Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Body Fake Tan or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Vita-Liberata Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml

Vita-Liberata Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml

Vita Liberata pHenomenal Self Tan Reinvented with pHenO2 technology.Long Lasting colour and a perfect fade every time.
Average Customer Rating:
3.879 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(124 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 124 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
40
3 stars
20
2 stars
13
1 star
5
92 out of 117(79%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Review 1 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not even a 1 week tan

Posted23 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hull
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ibought tis after some good reviews in magazines. Initial application, colour etc was promising but as soon as I showered the colour faded dramatically. 2nd application as recommended. Same happened again. Ended up being very patchy as some parts were quite difficult to scrub off. I.e legs had faded to normal colour but my feet were orange... Not a good look. Thought this would be a cheaper alternative to my spray tans but I was wrong. Very disappointed. : ( the hunt is still on.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
22of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really impressed with this

Posted04 July 2012
Customer Avatar
VCLARE
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
read the instructions carefully and ensure you exfoliate the day before.I exfoiliated two days prior to applying the product with my usual homemade sugar and olive oil scrub( fantastic makes skin feel like silk).On the day I was applying the product I first showered to ensure my skin was clean and free from any moisturiser and deodrant then I applied.It went on wonderfully easy using a mit . The following morning I showered and moisturised.The tan was beautiful and even , but fairly pale and natural looking so I repeated the application the day after again on very clean skin and wow what a beautiful colour it is ..no streals no patchiness..who needs sun !! It has very little smell and although a bit pricey well worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
25of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

2-3 weeks? Not on my skin

Posted10 August 2012
Customer Avatar
Aurans
Age:35-44
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Being pale and only ever going red in the sun (then back to white), I'm a long-term fake tan addict. I've used so many brands I couldn't list them all here, but ultimately fake tan fades, rubs off, and to some extent always gives off that DHA smell.
For me a fake tan usually lasts up to about 4 days, before it's time to scrub off and start again. I think this is key to note, because - although it's not really made explicit in the packaging, but there is some reference to it in their online marketing - this tan will ONLY last you up to 3 weeks if your skin normally has a long shedding cycle. There is no getting away from it - the fake tan is on the top layer of skin, and that is going to naturally flake off. Because of this, I was sceptical about the tan's lasting ability, but I thought I'd give it a go.
So, as usual, I went through my routine of exfoliation etc., and put on a first coat of this tan to test the colour. It's lighter than I'd usually go for, and is quite golden. There is a smell (not exactly pleasant either), but it's probably too faint for other people to pick up on. Easy to apply sparingly to feet, although the mousse really doesn't spread very far, so when at the end I'd usually still have enough on the mitt to do my hands, I had to add a little more to cover these.
The 'test' coat went okay, no horrific patches overnight, but I found that it faded and became patchy within two days. Not a problem - this was the test after all - so I exfoliated and started again. This time I applied three coats over the space of a day, following the instructions. The tan lasted three days before I began to notice a few areas where it had worn back to white. If you're someone who doesn't do any exercise, or never wears underwear or close-fitting clothes then this probably won't be an issue for you. I resisted the urge to top up or scrub off, and ultimately got six days' out of this tan before the patches were too noticable and I had to start again. I've now finished the bottle... a total of seven applications from one bottle, and approx two weeks of tan - for me, that's not good value.
So the verdict is that the tan does last a little longer than others, but to my mind not long enough for the price. Although the colour is okay, and there's little day-after smell because of the low DHA content, I think it's expensive and the benefits aren't substantial enough to warrant that price. I think I'll go back to my usual tan... unless the price of this drops to about a third!
Disadvantages: doesn't last fades like any other fake tan
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+28points
30of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not quite perfect.... but closest I've come!

