Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Professional Haircare or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

Charles Worthington Straight & Smooth hair straightening kit is an easy, safe and effective at home straightening treatment, with results that last up to 40 days.
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
20
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
25
49 out of 84(58%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Review 1 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

GOOD PRODUCT, GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY

Posted20 September 2011
Customer Avatar
mummy2caitlinandleah
from Derbyshire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
My hair is fairly straight anyway so there wasnt going to be any dramatic change when i used this product.
It did however ease the slight frizz my hair gets when blown dry and did give it a nice glossy feel and shine.
I do think if your hair was curly it would make a large difference.
Easy to use, however was quite time consuming,
Advantages: glossy shine, easy to use
Disadvantages: time consuming
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works - But Worth The Hassle?

Posted28 September 2011
Customer Avatar
elbell
from Yorkshire, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
I can see a difference in my hair after using this - if anything it just seems more manageable and smooth, as I'm usually prone to 'flyaways' after blow-drying.
It's probably more effective on naturally wavy or curly hair - I don't really like using products like this on my coloured hair due the chemicals. Applying the product felt a bit like DIY hair colouring kits which I'm not fond of doing myself!
In all, far too fussy for me to keep up, I will stick to straighteners, but if you're used to dying hair yourself and meet the criteria for using it (there's a long list of 'do not use if..' !) then this product is for you
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Made my hair feel super smooth

Posted02 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Bubsy21
from leeds
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I found this made my hair alot smoother than usual. I have slightly wavey hair so maybe the product didn't have to work too hard to straighten it. I found it lasted about 2 weeks and not the longer time quoted on the box. I found it relatively easy to apply and the small wasn't too offensive. I would recommend this product but only for special occasions / events. Possibly if my hair was more wavey or unmanagable it may not have worked as well.
Advantages: left hair soft and shiney, hair more managable
Disadvantages: results didn't last that long
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth it

Posted02 October 2011
Customer Avatar
harry1et
from Wirral
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I have naturally straight hair, but it tends to kink a little. I tried this product thinking it would tame the flyaways i have and also keep more body in my hair which it tends to lose after straightening.
There are a lot of instructions and criteria that needs to be met and rules to keep to after using the product, so make sure to read the box before buying.
The application is very similar to a home hair dye box, but the smell is very off putting and not even as 'chemical' as a hair dye ammonia type smell its very strange, and does linger on your hair which is a big downside for me, as i have long hair and wear it loose so i could smell it all the time :(
After the treatment, my hair was a little smoother, and straight after it my hair was really straight, but after a few washes it was back to normal, and i didnt feel styled enough to go out without straightning so for my hair its not worth it and i wont be buying.
I think the treatment would work on wavy hair and for people who arent bothered if their style is 100% polished as it did make my hair smoother.
Advantages: smoother hair
Disadvantages: smell, couldnt wash hair for 48 hours after treatment, lots of instruction, didnt make a big difference
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Results not worth the messing

Posted03 October 2011
Customer Avatar
MandaW
from Lancashire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
I used this 3 weeks ago and already my hair is back to normal. I have very frizzy hair with a bit of a natural wave. The frizzyness disappeared for about the first 2 weeks and I was able to dry my hair straight which I can't usually do. However, 3 weeks later and its back to "normal" - frizzy and wavy. It didn't affect the colour on my hair, and my hair was soft, silky and smooth after using it.
Overall, I don't think the product is worth all the time and messing around to use full time but would probably use it again if I was going on holiday.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but not long lasting results

Posted04 October 2011
Customer Avatar
sarahbb
from Somerset
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
i was really excited when i saw a home diy straightening product was coming out, and hoped it would be as good as it said on the box. The first problem is i colour my hair and wear it up most days for work, so had to wait around 2 weeks to use this as you should not use within 2 weeks of colouring and have to avoid tying hair up for 2 days after treatment. The smell is a little strong but not too bad, and applying is very similar to a home hair dye so overall quite easy to use if you allow yourself the time. I have quite thick, long and naturally wavy hair which I straighten most days. The initial results (after finishing with straightners) were very good, my hair was smooth and more manageable and felt as though it had a salon finish. It reduced frizz over the next few washes and was a little easier to straighten as was smoother and more manageable, however i didn't feel the finish was good enough not to straighten after washing. Overall this is a good product for the money and provides a good finish for a home treatment, however for me didn't last as long as i had hoped after reading the promises on the box. I would recommend this for a special occasion as long as you don't want to wear your hair up!
Advantages: good value for money, salon finish after treatment, easy to use at home
Disadvantages: finish didn't last as long as hoped, still have to straighten after washing
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

