Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Electronic Cold Sore Machine works faster than cold sore creams. Treats cold sores quickly & cleanly. Speeds up healing time and easy to use. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.598 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(137 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 137 reviews
5 stars
112
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
8
82 out of 99(83%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 1 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Electronic coldsore treatment

Posted15 July 2010
Customer Avatar
lollymoo
After reading all the reviews i was amazed and excited to be able to go and get a product that might actually work, having suffered with coldsores reguarly for years, with no other treatment working, and doctors unable to help. My coldsores last well over two weeks. Unlike the rest of the reviews i didn't find this product as great as other people, i still get the pain, swelling and headaches and the coldsore still takes the same amount of time to heal. I followed all of the instructions, so if anyone can offer some suggestions on how to use it they will be most welcome. Then maybe i can come back with a better review.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
9of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing product

Posted16 February 2011
Customer Avatar
rajah99
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I developed a tingling on the friday. I hit it with ice as is my usual routine. sometimes its enough to fend it off, but often it keeps it at bay for a while and then comes back with a vengeance. By monday, i realised the ice wouldnt keep it from coming out. I went to boots to get some cold sore cream and saw this device. I quickly googled some reviews on my pda, and saw the three on here. I thought they sounded more like marketing stuff, but i had to give it a go nonetheless. Interestingly, having purchased it, i consulted the boots pharmacist, who also thought it was a marketing gimmick. Still i gave it a go. I zapped my lip, and then two hours later. then at night. I felt the tingling had almost gone. By next day, some of the tiny pimples on my lips began to seep a teeny bit. But that's all. they didn't get any worse. I kept zapping it 3 times a day, and the sore hardly developed past the tiny pimples . By day three (today) its almost completely healed which is quite miraculous! every time it has previously developed, its been BIG and NASTY and lasted at least 7 days. I fly abroad tomorrow, which is why i was desperate to get this treated fast. to actually find ive almost healded within 3 days is astonishing. Every cold sore sufferer needs one of these machines.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent- worth every penny!!

Posted25 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cariadnic
from port talbot
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took a while to buy this due to the cost but it is worth every penny. First bought and used in Dec 10, I thought that it helped but wasn't sure. Have only just had another coldsore after nearly three months, the tingling and blisters started in work so had to wait until I got home to use the device. By this time the blisters had formed on my lip and my glands were swollen. Used the device every time I remembered that evening - prob 5 times, by morning my glands were less painful and itching, burning pain of blisters had lessened. By the next day the blisters were drying up and scabbing over, my glands had gone down and there was no more pain. I kept on using the device every time i remembered prob 5-7 times a day. By the fifth day- today the scab has come off. It usually takes 7-10 days for the scab to come off so this has reduced the healing time in half. I hope that by using this the sores will come less and less in the future but I am over the moon that using the device has made the sore go more quickly and has made it less painful straight away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy it - you won't regret it!

Posted11 March 2011
Customer Avatar
curf101
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have suffered with a cold sore that always reoccurs in the same place, whenever I feel stressed, run down etc. I bought this product in June when the nasty thing resurfaced. I don't think it healed any quicker as a result of using this machine (took about 7-10 days to disappear as it usually does when using the creams). I did find it much easier than messing about with creams though which I found dried my skin out in the area surrounding the cold sore. I also found the creams made the cold sore look more unsightly.
Nine months on I have not had a single cold sore since using this machine! I have been particularly stressed during this period and would have expected to have at the very least one or two breakouts in this time but nothing at all!
I don't usually write reviews but I am so evangelical about this product - it has changed my life. I used to feel so embarrassed when I had a cold sore and used to despair at that tingling sensation which meant one was on it's way, but no more!
I know it's more expensive than the creams but I honestly urge you to try it. It has worked wonders for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would have paid twice as much for something like this!!!

Posted30 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Tinny13
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I know it is pricey but so are aciclovir creams when you think about it but this actually saves you so much hassle.
I felt cold sore possibly coming on above my lip on Friday - was thinking it could be a spot but realised it wasn't and started using the machine as instructed. I cleaned the area with alcohol (which I find dries it a bit when applied on cotton wool and pressed for a minute on a sore) used the machine then applied aciclovir in between Avert treatments. I used it about 4 times that first day. Usually blistering happens over at least 2 days - this is when my lip looks disgusting and aciclovir usually cannot stop that - just subdues it a bit. However, with this blistering was reduced to that day. By monday I had a solid small crust over the sore - something that usually takes at least a week. The area affected was reasonably large.
The second outbreak I treated straight away and it stopped it at one tiny blister which healed within a day.
Since the science behind it is that it stimulated the immune system to heal, I apply it to spots too when I get an angry one and disinfect it afterwards with alcohol. Amazing product. It works. It really does speed the healing time a great deal.
Advantages: speeds healing times, no side effects, overall great value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miraculous !!!!!!

