Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Professional Haircare or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

Charles Worthington Straight & Smooth hair straightening kit is an easy, safe and effective at home straightening treatment, with results that last up to 40 days.
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
20
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
25
49 out of 84(58%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Review 1 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for my frizzy hair.

Posted29 October 2011
Customer Avatar
mumjoto3
from Weston-super-Mare
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Was very wary of this to start with because my hair is very resistant to any type of hair products but I need not to have worried....it worked! Went to bed with straight hair and woke up the next morning with straight hair and didn't even need to use straighteners before going out.
Took alot longer to apply than anticipated and wouldn't like to attempt without help from someone to apply. Yes, the smell is quite strong but not too off putting and the after smell on finished hair reminds me of the smell of fake tan. Liked the offer price (£13.33) but would still pay the full £19.99. Overall a great product for my very frizzy hair.
Advantages: how well it worked.
Disadvantages: took a while to apply., need help applying.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charles Worthington Salon at home straightening kit.

Posted08 December 2011
Customer Avatar
Pinkki
from Cornwall
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had very curly hair, but over the years because of using irons it is not so curly.
I bought this kit with doubt, using my points.
It is excellent, the quality is high, the value is great,application is good and works fast and the appearance is fantastic. Just the look I get when I do my hair in the mornings,but now I can leave my hair a few days. This is going to be good for me as using irons every day is not good, so that will be good for my hair in the long run.
I used to wake up and have to re-do the under sections from where I had lay at night and do the fringe also if it got wet out well that was a re-do.
Today I went out in the drizzle. A test if you like, it got damp never went curly and i brushed it and it dried straight in the car on the way home.
I can now wash my hair walk round the house and leave it dry on it's own (good for me) and just run the straighteners over the top.
I am glad I did this now, as I am going to have nice hair at Christmas this year.
I used the one for coloured hair, which you have to wait 2 weeks before using after having your colour......... So come on girls get it done for the festive season.
One downside is the smell, this is not good but planning is good also. When you put this on your hair you have to blow dry your style after, then use your irons. You then can not wash it for 2 days.
The first day was a bit bad but it went and now that it has been washed it has gone.
I was told also use a cheap shampoo before use, to strip your hair of any build up of products.
I never had any so used washing up liquid, that was my choice and I am 10/10 happy happy.
Advantages: can leave my hair longer between washing and using
Disadvantages: wish i used it before
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow

Posted14 December 2011
Customer Avatar
zebadeecat
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have thick frizzy wavy long hair...very difficult to tame. Used this product..beware it smells awful,easy to apply just follow instructions. could not believe the results, my hair is much straighter and less frizzy. OK not poker straight, but the difference is amazing! even my hairdresser was impressed! its now 3 weeks on and still looking good. Would definately recomend it, and will be using it again when 12 weeks is up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible! Does what it says on the box

Posted17 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Busyfemale
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
I blow dry my hair always to straighten but never get the "finished" look. Used the product this morning and am more than happy with the result. Only disadvantage ? My teenage daughter has taken it to use on her frizzy hair!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't do much

Posted17 September 2011
Customer Avatar
mei696
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I have straight hair anyway, so this doesn't really do much for me. except it calms the frizzy bits that i have in my hair. But no doesn't really do much. I would think it be good for people who does have frizzy hair, so give it a go girls :) u may like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not very useful

Posted29 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicvic
from North West
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
Having naturally wavy hair which is prone to "fluffiness" when exposed to any heated appliance, I was eager to try this product. We all know that too much heat makes your hair brittle, and so I thought a few weeks without straighteners would really be of benefit to my hair.
Sadly, this product didn't come close to the upto 40 day claim. Within 3 washes I was having to use straighteners again, just as much as before. And in the couple of days immediately after the treatment, my hair was straight and smooth, but it smelled like dog biscuits, which is a distinct drawback!
I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend as I felt the positives of it were far outweighed by the negatives. The product is well packaged and easy to use, but I personally don't think it's worth the time and effort.
Advantages: easy to use, made my hair very smooth
Disadvantages: distinctive smell, didn't last long
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hair is RUINED!

