Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Electronic Cold Sore Machine works faster than cold sore creams. Treats cold sores quickly & cleanly. Speeds up healing time and easy to use. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.607 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
5 stars
95
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
82 out of 99(83%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 1 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than anything else I've tried

Posted17 June 2012
Customer Avatar
ACM3004
from Ribble Valley, Lancashire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I have sufferend from cold sores since I was a teenager. I get them when I am run down; usually after a cold - in the winter as well as in the summer. Zovirax has helped in the past, but only in shortening the outbreak/healing time. I would always get the full blown blister. The last time I felt the typical "tingle" was a few days before an important meeting, so I was desperate. I bought the machine, which admittedly is not cheap, having seen the other positive reviews. I used it about five times a day. While it didn't prevent the outbreak completely, it made such a difference! The blister never fully formed; instead there was only a red area. Instead of the pain, there was a slight tingle, and that even dissapated the more I used the machine. Note that I still used Zovirax / Boots own Avert cream in conjuction with the machine. There is no problem in doing this. I can highly recommend this to anyone who suffers from cold sores!!
Advantages: very effective, worth the money
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every suffers essential

Posted07 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Bigdowse
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
3 cold sores (yes 3!!) arrived on the Monday by the Friday all but gone. I personally think the machine brings out the cold sore very quickly allowing it to heal quicker. The only draw back is that the cold sore becomes very sore and lips do swell. In all it cut the 7-10 day cold sore down to 5, so in my book it's very good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far So Good

Posted19 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Yendi
from UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Having only just purchased this today I can't say how long it will take to heal my cold sore but after only one use it has taken the throbbing and tingling away from my sore which is in its second day. I have never had this happen with the other treatments and by day two I am in pain with my lip swollen to double the size. Based on the small amount of time I have been using this product I would definitely recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

Posted19 February 2012
Customer Avatar
louiselooks
from Glasgow
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had a cold sore for 3 weeks and tried everything, was at my wits ends and after reading all the reviews of this I decided I'd give it a bash. Well my cold sore is healing up, and almost completely gone after only 2 days of using machine. I have been getting a lot of cold sores recently and will be using this at tingle stage from now. Will report back of how that goes. Well worth the money so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted30 January 2009
Customer Avatar
kerrymerry
I've been getting coldsores for almost thirty years and they always last about 2weeks, even with the antiviral creams. Last week I erupted in the mother of all coldsores so after seeing this on the shelf decided to give it a go. Five days on and i'm just left with a slight red mark which should be gone in a day or two and is easily concealed with make up. A definite thumbs up 4 sure. Money well spent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
13of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cold Sore Machine

Posted18 February 2009
Customer Avatar
Hevntilda
This thing really works! If you use it at the first sign of a cold sore tingle (which I get regularly) the cold sore doesn't develop. If I leave it and the sore starts to come up, this machine seems to accelerate the cycle and it goes very quickly.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Buy!

Posted21 March 2014
Customer Avatar
HelenaJ1
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
So I purchased this a while ago and it didn't really seem to do anything but I read some of the reviews and decided to try it again.
I can honestly say I am glad I did, I have been using it throughout all stages of the cold sore 3 times a day and each time after use I can feel my cold sore itching as it is almost gone so know this is the healing process and almost at the end. I would definitely recommend this product to try. It is quite expensive but if you suffer from cold sores like I do and you can actually feel them getting better it is always a good sign!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny

Posted19 February 2012
Customer Avatar
atomicpuppy
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this a few years ago but never got around to writing a review. I've always suffered with cold sores, I suppose just one or two a year, each one lasting around 10 days. However, anyone who's ever had a cold sore will know that feeling when you walk around with your head bowed hoping that nobody notices you, or IT!
The final straw came when I had started a new job and I got the mother of all cold sores on my bottom lip. I was desperate to try something that might be quicker and more effective than the cream (yep, the famous one.) I saw this advertised and thought I'd give it a go, despite the price. If it didn't work I'd just put it down to experience. After a couple of days, the sore was dried out and had shrunk enormously. This was nearly 3 years ago and I have NEVER had a cold sore since! Whenever I feel anything weird on or around my lip, I just give it a blast and nothing has materialised yet! Mine lives in my work bag so it's always to hand if I need it. (Though as someone mentioned earlier, it does tend to switch itself on when knocked around in your bag - Maybe a "lock" of some sort would be a handy design addition.) Anyway, don't be put off by the price - It's worth double!!
Advantages: definitely works
Disadvantages: needs a lock to stop it switching on in your bag
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazed

