Boots Ratings and Reviews
Gok
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine is easy to use and treats cold sores quickly and cleanly. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.568 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
5 stars
75
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
75 out of 91(82%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 21 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product changed my life!

Posted12 February 2012
Customer Avatar
SophieA1981
from Southampton
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a truly amazing machine. I used to get a cold sore every month lasting 12 days and now they only last for 2 days and get only one every 3-4 months! A good tip is to use anytime you feel tired/run-down/hungover (even without a tingle) on the area you would normally get one. There will be no swelling, pain or disgusting scabbing even if one does come up. It truly has changed my life! MAGIC!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it works brilliantly

Posted05 February 2013
Customer Avatar
unbeliever
from liverpool
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I read the reviews before purchasing for a family member and was a little sceptical because all the reviews seem to be from people who have reviewed nothing else. However, I am delighted I went ahead and bought this as the recipient had a cold sore 'tingle' on the same day. Used straight away and the tingle was gone by next morning. Despite having been unwell and run down, stressed or had a cold a few times since, which makes cold sores more likely, she hasn't had a single one in the 4 months since she got this machine. Don;t know how it works it just does. Excellent results, would recommend to any cold sore sufferer
Advantages: it works, saves money on other remedies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well spent

Posted12 March 2010
Customer Avatar
griffi123
I don't usually write reviews but I really think this works. I have told my family and friends about it. Usually get at least one cold sore a month but haven't had one since buying this 2 months ago. Also I bought it when I had a pretty bad cold sore. It was very painful. The pain stopped as soon as I used this and it dried up. Healed very quickly. Better than creams or tablets. So far so good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best treatment on the market

Posted29 June 2011
Customer Avatar
OBG99
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having been a cold-sore sufferer since primary school, I have tried just about every known treatment and bought this product halfway through an outbreak at the end of last year. As such I couldn't be certain if it had any real effect at the time.
However I have recently been ill with flu followed by a heavy cold - which is exactly when I normally get an outbreak. As a precaution I have been carrying the device with me and awaiting the first signs that a new outbreak was on its way. As expected the tell-tale tingle/bump on my lip appeared Monday afternoon and I started using the device immediately. This single bump would normally be quickly followed by numerous others until half of my bottom lip was covered but this time it has just remained as a single very small bump and although the device has not stopped it from turning into a slight sore, it is so small as to be hardly noticeable.
It is now Wednesday and the sore is still no bigger than the original bump I felt on Monday - maybe 2-3 mm in diameter. Although it did not stop the outbreak altogether - maybe I didn't catch it quite in time - I feel it is still so small as to be practically invisible to others. I expect it to be healed by the weekend whereas normally it would still be developing at this stage. Very impressive. Would recommend to anybody.
This is by far the best treatment I have ever encountered.
Advantages: no messy creams/ patches
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expensive but worth it

Posted21 December 2011
Customer Avatar
Ixiethea
from London, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A friend of mine from work recommended it, and although I winced at the price when I saw it, I knew that if this worked then the cost would return itself fairly quickly, as the little cream tubes do add up over the year (especially if you're like me, spend 10+ hours a week commuting on the London underground and pick up every bug going), and if it didn't work, I could always return it.
I've tried it and it worked like a dream! So I'm definitely keeping it and have recommended it to all of my friends already as well! Pricey, but well worth the cost. There's no mess involved, and unlike the creams, it doesn't dry your skin (which looks and feels like sunburn to me).
I used it only in the morning and evenings at the first sign of a tingle, and it was enough to ensure the cold sore never developed any further. So I didn't have to worry about carrying the machine with me.
I was a bit skeptical at first whether it was actually working, because apart from the flashing light at the top, you can't tell that the machineis doing anything (no warm feeling, no tingling, and the diodes don't light up), but the results speak for themselves. I wish the leaflet mentioned that! I actually retutrned the first machine thinking it was broken, when it clearly wasn't!
Definitely very effective!
Advantages: effective!, doesn't dry out skin, quicker results than from creams
Disadvantages: diodes don't light up, expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant. If you suffer from cold sores this is for you

Posted05 February 2012
Customer Avatar
Stapenhurst
from Aberdeen, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have suffered from cold sores for about 30 years.
When Zovirax came along it made a huge difference and reduced the unpleasantness of the sores.
Compeed plasters (used at night - Zovirax during the day) also helped.
I doubted whether a machine could possibly help. But it does.
This is a significant step forward. I use it 3 times on the first day and twice thereafter, and still apply zovirax by day and compeed plasters at night. The attack lasts now just 2-3 days and, as the machine seems to help reduce blister size, the blisters are less unsightly.
If you suffer from cold sores I strongly reccommend you try this machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing - well worth the price

Posted15 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I used to get cold sores every now and then due to heat, intense stress etc, and I would look like elephant man for at least 10 days, until it starts reducing. Even when applying Zovirax or any other product when it tingled, i knew it would grow big and ugly. I tried thi machine, without really thinking it would be that amazing. I had 3 cold sores, one did not grow at all, and the other 2 remained minimal and did not double my lips size. This product really works, and you need to make sure you use it at least twice a day or more, it wont hurt if you use it more anyway. This is my life savvior and i take it everywhere with me as i never know when my cold sores could appear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

