Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Professional Haircare or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

Charles Worthington Straight & Smooth hair straightening kit is an easy, safe and effective at home straightening treatment, with results that last up to 40 days.
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
20
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
25
49 out of 84(58%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Review 1 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible! Does what it says on the box

Posted17 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Busyfemale
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
I blow dry my hair always to straighten but never get the "finished" look. Used the product this morning and am more than happy with the result. Only disadvantage ? My teenage daughter has taken it to use on her frizzy hair!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't do much

Posted17 September 2011
Customer Avatar
mei696
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I have straight hair anyway, so this doesn't really do much for me. except it calms the frizzy bits that i have in my hair. But no doesn't really do much. I would think it be good for people who does have frizzy hair, so give it a go girls :) u may like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

GOOD PRODUCT, GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY

Posted20 September 2011
Customer Avatar
mummy2caitlinandleah
from Derbyshire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
My hair is fairly straight anyway so there wasnt going to be any dramatic change when i used this product.
It did however ease the slight frizz my hair gets when blown dry and did give it a nice glossy feel and shine.
I do think if your hair was curly it would make a large difference.
Easy to use, however was quite time consuming,
Advantages: glossy shine, easy to use
Disadvantages: time consuming
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much hassle

Posted26 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Joely
from Yorkshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
This was a pain to apply. It took a while to do on my own and was a bit difficult as I have quite long hair. I have wavy hair and it did help a little but I'll still be using my straighteners.
It's ok if you have lots of free time and patience but it's not for me.
Agree with everyone else on the smell issue... isn't too nice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Used properly = Great results!!!

Posted17 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Terri13
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Tried this last week for first time - really pleased with results xxx I have shoulder length coloured wavy/curly hair and even with GHDs it takes forever to get it straight. Years ago I had a perm, hated it, and hairdresser advised me to buy a home perm, keep combing it while perm solution on with fine toothed comb> Worked brilliantly and I presume this is the basis of this kit (albeit updated and kinder to hair!!!). Lots of other reviewers who complain about the smell are obviously too young to remember home perms, as this is what it smells of - not great, but not as bad as others make out. The trick is to CONTINUALLY comb gently through hair ALL the time product is on (both initial solution and neutralizer) think this is where some people have gone wrong and not achieved the result they wanted, COMB, COMB, COMB and you WILL have straight hair in fabulous condition (make sure you continue to use aftercare conditioner provided)
Advantages: great results great condition
Disadvantages: none!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
25of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good results, simple to use

Posted06 November 2011
Customer Avatar
trudy30
from manchester
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
have been chemically straightening my hair for over 10yrs, including brazilian blowdry. Have just used the this product and have to say was by far the easiest and quickest to do myself.
I applied it using a tint brush and bowl and by sectioning my hair, to ensure even coverage, the smell was bareable, made sure i had a window open.
i can only think that people who have had bad results have either left the product on too long or had poor condition hair to start with. My hair is heavily coloured a dark red and very naturally curly, have been left with amazingly shiny hair and silky smooth and straight ;-))
Advantages: silky straight hair, simple to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
12of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more straightners!

Posted10 November 2011
Customer Avatar
JayT70
from Brighton
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Brilliant product - leaves my hair feeling really smooth too - recommend this - yes, yes, yes!
Advantages: no more straightners
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

scam!

Posted31 October 2011
Customer Avatar
angel1821
Well here I am procedure completed. Im sorry to have to say this tho – dont waste your money folks – its a scam! It does no different than any normal wash & condition & then straightening tongs can do! My hair is still quite frizzy & I followed the instructions to the letter!
Im very disappointed!
I also have to tell you, Ive relaxed my hair before using another product Boots sell : “dark & lovely” hair straightener kit AND that stuff is only about £4 ! It also works!
BTW I only have what Id call wavy hair not tight curls & its not afro. Im caucasian with dark wavy hair just below my shoulders. Unfortunately if I let it dry naturally without tongs I get the “Brian May ” look! Thats why I was hoping this product would tame it but certainly not in my case. good luck if it works for you but Id just go for the other stuff!
Disadvantages: simply doesnt work!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
24of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lots of my hair came out!!!

