Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop New in Electrical Beauty or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for RotoBlade Emjoi Lady Rotoshave

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

RotoBlade Emjoi Lady Rotoshave

The Emjoi Lady Rotoshave is an innovative ladyshave with an impressive 9 rotating blades, that revolve at 30 revolutions per second, an amazing 270 strokes per second, for an incredibly close, smooth shave.
Average Customer Rating:
3.952 / 5
4
 / 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
30 out of 38(79%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Review 1 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A rather pricey alternative to disposable razors

Posted18 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Sacheverell
from South of England
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I like to have very smooth legs so I tend to shave them every day. I'm sure that adds up to a lot of hours each year, so it's always encouraging to encounter a product that could save time, especially when it also claims to be a bit safer than a standard razor (I can be a bit clumsy!).
The Rotoshave instructions say it should be used with a shaving foam, so I have stuck to that guideline rather than using just a lather of shower gel as I tend to with normal razors.
When I first switched on the Rotoshave, it was quite noisy, as I suppose any rapidly-rotating device would be, which I found quite intimidating. But it really is easy to use; you simply guide it up the area you want to shave in much the same way as you would with a razor.
I didn't really find that it saved me much time, as you still have to cover the same area of skin, and if anything I found it didn't shave as closely as I can with a normal razor, so I still have to use it every day. I haven't cut myself with it (yet!) so perhaps that is a benefit; battery life seems okay (it takes one AA battery) and I've not yet needed to replace the blade/roller.
But I do prefer the finish I can get with a disposable razor and I do feel this is a very expensive product for what it does. I don't think it has revolutionised my shaving experience, and I would feel reluctant for it to go near more delicate areas due to its spinning blade mechanism!
Advantages: seems less likely to cause cuts, waterproof
Disadvantages: not a particularly close shave, very expensive, noisy
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent shaver

Posted23 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shaver has to be the best lady shaver I have used. Easy to use, glides across the skin without any marks or scratches or cuts. I use it with a little shaving foam as per the instructions, but a friend of mine uses hers without and has equal success. I would highly recommend this product. My only gripe is that it is so difficult to source replacement roller blades in the UK, and I have to send the USA for them. PLEASE Boots, stock the replacement rollers! Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So so happy with product and result

Posted14 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Hazel
from London ,UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hate shaving , worse than that waxing. When I got this, I tried it immediately. It was so easy to use and the results are great. Took me half the time to shave too which is an advantage. No nicks and cuts and no pain involve. So happy with it.......much better than an epilator which could sting a bit sometimes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roto-Fave!!!

Posted16 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Vicvic
from North West
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using this product for a couple of weeks now, and I can honestly say, I love it! It gives the same results as a good manual razor, but without any of the nicks! It's simple to use, easy to clean, fully waterproof and gives great results really quickly. I've used it on my legs and underarms and it has been brilliant every time. My underarms can sometimes feel a bit dry and uncomfortable after shaving, but I haven't experienced that since using this. Really impressed!!!!
Advantages: quick and very easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Little Shaver

Posted16 April 2012
Customer Avatar
KatieB1986
from Bristol
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had an epilator for 2 years now and use it for my bikini line and legs however decided to take the plunge and try this instead. Epilating is great if not for a bit of pain.
I was apprehensive about using this little contraption as the rotating razors really are a little daunting but this was as safe as any razor and didn't leave any little cuts thankfully!
The results were fast and good, a good close shave but as with manual shaving, the hair grows back within days (took around 4 days before my hairs were 'prickly' again) so unfortunately I will be sticking with my trusty epilator.
Although the product is good and does what it says on the tin, I don't think I could afford to be spending £50.00 on a razor, I'd much rather put the money into an epilator which gives longer lasting results. If you have money to spare and want to halve your shaiving time, this is a decent product but I personally find the price tag a little steep.
Advantages: looks good, provides a good close shave
Disadvantages: quite expensive, hair grows back within days
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wow very good

Posted16 April 2012
Customer Avatar
tashac22
from blackpool
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow, this product is very good, very sceptical at first as i have never tried one of these before! Usually after shaving i would have cuts and be sore, with this product i did not have this, so very impressed. I'm not sure if it was worth the £50 but still very happy with the purshase! Looks lovely too and very easy to use!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Going back to my manual razor

