Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine is easy to use and treats cold sores quickly and cleanly. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(105 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 105 reviews
5 stars
83
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
82 out of 99(83%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 1 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life-changing

Posted27 January 2011
Customer Avatar
gavin8
I've been using this thing for about 3 years and have not had a fully-formed cold sore since. As long as I've got this guy around I pretty much consider myself to be free of cold sores altogether. I've become a bit of an evangelist for these things - efficacy seems to vary a bit but I can zap at the tingle and not get anything forming at all. Amazing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yessssssss it works

Posted06 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Raymysterio
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very very sceptical about buying one of these putting it off for months until I got another sore.
I got the device into the second day when my sore was at the throb and filling full of fluid. I used the device and within hours my sore had calmed down.
My sore got smaller and less irritating over the course of the day instead of weeping and drooling and looking like a cornflake stuck to your lip like they usually do.
Yet to try it at the tingle stage but of course if your buying one you know you will always get another to test it on.
Couldn't believe it. Where's it been all my life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

Posted26 August 2011
Customer Avatar
KitKatAus
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am not plagued by coldsores, but i get them regular as clockwork when I'm rundown. Always one and always in the same spot, on my bottom lip.
After a couple of anxious, sleep strained nights I got one that took two weeks to go away completely, then another only two days later! This NEVER happens - normally I have several months between them. In desperation I shelled out the money for this machine. I couldn't use it til a small 'pimple' had formed (I never get the 'tingle'). I used it rather obsessively for the first couple of days - perhaps 4 - 5 times a day. Normally a blister would form after two days, but in this case - no blister. The small pimple remained but just got smaller and smaller until it vanished completely. It took 5 days to heal completely, and was barely noticeable for that period.
I am so thrilled with this product. I nearly wept with happiness when I realised it actually worked. If you are a cold sore sufferer RUN to Boots and pick one up.
Advantages: portable - easy to carry in handbag
Disadvantages: can turn itself on in handbag - take battery out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It seems to work!

Posted07 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Zasurus
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had coldsores all of my life. I mainly get them on the inside of my right nostril which always causes problems as they mainly come when I have a cold. I have tried all the creams and all they seem to do is end up spreading it to other parts of my face!
Anyway I figured it's worth a try and got this. It apears to just be two LED's maybe inferred that you place over the coldsore/tingle and press the button. It then beeps to tell you it's started and again 3 mins later to tell you it's finished (as you can't normally see the active light)
I used it on the coldsore I had when I purhcesed it (it had already started blistering) and used it maybe 3-4 times and it went but I couldn't be sure it wasn't going to anyway! BUT I never got another coldsore for some time (again could have been just luck) then I just got another coldsore on my noise again and used it but this time it never blistered (this has NEVER happend before) then I realised it did blister slightly in a place on the inside of my noise that the light couldn't reach...
This does make me believe it is working! The fact I have only had 2 tingles since and only once has become a coldsore and only blistered in a small area alone is great! I use to get about one every month or two that lasted a week of pain. :)
I would recormend getting it if you suffer as it doesn't touch the affected area it won't spread it like the cream so you have nothing but the purches cost to lose and loads to gain!
I do think that it is a bit pricy for the hardware (a battery, timer and a few LED's) BUT well worth it for what it gives you!
Advantages: reduce requency, prevent blistering
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent- worth every penny!!

Posted25 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cariadnic
from port talbot
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took a while to buy this due to the cost but it is worth every penny. First bought and used in Dec 10, I thought that it helped but wasn't sure. Have only just had another coldsore after nearly three months, the tingling and blisters started in work so had to wait until I got home to use the device. By this time the blisters had formed on my lip and my glands were swollen. Used the device every time I remembered that evening - prob 5 times, by morning my glands were less painful and itching, burning pain of blisters had lessened. By the next day the blisters were drying up and scabbing over, my glands had gone down and there was no more pain. I kept on using the device every time i remembered prob 5-7 times a day. By the fifth day- today the scab has come off. It usually takes 7-10 days for the scab to come off so this has reduced the healing time in half. I hope that by using this the sores will come less and less in the future but I am over the moon that using the device has made the sore go more quickly and has made it less painful straight away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Incredible!

