Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Vita-Liberata Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml

Vita-Liberata Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml

Vita Liberata pHenomenal Self Tan Reinvented with pHenO2 technology.Long Lasting colour and a perfect fade every time.
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(135 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 135 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
40
3 stars
20
2 stars
15
1 star
7
92 out of 117(79%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Review 1 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

Posted11 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Devon
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I found this product to be too expensive for the results that it gave. Almost like a stain on the skin and came off easily. Certainly not long wearing
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best fake tan I have tried

Posted07 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
When full price at £37 for 125mls I think this product is very expensive. However I bought it whilst on special offer. It is the best fake tan I have tried. There is little or no smell at all. It applies very easily without streaking. A mitt is recommended but I used vinyl gloves which worked well. I followed the instructions and applied it for two consecutive days with a shower in between. It didn't last the 2 - 3 weeks as stated on the bottle but it did last approx 10 days. It faded evenly too. I also like that it is paraben free.
Advantages: easy too apply, no smell, no streaking
Disadvantages: expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This is not worth the money!

Posted15 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Steffjo6
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This tan is not worth the money...i bought it when it was on offer luckily! The tan itself is lovely, goes on easily and gives an instant glow. But as time goes on, the colour doesn't develop to a 'medium' tone. It's very pale, no matter how much you apply and no matter how many applications. The smell is very subtle when applied, but on a few occasions there was the tell tale tan smell. The fade is good, but as i said it's a very pale colour so to be honest i couldn't tell the difference between the faded tan and the tan itself. Very disapointed =(
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Fake Tan

Posted23 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Lancashire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read about this product in the Daily Mail and decided to try it based on those reviews. I haven't been disappointed and the product is so easy to use and delivers brilliant results. Would recommend using a tanning mitt, and residue on your hands does wash off easily. Have recommended it to others and have bought a second bottle :)
Advantages: very easy to apply
Disadvantages: a bit expensive but worth it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic!

Posted30 March 2013
Customer Avatar
sarahsean
from greater manchester
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used almost every product going ,and believe me...this is the best product you will ever use. it glides on smoothly not streak in sight, no orange colour , lovely bronze .will use this everytime. hope this review has been of some help
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, a fake tan that works!!!

Posted06 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Tinkerbell275
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I've tried numerous fake tans including spray tans, gradual tans, lotions and mousses and can honestly say that this has been the best one so far for colour, smell and longevity!
The 2-3 week claim is a bold statement and I'm not entirely sure it's accurate. I normally apply two coats one day apart, and am happy with the colour for up to ten days... Ok, so it's not 3 weeks but it's much longer than anything else I've tried!
If you follow the instructions the tan will last well, just make sure you exfoliate beforehand and aren't too heavy handed in the shower or it will vanish!
I've found that a mitt is the best method of application for me and think it's best to keep moisturising skin well after applying sufficient coats as it extends the tan. With a mitt it takes about ten minutes if that and I don't smell like a biscuit after!
I'm naturally pale and burn in the sun before going a light shade of brown (if that!) but I use the medium shade and feel that this gives a lovely colour which doesn't look fake. I've had a number of compliments on my tan (if only they knew!) and used this on holiday to Spain recently. I didn't feel out of place lying around the pool surrounded by vast amounts of naturally bronzed people and it lasted well under my factor 30-50 so I was very happy.
From reading other reviews it's clear that it's not for everyone but everyone's skin's different and I've recommended it to anyone who would listen to try. The only slight drawback is the price...! I found it at 1/3 of the price in Boots when it was on special offer so gave it a go. I think I'd get 9 or 10 applications out of a bottle so I'm already saving money as each spray tan cost me £15 and didn't last half as long!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not do what it says

Posted20 August 2013
Customer Avatar
1986RachelM
from Bridgend
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am relatively fair skinned, but like a bronzed tan so opted for the medium colour. I bought it when it was a third off but it is still a lot more expensive per 100ml than my usual tan.
I applied as directed- apply one coat, wait three hours, shower. It suggests doing this three times for the tan to last 2-3 weeks. Well first attempt it went patchy very quickly. I gave it the benefit of the doubt, exfoliated everyday and tried again. I like the bronzed colour after a few hours, but showering makes it quite pale.
My husband also made comments about the smell, as it is a lot stronger than my usual tan.
Anyway, the tan does not last more than a few days. Following the suggested application process, after two uses (three single coat applications each times) the bottle has very little left.
Overview - waste of money, the colour is nice when first put on but pale after showering. It last days not weeks like most other tans and is extremely overpriced!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too pale & not 2-3 wks. Too pricey for results

