Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine is easy to use and treats cold sores quickly and cleanly. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.586 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(111 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 111 reviews
5 stars
89
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
82 out of 99(83%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 1 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cold Sore Machine

Posted21 January 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy
This does not give overnight results but does help to clear the cold sore without drying it out too much and helps the skin underneath to regenerate quicker making the cold sore heal less painlessly. It also elimates the need for endless creams and lotions. Although expensive to purchase, it does work out cheaper in the long run as it can be used many times.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you suffer from cold sores - buy one!

Posted14 August 2009
Customer Avatar
NicholaMcC
At first I was very sceptical about this product, but like most cold sore sufferers, I'm willing to try ANYTHING, at least once! I was initially put off by the high price tag of 35.00, but after reading a couple of good reviews online, I decided it was worth a shot. It was the best 35.00 I've ever spent! From the very first use I could see a difference - swelling, redness and pain reduced within a matter of hours. I used it 2 or 3 times a day, my cold sores shrunk and were almost completely gone within a week! I get really bad break outs every couple of months, so this little device is an absolute god send! Simply put, if you suffer from cold sores - buy one! You really won't regret it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fab! Well worth the money!

Posted22 August 2009
Customer Avatar
StephJ
My last cold sore covered half my top lip and was all blistered. I bought this together with the compeed plasters and it was the quickest I have ever got rid of a cold sore! Use this every 8/10 hours then cover sore with a compeed and apply cream to the surrounding area. This works, and FAST!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted10 November 2009
Customer Avatar
suffolkbeagle
I'm afraid the electronic treatment did not work for me. Started using from the first tingle, by the second day I could feel it spreading so by then bought some cream as well. Eventually had about 10 cold sores with one extended down from the lip. Kept on using device and the cream. Probably the worst attack I have ever had and felt the device did nothing to help.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boots Advanced Electronic Cold Sore Treatment

Posted03 November 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I have never completed a product review before but I am so impressed by how well this worked that I want to tell others. My cold sores were stopped in their tracks, and only 3 days after they started I look and feel almost normal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Coldsore treatment

Posted11 January 2010
Customer Avatar
Petal
After years of suffering with terrible and extremely painful coldsore I recently bought this Electronic Cold Sore Treatment. The first time I used it my coldsore was already fully developed and was very swollen but within 24 hours of using the treatment the swelling had gone down and it healed far quicker than it would have without the treatment. I have had two more coldsores since and be able to treat them very quickly and instead of them developing and taking over a week for the swelling to go this has really stopped them from developing anything more than a very small blister. It is also far less messy and unsightly than applying creams all the time. I really think this is worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted18 December 2009
Customer Avatar
sharonk77
i have suffered with cold sores for many years, causing pain, suffering and embarassment i often wouldnt leave the house for days because of how awful they look. I have recently been getting a cold sore every month, leaving me with really swollen lips and in agony. I have tried all the creams on the market but they really werent helping so my husband bought me the boots electronic cold sore treatment and thank god he did! It really does work! im not sure how but i really dont care! it stops the pain and the swelling and the awful crusty scab, my cold sore had healed in 24 hours! amazing! would reccommend this to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well spent

Posted12 March 2010
Customer Avatar
griffi123
I don't usually write reviews but I really think this works. I have told my family and friends about it. Usually get at least one cold sore a month but haven't had one since buying this 2 months ago. Also I bought it when I had a pretty bad cold sore. It was very painful. The pain stopped as soon as I used this and it dried up. Healed very quickly. Better than creams or tablets. So far so good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Brilliant

Posted12 April 2010
Customer Avatar
Pepper123
I wish I had been told about this earlier. This has helped me so much. I have been distressed with the amount of cold sores I have been getting. This has helped to clear them up so quickly and have only had 2 sores and these went really quickly . I would recommend this to everyone who suffers from cold sores. Thank you whoever created this machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted04 May 2010
Customer Avatar
FAB12345
This is a totally amazing device. After suffering for years every 3 months or so with large coldsores that scabbed badly, lasted 3 weeks and left scars for months, I have finally manage to banish the coldsore completely!
The first time I used it, the scabs had alreayd formed and it was too late to do anything about it. However, even though it did nothing for the coldsore I had, I haven't had one since.
Every time I think one is about to emerge, I use the machine and it completely stops and outbreak.
This really is worth the investment and far better than creams and patches as it has stopped the virus dead in its tracks!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

electronic cold sore treatment

Posted12 May 2010
Customer Avatar
Salander
having suffered from cold sores all my life and had some very large unpleasant ones I was sceptical but decided to shell out for this product. It is worth it, some small ones don't materialise and bigger ones -I have one at the moment -stay small manageable and not nearly so sore. Invest in this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cold sore misery is over!