Posted12 October 2011
Customer Avatar
es0606
from Yorkshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I really liked this product, it lasted for about 4 weeks and the effect was really nice :) would buy again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mixed race hair type

Posted17 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Njpettiford
from Nottinghamshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I am of dual heritage being half British white and black Caribbean.
My hair type is extremely curly, long, and dyed twice every two months.
When natural my hair appears to be just below the shoulder, due to extreme curls!
I am able to achieve completely straight hair by first blow drying and then using a straightener (Babyliss Pro elegance) which brings my hairs length to mid back, this however last for 5 days at the most before having to be washed again which brings my curls back.
After one use of this product my curls have become more relaxed lengthening my hairs appearance giving me a desired straighter appearance, I believe that if I am to use this product carefully and often my hair may remain straighter longer. After a couple of washes my hair has not returned back to being extremely curly but remains more relaxed. This product has also made straightening my hair quicker and easier.
Advantages: does what it says
Disadvantages: time consuming
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not totally without straighteners

Posted26 September 2011
Customer Avatar
suzanne36
from Sleaford
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I found this product difficult to apply - I have long hair, and the smell was not pleasent. However, once I had completed the process I was quite happy with the results. I have wavy hair and usually use straightening irons on a fairly low setting, and although I did not use them immediately after I had used the product, I have on all washes since. I would recommend the product to someone with wavier hair as I think the effect would be more dramatic, but I will be sticking to my straighteners for now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much hassle

Posted26 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Joely
from Yorkshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
This was a pain to apply. It took a while to do on my own and was a bit difficult as I have quite long hair. I have wavy hair and it did help a little but I'll still be using my straighteners.
It's ok if you have lots of free time and patience but it's not for me.
Agree with everyone else on the smell issue... isn't too nice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not very useful

Posted29 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicvic
from North West
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
Having naturally wavy hair which is prone to "fluffiness" when exposed to any heated appliance, I was eager to try this product. We all know that too much heat makes your hair brittle, and so I thought a few weeks without straighteners would really be of benefit to my hair.
Sadly, this product didn't come close to the upto 40 day claim. Within 3 washes I was having to use straighteners again, just as much as before. And in the couple of days immediately after the treatment, my hair was straight and smooth, but it smelled like dog biscuits, which is a distinct drawback!
I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend as I felt the positives of it were far outweighed by the negatives. The product is well packaged and easy to use, but I personally don't think it's worth the time and effort.
Advantages: easy to use, made my hair very smooth
Disadvantages: distinctive smell, didn't last long
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok product, results didn't last long,

Posted06 October 2011
Customer Avatar
dollyupretty
from east sussex
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
smoothed my hair and made it less frizzy ,but still had to straighten it. result was similar to when you have your hair conditioned at the salon.
smooth and lovely then it returns to normal.
product smells abit too.
i would of liked this product to produce longer lasting results but great packaging, abit over priced , i think £10 would of been better than the rrp of £19.99 . i think it's a product that will work with only certain true hair types, although i think it's great that it can be used on coloured hair because i honestly don't know many girls who haven't put some sort of dye on their hair at any time. i'd use this product when your going out or something ,for example doing your nails, fake tan and add some smoothness to your hair too
Advantages: you can use it on dyed hair, works for smoothing, special occasion
Disadvantages: smells, doesnt' last long
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally..............!