Posted16 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Surprisedanddelighted
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
I've suffered cold sores for four or five years now, getting one every time I go oh holiday in sunnier climes, and occasionally when run down. Tried the creams and the Lysine to no apparent effect so was more than a little cynical about this but did some reading around the issue of laser therapy and there seems to be a growing body of evidence about its efficacy so thought this worth a try as its based on the same core principles. Have been using it for 18 months now and not a single cold sore since - to say I'm delighted would be an understatement. I use it very heavily (10-20 mins a day) in the days leading up to a sunny holiday, and daily during the holiday, and not so much as a tingle seems to occur. And then I use it once a week or fortnight during the rest of the year as a precaution. I'm so convinced I own three of the things and keep one at work, one at home and one in the car just in case I sense the virus coming on. But thus far, I take the absence as success! Would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

impressed!

Posted12 November 2012
Customer Avatar
bettyboots19
Woke up Thursday with the usual swollen lip with a blister forming, after reading about this product before I went straight to boots to buy one as creams and patches haven't worked for me. I started using it straightaway and within a few minutes the soreness had eased. I used the machine twice a day for three days and not only did the blister remain quite small, it didn't spread at all. It is now the following Monday and the sore is almost completely gone. I used to really suffer with regular cold sores, I still bear the scars of the really nasty ones but it now feels like this machine is something that will make a difference. I also take lysine supplements which may or may not be helping, but I'm willing to try anything.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product really works!

Posted30 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Jolanka
from Leeds, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
This is my first review ever. Just this time I felt I would leave a comment. I was proper skeptical at first but when I got not one but two cold sores (this never happened before! usually I get one after winter and one after summer) in a space of two days I was desperate. I have read about this machine before and only encouraged by the positive reviews, thought I would give it a go. I used the device on two cold sores:- on already developed one and another one which just started developing. The latter thanks to machine didn’t develop into ‘hundreds’ of blisters like it usually does but instead turned into one much smaller blister, it also didn’t spread etc. I used the machine a few times more than advised. What would normally take over week or so, after only two days both cold sores started drying out (also used cream at night). It’s a 3rd day now since using it and both cold sores are in a healing process! Hopefully within a next couple of days they will just disappear completely.
So yes, this stuff works! Yes, it could be a bit cheaper especially that the design is nothing special and it turns itself on when carried around in a bag (take the battery out) but all in all it’s worth the money because it works - speeds up the whole healing process, prevents from spreading and developing into blisters (however, I have had no chance to zap the cold sore just when you feel you might be getting one). That’s why I decided to leave a comment because it’s just nice to buy a product these days that actually does what it says on the tin! So if you are reading this comment, do yourself a favor and buy it! Thanks Boots.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
8of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic product

Posted26 December 2012
Customer Avatar
07414778
Iv had to deal with cold sores since being at school and like everyone I dread the day they come... I just want to hide myself away when it's full blown... I bought this product today after reading the reviews.. My cold sore is only a day old but was getting to the blister stages and after trying all the creams available thought anything else was worth a shot.... Since purchasing it today I have used it every two hours and my cluster of blisters have gone down considerably in size almost non existence :) iv never had any other treatment work so fast... If I knew about this product years ago i would have purchased it at an instant... £35 is a bargain considering this is a product for life unlike the creams... I'm just glad I have finally found a product that does what it says on the box... Would recommend to anyone, will be the best purchase to any cold sore sufferers
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sadly does not work

Posted04 August 2014
Customer Avatar
rubymay2004
I usually get a cold sore on my summer holiday, which can last around a week - more if the sun remains strong, then I get a couple over the rest of the year.
I have used this for several cold sore outbreaks and have found it makes no difference, sadly. I have tried it without cream and in conjunction with cream. When I used it, I used it around 4/5 times a day.
Using the machine on its own has made me realise that the Aciclovir does actually make a little bit of difference as the cold sore lasted nearer 10 days with just the machine.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use small enough to pop in your handbag

Posted10 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from sunderland tyne and wear
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
I have found a fantastic difference since using this product .I still get small cold sores but now they only last a few days and dont spread as they used to.As soon as i feel a tingle i use the machineI would reccomend this product to any fellow sufferers one of the best products i have ever purchased.
Advantages: i dont have to hide, self esteem
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny!!