Posted22 April 2012
Customer Avatar
mezhelen
from Hampshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This product isn't probably the greatest buy and for that reason I am giving 2 stars!
One star - for appearance of packaging and product.
Half a star - for ease of use. It is difficult to switch on with wet hands and takes a number of sweeps over the area to be treated before you have removed all the hair and then you may have missed some.
No star - for value for money as I wouldn't use it very often.
Half a star - for RESULTS. On fleshy areas this product works well and my underarms look absolutely great but I have bony legs and my veins are close to the skin and this is where I had trouble. Although not pressing hard the razor did give me some nicks on the bony area of my legs and this area took a significant amount of time to shave properly.
So all in all going back to my original razor.
Advantages: looks great
Disadvantages: hard to switch on with wet hands, not great on boney legs, misses hair, takes longer than conventional method.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best shaver I have ever tried!

Posted04 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Ana1000
from Wigan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I totally L-O-V-E this shaver!!! I was expecting one of those epilators that pull your hairs out making the whole process really sore; however, it is nothing like that. It works like a razor but much more comfortable. It cuts the hair really close to the skin, leaving it super soft. I have tried on my legs, armpits and bikini line and am totally impressed. I used it with a shaving gel but maybe just soap would do as well. I have super sensitive skin on my bikini line, I used to be able to use only one shaver in this area, Bikini Perfect, but then they changed the whole shaver and I cannot anymore (only the old version of it which is hard to find nowadays) as it gives me a bad rash. Emjoi shaver is much better because it is not only for my bikini line, so I can use it on my legs and armpits as well. It is a bit pricey but I must admit it is totally worth it. I just cannot find the price for the blades replacement, so I am hoping they are not too expensive and that Boots will sell them soon. I totally recommend this product.
Advantages: leaves skin soft, no accidents shaving, easy to use, close shave, no skin irritation
Disadvantages: price, cannot find blad replacements yet
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for me...

Posted22 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Bambi82
from Cardiff
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
At first sight, I thought this razor was going to shave my leg off. I was petrified to use it but bit the bullet and went for it.
It shaved my legs fine. I wouldn't consider it any closer than my usual wet razor but having never used an electric razor, I don't know how this compares.
I did find it hard to get the awkward bits like ankles and knees. The sides of the razor were longer than the blade so stopped the blades touching the skin (if that makes any sense?!).
I also struggled to turn the button off in the shower. Not sure if anyone else found this was difficult with wet hands.
The name of the product also sounds quite scary! ROT-O-SHAVE!
Having said all those negative comments (sorry Emjoi), I may keep it as a back-up for my regular wet razor. But it wouldn't be my first choice.
Advantages: it's pink!
Disadvantages: looks like it will shave your leg off, difficult to turn off button with wet hands
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shaver

Posted30 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Maria000
from Derby
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fantastic product! only need a little bit of shaving foam/ shower gel for shaver to work to its full potential. The shaver glides really easily and ive had no cuts yet! I will certanily be buying some refils.
Advantages: takes batteries so no charging
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Close Shave!

Posted21 May 2012
Customer Avatar
irene72
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am currently saving for IPL treatment, which is not going too well at the moment there is always something else to buy, so in the meantime I am using the Rotoshave and have been pretty impressed. It is easy to use, gives great results and a smooth shave. i love how it uses batteries so it doesn't have to be recharged all the time and is easy to clean so no mess and is also water resistant another plus. I would definitely use the shaving cream/gel/foam with it as recommended.
So until my IPL dream becomes a reality i will be using the Rotoshave for a close shave!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good handy shaver.

Posted06 May 2012
Customer Avatar
AJDrake
from Essex, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was quite skeptical at first when I first saw this. Not sure if it was safe to use after watching the razor cartridges rotating in full speed. But I was glad I took a chance and tried. I am quite impressed with the smooth results. I was able to get a close shave very quickly without any nicks or cuts. I like that it is also battery operated and I do not have to carry a charger when travelling. I would recommend this shaver.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy and quick

Posted12 April 2012
Customer Avatar
smurfygirly
from chatham
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this, I've never tried an electric shaver before so cannot compare it, however I think it's great because it's pretty quick and very effective and after all arn't we all looking for time saving devices, especially with the tedious tasks such as hair removal. This is great on the underarm area as fits into the curves nicely, I also used on the legs and bikini area and there have been no nicks or cuts or nasty shave rashes like I can get at times with my razer. I'm not sure I stay smoother for longer, haven't really noticed that but it's definatly a good close shave. As other reviewers have said it will be interesting to see how long it lasts before you have to change the blade, and then the cost of the replacements. My only complaint with this is the price, it does seem a little pricey for quite a basic contraption.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smooth results and easy to use.