Posted03 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Selina7
I bought this product 2 days ago I regret it ever since. When I applied the product it splattered everywhere it also took a long time . The amount of hair came out was unbelievable all my end had split ends :( so now I'll have to get haircut! Only positive is it has tamed my hair a bit.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible!!!!!!!!

Posted06 November 2011
Customer Avatar
RachelP111
This product is awful. Do not use it. I have regretted putting it in my hair ever since I did it. It is now impossible to blow dry, as it becomes slimy and sticky when wet. My hair is now straw like and frizzy and breaks off when combed. You will definatly regret using this product!!!
Disadvantages: ruins hair, hair becomes unmanigable, hair breaks and goes like straw
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product!

Posted07 November 2011
Customer Avatar
AnnaC1010
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
This product has made a big difference. I have naturally very curly hair and I use straighteners every day after blow drying my hair. It normally gets really frizzy in humidity. I bought this product after seeing the advert on TV and I am so glad I gave it a try! I don't need to use straighteners anymore. I can even blow dry my hair without using a brush and it stays straight. Plus, the frizz has gone! I can't believe how good the results are! I have applied the treatment 2 weeks ago and my hair is still the same. It does what it says on the box. My hair feels smoother, the frizz has gone and it's really straight! I will definitely use it again.
Disadvantages: the smell is quite strong
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My hair is straight...and smooth!

Posted10 November 2011
Customer Avatar
pinkpanter22
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
I have dark coloured hair which is naturally very curly and frizzy. I used this product and I am so impressed with the results. My hair is a lot straighter and it feels really smooth. Also, I noticed that it's less frizzy when I blow dry it. I would definitely recommend it.
Advantages: straight hair less frizz
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product works well if you have a decent hair brush

Posted21 November 2011
Customer Avatar
bunnybear1975
from Kent
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Overall very pleased. It took 1 1/2 hours in total. 45 mins to use the products and another 45 minutes to blow dry and straighten. The first time I used this product, I had a rather rubbish plastic brush to blow dry my hair with after and the results were OK. I then bought a decent brush, a wooden natural bristle hair brush by Babyliss which is available at Boots, and I was amazed by the results the next time I washed my hair. I didn't have to use straighteners as my hair was straight enough. Only downfall I feel is the price. There are other chemically based hair products which cost a third of this one so I do feel it is overpriced. Also, you can only use this product every 12 weeks but the effects will wear off sooner than this so you can't have dead straight hair all the time which is a bit frustrating that you have to wait.
Advantages: it works!, mess-free, not too smelly
Disadvantages: the price., use again only after 12 weeks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's OK...

Posted27 November 2011
Customer Avatar
coolcookie99
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I recently purchased this product for the second time, as I applied it incorrectly the first time (my hairdresser applied it for me this time). To be honest, this product is average. It also depends on your hair situation. My friend also tried it, and she has very curly hair that is hard to tame with straighteners - and it didn't work very well at all! Her hair was straight up until the first hair wash after applying the product, and then after that her hair began to get more and more curly; back to square one. However, my hair is just big and wavy and it worked a treat, especially as my hairdresser applied it for me! My straighteners were in a drawer for around 30 days, so not the full time it says, but I was satisfied.
A point I will have to mention - the smell! It's very strong, and not very appealing at all! I had to open all the windows to try to get rid of the awful smell! The smell did go away after a while, which is good!
Overall, I would recommend this product to people with wavy/big hair, but I must stress that you must be sure that you want to purchase this product - good results are not guaranteed!
Advantages: lasted for a reasonable time, didn't damage my hair too much, it actually worked for me!
Disadvantages: the smell is awful!, good results aren't guaranteed, it's quite hard to apply!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I won't ever be without it now

Posted30 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Thehairycat
from Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been nothing short of miraculous for my hair type. I have wavy hair & absolutely masses of it, however, the hairs themselves are very fine (no weight to them whatsoever) so as you can imagine, my hair's pretty wild. This stuff has completely tamed it. For the 1st time ever my hair has some weight to it & I can straighten my hair from dry where as before it was "wet to straights", nothing else would work. It also stays straight where as before the slightest hint of moisture or static & the top layer would start looking unruly. It hasn't removed my need for straighteners but I've also found that if I leave my hair to dry naturally without using any products it goes into lovely waves rather than a wild frizz fest so that's a double bonus for me. My hair now looks 100% better whether left to it's own devices or styled.
It's been 4 weeks now & my hair is still the same as the day I applied it. So chuffed, I will always use this on my hair from now on.
NOTE: Always do a strand test! I had a little breakage on a sun-bleached streak in my hair so could well expect anyone with lightened hair might have problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charles Worthington Salon at home straightening kit.

