Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots-Pharmaceuticals Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine is easy to use and treats cold sores quickly and cleanly. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.603 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
5 stars
94
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
82 out of 99(83%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 1 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cold sore misery is over!

Posted06 May 2010
Customer Avatar
Bevsy
I bought this last November as yet another sore appeared. My typical outbreak would be 3 or 4 sores in quick succession, usually around my nose and they would put in an appearance every 3 months. Having spent a fortune on creams and patches I gave in to the price tag and I am incredibly impressed. When I first used it I was already 3 days in to a sore, but this took the pain away instantly. It still took the usual week to clear but the trick is to use it as soon as possible. The slightest tingle or redness you need to use it, carry it in your bag or pocket without fail and use about 3 times a day and it will work its magic. Since my first use I have had nothing more than a couple of tiny pinhead size blisters and they have always vanished virtually over night. I recommend this to everyone because it honestly works.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well spent

Posted12 March 2010
Customer Avatar
griffi123
I don't usually write reviews but I really think this works. I have told my family and friends about it. Usually get at least one cold sore a month but haven't had one since buying this 2 months ago. Also I bought it when I had a pretty bad cold sore. It was very painful. The pain stopped as soon as I used this and it dried up. Healed very quickly. Better than creams or tablets. So far so good
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold sore treatment

Posted18 December 2009
Customer Avatar
sharonk77
i have suffered with cold sores for many years, causing pain, suffering and embarassment i often wouldnt leave the house for days because of how awful they look. I have recently been getting a cold sore every month, leaving me with really swollen lips and in agony. I have tried all the creams on the market but they really werent helping so my husband bought me the boots electronic cold sore treatment and thank god he did! It really does work! im not sure how but i really dont care! it stops the pain and the swelling and the awful crusty scab, my cold sore had healed in 24 hours! amazing! would reccommend this to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Brilliant

Posted12 April 2010
Customer Avatar
Pepper123
I wish I had been told about this earlier. This has helped me so much. I have been distressed with the amount of cold sores I have been getting. This has helped to clear them up so quickly and have only had 2 sores and these went really quickly . I would recommend this to everyone who suffers from cold sores. Thank you whoever created this machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

Posted30 June 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I hate having cold sores, the one's I seem to get are never discreet even with the patches. The second day I found this machine and used it, about 4 times a day. I'm now on the 5th day and it has nearly gone. The price tag is quite high, but like other people I definitely think its worth it. Also its painless which was something I was worried about.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Electric Cold Sore Treatment

Posted12 January 2009
Customer Avatar
BigMac
I am a cold sore sufferer of many years and tried many treatments including patches, although effective they would not stay on following eating or drinking. I recently received the electronic device and anxioulsy awaited the day I would need to use! This arrived last week and immediately set to work with the device following instructions other than used 4 times a day instead of 2, which is permitted. Unfortunately I am very disappointed, day 4 instead of disappearing it is worse than would have been with a cream. I will give another chance but if same result with next cold sore I will be seeking a refund as does not perform in accordance with promise. Normally using Zovirax my sore would now be at healing stage. Not recommended. Will update if improves next time!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
24of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tinny13
London
 
Please wait while more information about Tinny13 is loaded.
Additional information about Tinny13 could not be loaded.
Don't give up, use with Zovirax
Posted 31 March 2014
I never gave up Zovirax, I just added this machine to my routine. I use it then apply Zovirax. When I need to reapply, I use it again and reapply. I think it works best with the cream. They each do their thing. But it does speed stuff up for me and to be honest, as someone who used to get sold sores every month in the same place, after using this for a year, I have had maybe 2 cold sores in the past 2 or so years. It seems to have healed the vulnerable place I had which would always be where they'd break out.
I did not change anything else in my life and in fact, last flue I had I was pleasantly surprised when I did not get any cold sores. I used to get several when under any illness. Don't give up the cream, just add this to your routine. I use it over the cream too.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cold Sore Machine

Posted21 January 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy
This does not give overnight results but does help to clear the cold sore without drying it out too much and helps the skin underneath to regenerate quicker making the cold sore heal less painlessly. It also elimates the need for endless creams and lotions. Although expensive to purchase, it does work out cheaper in the long run as it can be used many times.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Snake Oil or useful - not sure yet...

Posted14 April 2009
Customer Avatar
JSmith
I read the test results by the inventor and when I saw this in Boots, having a cold sore in progress, recognised it. So, shining a light at 72nm is going to help is it? The jury is out for me. This sore erupted quickly and I used aciclovir late. The sore has lasted a week, longer (just) than usual as treatment started late - BUT! I used cream AND the light thing frequently so this may be a tough outbreak on a very tired person. Will I have the nerve to not use cream? No. Why did I buy it? The results seemed interesting and I think he has progressed to Pratchett's MS treatment. Fingers crossed this is not snake oil - L36 for a pair of LEDs and a timer is a lot. (Point at a webcam/camera if you want proof there is some light coming out. It shows white. I will review again if I notice long term benefit.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-18points
6of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle, I swear!

Posted18 May 2009
Customer Avatar
Calliope
I used to suffer from cold sore flare ups every month without fail. 5 months ago after I ran out of the cream and the patches i went to boots and found this! I treated my cold sore as the instructions said and it made my coldsore go within days! And, even better than that, i havn't had one in 5 months! AMAZING! It's totally worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you suffer from cold sores - buy one!

