Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop New in Electrical Beauty or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for RotoBlade Emjoi Lady Rotoshave

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

RotoBlade Emjoi Lady Rotoshave

The Emjoi Lady Rotoshave is an innovative ladyshave with an impressive 9 rotating blades, that revolve at 30 revolutions per second, an amazing 270 strokes per second, for an incredibly close, smooth shave.
Average Customer Rating:
3.952 / 5
4
 / 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
30 out of 38(79%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Review 1 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A rather pricey alternative to disposable razors

Posted18 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Sacheverell
from South of England
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I like to have very smooth legs so I tend to shave them every day. I'm sure that adds up to a lot of hours each year, so it's always encouraging to encounter a product that could save time, especially when it also claims to be a bit safer than a standard razor (I can be a bit clumsy!).
The Rotoshave instructions say it should be used with a shaving foam, so I have stuck to that guideline rather than using just a lather of shower gel as I tend to with normal razors.
When I first switched on the Rotoshave, it was quite noisy, as I suppose any rapidly-rotating device would be, which I found quite intimidating. But it really is easy to use; you simply guide it up the area you want to shave in much the same way as you would with a razor.
I didn't really find that it saved me much time, as you still have to cover the same area of skin, and if anything I found it didn't shave as closely as I can with a normal razor, so I still have to use it every day. I haven't cut myself with it (yet!) so perhaps that is a benefit; battery life seems okay (it takes one AA battery) and I've not yet needed to replace the blade/roller.
But I do prefer the finish I can get with a disposable razor and I do feel this is a very expensive product for what it does. I don't think it has revolutionised my shaving experience, and I would feel reluctant for it to go near more delicate areas due to its spinning blade mechanism!
Advantages: seems less likely to cause cuts, waterproof
Disadvantages: not a particularly close shave, very expensive, noisy
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So so happy with product and result

Posted14 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Hazel
from London ,UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hate shaving , worse than that waxing. When I got this, I tried it immediately. It was so easy to use and the results are great. Took me half the time to shave too which is an advantage. No nicks and cuts and no pain involve. So happy with it.......much better than an epilator which could sting a bit sometimes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roto-Fave!!!

Posted16 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Vicvic
from North West
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using this product for a couple of weeks now, and I can honestly say, I love it! It gives the same results as a good manual razor, but without any of the nicks! It's simple to use, easy to clean, fully waterproof and gives great results really quickly. I've used it on my legs and underarms and it has been brilliant every time. My underarms can sometimes feel a bit dry and uncomfortable after shaving, but I haven't experienced that since using this. Really impressed!!!!
Advantages: quick and very easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Little Shaver

Posted16 April 2012
Customer Avatar
KatieB1986
from Bristol
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had an epilator for 2 years now and use it for my bikini line and legs however decided to take the plunge and try this instead. Epilating is great if not for a bit of pain.
I was apprehensive about using this little contraption as the rotating razors really are a little daunting but this was as safe as any razor and didn't leave any little cuts thankfully!
The results were fast and good, a good close shave but as with manual shaving, the hair grows back within days (took around 4 days before my hairs were 'prickly' again) so unfortunately I will be sticking with my trusty epilator.
Although the product is good and does what it says on the tin, I don't think I could afford to be spending £50.00 on a razor, I'd much rather put the money into an epilator which gives longer lasting results. If you have money to spare and want to halve your shaiving time, this is a decent product but I personally find the price tag a little steep.
Advantages: looks good, provides a good close shave
Disadvantages: quite expensive, hair grows back within days
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wow very good

Posted16 April 2012
Customer Avatar
tashac22
from blackpool
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow, this product is very good, very sceptical at first as i have never tried one of these before! Usually after shaving i would have cuts and be sore, with this product i did not have this, so very impressed. I'm not sure if it was worth the £50 but still very happy with the purshase! Looks lovely too and very easy to use!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shaver

Posted30 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Maria000
from Derby
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fantastic product! only need a little bit of shaving foam/ shower gel for shaver to work to its full potential. The shaver glides really easily and ive had no cuts yet! I will certanily be buying some refils.
Advantages: takes batteries so no charging
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good handy shaver.

Posted06 May 2012
Customer Avatar
AJDrake
from Essex, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was quite skeptical at first when I first saw this. Not sure if it was safe to use after watching the razor cartridges rotating in full speed. But I was glad I took a chance and tried. I am quite impressed with the smooth results. I was able to get a close shave very quickly without any nicks or cuts. I like that it is also battery operated and I do not have to carry a charger when travelling. I would recommend this shaver.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy and quick

Posted12 April 2012
Customer Avatar
smurfygirly
from chatham
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this, I've never tried an electric shaver before so cannot compare it, however I think it's great because it's pretty quick and very effective and after all arn't we all looking for time saving devices, especially with the tedious tasks such as hair removal. This is great on the underarm area as fits into the curves nicely, I also used on the legs and bikini area and there have been no nicks or cuts or nasty shave rashes like I can get at times with my razer. I'm not sure I stay smoother for longer, haven't really noticed that but it's definatly a good close shave. As other reviewers have said it will be interesting to see how long it lasts before you have to change the blade, and then the cost of the replacements. My only complaint with this is the price, it does seem a little pricey for quite a basic contraption.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not awfully impressed

Posted23 June 2012
Customer Avatar
EalingMummy
from London, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've read through some of the reviews of this product and I have to say I can't agree with them.
Think of this as a rotary lawnmower for your legs. I found that I didn't get as close or quick a shave as with an ordinary wet shave, and it was very difficult to clean the blades during shaving - they get clogged easily.
With perseverance, you can get a reasonable result on legs, but why would you bother when it's more effort than a manual razor? As for bikini line...
Maybe this is OK for those with lighter hair growth, but it certainly didn't work for me.
Certainly not worth the retail price, in my opinion.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Undecided

Posted08 May 2012
Customer Avatar
stimlin78
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great design & easy to use, however I find that I get a 'closer shave' from my gillette venus razor - particularly on the knee & around the ankles.
I would recommend anyone giving it a go, but at £50 its a pricey risk!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money, its a Gimmick !