Posted26 April 2012
Customer Avatar
PKM123
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My lovely hair, freshly cut, was completely ruined by this treatment.
It went like elastic stringy bands when wet, it fell out in clumps and has been dull, brittle and lifeless since. It looks like straw, it has lightened it too which I hate but I am too worried about dyeing it again now. The ends are like they have been singed in a fire.
I had to rinse it off about 5 mins into the treatment as there was obviously something wrong and it was coming out in clumps. My hair had been dyed about 3 weeks before so it should have been fine. I followed all instructions carefully.
Be warned! and if you are going to use it be aware that this may happen and be very careful.
Boots staff were great - they refunded me the other 2 that I had bought on the 3 for 2 offer when they saw my hair.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not totally without straighteners

Posted26 September 2011
Customer Avatar
suzanne36
from Sleaford
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I found this product difficult to apply - I have long hair, and the smell was not pleasent. However, once I had completed the process I was quite happy with the results. I have wavy hair and usually use straightening irons on a fairly low setting, and although I did not use them immediately after I had used the product, I have on all washes since. I would recommend the product to someone with wavier hair as I think the effect would be more dramatic, but I will be sticking to my straighteners for now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

Posted09 November 2011
Customer Avatar
slimtobe
from Glasgow, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
This is great product. My Hair is very thick and goes curly very easily which I hate. My hair feels silky soft and very smooth. My hair is short and due to surgical complications find it hard to dry my hair so it has been cut shorter and shorter, hoping if this continues the way it started will be able to grow my hair again.
Advantages: feels so health and soft.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mixed race hair type

Posted17 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Njpettiford
from Nottinghamshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I am of dual heritage being half British white and black Caribbean.
My hair type is extremely curly, long, and dyed twice every two months.
When natural my hair appears to be just below the shoulder, due to extreme curls!
I am able to achieve completely straight hair by first blow drying and then using a straightener (Babyliss Pro elegance) which brings my hairs length to mid back, this however last for 5 days at the most before having to be washed again which brings my curls back.
After one use of this product my curls have become more relaxed lengthening my hairs appearance giving me a desired straighter appearance, I believe that if I am to use this product carefully and often my hair may remain straighter longer. After a couple of washes my hair has not returned back to being extremely curly but remains more relaxed. This product has also made straightening my hair quicker and easier.
Advantages: does what it says
Disadvantages: time consuming
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but not brilliant.

Posted16 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Blondie1989
from Leicester
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I have been an avid hair straightener since I was old enough to save up for a pair of the expensive straightening irons, and since then I've never really gone without. My hair isn't curly or wavy, it just seems to kink all over the place and doesn't sit nicely how some (very lucky) people's does.
I tried this product in the hope that I could give my hair a bit of a break from the heat styling, but was a little apprehensive of the colour issue. This was the first downfall of the product in my opinion, the small colour swatches on the side of the box are a little off-putting - what happens if you're near those shades and use the product?!
I won't write too much about the application of this product, as it has been covered at length by other reviewers, but I also found it tricky and smelly! The results were good, it takes me a little less time with the straighteners, but I do still have to use them.
Disadvantages: smell
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Aweful Product.

Posted24 December 2011
Customer Avatar
princessfizzy
from London UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was very excited to get this as I thought I'd be able to do away with the daily grid of straightening my hair.
After following the instructions to the letter my hair was noticably straighter but had completly dried out, it was flat, lifeless and some of the colour had been stripped out. Two emergency trips to my hairdresser later, my hair is finally healthy again. My hairdresser believes this product is too strong and can damage your hair. I would not recommend using this.
Disadvantages: damages your hair, leaves hair flat, drys hair out, strips colour
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did nothing whatsoever!

Posted24 October 2012
Customer Avatar
GemmieWho
from Weston-super-Mare
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have thick wavey hair like the third picture on the bus.
I did everything as instructed and low and behold - nothing!
Nada - zilch - zip - diddly-squat!
I won't be bothering with any of the other CW Salon At Home products.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My hair has changed for the better!

