Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Electronic Cold Sore Machine works faster than cold sore creams. Treats cold sores quickly & cleanly. Speeds up healing time and easy to use. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
5 stars
97
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
82 out of 99(83%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 1 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Snake Oil or useful - not sure yet...

Posted14 April 2009
Customer Avatar
JSmith
I read the test results by the inventor and when I saw this in Boots, having a cold sore in progress, recognised it. So, shining a light at 72nm is going to help is it? The jury is out for me. This sore erupted quickly and I used aciclovir late. The sore has lasted a week, longer (just) than usual as treatment started late - BUT! I used cream AND the light thing frequently so this may be a tough outbreak on a very tired person. Will I have the nerve to not use cream? No. Why did I buy it? The results seemed interesting and I think he has progressed to Pratchett's MS treatment. Fingers crossed this is not snake oil - L36 for a pair of LEDs and a timer is a lot. (Point at a webcam/camera if you want proof there is some light coming out. It shows white. I will review again if I notice long term benefit.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-17points
8of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold sore?????

Posted26 January 2009
Customer Avatar
blondy
i think that this is a great brake through, i'm always getting them but this is the fastest that i have got rid of one!!! i want a free one so i can give one to my boyfriend who always seems to get them as i get rid of one :-(
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
5of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cold Sore Machine

Posted21 January 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy
This does not give overnight results but does help to clear the cold sore without drying it out too much and helps the skin underneath to regenerate quicker making the cold sore heal less painlessly. It also elimates the need for endless creams and lotions. Although expensive to purchase, it does work out cheaper in the long run as it can be used many times.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cold Sore Machine

Posted18 February 2009
Customer Avatar
Hevntilda
This thing really works! If you use it at the first sign of a cold sore tingle (which I get regularly) the cold sore doesn't develop. If I leave it and the sore starts to come up, this machine seems to accelerate the cycle and it goes very quickly.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle, I swear!

Posted18 May 2009
Customer Avatar
Calliope
I used to suffer from cold sore flare ups every month without fail. 5 months ago after I ran out of the cream and the patches i went to boots and found this! I treated my cold sore as the instructions said and it made my coldsore go within days! And, even better than that, i havn't had one in 5 months! AMAZING! It's totally worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Coldsore treatment

Posted11 January 2010
Customer Avatar
Petal
After years of suffering with terrible and extremely painful coldsore I recently bought this Electronic Cold Sore Treatment. The first time I used it my coldsore was already fully developed and was very swollen but within 24 hours of using the treatment the swelling had gone down and it healed far quicker than it would have without the treatment. I have had two more coldsores since and be able to treat them very quickly and instead of them developing and taking over a week for the swelling to go this has really stopped them from developing anything more than a very small blister. It is also far less messy and unsightly than applying creams all the time. I really think this is worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted10 November 2009
Customer Avatar
suffolkbeagle
I'm afraid the electronic treatment did not work for me. Started using from the first tingle, by the second day I could feel it spreading so by then bought some cream as well. Eventually had about 10 cold sores with one extended down from the lip. Kept on using device and the cream. Probably the worst attack I have ever had and felt the device did nothing to help.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted18 December 2009
Customer Avatar
sharonk77
i have suffered with cold sores for many years, causing pain, suffering and embarassment i often wouldnt leave the house for days because of how awful they look. I have recently been getting a cold sore every month, leaving me with really swollen lips and in agony. I have tried all the creams on the market but they really werent helping so my husband bought me the boots electronic cold sore treatment and thank god he did! It really does work! im not sure how but i really dont care! it stops the pain and the swelling and the awful crusty scab, my cold sore had healed in 24 hours! amazing! would reccommend this to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Astounded at how well this works

Posted27 October 2009
Customer Avatar
Chippy
It really does work and you may find that coldsore attacks are a distant memory for you too! After suffering for years with coldsores, sometimes having them back to back for months... I tried this out of desperation. The coldsore did take about a week to go, which was no quicker than normal. So I thought it hadn't done anything. BUT..I have not had another coldsore since. It has been 6 months now. If I feel a tingle, I use the gun twice in the day and a coldsore never erupts. I don't know how it works, but it really is a great product. 35 pounds is lot of money, but not when you compare how much you spend on creams and patches every time. I would thoroughly recommend this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Brilliant

Posted12 April 2010
Customer Avatar
Pepper123
I wish I had been told about this earlier. This has helped me so much. I have been distressed with the amount of cold sores I have been getting. This has helped to clear them up so quickly and have only had 2 sores and these went really quickly . I would recommend this to everyone who suffers from cold sores. Thank you whoever created this machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted04 May 2010
Customer Avatar
FAB12345
This is a totally amazing device. After suffering for years every 3 months or so with large coldsores that scabbed badly, lasted 3 weeks and left scars for months, I have finally manage to banish the coldsore completely!
The first time I used it, the scabs had alreayd formed and it was too late to do anything about it. However, even though it did nothing for the coldsore I had, I haven't had one since.
Every time I think one is about to emerge, I use the machine and it completely stops and outbreak.
This really is worth the investment and far better than creams and patches as it has stopped the virus dead in its tracks!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

electronic cold sore treatment

Posted12 May 2010
Customer Avatar
Salander
having suffered from cold sores all my life and had some very large unpleasant ones I was sceptical but decided to shell out for this product. It is worth it, some small ones don't materialise and bigger ones -I have one at the moment -stay small manageable and not nearly so sore. Invest in this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well spent

