Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Electronic Cold Sore Machine works faster than cold sore creams. Treats cold sores quickly & cleanly. Speeds up healing time and easy to use. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.603 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
5 stars
94
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
82 out of 99(83%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 1 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny!

Posted06 February 2015
Customer Avatar
Anita1
I am really pleased that I purchased the cold sore machine. I never wanted to use it but knew I would have to sooner or later. To my surprise it works really well. I zapped the cold sore when it started to tingle and I believe it started to reduce the tingle straight away. The next day the cold sore was small, not red, angry or throbbing as they usually are. I have used it about 4 times a day. It definitely speeds up the repair process.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Electric Cold Sore Treatment

Posted12 January 2009
Customer Avatar
BigMac
I am a cold sore sufferer of many years and tried many treatments including patches, although effective they would not stay on following eating or drinking. I recently received the electronic device and anxioulsy awaited the day I would need to use! This arrived last week and immediately set to work with the device following instructions other than used 4 times a day instead of 2, which is permitted. Unfortunately I am very disappointed, day 4 instead of disappearing it is worse than would have been with a cream. I will give another chance but if same result with next cold sore I will be seeking a refund as does not perform in accordance with promise. Normally using Zovirax my sore would now be at healing stage. Not recommended. Will update if improves next time!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
27of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tinny13
London
 
Please wait while more information about Tinny13 is loaded.
Additional information about Tinny13 could not be loaded.
Don't give up, use with Zovirax
Posted 31 March 2014
I never gave up Zovirax, I just added this machine to my routine. I use it then apply Zovirax. When I need to reapply, I use it again and reapply. I think it works best with the cream. They each do their thing. But it does speed stuff up for me and to be honest, as someone who used to get sold sores every month in the same place, after using this for a year, I have had maybe 2 cold sores in the past 2 or so years. It seems to have healed the vulnerable place I had which would always be where they'd break out.
I did not change anything else in my life and in fact, last flue I had I was pleasantly surprised when I did not get any cold sores. I used to get several when under any illness. Don't give up the cream, just add this to your routine. I use it over the cream too.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Incredible!

Posted28 June 2011
Customer Avatar
melissa111
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I must say - I didn't trust any of the reviews that I read yesterday... It sounds just so amazing that you think it can't be true. Well, I got a cold sore yesterday morning and went out and bought the machine... I have hardly nothing left of the cold sore on my lip. I think is because I caught it soon - but hey if instead I used cream and patches it would have taken 5 days min to heal. I can say that this machine is totally worth buying. (PS - I use it every 4hrs more or less, although states on packaging to do it once and then another time 12 hrs later)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than anything else I've tried

Posted17 June 2012
Customer Avatar
ACM3004
from Ribble Valley, Lancashire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I have sufferend from cold sores since I was a teenager. I get them when I am run down; usually after a cold - in the winter as well as in the summer. Zovirax has helped in the past, but only in shortening the outbreak/healing time. I would always get the full blown blister. The last time I felt the typical "tingle" was a few days before an important meeting, so I was desperate. I bought the machine, which admittedly is not cheap, having seen the other positive reviews. I used it about five times a day. While it didn't prevent the outbreak completely, it made such a difference! The blister never fully formed; instead there was only a red area. Instead of the pain, there was a slight tingle, and that even dissapated the more I used the machine. Note that I still used Zovirax / Boots own Avert cream in conjuction with the machine. There is no problem in doing this. I can highly recommend this to anyone who suffers from cold sores!!
Advantages: very effective, worth the money
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Snake Oil or useful - not sure yet...

Posted14 April 2009
Customer Avatar
JSmith
I read the test results by the inventor and when I saw this in Boots, having a cold sore in progress, recognised it. So, shining a light at 72nm is going to help is it? The jury is out for me. This sore erupted quickly and I used aciclovir late. The sore has lasted a week, longer (just) than usual as treatment started late - BUT! I used cream AND the light thing frequently so this may be a tough outbreak on a very tired person. Will I have the nerve to not use cream? No. Why did I buy it? The results seemed interesting and I think he has progressed to Pratchett's MS treatment. Fingers crossed this is not snake oil - L36 for a pair of LEDs and a timer is a lot. (Point at a webcam/camera if you want proof there is some light coming out. It shows white. I will review again if I notice long term benefit.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-17points
7of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent- worth every penny!!

