Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Maybelline Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner

Maybelline Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner

NOW GEL REINVENTS LINERINTENSE COLOR, 24-hour wear
Average Customer Rating:
4.515 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(136 Reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 136 reviews
5 stars
96
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
1
107 out of 119(90%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Review 1 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

needs improvement

Posted15 March 2013
Customer Avatar
beyourownhero
I would not recommend this eyeliner. It smudges and bleeds into my corners by the end of the day. It transfers down onto my lower lash line. And the application isn't always easy. I really regret buying it and will go back to my usual liquid liner.
Written by a customer while visiting maybelline.com
Review 2 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

smudges and dries out

Posted19 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Storm10
At first i enjoyed using this eyeliner because it was easy to use but I to also found that it smudge and caked in corner of eyes....also over time, it dries out which makes it difficult to apply! so overall not an happy camper with this product and would not recommended it to friends
Written by a customer while visiting maybelline.com
Review 3 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

Posted04 September 2013
Customer Avatar
EmeraldAsh
I have tried countless eyeliners and this product is by far the best this product goes on super easy , dosent smuge and stays in place all day long . I had to use my make up remover twice for it to completely come off . The colors are really pigmented as well and its really well priced a great value great for anyone who is new to eyeliner or expirenced
Written by a customer while visiting maybelline.com
Review 4 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff is amazing!!!! Highly recommend!

Posted24 February 2011
Customer Avatar
SRAlmeida93
from Worcester
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was running out of my ususal liquid eye liner and saw this on offer for £5.99 and thought I'd give it a go.
You only need a tiny little bit on the end of the brush and you can apply different thickness of liner depending on the angle of the brush. I only dipped it once and managed to do both eyes with precision and ease...and that was the first time of using it!
It also lasts for ages during the day.
I would reeeeeeally recommend this! Definatly buy it again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
23of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the greatest

Posted11 March 2011
Customer Avatar
peediethumper1991
from Peterborough, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When i saw this advertised, I thought fantastic couldn't wait to get my hands on some and boots had the £2 off offer I thought even better! I've been wearing it the past 3 days and have to say that I am really not impressed. I usually LOVE Maybelline's products but I don't with this one, don't get me wrong its very easy to put on (much easier than most other eyeliners) and the brush is excellent quality. What I found was after a few hours of wear it starts to smudge, all up my eye lid and it states that its 24 hour proof and smudge proof. I'm not happy atal. Maybe its me that's doing something wrong but I wont be repurching. Such a shame
Advantages: the brush is great quality, lovely packaging
Disadvantages: it smeers/smudges in only a few hours.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than CHANEL!

Posted21 March 2011
Customer Avatar
SCWhitehall
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive been using Chanel's automatic eyeliner pen for years - not only for the quality but because no other eye liner could rival its easy application. Since my most recent one ran out, i've been looking for a lower cost replacement and after trying about four or five other brands I came across this little pot of magic.
It is absolutely GENIUS - Gorgeously intense colour, and so easy to get a beautiful clean stroke across the lid of the eye. I wear my eye liner in thick lines, but you can so easily create that very french thin-line look. Minimal effort, fantastic quality.
It lasts all day, and even all night if you need it to. Will not budge even on my oily skin.
I recommend you give this a try with no reservations - i guarantee you that you will have found a new beauty fave.
Advantages: intense colour, amazingly easy application, cheap, long lasting
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must-have!

Posted12 March 2011
Customer Avatar
tandt
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would definitely recommend buying this eye-liner. It was a spontaneous purchase and I can't praise it enough. I like using eyeliners and this one is one of the best I have ever tried (and I have tried many premium ones). The brush is excellent whether you want to creat a thin or more dramatic line. It is very easy to apply and I love the result! Luxe quality at such an affordable price!
Advantages: excellent brush, long-lasting, versatile, easy to apply
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!

