Boots Ratings and Reviews
Gok
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Maybelline Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner

Maybelline Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner

NOW GEL REINVENTS LINERINTENSE COLOR, 24-hour wear
Average Customer Rating:
4.57 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(121 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 121 reviews
5 stars
89
4 stars
18
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
1
106 out of 116(91%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Review 1 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff is amazing!!!! Highly recommend!

Posted24 February 2011
Customer Avatar
SRAlmeida93
from Worcester
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was running out of my ususal liquid eye liner and saw this on offer for £5.99 and thought I'd give it a go.
You only need a tiny little bit on the end of the brush and you can apply different thickness of liner depending on the angle of the brush. I only dipped it once and managed to do both eyes with precision and ease...and that was the first time of using it!
It also lasts for ages during the day.
I would reeeeeeally recommend this! Definatly buy it again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

STOP WHAT YOU ARE DOING AND GO BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!

Posted02 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Rosina88
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can honestly say I have never loved an eyeliner product as much as this one! I never usually bother wearing liquid eyeliner as it just seems too much effort but this gel takes hardly any time at all. You only need the tiniest amount and it lasts all day.
Lastly, those who take a little bit more time and precision or those who are new to eyeling products, you should give this one a go! It stays creamy all throughout application and doesn't flake at all. What more could you ask for? :)
Advantages: same quality as much more expensive competitors :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow

Posted02 March 2011
Customer Avatar
mollie1970
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this gel eyeliner is fantastic. Will never be using a liquid eyeliner again. Great price as well
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

Posted05 March 2011
Customer Avatar
SamlovesRiver
from London, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this eyeliner about a week ago, and it's the only one I've used since. It's perfect!
I usually use eyeliner pens, (which look like felt tip pens) as they're really quick and easy to use, and the gel liners I've used in the past seemed a little dry and not pigmented enough, but this one is so much better, it's so smooth and easy to work with and it's very pigmented, and it lasts all day. Also you only need to use the tiniest amount to get the perfect application, so it will last a long time, a lot longer than eyeliner pen, that's for sure.
I'd also like to mention the brush that comes with it; I usually don't use brushes/applicators that come with products, as I prefer to use my own brushes, but this brush is great, it really helps you get that perfect line.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must-have!

Posted12 March 2011
Customer Avatar
tandt
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would definitely recommend buying this eye-liner. It was a spontaneous purchase and I can't praise it enough. I like using eyeliners and this one is one of the best I have ever tried (and I have tried many premium ones). The brush is excellent whether you want to creat a thin or more dramatic line. It is very easy to apply and I love the result! Luxe quality at such an affordable price!
Advantages: excellent brush, long-lasting, versatile, easy to apply
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!

Posted14 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Merseyside
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Omg ladies this eyeliner is absolutely fabulous!! I cannot recommend enough. I have tried many eyeliners over the years but this is by far the easiest to apply and even colour is great. Bought as impulse buy and am sooo glad I did. Absolute bargain and will be a regular in my make up bag.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Awful.

Posted20 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Kabukilogical
from Kent
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this upon hearing good things about it.
I wish I hadn't. I'm a big liquid liner fan, and after getting drawn in by the advertising, I decided to take the plunge. My first thought was that the packaging was very elegant. It comes in a frosted glass jar with a metal lid (the jar can be slightly deceiving, though I was aware of this before I purchased).
The texture is very pleasant and creamy, though once you apply it, this is a bad thing. Don't be fooled by the "non-transferable" babble - I applied it, waited for it to dry, and within half an hour it had transferred onto my upper eyelid. Hmmm. Attractive.
This product is also slightly transparent, and I found that I had to use quite alot to build up the colour - which, considering the tiny tiny pot and the actual price of the product... Nuh-uh. No, thank you. Its basically like liquidised pencil liner. In a pot. With a brush. And I loathe pencil liner.
Instant return.
Advantages: packaging is lovely
Disadvantages: smudgey, transfers to other parts of eyelid very quiclly, pricey, transparent
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!

