Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boots.

LOreal L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde

L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde gives you luscious permanent colour, with natural glistening tones, healthy shine and perfect grey coverage. It’s easy to apply resulting in satin soft hair full of vitality.
Average Customer Rating:
2.071 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
3 out of 14(21%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Review 1 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

rubbish

Posted17 March 2011
Customer Avatar
josep
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
instead of dark blonde i now have very dark brown sludge even my seven year old told me it was a horrible colour i will now have to fork out to get another dye to hopefully lighten my hair again will not be touching this one again think they need to relook at the discription on the box way off take it off the shelves quick !!
Disadvantages: need to spend more money to sort it out
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was so easy

Posted06 May 2011
Customer Avatar
Janet52
from Birmingham, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't understand why others had such a bad experience of this product!
I'd never used a permanent dye product but my previous highlights were growing out and the grey was awful and this was on offer so I tried it.
It was so easy to apply, the foam stayed foamy and didn't run, and after 30 minutes it was all done. I thought it was a bit dark at first but after a couple of washes it was fine. All my grey was covered perfectly and the colour was perfect.
Everyone has said how natural it looks and now that it needs retouching I'll certainly be using the same product again.
Advantages: just shampoo in no messing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It makes hair darker

Posted28 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Janey286
from Cheshire, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I used this on my light to medium brown hair. This product should have made given a shade lighter, but instead I am left with darker hair than I had in the first place. The colours on the box are nothing like the colour you get.
Disadvantages: colour doesn't match the box
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Colour Ever

Posted09 April 2011
Customer Avatar
topcatt
from Brentwood Essex
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So wish I had read the reviews before using this! Instead of being a lightish caramel blonde I now resemble Morticia from the Addams family. My hair is now very dark brown bordering on black!!!! So disappointed and cross because I will now have to spend time and money trying to get my hair back to something resembling its normal colour. Really appalling product and needs to be taken off the shelves until they get the colour right. If I could have rated this with no stars I would have done - I have used l'oreal colourants for years but this is just terrible.
Advantages: none
Disadvantages: bad colour match
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Far too dark!

Posted20 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Millzie
from Aberdeen, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wish that I had read reviews of Sublime Mousse Pure Dark Blonde before I applied it to my poor hair.
I was medium/light blonde, I usually go to a salon for colour, I decided to try home colouring again as I wanted to go darker - close to my natural colour of dark blonde.
Half-way through the application, I was panicking as my hair appeared very dark, so I checked for reviews on Google and found a lot of bad reviews. I decided to rinse the colour out after only 15 minutes, not 30 as suggested, as I did not want to end up any darker. Now, I (like another reviewer) look like Morticia Addams - my hair is dark brown. I dread to think how dark it would be had I left it any longer.
The colour is nowhere near the colour shown on the box, or "pure dark blonde". Please do not buy this product if you want to stay dark blonde / light brown.
Application was easy... little consolation for ruined hair colour.
Disadvantages: resulting colour is much darker than shown
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great easy product, but made my hair darker not lighter!!

Posted23 February 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product to lighten my mousey hair to a nice dark blonde. It is now a medium brown colour, nowhere near the colour it shows on the pack!! Be very careful when using these colours!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too dark

Posted05 March 2011
Customer Avatar
patricia1700
from London
Age:25-34
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application was easy however it turned my hair far too dark, a lot darker than the dark blonde in the picture. I'm more like a dark brunette now... I would NOT recommend this.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY! RUINS HAIR!!

Posted14 March 2011
Customer Avatar
becka22
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have never wrote a product review before but felt I should warn girls out there that this product has ruined my hair and does nothing what it claims to! I was a mid-blonde with bits of lighter blonde throughout my hair and wanted it a dark-blonde. After using this hair dye I am now a very dark brunette colour boarding on black!!! I am sooo mad. To make it worse my hair feels like straw and is not silky at all. I have always have excellent condition silky hair now I am left with horrible dark brown hair that feels like it is going to snap off!! This product needs to be taken off the shelves until it gets labled correctly stating it will never turn your hair dark-blonde but dark-brown!! the picture is very misleading, even the hair shade guide at the back is waaay off!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It Lies but I'm Happy

Posted03 July 2011
Customer Avatar
jenniejaguar
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As we speak I am evaulating my new hair colour. I have tried soooo many different brands so I'm a bit of an expert. Sublime Mousse was rather easy to put on despite being a little intoxicating (but aren't they all?) but when you look in the mirror before washing it out, your hair will look more like a dark brunette than dark blonde. One thing I may say is that the foam didn't "flow" as much as some other brands. Anyway, so I washed it out in the shower and it resembled chocolate milk - worrying. The conditioner supplied with the product was very thick, a good quantity and smelt lovely (hence doing the same to the hair). I blow dryed my hair arfterwards and shazam! It was a rich, chocolatey, light brown. Perhaps the product lied but I'm still happy.
Advantages: hair does not feel damaged afterwards., easy to apply., wonderful conditioner.
Disadvantages: false colour results., strong smelling when applying.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My hair is now black.

