Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Professional Haircare or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

Charles Worthington Straight & Smooth hair straightening kit is an easy, safe and effective at home straightening treatment, with results that last up to 40 days.
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
20
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
25
49 out of 84(58%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Review 1 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

GOOD PRODUCT, GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY

Posted20 September 2011
Customer Avatar
mummy2caitlinandleah
from Derbyshire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
My hair is fairly straight anyway so there wasnt going to be any dramatic change when i used this product.
It did however ease the slight frizz my hair gets when blown dry and did give it a nice glossy feel and shine.
I do think if your hair was curly it would make a large difference.
Easy to use, however was quite time consuming,
Advantages: glossy shine, easy to use
Disadvantages: time consuming
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not totally without straighteners

Posted26 September 2011
Customer Avatar
suzanne36
from Sleaford
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I found this product difficult to apply - I have long hair, and the smell was not pleasent. However, once I had completed the process I was quite happy with the results. I have wavy hair and usually use straightening irons on a fairly low setting, and although I did not use them immediately after I had used the product, I have on all washes since. I would recommend the product to someone with wavier hair as I think the effect would be more dramatic, but I will be sticking to my straighteners for now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Made my hair feel super smooth

Posted02 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Bubsy21
from leeds
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I found this made my hair alot smoother than usual. I have slightly wavey hair so maybe the product didn't have to work too hard to straighten it. I found it lasted about 2 weeks and not the longer time quoted on the box. I found it relatively easy to apply and the small wasn't too offensive. I would recommend this product but only for special occasions / events. Possibly if my hair was more wavey or unmanagable it may not have worked as well.
Advantages: left hair soft and shiney, hair more managable
Disadvantages: results didn't last that long
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth it

Posted02 October 2011
Customer Avatar
harry1et
from Wirral
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I have naturally straight hair, but it tends to kink a little. I tried this product thinking it would tame the flyaways i have and also keep more body in my hair which it tends to lose after straightening.
There are a lot of instructions and criteria that needs to be met and rules to keep to after using the product, so make sure to read the box before buying.
The application is very similar to a home hair dye box, but the smell is very off putting and not even as 'chemical' as a hair dye ammonia type smell its very strange, and does linger on your hair which is a big downside for me, as i have long hair and wear it loose so i could smell it all the time :(
After the treatment, my hair was a little smoother, and straight after it my hair was really straight, but after a few washes it was back to normal, and i didnt feel styled enough to go out without straightning so for my hair its not worth it and i wont be buying.
I think the treatment would work on wavy hair and for people who arent bothered if their style is 100% polished as it did make my hair smoother.
Advantages: smoother hair
Disadvantages: smell, couldnt wash hair for 48 hours after treatment, lots of instruction, didnt make a big difference
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but not brilliant.

Posted16 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Blondie1989
from Leicester
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I have been an avid hair straightener since I was old enough to save up for a pair of the expensive straightening irons, and since then I've never really gone without. My hair isn't curly or wavy, it just seems to kink all over the place and doesn't sit nicely how some (very lucky) people's does.
I tried this product in the hope that I could give my hair a bit of a break from the heat styling, but was a little apprehensive of the colour issue. This was the first downfall of the product in my opinion, the small colour swatches on the side of the box are a little off-putting - what happens if you're near those shades and use the product?!
I won't write too much about the application of this product, as it has been covered at length by other reviewers, but I also found it tricky and smelly! The results were good, it takes me a little less time with the straighteners, but I do still have to use them.
Disadvantages: smell
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lots of my hair came out!!!

Posted03 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Selina7
I bought this product 2 days ago I regret it ever since. When I applied the product it splattered everywhere it also took a long time . The amount of hair came out was unbelievable all my end had split ends :( so now I'll have to get haircut! Only positive is it has tamed my hair a bit.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

Posted05 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Lyndsay0805
I was very excited to try this product - I have been straightening my curly and somewhat frizzy hair for about 7 years now. I followed the instructions to the letter, and I did end up with very straight hair once it was dry (possibly because I took greater care than usual to straighten it, so that the product "set"). However, only a few hours later, my hair had started to kink. The next morning, my hair looked as messy, frizzy, wavy and untamed as it always does. It's just had its first wash since I used the product. Again, no change; as curly and frizzy at it always is after washing; as well as that, there is the smell of the product, which I believe will take another wash or two to get rid of. I'm still going to have to use my hair straighteners every single day. So, if you want to invest £19.99 in a product that will do nothing except make your hair stink, go ahead. Me? I feel conned, ripped off and a bit stupid.
Disadvantages: expensive, doesn't work, stinks
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good results, simple to use

