Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine is easy to use and treats cold sores quickly and cleanly. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.574 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
5 stars
86
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
82 out of 99(83%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 21 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing - a must buy for any cold sore sufferer

Posted21 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Tasha200
from Hertfordshire, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
So yesterday morning I broke out with not 1 but 3 cold sores on my top lip, precisely 4 days before my wedding. I woke up with the familiar tingling, and quickly smeared my lips in Zovirax and headed to Boots certain there must be something else on the market that could get rid of my cold sores in less than the average 7-10 days mine normally take to clear up even when using Zovirax and Compeed patches. Whilst this was expensive compared to other treatments, I was prepared to try anything, and I can honestly say that after 2 applications yesterday and one this morning my cold sores have all but disappeared. This is by the far the most effective and amazing treatment I have ever used. Well worth every penny,
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best treatment on the market

Posted29 June 2011
Customer Avatar
OBG99
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having been a cold-sore sufferer since primary school, I have tried just about every known treatment and bought this product halfway through an outbreak at the end of last year. As such I couldn't be certain if it had any real effect at the time.
However I have recently been ill with flu followed by a heavy cold - which is exactly when I normally get an outbreak. As a precaution I have been carrying the device with me and awaiting the first signs that a new outbreak was on its way. As expected the tell-tale tingle/bump on my lip appeared Monday afternoon and I started using the device immediately. This single bump would normally be quickly followed by numerous others until half of my bottom lip was covered but this time it has just remained as a single very small bump and although the device has not stopped it from turning into a slight sore, it is so small as to be hardly noticeable.
It is now Wednesday and the sore is still no bigger than the original bump I felt on Monday - maybe 2-3 mm in diameter. Although it did not stop the outbreak altogether - maybe I didn't catch it quite in time - I feel it is still so small as to be practically invisible to others. I expect it to be healed by the weekend whereas normally it would still be developing at this stage. Very impressive. Would recommend to anybody.
This is by far the best treatment I have ever encountered.
Advantages: no messy creams/ patches
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

Posted26 August 2011
Customer Avatar
KitKatAus
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am not plagued by coldsores, but i get them regular as clockwork when I'm rundown. Always one and always in the same spot, on my bottom lip.
After a couple of anxious, sleep strained nights I got one that took two weeks to go away completely, then another only two days later! This NEVER happens - normally I have several months between them. In desperation I shelled out the money for this machine. I couldn't use it til a small 'pimple' had formed (I never get the 'tingle'). I used it rather obsessively for the first couple of days - perhaps 4 - 5 times a day. Normally a blister would form after two days, but in this case - no blister. The small pimple remained but just got smaller and smaller until it vanished completely. It took 5 days to heal completely, and was barely noticeable for that period.
I am so thrilled with this product. I nearly wept with happiness when I realised it actually worked. If you are a cold sore sufferer RUN to Boots and pick one up.
Advantages: portable - easy to carry in handbag
Disadvantages: can turn itself on in handbag - take battery out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the money

Posted16 December 2011
Customer Avatar
Jakeysmum
from Norfolk, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was initially a little skeptical about this machine but, as a cold sore sufferer for many years, I was prepared to try it. The first time I used it I had an existing cold sore, so the results were not much different from when I have used the Avert cream. However, the next time, I used it at the first "tingle" and it really worked. The cold sore just didn't materialise.
My only criticism really is that you need to carry it with you so that you can use it at a moment's notice, but I found it was constantly switiching itself on in my handbag and draining the battery. I think it would be a good idea if it came in its own rigid case (or if one were available separately). I have overcome this by using an old spectacle case, but I have to wrap it in a cloth to stop it rattling around inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A must have

Posted04 February 2012
Customer Avatar
Annap1981
from Stamford
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This makes a huge difference to cold sore healing times. Really recommend it for long time sufferers like myself.
One minor thing to watch out for. It's best if you carry it with you at all times incase of a break out, But don't take it shopping as it sets off every store alarm including Boots!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it works brilliantly

Posted05 February 2013
Customer Avatar
unbeliever
from liverpool
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I read the reviews before purchasing for a family member and was a little sceptical because all the reviews seem to be from people who have reviewed nothing else. However, I am delighted I went ahead and bought this as the recipient had a cold sore 'tingle' on the same day. Used straight away and the tingle was gone by next morning. Despite having been unwell and run down, stressed or had a cold a few times since, which makes cold sores more likely, she hasn't had a single one in the 4 months since she got this machine. Don;t know how it works it just does. Excellent results, would recommend to any cold sore sufferer
Advantages: it works, saves money on other remedies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprised but it really does work...