Posted27 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Alice1995
from Luton
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this product!!! I am 15 and lots of my friends wear liquid eyeliner to parties. I've tried them and failed miserable, getting it everywhere, and due to wearing contact lenses if any bleeds into my eye it has catastrophic consequences. I'm not usually a huge fan of this brand but all other gel eyeliners I've seen are either too expensive for a student budget or transparent. This however, is a dream to use. It's creamy texture makes it so easy to apply and the little brush is fab! It's not transparent and a little goes a long way. True, it isn't completely opaque, but this means you can build it (and it's easier to erase mistakes). The thing i've been impressed with the most is it's staying power. I was wearing this and didn't take it off before getting into the shower and washing my hair. Once out of the shower I look and it had not budged at all, or even faded! I am over the moon with this product and will hopefully be using it for ages (if they don't discontinue it)
Advantages: reasonable price, good quality, easy to apply, staying power
Disadvantages: sells out quickly
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted29 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I only bought this product a few days ago, and so far it has been amazing! It's affordable, it stays on all day, it's really easy to apply and it doesn't turn blue like liquid liners. Also I only have to use a small amount to line both eyes, so the small pot should last a while! The only thing I didn't like was the brush as it fell apart when i took the plastic cover off, but it didn't matter to me as I have a good eyeliner brush to use with it. I will definitely be buying this product again!
Advantages: long lasting
Disadvantages: brush
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
Maybelline The One-by-One Volum' Express mascara
4.4 out of 5(74)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE!!!

Posted20 April 2011
Customer Avatar
starrr1234
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love this product. This is the first gel liner I have bought and just think it is amazing. It has a really blackest of black colour which I was looking for. The first time I used it I made a complete mess cos I had never used gel before and thought the brush was tricky to use. I thought about buying an angled brush but then thought i would give it one more try and I had a perfect black smooth line the second time. Don't be disheartened if it doesn't go right the first time just keep practicing. Glad I didnt waste my money on another brush now. Can't fault it :)
Advantages: very black, easy to use, nice packaging
Disadvantages: may take a while to get used to for beginners, no cap for brush
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ADDICTED !! A+

Posted23 April 2011
Customer Avatar
nataliexo
from hull
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive always been a fan of winged black liner but found it had to master. This eyeliner is fab! After a couple of practices is really easy to put on, gives a rich black colour (not watery or faded bluey purples) and stays put. Doesn't quite last 24hrs but who needs to wear make up to bed ?! doesnt smudge on a night out. I've honestly never fell in love with an eyeliner but this one i will buy again and again. Cannot really fault the product. Brush is professional and doesnt loose bristles and rinses clean if desired. Easy to apply, long lasting, no smudges and affordable. Thank you maybelline!!
Advantages: true black colour
Disadvantages: brush easily lost in makeup bag
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy peasey

Posted26 April 2011
Customer Avatar
AmandaDawn
from Nuneaton, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loving this gel eyeliner. I am a mae-up artist and love it. This product is great for people who struggle to get the perfect line. Its best just o use a small amount of product and do several smalled strokes to get the perfect line.
The brush is great also - normally you get a tiny one which is difficult to hold, or one with loose bristles.
The eyeline is very stretchy to - so you can apply a little and stretch it out with the brush and get reapply to darken the line making is easier to avoid mistakes.
You only need to tiniest bit for each eye so i am expecting the tub to last me ages! I have heard that this product does dry up - i have had it for a month now and nothing has gone wrong so far!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted26 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Let me start by saying ive got through my fair share of eye liners, both pencil and pen. This is by far the best ive every used. Most only last a few hours at most and either end up half way down my face or done a disappearing act.
The first time i used to i was sick. (nothing to do with the eyeliner!!). I put it on in the morning and the next morning after many hours spent sweating, throwing up and wiping my eyes, it was still there, only slightly smudged!
The next time i used it i was going out to a sweating club. Again, the next day, it was still all there!
The best part is it just wipes off with eye make up remover.
I think its the best make up product ive ever used!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

Posted28 April 2011
Customer Avatar
MissMGZR
from Hereford, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've never used a gel eyeliner before but I absolutely LOVE this product! I found it pretty easy to apply and really long-lasting!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Try it - you'll like it!