Posted13 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Michi82
from Birmingham UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i was sceptical and unfortunately had every right to be! in hind sight it seems like a good idea, but the blades don't cut the hair any better than an ordinary shaver and it increases irritation because there is more exposure to blades rubbing the skin. Sorry, i dont like leaving bad reviews but i must speak the truth!
Disadvantages: not worth £50
I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth it!

Posted20 April 2012
Customer Avatar
gogopowerrangers
from Eastbourne
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OMG do you know when I first got this I was like hmmm looksv tacky for £50 like if someone gave me this I wouldn't be impressed! It just looks cheap from the packaging to the pinkness!
And when I first went to use it I was scared got it makes a noise and spins so fast it is pretty scary!
But once it was on and going it was so amazing it hardly touched my skin but gave me the closest shave I have ever had it was like waxing but without pain!
In answer to some questions. You can use it dry I have just moisturize afterwards.
And no you don't need to use shaving foam or gel you can do it dry wet or with soap. I can't use shaving gel or foam and don't have a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two questions

Posted19 April 2012
Customer Avatar
flufferina
Please could someone who has this product, answer these two questions:
1. Do you *have* to use this in the shower/bath? The product blurb above states that it can be used this way; but then Boots have added a note stating it must be used in the wet. If so, then this is a huge limitation for a £50 razor
2. Do you *have* to use a shaving gel/foam?
Many thanks in advance
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad

Posted19 April 2012
Customer Avatar
AuntieDebs
from London, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Been using this for just over a week and it's good. Was not sure about the shape of the blade when it came to using it on my underarms but it was great. The skin was very smooth and no pain whatsoever.
I will say that I have eczema on my lower right leg and it caused some soreness after I used it on there so you if you suffer from eczema don't use this product.
Advantages: works well gets skin smooth
Disadvantages: not good if you have eczema
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fab shaver

Posted20 June 2012
Customer Avatar
molehall
from Peterborough
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always wanted to try an electric shaver but been fearful of all the extra blades and getting cut.
This product though is great. I got a real smooth finish and it has taken a good length of time for the hairs to regrow.
The blades look real scary but actually it tickles more than anything.
Very quick to grasp how to use.
Recommend anyone to give it a real good go they will be surprised by results
Advantages: good close shave, easy to use
Disadvantages: must be used as wet shaver
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shaver

Posted29 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Mum1981
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love this razor. I was amazed at how well it worked in the shower! Made my legs very smooth.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for me

Posted15 May 2012
Customer Avatar
maggierizz
from Wiltshire
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had to send this back unopened as before it arrived I tried my friend's(she absolutely loves it) but it made my legs sore and itchy. This is probably just me as I have quite sensitive skin. My friend raves about it and couldn't live without it!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a super smooth shave

Posted18 April 2012
Customer Avatar
sarahbb
from Somerset
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this razor has given me a really close shave, better than any disposable razor or electric razor i have used in the past. My legs are stubble free! I was concerned that it may be a bit harsh as the blades rotate so fast but my skin has been left perfectly smooth. Use in the shower or bath, i just used some shower gel to lather up my legs and this was enough. A great razor that has given me a great result super quickly, i will continue using it and highly recommend this.
Advantages: gives a quick result, really close shave, easy to use, kind on skin
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent shaver

Posted23 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shaver has to be the best lady shaver I have used. Easy to use, glides across the skin without any marks or scratches or cuts. I use it with a little shaving foam as per the instructions, but a friend of mine uses hers without and has equal success. I would highly recommend this product. My only gripe is that it is so difficult to source replacement roller blades in the UK, and I have to send the USA for them. PLEASE Boots, stock the replacement rollers! Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Emjoi Lady Rotoshave
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Going back to my manual razor

Posted22 April 2012
Customer Avatar
mezhelen
from Hampshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This product isn't probably the greatest buy and for that reason I am giving 2 stars!
One star - for appearance of packaging and product.
Half a star - for ease of use. It is difficult to switch on with wet hands and takes a number of sweeps over the area to be treated before you have removed all the hair and then you may have missed some.
No star - for value for money as I wouldn't use it very often.
Half a star - for RESULTS. On fleshy areas this product works well and my underarms look absolutely great but I have bony legs and my veins are close to the skin and this is where I had trouble. Although not pressing hard the razor did give me some nicks on the bony area of my legs and this area took a significant amount of time to shave properly.
So all in all going back to my original razor.
Advantages: looks great
Disadvantages: hard to switch on with wet hands, not great on boney legs, misses hair, takes longer than conventional method.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>