Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Duo-Fertility DuoFertility fertility monitor

Duo-Fertility DuoFertility fertility monitor

DuoFertility identifies the best day in your cycle to try for a baby. Click here to use the suitability tool.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 out of 12(83%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DuoFertility fertility monitor
Review 1 for DuoFertility fertility monitor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Convenient, but overpriced for what it does

Posted30 June 2011
Customer Avatar
lolly6
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was excited to see this product listed on Boots' website. I have PCOS and most other fertility monitors aren't suitable for use with this condition.
I have been using this for two months and while it's more convenient than manual charting, it hasn't corrected detected my ovulation in either cycle. This month, it says I ovulated when I know that I was actually 8 days post ovulation. If I was relying on it alone for predicting ovulation, I would have massively missed the conception window. This is not something I would expect from a product that claims to be as accurate and effective as it is.
Build wise, I barely notice the sensor when it's on and it's comfortable to wear although the adhesives aren't very good. I find the handheld part very difficult to enter information on so only use it for downloading the data. It is difficult to download the data at times when I am still wearing the sensor, as it seems to need very precise alignment to transfer.
Overall, I'm very disappointing considering the price that I paid!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
23of 53voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for DuoFertility fertility monitor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reassuring product

Posted23 May 2011
Customer Avatar
jpb82
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I saw this product on TV and have been impressed so far. Really love using it! It was easy to set up and in the one cycle I've been using it, it confirmed i ovulated which reassured me. It’s taken the stress levels down no end! I love the fact that it does it all for you and tells me exactly when my fertile days are with a nice alert in the days running up to them to help us plan ahead. If only I’d heard about it earlier…not a fan of weeing on a stick.
Advantages: detailed and easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
29of 44voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for DuoFertility fertility monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

Posted24 May 2011
Customer Avatar
H3llsb3lls
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and easy to use, the body monitor is very discreet and you don't notice during the day.
The programme is very clear and after 3 years, pregnant within just two months of using duo fertility.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+36points
38of 40voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for DuoFertility fertility monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very glad you picked this product

Posted30 May 2011
Customer Avatar
MommyNat
I have used this monitor and it helped me get pregnant. I am now 3 months pregnant, and we would still be waiting if it wasn't for this monitor! It is amazing, it's easy to use and it gives you plenty of time to plan !
My husband travels a lot for his job and this is the only product which could offer a week of notice !
I was very excited to see this product being reviewed by Boots on the TV series on BBC2. I'm glad that Boots has decided to take it! Many couples would benefit from it!
A great addition to your range!
I wish all the parents to be a lot of luck with this monitor!
Advantages: easy to use, plan ahead, accurate, great careline, experts on the phone
Disadvantages: not covered by the nhs
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
Kira Agnus Castus - 30 Tablets
 
 
 
 
 
 
+27points
30of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for DuoFertility fertility monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helped me get pregnant and get medical treatment for PCOS

Posted21 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Emma795
from Essex, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this monitor after speaking with two of the people who invented it at a conference. Had been trying to conceive for just over two years and discovered in this time I had PCOS.
This monitor is the only aid to conception that I found to be reliable as PCOS makes the LH ovulation tests unreliable (they suggested I was ovulating every day!) and my normal temperature charting was all over the place, despite my best efforts. The monitor takes your temperature thousands of times a day which means you get the most accurate readings possible - it meant I could go to the doctor and present extremely accurate charts to prove I was not ovulating and push for help.
After surgery to attempt to correct the PCOS I fell pregnant the first cycle of use with Duofertility, despite ovulating at a very random time in my cycle - which had been "reset" due to the op anyway!! Incredibly accurate and I believe this was the only thing that stopped me having to go through uneccessary and invasive fertility treatments.
Sensor very comfortable to wear, came with a trial pack of adhesives - I picked the one that worked best for me - and lasted for days - and they sent me a full pack of them. Easy to use computer software, easy to use hand-held monitor and great support by email and on the phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+36points
37of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DuoFertility fertility monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really worked for us!

Posted17 May 2012
Customer Avatar
jeena1
from London
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every day
We were told that with us both being 44 years old, with no previous children, that there was little chance of falling pregnant and I was too old for IVF and of course, at my age, it was going to have to be privately funded anyway.Even so, private clinics would not work with us using my own eggs. However, we were both fit and healthy and so we thought we would give nature 12 months and then just accept that having children was not going to be for us.
We bought the duofertility, after seeing it at a show. It was really easy to use and the reports were simple to understand and any questions we had were quickly answered by the team .Two months into using it, we fell pregnant. We are now six months along and everyone is doing just fine. It's the best £500 I have ever spent.
Advantages: easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for DuoFertility fertility monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It worked for me, so I would highly recommend

Posted15 March 2012
Customer Avatar
bump37
from West Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
We started trying for a baby in 2009 after a miscarriage, and I already have a child, I therefore knew I could get pregnant. After months leading into years trying to concieve I hadn't dropped on and started to worry as I'm not getting any younger and was approaching my 40's. I had gone to my GP but didn't want any invasive tests, therefore I started to look ar alternatives. I first found Duo Fertility on the Boots website and did plenty of research before deciding to part with my hard earned money. When I received the product I don't think it was quite what I expected but once I'd got the hang of using the sensor then I was hooked. Throughout I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of supportive e-mails sent to me by Duo Fertility, they offered advice and personalised support. I started using the monitor in September and after only 4 months of use I'm now over the moon to say that we are expecting. The freaky thing is that Duo Fertility e-mailed me to ask if I had done a pregancy test as my readings were potentially those of a pregnant lady. I did the test and wow, it was true. How clever! Yes the monitor is not cheap but I avoided going for unnecessary tests and I now have the most precious thing in the world, and that's priceless. Thank you Duo Fertility.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
29of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for DuoFertility fertility monitor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy to use

Posted25 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from North east
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I have only been using this for a few weeks but it is easy to use and set up .
I haven't had any problems as yet as the support team that is included in the package are always one step ahead emailing me with helpful information .
I thought the monitor would irritate me under my arm but so far so good I don't even know its there now ! ( they do offer alternatives if it does )
I definitely think it is helping relieve the stress of having to think about temps and recording info as it does it all for me .
having the money back guarantee is good too as haven't lost anything if I'm not pregnant within a year. And if I do fall it will be the money worth spent x x x good luck to all x
Advantages: money back offer, easy to use, no stress
Disadvantages: sticky tags can irritate at first
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for DuoFertility fertility monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I got a fertility report - it was great !