Posted28 June 2011
Customer Avatar
melissa111
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I must say - I didn't trust any of the reviews that I read yesterday... It sounds just so amazing that you think it can't be true. Well, I got a cold sore yesterday morning and went out and bought the machine... I have hardly nothing left of the cold sore on my lip. I think is because I caught it soon - but hey if instead I used cream and patches it would have taken 5 days min to heal. I can say that this machine is totally worth buying. (PS - I use it every 4hrs more or less, although states on packaging to do it once and then another time 12 hrs later)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted24 May 2011
Customer Avatar
winks2416
from Co. Down
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Once per week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was always on the lookout for sometihing new to tackle coldsores as I was plagued with them so many times throughout the year, and when I got one, it tended to lead to another and another and at one stage I remember having a row of them along my top lip which was not only unsightly and embarrasing but really sore and uncomfortable! I found that I had become immune to most of the cold sore creams and lotions out there, although found boots cold sore lotion to be the best of a bad bunch as it was a liquid I could dab on and it didn't leave a stupid white mark like the cream did when the coldsore was too sore for cream to be rubbed into it! I googled cold sore relief/products to see if anything new was about and came across this. After reading the reviews I thought I'd give it a go and all I can say its Brilliant! It really does what its supposed to do, it healed up my coldsore in super fast time, none of this waiting 8-10 days. At first I thought it was a bit drying but just remember to put your factored lip balm on afterwards (like all us coldsore sufferers should be doing at all times anyway) and it was grand. It's not too heavy so I can carry it about in my bag at all times. I saw a couple of reviews on here where people said it got nudged in their bag and switch itself on, therefore running the batery down - simple, turn the battery upside down when not in use, and flip back up the correct way before each use - problem solved! You just hold it to your mouth for 3 minutes looking like a bit of a prat, but who cares, better that than a coldsore for a fortnight right?! If I have a coldsore I would tend to use it when I wake up, at morning tea break, lunchtime, afterooon tea break, dinner time and before going to bed. When I don't have a cold sore, like I haven't since buying this about 6 months ago, I tend to use it about once a week just for luck or if I feel a slight tingle! The key is to keep it in your bag or somewhere accessible at all times so that you can zap anything that feels dodgy straight away. GO BUY IT, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best thing I've bought this year

Posted13 January 2012
Customer Avatar
DannyP23
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like a previous review, I will start by stating that I very rarely review items I buy but I owe it to all acute coldsore suffers to share my experience of this. Whilst I'm sure different people will experience different results for me I've been blown away by this. For years I've caught about 1 coldsore a month with all the personal and social discomfort of sitting in meetings with an unsightly lip. Since buying the product I've used it 4 times. To manage expectations, it does not stop a blister from appearing altogether (although I did manage to get it early enough once to all but stop it developing). What it does do is pretty much stop the discomfort I get, prevents it from the dramatic spread that can occur and significantly reduces the swelling. The healing time is also much, much quicker and its less prone to cracking and bleeding. Therefore, if your a frequent suffer, think no more, I can genuinely say this is the best buy I've made this year.
The only potential downside is the size (it's not the most discrete), but it could be twice the size of my head and I'd still use it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant. If you suffer from cold sores this is for you

Posted05 February 2012
Customer Avatar
Stapenhurst
from Aberdeen, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have suffered from cold sores for about 30 years.
When Zovirax came along it made a huge difference and reduced the unpleasantness of the sores.
Compeed plasters (used at night - Zovirax during the day) also helped.
I doubted whether a machine could possibly help. But it does.
This is a significant step forward. I use it 3 times on the first day and twice thereafter, and still apply zovirax by day and compeed plasters at night. The attack lasts now just 2-3 days and, as the machine seems to help reduce blister size, the blisters are less unsightly.
If you suffer from cold sores I strongly reccommend you try this machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best treatment on the market