Posted17 September 2012
Customer Avatar
RedBusher
from Dundee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a redhead I am on a constant quest for the perfect fake tan and use a number of different products for different situations.I bought Vita Liberata as I was going on holiday and did not want to get a spray tan. I tried it before going away and I found it extremely easy to apply with a mitt as there is a guide colour. I left it overnight and the best bit was that the colour did not wash away down the drain next day when I showered. The colour that went on was the colour I was left with. I was careful not to scrub too much when having subsequent showers or to use strong wash products. The tan lasted about 3/4 days I would say before I felt the need to reapply. Much longer lasting and better finish than anything I have prevously tried. Unfortunately it wasn't so good on holiday as having to apply a Factor 50 sun cream meant that it sort of 'disolved' the tan away! I am still waiting for that elusive perfect fake tan, especially one that either combines SFP or one that you can use SFP sun cream on top of. Overall it is a good product, if a bit expensive.
Advantages: guide colour does not wash off, lasts longer than most others, natural looking colour
Disadvantages: expensive, does not last 2-3 weeks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely amazing - my new fake tan fav!

Posted29 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have to be honest, I was a little worried about spending £37.50 on a fake tan but seriously worth it for the length of time you get out of it!
I'm usually never bothered to leave feedback on things but really thought I should share my thoughts as it truly is the best fake tan I've ever bought! I think it is prob the first time I've used a tan that my Husband hasn't commented on the smell - he says I usually smell of curry chips! This didn't smell one single bit!!
The colour was lovely and natural - definitely will be buying this again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
26of 35voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This is not worth the money!

Posted15 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Steffjo6
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This tan is not worth the money...i bought it when it was on offer luckily! The tan itself is lovely, goes on easily and gives an instant glow. But as time goes on, the colour doesn't develop to a 'medium' tone. It's very pale, no matter how much you apply and no matter how many applications. The smell is very subtle when applied, but on a few occasions there was the tell tale tan smell. The fade is good, but as i said it's a very pale colour so to be honest i couldn't tell the difference between the faded tan and the tan itself. Very disapointed =(
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic!

Posted30 March 2013
Customer Avatar
sarahsean
from greater manchester
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used almost every product going ,and believe me...this is the best product you will ever use. it glides on smoothly not streak in sight, no orange colour , lovely bronze .will use this everytime. hope this review has been of some help
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply The Best

Posted11 May 2012
Customer Avatar
DDHERON
from Felling, Gateshead
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Having using ST Moriz urgghhh horrible fake tan smell, patchy after a few days and the scaly skin when wearing off, this product is the exact opposite. Great application, nice smelling and gradual fading, i personally wouldnt pay full price as NO false tan is worth £37 or more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
13of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, a fake tan that works!!!

Posted06 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Tinkerbell275
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I've tried numerous fake tans including spray tans, gradual tans, lotions and mousses and can honestly say that this has been the best one so far for colour, smell and longevity!
The 2-3 week claim is a bold statement and I'm not entirely sure it's accurate. I normally apply two coats one day apart, and am happy with the colour for up to ten days... Ok, so it's not 3 weeks but it's much longer than anything else I've tried!
If you follow the instructions the tan will last well, just make sure you exfoliate beforehand and aren't too heavy handed in the shower or it will vanish!
I've found that a mitt is the best method of application for me and think it's best to keep moisturising skin well after applying sufficient coats as it extends the tan. With a mitt it takes about ten minutes if that and I don't smell like a biscuit after!
I'm naturally pale and burn in the sun before going a light shade of brown (if that!) but I use the medium shade and feel that this gives a lovely colour which doesn't look fake. I've had a number of compliments on my tan (if only they knew!) and used this on holiday to Spain recently. I didn't feel out of place lying around the pool surrounded by vast amounts of naturally bronzed people and it lasted well under my factor 30-50 so I was very happy.
From reading other reviews it's clear that it's not for everyone but everyone's skin's different and I've recommended it to anyone who would listen to try. The only slight drawback is the price...! I found it at 1/3 of the price in Boots when it was on special offer so gave it a go. I think I'd get 9 or 10 applications out of a bottle so I'm already saving money as each spray tan cost me £15 and didn't last half as long!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tan Result

Posted03 July 2012
Customer Avatar
LouiseAnne1
from Denny, Scotland
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really good fake tan that actually looks real. I am fair skinned with freckles and bought the medium colour, it colours my skin well with one application giving me a nice sun kissed healthy look.
Product was lovely to apply and covered body well, glides on to skin and blends well with a streak free finish. It is important that you use a good quality fake tan mitt as it makes a difference to the finished look. There is a tiny, tiny hint of a fake tan smell with this product. I applied product at night and showered in the morning, the mousse is tinted so you can see where you apply on your body - this tint rinses off in the shower leaving behind a nice tanned look. I would recommend this product even though it's expensive, but it's well worth the money and you get a great looking tan with lots of positive comments about your amazing new tan!
Advantages: quick and easy to apply
Disadvantages: tiny hint of a fake tan smell, a bit expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
25of 28voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Luxurious to use, simple to use, and does what it says on the bottle!