Posted27 July 2011
Customer Avatar
LOLauren
from Cheshire, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have medium auburn dyed hair and wanted to blend my fresh dark roots so i purchased this as a nice inbetween. Went on dry and made my hair feel stringy then when i rinsed it out my hair was near black. I thought it was just my dry hair and thought it was my fault... So then my mum uses the same dye on her hair (Light blonde) and it also turned her hair a very dark brown! Please do no use this on light hair! Very disappointing would very much want a refund.
Disadvantages: turns hair darker!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

hair really does come out darker

Posted30 May 2011
Customer Avatar
truo31
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i read the reviews before using this product and became quite scared when seeing that it came out darker than they had expected. So i decided to just leave for 15/20 mins.. and my hair is still way darker than the model on the box.
application is rather easy (i always use mums help anyway), No strong horrible smells, washes off very nicely but takes a while for water to run clear, and condishioner smells lovely. hair doesnt smell like its been coloured afterwards.
I'll be trying this make again but not this colour, definately will go for a lighter shade,
Advantages: smells nice, washes out well
Disadvantages: gloves are too big, colour does not match that on the box
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

very different to other reviews

Posted15 November 2011
Customer Avatar
AngharadMB
from Street, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i read the reviews for this product and alot of people said it turned out very dark, i wanted to my hair quite dark so i decided to buy as it would hopefully be easy to apply (as im not very confident with normal mixtures), it was very quick and easy to apply, i left it in for 30 mins as my hair isnt very porus. it turned out very similar to the picture on the box and i was very happy with the colour, but thats where it ended, i washed my hair a couple of days after as i would usually and i used colour protection shampoo and conditioner but even with that it fades lots!! i have now washed my hair twice since dying it and i am almost back to my natural light blonde. im not impressed with that bit and will dye it dark brown or leave it in for longer next time!!
Advantages: very easy to apply
Disadvantages: fades very quickly
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Surprisingly impressed!

Posted11 September 2011
Customer Avatar
flea1988
from Exeter
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this hair dye as a last resort really. Recently i have dyed my hair dark cherry then overlayed it with purple, which ended up looking awful after a couple of weeks. So this weekend i decided i had to change it drastically. I used another hair dye, which didnt work, so stripped the colour off with Scott Cornwalls Colour B4. This made my hair a rust colour, so i then bleached my hair until it was bright orange with platinum roots and put a blonde hairdye to cover this up. It did not work and just went more orange if that was possible. I was at my wits end and my scalp was really sore but i couldnt just leave it like that so as a last ditch attempt to fix it i used Loreal Siblime Mousse in pure dark blonde which although didnt turn out the colour on the box, totally fixed the mess i had made. I am now left with a soft, shiny strawberry blonde and my hair is in such good condition. The dye was even quite gentle on my already tortured scalp. It also evenly covered my patchy orange hair and white roots. Easy application and took literally 7 minutes to apply. The smell wasnt strong and it washed off my skin easily but it was a paler colour than i am normally used too so maybe its just that i cant see if it has stained. I will have to see how well it lasts and washes but overall very happy. Now i will let my hair rest and recover fully before touching it again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Sublime mousse pure dark blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I wanted to go dark blond but instead my hair is now very dark brown (almost black)

Posted24 January 2012
Customer Avatar
mona83
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Well, I wanted to go dark blond after being light blond for nearly 28 years and I should check the reviews for this product first. Initially I was keen on using Perfect 10 shade no/7 but because I couldn't get it in any shop (by that time I was desperate to buy anything) I decided that the color on the bottle was very pretty and that was why I bought this product in this shade.
And 5 minutes ago I dyed my hair and it's very very very dark brown. Not at all how was shown on the picture. What I waste of money. Now I am ordering Perfect 10 and will repeat the process once again next week . Until then I need to use a hat....buuu
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.