Boots Ratings and Reviews
Gok
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine is easy to use and treats cold sores quickly and cleanly. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.592 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
5 stars
82
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
82 out of 98(84%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 1 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted04 May 2010
Customer Avatar
This is a totally amazing device. After suffering for years every 3 months or so with large coldsores that scabbed badly, lasted 3 weeks and left scars for months, I have finally manage to banish the coldsore completely!
The first time I used it, the scabs had alreayd formed and it was too late to do anything about it. However, even though it did nothing for the coldsore I had, I haven't had one since.
Every time I think one is about to emerge, I use the machine and it completely stops and outbreak.
This really is worth the investment and far better than creams and patches as it has stopped the virus dead in its tracks!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well spent

Posted12 March 2010
Customer Avatar
I don't usually write reviews but I really think this works. I have told my family and friends about it. Usually get at least one cold sore a month but haven't had one since buying this 2 months ago. Also I bought it when I had a pretty bad cold sore. It was very painful. The pain stopped as soon as I used this and it dried up. Healed very quickly. Better than creams or tablets. So far so good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miraculous !!!!!!

Posted28 October 2010
Customer Avatar
This machine is worth every penny, it started clearing up a massive painful 5 day old cold sore from the first 'zap'.
I continued to use it every hour for 4 hours, and the next day the cold sore had gone! Usually it takes several days to clear up so I am well chuffed. Offset the cost against forever buying creams and plasters, and it is cheaper in the long run, I cannot recommend it
enough, brilliant !!!! I would give it 10* if I could.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At last a 'cure'

Posted10 January 2011
Customer Avatar
I bought this machine whilst i already had a coldsore on my nostril. I had applied cream but it was still swollen and sore. I used the machine twice that day. By morning, the swelling had gone and the sore seemed 'dryer', with 3 days it was completely gone. I got the chance to try this on a new coldsore on Wed, it hardly came up and By Sat morning, it was completely dry, and 'flat'. It is well worth the money and the investment is an absolute must.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

Posted23 December 2010
Customer Avatar
My boyfriend tends to get really bad coldsores and this little machine has saved him!!!! The minute his gets the 'tingle' he uses it and the cold sore lasts only a couple of days.
It might be expensive, but think of all the money you are saving in the long run! I have recommended it to all my friends!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cold Sore Treatment

Posted17 July 2011
Customer Avatar
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this when I had my last cold sore, however it had already gone through the stages and the machine didn't seem to help much.
A few months later now, I started getting a little tingle on Friday and a slight bump on my lip. I didn't have the machine with me (I will be keeping it in my bag now), so I used it when I got home. Its now Sunday and the swelling has gone and you have to look really closely to notice the tiny blister. I expect it should be all gone when I wake on Tuesday.
This product is an absolute saviour from going through an embarrassing 2 weeks with a nasty cold sore. Highly recommended!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC PRODUCT

Posted22 January 2011
Customer Avatar
fantastic product. I was a bit unsure about the price but it is worth it considering it last forever. As soon as I feel a tingle i know a cold sore is coming I use the machine and it works brilliantly. Its easy to use and it better than using messy creams (which cost alot conidering you dont get much for the price you pay) great product and well worth the buy would recommend it to everybody
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life-changing

Posted27 January 2011
Customer Avatar
I've been using this thing for about 3 years and have not had a fully-formed cold sore since. As long as I've got this guy around I pretty much consider myself to be free of cold sores altogether. I've become a bit of an evangelist for these things - efficacy seems to vary a bit but I can zap at the tingle and not get anything forming at all. Amazing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yessssssss it works

Posted06 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very very sceptical about buying one of these putting it off for months until I got another sore.
I got the device into the second day when my sore was at the throb and filling full of fluid. I used the device and within hours my sore had calmed down.
My sore got smaller and less irritating over the course of the day instead of weeping and drooling and looking like a cornflake stuck to your lip like they usually do.
Yet to try it at the tingle stage but of course if your buying one you know you will always get another to test it on.
Couldn't believe it. Where's it been all my life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