Posted19 January 2014
Customer Avatar
ambtho
I suffer from great big swollen painful cold sores that crack and bleed,and seem to spread like wild fire. I look like I've been hit in the face when I have an out break,I've tried everything on the market. This is by the far the best I've ever tried, immediately the pain and swelling went and by the end of the first day it had dried out, buy it, you won't be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At last a 'cure'

Posted10 January 2011
Customer Avatar
Spinksy78
I bought this machine whilst i already had a coldsore on my nostril. I had applied cream but it was still swollen and sore. I used the machine twice that day. By morning, the swelling had gone and the sore seemed 'dryer', with 3 days it was completely gone. I got the chance to try this on a new coldsore on Wed, it hardly came up and By Sat morning, it was completely dry, and 'flat'. It is well worth the money and the investment is an absolute must.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2nd machine

Posted04 August 2013
Customer Avatar
sharon278
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
I first bought one of these machines in store many years ago and now it needs replacing, which is fine, I've had my monies worth. I used to get a couple of sores a month, due to stress. The creams were really expensive back then so it was well worth investing in and was recommended by a family member. I suppose everyone is different but I find that I don't get a tingle, my lip just goes cold! When I notice this I immediately vigorously rub cream in, plenty of it too and then I get my 'zapper' as I affectionately call it. I keep doing this until I'm confident it gone completely. The creams now are really cheap so I always have a stash off it too, to complement the machine. Best thing I've ever bought.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would have paid twice as much for something like this!!!

Posted30 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Tinny13
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I know it is pricey but so are aciclovir creams when you think about it but this actually saves you so much hassle.
I felt cold sore possibly coming on above my lip on Friday - was thinking it could be a spot but realised it wasn't and started using the machine as instructed. I cleaned the area with alcohol (which I find dries it a bit when applied on cotton wool and pressed for a minute on a sore) used the machine then applied aciclovir in between Avert treatments. I used it about 4 times that first day. Usually blistering happens over at least 2 days - this is when my lip looks disgusting and aciclovir usually cannot stop that - just subdues it a bit. However, with this blistering was reduced to that day. By monday I had a solid small crust over the sore - something that usually takes at least a week. The area affected was reasonably large.
The second outbreak I treated straight away and it stopped it at one tiny blister which healed within a day.
Since the science behind it is that it stimulated the immune system to heal, I apply it to spots too when I get an angry one and disinfect it afterwards with alcohol. Amazing product. It works. It really does speed the healing time a great deal.
Advantages: speeds healing times, no side effects, overall great value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

really does work

Posted09 January 2013
Customer Avatar
barber83
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I have always suffered with recurrent cold sores so decided to buy this product after reading the reviews. I usually need to use Zoviraz and cold sore patches to help clear my outbreak which usually takes at least 3 weeks to clear. I did not see any difference the first day or so using this machine but after this my cold sore seemed to start healing much quicker than usual. I have used the machine every 2 hours as the col sore I had was quite a large one, it has stopped the scabbing over and the cracking and bleeding that usually occurs.
Don't expect instant results particularly if you suffer with bad recurrent cold sores, give it a few days and you should start to notice the healing. My cold sore has almost healed after a week of using this machine which is a massive improvement for me. I would definately recommend this product to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted30 June 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I hate having cold sores, the one's I seem to get are never discreet even with the patches. The second day I found this machine and used it, about 4 times a day. I'm now on the 5th day and it has nearly gone. The price tag is quite high, but like other people I definitely think its worth it. Also its painless which was something I was worried about.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>