Posted29 June 2011
Customer Avatar
OBG99
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having been a cold-sore sufferer since primary school, I have tried just about every known treatment and bought this product halfway through an outbreak at the end of last year. As such I couldn't be certain if it had any real effect at the time.
However I have recently been ill with flu followed by a heavy cold - which is exactly when I normally get an outbreak. As a precaution I have been carrying the device with me and awaiting the first signs that a new outbreak was on its way. As expected the tell-tale tingle/bump on my lip appeared Monday afternoon and I started using the device immediately. This single bump would normally be quickly followed by numerous others until half of my bottom lip was covered but this time it has just remained as a single very small bump and although the device has not stopped it from turning into a slight sore, it is so small as to be hardly noticeable.
It is now Wednesday and the sore is still no bigger than the original bump I felt on Monday - maybe 2-3 mm in diameter. Although it did not stop the outbreak altogether - maybe I didn't catch it quite in time - I feel it is still so small as to be practically invisible to others. I expect it to be healed by the weekend whereas normally it would still be developing at this stage. Very impressive. Would recommend to anybody.
This is by far the best treatment I have ever encountered.
Advantages: no messy creams/ patches
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the money

Posted16 December 2011
Customer Avatar
Jakeysmum
from Norfolk, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was initially a little skeptical about this machine but, as a cold sore sufferer for many years, I was prepared to try it. The first time I used it I had an existing cold sore, so the results were not much different from when I have used the Avert cream. However, the next time, I used it at the first "tingle" and it really worked. The cold sore just didn't materialise.
My only criticism really is that you need to carry it with you so that you can use it at a moment's notice, but I found it was constantly switiching itself on in my handbag and draining the battery. I think it would be a good idea if it came in its own rigid case (or if one were available separately). I have overcome this by using an old spectacle case, but I have to wrap it in a cloth to stop it rattling around inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A must have

Posted04 February 2012
Customer Avatar
Annap1981
from Stamford
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This makes a huge difference to cold sore healing times. Really recommend it for long time sufferers like myself.
One minor thing to watch out for. It's best if you carry it with you at all times incase of a break out, But don't take it shopping as it sets off every store alarm including Boots!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It work

Posted30 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Lewis082
from somerset
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OK so you get cold sores? well after reading what other people had said i just had to try it! I had 5 Cold sores around the same place after 3 days of using the Boots Pharmaceuticals Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine they are almost gone!!! it takes just over a week normaly but WOW it work
Advantages: it works
Disadvantages: the cost
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny

Posted19 February 2012
Customer Avatar
atomicpuppy
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this a few years ago but never got around to writing a review. I've always suffered with cold sores, I suppose just one or two a year, each one lasting around 10 days. However, anyone who's ever had a cold sore will know that feeling when you walk around with your head bowed hoping that nobody notices you, or IT!
The final straw came when I had started a new job and I got the mother of all cold sores on my bottom lip. I was desperate to try something that might be quicker and more effective than the cream (yep, the famous one.) I saw this advertised and thought I'd give it a go, despite the price. If it didn't work I'd just put it down to experience. After a couple of days, the sore was dried out and had shrunk enormously. This was nearly 3 years ago and I have NEVER had a cold sore since! Whenever I feel anything weird on or around my lip, I just give it a blast and nothing has materialised yet! Mine lives in my work bag so it's always to hand if I need it. (Though as someone mentioned earlier, it does tend to switch itself on when knocked around in your bag - Maybe a "lock" of some sort would be a handy design addition.) Anyway, don't be put off by the price - It's worth double!!
Advantages: definitely works
Disadvantages: needs a lock to stop it switching on in your bag
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing! DEFinately worth it

Posted11 March 2012
Customer Avatar
Sareli
from tel aviv, israel
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great device - you wouldn't think by looking at it or even initially using it, but somehow everytime i have used it my coldsores have lasted at most 4-7days instead of the usual 12 days, depending how big they are.
I tell everyone who suffers from coldsores about this, as most people do not know about it.
It is an amazing product!
Advantages: small and battery operated
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expensive but worth it