Posted06 November 2011
Customer Avatar
trudy30
from manchester
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
have been chemically straightening my hair for over 10yrs, including brazilian blowdry. Have just used the this product and have to say was by far the easiest and quickest to do myself.
I applied it using a tint brush and bowl and by sectioning my hair, to ensure even coverage, the smell was bareable, made sure i had a window open.
i can only think that people who have had bad results have either left the product on too long or had poor condition hair to start with. My hair is heavily coloured a dark red and very naturally curly, have been left with amazingly shiny hair and silky smooth and straight ;-))
Advantages: silky straight hair, simple to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
12of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says!!

Posted11 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Haynic
from Birmingham
Gender:Female
I applied this product a few days ago it does exactly what it says it has smoothed and straightened my hair. I usually have quite frizzy slightly curly hair I did not think this product would do anything but it has smoothed the hair shaft and made my hair alot straighter. Well worth investing in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Had to cut my hair afterwards - disaster!!

Posted07 November 2011
Customer Avatar
dallymoo
from london
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per week
I read all the reviews, initially the good ones. Should have stayed with the negative ones - they were all correct. I did everything as per insturctions - ended up with hair like straw and two shades lighter. Smell left in hair is just awful and my hair was literally unmanageable and I had to have a good few inches of it cut off. It still feels horrid. Dry and crunchy and it still smells! This product was just awful for me.
WILL NEVER TOUCH THIS PRODUCT AGAIN ORRECOMMEND IT
Advantages: none
Disadvantages: ruined hair
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more straightners!

Posted10 November 2011
Customer Avatar
JayT70
from Brighton
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Brilliant product - leaves my hair feeling really smooth too - recommend this - yes, yes, yes!
Advantages: no more straightners
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not that great

Posted20 November 2011
Customer Avatar
K81986
from East Anglia, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I brought this product, having seen it advertised on t.v,having read the product information and having read reviews about it...with a real hope that I would end up with smooth, straight hair, which would en-able me to pack away the straighteners for a while.
However..this is not what I personally ended up with. This product didn't meet my expectations at all. I have quite un-ruly, wavy and frizzy hair, and apart from making my hair sit ever so slightly flatter to my head...this product done nothing what so ever, apart from slightly strip the colour out of my hair and completely dry my ends, and my hair was in good condition before using this product.
All in all...for me, this product did not deliver...I'd have been better off too keep using my straighteners...and I won't be recommending this to anyone.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's OK...

Posted27 November 2011
Customer Avatar
coolcookie99
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I recently purchased this product for the second time, as I applied it incorrectly the first time (my hairdresser applied it for me this time). To be honest, this product is average. It also depends on your hair situation. My friend also tried it, and she has very curly hair that is hard to tame with straighteners - and it didn't work very well at all! Her hair was straight up until the first hair wash after applying the product, and then after that her hair began to get more and more curly; back to square one. However, my hair is just big and wavy and it worked a treat, especially as my hairdresser applied it for me! My straighteners were in a drawer for around 30 days, so not the full time it says, but I was satisfied.
A point I will have to mention - the smell! It's very strong, and not very appealing at all! I had to open all the windows to try to get rid of the awful smell! The smell did go away after a while, which is good!
Overall, I would recommend this product to people with wavy/big hair, but I must stress that you must be sure that you want to purchase this product - good results are not guaranteed!
Advantages: lasted for a reasonable time, didn't damage my hair too much, it actually worked for me!
Disadvantages: the smell is awful!, good results aren't guaranteed, it's quite hard to apply!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I won't ever be without it now

Posted30 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Thehairycat
from Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been nothing short of miraculous for my hair type. I have wavy hair & absolutely masses of it, however, the hairs themselves are very fine (no weight to them whatsoever) so as you can imagine, my hair's pretty wild. This stuff has completely tamed it. For the 1st time ever my hair has some weight to it & I can straighten my hair from dry where as before it was "wet to straights", nothing else would work. It also stays straight where as before the slightest hint of moisture or static & the top layer would start looking unruly. It hasn't removed my need for straighteners but I've also found that if I leave my hair to dry naturally without using any products it goes into lovely waves rather than a wild frizz fest so that's a double bonus for me. My hair now looks 100% better whether left to it's own devices or styled.
It's been 4 weeks now & my hair is still the same as the day I applied it. So chuffed, I will always use this on my hair from now on.
NOTE: Always do a strand test! I had a little breakage on a sun-bleached streak in my hair so could well expect anyone with lightened hair might have problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Aweful Product.