Posted25 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cariadnic
from port talbot
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took a while to buy this due to the cost but it is worth every penny. First bought and used in Dec 10, I thought that it helped but wasn't sure. Have only just had another coldsore after nearly three months, the tingling and blisters started in work so had to wait until I got home to use the device. By this time the blisters had formed on my lip and my glands were swollen. Used the device every time I remembered that evening - prob 5 times, by morning my glands were less painful and itching, burning pain of blisters had lessened. By the next day the blisters were drying up and scabbing over, my glands had gone down and there was no more pain. I kept on using the device every time i remembered prob 5-7 times a day. By the fifth day- today the scab has come off. It usually takes 7-10 days for the scab to come off so this has reduced the healing time in half. I hope that by using this the sores will come less and less in the future but I am over the moon that using the device has made the sore go more quickly and has made it less painful straight away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every suffers essential

Posted07 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Bigdowse
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
3 cold sores (yes 3!!) arrived on the Monday by the Friday all but gone. I personally think the machine brings out the cold sore very quickly allowing it to heal quicker. The only draw back is that the cold sore becomes very sore and lips do swell. In all it cut the 7-10 day cold sore down to 5, so in my book it's very good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far So Good

Posted19 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Yendi
from UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Having only just purchased this today I can't say how long it will take to heal my cold sore but after only one use it has taken the throbbing and tingling away from my sore which is in its second day. I have never had this happen with the other treatments and by day two I am in pain with my lip swollen to double the size. Based on the small amount of time I have been using this product I would definitely recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle, I swear!

Posted18 May 2009
Customer Avatar
Calliope
I used to suffer from cold sore flare ups every month without fail. 5 months ago after I ran out of the cream and the patches i went to boots and found this! I treated my cold sore as the instructions said and it made my coldsore go within days! And, even better than that, i havn't had one in 5 months! AMAZING! It's totally worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

Posted19 February 2012
Customer Avatar
louiselooks
from Glasgow
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had a cold sore for 3 weeks and tried everything, was at my wits ends and after reading all the reviews of this I decided I'd give it a bash. Well my cold sore is healing up, and almost completely gone after only 2 days of using machine. I have been getting a lot of cold sores recently and will be using this at tingle stage from now. Will report back of how that goes. Well worth the money so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

Posted23 October 2014
Customer Avatar
mlav89
from Belfast
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Once per year
I used to suffer from cold sores 2 or 3 times a year. They always formed right in the corner of my mouth which meant they lasted 2-3 weeks minimum considering it cracked and bled out every time I opened my mouth. I came across this machine when I was looking for creams and thought it might be worth a go (Note: Creams are completely ineffective). I had a cold sore that was a few days old when I first used it and within days it had shrunk from full on lip volcano to a small scab. This was impressive, but I thought it might be a fluke, so I waited for the next cold sore to appear...and waited...It took 2 years for me to feel the tingling again, by which stage this device was lost to the bottom of a drawer somewhere. When I finally did find it and used it again it prevented the cold sore from developing at all. I think I'm now coming up on 3 years cold sore free. I'd highly recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted30 January 2009
Customer Avatar
kerrymerry
I've been getting coldsores for almost thirty years and they always last about 2weeks, even with the antiviral creams. Last week I erupted in the mother of all coldsores so after seeing this on the shelf decided to give it a go. Five days on and i'm just left with a slight red mark which should be gone in a day or two and is easily concealed with make up. A definite thumbs up 4 sure. Money well spent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
13of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cold Sore Machine

Posted18 February 2009
Customer Avatar
Hevntilda
This thing really works! If you use it at the first sign of a cold sore tingle (which I get regularly) the cold sore doesn't develop. If I leave it and the sore starts to come up, this machine seems to accelerate the cycle and it goes very quickly.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

AT LAST SOMETHING THAT WORKS! BUY BUY BUY!!

Posted14 March 2014
Customer Avatar
MrsOgreKG
from Highlands, Scotland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
I woke up on Wed morning resembling a cross between The Elephant Man and Jackie Stallone.....to say I was depressed about this massive, swelling, red and yellow weeping lip was an understatement! Out came the well know expensive cream and lathered on..... by the afternoon I was very upset about it (as everyone I had met that morning was staring at 'it' even though I tried to walk around with my head down to hide the horrendous sight) ANYWAY.... got my husband to pop to boots to buy this for me, I've always put it off in the past due to the high price tag but he went and got it.... remember this was wednesday evening (12th March), used the machine as soon as he came home and another 3 or 4 times that night, covered my lip in the cream and went to bed (expecting miracles if Im honest) woke up to a not so swollen lip and it beginning to scab over already! (only resembling Jackie Stallone at this point) used it every 3 hours throughout Thursday and no cream, by that night the swelling had reduced and was completely scabbed!! Used the cream again over night and this morning (Friday 14th, so DAY 3) woke up to swelling nearly GONE and scabbing half the size it was, OMG I cant believe it tonight the swelling is completely gone and the scab should be tiny by tomorrow morning. Usually on day 3 for me it would be just stopping swelling up and would be weeping still. DONT LET PRICE PUT YOU OFF!!! When you think how much you spend on creams or patches its worth it. (I also use tabs from docs) It definitely speeds up the healing process and makes thing happen faster, also helps reduce the pain. Only downside is I've already had to replace the battery after 3 days use... so would suggest you buy a few spares. It doesnt work 'overnight' but by day 2 you will notice a difference. Look forward to using it next time at 'warning' stage to see if it stops the dreaded 'thing' in its tracks. Sorry for massive review but I'm rather excited about this product and very impressed!!! BEST THING EVER! GO BUY IT!!!!>>>> NOW!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Buy!