Posted21 December 2011
Customer Avatar
Ixiethea
from London, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A friend of mine from work recommended it, and although I winced at the price when I saw it, I knew that if this worked then the cost would return itself fairly quickly, as the little cream tubes do add up over the year (especially if you're like me, spend 10+ hours a week commuting on the London underground and pick up every bug going), and if it didn't work, I could always return it.
I've tried it and it worked like a dream! So I'm definitely keeping it and have recommended it to all of my friends already as well! Pricey, but well worth the cost. There's no mess involved, and unlike the creams, it doesn't dry your skin (which looks and feels like sunburn to me).
I used it only in the morning and evenings at the first sign of a tingle, and it was enough to ensure the cold sore never developed any further. So I didn't have to worry about carrying the machine with me.
I was a bit skeptical at first whether it was actually working, because apart from the flashing light at the top, you can't tell that the machineis doing anything (no warm feeling, no tingling, and the diodes don't light up), but the results speak for themselves. I wish the leaflet mentioned that! I actually retutrned the first machine thinking it was broken, when it clearly wasn't!
Definitely very effective!
Advantages: effective!, doesn't dry out skin, quicker results than from creams
Disadvantages: diodes don't light up, expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!!

Posted27 January 2012
Customer Avatar
alexgomby
from Exeter
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been suffering from cold sore all my life since I was a little girl and therefore when I woke up on Tuesday with a lip like a duck I felt desperate. I went to boots and bought the usual patches I use, but also saw this product. I didnt buy it straightaway because I looked at the price and thought ohmygod thats so much money ! I went home and my lip just got worse, 3 cold sores on bottom lip is the most uncomfortable and horrible thing ever. I was absolutely desperate and upset and willing to try anything, so I read through the review on this website and thought, I have nothing to lose, so I went and bought the machine. I sort of thought if I use it every hour it might help a bit more, but didnt really believe it would help as there was no visible light at all. BUT after half an hour all the pain was gone, and after 24 hours the cold sores that were so big I couldn't eat properly got MUCH smaller and started drying, and the next day I couldnt believe my eyes, they were at a stage when they are healing. I was using the patches though as well, which I think helped. I couldn't believe that such a small machine could help, but now i dont regret paying so much at all. What would have normally lasted about 2 weeks lasted 4 days, and they are completely gone now, my lip just looks a bit like when you cut it but no sign of the cold sores. I would definately recommend the machine, if you are like me, and desperate to do anything to get rid of it, run to boots and buy one because it does really work and you will save yourself a fortune buying creams!!
Advantages: quick, easy to use, small and convenient
Disadvantages: are u serious?!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BRILLIANT PRODUCT !!

Posted08 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Janiej
from Shropshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Like other reviewers ..... I thought that this was rather costly, but after suffering from cold sores for years and trying every lotion and potion going, I bought this product. I had a huge coldsore appear on my chin containing about 8 blisters last Friday night, I pondered over purchasing this product on Saturday and thought better of it, on the Sunday morning I decided that I had to give it a try as my chin was tingling like crazy, I used the machine about 8 times on Sunday, carried on applying cream and slept with a cold sore patch on Sunday evening, I woke up Monday morning and my chin actually looked better, not as inflammed, no tingling and no pain!!, used the machine about 8 times again over the day, continued to use cream and again slept with a cold sore patch on Monday night, woke up Tuesday morning and my coldsore has practically gone !!! what a fab product, I know £36 is rather expensive but hey fellow cold sore sufferers,....walking around without that horrid cold sore look is priceless !!!
Advantages: actually does work
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
15of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product changed my life!

Posted12 February 2012
Customer Avatar
SophieA1981
from Southampton
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a truly amazing machine. I used to get a cold sore every month lasting 12 days and now they only last for 2 days and get only one every 3-4 months! A good tip is to use anytime you feel tired/run-down/hungover (even without a tingle) on the area you would normally get one. There will be no swelling, pain or disgusting scabbing even if one does come up. It truly has changed my life! MAGIC!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

Posted19 February 2012
Customer Avatar
louiselooks
from Glasgow
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had a cold sore for 3 weeks and tried everything, was at my wits ends and after reading all the reviews of this I decided I'd give it a bash. Well my cold sore is healing up, and almost completely gone after only 2 days of using machine. I have been getting a lot of cold sores recently and will be using this at tingle stage from now. Will report back of how that goes. Well worth the money so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>