Posted18 July 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Hartwell
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nearly used my first bottle, lucky enough to buy the minute I read about it in the Daily Mail, indeed though, not really expensive, the outlay might seem high, but really does last longer than any other fake tan, believe me, I am a fake tan fanatic,well, well worth the outlay, and beautiful tanned limbs with of course less work. Every 2 weeks or so, instead of five days. WINNER!
Advantages: no smell
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst ive ever used, extremely disappointed

Posted10 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Rebecca13291
I use fake tan alot and tried many different brands. I know to prepare and put tan on properly, which i did and followed the instructions to the letter and the tan isghorrible it has come of with in a couple of days it is all patchy, i cant describe how unhappy i am with it and wish i hadnt wasted my money and now i have to fork out again for a new tan so its money down the drain :-( wish i could have that money back.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice tan, bit pricey

Posted22 April 2014
Customer Avatar
MandaW
from Lancashire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
I was a bit wary applying this at first as I usually do the whole ritual of exfoliating/moisturising etc. and the directions on this product say to apply after just showering. I admit, I prepared my skin a few days before, making sure it was moisturised and then I took the plunge with the tan after a shower. Application was easy enough and I had help from my sister to do my back (generally quite hard even with the mitt unless you're super flexible). You apply it every day for 3 days, which seemed a bit much and for the results it was, as it hasn't lasted 3 weeks. A normal self tan you apply once tends to last almost 2 weeks so I expected more applying 3 days in a row, especially with the price tag! The tan was streak free and on my usually very pale skin, it looked lovely - not too orange. It also faded evenly, but it just hasn't lasted the full 3 weeks. It didn't smell too bad either!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Natural colour and easy to apply

Posted22 April 2014
Customer Avatar
jillyc76
from Preston
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
I have tried many different fake tans and I think this is one of the best.
I followed the instructions and applied 3 coats over 3 days. It was very easy to apply using the mitt provided and because you can see the colour as you put it on the skin you can blend as you go. I went straight to bed after application and it didn't stain the sheets which is a bonus! The product does claim that there is no smell at all, I don't agree with this. Although the smell is minimal I still caught a whiff on occasion!
Much of the tan washed off in the shower the next morning but I was still left with a golden colour which built up gradually over the 3 applications.
The manufacturers claim that the tan last for 2 - 3 weeks. Mine lasted about a week before it began to fade. However, It did fade gradually without leaving any nasty patches which i was impressed with.
Overall a great tan that i will continue to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mixed thoughts..

Posted23 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Bambi82
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
So, I would class myself as a fake-tan aficionado. I've strayed from the body lotion versions (Dove, Olay, Johnsons, Cocoa Butter etc...) to Fake Bake and lastly St Tropez. While I've become a bit of a pro, the application is still the part I dread the most.
Usually it takes ages to get a good streak-free application and to get every inch covered. I use latex gloves under a mitt and even have a back applicator (it's amazing! Everyone needs one. They sell them at Boots. Get it). I was amazed at how easy & quick it was to apply this fake tan. It covers really well with a great guide colour. I would still recommend wearing gloves under the applicator mitt because, although it has a waterproof protection (amazing invention!), my little finger was still covered in tan from the edge.
I slept in my tan like I usually do and washed it off first thing in the morning. So the development time was about 10 hours. The instructions state to apply the tan 3 nights in a row to build up the longevity of the tan, but after the 1st application, I felt that it was dark enough for what I wanted.
I'm now 1 week into the tan, and although it has faded a lot since the 1st day, I have to say that I am actually really impressed with the length of time it's remained and how it's faded. Usually, my fake tans fade strangely and I'm left with white patches in the creases of my arms, but this hasn't happened with this brand.
So, to summarise: Quick and easy application, good longevity, hydrates skin, looks natural, doesn't smell (during application or after). I wouldn't say it last 2 weeks, but even 1 week is great from my experience!
Definitely getting more of this stuff.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple and Good

Posted23 April 2014
Customer Avatar
ClaireDH29
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I love the colour this gives, the lack of smell and the ease of application - this is best with a mitt, I wouldnt do without!
It did last well but I wouldnt say 3 weeks as for value for money, not too bad but I cant think of another that I can compare to for the end result!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First time love!