Posted06 May 2010
Customer Avatar
Bevsy
I bought this last November as yet another sore appeared. My typical outbreak would be 3 or 4 sores in quick succession, usually around my nose and they would put in an appearance every 3 months. Having spent a fortune on creams and patches I gave in to the price tag and I am incredibly impressed. When I first used it I was already 3 days in to a sore, but this took the pain away instantly. It still took the usual week to clear but the trick is to use it as soon as possible. The slightest tingle or redness you need to use it, carry it in your bag or pocket without fail and use about 3 times a day and it will work its magic. Since my first use I have had nothing more than a couple of tiny pinhead size blisters and they have always vanished virtually over night. I recommend this to everyone because it honestly works.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted30 June 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I hate having cold sores, the one's I seem to get are never discreet even with the patches. The second day I found this machine and used it, about 4 times a day. I'm now on the 5th day and it has nearly gone. The price tag is quite high, but like other people I definitely think its worth it. Also its painless which was something I was worried about.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Electronic coldsore treatment

Posted15 July 2010
Customer Avatar
lollymoo
After reading all the reviews i was amazed and excited to be able to go and get a product that might actually work, having suffered with coldsores reguarly for years, with no other treatment working, and doctors unable to help. My coldsores last well over two weeks. Unlike the rest of the reviews i didn't find this product as great as other people, i still get the pain, swelling and headaches and the coldsore still takes the same amount of time to heal. I followed all of the instructions, so if anyone can offer some suggestions on how to use it they will be most welcome. Then maybe i can come back with a better review.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
6of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

Posted23 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Karmitsa
My boyfriend tends to get really bad coldsores and this little machine has saved him!!!! The minute his gets the 'tingle' he uses it and the cold sore lasts only a couple of days.
It might be expensive, but think of all the money you are saving in the long run! I have recommended it to all my friends!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC PRODUCT

Posted22 January 2011
Customer Avatar
nessa100
fantastic product. I was a bit unsure about the price but it is worth it considering it last forever. As soon as I feel a tingle i know a cold sore is coming I use the machine and it works brilliantly. Its easy to use and it better than using messy creams (which cost alot conidering you dont get much for the price you pay) great product and well worth the buy would recommend it to everybody
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life-changing

Posted27 January 2011
Customer Avatar
gavin8
I've been using this thing for about 3 years and have not had a fully-formed cold sore since. As long as I've got this guy around I pretty much consider myself to be free of cold sores altogether. I've become a bit of an evangelist for these things - efficacy seems to vary a bit but I can zap at the tingle and not get anything forming at all. Amazing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing product

Posted16 February 2011
Customer Avatar
rajah99
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I developed a tingling on the friday. I hit it with ice as is my usual routine. sometimes its enough to fend it off, but often it keeps it at bay for a while and then comes back with a vengeance. By monday, i realised the ice wouldnt keep it from coming out. I went to boots to get some cold sore cream and saw this device. I quickly googled some reviews on my pda, and saw the three on here. I thought they sounded more like marketing stuff, but i had to give it a go nonetheless. Interestingly, having purchased it, i consulted the boots pharmacist, who also thought it was a marketing gimmick. Still i gave it a go. I zapped my lip, and then two hours later. then at night. I felt the tingling had almost gone. By next day, some of the tiny pimples on my lips began to seep a teeny bit. But that's all. they didn't get any worse. I kept zapping it 3 times a day, and the sore hardly developed past the tiny pimples . By day three (today) its almost completely healed which is quite miraculous! every time it has previously developed, its been BIG and NASTY and lasted at least 7 days. I fly abroad tomorrow, which is why i was desperate to get this treated fast. to actually find ive almost healded within 3 days is astonishing. Every cold sore sufferer needs one of these machines.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent- worth every penny!!

Posted25 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cariadnic
from port talbot
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took a while to buy this due to the cost but it is worth every penny. First bought and used in Dec 10, I thought that it helped but wasn't sure. Have only just had another coldsore after nearly three months, the tingling and blisters started in work so had to wait until I got home to use the device. By this time the blisters had formed on my lip and my glands were swollen. Used the device every time I remembered that evening - prob 5 times, by morning my glands were less painful and itching, burning pain of blisters had lessened. By the next day the blisters were drying up and scabbing over, my glands had gone down and there was no more pain. I kept on using the device every time i remembered prob 5-7 times a day. By the fifth day- today the scab has come off. It usually takes 7-10 days for the scab to come off so this has reduced the healing time in half. I hope that by using this the sores will come less and less in the future but I am over the moon that using the device has made the sore go more quickly and has made it less painful straight away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miraculous !!!!!!

Posted28 October 2010
Customer Avatar
Noisette
This machine is worth every penny, it started clearing up a massive painful 5 day old cold sore from the first 'zap'.
I continued to use it every hour for 4 hours, and the next day the cold sore had gone! Usually it takes several days to clear up so I am well chuffed. Offset the cost against forever buying creams and plasters, and it is cheaper in the long run, I cannot recommend it
enough, brilliant !!!! I would give it 10* if I could.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>