Posted26 August 2011
Customer Avatar
KitKatAus
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am not plagued by coldsores, but i get them regular as clockwork when I'm rundown. Always one and always in the same spot, on my bottom lip.
After a couple of anxious, sleep strained nights I got one that took two weeks to go away completely, then another only two days later! This NEVER happens - normally I have several months between them. In desperation I shelled out the money for this machine. I couldn't use it til a small 'pimple' had formed (I never get the 'tingle'). I used it rather obsessively for the first couple of days - perhaps 4 - 5 times a day. Normally a blister would form after two days, but in this case - no blister. The small pimple remained but just got smaller and smaller until it vanished completely. It took 5 days to heal completely, and was barely noticeable for that period.
I am so thrilled with this product. I nearly wept with happiness when I realised it actually worked. If you are a cold sore sufferer RUN to Boots and pick one up.
Advantages: portable - easy to carry in handbag
Disadvantages: can turn itself on in handbag - take battery out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Incredible!

Posted28 June 2011
Customer Avatar
melissa111
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I must say - I didn't trust any of the reviews that I read yesterday... It sounds just so amazing that you think it can't be true. Well, I got a cold sore yesterday morning and went out and bought the machine... I have hardly nothing left of the cold sore on my lip. I think is because I caught it soon - but hey if instead I used cream and patches it would have taken 5 days min to heal. I can say that this machine is totally worth buying. (PS - I use it every 4hrs more or less, although states on packaging to do it once and then another time 12 hrs later)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

avert electronic coldsore machine

Posted01 September 2013
Customer Avatar
oOmazOo
Yesterday having had my second coldsore appear within 3 months (usually lasting 7/10 days) I decided to purchase this not expecting too much with the coldsore being on day 2 and not at the tingling stage, so far I have used this twice ( 2 x 3 minute treatments) and I can honestly say my coldsore has gone from a red tight blister to an almost dry small spot AND ONLY AFTER TWO TREATMENTS... I don't really write review but so thrilled with this I had too, def well worth the money you won't be disappointed :o)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny!!

Posted19 January 2014
Customer Avatar
ambtho
I suffer from great big swollen painful cold sores that crack and bleed,and seem to spread like wild fire. I look like I've been hit in the face when I have an out break,I've tried everything on the market. This is by the far the best I've ever tried, immediately the pain and swelling went and by the end of the first day it had dried out, buy it, you won't be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The machine really works-and is still working well after 3 years!

Posted13 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Bellawoo29
from UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I have been plagued by cold sores since I was a teenager (now in my late thirties) and nothing has ever worked like this little machine! And my cold sores are really nasty-I always get them on my top lip, my lip swells out to about twice the normal size, they are painful and unsightly with several weeping blisters and one particularly bad attack even left me with a scar above my lip. I would usually get them 2 or 3 times a year and each time it would take several days before the sore even started to scab and often it could be a couple of weeks until it properly healed. After suffering 2 in quick succession about 3 years ago I decided to try the Boots Avert machine. I already had a cold sore when I purchased it but it significantly reduced the length of time I had the sore. I wondered if it may just be coincidence-I didn't usually have cold sore attacks so close together, maybe the second one would have been less severe anyway? But I kept on periodically using the machine and I went around a year without suffering one at all-even after triggers like dry, chapped lips, colds or sun exposure. I have also sometimes experienced the tell-tale tingle and used the machine and no sore has developed. However yesterday I woke up to feel one starting so I reached for the machine immediately but was disappointed to find that a really nasty sore developed regardless. However the speed with which it has gone through the horrid stages has been remarkable-just yesterday it tingled, swelled, blistered, started weeping and began to scab all in one day and today it feels so much easier, the scab has come off without bleeding and my cold sore is well on the way to being healed-in just 2 days! I just felt it about time I added to all the great reviews on this product as I really do recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cold Sore sufferer? You MUST buy this

Posted19 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Sparko
from South Tyneside, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A belated review of such a fantastic product! I have suffered from cold sores all my life and these last few years I've manged to get them more than ever. I tried tablets (which stops them appearing as frequently but I'm not a 'tablet taker' fan) but missed taking them a few times and low and behold a cold sore would appear.
The final straw for me was last summer. I was going to a friends Christening and had a brake out over the majority of my bottom lip the day before and through the night. I found this item by default and went and got it the very morning of the Christening.
In a vain affected mad panic I initially used it 3 or 4 times in a row (they say use it once (3 minutes) when you get the tingle but as it was already 'out' I thought 'just go for it!') and the results were amazing.
The sting? Gone. The redness and 'look of a blister'? Dried out. It left a 'chapped lip' type look which, to be fair. blended in with my lips so it wasn't such a bad deal!
The cold sores dried out and were gone within little over a week where normally, they dry, scab over and remain for at least 2.
From then on I've never looked back and although taking it to work and back daily (just in-case!) can be a nuisance, its well worth it knowing that when that tingle happens you can just 'Zap' the life out of it!!
I remembered to write a review because of what happened this week.
I forgot to take my Machine on Monday and got a cold sore which had spread by close of play.
I got home, 'zapped' it few times and it dried out straight away. Here we are on Thursday and its all but dried out but more importantly, I don't feel as if anyone has looked at me (or IT!!) this week.
Ignore the price, ignore the size, ignore the fact you will have to change the battery (once in 6 months for me) now and again, simply purchase this, make your life easier and start telling everyone how good it is!!
Advantages: timer - beeps when starts and finishes, effective - fast!, my partner has also used this to dry out her spots, 1 week 'dried patches' over 2-3 week blisters
Disadvantages: are you serious???
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny

