Boots Ratings and Reviews
Gok
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Botanics Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml

Botanics Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml

This mattifying day cream moisturiser is designed for oily skin to combination skin. Enriched with clarifying willowbark, it has all day shine control, hydrates and protects. 5* UVA protection (***** Ultra)
Average Customer Rating:
4.042 / 5
4
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
18 out of 23(78%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Review 1 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVELY ....

Posted07 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Nazkhan
from MANCHESTER
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE THIS SKINCARE RANGE KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND DONT STOP THESE ITEMS IN THIS RANGE
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent product !!

Posted29 July 2012
Customer Avatar
kavitapant
from u.k
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
It is a reasonably priced day cream ,perfect for oily skin .It does what it says, Well done boots !
Advantages: price, quality, paraben free
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

Posted08 August 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Uses Product:Every day
This product is amazing! Before I used this day cream my skin would feel oily within a couple of hours, but when I use this cream underneath my makeup I can go around 8 hours without feeling oily. I would definitely recommend this to anyone with oily skin! I love it!
Advantages: it has spf 15
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed!!

Posted23 March 2013
Customer Avatar
heathjane90
from Herefordshire, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using this product for a month now, and disappointed with the results after reading such positive reviews.
I have combination skin, and this product doesn't suit my skin type at all. The product smells great, and fresh. However, the application of the moisturiser, I found it's very difficult to rub in to my skin, as it seems to sink in straight away, which means applying more to my face.
I also found that it left me with a slight burning sensation, so I believe my skin is too sensitive for this product to work on me.
It hasn't controlled my blemishes, and I've had more outbreaks than usual. I still have shiny skin after using this product, and doesn't give my skin that matte appearance.
Unfortunately, this isn't the product for me, I have used better moisturisers, so I won't be repurchasing this one.
Advantages: smells great
Disadvantages: product doesn't work for my skin type
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

brilliant

Posted18 February 2013
Customer Avatar
laura171092
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am constantly on a mission to stop my face being shiny and oily and this product is very good. I like light feeling moisturisers and although this doesn't feel particularly light, it stops the oil. My face will be a little shiny but not through oil sitting on my face, more through being dry. Before using this, if i felt my face about 6 hours through the day i'd get some shiny oily stuff on my fingertips. This doesn't happen now i'm using this botanics cream.
boots, please never stop making this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible

Posted12 June 2013
Customer Avatar
sarahawm
I regret buying this. Leaves a residue on your skin. This doesn't make your skin less shiny, but it does make putting on makeup a nightmare. Whenever you touch your face some of the reside comes off in tiny lumps. Round your hairline this looks like dandruff. Complete waste of money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quite good..

Posted02 December 2012
Customer Avatar
nadia0111
from Leicester, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I thought i'd give this face cream a try as it was new and its quite good and keeps my face oil free for most of the day but you can't wear it on its own as it makes your face look really shiny - well mine does anyway. I do wear a powder over this cream so i'm not sure if its the powder that keeps my face matte or whether the cream helps, its a bit of a hit and miss.
Advantages: keeps face oil free all day?, smells pretty good
Disadvantages: makes face shiny if used on its own
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

Posted31 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Kitty313
from UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
A really nice light moisturiser, perfect for younger skin. SPF protects the skin well, wore it on a two week sunny holiday and got a very even slight tan! Make sure not to put too much on though as it will make your face looks really shiny and odd. With sparing daily use it lasts me just over 2 months, which is fantastic value for money as the quality definitely exceeds the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for oily/shiny skin

Posted10 May 2013
Customer Avatar
cioney17
I used this after cleansing and under my make up and found it really helped with my oily skin. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this!

Posted18 May 2013
Customer Avatar
RLizzieH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
What a bargain! Really reasonable price and does what it says on the tin - like many of the products in the Botanics range.
It makes my skin feel really smooth after application and is really light and fresh. A lot of oil-balancing and clarifying moisturisers don't offer any sun protection but this has SPF 15 which is great. I set with a light powder over my T zone to make it truly matte as it does give quite a dewy finish but my skin looks much more even since using it and I've haven't had as many spots either. I also use it as a night cream and my skin looks and feels lovely when I get up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5*uva plus anti-shine...perfect!

Posted25 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Louloverglover
Have been looking for a product that does sun protection without making skin shiny for a long time- and here it is. Tub is big and will last ages, very reasonable too. Skin stays shine free all day great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Still shiny!

Posted27 September 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from London
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
As a sufferer of oily and shiny skin, I am always on the look out for products that might help combat it.
This cream is very reasonably priced and absorbs into the skin quickly so you don't have to waste time waiting to put your makeup on and a little goes a long way so for that, I've given it 2 stars sadly it has not worked at all as a mattifying cream for me. I'm still as shiny as ever!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Day cream for oily skin and really works.

