Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop New in Electrical Beauty or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for RotoBlade Emjoi Lady Rotoshave

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

RotoBlade Emjoi Lady Rotoshave

The Emjoi Lady Rotoshave is an innovative ladyshave with an impressive 9 rotating blades, that revolve at 30 revolutions per second, an amazing 270 strokes per second, for an incredibly close, smooth shave.
Average Customer Rating:
3.952 / 5
4
 / 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
30 out of 38(79%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Review 1 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Closer shave

Posted10 April 2012
Customer Avatar
EnglishRoses
from West Mids
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really liked this! It gives an incredably close shave and so easy to use in shower. I had no nicks or cuts and no irritation afterwards. Did legs, underarms and bikini line really well. I think the round shape of it makes it a lot closer shave for underarms too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smooth shave - no nicks or cuts!

Posted10 April 2012
Customer Avatar
CityChic
from London, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I tried this on a week's worth of underarm and leg hair and I thought it was really good (if there were half stars, I would give it 4.5 out of 5).
The shaver works in the shower or bath, with shaving cream. I must admit I was dreading using it for the first time, as I was worried that I would be ripped to shreds, but nothing could be further from the truth! I didn't get any cuts or nicks, which is amazing!
My skin stayed really smooth for a good few days - it was far better than my usual Gillette Venus at keeping the hairs at bay. Normally, I would be prickly within 24 hours, but it was about 3 or 4 days before they felt prickly.
Although it is quite dear, I think it is still good value for money, when you consider how much razor blades cost. It remains to be seen how much the replacement blades will cost, but if they aren't too prohibitive, I will definitely keep using it (with my Gillette reserved for my bikini line only!). The blade looks like it will certainly last a bit longer..
I have told a few people about this already and really hope it does well as it is about time something like this came onto the market for ladies!
Advantages: smooth soft skin for longer than my usual razor, close shave, no nicks or cuts
Disadvantages: cost, might be tricky to find replacement blades
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two questions

Posted19 April 2012
Customer Avatar
flufferina
Please could someone who has this product, answer these two questions:
1. Do you *have* to use this in the shower/bath? The product blurb above states that it can be used this way; but then Boots have added a note stating it must be used in the wet. If so, then this is a huge limitation for a £50 razor
2. Do you *have* to use a shaving gel/foam?
Many thanks in advance
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for me...

Posted22 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Bambi82
from Cardiff
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
At first sight, I thought this razor was going to shave my leg off. I was petrified to use it but bit the bullet and went for it.
It shaved my legs fine. I wouldn't consider it any closer than my usual wet razor but having never used an electric razor, I don't know how this compares.
I did find it hard to get the awkward bits like ankles and knees. The sides of the razor were longer than the blade so stopped the blades touching the skin (if that makes any sense?!).
I also struggled to turn the button off in the shower. Not sure if anyone else found this was difficult with wet hands.
The name of the product also sounds quite scary! ROT-O-SHAVE!
Having said all those negative comments (sorry Emjoi), I may keep it as a back-up for my regular wet razor. But it wouldn't be my first choice.
Advantages: it's pink!
Disadvantages: looks like it will shave your leg off, difficult to turn off button with wet hands
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent product!

Posted11 April 2012
Customer Avatar
pebblesonthesand
from Essex
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've always only ever used a manual razor so this was a new experience for me, I found this very easy to use and handle, it gave excellent results without irritating or damaging the skin. The shave was very close and all in all very happy with the results. Love the design and colour. However, saying that I'm still not 100% convinced its worth as much as the price tag.... but if its an electric razor you are after this one is extrremly good, it looks and feels like it will last for a long time.
Advantages: good results, good quality, nice design
Disadvantages: expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a super smooth shave

Posted18 April 2012
Customer Avatar
sarahbb
from Somerset
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this razor has given me a really close shave, better than any disposable razor or electric razor i have used in the past. My legs are stubble free! I was concerned that it may be a bit harsh as the blades rotate so fast but my skin has been left perfectly smooth. Use in the shower or bath, i just used some shower gel to lather up my legs and this was enough. A great razor that has given me a great result super quickly, i will continue using it and highly recommend this.
Advantages: gives a quick result, really close shave, easy to use, kind on skin
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad

Posted19 April 2012
Customer Avatar
AuntieDebs
from London, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Been using this for just over a week and it's good. Was not sure about the shape of the blade when it came to using it on my underarms but it was great. The skin was very smooth and no pain whatsoever.
I will say that I have eczema on my lower right leg and it caused some soreness after I used it on there so you if you suffer from eczema don't use this product.
Advantages: works well gets skin smooth
Disadvantages: not good if you have eczema
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smooth results and easy to use.