Posted28 April 2011
Customer Avatar
ATrot
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always used a liquid liner - Lancome's Artliner. Didn't think that anything could measure up to this but at last I've found something that will and at a fraction of the price.
The gel itself comes a in a little translucent pot with a silver lid. It also has a delicate little brush which makes it easy peasy to apply. You only need a tiny amount on the brush as I've found that a little really goes a long way. The thickness of the line depends on how you angle the brush. It builds up really well, so you can go over and over the line you've made. Although tiny, the handle of the brush is long enough to hold comfortably in your hand.
The eyeliner is definitely smudge proof - I fell asleep on the couch (don't ask lol) after wearing it all day and all night and when I woke up the next morning it was still perfectly in place!
My top tip is to rinse and wipe the brush after each application as otherwise the brush will go hard as it dries out..
To sum up I'd say that this is real value for money and definitely worth a try. Recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok for some.

Posted30 April 2011
Customer Avatar
LimitedEdition
from Yorkshire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I am a major make up junky, and always looking out for new 'must have' products for my make up box. When I saw this product on an advert, I bought it, just so I could say I've tried it, and to see if it was any good. If you are an eye liner lover, it really depends on what type of eye liner you like most. I personally like liquid eye liner as I find its easier to apply and gives you a more crisp, defined line, unlike kohl pencils, as I find these can drag on my eye lid, and gives a soft line.
I personally, don't like this product, although its similar to liquid liner, in regards its easy to apply, (though the little brush takes a little time to get use to at first), but has the appearance of a kohl pencil, and find it can have the effect of "melting" and "wearing away" but maybe thats because I have oily/combo skin, or maybe its due to my moisturiser or foundation what effects it. It only comes in black, (at the moment) but I find its not black black, and I am sure if you are a liquid liner type of lady, like me, you will understand the difference, if not, you will probably tell the difference in colour once you put on your mascara. You will see it looks like a dark grey than black.
The only advantage I found of this product, if you line the inside of your eyes, you will find its good, and I don't it 'stings' compared to liquid, and doesn't shift as much as kohl and will be perfect to use on top of eye shadows, for smoky eyed effect instead of sharp black black eyeliner
It is a little pot when you buy it but do not let this put you off, if you want to try it or you think this eye liner outcome is your cup of tea, as a little goes a long way.
Advantages: good to line your inner eyes, easy to apply, goes a long way
Disadvantages: not black, not a crisp line, not good for eye liner
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best eyeliner ever

Posted10 May 2011
Customer Avatar
XxKelliexX
from Gainsborough, England
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
well this is the first gel eyeliner i have ever brought and all i can say is wow! even though the pot is small you truly only do need a tiny amount to do the whole of your eye, including the waterline. it glides on so easy and it even glides on over foundation. the brush is relatively easy to use. its long lasting so if you are going to college/work, or even just meeting with friends it stays put so your eyes always look amazing. i would reccommend this to any friend :)
Advantages: easy to apply, long lasting, great product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect eye liner product - natural or dramatic... I can do it all oh so easily!

Posted20 May 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Wales
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using this product for about a month now and I use it nearly everyday!
It's so easy to use and adaptable; I was curious about gel liner so I bought it because I do a lot of theatrical makeup and liquid eyeliner is a pain. This is in between liquid and pencil.
The brush makes it so easy to apply, it stays on all day and you can do anything with it!
You can create those 'cat-eye' winged eyeliner looks so easily even and it's quite easy to rub off if you make mistakes, and you can even smudge it with your finger or a cotton swab to give it a more smokey effect and do you like 'tightlining' your eye? (Applying eyeliner to your waterline)
Well you can get the most defined eyes ever since you can even apply this stuff to your waterline; I always apply it to the top of my eye (lashline) to make my lashes appear fuller and it never fails! It doesn't even hurt unless you poke yourself in the eye with it...
I was a little put off by the price at first but it does last a very long time and I think it's very worth it!
I will never buy any other product!
Advantages: easily applied and good control, long-lasting application, comes with a brush! (brushes are expensive), amazing definition for your perfect look
Disadvantages: maybe the price?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent buy!

Posted26 May 2011
Customer Avatar
MynameisSarah
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not only is this product really well priced, it's got a wonderful brush included which applies the gel perfectly. I love the consistency and the colour of this eyeliner and it really stays all day. Trust me, I just cried my eyes out and the eyeliner has not budged an inch. So yes, a great buy.
Advantages: price, staying power
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favourite Eye Liner

Posted31 May 2011
Customer Avatar
Haaarriet
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product! I'm not particular great at applying eyeliner, but I found this simple to apply. It is very black, which I like and it lasts for HOURS. It's quite expensive, but I would pay this amount again when it runs out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>