Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Botanics Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml

Botanics Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml

This mattifying day cream moisturiser is designed for oily skin to combination skin. Enriched with clarifying willowbark, it has all day shine control, hydrates and protects. 5* UVA protection (***** Ultra)
Average Customer Rating:
4.114 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
3
19 out of 25(76%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Review 1 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fantastic sun lotion

Posted11 July 2015
Customer Avatar
kateslater101
from Oxford, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every few days
I love this product. I can spend all day in the sun with it and not have to worry about my face burning at all. It's also great at not causing spots and it does not leaving my skin oily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does exactly what it says!

Posted21 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Surferchick
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant product, smells amazing and is lovely to use. No shine whatsoever and it moisturises as well as any other product. Fantastic value will definitely be buying again!
Advantages: spf 15 the amazing smell!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

terrrible

Posted29 March 2014
Customer Avatar
ngoc mai
from london, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
right after putting the cream, my skin is bit too dry, later about 2 hours, my skin becomes too oily
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its brilliant

Posted17 September 2015
Customer Avatar
Zannahr
from Gloucestershire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
I love this day cream! It's light weight, smooth and easy to apply, and you can feel it working instantly. I've got oily skin and this is the best one I've found so far that doesn't cost the earth. I don't particularly rate the Gel version of this product but this one is perfect. As you don't need too much (I literally dip the tip of my finger in and that's enough for my entire face) one pot lasts months, I usually have to buy about 3 pots a year! Because of that it's great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product!

Posted19 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Cassiopeia01
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have ridiculously oily skin, and have been looking for a solution for 6 years now. Of course, oily skin is something that starts deeper than the surface so no cream is going to perform miracles. But, this is the best mattifying product I've ever used.
You only need to dab a small amount onto your finger for your chin, cheeks, nose and forehead. Give it a few minutes to work, you can feel your pores tightening and your skin will feel super smooth. Applying foundation over it feels gorgeous, silky smooth.
As you don't need to use much at a time for it to work, this product lasts forever. If you are plagued by oily skin, please give this product a try. It's super cheap compared to other products, a total bargain.
Advantages: bargain, easy to use, makes skin smooth, great primer for foundation, keeps skin matte for hours
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing, especially for the price!

Posted04 August 2015
Customer Avatar
Polarbear88
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I have combination skin, particularly an oily forehead and nose and with it being summer it's a nuisance. This day cream is fab. It definitely reduces shine and gives a nice make up base. If I'm not wearing make up this cream gives my skin a nice glow and it smells good. Plus it's super cheap! I am a big fan of boots botanics and will definitely reorder this.
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVELY ....

Posted07 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Nazkhan
from MANCHESTER
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE THIS SKINCARE RANGE KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND DONT STOP THESE ITEMS IN THIS RANGE
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this!

Posted18 May 2013
Customer Avatar
RLizzieH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
What a bargain! Really reasonable price and does what it says on the tin - like many of the products in the Botanics range.
It makes my skin feel really smooth after application and is really light and fresh. A lot of oil-balancing and clarifying moisturisers don't offer any sun protection but this has SPF 15 which is great. I set with a light powder over my T zone to make it truly matte as it does give quite a dewy finish but my skin looks much more even since using it and I've haven't had as many spots either. I also use it as a night cream and my skin looks and feels lovely when I get up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

Posted13 May 2013
Customer Avatar
susie1994
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Although this moisturiser left my skin feeling soft but not oily, i am really disappointed by it. It leaves a film on your skin that can then be rubbed off, this caused a problem when i then tried to put my foundation on.
Advantages: skin felt moisturised, stopped skin being oily
Disadvantages: leaves a horrible film
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would Not Recommend

Posted26 September 2014
Customer Avatar
MagooBear
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had used products from this range before and liked them. I decided to try this moisturiser but was very disappointed. As I rub it in, it starts to peel off, leaving bits all over my face. This got worse when I put my foundation on. I had to clean my face and start over, WITHOUT applying moisturiser. Will never buy again and would not recommend to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for oily/shiny skin

Posted10 May 2013
Customer Avatar
cioney17
I used this after cleansing and under my make up and found it really helped with my oily skin. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First use and I'm really impressed!

