Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Cold sores or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for BOOTS-PHARMACEUTIC Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

BOOTS-PHARMACEUTIC Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine

Boots Pharmaceuticals Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine is easy to use and treats cold sores quickly and cleanly. Always read the product information before use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.574 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
5 stars
86
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
82 out of 99(83%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Review 1 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Use at Tingling Stage

Posted15 March 2013
Customer Avatar
DeeB123
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I first purchased this machine (4 months ago in pure desperation) when my cold sore was already on day 3......I continued to use it daily but it made no difference to my cold sore on this occasion. It continued to become a full blown seeping mess and lasted for a total of 10 days.
4 months on.....I felt the typical tingling in my lip and little bit of rough skin appear in the morning. I engaged the machine ASAP! By the evening of the first day I had given it two treatments with Avert machine. I continued to treat it with the machine 4x daily and Avert cream in between 4-6x per day. I am now 5 days on and the cold sore has vanished. It just never developed into anything. It continued to tingle for a day and even developed into tiny unnoticeable ulcers on day 2-3 however never got to seeping, crusty and scab phase.
My life is saved! Honestly I never write reviews but I believe this machine really works as long as you use it at the very START of your symptoms. It cuts the developing time in half easily.
Only problem is it could do with a small hard case as it is easy to push the 'start' button when you put it in your bag (I just removed the battery and turned it upside down every time I wasn't using it)
Advantages: easy, non-messy, good value, actually works!
Disadvantages: easy to push 'start' button in your bag, no light emitted (can cause confusion)
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Electric Cold Sore Treatment

Posted12 January 2009
Customer Avatar
BigMac
I am a cold sore sufferer of many years and tried many treatments including patches, although effective they would not stay on following eating or drinking. I recently received the electronic device and anxioulsy awaited the day I would need to use! This arrived last week and immediately set to work with the device following instructions other than used 4 times a day instead of 2, which is permitted. Unfortunately I am very disappointed, day 4 instead of disappearing it is worse than would have been with a cream. I will give another chance but if same result with next cold sore I will be seeking a refund as does not perform in accordance with promise. Normally using Zovirax my sore would now be at healing stage. Not recommended. Will update if improves next time!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
23of 35voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tinny13
London
 
Please wait while more information about Tinny13 is loaded.
Additional information about Tinny13 could not be loaded.
Don't give up, use with Zovirax
Posted 31 March 2014
I never gave up Zovirax, I just added this machine to my routine. I use it then apply Zovirax. When I need to reapply, I use it again and reapply. I think it works best with the cream. They each do their thing. But it does speed stuff up for me and to be honest, as someone who used to get sold sores every month in the same place, after using this for a year, I have had maybe 2 cold sores in the past 2 or so years. It seems to have healed the vulnerable place I had which would always be where they'd break out.
I did not change anything else in my life and in fact, last flue I had I was pleasantly surprised when I did not get any cold sores. I used to get several when under any illness. Don't give up the cream, just add this to your routine. I use it over the cream too.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Incredible!

Posted28 June 2011
Customer Avatar
melissa111
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I must say - I didn't trust any of the reviews that I read yesterday... It sounds just so amazing that you think it can't be true. Well, I got a cold sore yesterday morning and went out and bought the machine... I have hardly nothing left of the cold sore on my lip. I think is because I caught it soon - but hey if instead I used cream and patches it would have taken 5 days min to heal. I can say that this machine is totally worth buying. (PS - I use it every 4hrs more or less, although states on packaging to do it once and then another time 12 hrs later)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent- worth every penny!!

Posted25 February 2011
Customer Avatar
cariadnic
from port talbot
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took a while to buy this due to the cost but it is worth every penny. First bought and used in Dec 10, I thought that it helped but wasn't sure. Have only just had another coldsore after nearly three months, the tingling and blisters started in work so had to wait until I got home to use the device. By this time the blisters had formed on my lip and my glands were swollen. Used the device every time I remembered that evening - prob 5 times, by morning my glands were less painful and itching, burning pain of blisters had lessened. By the next day the blisters were drying up and scabbing over, my glands had gone down and there was no more pain. I kept on using the device every time i remembered prob 5-7 times a day. By the fifth day- today the scab has come off. It usually takes 7-10 days for the scab to come off so this has reduced the healing time in half. I hope that by using this the sores will come less and less in the future but I am over the moon that using the device has made the sore go more quickly and has made it less painful straight away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every suffers essential

Posted07 March 2014
Customer Avatar
Bigdowse
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
3 cold sores (yes 3!!) arrived on the Monday by the Friday all but gone. I personally think the machine brings out the cold sore very quickly allowing it to heal quicker. The only draw back is that the cold sore becomes very sore and lips do swell. In all it cut the 7-10 day cold sore down to 5, so in my book it's very good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle, I swear!