Posted27 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Alice1995
from Luton
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this product!!! I am 15 and lots of my friends wear liquid eyeliner to parties. I've tried them and failed miserable, getting it everywhere, and due to wearing contact lenses if any bleeds into my eye it has catastrophic consequences. I'm not usually a huge fan of this brand but all other gel eyeliners I've seen are either too expensive for a student budget or transparent. This however, is a dream to use. It's creamy texture makes it so easy to apply and the little brush is fab! It's not transparent and a little goes a long way. True, it isn't completely opaque, but this means you can build it (and it's easier to erase mistakes). The thing i've been impressed with the most is it's staying power. I was wearing this and didn't take it off before getting into the shower and washing my hair. Once out of the shower I look and it had not budged at all, or even faded! I am over the moon with this product and will hopefully be using it for ages (if they don't discontinue it)
Advantages: reasonable price, good quality, easy to apply, staying power
Disadvantages: sells out quickly
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE!!!

Posted20 April 2011
Customer Avatar
starrr1234
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love this product. This is the first gel liner I have bought and just think it is amazing. It has a really blackest of black colour which I was looking for. The first time I used it I made a complete mess cos I had never used gel before and thought the brush was tricky to use. I thought about buying an angled brush but then thought i would give it one more try and I had a perfect black smooth line the second time. Don't be disheartened if it doesn't go right the first time just keep practicing. Glad I didnt waste my money on another brush now. Can't fault it :)
Advantages: very black, easy to use, nice packaging
Disadvantages: may take a while to get used to for beginners, no cap for brush
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great for smoky eyes

Posted14 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Dinabrok
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After hearing rave reviews about gel eyeliner, and being 'alternative', I'm always on the lookout for the blackest of black and different ways to wear my eye make up.
The packaging of this gel is really stylish, although the brush has no replaceable cap (only a plastic tip-cover which you throw away).
I have had this product for 2 days now, and I have to say, the brush is really tricky to use. I have got through loads of cotton-buds tidying up the edges etc, so it's not something to buy for an immediate night out without lots of practice!
The formula itself seems to be a good balance between liquid eyeliner and kohl pencil. It doesn't have the shiny plastic look of liquid, yet isn't as 'flat' as pencil. I have also found that it can withstand going over with eyeshadow and a smudger brush fo a smoky/coloured effect, which looks amazing.
It can be used on the waterline (where you usually apply pencil) but be careful as the brush can iritate your eye, again, something hopefully practice will remedy).
Its staying power is good, not waterproof in my experience (although I do lather my face wash everywhere, it may stand showers or rain) but is better than the liquid/felt tip eyeliners I have used (including Maybelline) and doesn't 'break up' easily, nor does it seem to smudge or fade as easily as pencil.
It says it is non transferable, and I would partly agree. It stays put if you have something in your eye or an itch etc, but give a good rub and it will smudge/end up over our fingers, which is then difficult to get off! I have sensitive eyes and wear contact lenses and it is fine, or at least as much as any others that I have used.
Overall it seems a good product, with the application being the main downside at the moment, I am just hoping my technique improves so I get the full benefit.
Advantages: good balance between liquid and pencil, great at enhancing smoky eyes without looking fake
Disadvantages: brush tricky to use, not as 'non-transferable' as they say
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted26 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Let me start by saying ive got through my fair share of eye liners, both pencil and pen. This is by far the best ive every used. Most only last a few hours at most and either end up half way down my face or done a disappearing act.
The first time i used to i was sick. (nothing to do with the eyeliner!!). I put it on in the morning and the next morning after many hours spent sweating, throwing up and wiping my eyes, it was still there, only slightly smudged!
The next time i used it i was going out to a sweating club. Again, the next day, it was still all there!
The best part is it just wipes off with eye make up remover.
I think its the best make up product ive ever used!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted05 May 2011
Customer Avatar
Clomo
from Birmingham, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I normally use liquid eyeliner and have been meaning to try out gel eyeliner for a while now so thought I'd finally buy some..
I was a bit apprehensive about this product only because the brush on the box looks quite fat and was worried I wouldn't be able to get the same "winged" effect I could with my liquid liner..also the price was a bit much..
But all I can say is wow! The gel liner glides on really easily - it's the quickest I've ever done my makeup..a million times quicker than liquid liner.
The price does seem a bit much at first but I only needed the tiniest amount so I know this is going to last me ages. Well worth the money in my opinion!
Advantages: v. easy to apply, lasts ages
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

disappointed...

