Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Professional Haircare or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

Charles Worthington Straight & Smooth hair straightening kit is an easy, safe and effective at home straightening treatment, with results that last up to 40 days.
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
20
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
25
49 out of 84(58%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Review 1 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

GOOD PRODUCT, GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY

Posted20 September 2011
Customer Avatar
mummy2caitlinandleah
from Derbyshire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
My hair is fairly straight anyway so there wasnt going to be any dramatic change when i used this product.
It did however ease the slight frizz my hair gets when blown dry and did give it a nice glossy feel and shine.
I do think if your hair was curly it would make a large difference.
Easy to use, however was quite time consuming,
Advantages: glossy shine, easy to use
Disadvantages: time consuming
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple and effective

Posted16 October 2011
Customer Avatar
gemmalouise01
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
This smoothed my hair really well as I normally have straight(ish) but frizzy hair. It was so good not having to straighten my hair every morning too! Also the smell isn't too strong off it either, all in all its a very good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked pretty well

Posted25 October 2011
Customer Avatar
powerpuff
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I've never used a straightening product before so was pleased to give this a try. It had a nice smell and use pretty straight forward to use. It definately made a difference but it didn't quite last as long as 4 weeks.. Like some of the other reviewers have said - it's not a wonder product but it does work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

scam!

Posted31 October 2011
Customer Avatar
angel1821
Well here I am procedure completed. Im sorry to have to say this tho – dont waste your money folks – its a scam! It does no different than any normal wash & condition & then straightening tongs can do! My hair is still quite frizzy & I followed the instructions to the letter!
Im very disappointed!
I also have to tell you, Ive relaxed my hair before using another product Boots sell : “dark & lovely” hair straightener kit AND that stuff is only about £4 ! It also works!
BTW I only have what Id call wavy hair not tight curls & its not afro. Im caucasian with dark wavy hair just below my shoulders. Unfortunately if I let it dry naturally without tongs I get the “Brian May ” look! Thats why I was hoping this product would tame it but certainly not in my case. good luck if it works for you but Id just go for the other stuff!
Disadvantages: simply doesnt work!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
24of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible! Does what it says on the box

Posted17 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Busyfemale
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
I blow dry my hair always to straighten but never get the "finished" look. Used the product this morning and am more than happy with the result. Only disadvantage ? My teenage daughter has taken it to use on her frizzy hair!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't do much

Posted17 September 2011
Customer Avatar
mei696
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I have straight hair anyway, so this doesn't really do much for me. except it calms the frizzy bits that i have in my hair. But no doesn't really do much. I would think it be good for people who does have frizzy hair, so give it a go girls :) u may like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Helped with frizz

Posted25 September 2011
Customer Avatar
RJ777
from Cardiff UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I have naturally wavy hair which is prone to frizz. After using the treatment my hair is much less frizzy, it is also less wavy now but isn't dead straight, meaning I still have to straighten it.
The application itself is quite fiddly and it smells awful which stuck about for about 3 washes. I'd use it again if I was going on holiday where I wouldn't want to spend ages doing my hair but I wouldn't use it on a regular basis.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lots of my hair came out!!!

Posted03 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Selina7
I bought this product 2 days ago I regret it ever since. When I applied the product it splattered everywhere it also took a long time . The amount of hair came out was unbelievable all my end had split ends :( so now I'll have to get haircut! Only positive is it has tamed my hair a bit.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

More managable

Posted01 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Rochester, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I used this 3 weeks ago and I like it even though my hair isn't exactly straight. After using the product my hair was shiny and super straight and lasted that way for just under a week, my hair is wavy, very long and quite frizzy and it tamed my hair brilliantly. I've only had to straighten my fringe 4 or 5 times rather than everyday which is brilliant for me.
I use semi permanent colour on my hair (very dark brown/ black) and it left that alone (I was worried it was going to go some crazy colour). I did re-dye my hair 2 weeks after and I had no problems whatsoever. The first few washes after using the product my hair did smell a bit funky as if it had had a very intensive chemical treatment but it was easy to cover up and no one else noticed it.
Although my hair hasn't remained completely straight for all the time, it's a lot more manageable and easier to blow dry straight and quicker to straighten it poker straight, also I've had no fluffy or frizzy bits.
I think its a good product if you want to make your hair a little more manageable for a while- for example I barely straighten my fringe now so for me that's a god send, it's great value for money- much cheaper than permanent straightening or brazillian blowdrys but I'm not sure I would use it all the time but I would use it to help make my hair very straight for an occasion or if my hair started to go crazy and frizzy.
Advantages: more managable hair, leaves colour alone
Disadvantages: smell
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

Posted05 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Lyndsay0805
I was very excited to try this product - I have been straightening my curly and somewhat frizzy hair for about 7 years now. I followed the instructions to the letter, and I did end up with very straight hair once it was dry (possibly because I took greater care than usual to straighten it, so that the product "set"). However, only a few hours later, my hair had started to kink. The next morning, my hair looked as messy, frizzy, wavy and untamed as it always does. It's just had its first wash since I used the product. Again, no change; as curly and frizzy at it always is after washing; as well as that, there is the smell of the product, which I believe will take another wash or two to get rid of. I'm still going to have to use my hair straighteners every single day. So, if you want to invest £19.99 in a product that will do nothing except make your hair stink, go ahead. Me? I feel conned, ripped off and a bit stupid.
Disadvantages: expensive, doesn't work, stinks
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible!!!!!!!!

