed like a good idea. The more I use them, the better it gets! I can just get on with life, only having to change it in the morning and before bed. It can be a little messy when removing, but I do feel that it's made me more in tune with my body. My only fear is that Boots stops stocking them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

value for money

Posted23 November 2013
Customer Avatar
from milton keynes
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
with having very heavy periods this product is great.
really easy to use and remove.
very comfortable to wear much better then pads.
would buy this again and recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst menstrual product I have ever bought

Posted20 July 2013
Customer Avatar
from London UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used this product and for 4 hours it was great. The product dislodged itself and I was left in the most embarrassing situation.
I am surprised this product sells. Awful experience. Will stick with tampax.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What a mess

Posted27 February 2013
Customer Avatar
from Warks
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tried this because was sick of using pads and tampax.
It is quite easy to insert but not easy to take out I had to bear down to remove them. The cup stayed flat and did not catch much in the cup it over flowed.
It is very hard to use if you have a high pelvis like myself, It is rather messy to take out. I purchased two boxes and still have a box left.
I was not impressed !
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not good for me

Posted10 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I got a couple of these as samples, sounded like a great idea as I'm allergic to most tampons and towels. On the plus side, very easy to put in, very comfortable (you can't feel it at all when you're wearing one), and no allergy related discomfort at all. On the minus side, very very messy. The cup didn't seem to catch anything, and taking it out, well, being as it didn't catch anything, removing it was quite messy. Perhaps its a size issue as some people say they are great, or perhaps I just didn't use them right. Either way I don't think I'll be giving them another go.
Advantages: allergy free
Disadvantages: messy
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

expensive ,good idea,but can be messy

Posted03 December 2012
Customer Avatar
from doncaster,uk
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i bought these online.ive not seen them in any shops.the first time i unwrapped one,i was surprised at the size,and didnt think they would work.i have used as full pack now.i never ever left one in for 12 hrs,and wouldnt want to.i found that after 6 hrs i wanted to change it. they are not absorbant at all,so they are very messy to change.( imagine trying to remove ,empty / or wrap in tissue before binning)however i didnt experience bad leakage while using them.i think if they were absorbant or flushable i would like them more.i felt like i should use pads at the same time
Advantages: discreet, hygenic
Disadvantages: messy to remove, expensive, cant flush them
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
17of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Been using these for years! Very happy to find them locally!

Posted30 April 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dorset
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started using soft cups about 15 years ago as they were readily available in North America, where I was living at the time. Once you get used to using them (you know you've got it in right when you can't feel it) they're a doddle, you'll never go back to pads or tampons, you've got one less thing to think about as they don't overflow, you won't get caught out by wrong absorbency, you can have... Er... *cuddles* with your other half wearing one and there's no chance of Toxic Shock Syndrome like with tampons. Not a lot of products are a life changer but this one is. At least for those few days each month. One less thing to think about, you can just live your life like you don't have your period. And that's nice.
Advantages: quite economical all things considered, clean, no chance of toxic shock syndrome like with tampon
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New to Soft cup

Posted27 April 2014
Customer Avatar
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was a little daunting switching from pads to Soft cups. I have used tampons in the past as well, and find the insertion very similar. It was tricky at first and I was scared I might lose it and have to go to A&E, but none of that happened. Just needed to relax and NOT over think it.
I will definitely be buying it again. I wore it 9 hours and no leaks. it was Messy removing it, but I am still learning. Fist cycle using it. Will use it for ttc as well in future.
Wish boots stocked it in store and wish you got 12 in a box instead of just 8. My cycle is 5 days usually and I change the cup twice a day (morning and night) minimum.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Total surprise!

Posted01 March 2013
Customer Avatar
My sister in law asked me what I thought to this product, I was a little unsure but decided to try it. So far I am very impressed, can't feel a thing & no leakage at all. Wow best invention ever. My partner agrees ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

Posted14 February 2013
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This was a great discovery! Easy to use and effective. Although a bit disconcerting at first I do like the fact that when you go to the loo it does empty to some extent, and so far no drips when I don't want any! The long-wearing time is really useful. Please can you stock in more Boots stores!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Freedom!

Posted31 October 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ely
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using soft cup for the past 3 months and I can't recommend it more highly. I saw them on the shelf back in August and was curious to see what they were like. Went to the Softcup website to read more about it and that was really useful. From day one I had complete success and haven't looked back since. The freedom it gives you is unbelievable! I wish they had been available earlier. Even my 14 year old daughter uses them! She never has to worry about whether she has enough supplies for the day at school or asking to go to the loo all the time. It's just once in the morning and once before bed. It couldn't be easier! Telling all my friends about it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
31of 41voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Worst product ever!

Posted01 November 2013
Customer Avatar
from Leeds UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I tried these once when I saw them on offer.
They were awful. They didn't leak but taking it out without the blood spilling all over was a farce! I always ended up with a bright red toilet seat so was no use when out and about.
The thought of them makes me cringe with the big thick rubber that has to go inside you.
I think I'm going to invest in the mooncup instead !
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So happy I found these.

Posted18 December 2012
Customer Avatar
from Swansea
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been suffering for years with a very heavy flow and have reached the stage where I have been offered a hysterectomy if I want one because it is so bad. I heard about these from a post on fb and decided to give them a try after visiting the product's website and doing some research.
According to the many comments I've read from other users of this product I inserted the product while I was in the shower. The next tip I picked up was that when going to the loo for a wee - to bear down slightly and it would empty and slip back into place. Both tips worked beautifully and I have had no leaks. I used the softcup for 12 hours at a time and tied in the removal/ insertion process with my shower schedule in the morning and at bedtime - which made the slightly messy process irrelevant and easy to cope with.
As long as I nip to the loo every couple of hours to drain the cup to prevent over-filling it works beautifully. I've laughed heartily, coughed hard, gone for walks and had 'marital relations' (can't use the 's' word here LOL) while wearing softcup - all in the the first three days of my period which are usually wasted days for me.
I've been housebound for a number of years for at least 4 days a month and now I am able to lead a normal life again. I won't need a major operation with all its attendant risks because Softcup has made such a difference. I can accept invitations to events and travel and not worry my period might turn up and ruin my plans. And I can stop taking the medication prescribed by my GP to try and stem the flow and which has dangerous side-effects and doesn't make all that much difference anyway.
I have only been using Softcup for three days and want to tell everyone about it. For women like me who have been suffering for years with heavy periods it is a life-changer.
My only fear now is that Boots will stop selling the product as I can't face the thought of going back to how I was before. I wish they would start selling the re-usable version as I would like to try that too.
Advantages: only need to use one a day
I would recommend this to a friend!
+79points
83of 87voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and convenient

Posted18 October 2013
Customer Avatar
from UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found this product very easy to use and it made 'that time of the month' much easier as I wasn't having to think about the next change. I would definitely recommend to ladies who lead busy lives.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Softcup 12 Hour Period Protection 8 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

soft cup

Posted24 November 2013
Customer Avatar
from Macduff
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wish I know About this years I go it save alot off money and itis great for work and bedtime
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>