Posted28 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Mrsbakeress
from Birmingham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
Hello there! I am a first time tryer at this new tanning thing. Since i am a quite olivey colour i have never tanned but thought id give it a try! It was very easy to apply and left absolutely no marks or streaks! I was really scared of this as this is what often puts me off! The colour was a got back from a beach holiday colour! Even on me! It was beauts! Anyway it stays on and does not discolour! Looks great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!! Streak free tanning!

Posted28 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Sarlou
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
I love this product for many reasons!
1) no nasty fake tan smell
2) no streaking! Colour goes on evenly
3) no colour transfer to clothes or bedding
4) easy to apply (definitely use the mitt, much better)
I love my fake tan when the weather gets better & its time to get the legs out of trousers & back into skirts & shorts.
I have many horror stories to tell from many products I have tried over the years - most of which would have you crying from laughter!
Anyway, this product is mousse. I would advise following the instructions carefully to achieve a even, golden colour & take heed about NOT moisturising first. Unlike other products on the market this is not necessary with this one.
I used 3 full pumps of the product (3 for lower & 3 for upper leg) & squashed it up into the mitt provided to spread it evenly. I then used small circular movements to "rub" into my lower legs first & then did the same with my upper legs.
This product has colour to it so you can easily see where you have missed a spot, after rubbing in the bulk of the product you then use what is left on the mitt to do knees & tops of feet.
I loved the instant colour it gave my legs, a nice subtle bronze which you can darken further by repeated shower & re-applying. (Do not rough dry after a shower as that will remove more colour, I just gently patted dry my skin)
But...this did not last 2-3 weeks as stated which is the only negative. My leg colour started to fade after about 3 days but it does fade evenly & is easily topped up.
Overall, I am really pleased with this product & would purchase in the future (but only if it was on offer as its very pricey)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lovely colour but not long-lasting

Posted28 April 2014
Customer Avatar
CattyAnya
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
I use this product on my legs only to give them just a hint of colour. I always exfoliate thoroughly and moisturise with very nourishing body butters for a few days before applying any fake tan. My skin is quite dry, therefore, colour can appear patchy and fade sooner than expected. This particular fake tan is easy to apply and doesn't smell as bad as some products I've tried. It offers a very natural-looking light and even colour after one use. The tan lasted five days, after that it started to fade and I simply exfoliated my skin and repeated the process. I didn't expect this product to last 2-3 weeks as promised, mainly because I have dry skin and work out most days (resulting in a lot of showers/baths). However, I still think this is a good fake tan based on the colour it gives and ease of application. I like that my legs are now sun-kissed and ready for the big reveal after months spent in opaque tights and jeans!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Self Tan Mousse Medium 125ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Instant Confidence Boost & Healthy Glow

Posted28 April 2014
Customer Avatar
HayleyJA
from Hampshire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
I'm always a little skeptical with regards to fake tans...they always seem to appear orange and streaky on me. I'm pale skinned and burn easily so getting even a slight natural tan is quite hard work; needless to say I liked the idea of this product.
I followed the instructions to the note, and have to say, the results were pretty immediate. It was easy to apply (I used a mitt), I could see where I'd applied and there wasn't an overwhelming smell as so many of the competitor products have.
I found one tide mark on my wrist, though to be fair, I think this was from a watermark where I'd washed my hands after application. The good thing about this tide mark (in this case at the very least) was that I could see how long the tan lasted. For me, it was 9 days.
The product made feel confident and glowing immediately after application, and for that reason alone I would recommend it to others. However, given that it didn't last quite as long as advertised, and is quite expensive, I wouldn't give it 5 out of 5.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>