Posted18 May 2009
Customer Avatar
Calliope
I used to suffer from cold sore flare ups every month without fail. 5 months ago after I ran out of the cream and the patches i went to boots and found this! I treated my cold sore as the instructions said and it made my coldsore go within days! And, even better than that, i havn't had one in 5 months! AMAZING! It's totally worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cold Sore Machine

Posted18 February 2009
Customer Avatar
Hevntilda
This thing really works! If you use it at the first sign of a cold sore tingle (which I get regularly) the cold sore doesn't develop. If I leave it and the sore starts to come up, this machine seems to accelerate the cycle and it goes very quickly.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Buy!

Posted21 March 2014
Customer Avatar
HelenaJ1
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
So I purchased this a while ago and it didn't really seem to do anything but I read some of the reviews and decided to try it again.
I can honestly say I am glad I did, I have been using it throughout all stages of the cold sore 3 times a day and each time after use I can feel my cold sore itching as it is almost gone so know this is the healing process and almost at the end. I would definitely recommend this product to try. It is quite expensive but if you suffer from cold sores like I do and you can actually feel them getting better it is always a good sign!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazed

Posted16 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Surprisedanddelighted
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
I've suffered cold sores for four or five years now, getting one every time I go oh holiday in sunnier climes, and occasionally when run down. Tried the creams and the Lysine to no apparent effect so was more than a little cynical about this but did some reading around the issue of laser therapy and there seems to be a growing body of evidence about its efficacy so thought this worth a try as its based on the same core principles. Have been using it for 18 months now and not a single cold sore since - to say I'm delighted would be an understatement. I use it very heavily (10-20 mins a day) in the days leading up to a sunny holiday, and daily during the holiday, and not so much as a tingle seems to occur. And then I use it once a week or fortnight during the rest of the year as a precaution. I'm so convinced I own three of the things and keep one at work, one at home and one in the car just in case I sense the virus coming on. But thus far, I take the absence as success! Would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At last a 'cure'

Posted10 January 2011
Customer Avatar
Spinksy78
I bought this machine whilst i already had a coldsore on my nostril. I had applied cream but it was still swollen and sore. I used the machine twice that day. By morning, the swelling had gone and the sore seemed 'dryer', with 3 days it was completely gone. I got the chance to try this on a new coldsore on Wed, it hardly came up and By Sat morning, it was completely dry, and 'flat'. It is well worth the money and the investment is an absolute must.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing machine

Posted29 January 2013
Customer Avatar
the3williams
I felt a tingle on Friday night but could not find my Zovirax cream so woke up with the start of the coldsore. Went to Boots to buy cream first thing but saw this machine so bought it. I used it 4 times on Saturday and Sunday and on Monday the coldsore felt as if it was about to erupt so I used the machine more times. It's now Tuesday evening and I can feel that the coldsore is on it's way out. I take Lycine tablets too when I get an outbreak which must help. Normally the coldsore creams seem to make the coldsore much worse before it gets better and there is the painful stage to get through. I can't recommend this machine highly enough and it's really portable, easy to use and is not messy like a cream. I did feel a bit of a lemon when using it at 9.30am at my local Costa Coffee but it was either that or delay the start of treatment which I did not want to do. Give it a try and keep using the machine each day - it worked for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant. If you suffer from cold sores this is for you

Posted05 February 2012
Customer Avatar
Stapenhurst
from Aberdeen, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have suffered from cold sores for about 30 years.
When Zovirax came along it made a huge difference and reduced the unpleasantness of the sores.
Compeed plasters (used at night - Zovirax during the day) also helped.
I doubted whether a machine could possibly help. But it does.
This is a significant step forward. I use it 3 times on the first day and twice thereafter, and still apply zovirax by day and compeed plasters at night. The attack lasts now just 2-3 days and, as the machine seems to help reduce blister size, the blisters are less unsightly.
If you suffer from cold sores I strongly reccommend you try this machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miraculous !!!!!!

