Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Professional Haircare or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

Charles Worthington Straight & Smooth hair straightening kit is an easy, safe and effective at home straightening treatment, with results that last up to 40 days.
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
20
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
25
49 out of 84(58%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Review 1 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not totally without straighteners

Posted26 September 2011
Customer Avatar
suzanne36
from Sleaford
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I found this product difficult to apply - I have long hair, and the smell was not pleasent. However, once I had completed the process I was quite happy with the results. I have wavy hair and usually use straightening irons on a fairly low setting, and although I did not use them immediately after I had used the product, I have on all washes since. I would recommend the product to someone with wavier hair as I think the effect would be more dramatic, but I will be sticking to my straighteners for now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much hassle

Posted26 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Joely
from Yorkshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
This was a pain to apply. It took a while to do on my own and was a bit difficult as I have quite long hair. I have wavy hair and it did help a little but I'll still be using my straighteners.
It's ok if you have lots of free time and patience but it's not for me.
Agree with everyone else on the smell issue... isn't too nice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not very useful

Posted29 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicvic
from North West
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
Having naturally wavy hair which is prone to "fluffiness" when exposed to any heated appliance, I was eager to try this product. We all know that too much heat makes your hair brittle, and so I thought a few weeks without straighteners would really be of benefit to my hair.
Sadly, this product didn't come close to the upto 40 day claim. Within 3 washes I was having to use straighteners again, just as much as before. And in the couple of days immediately after the treatment, my hair was straight and smooth, but it smelled like dog biscuits, which is a distinct drawback!
I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend as I felt the positives of it were far outweighed by the negatives. The product is well packaged and easy to use, but I personally don't think it's worth the time and effort.
Advantages: easy to use, made my hair very smooth
Disadvantages: distinctive smell, didn't last long
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok product, results didn't last long,

Posted06 October 2011
Customer Avatar
dollyupretty
from east sussex
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
smoothed my hair and made it less frizzy ,but still had to straighten it. result was similar to when you have your hair conditioned at the salon.
smooth and lovely then it returns to normal.
product smells abit too.
i would of liked this product to produce longer lasting results but great packaging, abit over priced , i think £10 would of been better than the rrp of £19.99 . i think it's a product that will work with only certain true hair types, although i think it's great that it can be used on coloured hair because i honestly don't know many girls who haven't put some sort of dye on their hair at any time. i'd use this product when your going out or something ,for example doing your nails, fake tan and add some smoothness to your hair too
Advantages: you can use it on dyed hair, works for smoothing, special occasion
Disadvantages: smells, doesnt' last long
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally..............!

Posted09 October 2011
Customer Avatar
CamsMom09
from West midlands
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
So i've just got back from my hols and my darling fiance forgot to pick up the bag my hair dryer and straightners where in. The onlu reason I didnt make him come straight back home was that i'd used this before I went so luckily my hair was pretty much straight when it dried, no it wasnt perfect but it was good enough!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work!

Posted02 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Beebeeebay
from Sheffield
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I recieved this product free, thankfully, as it is a complete waste of time and money. I guess it might work if your hair is almost straight anyway, but my hair is curly (not afro, just curly), and it did absolutley nothing. In fact, the only thing it achieved is to strip some of the colour from my hair, despite me using the 'coloured hair' product.
The plus sides are the product looks nice and isn't that nasty to use, and you get an aftercare conditioner, but none of that really matters when it costs £20 and just plain doesn't work. My sister has also tried it, and her hair is naturally quite straight, but all it did for her was make her fringe go horribly flat and set in a bad style.
Boo to charles worthington for giving false hope to us frizzy haired girls!
Advantages: aftercare conditioner
Disadvantages: expensive, doesn't work, strips colour from hair
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

Posted09 November 2011
Customer Avatar
slimtobe
from Glasgow, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
This is great product. My Hair is very thick and goes curly very easily which I hate. My hair feels silky soft and very smooth. My hair is short and due to surgical complications find it hard to dry my hair so it has been cut shorter and shorter, hoping if this continues the way it started will be able to grow my hair again.
Advantages: feels so health and soft.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more straightners!