Posted08 December 2011
Customer Avatar
Pinkki
from Cornwall
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had very curly hair, but over the years because of using irons it is not so curly.
I bought this kit with doubt, using my points.
It is excellent, the quality is high, the value is great,application is good and works fast and the appearance is fantastic. Just the look I get when I do my hair in the mornings,but now I can leave my hair a few days. This is going to be good for me as using irons every day is not good, so that will be good for my hair in the long run.
I used to wake up and have to re-do the under sections from where I had lay at night and do the fringe also if it got wet out well that was a re-do.
Today I went out in the drizzle. A test if you like, it got damp never went curly and i brushed it and it dried straight in the car on the way home.
I can now wash my hair walk round the house and leave it dry on it's own (good for me) and just run the straighteners over the top.
I am glad I did this now, as I am going to have nice hair at Christmas this year.
I used the one for coloured hair, which you have to wait 2 weeks before using after having your colour......... So come on girls get it done for the festive season.
One downside is the smell, this is not good but planning is good also. When you put this on your hair you have to blow dry your style after, then use your irons. You then can not wash it for 2 days.
The first day was a bit bad but it went and now that it has been washed it has gone.
I was told also use a cheap shampoo before use, to strip your hair of any build up of products.
I never had any so used washing up liquid, that was my choice and I am 10/10 happy happy.
Advantages: can leave my hair longer between washing and using
Disadvantages: wish i used it before
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic product

Posted08 January 2012
Customer Avatar
lisabea72
from Plymouth
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have very thick, frizzy hair which can be straightened with blow drying and straighteners but won't stay that way in damp or humid weather. I also, always had to blow dry straight away or it dried in a weird curly frizzy way, no beautiful beach babe look for me! I used this product (the coloured hair version) for the first time 11 weeks ago and it has transformed the way I have to deal with my hair. I've actually been able to just let my hair dry naturally, if I want it sleek I still straighten but this lasts until I next wash it 4-5 days later. I've just come back from 2 weeks in Florida and even with humidity there it was fine. Yes it stinks, but after a couple of washes it is fine. My hairdresser was extremely impressed, she could feel a huge difference. Fantastic product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow

Posted14 December 2011
Customer Avatar
zebadeecat
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have thick frizzy wavy long hair...very difficult to tame. Used this product..beware it smells awful,easy to apply just follow instructions. could not believe the results, my hair is much straighter and less frizzy. OK not poker straight, but the difference is amazing! even my hairdresser was impressed! its now 3 weeks on and still looking good. Would definately recomend it, and will be using it again when 12 weeks is up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Aweful Product.

Posted24 December 2011
Customer Avatar
princessfizzy
from London UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was very excited to get this as I thought I'd be able to do away with the daily grid of straightening my hair.
After following the instructions to the letter my hair was noticably straighter but had completly dried out, it was flat, lifeless and some of the colour had been stripped out. Two emergency trips to my hairdresser later, my hair is finally healthy again. My hairdresser believes this product is too strong and can damage your hair. I would not recommend using this.
Disadvantages: damages your hair, leaves hair flat, drys hair out, strips colour
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WARNING HAIR DESTRUCTION

Posted31 January 2012
Customer Avatar
lucy021
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product has completely burnt and destroyed my hair. It has made it dry, frizzy, brittle and when wet is like chewing gum. If I try to comb my hair it just breaks off and I cannot get rid of the strong smell of the product. I have long hair but I will need to have it cut off. It has also lifted my colour about 2 shades lighter. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT
Advantages: none
Disadvantages: loss of hair quality
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>