Posted28 October 2010
Customer Avatar
Noisette
This machine is worth every penny, it started clearing up a massive painful 5 day old cold sore from the first 'zap'.
I continued to use it every hour for 4 hours, and the next day the cold sore had gone! Usually it takes several days to clear up so I am well chuffed. Offset the cost against forever buying creams and plasters, and it is cheaper in the long run, I cannot recommend it
enough, brilliant !!!! I would give it 10* if I could.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best treatment on the market

Posted29 June 2011
Customer Avatar
OBG99
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having been a cold-sore sufferer since primary school, I have tried just about every known treatment and bought this product halfway through an outbreak at the end of last year. As such I couldn't be certain if it had any real effect at the time.
However I have recently been ill with flu followed by a heavy cold - which is exactly when I normally get an outbreak. As a precaution I have been carrying the device with me and awaiting the first signs that a new outbreak was on its way. As expected the tell-tale tingle/bump on my lip appeared Monday afternoon and I started using the device immediately. This single bump would normally be quickly followed by numerous others until half of my bottom lip was covered but this time it has just remained as a single very small bump and although the device has not stopped it from turning into a slight sore, it is so small as to be hardly noticeable.
It is now Wednesday and the sore is still no bigger than the original bump I felt on Monday - maybe 2-3 mm in diameter. Although it did not stop the outbreak altogether - maybe I didn't catch it quite in time - I feel it is still so small as to be practically invisible to others. I expect it to be healed by the weekend whereas normally it would still be developing at this stage. Very impressive. Would recommend to anybody.
This is by far the best treatment I have ever encountered.
Advantages: no messy creams/ patches
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cold Sore Treatment

Posted17 July 2011
Customer Avatar
rondell3gy
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this when I had my last cold sore, however it had already gone through the stages and the machine didn't seem to help much.
A few months later now, I started getting a little tingle on Friday and a slight bump on my lip. I didn't have the machine with me (I will be keeping it in my bag now), so I used it when I got home. Its now Sunday and the swelling has gone and you have to look really closely to notice the tiny blister. I expect it should be all gone when I wake on Tuesday.
This product is an absolute saviour from going through an embarrassing 2 weeks with a nasty cold sore. Highly recommended!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

Posted23 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Karmitsa
My boyfriend tends to get really bad coldsores and this little machine has saved him!!!! The minute his gets the 'tingle' he uses it and the cold sore lasts only a couple of days.
It might be expensive, but think of all the money you are saving in the long run! I have recommended it to all my friends!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

avert cold sore machine

Posted12 January 2011
Customer Avatar
ashtonian
found this to be an absolute waste of 35 pounds did not have any affect whatsoever just another money making thing wouldnt have minded if it had been a tenner or so but the price is ridiculous if it was not something that you cannot obviously return i would have taken it back and demanded a refund
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

Posted26 August 2011
Customer Avatar
KitKatAus
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am not plagued by coldsores, but i get them regular as clockwork when I'm rundown. Always one and always in the same spot, on my bottom lip.
After a couple of anxious, sleep strained nights I got one that took two weeks to go away completely, then another only two days later! This NEVER happens - normally I have several months between them. In desperation I shelled out the money for this machine. I couldn't use it til a small 'pimple' had formed (I never get the 'tingle'). I used it rather obsessively for the first couple of days - perhaps 4 - 5 times a day. Normally a blister would form after two days, but in this case - no blister. The small pimple remained but just got smaller and smaller until it vanished completely. It took 5 days to heal completely, and was barely noticeable for that period.
I am so thrilled with this product. I nearly wept with happiness when I realised it actually worked. If you are a cold sore sufferer RUN to Boots and pick one up.
Advantages: portable - easy to carry in handbag
Disadvantages: can turn itself on in handbag - take battery out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC PRODUCT

Posted22 January 2011
Customer Avatar
nessa100
fantastic product. I was a bit unsure about the price but it is worth it considering it last forever. As soon as I feel a tingle i know a cold sore is coming I use the machine and it works brilliantly. Its easy to use and it better than using messy creams (which cost alot conidering you dont get much for the price you pay) great product and well worth the buy would recommend it to everybody
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life-changing

Posted27 January 2011
Customer Avatar
gavin8
I've been using this thing for about 3 years and have not had a fully-formed cold sore since. As long as I've got this guy around I pretty much consider myself to be free of cold sores altogether. I've become a bit of an evangelist for these things - efficacy seems to vary a bit but I can zap at the tingle and not get anything forming at all. Amazing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent PLEASE BUY!!!