Posted10 November 2011
Customer Avatar
JayT70
from Brighton
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Brilliant product - leaves my hair feeling really smooth too - recommend this - yes, yes, yes!
Advantages: no more straightners
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says!!

Posted11 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Haynic
from Birmingham
Gender:Female
I applied this product a few days ago it does exactly what it says it has smoothed and straightened my hair. I usually have quite frizzy slightly curly hair I did not think this product would do anything but it has smoothed the hair shaft and made my hair alot straighter. Well worth investing in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not that great

Posted20 November 2011
Customer Avatar
K81986
from East Anglia, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I brought this product, having seen it advertised on t.v,having read the product information and having read reviews about it...with a real hope that I would end up with smooth, straight hair, which would en-able me to pack away the straighteners for a while.
However..this is not what I personally ended up with. This product didn't meet my expectations at all. I have quite un-ruly, wavy and frizzy hair, and apart from making my hair sit ever so slightly flatter to my head...this product done nothing what so ever, apart from slightly strip the colour out of my hair and completely dry my ends, and my hair was in good condition before using this product.
All in all...for me, this product did not deliver...I'd have been better off too keep using my straighteners...and I won't be recommending this to anyone.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product works well if you have a decent hair brush

Posted21 November 2011
Customer Avatar
bunnybear1975
from Kent
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Overall very pleased. It took 1 1/2 hours in total. 45 mins to use the products and another 45 minutes to blow dry and straighten. The first time I used this product, I had a rather rubbish plastic brush to blow dry my hair with after and the results were OK. I then bought a decent brush, a wooden natural bristle hair brush by Babyliss which is available at Boots, and I was amazed by the results the next time I washed my hair. I didn't have to use straighteners as my hair was straight enough. Only downfall I feel is the price. There are other chemically based hair products which cost a third of this one so I do feel it is overpriced. Also, you can only use this product every 12 weeks but the effects will wear off sooner than this so you can't have dead straight hair all the time which is a bit frustrating that you have to wait.
Advantages: it works!, mess-free, not too smelly
Disadvantages: the price., use again only after 12 weeks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WARNING HAIR DESTRUCTION

Posted31 January 2012
Customer Avatar
lucy021
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product has completely burnt and destroyed my hair. It has made it dry, frizzy, brittle and when wet is like chewing gum. If I try to comb my hair it just breaks off and I cannot get rid of the strong smell of the product. I have long hair but I will need to have it cut off. It has also lifted my colour about 2 shades lighter. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT
Advantages: none
Disadvantages: loss of hair quality
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible smell and stained my washbasin.

Posted07 February 2012
Customer Avatar
Turquoisenancy
from London, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Used this in November, 2011 and STILL my hair smells of old man socks. I wash my hair every other day and nothing covers up the stink.
I did it over the basin in my bathroom and it stained it with dark grey spots..!
Would not recommend to anyone to try as still had to use my straighteners.
Advantages: none
Disadvantages: smell, stained basin
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible! Does what it says on the box

Posted17 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Busyfemale
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
I blow dry my hair always to straighten but never get the "finished" look. Used the product this morning and am more than happy with the result. Only disadvantage ? My teenage daughter has taken it to use on her frizzy hair!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't do much

Posted17 September 2011
Customer Avatar
mei696
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I have straight hair anyway, so this doesn't really do much for me. except it calms the frizzy bits that i have in my hair. But no doesn't really do much. I would think it be good for people who does have frizzy hair, so give it a go girls :) u may like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Helped with frizz

Posted25 September 2011
Customer Avatar
RJ777
from Cardiff UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I have naturally wavy hair which is prone to frizz. After using the treatment my hair is much less frizzy, it is also less wavy now but isn't dead straight, meaning I still have to straighten it.
The application itself is quite fiddly and it smells awful which stuck about for about 3 washes. I'd use it again if I was going on holiday where I wouldn't want to spend ages doing my hair but I wouldn't use it on a regular basis.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Friss Away!

