Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine is easy to use and treats cold sores quickly and cleanly. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.603 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
5 stars
94
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
82 out of 99(83%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 1 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cold Sore Machine

Posted21 January 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy
This does not give overnight results but does help to clear the cold sore without drying it out too much and helps the skin underneath to regenerate quicker making the cold sore heal less painlessly. It also elimates the need for endless creams and lotions. Although expensive to purchase, it does work out cheaper in the long run as it can be used many times.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you suffer from cold sores - buy one!

Posted14 August 2009
Customer Avatar
NicholaMcC
At first I was very sceptical about this product, but like most cold sore sufferers, I'm willing to try ANYTHING, at least once! I was initially put off by the high price tag of 35.00, but after reading a couple of good reviews online, I decided it was worth a shot. It was the best 35.00 I've ever spent! From the very first use I could see a difference - swelling, redness and pain reduced within a matter of hours. I used it 2 or 3 times a day, my cold sores shrunk and were almost completely gone within a week! I get really bad break outs every couple of months, so this little device is an absolute god send! Simply put, if you suffer from cold sores - buy one! You really won't regret it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Electric Cold Sore Treatment

Posted12 January 2009
Customer Avatar
BigMac
I am a cold sore sufferer of many years and tried many treatments including patches, although effective they would not stay on following eating or drinking. I recently received the electronic device and anxioulsy awaited the day I would need to use! This arrived last week and immediately set to work with the device following instructions other than used 4 times a day instead of 2, which is permitted. Unfortunately I am very disappointed, day 4 instead of disappearing it is worse than would have been with a cream. I will give another chance but if same result with next cold sore I will be seeking a refund as does not perform in accordance with promise. Normally using Zovirax my sore would now be at healing stage. Not recommended. Will update if improves next time!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
26of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tinny13
London
 
Please wait while more information about Tinny13 is loaded.
Additional information about Tinny13 could not be loaded.
Don't give up, use with Zovirax
Posted 31 March 2014
I never gave up Zovirax, I just added this machine to my routine. I use it then apply Zovirax. When I need to reapply, I use it again and reapply. I think it works best with the cream. They each do their thing. But it does speed stuff up for me and to be honest, as someone who used to get sold sores every month in the same place, after using this for a year, I have had maybe 2 cold sores in the past 2 or so years. It seems to have healed the vulnerable place I had which would always be where they'd break out.
I did not change anything else in my life and in fact, last flue I had I was pleasantly surprised when I did not get any cold sores. I used to get several when under any illness. Don't give up the cream, just add this to your routine. I use it over the cream too.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold sore?????

Posted26 January 2009
Customer Avatar
blondy
i think that this is a great brake through, i'm always getting them but this is the fastest that i have got rid of one!!! i want a free one so i can give one to my boyfriend who always seems to get them as i get rid of one :-(
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
5of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cold Sore Machine

Posted18 February 2009
Customer Avatar
Hevntilda
This thing really works! If you use it at the first sign of a cold sore tingle (which I get regularly) the cold sore doesn't develop. If I leave it and the sore starts to come up, this machine seems to accelerate the cycle and it goes very quickly.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle, I swear!

Posted18 May 2009
Customer Avatar
Calliope
I used to suffer from cold sore flare ups every month without fail. 5 months ago after I ran out of the cream and the patches i went to boots and found this! I treated my cold sore as the instructions said and it made my coldsore go within days! And, even better than that, i havn't had one in 5 months! AMAZING! It's totally worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Astounded at how well this works

Posted27 October 2009
Customer Avatar
Chippy
It really does work and you may find that coldsore attacks are a distant memory for you too! After suffering for years with coldsores, sometimes having them back to back for months... I tried this out of desperation. The coldsore did take about a week to go, which was no quicker than normal. So I thought it hadn't done anything. BUT..I have not had another coldsore since. It has been 6 months now. If I feel a tingle, I use the gun twice in the day and a coldsore never erupts. I don't know how it works, but it really is a great product. 35 pounds is lot of money, but not when you compare how much you spend on creams and patches every time. I would thoroughly recommend this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well spent

Posted12 March 2010
Customer Avatar
griffi123
I don't usually write reviews but I really think this works. I have told my family and friends about it. Usually get at least one cold sore a month but haven't had one since buying this 2 months ago. Also I bought it when I had a pretty bad cold sore. It was very painful. The pain stopped as soon as I used this and it dried up. Healed very quickly. Better than creams or tablets. So far so good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted30 January 2009
Customer Avatar
kerrymerry
I've been getting coldsores for almost thirty years and they always last about 2weeks, even with the antiviral creams. Last week I erupted in the mother of all coldsores so after seeing this on the shelf decided to give it a go. Five days on and i'm just left with a slight red mark which should be gone in a day or two and is easily concealed with make up. A definite thumbs up 4 sure. Money well spent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
13of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Electronic coldsore treatment

Posted15 July 2010
Customer Avatar
lollymoo
After reading all the reviews i was amazed and excited to be able to go and get a product that might actually work, having suffered with coldsores reguarly for years, with no other treatment working, and doctors unable to help. My coldsores last well over two weeks. Unlike the rest of the reviews i didn't find this product as great as other people, i still get the pain, swelling and headaches and the coldsore still takes the same amount of time to heal. I followed all of the instructions, so if anyone can offer some suggestions on how to use it they will be most welcome. Then maybe i can come back with a better review.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
8of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miraculous !!!!!!