Posted07 May 2014
Customer Avatar
13Gerbera
from London
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
I bought this after reading a Sali Hughes review in The Guardian and was, to be frank, more than a little sceptical. You probably won't be reading this review unless you get cold sores, so you know how horrible they are when they do strike and how willing you are to try anything to get rid of them quickly even if it sounds bizarre.
Well, cold sore started (woke up with it so didn't catch the initial tingles) and I started using this gadget, along with Compeed patches, straightaway and now, 5 days later, you would hardly know that I had a cold sore. Amazing as before my cold sores have lasted 10-14 days. Must be the gadget as I have done nothing else differently this time and I used it approx 5 times a day.
SO delighted to have found something that actually makes a difference. Just wish someone would discover a way of preventing them from occuring in the first place.
If you are still dithering, take a leap of faith and give it a go, it won't cure the cold sores but it does reduce the duration of them and severity so is worth every penny.
 
My product recommendations
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expensive but worth it

Posted21 December 2011
Customer Avatar
Ixiethea
from London, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A friend of mine from work recommended it, and although I winced at the price when I saw it, I knew that if this worked then the cost would return itself fairly quickly, as the little cream tubes do add up over the year (especially if you're like me, spend 10+ hours a week commuting on the London underground and pick up every bug going), and if it didn't work, I could always return it.
I've tried it and it worked like a dream! So I'm definitely keeping it and have recommended it to all of my friends already as well! Pricey, but well worth the cost. There's no mess involved, and unlike the creams, it doesn't dry your skin (which looks and feels like sunburn to me).
I used it only in the morning and evenings at the first sign of a tingle, and it was enough to ensure the cold sore never developed any further. So I didn't have to worry about carrying the machine with me.
I was a bit skeptical at first whether it was actually working, because apart from the flashing light at the top, you can't tell that the machineis doing anything (no warm feeling, no tingling, and the diodes don't light up), but the results speak for themselves. I wish the leaflet mentioned that! I actually retutrned the first machine thinking it was broken, when it clearly wasn't!
Definitely very effective!
Advantages: effective!, doesn't dry out skin, quicker results than from creams
Disadvantages: diodes don't light up, expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant. If you suffer from cold sores this is for you

Posted05 February 2012
Customer Avatar
Stapenhurst
from Aberdeen, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have suffered from cold sores for about 30 years.
When Zovirax came along it made a huge difference and reduced the unpleasantness of the sores.
Compeed plasters (used at night - Zovirax during the day) also helped.
I doubted whether a machine could possibly help. But it does.
This is a significant step forward. I use it 3 times on the first day and twice thereafter, and still apply zovirax by day and compeed plasters at night. The attack lasts now just 2-3 days and, as the machine seems to help reduce blister size, the blisters are less unsightly.
If you suffer from cold sores I strongly reccommend you try this machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing - well worth the price

Posted15 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I used to get cold sores every now and then due to heat, intense stress etc, and I would look like elephant man for at least 10 days, until it starts reducing. Even when applying Zovirax or any other product when it tingled, i knew it would grow big and ugly. I tried thi machine, without really thinking it would be that amazing. I had 3 cold sores, one did not grow at all, and the other 2 remained minimal and did not double my lips size. This product really works, and you need to make sure you use it at least twice a day or more, it wont hurt if you use it more anyway. This is my life savvior and i take it everywhere with me as i never know when my cold sores could appear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Incredible!