Posted21 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Amilotte
from Glos
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have to say I was a bit nervous about using it, having never tried an electric razor before I thought it looked a bit scary! However I could not have been far wrong - it was so easy to use and gave great results.
I love the fact that it can be used in the shower it makes it quick and easy to use. No nicks or cuts which is great as I frequently end up with these using a disposable razor!
It is really easy/comfortable to handle and I love the pink!!
I will definately continue to use this for legs and underarms but I have to say I will continue with waxing for my bikini line as I prefer the results you get from waxing for this area.
All in all a great product, quite pricey but does what it promises.
Advantages: easy to handle, smooth results, no cuts, quick and easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A rather pricey alternative to disposable razors

Posted18 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Sacheverell
from South of England
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I like to have very smooth legs so I tend to shave them every day. I'm sure that adds up to a lot of hours each year, so it's always encouraging to encounter a product that could save time, especially when it also claims to be a bit safer than a standard razor (I can be a bit clumsy!).
The Rotoshave instructions say it should be used with a shaving foam, so I have stuck to that guideline rather than using just a lather of shower gel as I tend to with normal razors.
When I first switched on the Rotoshave, it was quite noisy, as I suppose any rapidly-rotating device would be, which I found quite intimidating. But it really is easy to use; you simply guide it up the area you want to shave in much the same way as you would with a razor.
I didn't really find that it saved me much time, as you still have to cover the same area of skin, and if anything I found it didn't shave as closely as I can with a normal razor, so I still have to use it every day. I haven't cut myself with it (yet!) so perhaps that is a benefit; battery life seems okay (it takes one AA battery) and I've not yet needed to replace the blade/roller.
But I do prefer the finish I can get with a disposable razor and I do feel this is a very expensive product for what it does. I don't think it has revolutionised my shaving experience, and I would feel reluctant for it to go near more delicate areas due to its spinning blade mechanism!
Advantages: seems less likely to cause cuts, waterproof
Disadvantages: not a particularly close shave, very expensive, noisy
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Emjoi R0t0shave

Posted01 June 2012
Customer Avatar
missberkhamsted
from Berkhamsted
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product!
First of all, I love it because of its pretty pink colour. I am always won over by a product that’s packaged in pink as I think it looks lovely in my bathroom. I think its design is very stylish. It’s quite a heavy product which makes it more comfortable and easy to use when holding it.
Secondly, it is great because you don’t need to mess about charging it as it is battery operated.
Obviously it does make a noise (being electric what do you expect?) but it’s quick and easy to use. You can use it with shaving foam but I have tried it without and it works fine. With electric razors I have found that you don’t get such a good shave as with a wet shave but as this one is combined the shave is just as good as a wet shave. I think that my legs have felt a lot softer than they feel after a shave with a normal razor! Also, I haven’t cut myself with it which is brilliant.
I give this product 10/10 and I will definitely be buying refills for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

USELESS!!

Posted08 April 2012
Customer Avatar
pixie77
from UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used this on the soft blonde hairs on my legs and it either went straight over them making no difference whatsoever, or simply cut them short so I had a nice stubble !!!
I decided to try it on the dark stiff hair under my arms thinking perhaps my leg hair was too soft. Again I was left with lovely designer stubble. Not the look I was hoping for. I'll stick with my epilator and my shaver which both never let me down.
Advantages: none
Disadvantages: it doesn't work.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rotoshave

Posted09 April 2012
Customer Avatar
MissJessi
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always used razors before but was really keen to try something new.
The product: It's very easy to use. It is recommended in the instructions that you use shaving gel before use. It's quite large for a shaver but easy to hold. The large blades cover more of the leg than my normal razor so it 'cuts' the time needed down a bit. It's a bit noisy like an epillator. It is water proof (as long as you don't submerge it in water) which is handy.
Results: I have used it on both my legs and underarms. It left my legs quite smooth but I did come out with a few nicks around the knee (ouch). Because it's larger than a razor I found it a bit more diffcult to move round. I think practice will make perfect. For that reason I was a bit more careful under the arms and the results weren't as good. I'll be honest and say that the results didn't last any longer than my normal (good quality) razor (I needed to touch up again the following day) but was certainly no worse. Just handle with care for the first few uses!
Overall, if you like a close shave but after something quicker and easier than a razor to use then this is for you. Depending on the cost of blade replacements I will re-purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy-peasy shaving

