Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine is easy to use and treats cold sores quickly and cleanly. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
5 stars
81
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
81 out of 97(84%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 1 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted18 December 2009
Customer Avatar
i have suffered with cold sores for many years, causing pain, suffering and embarassment i often wouldnt leave the house for days because of how awful they look. I have recently been getting a cold sore every month, leaving me with really swollen lips and in agony. I have tried all the creams on the market but they really werent helping so my husband bought me the boots electronic cold sore treatment and thank god he did! It really does work! im not sure how but i really dont care! it stops the pain and the swelling and the awful crusty scab, my cold sore had healed in 24 hours! amazing! would reccommend this to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted04 May 2010
Customer Avatar
This is a totally amazing device. After suffering for years every 3 months or so with large coldsores that scabbed badly, lasted 3 weeks and left scars for months, I have finally manage to banish the coldsore completely!
The first time I used it, the scabs had alreayd formed and it was too late to do anything about it. However, even though it did nothing for the coldsore I had, I haven't had one since.
Every time I think one is about to emerge, I use the machine and it completely stops and outbreak.
This really is worth the investment and far better than creams and patches as it has stopped the virus dead in its tracks!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boots Advanced Electronic Cold Sore Treatment

Posted03 November 2009
Customer Avatar
I have never completed a product review before but I am so impressed by how well this worked that I want to tell others. My cold sores were stopped in their tracks, and only 3 days after they started I look and feel almost normal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well spent

Posted12 March 2010
Customer Avatar
I don't usually write reviews but I really think this works. I have told my family and friends about it. Usually get at least one cold sore a month but haven't had one since buying this 2 months ago. Also I bought it when I had a pretty bad cold sore. It was very painful. The pain stopped as soon as I used this and it dried up. Healed very quickly. Better than creams or tablets. So far so good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cold sore misery is over!

Posted06 May 2010
Customer Avatar
I bought this last November as yet another sore appeared. My typical outbreak would be 3 or 4 sores in quick succession, usually around my nose and they would put in an appearance every 3 months. Having spent a fortune on creams and patches I gave in to the price tag and I am incredibly impressed. When I first used it I was already 3 days in to a sore, but this took the pain away instantly. It still took the usual week to clear but the trick is to use it as soon as possible. The slightest tingle or redness you need to use it, carry it in your bag or pocket without fail and use about 3 times a day and it will work its magic. Since my first use I have had nothing more than a couple of tiny pinhead size blisters and they have always vanished virtually over night. I recommend this to everyone because it honestly works.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Coldsore treatment

Posted11 January 2010
Customer Avatar
After years of suffering with terrible and extremely painful coldsore I recently bought this Electronic Cold Sore Treatment. The first time I used it my coldsore was already fully developed and was very swollen but within 24 hours of using the treatment the swelling had gone down and it healed far quicker than it would have without the treatment. I have had two more coldsores since and be able to treat them very quickly and instead of them developing and taking over a week for the swelling to go this has really stopped them from developing anything more than a very small blister. It is also far less messy and unsightly than applying creams all the time. I really think this is worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Brilliant

Posted12 April 2010
Customer Avatar
I wish I had been told about this earlier. This has helped me so much. I have been distressed with the amount of cold sores I have been getting. This has helped to clear them up so quickly and have only had 2 sores and these went really quickly . I would recommend this to everyone who suffers from cold sores. Thank you whoever created this machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted30 June 2010
Customer Avatar
I hate having cold sores, the one's I seem to get are never discreet even with the patches. The second day I found this machine and used it, about 4 times a day. I'm now on the 5th day and it has nearly gone. The price tag is quite high, but like other people I definitely think its worth it. Also its painless which was something I was worried about.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

electronic cold sore treatment

Posted12 May 2010
Customer Avatar
having suffered from cold sores all my life and had some very large unpleasant ones I was sceptical but decided to shell out for this product. It is worth it, some small ones don't materialise and bigger ones -I have one at the moment -stay small manageable and not nearly so sore. Invest in this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing product

Posted16 February 2011
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I developed a tingling on the friday. I hit it with ice as is my usual routine. sometimes its enough to fend it off, but often it keeps it at bay for a while and then comes back with a vengeance. By monday, i realised the ice wouldnt keep it from coming out. I went to boots to get some cold sore cream and saw this device. I quickly googled some reviews on my pda, and saw the three on here. I thought they sounded more like marketing stuff, but i had to give it a go nonetheless. Interestingly, having purchased it, i consulted the boots pharmacist, who also thought it was a marketing gimmick. Still i gave it a go. I zapped my lip, and then two hours later. then at night. I felt the tingling had almost gone. By next day, some of the tiny pimples on my lips began to seep a teeny bit. But that's all. they didn't get any worse. I kept zapping it 3 times a day, and the sore hardly developed past the tiny pimples . By day three (today) its almost completely healed which is quite miraculous! every time it has previously developed, its been BIG and NASTY and lasted at least 7 days. I fly abroad tomorrow, which is why i was desperate to get this treated fast. to actually find ive almost healded within 3 days is astonishing. Every cold sore sufferer needs one of these machines.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miraculous !!!!!!