Posted15 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Catherine1992
from Surrey
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
This kit is simple and easy to use and leaves hair much less frizzier and easier to manage! The con I would say is that it only lasts 6 weeks and can be quite expensive if you carry on using it!
Advantages: easy to use, calms frizz
Disadvantages: quite expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

so far - not so good :(

Posted20 September 2011
Customer Avatar
k4tied
from edinburgh
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
where do I start :(
I have wavy, slightly *fizzy* (as my son calls it) long, coloured hair, I usually where it straight using ghds, my hair care time is usually 10-15mins if that.
so I tried this out and well the process is tiresome and hard work.
Comb in the step 1.... well trying to comb in anything is difficult with out dollops of product splatting on the floor, but trying to keep your hair straight and tangle free and not let the product touch your scalp all at the same time is near impossible!
Rinse stage clearly states keep the gloves on! - now to me if its not suppose to touch your scalp and your suppose to keep your gloves on, getting in the shower naked to wash your hair and having the product run down you isn't the best idea! so, its a head over the bath job.... but how do you keep your hair tangle free when its upside down and being scrubbed clean??
the next 15mins is spent untangling my hair with out causing bald spots :(
conditioner easy-peesie. no problems there.
Now once that's done you have to blow dry your hair with a downward motion, and then straighten to seal!
after all this my hair looked no different to when I do it myself normally and all after 2hours hard work :/
Leave down for 48 hours fine!
On washing my hair for the first time after this, that would be the real test. Well quite frankly it failed! Miserably! my hair is no different to before using the product!
The only difference is... and this is a BIG difference, for the last 72hours my head has smelt like a permy hairdressers! the product stinks to the high heavens very similar to perm, and the extra conditioner it gives you for upkeep stinks just as bad! no fresh hints of coconut, lavender or honey just horrid chemical permy smell :(
As you can probably tell I'm really not impressed with it at all, a lot of faffing about trying to do it all right to end up no better off, well actually worse :(
Advantages: you get a free comb :/, the gloves are funky black ones :/
Disadvantages: smell!!, lots of detangling, takes a long time, doesnt work :(
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing results!

Posted06 October 2011
Customer Avatar
JeanHW
from Shrewsbury, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
I have naturally 'kinked' hair and cowlicks as opposed to waves or curls.
I found this product so easy to apply, it took me no longer than half an hour and it left my hair feeling really soft straight away. My hair was so much more easy to manage in the morning- I barely used straighteners for the first few weeks- it saved so much time!
It's now, after 40 days, as my hair is going back to it's natural kinks that I'm really appreciating how much of a difference this product made!
Yes it smells when you're applying it but the results are well worth it.
Definitely recommend!
Advantages: really does last 40 days!, smoother hair, much less time styling in the morning, no damage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

More managable

Posted01 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Rochester, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I used this 3 weeks ago and I like it even though my hair isn't exactly straight. After using the product my hair was shiny and super straight and lasted that way for just under a week, my hair is wavy, very long and quite frizzy and it tamed my hair brilliantly. I've only had to straighten my fringe 4 or 5 times rather than everyday which is brilliant for me.
I use semi permanent colour on my hair (very dark brown/ black) and it left that alone (I was worried it was going to go some crazy colour). I did re-dye my hair 2 weeks after and I had no problems whatsoever. The first few washes after using the product my hair did smell a bit funky as if it had had a very intensive chemical treatment but it was easy to cover up and no one else noticed it.
Although my hair hasn't remained completely straight for all the time, it's a lot more manageable and easier to blow dry straight and quicker to straighten it poker straight, also I've had no fluffy or frizzy bits.
I think its a good product if you want to make your hair a little more manageable for a while- for example I barely straighten my fringe now so for me that's a god send, it's great value for money- much cheaper than permanent straightening or brazillian blowdrys but I'm not sure I would use it all the time but I would use it to help make my hair very straight for an occasion or if my hair started to go crazy and frizzy.
Advantages: more managable hair, leaves colour alone
Disadvantages: smell
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>