Posted06 November 2011
Customer Avatar
RachelP111
This product is awful. Do not use it. I have regretted putting it in my hair ever since I did it. It is now impossible to blow dry, as it becomes slimy and sticky when wet. My hair is now straw like and frizzy and breaks off when combed. You will definatly regret using this product!!!
Disadvantages: ruins hair, hair becomes unmanigable, hair breaks and goes like straw
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good easy to use and does the job

Posted10 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from london
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Although a bit smelly this actually worked and lasted. i woud definitely use this product again. Much better than a lot of other similar products on the market.
Advantages: easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work on my hair

Posted16 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Ginadha
I have medium length, thick wiry hair which is wavy/curly. Having read other reviews I followed the instructions exactly and kept combing throughout. The result, my hair was pretty straight up to the point I washed it 3 days later when all my curls & waves re-appeared just as usual. This product has made absolutely no impact on my hair, other than stripping it dry. At least the colour was unaffected and it hasn't been overly damaged but if you have hair like mine, this is probably going to be a waste of money, time and effort.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but not brilliant.

Posted16 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Blondie1989
from Leicester
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I have been an avid hair straightener since I was old enough to save up for a pair of the expensive straightening irons, and since then I've never really gone without. My hair isn't curly or wavy, it just seems to kink all over the place and doesn't sit nicely how some (very lucky) people's does.
I tried this product in the hope that I could give my hair a bit of a break from the heat styling, but was a little apprehensive of the colour issue. This was the first downfall of the product in my opinion, the small colour swatches on the side of the box are a little off-putting - what happens if you're near those shades and use the product?!
I won't write too much about the application of this product, as it has been covered at length by other reviewers, but I also found it tricky and smelly! The results were good, it takes me a little less time with the straighteners, but I do still have to use them.
Disadvantages: smell
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Is the smell worth it?????

Posted01 December 2011
Customer Avatar
Frizzball
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used to be a hairdresser, followed instructions to a T, and it worked quite well. When I wash my hair it is still wavy but once dried and straightened it stays reasonably straight until I wash it again. I used to look like crusty the clown in the mornings but now I can just comb it and go out. Even when its foggy my hair does not do its usual 'swell' to twice the size. I would rave about this product BUT, and it is a big BUT, the smell it has left on my hair is awful. When my hair gets damp in the shower/fog it smells like musty sweaty shoes!!! Even my partner asked what that whiff was! I have complained to CW as it was so bad and they have immediately sent me a hair masque. 10/10 for customer service! Looking at all of the comments on here I cant believe smell was not a factor when they did their product testing. I will probably use again, especially when going abroad where humidity is high as I spend all holiday looking like a frizzball, but I will be taking hair masques with me!!!!!
Advantages: frizz control is brilliant
Disadvantages: the lingering smell is overwhelming !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Aweful Product.

Posted24 December 2011
Customer Avatar
princessfizzy
from London UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was very excited to get this as I thought I'd be able to do away with the daily grid of straightening my hair.
After following the instructions to the letter my hair was noticably straighter but had completly dried out, it was flat, lifeless and some of the colour had been stripped out. Two emergency trips to my hairdresser later, my hair is finally healthy again. My hairdresser believes this product is too strong and can damage your hair. I would not recommend using this.
Disadvantages: damages your hair, leaves hair flat, drys hair out, strips colour
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Oh Dear

Posted03 November 2011
Customer Avatar
MaggieCRAW
from Hull
I used this product today and it seems to have really left my hair brittle.
My hair was difficult to blow dry and quite a lot of hair came out when I was blow drying it.
I hope my hair improves when I condition it but at the moment it has left me worried about what it has done to my hair.
When will a product live up to even half its hype!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Had to cut my hair afterwards - disaster!!

Posted07 November 2011
Customer Avatar
dallymoo
from london
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per week
I read all the reviews, initially the good ones. Should have stayed with the negative ones - they were all correct. I did everything as per insturctions - ended up with hair like straw and two shades lighter. Smell left in hair is just awful and my hair was literally unmanageable and I had to have a good few inches of it cut off. It still feels horrid. Dry and crunchy and it still smells! This product was just awful for me.
WILL NEVER TOUCH THIS PRODUCT AGAIN ORRECOMMEND IT
Advantages: none
Disadvantages: ruined hair
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product!

Posted07 November 2011
Customer Avatar
AnnaC1010
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
This product has made a big difference. I have naturally very curly hair and I use straighteners every day after blow drying my hair. It normally gets really frizzy in humidity. I bought this product after seeing the advert on TV and I am so glad I gave it a try! I don't need to use straighteners anymore. I can even blow dry my hair without using a brush and it stays straight. Plus, the frizz has gone! I can't believe how good the results are! I have applied the treatment 2 weeks ago and my hair is still the same. It does what it says on the box. My hair feels smoother, the frizz has gone and it's really straight! I will definitely use it again.
Disadvantages: the smell is quite strong
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says on the packet

Posted10 November 2011
Customer Avatar
DeeDee8
from Nottingham
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Straight and Smooth was amazing - lovely straight hair and smooth hair. I certainly would recommend this product.
Val
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>