Posted02 April 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Harrogate, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product without reading any reviews and thought £15 for a straightening product was quite reasonable considering ones in the salons are significantly more.
The smell was gross but I dye my hair and use fake tan so I'm used to a smell or two.
Application was no trickier than using hair dye in my opinion - just needs to be combed straight for the product to work properly.
I dye my hair regularly and it is cut to a long bob NONE of my hair fell out and it feels healthy and glossy afterwards, blow drying it I noticed less frizz and the curl has dropped from it quite a lot which I'm happy about.
I still needed to use straighteners but my hair was a lot more under control after blow drying!
Advantages: tames frizz
Disadvantages: smell
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple and effective

Posted16 October 2011
Customer Avatar
gemmalouise01
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
This smoothed my hair really well as I normally have straight(ish) but frizzy hair. It was so good not having to straighten my hair every morning too! Also the smell isn't too strong off it either, all in all its a very good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good initial results, but damagng to hair

Posted24 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Frewdo
I found the product very simple and straight forward to use- just like using hair dye but without having to worry about staining everything else.
For the entire time the product was on I continued to try to comb my hair straight as many other reviewers advised.
The first 3 weeks of using the product I noticed I was getting more of a "salon result" after drying and straightening. Other people commented on how well my hair was sitting (usually any damp... wind... sweat and my hair starts to frizz and stick out everywhere, no matter the effort put into straightening it 2 hours before). I thought I was in love and prepared to go buy more kits....
But after a few weeks my hair is unfortunately back to its unmanageable self and whats worse, my hair is in terrible condition now. Split ends abound and the ends break off in handfuls. Two weeks before using this kit my hairdresser had been commented on the great condition of my hair, especially considering I use straighteners. Now I have brought forward my next hairdressing appointment to try to cut out the worst of it.
Advantages: great short-term effect
Disadvantages: damaging to hair
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's OK...

Posted27 November 2011
Customer Avatar
coolcookie99
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I recently purchased this product for the second time, as I applied it incorrectly the first time (my hairdresser applied it for me this time). To be honest, this product is average. It also depends on your hair situation. My friend also tried it, and she has very curly hair that is hard to tame with straighteners - and it didn't work very well at all! Her hair was straight up until the first hair wash after applying the product, and then after that her hair began to get more and more curly; back to square one. However, my hair is just big and wavy and it worked a treat, especially as my hairdresser applied it for me! My straighteners were in a drawer for around 30 days, so not the full time it says, but I was satisfied.
A point I will have to mention - the smell! It's very strong, and not very appealing at all! I had to open all the windows to try to get rid of the awful smell! The smell did go away after a while, which is good!
Overall, I would recommend this product to people with wavy/big hair, but I must stress that you must be sure that you want to purchase this product - good results are not guaranteed!
Advantages: lasted for a reasonable time, didn't damage my hair too much, it actually worked for me!
Disadvantages: the smell is awful!, good results aren't guaranteed, it's quite hard to apply!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Changed my life

Posted15 January 2012
Customer Avatar
miasampietro
from Lewes
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product changed my life! I have curly hair which I straighten all the time. Even when I straighten going out into damp weather conditions my hair would frizz. However, after using this product I was able to go out into the elements without worry. The sheen was incredible too and I was told so many times that I was never having a bad hair day! Thank you to the Charles Worthington team for bringing this product to the market, it has changed my life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much hassle

Posted26 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Joely
from Yorkshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
This was a pain to apply. It took a while to do on my own and was a bit difficult as I have quite long hair. I have wavy hair and it did help a little but I'll still be using my straighteners.
It's ok if you have lots of free time and patience but it's not for me.
Agree with everyone else on the smell issue... isn't too nice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product!

Posted07 November 2011
Customer Avatar
AnnaC1010
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
This product has made a big difference. I have naturally very curly hair and I use straighteners every day after blow drying my hair. It normally gets really frizzy in humidity. I bought this product after seeing the advert on TV and I am so glad I gave it a try! I don't need to use straighteners anymore. I can even blow dry my hair without using a brush and it stays straight. Plus, the frizz has gone! I can't believe how good the results are! I have applied the treatment 2 weeks ago and my hair is still the same. It does what it says on the box. My hair feels smoother, the frizz has gone and it's really straight! I will definitely use it again.
Disadvantages: the smell is quite strong
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>