Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Professional Haircare or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

Charles-Worthington Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair

Charles Worthington Straight & Smooth hair straightening kit is an easy, safe and effective at home straightening treatment, with results that last up to 40 days.
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
20
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
25
49 out of 84(58%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Review 1 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Results not worth the messing

Posted03 October 2011
Customer Avatar
MandaW
from Lancashire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
I used this 3 weeks ago and already my hair is back to normal. I have very frizzy hair with a bit of a natural wave. The frizzyness disappeared for about the first 2 weeks and I was able to dry my hair straight which I can't usually do. However, 3 weeks later and its back to "normal" - frizzy and wavy. It didn't affect the colour on my hair, and my hair was soft, silky and smooth after using it.
Overall, I don't think the product is worth all the time and messing around to use full time but would probably use it again if I was going on holiday.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally..............!

Posted09 October 2011
Customer Avatar
CamsMom09
from West midlands
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
So i've just got back from my hols and my darling fiance forgot to pick up the bag my hair dryer and straightners where in. The onlu reason I didnt make him come straight back home was that i'd used this before I went so luckily my hair was pretty much straight when it dried, no it wasnt perfect but it was good enough!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much hassle

Posted26 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Joely
from Yorkshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
This was a pain to apply. It took a while to do on my own and was a bit difficult as I have quite long hair. I have wavy hair and it did help a little but I'll still be using my straighteners.
It's ok if you have lots of free time and patience but it's not for me.
Agree with everyone else on the smell issue... isn't too nice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not very useful

Posted29 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicvic
from North West
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
Having naturally wavy hair which is prone to "fluffiness" when exposed to any heated appliance, I was eager to try this product. We all know that too much heat makes your hair brittle, and so I thought a few weeks without straighteners would really be of benefit to my hair.
Sadly, this product didn't come close to the upto 40 day claim. Within 3 washes I was having to use straighteners again, just as much as before. And in the couple of days immediately after the treatment, my hair was straight and smooth, but it smelled like dog biscuits, which is a distinct drawback!
I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend as I felt the positives of it were far outweighed by the negatives. The product is well packaged and easy to use, but I personally don't think it's worth the time and effort.
Advantages: easy to use, made my hair very smooth
Disadvantages: distinctive smell, didn't last long
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing results!

Posted06 October 2011
Customer Avatar
JeanHW
from Shrewsbury, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
I have naturally 'kinked' hair and cowlicks as opposed to waves or curls.
I found this product so easy to apply, it took me no longer than half an hour and it left my hair feeling really soft straight away. My hair was so much more easy to manage in the morning- I barely used straighteners for the first few weeks- it saved so much time!
It's now, after 40 days, as my hair is going back to it's natural kinks that I'm really appreciating how much of a difference this product made!
Yes it smells when you're applying it but the results are well worth it.
Definitely recommend!
Advantages: really does last 40 days!, smoother hair, much less time styling in the morning, no damage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok product, results didn't last long,

Posted06 October 2011
Customer Avatar
dollyupretty
from east sussex
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
smoothed my hair and made it less frizzy ,but still had to straighten it. result was similar to when you have your hair conditioned at the salon.
smooth and lovely then it returns to normal.
product smells abit too.
i would of liked this product to produce longer lasting results but great packaging, abit over priced , i think £10 would of been better than the rrp of £19.99 . i think it's a product that will work with only certain true hair types, although i think it's great that it can be used on coloured hair because i honestly don't know many girls who haven't put some sort of dye on their hair at any time. i'd use this product when your going out or something ,for example doing your nails, fake tan and add some smoothness to your hair too
Advantages: you can use it on dyed hair, works for smoothing, special occasion
Disadvantages: smells, doesnt' last long
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for my frizzy hair.

Posted29 October 2011
Customer Avatar
mumjoto3
from Weston-super-Mare
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Was very wary of this to start with because my hair is very resistant to any type of hair products but I need not to have worried....it worked! Went to bed with straight hair and woke up the next morning with straight hair and didn't even need to use straighteners before going out.
Took alot longer to apply than anticipated and wouldn't like to attempt without help from someone to apply. Yes, the smell is quite strong but not too off putting and the after smell on finished hair reminds me of the smell of fake tan. Liked the offer price (£13.33) but would still pay the full £19.99. Overall a great product for my very frizzy hair.
Advantages: how well it worked.
Disadvantages: took a while to apply., need help applying.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says on the packet

Posted10 November 2011
Customer Avatar
DeeDee8
from Nottingham
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Straight and Smooth was amazing - lovely straight hair and smooth hair. I certainly would recommend this product.
Val
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good easy to use and does the job

Posted10 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from london
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Although a bit smelly this actually worked and lasted. i woud definitely use this product again. Much better than a lot of other similar products on the market.
Advantages: easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not use this product my hair is ruined!!!