Posted11 April 2012
Customer Avatar
CattyAnya
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is an excellent girlie pink bathroom gadget. I was a bit worried at first because the blade looked quite big and I'd never used anything other than my trusted razor. However, the product worked a treat. It was easy to operate, didn't leave my skin sore and got rid of every bit of unwanted hair in a few minutes. My legs stayed smooth and silky for two whole days, which is a better result compared to shaving with a razor.
I've taken one star off because of the price, which, in my opinion, is too high, especially considering the not-so-premium packaging : ) Would love to know the cost of replacing the blade? Otherwise, this product is definitely an improvement on the traditional razor and I shall continue using it with great pleasure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money, its a Gimmick !

Posted13 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Michi82
from Birmingham UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i was sceptical and unfortunately had every right to be! in hind sight it seems like a good idea, but the blades don't cut the hair any better than an ordinary shaver and it increases irritation because there is more exposure to blades rubbing the skin. Sorry, i dont like leaving bad reviews but i must speak the truth!
Disadvantages: not worth £50
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roto-Fave!!!

Posted16 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Vicvic
from North West
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using this product for a couple of weeks now, and I can honestly say, I love it! It gives the same results as a good manual razor, but without any of the nicks! It's simple to use, easy to clean, fully waterproof and gives great results really quickly. I've used it on my legs and underarms and it has been brilliant every time. My underarms can sometimes feel a bit dry and uncomfortable after shaving, but I haven't experienced that since using this. Really impressed!!!!
Advantages: quick and very easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth it!

Posted20 April 2012
Customer Avatar
gogopowerrangers
from Eastbourne
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OMG do you know when I first got this I was like hmmm looksv tacky for £50 like if someone gave me this I wouldn't be impressed! It just looks cheap from the packaging to the pinkness!
And when I first went to use it I was scared got it makes a noise and spins so fast it is pretty scary!
But once it was on and going it was so amazing it hardly touched my skin but gave me the closest shave I have ever had it was like waxing but without pain!
In answer to some questions. You can use it dry I have just moisturize afterwards.
And no you don't need to use shaving foam or gel you can do it dry wet or with soap. I can't use shaving gel or foam and don't have a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ROTO Shave

Posted03 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarlou
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I must admit to being scared by this, just looking at it! The thought of blades ROTATING...(shudder)..
That said, once brave enough to give it a go, its good! The only downside is you can't get close enough to ankle bones to get a clean shave, so some hairs are missed.
It is bulky & can be awkward with wet hands as its easy to lose grip sometimes (perhaps a rubber grip on one side would be good?) plus switching on/off with wet hands can be tricky.
Overall, a good little gadget, don't be too scared by it though.
Advantages: close shave
Disadvantages: bulky, easy to drop with wet hands, difficult to turn on/off with wet hands
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Undecided

Posted08 May 2012
Customer Avatar
stimlin78
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great design & easy to use, however I find that I get a 'closer shave' from my gillette venus razor - particularly on the knee & around the ankles.
I would recommend anyone giving it a go, but at £50 its a pricey risk!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant product!

Posted10 April 2012
Customer Avatar
HelsBells24
from UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At first I was apprehensive about this product - I'm not into gadgets and have always used a simple razor!
However this product is better than a razor, no nicks or cuts and simply gets on with the job! I have fine blonde hair on my legs and it dealt with that just as well as armpit hair. And I was quicker doing 'the chore' than I usually am with a razor!
I have dropped it a mark because of the price, however I suspect in the long run it will be well worth it! Also the packaging does make a very good product look a little tacky - once out of the box the product does not look at all tacky.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy and quick

Posted12 April 2012
Customer Avatar
smurfygirly
from chatham
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this, I've never tried an electric shaver before so cannot compare it, however I think it's great because it's pretty quick and very effective and after all arn't we all looking for time saving devices, especially with the tedious tasks such as hair removal. This is great on the underarm area as fits into the curves nicely, I also used on the legs and bikini area and there have been no nicks or cuts or nasty shave rashes like I can get at times with my razer. I'm not sure I stay smoother for longer, haven't really noticed that but it's definatly a good close shave. As other reviewers have said it will be interesting to see how long it lasts before you have to change the blade, and then the cost of the replacements. My only complaint with this is the price, it does seem a little pricey for quite a basic contraption.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>