Posted26 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am not plagued by coldsores, but i get them regular as clockwork when I'm rundown. Always one and always in the same spot, on my bottom lip.
After a couple of anxious, sleep strained nights I got one that took two weeks to go away completely, then another only two days later! This NEVER happens - normally I have several months between them. In desperation I shelled out the money for this machine. I couldn't use it til a small 'pimple' had formed (I never get the 'tingle'). I used it rather obsessively for the first couple of days - perhaps 4 - 5 times a day. Normally a blister would form after two days, but in this case - no blister. The small pimple remained but just got smaller and smaller until it vanished completely. It took 5 days to heal completely, and was barely noticeable for that period.
I am so thrilled with this product. I nearly wept with happiness when I realised it actually worked. If you are a cold sore sufferer RUN to Boots and pick one up.
Advantages: portable - easy to carry in handbag
Disadvantages: can turn itself on in handbag - take battery out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It seems to work!

Posted07 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had coldsores all of my life. I mainly get them on the inside of my right nostril which always causes problems as they mainly come when I have a cold. I have tried all the creams and all they seem to do is end up spreading it to other parts of my face!
Anyway I figured it's worth a try and got this. It apears to just be two LED's maybe inferred that you place over the coldsore/tingle and press the button. It then beeps to tell you it's started and again 3 mins later to tell you it's finished (as you can't normally see the active light)
I used it on the coldsore I had when I purhcesed it (it had already started blistering) and used it maybe 3-4 times and it went but I couldn't be sure it wasn't going to anyway! BUT I never got another coldsore for some time (again could have been just luck) then I just got another coldsore on my noise again and used it but this time it never blistered (this has NEVER happend before) then I realised it did blister slightly in a place on the inside of my noise that the light couldn't reach...
This does make me believe it is working! The fact I have only had 2 tingles since and only once has become a coldsore and only blistered in a small area alone is great! I use to get about one every month or two that lasted a week of pain. :)
I would recormend getting it if you suffer as it doesn't touch the affected area it won't spread it like the cream so you have nothing but the purches cost to lose and loads to gain!
I do think that it is a bit pricy for the hardware (a battery, timer and a few LED's) BUT well worth it for what it gives you!
Advantages: reduce requency, prevent blistering
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent- worth every penny!!

Posted25 February 2011
Customer Avatar
from port talbot
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took a while to buy this due to the cost but it is worth every penny. First bought and used in Dec 10, I thought that it helped but wasn't sure. Have only just had another coldsore after nearly three months, the tingling and blisters started in work so had to wait until I got home to use the device. By this time the blisters had formed on my lip and my glands were swollen. Used the device every time I remembered that evening - prob 5 times, by morning my glands were less painful and itching, burning pain of blisters had lessened. By the next day the blisters were drying up and scabbing over, my glands had gone down and there was no more pain. I kept on using the device every time i remembered prob 5-7 times a day. By the fifth day- today the scab has come off. It usually takes 7-10 days for the scab to come off so this has reduced the healing time in half. I hope that by using this the sores will come less and less in the future but I am over the moon that using the device has made the sore go more quickly and has made it less painful straight away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Incredible!