Posted07 October 2013
Customer Avatar
PepeandPochi
from Hertfordshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Although I am now in my late 30s, I still get 'shiny oily ' face half way through the mornings and my skin feels very sticky. It is not a nice feeling at all so I am always on a mission to find the best 'shine control' cream for my face. And this task is further made complicated by the fact that my skin is also sensitive. I am very pleased with this Botanics Shine away cream so far. It does control my shine brilliantly, much better than the others at least, without drying my skin. And it is ok for my sensitive skin too. Recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First use and I'm really impressed!

Posted14 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Rocky1188
Ok so I'm 30 yrs old. Combination skin. Not normally too spot prone. Quite uneven (red blotchey) skin tone. I've literally spent £Hundreds recently on make-up/skin care because for some reason my skin has suddenly gone haywire! Dull, oily but strangely dry at the same time. My nose feels oily after a couple of hrs but there's a layer of dry skin on it too (looks truly horrendous with makeup on!) and my pores seem to have expanded tenfold! Which again..looks horrendous with foundation sitting in them! Anyway.. Here I am after my first try of the Botanics Shine Away Day Cream. I've just washed with the Shine Away Cleansing Mousse (used exfoliating gloves but only very gently). Then I applied the Shine Away Clay mask for 15mins. Have washed that off and applied a good thick layer of the Day Cream (it's actually night time but I don't like thick heavy night creams at night). And all I can say is my skin feels GORGEOUS!! It feels so clean and fresh and really hydrated and although I totally shouldn't...I keep touching my face! I can't say for sure whether the Shine Away products are miracle workers but for my first use...I'm seriously impressed! They all contain extract of willow bark which is basically what Salicylic Acid comes from and Salicylic Acid has brilliant pore cleanser/exfoliator/blemish control/anti aging properties. So the way I see it..I can't go wrong with willow bark! Anyway..this is the longest review ever (so sorry for that!) but I just felt the need to tell everyone that so far this cream (and the other products too) is just lovely. It's cheap too which is always a bonus! I strongly suggest you give the Shine Away range a try! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best moisturiser for teen/twenties skin!

Posted26 September 2012
Customer Avatar
elliebea
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using the botanics shine away mattifying day cream for just over a month now, every morning. It soothes skin without making it greasy as the cream sinks in really well, and leaves a smooth surface for make up, but also feels comfortable on its own. I have recommended this product to lots of my friends who, like me, are also in their twenties with skin that still has problems from time to time!
The SPF 15 is also a bonus - and such a great price!!!
The prefect cream for late teens/twenties who need a 'starter' moisturiser.
Advantages: great value, spf 15, super for combination skin, soothing, natural
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does exactly what it says!

Posted21 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Surferchick
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant product, smells amazing and is lovely to use. No shine whatsoever and it moisturises as well as any other product. Fantastic value will definitely be buying again!
Advantages: spf 15 the amazing smell!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never Buy this

Posted20 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
This is the worst moisturizer that I have ever used in my life.
The cream peeled of my face and made me have really bad dry and flaky skin and made me break out even more even after using it for 2+ months
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

Posted13 May 2013
Customer Avatar
susie1994
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Although this moisturiser left my skin feeling soft but not oily, i am really disappointed by it. It leaves a film on your skin that can then be rubbed off, this caused a problem when i then tried to put my foundation on.
Advantages: skin felt moisturised, stopped skin being oily
Disadvantages: leaves a horrible film
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic!

Posted06 March 2014
Customer Avatar
lcallan
from ayr, scotland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
This product is life changing! I never used to have oily skin until recently and have tried various different products to combat the problem but this is by far the best one I have found, and its a fraction of the price of most others! Love the whole botanics shine away collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product!

Posted19 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Cassiopeia01
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have ridiculously oily skin, and have been looking for a solution for 6 years now. Of course, oily skin is something that starts deeper than the surface so no cream is going to perform miracles. But, this is the best mattifying product I've ever used.
You only need to dab a small amount onto your finger for your chin, cheeks, nose and forehead. Give it a few minutes to work, you can feel your pores tightening and your skin will feel super smooth. Applying foundation over it feels gorgeous, silky smooth.
As you don't need to use much at a time for it to work, this product lasts forever. If you are plagued by oily skin, please give this product a try. It's super cheap compared to other products, a total bargain.
Advantages: bargain, easy to use, makes skin smooth, great primer for foundation, keeps skin matte for hours
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>