Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine is easy to use and treats cold sores quickly and cleanly. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.574 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
5 stars
86
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
82 out of 99(83%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 1 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold sore?????

Posted26 January 2009
Customer Avatar
blondy
i think that this is a great brake through, i'm always getting them but this is the fastest that i have got rid of one!!! i want a free one so i can give one to my boyfriend who always seems to get them as i get rid of one :-(
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
5of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cold Sore Machine

Posted18 February 2009
Customer Avatar
Hevntilda
This thing really works! If you use it at the first sign of a cold sore tingle (which I get regularly) the cold sore doesn't develop. If I leave it and the sore starts to come up, this machine seems to accelerate the cycle and it goes very quickly.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Electric Cold Sore Treatment

Posted12 January 2009
Customer Avatar
BigMac
I am a cold sore sufferer of many years and tried many treatments including patches, although effective they would not stay on following eating or drinking. I recently received the electronic device and anxioulsy awaited the day I would need to use! This arrived last week and immediately set to work with the device following instructions other than used 4 times a day instead of 2, which is permitted. Unfortunately I am very disappointed, day 4 instead of disappearing it is worse than would have been with a cream. I will give another chance but if same result with next cold sore I will be seeking a refund as does not perform in accordance with promise. Normally using Zovirax my sore would now be at healing stage. Not recommended. Will update if improves next time!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
23of 35voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tinny13
London
 
Please wait while more information about Tinny13 is loaded.
Additional information about Tinny13 could not be loaded.
Don't give up, use with Zovirax
Posted 31 March 2014
I never gave up Zovirax, I just added this machine to my routine. I use it then apply Zovirax. When I need to reapply, I use it again and reapply. I think it works best with the cream. They each do their thing. But it does speed stuff up for me and to be honest, as someone who used to get sold sores every month in the same place, after using this for a year, I have had maybe 2 cold sores in the past 2 or so years. It seems to have healed the vulnerable place I had which would always be where they'd break out.
I did not change anything else in my life and in fact, last flue I had I was pleasantly surprised when I did not get any cold sores. I used to get several when under any illness. Don't give up the cream, just add this to your routine. I use it over the cream too.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cold Sore Machine

Posted21 January 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy
This does not give overnight results but does help to clear the cold sore without drying it out too much and helps the skin underneath to regenerate quicker making the cold sore heal less painlessly. It also elimates the need for endless creams and lotions. Although expensive to purchase, it does work out cheaper in the long run as it can be used many times.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Astounded at how well this works

Posted27 October 2009
Customer Avatar
Chippy
It really does work and you may find that coldsore attacks are a distant memory for you too! After suffering for years with coldsores, sometimes having them back to back for months... I tried this out of desperation. The coldsore did take about a week to go, which was no quicker than normal. So I thought it hadn't done anything. BUT..I have not had another coldsore since. It has been 6 months now. If I feel a tingle, I use the gun twice in the day and a coldsore never erupts. I don't know how it works, but it really is a great product. 35 pounds is lot of money, but not when you compare how much you spend on creams and patches every time. I would thoroughly recommend this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electronic cold sore treatment

Posted28 October 2009
Customer Avatar
carriefan1
I have suffered from cold sores for some time - especially when I am run down. I have used all the creams over the years and one by one have stopped being effective. I tried this electronic treatment after doing some online research. My cold sore began on a saturday night and by sunday morning very large, swollen and painful. I bought the product that lunchtime and tried for first time - after 3 mins it stopped the pain. I used it once more that day and three times on the monday. By tuesday it was almost gone and by wednesday it was gone. Amazing - well worth the price and unlikely to get immune to this one. Definitely recommend this to anyone suffering regularly from cold sores. (Unlike most of the other reviewers - I used no other creams,patches etc.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
London18
London
 
Please wait while more information about London18 is loaded.
Additional information about London18 could not be loaded.
Brilliant Product
Posted 08 June 2013
I felt compelled to write a review on boots cold sore machine as it actually works.
I've had cold sores on and off since my early twenties and have tried various products to no avail, I find creams spread or increases the size of cold sores they only work at the beginning stage. My cold sore as usual decides to make an appearance when I have to be around the public. I normally don't leave my house when this happens and cancel everything for a few days. This time I did not want to be defeated by this thing on my lip. I left my house early to avoid as many people as possible and purchased boots cold sore machine after the positive reviews I have read.
When I got home I made sure I zapped the life out of my coldsore which was fairly big and ugly at this stage. I did this in hourly intervals, before I went to bed I put a salt and toothepaste mix on the sore to dry it out.
To my amazement when I woke up and checked on the progess of my treatment, not only had my coldsore shrunk in size it actually surpassed the weeping stage and scabbed over all in 24hrs.
I do put it down to the machine as I have tried the toothpaste treatment before and it has never healed a cold sore attack as quickly.
I am really pleased with my purchase and it is money well spent as it does what it says on the packet and it is hygenic and cost effective.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you suffer from cold sores - buy one!

Posted14 August 2009
Customer Avatar
NicholaMcC
At first I was very sceptical about this product, but like most cold sore sufferers, I'm willing to try ANYTHING, at least once! I was initially put off by the high price tag of 35.00, but after reading a couple of good reviews online, I decided it was worth a shot. It was the best 35.00 I've ever spent! From the very first use I could see a difference - swelling, redness and pain reduced within a matter of hours. I used it 2 or 3 times a day, my cold sores shrunk and were almost completely gone within a week! I get really bad break outs every couple of months, so this little device is an absolute god send! Simply put, if you suffer from cold sores - buy one! You really won't regret it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fab! Well worth the money!