Posted26 May 2011
Customer Avatar
amie37
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yes the eyeliner is waterproof but it isn't smudge proof at all!! the brush makes it quite hard to apply the gel liner..might try an angled brush?
the black isn't as dark as i thought it would be, i would prefer it if it was a little bit darker! also it dries up quite quickly :/
i don't think i will buy this again!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING !!

Posted31 May 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessuk
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first review ever and I would have never thought I would take the time to actually write one, so here goes...
This eye liner is amazing !! The brush is excellent, the consistency of the gel is brilliant, glides on easily and I can't believe after all this time trying to find the perfect eye liner, I just did !! It dries out quickly, but not to quick, doesn't crack, lasts all day and it is very black..
My boyfriend is absolutely sick and tired of listening to me say how amazing this thing is every time I apply it..
I could not recommend it enough !
Please buy it, you will be amazed !
Also want to thank all you people that rate these beauty products and help me decide what to buy making my life easier and saving me money..Thank you so much !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent buy!

Posted26 May 2011
Customer Avatar
MynameisSarah
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not only is this product really well priced, it's got a wonderful brush included which applies the gel perfectly. I love the consistency and the colour of this eyeliner and it really stays all day. Trust me, I just cried my eyes out and the eyeliner has not budged an inch. So yes, a great buy.
Advantages: price, staying power
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

STOP WHAT YOU ARE DOING AND GO BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!

Posted02 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Rosina88
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can honestly say I have never loved an eyeliner product as much as this one! I never usually bother wearing liquid eyeliner as it just seems too much effort but this gel takes hardly any time at all. You only need the tiniest amount and it lasts all day.
Lastly, those who take a little bit more time and precision or those who are new to eyeling products, you should give this one a go! It stays creamy all throughout application and doesn't flake at all. What more could you ask for? :)
Advantages: same quality as much more expensive competitors :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow

Posted02 March 2011
Customer Avatar
mollie1970
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this gel eyeliner is fantastic. Will never be using a liquid eyeliner again. Great price as well
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!

Posted14 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Merseyside
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Omg ladies this eyeliner is absolutely fabulous!! I cannot recommend enough. I have tried many eyeliners over the years but this is by far the easiest to apply and even colour is great. Bought as impulse buy and am sooo glad I did. Absolute bargain and will be a regular in my make up bag.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted29 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I only bought this product a few days ago, and so far it has been amazing! It's affordable, it stays on all day, it's really easy to apply and it doesn't turn blue like liquid liners. Also I only have to use a small amount to line both eyes, so the small pot should last a while! The only thing I didn't like was the brush as it fell apart when i took the plastic cover off, but it didn't matter to me as I have a good eyeliner brush to use with it. I will definitely be buying this product again!
Advantages: long lasting
Disadvantages: brush
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
Maybelline The One-by-One Volum' Express mascara
4.4 out of 5(74)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

Posted05 March 2011
Customer Avatar
SamJane723
from London, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this eyeliner about a week ago, and it's the only one I've used since. It's perfect!
I usually use eyeliner pens, (which look like felt tip pens) as they're really quick and easy to use, and the gel liners I've used in the past seemed a little dry and not pigmented enough, but this one is so much better, it's so smooth and easy to work with and it's very pigmented, and it lasts all day. Also you only need to use the tiniest amount to get the perfect application, so it will last a long time, a lot longer than eyeliner pen, that's for sure.
I'd also like to mention the brush that comes with it; I usually don't use brushes/applicators that come with products, as I prefer to use my own brushes, but this brush is great, it really helps you get that perfect line.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>