Posted28 October 2010
Customer Avatar
Noisette
This machine is worth every penny, it started clearing up a massive painful 5 day old cold sore from the first 'zap'.
I continued to use it every hour for 4 hours, and the next day the cold sore had gone! Usually it takes several days to clear up so I am well chuffed. Offset the cost against forever buying creams and plasters, and it is cheaper in the long run, I cannot recommend it
enough, brilliant !!!! I would give it 10* if I could.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted10 November 2009
Customer Avatar
suffolkbeagle
I'm afraid the electronic treatment did not work for me. Started using from the first tingle, by the second day I could feel it spreading so by then bought some cream as well. Eventually had about 10 cold sores with one extended down from the lip. Kept on using device and the cream. Probably the worst attack I have ever had and felt the device did nothing to help.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted18 December 2009
Customer Avatar
sharonk77
i have suffered with cold sores for many years, causing pain, suffering and embarassment i often wouldnt leave the house for days because of how awful they look. I have recently been getting a cold sore every month, leaving me with really swollen lips and in agony. I have tried all the creams on the market but they really werent helping so my husband bought me the boots electronic cold sore treatment and thank god he did! It really does work! im not sure how but i really dont care! it stops the pain and the swelling and the awful crusty scab, my cold sore had healed in 24 hours! amazing! would reccommend this to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Snake Oil or useful - not sure yet...

Posted14 April 2009
Customer Avatar
JSmith
I read the test results by the inventor and when I saw this in Boots, having a cold sore in progress, recognised it. So, shining a light at 72nm is going to help is it? The jury is out for me. This sore erupted quickly and I used aciclovir late. The sore has lasted a week, longer (just) than usual as treatment started late - BUT! I used cream AND the light thing frequently so this may be a tough outbreak on a very tired person. Will I have the nerve to not use cream? No. Why did I buy it? The results seemed interesting and I think he has progressed to Pratchett's MS treatment. Fingers crossed this is not snake oil - L36 for a pair of LEDs and a timer is a lot. (Point at a webcam/camera if you want proof there is some light coming out. It shows white. I will review again if I notice long term benefit.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-17points
7of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

Posted26 August 2011
Customer Avatar
KitKatAus
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am not plagued by coldsores, but i get them regular as clockwork when I'm rundown. Always one and always in the same spot, on my bottom lip.
After a couple of anxious, sleep strained nights I got one that took two weeks to go away completely, then another only two days later! This NEVER happens - normally I have several months between them. In desperation I shelled out the money for this machine. I couldn't use it til a small 'pimple' had formed (I never get the 'tingle'). I used it rather obsessively for the first couple of days - perhaps 4 - 5 times a day. Normally a blister would form after two days, but in this case - no blister. The small pimple remained but just got smaller and smaller until it vanished completely. It took 5 days to heal completely, and was barely noticeable for that period.
I am so thrilled with this product. I nearly wept with happiness when I realised it actually worked. If you are a cold sore sufferer RUN to Boots and pick one up.
Advantages: portable - easy to carry in handbag
Disadvantages: can turn itself on in handbag - take battery out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing product

Posted16 February 2011
Customer Avatar
rajah99
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I developed a tingling on the friday. I hit it with ice as is my usual routine. sometimes its enough to fend it off, but often it keeps it at bay for a while and then comes back with a vengeance. By monday, i realised the ice wouldnt keep it from coming out. I went to boots to get some cold sore cream and saw this device. I quickly googled some reviews on my pda, and saw the three on here. I thought they sounded more like marketing stuff, but i had to give it a go nonetheless. Interestingly, having purchased it, i consulted the boots pharmacist, who also thought it was a marketing gimmick. Still i gave it a go. I zapped my lip, and then two hours later. then at night. I felt the tingling had almost gone. By next day, some of the tiny pimples on my lips began to seep a teeny bit. But that's all. they didn't get any worse. I kept zapping it 3 times a day, and the sore hardly developed past the tiny pimples . By day three (today) its almost completely healed which is quite miraculous! every time it has previously developed, its been BIG and NASTY and lasted at least 7 days. I fly abroad tomorrow, which is why i was desperate to get this treated fast. to actually find ive almost healded within 3 days is astonishing. Every cold sore sufferer needs one of these machines.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cold Sore sufferer? You MUST buy this