Posted30 October 2011
Customer Avatar
haberlid
from Upminster, Essex
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
I just used this today and I haven't stopped crying, I have shoulder lenghth hair, which has a semi-perm colour, over 9 weeks ago now, I saw this in Boots and thought I would give it a go! What a mistake, as soon as I put product on my hair, the smell was so disgusting, made me heave, I followed instructions and before my eyes, my hair started to frizz and as I brushed it with comb started to break off, in some places as much as 3 inches, I was really panicking, carried on with instructions, when I rinsed out the product and when to blow dry it, clums of hair came off in brush, my hair is a mess, all frizzed up and dried, gone a terrible funny colour and stinks, I am devastated, its totally ruined my hair, so scared to wash it, in case more hair breaks off! Do not use this!!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible!!!!!!!!

Posted06 November 2011
Customer Avatar
RachelP111
This product is awful. Do not use it. I have regretted putting it in my hair ever since I did it. It is now impossible to blow dry, as it becomes slimy and sticky when wet. My hair is now straw like and frizzy and breaks off when combed. You will definatly regret using this product!!!
Disadvantages: ruins hair, hair becomes unmanigable, hair breaks and goes like straw
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

RUINED MY HAIR!!

Posted14 November 2011
Customer Avatar
hollydoll2009
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Dreadful, used this two weeks ago, I am walking around looking like a cavewoman, it has ruined my hair, my hair is like straw, broken off in many places turned a dreadful colour and still had this terrible smell, cost me a fortune in conditioning treatments.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing results for very little money!

Posted29 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Thirsty
from Brighton
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Once per week
I normally have a Keratin treatment at the hairdressers. This has a near enough result. I was amazed and would recommened this to anyone that wants lasting smooth straight hair.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than salon treatment!

Posted15 November 2011
Customer Avatar
pope27
from Harlow
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
This product is fantastic, ive just washed my hair for the first time since using it and i have frizz free hair. Normally when i let my hair air-dry i look like i've had an electric shock, but now i have smooth shiny hair. Its not completely straight but slightly wavey. I had a Keratin Blowdry in a salon and it didnt work on my hair, it was made absolutely no difference, apart from making my purse alot lighter!! Other people have said the smell is awful but i didnt think it was that bad, it not nice but its bearable. Would definately recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just Excellent

Posted16 November 2011
Customer Avatar
7nik5
from southampton
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Having bought the product then reading the reviews,can say was a bit dubious about using it,but then on reading the instructions about the condition of hair,length of time on the hair, the smell etc thought just go for it,
my mate put it on for me as she's a hairdresser,as needed it cut too,2 birds one stone!!!
the smell wasn't as bad as thought and have had many dyes on my hair that have smelt worse,having now washed my hair for the first time after putting it on can safely say it's worked and i will be using it again,my hair is normally looking like a shaggy perm after washing and leaving it is now sleek and straight with out even using irons on it,so impressed i even wrote on the Charles Worthington website, will be dying my hair next week as thats the aloted time scale,and will be using this product again when needed
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIFIED

Posted10 January 2012
Customer Avatar
samnathan
from Kent
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this item in October, using the product on the 26/10/11. After doing the appropriate tests required (48 hour patch testing of all of the products contained), I was highly saticfied with the results, bragging about how amazing my hair looked and felt. It remained like this until even now but I have encountered a problem that had come with no warning in their leflets.
For a party on the 27.11.11, I decided to curl my hair with curling irons, I had hair extensions in at this time for a little help. My hair began to give off an awful smell of what smelt like singe. After checking my hair thoroughly, there was no visable damage and the smell didn't come from my hair extensions which had also been curled. After washing my hair the next day, the smell was awful still, even stronger than before. I used a Charles Worthington intense conditioner and this had no effect on the smell. I have been to see serveral hair dressers in the mean time and all have said to use mint hair treatments but this is becoming expensive for something I was not warned of and the smell is still remaining.
Although the product done as it said on the tin and I was amazed with the results, I am left with horrid smelling hair constantly and this has damaged my confidence to use the product as well as showing my hair off.
I have now, today, also had to have my hair cut to try and neaten up the fact that my hair is now starting to break dramatically. The smell i had experienced was not continued from first use, the first use smell only lasted for around 4 washes or so. I do agree, DO NOT BUY! I am shocked to read all of the below and wish i read all of this before using the product.
Disadvantages: horried after effects
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Changed my life