Posted22 August 2009
Customer Avatar
StephJ
My last cold sore covered half my top lip and was all blistered. I bought this together with the compeed plasters and it was the quickest I have ever got rid of a cold sore! Use this every 8/10 hours then cover sore with a compeed and apply cream to the surrounding area. This works, and FAST!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted10 November 2009
Customer Avatar
suffolkbeagle
I'm afraid the electronic treatment did not work for me. Started using from the first tingle, by the second day I could feel it spreading so by then bought some cream as well. Eventually had about 10 cold sores with one extended down from the lip. Kept on using device and the cream. Probably the worst attack I have ever had and felt the device did nothing to help.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boots Advanced Electronic Cold Sore Treatment

Posted03 November 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I have never completed a product review before but I am so impressed by how well this worked that I want to tell others. My cold sores were stopped in their tracks, and only 3 days after they started I look and feel almost normal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Coldsore treatment

Posted11 January 2010
Customer Avatar
Petal
After years of suffering with terrible and extremely painful coldsore I recently bought this Electronic Cold Sore Treatment. The first time I used it my coldsore was already fully developed and was very swollen but within 24 hours of using the treatment the swelling had gone down and it healed far quicker than it would have without the treatment. I have had two more coldsores since and be able to treat them very quickly and instead of them developing and taking over a week for the swelling to go this has really stopped them from developing anything more than a very small blister. It is also far less messy and unsightly than applying creams all the time. I really think this is worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted18 December 2009
Customer Avatar
sharonk77
i have suffered with cold sores for many years, causing pain, suffering and embarassment i often wouldnt leave the house for days because of how awful they look. I have recently been getting a cold sore every month, leaving me with really swollen lips and in agony. I have tried all the creams on the market but they really werent helping so my husband bought me the boots electronic cold sore treatment and thank god he did! It really does work! im not sure how but i really dont care! it stops the pain and the swelling and the awful crusty scab, my cold sore had healed in 24 hours! amazing! would reccommend this to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well spent

Posted12 March 2010
Customer Avatar
griffi123
I don't usually write reviews but I really think this works. I have told my family and friends about it. Usually get at least one cold sore a month but haven't had one since buying this 2 months ago. Also I bought it when I had a pretty bad cold sore. It was very painful. The pain stopped as soon as I used this and it dried up. Healed very quickly. Better than creams or tablets. So far so good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Brilliant

Posted12 April 2010
Customer Avatar
Pepper123
I wish I had been told about this earlier. This has helped me so much. I have been distressed with the amount of cold sores I have been getting. This has helped to clear them up so quickly and have only had 2 sores and these went really quickly . I would recommend this to everyone who suffers from cold sores. Thank you whoever created this machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted04 May 2010
Customer Avatar
FAB12345
This is a totally amazing device. After suffering for years every 3 months or so with large coldsores that scabbed badly, lasted 3 weeks and left scars for months, I have finally manage to banish the coldsore completely!
The first time I used it, the scabs had alreayd formed and it was too late to do anything about it. However, even though it did nothing for the coldsore I had, I haven't had one since.
Every time I think one is about to emerge, I use the machine and it completely stops and outbreak.
This really is worth the investment and far better than creams and patches as it has stopped the virus dead in its tracks!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

electronic cold sore treatment

Posted12 May 2010
Customer Avatar
Salander
having suffered from cold sores all my life and had some very large unpleasant ones I was sceptical but decided to shell out for this product. It is worth it, some small ones don't materialise and bigger ones -I have one at the moment -stay small manageable and not nearly so sore. Invest in this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cold sore misery is over!

Posted06 May 2010
Customer Avatar
Bevsy
I bought this last November as yet another sore appeared. My typical outbreak would be 3 or 4 sores in quick succession, usually around my nose and they would put in an appearance every 3 months. Having spent a fortune on creams and patches I gave in to the price tag and I am incredibly impressed. When I first used it I was already 3 days in to a sore, but this took the pain away instantly. It still took the usual week to clear but the trick is to use it as soon as possible. The slightest tingle or redness you need to use it, carry it in your bag or pocket without fail and use about 3 times a day and it will work its magic. Since my first use I have had nothing more than a couple of tiny pinhead size blisters and they have always vanished virtually over night. I recommend this to everyone because it honestly works.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted30 June 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I hate having cold sores, the one's I seem to get are never discreet even with the patches. The second day I found this machine and used it, about 4 times a day. I'm now on the 5th day and it has nearly gone. The price tag is quite high, but like other people I definitely think its worth it. Also its painless which was something I was worried about.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Electronic coldsore treatment

Posted15 July 2010
Customer Avatar
lollymoo
After reading all the reviews i was amazed and excited to be able to go and get a product that might actually work, having suffered with coldsores reguarly for years, with no other treatment working, and doctors unable to help. My coldsores last well over two weeks. Unlike the rest of the reviews i didn't find this product as great as other people, i still get the pain, swelling and headaches and the coldsore still takes the same amount of time to heal. I followed all of the instructions, so if anyone can offer some suggestions on how to use it they will be most welcome. Then maybe i can come back with a better review.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
6of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

Posted23 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Karmitsa
My boyfriend tends to get really bad coldsores and this little machine has saved him!!!! The minute his gets the 'tingle' he uses it and the cold sore lasts only a couple of days.
It might be expensive, but think of all the money you are saving in the long run! I have recommended it to all my friends!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>