Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Moisturisers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Botanics Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml

Botanics Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml

This mattifying day cream moisturiser is designed for oily skin to combination skin. Enriched with clarifying willowbark, it has all day shine control, hydrates and protects. 5* UVA protection (***** Ultra)
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
3
19 out of 25(76%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Review 1 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product!

Posted19 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Cassiopeia01
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have ridiculously oily skin, and have been looking for a solution for 6 years now. Of course, oily skin is something that starts deeper than the surface so no cream is going to perform miracles. But, this is the best mattifying product I've ever used.
You only need to dab a small amount onto your finger for your chin, cheeks, nose and forehead. Give it a few minutes to work, you can feel your pores tightening and your skin will feel super smooth. Applying foundation over it feels gorgeous, silky smooth.
As you don't need to use much at a time for it to work, this product lasts forever. If you are plagued by oily skin, please give this product a try. It's super cheap compared to other products, a total bargain.
Advantages: bargain, easy to use, makes skin smooth, great primer for foundation, keeps skin matte for hours
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed!!

Posted23 March 2013
Customer Avatar
heathjane90
from Herefordshire, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using this product for a month now, and disappointed with the results after reading such positive reviews.
I have combination skin, and this product doesn't suit my skin type at all. The product smells great, and fresh. However, the application of the moisturiser, I found it's very difficult to rub in to my skin, as it seems to sink in straight away, which means applying more to my face.
I also found that it left me with a slight burning sensation, so I believe my skin is too sensitive for this product to work on me.
It hasn't controlled my blemishes, and I've had more outbreaks than usual. I still have shiny skin after using this product, and doesn't give my skin that matte appearance.
Unfortunately, this isn't the product for me, I have used better moisturisers, so I won't be repurchasing this one.
Advantages: smells great
Disadvantages: product doesn't work for my skin type
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice for the price..........

Posted01 August 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from cornwall
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every few days
for the price this great is very good , it wont set the world on fire with promises but it a good cream for the price even better if you got it on special its got UVA protection which is good for a cream of this price,
if you have a T zone problem try this
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does exactly what it says!

Posted21 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Surferchick
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant product, smells amazing and is lovely to use. No shine whatsoever and it moisturises as well as any other product. Fantastic value will definitely be buying again!
Advantages: spf 15 the amazing smell!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quite good..

Posted02 December 2012
Customer Avatar
nadia0111
from Leicester, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I thought i'd give this face cream a try as it was new and its quite good and keeps my face oil free for most of the day but you can't wear it on its own as it makes your face look really shiny - well mine does anyway. I do wear a powder over this cream so i'm not sure if its the powder that keeps my face matte or whether the cream helps, its a bit of a hit and miss.
Advantages: keeps face oil free all day?, smells pretty good
Disadvantages: makes face shiny if used on its own
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never Buy this

Posted20 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
This is the worst moisturizer that I have ever used in my life.
The cream peeled of my face and made me have really bad dry and flaky skin and made me break out even more even after using it for 2+ months
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely and Light

Posted07 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
This SPF 15 face cream is lovely and light. It sinks in nicely and my makeup goes over the top really well. I like that it protects my skin, moisturizes it without being greasy, and the natural willow bark helps to keep my skin clear from spots and keeps it looking bright as it contains a natural form of salicylic acid. I would recommend, especially as it is such a good price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

terrrible

Posted29 March 2014
Customer Avatar
ngoc mai
from london, uk
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
right after putting the cream, my skin is bit too dry, later about 2 hours, my skin becomes too oily
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for oily/shiny skin

Posted10 May 2013
Customer Avatar
cioney17
I used this after cleansing and under my make up and found it really helped with my oily skin. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great day cream!!!

Posted30 October 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from West Yorkshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
I just got this product today and after one use I can feel the difference. It has made my skin super soft and took all the shine off my nose. I have very oily skin and it has worked really to prevent shiny greasy face. I would highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

does what it sets out to do

Posted14 December 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Cottingham, East Yorkshire
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
I have extremely sensitive skin and with this product, I've finally found a face cream that doesn't slide off my face nor dry on impact. Even at my mature age I have breakouts but this cream has minimised them to such a degree that they are no longer a problem for me. I would recommend this product to anyone and give 10 marks out of 10. I would also recommend using the Botanics mattifying foam face wash, it leaves my skin feeling fresh.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this

Posted17 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Anneli
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Absolutely love this creme, It has helped me out big time with my oily skin. I'm now moving on with other cremes in the Botanics range as my skin has gotten a bit older and might need some other things.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Would not recommended

Posted25 June 2014
Customer Avatar
mochima
from london
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
I recently bought this product when searching for an affordable moisturiser for oily skin that could help with controlling oil, unfortunately this product didn't do what it said on the label. The smell is nice and has an SPF 15 which is great, however it does not control oil or shine. I put the product in the morning after washing my face and is sooo thick I feel I have a mask on. After half an hour I can see my face ultra shiny with thick oil on, is so bad that I end up cleaning my face just to remove the oil and moisturiser. So at the moment I'm using it only on my neck which is dry and using something else for my face.
I would not repurchase this product. I can't imagine wearing this product under foundation!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent product !!

Posted29 July 2012
Customer Avatar
kavitapant
from u.k
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
It is a reasonably priced day cream ,perfect for oily skin .It does what it says, Well done boots !
Advantages: price, quality, paraben free
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

Posted08 August 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Uses Product:Every day
This product is amazing! Before I used this day cream my skin would feel oily within a couple of hours, but when I use this cream underneath my makeup I can go around 8 hours without feeling oily. I would definitely recommend this to anyone with oily skin! I love it!
Advantages: it has spf 15
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

Posted13 May 2013
Customer Avatar
susie1994
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Although this moisturiser left my skin feeling soft but not oily, i am really disappointed by it. It leaves a film on your skin that can then be rubbed off, this caused a problem when i then tried to put my foundation on.
Advantages: skin felt moisturised, stopped skin being oily
Disadvantages: leaves a horrible film
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this!

Posted18 May 2013
Customer Avatar
RLizzieH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
What a bargain! Really reasonable price and does what it says on the tin - like many of the products in the Botanics range.
It makes my skin feel really smooth after application and is really light and fresh. A lot of oil-balancing and clarifying moisturisers don't offer any sun protection but this has SPF 15 which is great. I set with a light powder over my T zone to make it truly matte as it does give quite a dewy finish but my skin looks much more even since using it and I've haven't had as many spots either. I also use it as a night cream and my skin looks and feels lovely when I get up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5*uva plus anti-shine...perfect!

Posted25 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Louloverglover
Have been looking for a product that does sun protection without making skin shiny for a long time- and here it is. Tub is big and will last ages, very reasonable too. Skin stays shine free all day great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible

Posted12 June 2013
Customer Avatar
sarahawm
I regret buying this. Leaves a residue on your skin. This doesn't make your skin less shiny, but it does make putting on makeup a nightmare. Whenever you touch your face some of the reside comes off in tiny lumps. Round your hairline this looks like dandruff. Complete waste of money.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream SPF15 50ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Still shiny!

Posted27 September 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from London
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
As a sufferer of oily and shiny skin, I am always on the look out for products that might help combat it.
This cream is very reasonably priced and absorbs into the skin quickly so you don't have to waste time waiting to put your makeup on and a little goes a long way so for that, I've given it 2 stars sadly it has not worked at all as a mattifying cream for me. I'm still as shiny as ever!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>