Posted28 June 2011
Customer Avatar
melissa111
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I must say - I didn't trust any of the reviews that I read yesterday... It sounds just so amazing that you think it can't be true. Well, I got a cold sore yesterday morning and went out and bought the machine... I have hardly nothing left of the cold sore on my lip. I think is because I caught it soon - but hey if instead I used cream and patches it would have taken 5 days min to heal. I can say that this machine is totally worth buying. (PS - I use it every 4hrs more or less, although states on packaging to do it once and then another time 12 hrs later)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The machine really works-and is still working well after 3 years!

Posted13 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Bellawoo29
from UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I have been plagued by cold sores since I was a teenager (now in my late thirties) and nothing has ever worked like this little machine! And my cold sores are really nasty-I always get them on my top lip, my lip swells out to about twice the normal size, they are painful and unsightly with several weeping blisters and one particularly bad attack even left me with a scar above my lip. I would usually get them 2 or 3 times a year and each time it would take several days before the sore even started to scab and often it could be a couple of weeks until it properly healed. After suffering 2 in quick succession about 3 years ago I decided to try the Boots Avert machine. I already had a cold sore when I purchased it but it significantly reduced the length of time I had the sore. I wondered if it may just be coincidence-I didn't usually have cold sore attacks so close together, maybe the second one would have been less severe anyway? But I kept on periodically using the machine and I went around a year without suffering one at all-even after triggers like dry, chapped lips, colds or sun exposure. I have also sometimes experienced the tell-tale tingle and used the machine and no sore has developed. However yesterday I woke up to feel one starting so I reached for the machine immediately but was disappointed to find that a really nasty sore developed regardless. However the speed with which it has gone through the horrid stages has been remarkable-just yesterday it tingled, swelled, blistered, started weeping and began to scab all in one day and today it feels so much easier, the scab has come off without bleeding and my cold sore is well on the way to being healed-in just 2 days! I just felt it about time I added to all the great reviews on this product as I really do recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

avert electronic coldsore machine

Posted01 September 2013
Customer Avatar
oOmazOo
Yesterday having had my second coldsore appear within 3 months (usually lasting 7/10 days) I decided to purchase this not expecting too much with the coldsore being on day 2 and not at the tingling stage, so far I have used this twice ( 2 x 3 minute treatments) and I can honestly say my coldsore has gone from a red tight blister to an almost dry small spot AND ONLY AFTER TWO TREATMENTS... I don't really write review but so thrilled with this I had too, def well worth the money you won't be disappointed :o)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny!!

Posted19 January 2014
Customer Avatar
ambtho
I suffer from great big swollen painful cold sores that crack and bleed,and seem to spread like wild fire. I look like I've been hit in the face when I have an out break,I've tried everything on the market. This is by the far the best I've ever tried, immediately the pain and swelling went and by the end of the first day it had dried out, buy it, you won't be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

AT LAST SOMETHING THAT WORKS! BUY BUY BUY!!

Posted14 March 2014
Customer Avatar
MrsOgreKG
from Highlands, Scotland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
I woke up on Wed morning resembling a cross between The Elephant Man and Jackie Stallone.....to say I was depressed about this massive, swelling, red and yellow weeping lip was an understatement! Out came the well know expensive cream and lathered on..... by the afternoon I was very upset about it (as everyone I had met that morning was staring at 'it' even though I tried to walk around with my head down to hide the horrendous sight) ANYWAY.... got my husband to pop to boots to buy this for me, I've always put it off in the past due to the high price tag but he went and got it.... remember this was wednesday evening (12th March), used the machine as soon as he came home and another 3 or 4 times that night, covered my lip in the cream and went to bed (expecting miracles if Im honest) woke up to a not so swollen lip and it beginning to scab over already! (only resembling Jackie Stallone at this point) used it every 3 hours throughout Thursday and no cream, by that night the swelling had reduced and was completely scabbed!! Used the cream again over night and this morning (Friday 14th, so DAY 3) woke up to swelling nearly GONE and scabbing half the size it was, OMG I cant believe it tonight the swelling is completely gone and the scab should be tiny by tomorrow morning. Usually on day 3 for me it would be just stopping swelling up and would be weeping still. DONT LET PRICE PUT YOU OFF!!! When you think how much you spend on creams or patches its worth it. (I also use tabs from docs) It definitely speeds up the healing process and makes thing happen faster, also helps reduce the pain. Only downside is I've already had to replace the battery after 3 days use... so would suggest you buy a few spares. It doesnt work 'overnight' but by day 2 you will notice a difference. Look forward to using it next time at 'warning' stage to see if it stops the dreaded 'thing' in its tracks. Sorry for massive review but I'm rather excited about this product and very impressed!!! BEST THING EVER! GO BUY IT!!!!>>>> NOW!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great and effective in 2 days !!