Posted28 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I must say - I didn't trust any of the reviews that I read yesterday... It sounds just so amazing that you think it can't be true. Well, I got a cold sore yesterday morning and went out and bought the machine... I have hardly nothing left of the cold sore on my lip. I think is because I caught it soon - but hey if instead I used cream and patches it would have taken 5 days min to heal. I can say that this machine is totally worth buying. (PS - I use it every 4hrs more or less, although states on packaging to do it once and then another time 12 hrs later)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted24 May 2011
Customer Avatar
from Co. Down
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was always on the lookout for sometihing new to tackle coldsores as I was plagued with them so many times throughout the year, and when I got one, it tended to lead to another and another and at one stage I remember having a row of them along my top lip which was not only unsightly and embarrasing but really sore and uncomfortable! I found that I had become immune to most of the cold sore creams and lotions out there, although found boots cold sore lotion to be the best of a bad bunch as it was a liquid I could dab on and it didn't leave a stupid white mark like the cream did when the coldsore was too sore for cream to be rubbed into it! I googled cold sore relief/products to see if anything new was about and came across this. After reading the reviews I thought I'd give it a go and all I can say its Brilliant! It really does what its supposed to do, it healed up my coldsore in super fast time, none of this waiting 8-10 days. At first I thought it was a bit drying but just remember to put your factored lip balm on afterwards (like all us coldsore sufferers should be doing at all times anyway) and it was grand. It's not too heavy so I can carry it about in my bag at all times. I saw a couple of reviews on here where people said it got nudged in their bag and switch itself on, therefore running the batery down - simple, turn the battery upside down when not in use, and flip back up the correct way before each use - problem solved! You just hold it to your mouth for 3 minutes looking like a bit of a prat, but who cares, better that than a coldsore for a fortnight right?! If I have a coldsore I would tend to use it when I wake up, at morning tea break, lunchtime, afterooon tea break, dinner time and before going to bed. When I don't have a cold sore, like I haven't since buying this about 6 months ago, I tend to use it about once a week just for luck or if I feel a slight tingle! The key is to keep it in your bag or somewhere accessible at all times so that you can zap anything that feels dodgy straight away. GO BUY IT, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best thing I've bought this year

Posted13 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like a previous review, I will start by stating that I very rarely review items I buy but I owe it to all acute coldsore suffers to share my experience of this. Whilst I'm sure different people will experience different results for me I've been blown away by this. For years I've caught about 1 coldsore a month with all the personal and social discomfort of sitting in meetings with an unsightly lip. Since buying the product I've used it 4 times. To manage expectations, it does not stop a blister from appearing altogether (although I did manage to get it early enough once to all but stop it developing). What it does do is pretty much stop the discomfort I get, prevents it from the dramatic spread that can occur and significantly reduces the swelling. The healing time is also much, much quicker and its less prone to cracking and bleeding. Therefore, if your a frequent suffer, think no more, I can genuinely say this is the best buy I've made this year.
The only potential downside is the size (it's not the most discrete), but it could be twice the size of my head and I'd still use it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant. If you suffer from cold sores this is for you

Posted05 February 2012
Customer Avatar
from Aberdeen, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have suffered from cold sores for about 30 years.
When Zovirax came along it made a huge difference and reduced the unpleasantness of the sores.
Compeed plasters (used at night - Zovirax during the day) also helped.
I doubted whether a machine could possibly help. But it does.
This is a significant step forward. I use it 3 times on the first day and twice thereafter, and still apply zovirax by day and compeed plasters at night. The attack lasts now just 2-3 days and, as the machine seems to help reduce blister size, the blisters are less unsightly.
If you suffer from cold sores I strongly reccommend you try this machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best treatment on the market

Posted29 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having been a cold-sore sufferer since primary school, I have tried just about every known treatment and bought this product halfway through an outbreak at the end of last year. As such I couldn't be certain if it had any real effect at the time.
However I have recently been ill with flu followed by a heavy cold - which is exactly when I normally get an outbreak. As a precaution I have been carrying the device with me and awaiting the first signs that a new outbreak was on its way. As expected the tell-tale tingle/bump on my lip appeared Monday afternoon and I started using the device immediately. This single bump would normally be quickly followed by numerous others until half of my bottom lip was covered but this time it has just remained as a single very small bump and although the device has not stopped it from turning into a slight sore, it is so small as to be hardly noticeable.
It is now Wednesday and the sore is still no bigger than the original bump I felt on Monday - maybe 2-3 mm in diameter. Although it did not stop the outbreak altogether - maybe I didn't catch it quite in time - I feel it is still so small as to be practically invisible to others. I expect it to be healed by the weekend whereas normally it would still be developing at this stage. Very impressive. Would recommend to anybody.
This is by far the best treatment I have ever encountered.
Advantages: no messy creams/ patches
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would have paid twice as much for something like this!!!