Posted09 October 2011
Customer Avatar
CamsMom09
from West midlands
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
So i've just got back from my hols and my darling fiance forgot to pick up the bag my hair dryer and straightners where in. The onlu reason I didnt make him come straight back home was that i'd used this before I went so luckily my hair was pretty much straight when it dried, no it wasnt perfect but it was good enough!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple and effective

Posted16 October 2011
Customer Avatar
gemmalouise01
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
This smoothed my hair really well as I normally have straight(ish) but frizzy hair. It was so good not having to straighten my hair every morning too! Also the smell isn't too strong off it either, all in all its a very good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked pretty well

Posted25 October 2011
Customer Avatar
powerpuff
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I've never used a straightening product before so was pleased to give this a try. It had a nice smell and use pretty straight forward to use. It definately made a difference but it didn't quite last as long as 4 weeks.. Like some of the other reviewers have said - it's not a wonder product but it does work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

scam!

Posted31 October 2011
Customer Avatar
angel1821
Well here I am procedure completed. Im sorry to have to say this tho – dont waste your money folks – its a scam! It does no different than any normal wash & condition & then straightening tongs can do! My hair is still quite frizzy & I followed the instructions to the letter!
Im very disappointed!
I also have to tell you, Ive relaxed my hair before using another product Boots sell : “dark & lovely” hair straightener kit AND that stuff is only about £4 ! It also works!
BTW I only have what Id call wavy hair not tight curls & its not afro. Im caucasian with dark wavy hair just below my shoulders. Unfortunately if I let it dry naturally without tongs I get the “Brian May ” look! Thats why I was hoping this product would tame it but certainly not in my case. good luck if it works for you but Id just go for the other stuff!
Disadvantages: simply doesnt work!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
24of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Used properly = Great results!!!

Posted17 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Terri13
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Tried this last week for first time - really pleased with results xxx I have shoulder length coloured wavy/curly hair and even with GHDs it takes forever to get it straight. Years ago I had a perm, hated it, and hairdresser advised me to buy a home perm, keep combing it while perm solution on with fine toothed comb> Worked brilliantly and I presume this is the basis of this kit (albeit updated and kinder to hair!!!). Lots of other reviewers who complain about the smell are obviously too young to remember home perms, as this is what it smells of - not great, but not as bad as others make out. The trick is to CONTINUALLY comb gently through hair ALL the time product is on (both initial solution and neutralizer) think this is where some people have gone wrong and not achieved the result they wanted, COMB, COMB, COMB and you WILL have straight hair in fabulous condition (make sure you continue to use aftercare conditioner provided)
Advantages: great results great condition
Disadvantages: none!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
25of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Straight and shine

Posted28 October 2011
Customer Avatar
CBear1966
from Rotherham
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
omg charles worthington, straight for 40 days, is amazing. i only did it on wednesday evening so i will be able to wash it this evening or tomorrow. my hair feels so good and the comments i am getting make me feel so fantastic
love it
top marks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not use this product my hair is ruined!!!

Posted30 October 2011
Customer Avatar
haberlid
from Upminster, Essex
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I just used this today and I haven't stopped crying, I have shoulder lenghth hair, which has a semi-perm colour, over 9 weeks ago now, I saw this in Boots and thought I would give it a go! What a mistake, as soon as I put product on my hair, the smell was so disgusting, made me heave, I followed instructions and before my eyes, my hair started to frizz and as I brushed it with comb started to break off, in some places as much as 3 inches, I was really panicking, carried on with instructions, when I rinsed out the product and when to blow dry it, clums of hair came off in brush, my hair is a mess, all frizzed up and dried, gone a terrible funny colour and stinks, I am devastated, its totally ruined my hair, so scared to wash it, in case more hair breaks off! Do not use this!!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Destroyed my hair...

Posted31 October 2011
Customer Avatar
khloeapple
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Used this product yesterday. I have coloured hair (which it's meant to be suitable for) my hair is completely destroyed and most of it's going to have to be cut off! If you colour your hair once in a blue moon you'd probably be ok, but if you colour regularly I'd steer clear as my hair now looks like a cave person :P
Advantages: did actually make it straight
Disadvantages: although straight it is now broken and bushy, some hair fell out!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ruthieboots
 
Please wait while more information about Ruthieboots is loaded.
Additional information about Ruthieboots could not be loaded.
Posted 02 December 2011
Alas it might have nothing to do with the colour you have on your hair. I used the one for non-coloured hair as I have never coloured it and it's like straw and is breaking, stinks and is NOT straight. I can't believe this product got past the test stage.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 next>>