Posted24 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Annie736
Absolutely amazing !! I have been having cold sores very frequently since I am 8 years old ( I am 24) and they always got big and painful, and lasted for days. My cold sore appeared on Tuesday morning I was sceptical because of the price but I decided to try the machine as I am getting really desperate and tried everything ( tablets, creams, tea tree oil etc…). I bought it at lunch time ( so less than 12 hours after the beginning of the tingle ). I used it straight away and was using zovirax cream in between. I used it 4 times per day ( morning, lunch, after work around 6 and before going to bed around 10 or 11). It’s Thursday and the cold sore disappeared !!! I will keep using the machine today just to make sure it completely killed it but I don’t feel anything anymore. After allll the treatments I tried this one really seems to be the best. In 2 days it appeared and disappeared without anyone noticing. I really really really recommend it to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous!

Posted02 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Curlypurple
from Oxford, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Once per year
I used this as soon as I felt the 'tingle' and even though the cold sore still came out, it was nowhere near as bad as they normally are, it was drier generally and from the tingle to completely going was a week, mine would normally last at least 2 weeks. Very pleased with the product, very simple to use, you can't feel it and it's quick (3 minutes)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally something that works

Posted23 August 2014
Customer Avatar
15Ailsa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
This product is pricey but worth it, I have suffered from cold sores since childhood and tried everything. I always end up with my whole lip covered and they take about two weeks to go even with cream. On Tuesday I got the dreaded tingle and started to put on cream straight away. When I finished work I went to boots and bought this as I had read reviews and although doubtful was so fed up anything was worth a try. my lip had two separate sores and it felt like it would spread but after using this little wonder three or four times a day since Tuesday it has all but disappeared (its now Saturday). I would recommend this to anyone who suffers from this horrid condition.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it does actually work........

Posted28 August 2014
Customer Avatar
busy5
from uk
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
I have cold sores on my jaw bone, a patch of about 10 together, they come up every time I get run down or really stressed and they usually last at least a month to six weeks, my face swells, my glands come up and I have to cover with a giant plaster.....this time I got a tingle on a thusday night by Friday it was a huge mess ordered and delivered by Saturday and started using immediately. that was two weeks ago. I was able to go to a wedding on Saturday and no one could tell i had a flare up...........amazing..... i did use blister plasters to cover it overnight as they work well at stopping itching too.
only neg is there is no off button so i kept taking battery out as the on button is so easy to knock and turn on.
expensive but glad i got it. six weeks of pain down to two is a result in my opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC

Posted29 August 2014
Customer Avatar
2010jj
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
this product is fantastic!
i was a little unsure of buying this because of the price but its amazing! this is better than any cream i have ever used!
my cold sores came up on saturday i had quite a few and they were painful,on the saturday and sunday i used the machine a lot and you could see the difference in days and by tuesday they had almost gone,i was still using the machine a couple of times a day just to be sure! this product is the best thing i have ever brought for my cold sores and highly recommend it to everyone!! dont hesitate because of the price because you will not regret buying this ,i feel a little self conscience when i have cold sores but since i have been using this machine i dont feel as low when i get them because i know they will be gone in a couple of days! Also they advise you to use the machine as soon as you feel the tingle,unfortunately i never feel a tingle but i use the machine as soon as i feel i have the cold sore and it still works very well!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>