Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Electronic Cold Sore Machine works faster than cold sore creams. Treats cold sores quickly & cleanly. Speeds up healing time and easy to use. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.593 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(135 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 135 reviews
5 stars
110
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
8
82 out of 99(83%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 1 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle, I swear!

Posted18 May 2009
Customer Avatar
Calliope
I used to suffer from cold sore flare ups every month without fail. 5 months ago after I ran out of the cream and the patches i went to boots and found this! I treated my cold sore as the instructions said and it made my coldsore go within days! And, even better than that, i havn't had one in 5 months! AMAZING! It's totally worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boots Advanced Electronic Cold Sore Treatment

Posted03 November 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I have never completed a product review before but I am so impressed by how well this worked that I want to tell others. My cold sores were stopped in their tracks, and only 3 days after they started I look and feel almost normal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Astounded at how well this works

Posted27 October 2009
Customer Avatar
Chippy
It really does work and you may find that coldsore attacks are a distant memory for you too! After suffering for years with coldsores, sometimes having them back to back for months... I tried this out of desperation. The coldsore did take about a week to go, which was no quicker than normal. So I thought it hadn't done anything. BUT..I have not had another coldsore since. It has been 6 months now. If I feel a tingle, I use the gun twice in the day and a coldsore never erupts. I don't know how it works, but it really is a great product. 35 pounds is lot of money, but not when you compare how much you spend on creams and patches every time. I would thoroughly recommend this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted04 May 2010
Customer Avatar
FAB12345
This is a totally amazing device. After suffering for years every 3 months or so with large coldsores that scabbed badly, lasted 3 weeks and left scars for months, I have finally manage to banish the coldsore completely!
The first time I used it, the scabs had alreayd formed and it was too late to do anything about it. However, even though it did nothing for the coldsore I had, I haven't had one since.
Every time I think one is about to emerge, I use the machine and it completely stops and outbreak.
This really is worth the investment and far better than creams and patches as it has stopped the virus dead in its tracks!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Electronic coldsore treatment

Posted15 July 2010
Customer Avatar
lollymoo
After reading all the reviews i was amazed and excited to be able to go and get a product that might actually work, having suffered with coldsores reguarly for years, with no other treatment working, and doctors unable to help. My coldsores last well over two weeks. Unlike the rest of the reviews i didn't find this product as great as other people, i still get the pain, swelling and headaches and the coldsore still takes the same amount of time to heal. I followed all of the instructions, so if anyone can offer some suggestions on how to use it they will be most welcome. Then maybe i can come back with a better review.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
9of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted30 June 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I hate having cold sores, the one's I seem to get are never discreet even with the patches. The second day I found this machine and used it, about 4 times a day. I'm now on the 5th day and it has nearly gone. The price tag is quite high, but like other people I definitely think its worth it. Also its painless which was something I was worried about.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing product

Posted16 February 2011
Customer Avatar
rajah99
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I developed a tingling on the friday. I hit it with ice as is my usual routine. sometimes its enough to fend it off, but often it keeps it at bay for a while and then comes back with a vengeance. By monday, i realised the ice wouldnt keep it from coming out. I went to boots to get some cold sore cream and saw this device. I quickly googled some reviews on my pda, and saw the three on here. I thought they sounded more like marketing stuff, but i had to give it a go nonetheless. Interestingly, having purchased it, i consulted the boots pharmacist, who also thought it was a marketing gimmick. Still i gave it a go. I zapped my lip, and then two hours later. then at night. I felt the tingling had almost gone. By next day, some of the tiny pimples on my lips began to seep a teeny bit. But that's all. they didn't get any worse. I kept zapping it 3 times a day, and the sore hardly developed past the tiny pimples . By day three (today) its almost completely healed which is quite miraculous! every time it has previously developed, its been BIG and NASTY and lasted at least 7 days. I fly abroad tomorrow, which is why i was desperate to get this treated fast. to actually find ive almost healded within 3 days is astonishing. Every cold sore sufferer needs one of these machines.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent- worth every penny!!

Posted25 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cariadnic
from port talbot
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took a while to buy this due to the cost but it is worth every penny. First bought and used in Dec 10, I thought that it helped but wasn't sure. Have only just had another coldsore after nearly three months, the tingling and blisters started in work so had to wait until I got home to use the device. By this time the blisters had formed on my lip and my glands were swollen. Used the device every time I remembered that evening - prob 5 times, by morning my glands were less painful and itching, burning pain of blisters had lessened. By the next day the blisters were drying up and scabbing over, my glands had gone down and there was no more pain. I kept on using the device every time i remembered prob 5-7 times a day. By the fifth day- today the scab has come off. It usually takes 7-10 days for the scab to come off so this has reduced the healing time in half. I hope that by using this the sores will come less and less in the future but I am over the moon that using the device has made the sore go more quickly and has made it less painful straight away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy it - you won't regret it!