Posted21 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Amilotte
from Glos
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have to say I was a bit nervous about using it, having never tried an electric razor before I thought it looked a bit scary! However I could not have been far wrong - it was so easy to use and gave great results.
I love the fact that it can be used in the shower it makes it quick and easy to use. No nicks or cuts which is great as I frequently end up with these using a disposable razor!
It is really easy/comfortable to handle and I love the pink!!
I will definately continue to use this for legs and underarms but I have to say I will continue with waxing for my bikini line as I prefer the results you get from waxing for this area.
All in all a great product, quite pricey but does what it promises.
Advantages: easy to handle, smooth results, no cuts, quick and easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not awfully impressed

Posted23 June 2012
Customer Avatar
EalingMummy
from London, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've read through some of the reviews of this product and I have to say I can't agree with them.
Think of this as a rotary lawnmower for your legs. I found that I didn't get as close or quick a shave as with an ordinary wet shave, and it was very difficult to clean the blades during shaving - they get clogged easily.
With perseverance, you can get a reasonable result on legs, but why would you bother when it's more effort than a manual razor? As for bikini line...
Maybe this is OK for those with lighter hair growth, but it certainly didn't work for me.
Certainly not worth the retail price, in my opinion.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Undecided

Posted08 May 2012
Customer Avatar
stimlin78
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great design & easy to use, however I find that I get a 'closer shave' from my gillette venus razor - particularly on the knee & around the ankles.
I would recommend anyone giving it a go, but at £50 its a pricey risk!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money, its a Gimmick !

Posted13 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Michi82
from Birmingham UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i was sceptical and unfortunately had every right to be! in hind sight it seems like a good idea, but the blades don't cut the hair any better than an ordinary shaver and it increases irritation because there is more exposure to blades rubbing the skin. Sorry, i dont like leaving bad reviews but i must speak the truth!
Disadvantages: not worth £50
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as smooth as a disposable!

Posted03 July 2012
Customer Avatar
Angelish
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
To be honest I was quite disappointed with this product.
I was eager to try it as I had never used an electric razor previously however, I found that it did not do as good a job as my usual brand of disposable razor!
I will say that it is very safe though - definielty no nicks or cuts (which is something I was nervous about!)
I tried it several times but Im afraid I resorted straight back to my trusty Gillete!
I think that, for the job it does, it is vastly over priced. I wouldnt recommend it based on this. Sorry :(
Disadvantages: expensive, not a smooth finish
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth it!

Posted20 April 2012
Customer Avatar
gogopowerrangers
from Eastbourne
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OMG do you know when I first got this I was like hmmm looksv tacky for £50 like if someone gave me this I wouldn't be impressed! It just looks cheap from the packaging to the pinkness!
And when I first went to use it I was scared got it makes a noise and spins so fast it is pretty scary!
But once it was on and going it was so amazing it hardly touched my skin but gave me the closest shave I have ever had it was like waxing but without pain!
In answer to some questions. You can use it dry I have just moisturize afterwards.
And no you don't need to use shaving foam or gel you can do it dry wet or with soap. I can't use shaving gel or foam and don't have a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

shaver

Posted26 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Crouchy86
from Corby
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Well, It did make the shaving experience in the shower a lot quicker and easier (I'm blind without my glasses, and and ALWAYS nicking myself!!) however I don't think the shave was as close as a normal razor is. I've never used an electric razor before so this might be normal.
It's quite chuncky, so turning on and off in the shower with wet soapy hands isn't the easiest, but it is possible.
I'll give it this, it's robust! It slipped out my hands in the shower the 2nd time I used it, was convinced it wouldn't work, or something would have smashed off, but it didn't and works fine still.
Advantages: quick, robust
Disadvantages: bulky, difficult to switch on/off in shower sometimes
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>