Posted28 October 2010
Customer Avatar
This machine is worth every penny, it started clearing up a massive painful 5 day old cold sore from the first 'zap'.
I continued to use it every hour for 4 hours, and the next day the cold sore had gone! Usually it takes several days to clear up so I am well chuffed. Offset the cost against forever buying creams and plasters, and it is cheaper in the long run, I cannot recommend it
enough, brilliant !!!! I would give it 10* if I could.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At last a 'cure'

Posted10 January 2011
Customer Avatar
I bought this machine whilst i already had a coldsore on my nostril. I had applied cream but it was still swollen and sore. I used the machine twice that day. By morning, the swelling had gone and the sore seemed 'dryer', with 3 days it was completely gone. I got the chance to try this on a new coldsore on Wed, it hardly came up and By Sat morning, it was completely dry, and 'flat'. It is well worth the money and the investment is an absolute must.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

Posted23 December 2010
Customer Avatar
My boyfriend tends to get really bad coldsores and this little machine has saved him!!!! The minute his gets the 'tingle' he uses it and the cold sore lasts only a couple of days.
It might be expensive, but think of all the money you are saving in the long run! I have recommended it to all my friends!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cold Sore Treatment

Posted17 July 2011
Customer Avatar
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this when I had my last cold sore, however it had already gone through the stages and the machine didn't seem to help much.
A few months later now, I started getting a little tingle on Friday and a slight bump on my lip. I didn't have the machine with me (I will be keeping it in my bag now), so I used it when I got home. Its now Sunday and the swelling has gone and you have to look really closely to notice the tiny blister. I expect it should be all gone when I wake on Tuesday.
This product is an absolute saviour from going through an embarrassing 2 weeks with a nasty cold sore. Highly recommended!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC PRODUCT

Posted22 January 2011
Customer Avatar
fantastic product. I was a bit unsure about the price but it is worth it considering it last forever. As soon as I feel a tingle i know a cold sore is coming I use the machine and it works brilliantly. Its easy to use and it better than using messy creams (which cost alot conidering you dont get much for the price you pay) great product and well worth the buy would recommend it to everybody
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life-changing

Posted27 January 2011
Customer Avatar
I've been using this thing for about 3 years and have not had a fully-formed cold sore since. As long as I've got this guy around I pretty much consider myself to be free of cold sores altogether. I've become a bit of an evangelist for these things - efficacy seems to vary a bit but I can zap at the tingle and not get anything forming at all. Amazing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yessssssss it works

Posted06 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very very sceptical about buying one of these putting it off for months until I got another sore.
I got the device into the second day when my sore was at the throb and filling full of fluid. I used the device and within hours my sore had calmed down.
My sore got smaller and less irritating over the course of the day instead of weeping and drooling and looking like a cornflake stuck to your lip like they usually do.
Yet to try it at the tingle stage but of course if your buying one you know you will always get another to test it on.
Couldn't believe it. Where's it been all my life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent PLEASE BUY!!!

Posted07 April 2011
Customer Avatar
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having suffered from really bad cold sore attacks for the past 20 years (sometimes getting two a month) and spending a fortune on treatment, I tried this machine and IT IS AMAZING!!!!!!! Its works so fast, reduces the pain and clears up the blisters in hours. I cannot praise this machine enough. Worth every penny.
Advantages: really really works
Disadvantages: switches itself on easily!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

Posted26 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am not plagued by coldsores, but i get them regular as clockwork when I'm rundown. Always one and always in the same spot, on my bottom lip.
After a couple of anxious, sleep strained nights I got one that took two weeks to go away completely, then another only two days later! This NEVER happens - normally I have several months between them. In desperation I shelled out the money for this machine. I couldn't use it til a small 'pimple' had formed (I never get the 'tingle'). I used it rather obsessively for the first couple of days - perhaps 4 - 5 times a day. Normally a blister would form after two days, but in this case - no blister. The small pimple remained but just got smaller and smaller until it vanished completely. It took 5 days to heal completely, and was barely noticeable for that period.
I am so thrilled with this product. I nearly wept with happiness when I realised it actually worked. If you are a cold sore sufferer RUN to Boots and pick one up.
Advantages: portable - easy to carry in handbag
Disadvantages: can turn itself on in handbag - take battery out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It seems to work!

Posted07 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had coldsores all of my life. I mainly get them on the inside of my right nostril which always causes problems as they mainly come when I have a cold. I have tried all the creams and all they seem to do is end up spreading it to other parts of my face!
Anyway I figured it's worth a try and got this. It apears to just be two LED's maybe inferred that you place over the coldsore/tingle and press the button. It then beeps to tell you it's started and again 3 mins later to tell you it's finished (as you can't normally see the active light)
I used it on the coldsore I had when I purhcesed it (it had already started blistering) and used it maybe 3-4 times and it went but I couldn't be sure it wasn't going to anyway! BUT I never got another coldsore for some time (again could have been just luck) then I just got another coldsore on my noise again and used it but this time it never blistered (this has NEVER happend before) then I realised it did blister slightly in a place on the inside of my noise that the light couldn't reach...
This does make me believe it is working! The fact I have only had 2 tingles since and only once has become a coldsore and only blistered in a small area alone is great! I use to get about one every month or two that lasted a week of pain. :)
I would recormend getting it if you suffer as it doesn't touch the affected area it won't spread it like the cream so you have nothing but the purches cost to lose and loads to gain!
I do think that it is a bit pricy for the hardware (a battery, timer and a few LED's) BUT well worth it for what it gives you!
Advantages: reduce requency, prevent blistering
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>