Posted30 June 2011
Customer Avatar
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I know it is pricey but so are aciclovir creams when you think about it but this actually saves you so much hassle.
I felt cold sore possibly coming on above my lip on Friday - was thinking it could be a spot but realised it wasn't and started using the machine as instructed. I cleaned the area with alcohol (which I find dries it a bit when applied on cotton wool and pressed for a minute on a sore) used the machine then applied aciclovir in between Avert treatments. I used it about 4 times that first day. Usually blistering happens over at least 2 days - this is when my lip looks disgusting and aciclovir usually cannot stop that - just subdues it a bit. However, with this blistering was reduced to that day. By monday I had a solid small crust over the sore - something that usually takes at least a week. The area affected was reasonably large.
The second outbreak I treated straight away and it stopped it at one tiny blister which healed within a day.
Since the science behind it is that it stimulated the immune system to heal, I apply it to spots too when I get an angry one and disinfect it afterwards with alcohol. Amazing product. It works. It really does speed the healing time a great deal.
Advantages: speeds healing times, no side effects, overall great value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the money

Posted16 December 2011
Customer Avatar
from Norfolk, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was initially a little skeptical about this machine but, as a cold sore sufferer for many years, I was prepared to try it. The first time I used it I had an existing cold sore, so the results were not much different from when I have used the Avert cream. However, the next time, I used it at the first "tingle" and it really worked. The cold sore just didn't materialise.
My only criticism really is that you need to carry it with you so that you can use it at a moment's notice, but I found it was constantly switiching itself on in my handbag and draining the battery. I think it would be a good idea if it came in its own rigid case (or if one were available separately). I have overcome this by using an old spectacle case, but I have to wrap it in a cloth to stop it rattling around inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cold Sore sufferer? You MUST buy this

Posted19 January 2012
Customer Avatar
from South Tyneside, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A belated review of such a fantastic product! I have suffered from cold sores all my life and these last few years I've manged to get them more than ever. I tried tablets (which stops them appearing as frequently but I'm not a 'tablet taker' fan) but missed taking them a few times and low and behold a cold sore would appear.
The final straw for me was last summer. I was going to a friends Christening and had a brake out over the majority of my bottom lip the day before and through the night. I found this item by default and went and got it the very morning of the Christening.
In a vain affected mad panic I initially used it 3 or 4 times in a row (they say use it once (3 minutes) when you get the tingle but as it was already 'out' I thought 'just go for it!') and the results were amazing.
The sting? Gone. The redness and 'look of a blister'? Dried out. It left a 'chapped lip' type look which, to be fair. blended in with my lips so it wasn't such a bad deal!
The cold sores dried out and were gone within little over a week where normally, they dry, scab over and remain for at least 2.
From then on I've never looked back and although taking it to work and back daily (just in-case!) can be a nuisance, its well worth it knowing that when that tingle happens you can just 'Zap' the life out of it!!
I remembered to write a review because of what happened this week.
I forgot to take my Machine on Monday and got a cold sore which had spread by close of play.
I got home, 'zapped' it few times and it dried out straight away. Here we are on Thursday and its all but dried out but more importantly, I don't feel as if anyone has looked at me (or IT!!) this week.
Ignore the price, ignore the size, ignore the fact you will have to change the battery (once in 6 months for me) now and again, simply purchase this, make your life easier and start telling everyone how good it is!!
Advantages: timer - beeps when starts and finishes, effective - fast!, my partner has also used this to dry out her spots, 1 week 'dried patches' over 2-3 week blisters
Disadvantages: are you serious???
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>