Posted07 April 2011
Customer Avatar
HarrysMama
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having suffered from really bad cold sore attacks for the past 20 years (sometimes getting two a month) and spending a fortune on treatment, I tried this machine and IT IS AMAZING!!!!!!! Its works so fast, reduces the pain and clears up the blisters in hours. I cannot praise this machine enough. Worth every penny.
Advantages: really really works
Disadvantages: switches itself on easily!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yessssssss it works

Posted06 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Raymysterio
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very very sceptical about buying one of these putting it off for months until I got another sore.
I got the device into the second day when my sore was at the throb and filling full of fluid. I used the device and within hours my sore had calmed down.
My sore got smaller and less irritating over the course of the day instead of weeping and drooling and looking like a cornflake stuck to your lip like they usually do.
Yet to try it at the tingle stage but of course if your buying one you know you will always get another to test it on.
Couldn't believe it. Where's it been all my life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expensive but worth it

Posted21 December 2011
Customer Avatar
Ixiethea
from London, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A friend of mine from work recommended it, and although I winced at the price when I saw it, I knew that if this worked then the cost would return itself fairly quickly, as the little cream tubes do add up over the year (especially if you're like me, spend 10+ hours a week commuting on the London underground and pick up every bug going), and if it didn't work, I could always return it.
I've tried it and it worked like a dream! So I'm definitely keeping it and have recommended it to all of my friends already as well! Pricey, but well worth the cost. There's no mess involved, and unlike the creams, it doesn't dry your skin (which looks and feels like sunburn to me).
I used it only in the morning and evenings at the first sign of a tingle, and it was enough to ensure the cold sore never developed any further. So I didn't have to worry about carrying the machine with me.
I was a bit skeptical at first whether it was actually working, because apart from the flashing light at the top, you can't tell that the machineis doing anything (no warm feeling, no tingling, and the diodes don't light up), but the results speak for themselves. I wish the leaflet mentioned that! I actually retutrned the first machine thinking it was broken, when it clearly wasn't!
Definitely very effective!
Advantages: effective!, doesn't dry out skin, quicker results than from creams
Disadvantages: diodes don't light up, expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best thing I've bought this year

Posted13 January 2012
Customer Avatar
DannyP23
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like a previous review, I will start by stating that I very rarely review items I buy but I owe it to all acute coldsore suffers to share my experience of this. Whilst I'm sure different people will experience different results for me I've been blown away by this. For years I've caught about 1 coldsore a month with all the personal and social discomfort of sitting in meetings with an unsightly lip. Since buying the product I've used it 4 times. To manage expectations, it does not stop a blister from appearing altogether (although I did manage to get it early enough once to all but stop it developing). What it does do is pretty much stop the discomfort I get, prevents it from the dramatic spread that can occur and significantly reduces the swelling. The healing time is also much, much quicker and its less prone to cracking and bleeding. Therefore, if your a frequent suffer, think no more, I can genuinely say this is the best buy I've made this year.
The only potential downside is the size (it's not the most discrete), but it could be twice the size of my head and I'd still use it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant. If you suffer from cold sores this is for you

Posted05 February 2012
Customer Avatar
Stapenhurst
from Aberdeen, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have suffered from cold sores for about 30 years.
When Zovirax came along it made a huge difference and reduced the unpleasantness of the sores.
Compeed plasters (used at night - Zovirax during the day) also helped.
I doubted whether a machine could possibly help. But it does.
This is a significant step forward. I use it 3 times on the first day and twice thereafter, and still apply zovirax by day and compeed plasters at night. The attack lasts now just 2-3 days and, as the machine seems to help reduce blister size, the blisters are less unsightly.
If you suffer from cold sores I strongly reccommend you try this machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Incredible!

Posted28 June 2011
Customer Avatar
melissa111
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I must say - I didn't trust any of the reviews that I read yesterday... It sounds just so amazing that you think it can't be true. Well, I got a cold sore yesterday morning and went out and bought the machine... I have hardly nothing left of the cold sore on my lip. I think is because I caught it soon - but hey if instead I used cream and patches it would have taken 5 days min to heal. I can say that this machine is totally worth buying. (PS - I use it every 4hrs more or less, although states on packaging to do it once and then another time 12 hrs later)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It seems to work!

Posted07 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Zasurus
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had coldsores all of my life. I mainly get them on the inside of my right nostril which always causes problems as they mainly come when I have a cold. I have tried all the creams and all they seem to do is end up spreading it to other parts of my face!
Anyway I figured it's worth a try and got this. It apears to just be two LED's maybe inferred that you place over the coldsore/tingle and press the button. It then beeps to tell you it's started and again 3 mins later to tell you it's finished (as you can't normally see the active light)
I used it on the coldsore I had when I purhcesed it (it had already started blistering) and used it maybe 3-4 times and it went but I couldn't be sure it wasn't going to anyway! BUT I never got another coldsore for some time (again could have been just luck) then I just got another coldsore on my noise again and used it but this time it never blistered (this has NEVER happend before) then I realised it did blister slightly in a place on the inside of my noise that the light couldn't reach...
This does make me believe it is working! The fact I have only had 2 tingles since and only once has become a coldsore and only blistered in a small area alone is great! I use to get about one every month or two that lasted a week of pain. :)
I would recormend getting it if you suffer as it doesn't touch the affected area it won't spread it like the cream so you have nothing but the purches cost to lose and loads to gain!
I do think that it is a bit pricy for the hardware (a battery, timer and a few LED's) BUT well worth it for what it gives you!
Advantages: reduce requency, prevent blistering
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>