Posted19 February 2012
Customer Avatar
atomicpuppy
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this a few years ago but never got around to writing a review. I've always suffered with cold sores, I suppose just one or two a year, each one lasting around 10 days. However, anyone who's ever had a cold sore will know that feeling when you walk around with your head bowed hoping that nobody notices you, or IT!
The final straw came when I had started a new job and I got the mother of all cold sores on my bottom lip. I was desperate to try something that might be quicker and more effective than the cream (yep, the famous one.) I saw this advertised and thought I'd give it a go, despite the price. If it didn't work I'd just put it down to experience. After a couple of days, the sore was dried out and had shrunk enormously. This was nearly 3 years ago and I have NEVER had a cold sore since! Whenever I feel anything weird on or around my lip, I just give it a blast and nothing has materialised yet! Mine lives in my work bag so it's always to hand if I need it. (Though as someone mentioned earlier, it does tend to switch itself on when knocked around in your bag - Maybe a "lock" of some sort would be a handy design addition.) Anyway, don't be put off by the price - It's worth double!!
Advantages: definitely works
Disadvantages: needs a lock to stop it switching on in your bag
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked - even when it was fully out!

Posted05 December 2012
Customer Avatar
EHildreth
I developed my coldsore Sunday morning and only got round to buying this Tuesday morning. I've used it about 6 times already and it has shrunk my coldsore every time. I've suffered from cold sores twice/three times yearly since I was little and I'm now 21 and sick of them!
I trusted the reviews here and they are not wrong. Although I imagine it will be even more effective if I nip it in the bud soon I first feel them coming on, I can already tell a difference from using it yesterday on a fully out one and I expect even the scab to be gone Friday morning (mine normally last a full week - to a week and a half). Really pleased so far and would strongly suggest buying. I have been using patches (before completely scabbed) and cream too.
It may seem pricey but it has a great warranty, and for the amounts of times you will use it in years to come it is a great investment.
Advantages: only takes 3 minutes to do
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic product

Posted26 December 2012
Customer Avatar
07414778
Iv had to deal with cold sores since being at school and like everyone I dread the day they come... I just want to hide myself away when it's full blown... I bought this product today after reading the reviews.. My cold sore is only a day old but was getting to the blister stages and after trying all the creams available thought anything else was worth a shot.... Since purchasing it today I have used it every two hours and my cluster of blisters have gone down considerably in size almost non existence :) iv never had any other treatment work so fast... If I knew about this product years ago i would have purchased it at an instant... £35 is a bargain considering this is a product for life unlike the creams... I'm just glad I have finally found a product that does what it says on the box... Would recommend to anyone, will be the best purchase to any cold sore sufferers
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miraculous !!!!!!

Posted28 October 2010
Customer Avatar
Noisette
This machine is worth every penny, it started clearing up a massive painful 5 day old cold sore from the first 'zap'.
I continued to use it every hour for 4 hours, and the next day the cold sore had gone! Usually it takes several days to clear up so I am well chuffed. Offset the cost against forever buying creams and plasters, and it is cheaper in the long run, I cannot recommend it
enough, brilliant !!!! I would give it 10* if I could.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted18 December 2009
Customer Avatar
sharonk77
i have suffered with cold sores for many years, causing pain, suffering and embarassment i often wouldnt leave the house for days because of how awful they look. I have recently been getting a cold sore every month, leaving me with really swollen lips and in agony. I have tried all the creams on the market but they really werent helping so my husband bought me the boots electronic cold sore treatment and thank god he did! It really does work! im not sure how but i really dont care! it stops the pain and the swelling and the awful crusty scab, my cold sore had healed in 24 hours! amazing! would reccommend this to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle, I swear!

Posted18 May 2009
Customer Avatar
Calliope
I used to suffer from cold sore flare ups every month without fail. 5 months ago after I ran out of the cream and the patches i went to boots and found this! I treated my cold sore as the instructions said and it made my coldsore go within days! And, even better than that, i havn't had one in 5 months! AMAZING! It's totally worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!!!

Posted24 February 2012
Customer Avatar
rachyrach223
from blackburn
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
I bought this some time again but thought I'd express my thought that this product is amazing! I have always suffered with coldsores and I hate them :( at first I thought this product was really pricy but I've tried all the creams and the only one I thought that worked was the boots lip and cold sore cream...the cheapest one but cream took a good 5-7 days for it to clear so I bought this! I used it and my cold disappeared within 2 days!! Absolutely brilliant! And since I bought this I rarely get them at all now :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>