Posted24 December 2011
Customer Avatar
princessfizzy
from London UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was very excited to get this as I thought I'd be able to do away with the daily grid of straightening my hair.
After following the instructions to the letter my hair was noticably straighter but had completly dried out, it was flat, lifeless and some of the colour had been stripped out. Two emergency trips to my hairdresser later, my hair is finally healthy again. My hairdresser believes this product is too strong and can damage your hair. I would not recommend using this.
Disadvantages: damages your hair, leaves hair flat, drys hair out, strips colour
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work

Posted15 December 2011
Customer Avatar
Beautyaddict77
from Bucingham, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
for reference i have extremely thick hair with a natural wave and very frizzy under-sections. I thought that this could be the answer to my frizzy wavy hair problems but unfortunately i have been left disappointed.
I followed the instructions, straightened my hair and my hair was beautifully smooth and silky. 2 days later it was still beautifully smooth which really got my hopes up as normally kinks and frizz would have started to make an appearance. 4 days later i still hadn't washed it and it still looked fabulous! unfortunately though as soon as i washed my hair it was back to normal, maybe even worse as it has dried out my already dry and frizzy hair.
Im really disappointed, especially as i see all of these positive reviews.
In my humble, inexpert opinion, i think that this didn't work for me as my frizzyness is mainly due to the fact that my hair is very dry, probably from years of colouring. Bleached hair can lose its ability to hold colour (hence why pre-pig is often used when colouring bleached hair darker) and since this is essentially the same, as you are applying chemicals to the hair, perhaps my hair wasn't as able to hold the formulation. (I discussed this theory with some hair stylists i work with and they thought it was a good theory.) Just an idea anyway.
As for the smell, yes its not pleasant but what chemicals do smell nice?? Its 20mins - its fine.
In conclusion, its £20 - maybe worth a try since its not a huuuuge amount of money to waste and there does seem to be a lot of people who found it worked but just a word of warning that it doesn't work for everyone.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Beautyaddict77
Bucingham, UK
 
Please wait while more information about Beautyaddict77 is loaded.
Additional information about Beautyaddict77 could not be loaded.
Update
Posted 28 February 2012
This product has RUINED my hair! It is so dry and brittle and has started breaking off. SO glad that i didn't use it on the whole of my hair! DO NOT BUY!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible smell and stained my washbasin.

Posted07 February 2012
Customer Avatar
Turquoisenancy
from London, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Used this in November, 2011 and STILL my hair smells of old man socks. I wash my hair every other day and nothing covers up the stink.
I did it over the basin in my bathroom and it stained it with dark grey spots..!
Would not recommend to anyone to try as still had to use my straighteners.
Advantages: none
Disadvantages: smell, stained basin
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good....day 1

Posted08 February 2012
Customer Avatar
DJ02mel
from Birmingham
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I only used this product last night and yes the smell is very strong at the time however because my results are so good I am happy to try and disguise this by lots of perfume etc! It was no more fiddly than applying colour to hair and I followed the instructions with no problems at all. I blow dried my hair last night and didn't need to straighten this morning. It's not poker straight but just looks less frizzy and definitely more groomed/sleek. I am being cautious about how long the effect will last and will use an intensive conditioner from now on when washing as I am reading that some people are experiencing extensive damage as a result of using. So fingers crossed even if it lasts a couple of weeks it is worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT

Posted14 February 2012
Customer Avatar
jessicaroo
from Cambridge UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this product has absolutely ruined my hair, do not use this product, hair absolutely smells terrible 1 month on after about 10 hair cuts i now have a bob and the condition of my hair is terrible do not use!
IT IS TERRIBLE, as a girl please do not use, my hair is terrible i had such long hair before with a slight wave it is now ruined smells and i have hair below my jawline, terrible product does not do what it says and should not be sold
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle product

Posted21 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah866
from Cheshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have got very curly hair and have been having the straightening system at my salon for years. Recently I developed a vertigo problem which means I struggle to sit with my head back in the sink. Saw this product and consulted my stylist, she advised me to try it but follow the instructions to the letter. I did just that and I am amazed with the results. Soft, straight and silky hair.
Highly recommended, I will definitely purchase again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>