Posted14 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Rocky1188
Ok so I'm 30 yrs old. Combination skin. Not normally too spot prone. Quite uneven (red blotchey) skin tone. I've literally spent £Hundreds recently on make-up/skin care because for some reason my skin has suddenly gone haywire! Dull, oily but strangely dry at the same time. My nose feels oily after a couple of hrs but there's a layer of dry skin on it too (looks truly horrendous with makeup on!) and my pores seem to have expanded tenfold! Which again..looks horrendous with foundation sitting in them! Anyway.. Here I am after my first try of the Botanics Shine Away Day Cream. I've just washed with the Shine Away Cleansing Mousse (used exfoliating gloves but only very gently). Then I applied the Shine Away Clay mask for 15mins. Have washed that off and applied a good thick layer of the Day Cream (it's actually night time but I don't like thick heavy night creams at night). And all I can say is my skin feels GORGEOUS!! It feels so clean and fresh and really hydrated and although I totally shouldn't...I keep touching my face! I can't say for sure whether the Shine Away products are miracle workers but for my first use...I'm seriously impressed! They all contain extract of willow bark which is basically what Salicylic Acid comes from and Salicylic Acid has brilliant pore cleanser/exfoliator/blemish control/anti aging properties. So the way I see it..I can't go wrong with willow bark! Anyway..this is the longest review ever (so sorry for that!) but I just felt the need to tell everyone that so far this cream (and the other products too) is just lovely. It's cheap too which is always a bonus! I strongly suggest you give the Shine Away range a try! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this face cream

Posted11 September 2015
Customer Avatar
Georgette
from London
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
genuinely non greasy. really moisturises but without being shiny. good sun protection too. highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

does what it sets out to do

Posted14 December 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Cottingham, East Yorkshire
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
I have extremely sensitive skin and with this product, I've finally found a face cream that doesn't slide off my face nor dry on impact. Even at my mature age I have breakouts but this cream has minimised them to such a degree that they are no longer a problem for me. I would recommend this product to anyone and give 10 marks out of 10. I would also recommend using the Botanics mattifying foam face wash, it leaves my skin feeling fresh.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shocked!

Posted19 April 2015
Customer Avatar
lprahalad
I have reallyyyy oily skin especially on my face and have been searching for a suitable moisturiser for about 10 years, which doesn't leave my face feeling/looking greasy. I have spent so much money on premium brands that have failed and 2 weeks ago I thought I'd take a chance on this. I cannot believe how good my skin looks now, there's no greasy shine and no irritation. My skin is clear, looks better than ever, pores are less visible and the added spf is a bonus. Cannot believe the results from such a reasonably cheap priced product. Will definitely be checking out the rest of the range!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

brilliant

Posted18 February 2013
Customer Avatar
laura171092
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am constantly on a mission to stop my face being shiny and oily and this product is very good. I like light feeling moisturisers and although this doesn't feel particularly light, it stops the oil. My face will be a little shiny but not through oil sitting on my face, more through being dry. Before using this, if i felt my face about 6 hours through the day i'd get some shiny oily stuff on my fingertips. This doesn't happen now i'm using this botanics cream.
boots, please never stop making this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best moisturiser for teen/twenties skin!

Posted26 September 2012
Customer Avatar
elliebea
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using the botanics shine away mattifying day cream for just over a month now, every morning. It soothes skin without making it greasy as the cream sinks in really well, and leaves a smooth surface for make up, but also feels comfortable on its own. I have recommended this product to lots of my friends who, like me, are also in their twenties with skin that still has problems from time to time!
The SPF 15 is also a bonus - and such a great price!!!
The prefect cream for late teens/twenties who need a 'starter' moisturiser.
Advantages: great value, spf 15, super for combination skin, soothing, natural
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Still shiny!

Posted27 September 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from London
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
As a sufferer of oily and shiny skin, I am always on the look out for products that might help combat it.
This cream is very reasonably priced and absorbs into the skin quickly so you don't have to waste time waiting to put your makeup on and a little goes a long way so for that, I've given it 2 stars sadly it has not worked at all as a mattifying cream for me. I'm still as shiny as ever!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible

Posted12 June 2013
Customer Avatar
sarahawm
I regret buying this. Leaves a residue on your skin. This doesn't make your skin less shiny, but it does make putting on makeup a nightmare. Whenever you touch your face some of the reside comes off in tiny lumps. Round your hairline this looks like dandruff. Complete waste of money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everyone looking for a mattifying moisturiser should try!

Posted01 May 2014
Customer Avatar
EJai90
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Before purchasing this product I had used mattifying moisturisers from expensive skincare brands. These moisturisers aren't cheap and it made it all the more disappointing when they turned out to be average at best.
Sick of spending and being disappointed I opted for this, one of the cheapest mattifying moisturisers on the shelf and I have been very pleased with the results. My skin even appears to have cleared up as I am usually prone to the odd blemish but had 1-2 in the last 3 weeks of using this cream.
Also a good base for oil free make up! To avoid product overload I went primer-less and found my foundation to sit and stay for 8-10 hours before a touch up was required.
May not work for everyone but surely it's best to start at the cheaper end and then discount it for the future than splash out just to be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>