Posted30 July 2013
Customer Avatar
737243329
I am a very pale natural red head and I find that only dark versions of fake tan work. They need to be really streak free or my skin shows every stripe or mistake like a white canvass! I bought this whilst on offer hoping it would last the 2-3 weeks with a good amount of colour. It looked lovely when applied, it dried very quickly and I was very impressed. I showered in the morning and most of the colour washed off. I repeated the next night & got slightly more colour but still rather pale for me. I used about half of the mousse & it rubbed off 7 days later. For the price and the effort I would probably not buy this again, certainly not at full price. It wasn't streaky though but hands were tricky (watch the knuckles!) so I may try the less pricey mousse by Vita Liberita whilst on offer. Had no odour and is 737243329 organic. If money is no object then its a good fake tan but its not a 2-3 week or a dark tan like the packaging would have you believe.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm glow

Posted17 April 2014
Customer Avatar
nurjshah
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
This was my first time ever using self tan and I loved it. Vita Liberata mousse gave my skin the instant warm toned which I loved. I'm a bit of a olive with yellow undertones, so the mousse gave a lovely sun kissed glow. I had many compliments,( which they all thought it was a natural tanned). The Mousse is very easy to use It comes with a application mitt to easily distribute all over, but before any tanning you have to exfoliate before hand and read the instructions.
After applying the tan you have to wait 3 hours then wash and then reapply for a longer lasting. For me the tan stayed up to 2 weeks it does fade when you do wear clothing but it looks natural which is the best part.
The mousse has no distinctive smell and the bonus its paraben free.
Overall the price is a bit much but I'm hooked.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fab results

Posted21 April 2014
Customer Avatar
gls28
from Lancashire, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
I had never tried any fake tan before this one, and I was not disappointed. This tan is super easy to apply, glides on very easily when using a tanning mit. You can see how dark the tan is when you apply it, and you can see where it has or has not blended. I think it does develop to be slightly darker over a the course of a day, but not much darker than when you first apply it. The number one amazing point about this fake tan? It does not smell of anything at all. Absolutely nothing - which is pretty impressive. I'd heard horror stories of how bad fake tan can smell and how it lingers on the skin - but this one literally doesn't smell of anything. The colour is very natural. I was going to just apply one layer (being a fake-tan virgin) but one application just gave me a very subtle glow, so I applied once more after waiting a day and after rinsing off the first application with only water (as recommended). When doing the second application, I was a bit more generous with the product, and it gave me a gorgeous deep golden glow. I was worried that this tan may not work well for me because I have naturally tanned skin, but after applying twice - my tan was enhanced and looked much deeper - yet still natural. The instructions recommend 3 applications to gain the 2-3 week long lasting tan, but I just stuck with 2 applications as I was very happy with the results. After the two applications, the tan lasted at least a whole week and then started to fade after that - so impressive results really! I did moisturise after every shower though and I think this helps to prolong the tan. I have no doubt that if I applied this three times, it would have lasted well over 2 weeks. I would definitely use this again and recommend it to anyone who wants a streak free, natural yet deep golden tan. Fantastic product! 5/5 :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tanning Turn Off

Posted23 April 2014
Customer Avatar
judester
from Glasgow, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
A plus is its non toxic, organic and easy to apply. Downside is the cost - expensive and didn't find it was streak free, end result was patchy. It clearly doesn't last the 2-3 week as promoted. Not for me.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fake tan I've ever used!!

Posted26 April 2014
Customer Avatar
amyhoole
from Wigan, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
When I got this fake tan I was dubious about the claims of 2-3 weeks tan, however I have been pleasantly surprised!! 2 weeks on and I do still have a good color. Granted I'm not as brown as I was a week ago, but I still look like I've been on a nice holiday! But the thing I like most about this product is the way it fades evenly. I have dry patchy skin so normally when my tan starts to fade, I end up looking like a leopard with dark patches all over me. With this product my tan is just fading like a natural one would. Other benefits are that it dries incredibly quickly, so you can literally apply, and then get dressed! There is a very slight tan smell with it, but definitely nothing like as bad as other tanning products. I actually love it!!! Yes it is pricey, but you'd pay a lot more for 2 weeks in the sun wouldn't you!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doesn't last

Posted26 April 2014
Customer Avatar
7Abigail
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
The tan comes out a really nice colour. I would definitely recommend a proper exfoliation beforehand or it comes out quite dark. I didn't like the fact you couldn't use soap to wash the day after application as (although stated odourless) it does have a slight odour, which is to be expected as many that state this also do. My tan lasted at best 10 days, and started to wear off quite patchy. It also left my skin quite dehydrated/dry which my skin rarely is. The best thing about it is that it was a lovely colour.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First time love!