Posted12 March 2010
Customer Avatar
griffi123
I don't usually write reviews but I really think this works. I have told my family and friends about it. Usually get at least one cold sore a month but haven't had one since buying this 2 months ago. Also I bought it when I had a pretty bad cold sore. It was very painful. The pain stopped as soon as I used this and it dried up. Healed very quickly. Better than creams or tablets. So far so good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted30 June 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I hate having cold sores, the one's I seem to get are never discreet even with the patches. The second day I found this machine and used it, about 4 times a day. I'm now on the 5th day and it has nearly gone. The price tag is quite high, but like other people I definitely think its worth it. Also its painless which was something I was worried about.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cold sore misery is over!

Posted06 May 2010
Customer Avatar
Bevsy
I bought this last November as yet another sore appeared. My typical outbreak would be 3 or 4 sores in quick succession, usually around my nose and they would put in an appearance every 3 months. Having spent a fortune on creams and patches I gave in to the price tag and I am incredibly impressed. When I first used it I was already 3 days in to a sore, but this took the pain away instantly. It still took the usual week to clear but the trick is to use it as soon as possible. The slightest tingle or redness you need to use it, carry it in your bag or pocket without fail and use about 3 times a day and it will work its magic. Since my first use I have had nothing more than a couple of tiny pinhead size blisters and they have always vanished virtually over night. I recommend this to everyone because it honestly works.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC PRODUCT

Posted22 January 2011
Customer Avatar
nessa100
fantastic product. I was a bit unsure about the price but it is worth it considering it last forever. As soon as I feel a tingle i know a cold sore is coming I use the machine and it works brilliantly. Its easy to use and it better than using messy creams (which cost alot conidering you dont get much for the price you pay) great product and well worth the buy would recommend it to everybody
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Electronic coldsore treatment

Posted15 July 2010
Customer Avatar
lollymoo
After reading all the reviews i was amazed and excited to be able to go and get a product that might actually work, having suffered with coldsores reguarly for years, with no other treatment working, and doctors unable to help. My coldsores last well over two weeks. Unlike the rest of the reviews i didn't find this product as great as other people, i still get the pain, swelling and headaches and the coldsore still takes the same amount of time to heal. I followed all of the instructions, so if anyone can offer some suggestions on how to use it they will be most welcome. Then maybe i can come back with a better review.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
8of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent- worth every penny!!

Posted25 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cariadnic
from port talbot
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took a while to buy this due to the cost but it is worth every penny. First bought and used in Dec 10, I thought that it helped but wasn't sure. Have only just had another coldsore after nearly three months, the tingling and blisters started in work so had to wait until I got home to use the device. By this time the blisters had formed on my lip and my glands were swollen. Used the device every time I remembered that evening - prob 5 times, by morning my glands were less painful and itching, burning pain of blisters had lessened. By the next day the blisters were drying up and scabbing over, my glands had gone down and there was no more pain. I kept on using the device every time i remembered prob 5-7 times a day. By the fifth day- today the scab has come off. It usually takes 7-10 days for the scab to come off so this has reduced the healing time in half. I hope that by using this the sores will come less and less in the future but I am over the moon that using the device has made the sore go more quickly and has made it less painful straight away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life-changing

Posted27 January 2011
Customer Avatar
gavin8
I've been using this thing for about 3 years and have not had a fully-formed cold sore since. As long as I've got this guy around I pretty much consider myself to be free of cold sores altogether. I've become a bit of an evangelist for these things - efficacy seems to vary a bit but I can zap at the tingle and not get anything forming at all. Amazing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy it - you won't regret it!

Posted11 March 2011
Customer Avatar
curf101
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have suffered with a cold sore that always reoccurs in the same place, whenever I feel stressed, run down etc. I bought this product in June when the nasty thing resurfaced. I don't think it healed any quicker as a result of using this machine (took about 7-10 days to disappear as it usually does when using the creams). I did find it much easier than messing about with creams though which I found dried my skin out in the area surrounding the cold sore. I also found the creams made the cold sore look more unsightly.
Nine months on I have not had a single cold sore since using this machine! I have been particularly stressed during this period and would have expected to have at the very least one or two breakouts in this time but nothing at all!
I don't usually write reviews but I am so evangelical about this product - it has changed my life. I used to feel so embarrassed when I had a cold sore and used to despair at that tingling sensation which meant one was on it's way, but no more!
I know it's more expensive than the creams but I honestly urge you to try it. It has worked wonders for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>