Posted19 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Sparko
from South Tyneside, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A belated review of such a fantastic product! I have suffered from cold sores all my life and these last few years I've manged to get them more than ever. I tried tablets (which stops them appearing as frequently but I'm not a 'tablet taker' fan) but missed taking them a few times and low and behold a cold sore would appear.
The final straw for me was last summer. I was going to a friends Christening and had a brake out over the majority of my bottom lip the day before and through the night. I found this item by default and went and got it the very morning of the Christening.
In a vain affected mad panic I initially used it 3 or 4 times in a row (they say use it once (3 minutes) when you get the tingle but as it was already 'out' I thought 'just go for it!') and the results were amazing.
The sting? Gone. The redness and 'look of a blister'? Dried out. It left a 'chapped lip' type look which, to be fair. blended in with my lips so it wasn't such a bad deal!
The cold sores dried out and were gone within little over a week where normally, they dry, scab over and remain for at least 2.
From then on I've never looked back and although taking it to work and back daily (just in-case!) can be a nuisance, its well worth it knowing that when that tingle happens you can just 'Zap' the life out of it!!
I remembered to write a review because of what happened this week.
I forgot to take my Machine on Monday and got a cold sore which had spread by close of play.
I got home, 'zapped' it few times and it dried out straight away. Here we are on Thursday and its all but dried out but more importantly, I don't feel as if anyone has looked at me (or IT!!) this week.
Ignore the price, ignore the size, ignore the fact you will have to change the battery (once in 6 months for me) now and again, simply purchase this, make your life easier and start telling everyone how good it is!!
Advantages: timer - beeps when starts and finishes, effective - fast!, my partner has also used this to dry out her spots, 1 week 'dried patches' over 2-3 week blisters
Disadvantages: are you serious???
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny

Posted19 February 2012
Customer Avatar
atomicpuppy
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this a few years ago but never got around to writing a review. I've always suffered with cold sores, I suppose just one or two a year, each one lasting around 10 days. However, anyone who's ever had a cold sore will know that feeling when you walk around with your head bowed hoping that nobody notices you, or IT!
The final straw came when I had started a new job and I got the mother of all cold sores on my bottom lip. I was desperate to try something that might be quicker and more effective than the cream (yep, the famous one.) I saw this advertised and thought I'd give it a go, despite the price. If it didn't work I'd just put it down to experience. After a couple of days, the sore was dried out and had shrunk enormously. This was nearly 3 years ago and I have NEVER had a cold sore since! Whenever I feel anything weird on or around my lip, I just give it a blast and nothing has materialised yet! Mine lives in my work bag so it's always to hand if I need it. (Though as someone mentioned earlier, it does tend to switch itself on when knocked around in your bag - Maybe a "lock" of some sort would be a handy design addition.) Anyway, don't be put off by the price - It's worth double!!
Advantages: definitely works
Disadvantages: needs a lock to stop it switching on in your bag
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

coldsores vanish in days

Posted12 March 2012
Customer Avatar
daffyduck1952
from kent
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
this machine is great for cold sores when used continually, however when changing the battery this is when the machine fails. The battery is difficult to release from the connectors.
Disadvantages: battery is hard to remove
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It seems to work!

Posted07 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Zasurus
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had coldsores all of my life. I mainly get them on the inside of my right nostril which always causes problems as they mainly come when I have a cold. I have tried all the creams and all they seem to do is end up spreading it to other parts of my face!
Anyway I figured it's worth a try and got this. It apears to just be two LED's maybe inferred that you place over the coldsore/tingle and press the button. It then beeps to tell you it's started and again 3 mins later to tell you it's finished (as you can't normally see the active light)
I used it on the coldsore I had when I purhcesed it (it had already started blistering) and used it maybe 3-4 times and it went but I couldn't be sure it wasn't going to anyway! BUT I never got another coldsore for some time (again could have been just luck) then I just got another coldsore on my noise again and used it but this time it never blistered (this has NEVER happend before) then I realised it did blister slightly in a place on the inside of my noise that the light couldn't reach...
This does make me believe it is working! The fact I have only had 2 tingles since and only once has become a coldsore and only blistered in a small area alone is great! I use to get about one every month or two that lasted a week of pain. :)
I would recormend getting it if you suffer as it doesn't touch the affected area it won't spread it like the cream so you have nothing but the purches cost to lose and loads to gain!
I do think that it is a bit pricy for the hardware (a battery, timer and a few LED's) BUT well worth it for what it gives you!
Advantages: reduce requency, prevent blistering
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>