Posted14 August 2009
Customer Avatar
NicholaMcC
At first I was very sceptical about this product, but like most cold sore sufferers, I'm willing to try ANYTHING, at least once! I was initially put off by the high price tag of 35.00, but after reading a couple of good reviews online, I decided it was worth a shot. It was the best 35.00 I've ever spent! From the very first use I could see a difference - swelling, redness and pain reduced within a matter of hours. I used it 2 or 3 times a day, my cold sores shrunk and were almost completely gone within a week! I get really bad break outs every couple of months, so this little device is an absolute god send! Simply put, if you suffer from cold sores - buy one! You really won't regret it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boots Advanced Electronic Cold Sore Treatment

Posted03 November 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I have never completed a product review before but I am so impressed by how well this worked that I want to tell others. My cold sores were stopped in their tracks, and only 3 days after they started I look and feel almost normal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At last a 'cure'

Posted10 January 2011
Customer Avatar
Spinksy78
I bought this machine whilst i already had a coldsore on my nostril. I had applied cream but it was still swollen and sore. I used the machine twice that day. By morning, the swelling had gone and the sore seemed 'dryer', with 3 days it was completely gone. I got the chance to try this on a new coldsore on Wed, it hardly came up and By Sat morning, it was completely dry, and 'flat'. It is well worth the money and the investment is an absolute must.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Coldsore treatment

Posted11 January 2010
Customer Avatar
Petal
After years of suffering with terrible and extremely painful coldsore I recently bought this Electronic Cold Sore Treatment. The first time I used it my coldsore was already fully developed and was very swollen but within 24 hours of using the treatment the swelling had gone down and it healed far quicker than it would have without the treatment. I have had two more coldsores since and be able to treat them very quickly and instead of them developing and taking over a week for the swelling to go this has really stopped them from developing anything more than a very small blister. It is also far less messy and unsightly than applying creams all the time. I really think this is worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

Posted23 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Karmitsa
My boyfriend tends to get really bad coldsores and this little machine has saved him!!!! The minute his gets the 'tingle' he uses it and the cold sore lasts only a couple of days.
It might be expensive, but think of all the money you are saving in the long run! I have recommended it to all my friends!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC PRODUCT

Posted22 January 2011
Customer Avatar
nessa100
fantastic product. I was a bit unsure about the price but it is worth it considering it last forever. As soon as I feel a tingle i know a cold sore is coming I use the machine and it works brilliantly. Its easy to use and it better than using messy creams (which cost alot conidering you dont get much for the price you pay) great product and well worth the buy would recommend it to everybody
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life-changing

Posted27 January 2011
Customer Avatar
gavin8
I've been using this thing for about 3 years and have not had a fully-formed cold sore since. As long as I've got this guy around I pretty much consider myself to be free of cold sores altogether. I've become a bit of an evangelist for these things - efficacy seems to vary a bit but I can zap at the tingle and not get anything forming at all. Amazing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy it - you won't regret it!

Posted11 March 2011
Customer Avatar
curf101
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have suffered with a cold sore that always reoccurs in the same place, whenever I feel stressed, run down etc. I bought this product in June when the nasty thing resurfaced. I don't think it healed any quicker as a result of using this machine (took about 7-10 days to disappear as it usually does when using the creams). I did find it much easier than messing about with creams though which I found dried my skin out in the area surrounding the cold sore. I also found the creams made the cold sore look more unsightly.
Nine months on I have not had a single cold sore since using this machine! I have been particularly stressed during this period and would have expected to have at the very least one or two breakouts in this time but nothing at all!
I don't usually write reviews but I am so evangelical about this product - it has changed my life. I used to feel so embarrassed when I had a cold sore and used to despair at that tingling sensation which meant one was on it's way, but no more!
I know it's more expensive than the creams but I honestly urge you to try it. It has worked wonders for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

electronic cold sore treatment

Posted12 May 2010
Customer Avatar
Salander
having suffered from cold sores all my life and had some very large unpleasant ones I was sceptical but decided to shell out for this product. It is worth it, some small ones don't materialise and bigger ones -I have one at the moment -stay small manageable and not nearly so sore. Invest in this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted04 May 2010
Customer Avatar
FAB12345
This is a totally amazing device. After suffering for years every 3 months or so with large coldsores that scabbed badly, lasted 3 weeks and left scars for months, I have finally manage to banish the coldsore completely!
The first time I used it, the scabs had alreayd formed and it was too late to do anything about it. However, even though it did nothing for the coldsore I had, I haven't had one since.
Every time I think one is about to emerge, I use the machine and it completely stops and outbreak.
This really is worth the investment and far better than creams and patches as it has stopped the virus dead in its tracks!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yessssssss it works

Posted06 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Raymysterio
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very very sceptical about buying one of these putting it off for months until I got another sore.
I got the device into the second day when my sore was at the throb and filling full of fluid. I used the device and within hours my sore had calmed down.
My sore got smaller and less irritating over the course of the day instead of weeping and drooling and looking like a cornflake stuck to your lip like they usually do.
Yet to try it at the tingle stage but of course if your buying one you know you will always get another to test it on.
Couldn't believe it. Where's it been all my life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>