Posted11 March 2011
Customer Avatar
curf101
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have suffered with a cold sore that always reoccurs in the same place, whenever I feel stressed, run down etc. I bought this product in June when the nasty thing resurfaced. I don't think it healed any quicker as a result of using this machine (took about 7-10 days to disappear as it usually does when using the creams). I did find it much easier than messing about with creams though which I found dried my skin out in the area surrounding the cold sore. I also found the creams made the cold sore look more unsightly.
Nine months on I have not had a single cold sore since using this machine! I have been particularly stressed during this period and would have expected to have at the very least one or two breakouts in this time but nothing at all!
I don't usually write reviews but I am so evangelical about this product - it has changed my life. I used to feel so embarrassed when I had a cold sore and used to despair at that tingling sensation which meant one was on it's way, but no more!
I know it's more expensive than the creams but I honestly urge you to try it. It has worked wonders for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would have paid twice as much for something like this!!!

Posted30 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Tinny13
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I know it is pricey but so are aciclovir creams when you think about it but this actually saves you so much hassle.
I felt cold sore possibly coming on above my lip on Friday - was thinking it could be a spot but realised it wasn't and started using the machine as instructed. I cleaned the area with alcohol (which I find dries it a bit when applied on cotton wool and pressed for a minute on a sore) used the machine then applied aciclovir in between Avert treatments. I used it about 4 times that first day. Usually blistering happens over at least 2 days - this is when my lip looks disgusting and aciclovir usually cannot stop that - just subdues it a bit. However, with this blistering was reduced to that day. By monday I had a solid small crust over the sore - something that usually takes at least a week. The area affected was reasonably large.
The second outbreak I treated straight away and it stopped it at one tiny blister which healed within a day.
Since the science behind it is that it stimulated the immune system to heal, I apply it to spots too when I get an angry one and disinfect it afterwards with alcohol. Amazing product. It works. It really does speed the healing time a great deal.
Advantages: speeds healing times, no side effects, overall great value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miraculous !!!!!!

Posted28 October 2010
Customer Avatar
Noisette
This machine is worth every penny, it started clearing up a massive painful 5 day old cold sore from the first 'zap'.
I continued to use it every hour for 4 hours, and the next day the cold sore had gone! Usually it takes several days to clear up so I am well chuffed. Offset the cost against forever buying creams and plasters, and it is cheaper in the long run, I cannot recommend it
enough, brilliant !!!! I would give it 10* if I could.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best treatment on the market

Posted29 June 2011
Customer Avatar
OBG99
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having been a cold-sore sufferer since primary school, I have tried just about every known treatment and bought this product halfway through an outbreak at the end of last year. As such I couldn't be certain if it had any real effect at the time.
However I have recently been ill with flu followed by a heavy cold - which is exactly when I normally get an outbreak. As a precaution I have been carrying the device with me and awaiting the first signs that a new outbreak was on its way. As expected the tell-tale tingle/bump on my lip appeared Monday afternoon and I started using the device immediately. This single bump would normally be quickly followed by numerous others until half of my bottom lip was covered but this time it has just remained as a single very small bump and although the device has not stopped it from turning into a slight sore, it is so small as to be hardly noticeable.
It is now Wednesday and the sore is still no bigger than the original bump I felt on Monday - maybe 2-3 mm in diameter. Although it did not stop the outbreak altogether - maybe I didn't catch it quite in time - I feel it is still so small as to be practically invisible to others. I expect it to be healed by the weekend whereas normally it would still be developing at this stage. Very impressive. Would recommend to anybody.
This is by far the best treatment I have ever encountered.
Advantages: no messy creams/ patches
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cold Sore Treatment

Posted17 July 2011
Customer Avatar
rondell3gy
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this when I had my last cold sore, however it had already gone through the stages and the machine didn't seem to help much.
A few months later now, I started getting a little tingle on Friday and a slight bump on my lip. I didn't have the machine with me (I will be keeping it in my bag now), so I used it when I got home. Its now Sunday and the swelling has gone and you have to look really closely to notice the tiny blister. I expect it should be all gone when I wake on Tuesday.
This product is an absolute saviour from going through an embarrassing 2 weeks with a nasty cold sore. Highly recommended!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