Posted21 March 2014
Customer Avatar
HelenaJ1
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
So I purchased this a while ago and it didn't really seem to do anything but I read some of the reviews and decided to try it again.
I can honestly say I am glad I did, I have been using it throughout all stages of the cold sore 3 times a day and each time after use I can feel my cold sore itching as it is almost gone so know this is the healing process and almost at the end. I would definitely recommend this product to try. It is quite expensive but if you suffer from cold sores like I do and you can actually feel them getting better it is always a good sign!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny

Posted19 February 2012
Customer Avatar
atomicpuppy
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this a few years ago but never got around to writing a review. I've always suffered with cold sores, I suppose just one or two a year, each one lasting around 10 days. However, anyone who's ever had a cold sore will know that feeling when you walk around with your head bowed hoping that nobody notices you, or IT!
The final straw came when I had started a new job and I got the mother of all cold sores on my bottom lip. I was desperate to try something that might be quicker and more effective than the cream (yep, the famous one.) I saw this advertised and thought I'd give it a go, despite the price. If it didn't work I'd just put it down to experience. After a couple of days, the sore was dried out and had shrunk enormously. This was nearly 3 years ago and I have NEVER had a cold sore since! Whenever I feel anything weird on or around my lip, I just give it a blast and nothing has materialised yet! Mine lives in my work bag so it's always to hand if I need it. (Though as someone mentioned earlier, it does tend to switch itself on when knocked around in your bag - Maybe a "lock" of some sort would be a handy design addition.) Anyway, don't be put off by the price - It's worth double!!
Advantages: definitely works
Disadvantages: needs a lock to stop it switching on in your bag
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazed

Posted16 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Surprisedanddelighted
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
I've suffered cold sores for four or five years now, getting one every time I go oh holiday in sunnier climes, and occasionally when run down. Tried the creams and the Lysine to no apparent effect so was more than a little cynical about this but did some reading around the issue of laser therapy and there seems to be a growing body of evidence about its efficacy so thought this worth a try as its based on the same core principles. Have been using it for 18 months now and not a single cold sore since - to say I'm delighted would be an understatement. I use it very heavily (10-20 mins a day) in the days leading up to a sunny holiday, and daily during the holiday, and not so much as a tingle seems to occur. And then I use it once a week or fortnight during the rest of the year as a precaution. I'm so convinced I own three of the things and keep one at work, one at home and one in the car just in case I sense the virus coming on. But thus far, I take the absence as success! Would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

impressed!

Posted12 November 2012
Customer Avatar
bettyboots19
Woke up Thursday with the usual swollen lip with a blister forming, after reading about this product before I went straight to boots to buy one as creams and patches haven't worked for me. I started using it straightaway and within a few minutes the soreness had eased. I used the machine twice a day for three days and not only did the blister remain quite small, it didn't spread at all. It is now the following Monday and the sore is almost completely gone. I used to really suffer with regular cold sores, I still bear the scars of the really nasty ones but it now feels like this machine is something that will make a difference. I also take lysine supplements which may or may not be helping, but I'm willing to try anything.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product really works!

Posted30 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Jolanka
from Leeds, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
This is my first review ever. Just this time I felt I would leave a comment. I was proper skeptical at first but when I got not one but two cold sores (this never happened before! usually I get one after winter and one after summer) in a space of two days I was desperate. I have read about this machine before and only encouraged by the positive reviews, thought I would give it a go. I used the device on two cold sores:- on already developed one and another one which just started developing. The latter thanks to machine didn’t develop into ‘hundreds’ of blisters like it usually does but instead turned into one much smaller blister, it also didn’t spread etc. I used the machine a few times more than advised. What would normally take over week or so, after only two days both cold sores started drying out (also used cream at night). It’s a 3rd day now since using it and both cold sores are in a healing process! Hopefully within a next couple of days they will just disappear completely.
So yes, this stuff works! Yes, it could be a bit cheaper especially that the design is nothing special and it turns itself on when carried around in a bag (take the battery out) but all in all it’s worth the money because it works - speeds up the whole healing process, prevents from spreading and developing into blisters (however, I have had no chance to zap the cold sore just when you feel you might be getting one). That’s why I decided to leave a comment because it’s just nice to buy a product these days that actually does what it says on the tin! So if you are reading this comment, do yourself a favor and buy it! Thanks Boots.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
8of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic product

Posted26 December 2012
Customer Avatar
07414778
Iv had to deal with cold sores since being at school and like everyone I dread the day they come... I just want to hide myself away when it's full blown... I bought this product today after reading the reviews.. My cold sore is only a day old but was getting to the blister stages and after trying all the creams available thought anything else was worth a shot.... Since purchasing it today I have used it every two hours and my cluster of blisters have gone down considerably in size almost non existence :) iv never had any other treatment work so fast... If I knew about this product years ago i would have purchased it at an instant... £35 is a bargain considering this is a product for life unlike the creams... I'm just glad I have finally found a product that does what it says on the box... Would recommend to anyone, will be the best purchase to any cold sore sufferers
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>