Posted15 January 2012
Customer Avatar
miasampietro
from Lewes
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product changed my life! I have curly hair which I straighten all the time. Even when I straighten going out into damp weather conditions my hair would frizz. However, after using this product I was able to go out into the elements without worry. The sheen was incredible too and I was told so many times that I was never having a bad hair day! Thank you to the Charles Worthington team for bringing this product to the market, it has changed my life!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mixed race hair type

Posted17 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Njpettiford
from Nottinghamshire
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I am of dual heritage being half British white and black Caribbean.
My hair type is extremely curly, long, and dyed twice every two months.
When natural my hair appears to be just below the shoulder, due to extreme curls!
I am able to achieve completely straight hair by first blow drying and then using a straightener (Babyliss Pro elegance) which brings my hairs length to mid back, this however last for 5 days at the most before having to be washed again which brings my curls back.
After one use of this product my curls have become more relaxed lengthening my hairs appearance giving me a desired straighter appearance, I believe that if I am to use this product carefully and often my hair may remain straighter longer. After a couple of washes my hair has not returned back to being extremely curly but remains more relaxed. This product has also made straightening my hair quicker and easier.
Advantages: does what it says
Disadvantages: time consuming
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

so far - not so good :(

Posted20 September 2011
Customer Avatar
k4tied
from edinburgh
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
where do I start :(
I have wavy, slightly *fizzy* (as my son calls it) long, coloured hair, I usually where it straight using ghds, my hair care time is usually 10-15mins if that.
so I tried this out and well the process is tiresome and hard work.
Comb in the step 1.... well trying to comb in anything is difficult with out dollops of product splatting on the floor, but trying to keep your hair straight and tangle free and not let the product touch your scalp all at the same time is near impossible!
Rinse stage clearly states keep the gloves on! - now to me if its not suppose to touch your scalp and your suppose to keep your gloves on, getting in the shower naked to wash your hair and having the product run down you isn't the best idea! so, its a head over the bath job.... but how do you keep your hair tangle free when its upside down and being scrubbed clean??
the next 15mins is spent untangling my hair with out causing bald spots :(
conditioner easy-peesie. no problems there.
Now once that's done you have to blow dry your hair with a downward motion, and then straighten to seal!
after all this my hair looked no different to when I do it myself normally and all after 2hours hard work :/
Leave down for 48 hours fine!
On washing my hair for the first time after this, that would be the real test. Well quite frankly it failed! Miserably! my hair is no different to before using the product!
The only difference is... and this is a BIG difference, for the last 72hours my head has smelt like a permy hairdressers! the product stinks to the high heavens very similar to perm, and the extra conditioner it gives you for upkeep stinks just as bad! no fresh hints of coconut, lavender or honey just horrid chemical permy smell :(
As you can probably tell I'm really not impressed with it at all, a lot of faffing about trying to do it all right to end up no better off, well actually worse :(
Advantages: you get a free comb :/, the gloves are funky black ones :/
Disadvantages: smell!!, lots of detangling, takes a long time, doesnt work :(
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Charles Worthington Salon at Home Straight & Smooth Hair Straightening Kit for Coloured Hair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

false economy?

Posted27 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Crouchy86
from Corby
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
I have wavy hair (used to be curly as a kid then as it got thicker it became more straight, but still neither straight or curly!) so I'm always straightening it, I've seen the professional straighten in the salons and contemplated them, but decided against it. So a DIY one I could do at home I thought I'd give a try. Can't say I've been overly impressed. It did make it straighter, but not enough not to use straighteners (in my opionion) the process seemed a bit fiddly and the smell...well, you can't hide that from nobody!
I did make my hair straighter, but I'm not sure I'd use it regularly or rely on it. I'd use it if I was going away and didn't want to straighten every day.
Advantages: does make it straighter marginally, handy if going away
Disadvantages: the smell, bit tricky to follow to make sure done correctly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>