Posted28 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Mrsbakeress
from Birmingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
Hello there! I am a first time tryer at this new tanning thing. Since i am a quite olivey colour i have never tanned but thought id give it a try! It was very easy to apply and left absolutely no marks or streaks! I was really scared of this as this is what often puts me off! The colour was a got back from a beach holiday colour! Even on me! It was beauts! Anyway it stays on and does not discolour! Looks great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tanning mouse with no odour!

Posted24 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Nottingham
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
I tried this product as I wanted something to use for a wedding which would give a nice overall looking natural tan and last a few days and this certainly did the trick.
Application was easy with a mitt, however, I always find hands, knees and the foot area difficult. I showered in between the 3 applications as stated in the instructions.
The tan lasted for the length of time I required it for and is just starting to wear off now after about 10 days. I really liked this tan as it is odourless and doesn't have the horrible smell other fake tans seem to have.
.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Tan

Posted27 April 2014
Customer Avatar
bagpuss100
from leicester
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
I have used this twice now...first time i used it to the instructions of applying 3 times, waiting 8 hours each time and showering between....this was for the 3 week lasting colour....well i don't think it lasted 3 weeks, it lasted well though, it went too dark for me personally but it wore off well. It has no smell while applying but after a few hours it does have the normal fake tan smell but that's never bothered me. What i really liked about this was how it looked and wore after just 1 application, yeah its not going to last 3 weeks but its no effort to apply a layer of this once a week....the one coat gave a lovely even colour that didn't look fake at all, it was a lovely colour and didn't cling to any dry areas, it gradually wore off with no patchy bits. It is expensive but i didn't use much at all with 1 coat, it glides over the skin using the mit really nicely so i think a can of this would last ages.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lovely colour but not long-lasting

Posted28 April 2014
Customer Avatar
CattyAnya
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
I use this product on my legs only to give them just a hint of colour. I always exfoliate thoroughly and moisturise with very nourishing body butters for a few days before applying any fake tan. My skin is quite dry, therefore, colour can appear patchy and fade sooner than expected. This particular fake tan is easy to apply and doesn't smell as bad as some products I've tried. It offers a very natural-looking light and even colour after one use. The tan lasted five days, after that it started to fade and I simply exfoliated my skin and repeated the process. I didn't expect this product to last 2-3 weeks as promised, mainly because I have dry skin and work out most days (resulting in a lot of showers/baths). However, I still think this is a good fake tan based on the colour it gives and ease of application. I like that my legs are now sun-kissed and ready for the big reveal after months spent in opaque tights and jeans!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Instant Confidence Boost & Healthy Glow

Posted28 April 2014
Customer Avatar
HayleyJA
from Hampshire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
I'm always a little skeptical with regards to fake tans...they always seem to appear orange and streaky on me. I'm pale skinned and burn easily so getting even a slight natural tan is quite hard work; needless to say I liked the idea of this product.
I followed the instructions to the note, and have to say, the results were pretty immediate. It was easy to apply (I used a mitt), I could see where I'd applied and there wasn't an overwhelming smell as so many of the competitor products have.
I found one tide mark on my wrist, though to be fair, I think this was from a watermark where I'd washed my hands after application. The good thing about this tide mark (in this case at the very least) was that I could see how long the tan lasted. For me, it was 9 days.
The product made feel confident and glowing immediately after application, and for that reason alone I would recommend it to others. However, given that it didn't last quite as long as advertised, and is quite expensive, I wouldn't give it 5 out of 5.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not easy to apply, pale colour, but no smell

Posted28 April 2014
Customer Avatar
LauraH77
from Oxford, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
That's it really. I found this product quite tricky to apply and didn't get on with the mitt at all. It seemed to come out quite well but then on showering, a lot of product came off and the resulting colour was very light. Repeating this process was annoying and I didnt' find it made any difference to how long it lasted. A lot of effort for little benefit. Also pricey compared to other tans that I have preferred. It didn't smell bad though, which is a bonus if you don't like fake tan smell.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you want a natural, golden tan, buy this!

Posted01 May 2014
Customer Avatar
PrincessConsuela
from Lancashire, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
This is a fantastic product. I have had one application on for a week now and it's still even. It gives a very natural, non streaky colour - there are no orange tones at all. One application gives a fairly subtle tan but you can double up on the applications if you want a deeper, darker tan.
I must admit I was a little dubious about the non-scented claims but I am now converted! There is that slight dog biscuit fake tan smell when applying (and I mean VERY faint), but i found once I washed off after leaving it to develop there was absolutely no scent at all.
I'll definitely continue to use this, after trying so many other luxury and budget brands, this one really is the best one I've tried. Yes it's expensive, but it's very good, so I feel completely worth the price, and I'm sure one bottle will last a while.
If you have the cash and want a streak free, natural tan I don't think you can go wrong with this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>