Posted23 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Karmitsa
My boyfriend tends to get really bad coldsores and this little machine has saved him!!!! The minute his gets the 'tingle' he uses it and the cold sore lasts only a couple of days.
It might be expensive, but think of all the money you are saving in the long run! I have recommended it to all my friends!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

avert cold sore machine

Posted12 January 2011
Customer Avatar
ashtonian
found this to be an absolute waste of 35 pounds did not have any affect whatsoever just another money making thing wouldnt have minded if it had been a tenner or so but the price is ridiculous if it was not something that you cannot obviously return i would have taken it back and demanded a refund
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

Posted26 August 2011
Customer Avatar
KitKatAus
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am not plagued by coldsores, but i get them regular as clockwork when I'm rundown. Always one and always in the same spot, on my bottom lip.
After a couple of anxious, sleep strained nights I got one that took two weeks to go away completely, then another only two days later! This NEVER happens - normally I have several months between them. In desperation I shelled out the money for this machine. I couldn't use it til a small 'pimple' had formed (I never get the 'tingle'). I used it rather obsessively for the first couple of days - perhaps 4 - 5 times a day. Normally a blister would form after two days, but in this case - no blister. The small pimple remained but just got smaller and smaller until it vanished completely. It took 5 days to heal completely, and was barely noticeable for that period.
I am so thrilled with this product. I nearly wept with happiness when I realised it actually worked. If you are a cold sore sufferer RUN to Boots and pick one up.
Advantages: portable - easy to carry in handbag
Disadvantages: can turn itself on in handbag - take battery out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC PRODUCT

Posted22 January 2011
Customer Avatar
nessa100
fantastic product. I was a bit unsure about the price but it is worth it considering it last forever. As soon as I feel a tingle i know a cold sore is coming I use the machine and it works brilliantly. Its easy to use and it better than using messy creams (which cost alot conidering you dont get much for the price you pay) great product and well worth the buy would recommend it to everybody
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life-changing

Posted27 January 2011
Customer Avatar
gavin8
I've been using this thing for about 3 years and have not had a fully-formed cold sore since. As long as I've got this guy around I pretty much consider myself to be free of cold sores altogether. I've become a bit of an evangelist for these things - efficacy seems to vary a bit but I can zap at the tingle and not get anything forming at all. Amazing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted24 May 2011
Customer Avatar
winks2416
from Co. Down
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was always on the lookout for sometihing new to tackle coldsores as I was plagued with them so many times throughout the year, and when I got one, it tended to lead to another and another and at one stage I remember having a row of them along my top lip which was not only unsightly and embarrasing but really sore and uncomfortable! I found that I had become immune to most of the cold sore creams and lotions out there, although found boots cold sore lotion to be the best of a bad bunch as it was a liquid I could dab on and it didn't leave a stupid white mark like the cream did when the coldsore was too sore for cream to be rubbed into it! I googled cold sore relief/products to see if anything new was about and came across this. After reading the reviews I thought I'd give it a go and all I can say its Brilliant! It really does what its supposed to do, it healed up my coldsore in super fast time, none of this waiting 8-10 days. At first I thought it was a bit drying but just remember to put your factored lip balm on afterwards (like all us coldsore sufferers should be doing at all times anyway) and it was grand. It's not too heavy so I can carry it about in my bag at all times. I saw a couple of reviews on here where people said it got nudged in their bag and switch itself on, therefore running the batery down - simple, turn the battery upside down when not in use, and flip back up the correct way before each use - problem solved! You just hold it to your mouth for 3 minutes looking like a bit of a prat, but who cares, better that than a coldsore for a fortnight right?! If I have a coldsore I would tend to use it when I wake up, at morning tea break, lunchtime, afterooon tea break, dinner time and before going to bed. When I don't have a cold sore, like I haven't since buying this about 6 months ago, I tend to use it about once a week just for luck or if I feel a slight tingle! The key is to keep it in your bag or somewhere accessible at all times so that you can zap anything that feels dodgy straight away. GO BUY IT, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent PLEASE BUY!!!

Posted07 April 2011
Customer Avatar
HarrysMama
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having suffered from really bad cold sore attacks for the past 20 years (sometimes getting two a month) and spending a fortune on treatment, I tried this machine and IT IS AMAZING!!!!!!! Its works so fast, reduces the pain and clears up the blisters in hours. I cannot praise this machine enough. Worth every penny.
Advantages: really really works
Disadvantages: switches itself on easily!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>