Posted28 October 2010
Customer Avatar
Noisette
This machine is worth every penny, it started clearing up a massive painful 5 day old cold sore from the first 'zap'.
I continued to use it every hour for 4 hours, and the next day the cold sore had gone! Usually it takes several days to clear up so I am well chuffed. Offset the cost against forever buying creams and plasters, and it is cheaper in the long run, I cannot recommend it
enough, brilliant !!!! I would give it 10* if I could.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life-changing

Posted27 January 2011
Customer Avatar
gavin8
I've been using this thing for about 3 years and have not had a fully-formed cold sore since. As long as I've got this guy around I pretty much consider myself to be free of cold sores altogether. I've become a bit of an evangelist for these things - efficacy seems to vary a bit but I can zap at the tingle and not get anything forming at all. Amazing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A must have

Posted04 February 2012
Customer Avatar
Annap1981
from Stamford
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This makes a huge difference to cold sore healing times. Really recommend it for long time sufferers like myself.
One minor thing to watch out for. It's best if you carry it with you at all times incase of a break out, But don't take it shopping as it sets off every store alarm including Boots!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fab! Well worth the money!

Posted22 August 2009
Customer Avatar
StephJ
My last cold sore covered half my top lip and was all blistered. I bought this together with the compeed plasters and it was the quickest I have ever got rid of a cold sore! Use this every 8/10 hours then cover sore with a compeed and apply cream to the surrounding area. This works, and FAST!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The machine really works-and is still working well after 3 years!

Posted13 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Bellawoo29
from UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
I have been plagued by cold sores since I was a teenager (now in my late thirties) and nothing has ever worked like this little machine! And my cold sores are really nasty-I always get them on my top lip, my lip swells out to about twice the normal size, they are painful and unsightly with several weeping blisters and one particularly bad attack even left me with a scar above my lip. I would usually get them 2 or 3 times a year and each time it would take several days before the sore even started to scab and often it could be a couple of weeks until it properly healed. After suffering 2 in quick succession about 3 years ago I decided to try the Boots Avert machine. I already had a cold sore when I purchased it but it significantly reduced the length of time I had the sore. I wondered if it may just be coincidence-I didn't usually have cold sore attacks so close together, maybe the second one would have been less severe anyway? But I kept on periodically using the machine and I went around a year without suffering one at all-even after triggers like dry, chapped lips, colds or sun exposure. I have also sometimes experienced the tell-tale tingle and used the machine and no sore has developed. However yesterday I woke up to feel one starting so I reached for the machine immediately but was disappointed to find that a really nasty sore developed regardless. However the speed with which it has gone through the horrid stages has been remarkable-just yesterday it tingled, swelled, blistered, started weeping and began to scab all in one day and today it feels so much easier, the scab has come off without bleeding and my cold sore is well on the way to being healed-in just 2 days! I just felt it about time I added to all the great reviews on this product as I really do recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing - well worth the price

Posted15 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I used to get cold sores every now and then due to heat, intense stress etc, and I would look like elephant man for at least 10 days, until it starts reducing. Even when applying Zovirax or any other product when it tingled, i knew it would grow big and ugly. I tried thi machine, without really thinking it would be that amazing. I had 3 cold sores, one did not grow at all, and the other 2 remained minimal and did not double my lips size. This product really works, and you need to make sure you use it at least twice a day or more, it wont hurt if you use it more anyway. This is my life savvior and i take it everywhere with me as i never know when my cold sores could appear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous!

Posted02 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Curlypurple
from Oxford, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Once per year
I used this as soon as I felt the 'tingle' and even though the cold sore still came out, it was nowhere near as bad as they normally are, it was drier generally and from the tingle to completely going was a week, mine would normally last at least 2 weeks. Very pleased with the product, very simple to use, you can't feel it and it's quick (3 minutes)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boots Avert Electronic Cold Sore Machine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!!!

Posted24 February 2012
Customer Avatar
rachyrach223
from blackburn
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
I bought this some time again but thought I'd express my thought that this product is amazing! I have always suffered with coldsores and I hate them :( at first I thought this product was really pricy but I've tried all the creams and the only one I thought that worked was the boots lip and cold sore cream...the cheapest one but cream took a good 5-7 days for it to clear so I bought this! I used it and my cold disappeared within 2 days!! Absolutely brilliant! And since I bought this I rarely get them at all now :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>