Posted30 June 2012
Customer Avatar
MJR2012
from London, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
I am not pregnant yet... but I have just received my fertility report from the experts earlier this month. It is very reassuring, full of useful tips and recommendations for our next steps – and it was free! I went to see my gp with the report and he send me for a few tests. In particular a scan to check my ovaries as my temperature patterns are like the women with polycycstic ovaries. I feel sad that the monitor was not provided or recommended by my doctor as we find it so helpful to be able to speak to someone about of graph. Surely it would save me going to see him to ask questions ?
Anyway, I wanted to give other couples considering this a bit of feebback on this expensive product. We find that it is well worth the money, and are looking forward to be pregnant very soon!!!
Advantages: fertility expert on call, supportive team, very good product, free fertility report
Disadvantages: i couldn't choose a colour on boots.com
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
7of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for DuoFertility fertility monitor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

TTC for 20 months- fingers crossed!

Posted29 December 2012
Customer Avatar
teaandcakeordeath
from Liverpool, UK.
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I've been TTC for 20 months now with no success and a lot of self imposed stress from temping, checking signs and using ovulation kits. I've been using Duo for just under 1 month and already feel more relaxed/ less stressed about TTC.
I have irregular cycles and have found that the support offered from Duo (by email and every few days in my experience) has been really reassuring. I'm not alone anymore trying to interpret chart signs/ vague ovulation tests etc. with no real clue as to what I'm doing!
I did have a reaction to the adhesives supplied, I contacted Duo and within 2 days they had a sample pack out to me and have since delivered replacement adhesives. You also receive a fertility report in month 4 which should help to point you in the right direction should you require any medical intervention to conceive.
I hope this works but if not I feel that at least I will have gained more of an understanding about my body, will get my money back and will have taken the self imposed TTC pressure off for 12 months!
Advantages: support during a stressful time, money back guarantee, stress free- you just forget about the sensor, prompt communications with duo staff, fertility report
Disadvantages: initial financial outlay is painful
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for DuoFertility fertility monitor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

worth the money? questionable

Posted09 April 2013
Customer Avatar
angie279
from Glasgow
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every day
Duofertility was a bit fiddly to use at first however the saving grace was the online support and return emails came quickly. However the only real problem I have with this device - and it is a big problem - is with the sensor that you wear on your body to record the temperature. It is attached with small mesh stickers that fix to both your body and the sensor. However Duofertility have not quite go this right and I think the product shouldn't be selling until this is sorted. The adhesive basically is not enough to hold the device in place - and mine came off to disappear into the world of lost sensors, never to be seen again. A replacement sensor costs £60 which is quite a hefty price considering the initial outlay of the product itself. You can ask for quite a few different adhesives to try however I was using the standard one which is the strongest - the others are for sensitive skin if you have a reaction to the standard adhesives. I lost the sensor only 3 or 4 months into using the device so goodness knows how many more times I will have to pay out for it if it keeps falling off. I haven't bought a replacement yet and am debating whether to since I can see from results so far that I am ovulating around the days I thought I was when using the ovulation sticks from the chemist. Duofertility is not without its use,s primarily reassurance that you have the date of ovulation correct and it can also alert you if anything seems to be wrong too. It really depends how desperate you are - and trying to have a child when nothing is happening is a desperate situation. So it's hard for me to recommend or not, probably yes but be aware that the initial costs may not be your only ones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for DuoFertility fertility monitor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Misleading.costs £49 a month to keep using after 12 months

Posted20 June 2012
Customer Avatar
herbie9
I am writing this review as a word of caution regarding the costs they don't inform you of when purchasing, & want to advise you on what I didn't know when we purchased this fertility monitor, as I wish someone would have told me prior to purchasing it. We have been using the monitor for just over a year & as I was downloading my data I got a pop up saying to click if I wanted to continue with my subscription. I didn't know what this meant so I emailed DuoFertility. I was staggered to receive an email saying if I wanted to continue using the monitor I would have to pay £49 a month for "support". You would think that having paid £500 for the product that you would be able to use it indefinately but this is not the case. If you are thinking of buying this fertility monitor, I really feel you should be aware of this because nowhere on the website or the Boots website does it mention this £49 a month. I bought this product from Boots because I trust them & have told them I feel this is very misleading & it should state clearly that you can't use it anymore after a year without paying more money.I know how distressing it when long for a family,have difficulties & how you will do anything for it to happen. I can't help feeling that everything to do with trying to have a baby there is money to be made. I don't know how they justify £49 a month as that works out to nearly £600 a year! I have been in touch with Boots about this & got a lovely lady who tried to help but told me because there is a mention of a 12month subscription in the small print there is nothing they can do. I just don't want anyone else to be in this position & not be able to afford to keep using it a year down the line. Had I known about these charges after after a year I certainly would'nt have purchased it . I hope this helps someone.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+71points
87of 103voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.