Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Hair Straighteners or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Nicky-Clarke Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener

Nicky-Clarke Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener

The advanced floating plates help make hair even straighter and smoother than before, whilst the rounded design of the plate edges allow you to create different styles from poker straight to voluptuous bouncy curls!
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
24 out of 30(80%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Review 1 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

Posted25 September 2011
Customer Avatar
mh156
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used to have ghds, and someone took them so i got these. They are amazing they are nearly just as good as the ghds and they also come with good quality paddle brush, hair clips and a comb. I really like the way you can change the settings for different hair types. I love the design and they're really easy to work, i love these and i would reccomend them to anyone.
Advantages: free things, nearly as good as ghds!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!!!!!!!!!

Posted22 March 2013
Customer Avatar
littlemiss19
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is so great! i use it about 3 times a week and it makes my hair light up with glossyness and its dead straight! i wold recomend this product to anyone as it has so many great extra features like a thickness of hair dial and it heats up in about 30 seconds. amazing product!!! :D
Advantages: thick hair thin hair feature, heat up in seconds
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brownie points

Posted02 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bedfordshire
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my daughter loved getting these she hasn't stopped using them yet well worth what i paid for them loads of brownie points
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does as it says!

Posted13 April 2012
Customer Avatar
olayolay
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had Babyliss straighteners before these which I used everyday for 4 years, brilliant product but they have just worn out so I've decided to have a change. I have used the NC straighteners for a week now & have found both products equally as good. I just hope that the NC straighteners last as long as the old ones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Pleased..

Posted10 October 2013
Customer Avatar
AmaneeIslam
from London
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought this one quite a while ago, did not last even1 year. So took it back to Boots and fortunately , the staffs were very understanding and friendly. Got the refund. Definitely I wont recommend this to anybody.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product and great value for money!

Posted03 January 2014
Customer Avatar
SleepingBeautyTurquoise
from East Sussex
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well, what can I say?! I could not afford an expensive pair of ghd straighteners after my old Remmington ones died! Intially chose these ones as price was excellent and Nicky Clarke is a trusted brand. Was very pleasantly surprised at the amazing results! Beautiful smooth soft sleek hair. On and off switch, swivel cable, smooth rounded plates which do not pull or drag the hair. Variable heat setting, paddle brush, comb and two sectioning clips included. They emanate luxury without the high price tag. So far I love them. Yet to try curling my hair with them, straightening results are fantastic.
Nice one Boots and Nicky Clarke! Happy Christmas to meeee! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value straightener

Posted08 October 2013
Customer Avatar
ElizaB11
from Colchester, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this in a hurry a year ago after my old straightener died, I just picked the second cheapest one I could find on the shelves of my local Boots. I like it very much, it straightens my hair just fine, gives shine, slides easily on the hair strands and it lasts until I wash it again. For the price it's absolutely fantastic! Only downside would be that it doesn't show the exact temperature as I like to keep it below 180 Celsius degrees, but I guess that's somewhere between the "medium" and "thick" range . Would recommend for anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hair straightener and hair spray

Posted19 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Nicky Clarke 230 Straightener which arrived just in time at your Moira branch for our visit to N Ireland for a wedding. Not so impressed with the Boots hair spray product. Thank you! PMB
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These straighteners are amazing!!!

Posted19 August 2013
Customer Avatar
bunnybear1975
from Kent
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Just used these and my hair feels soft and looks shiny and smooth. They are very easy to use. I've got a bob and these are great for rounding the ends. I was surprised to find it came with a paddle brush so that was a bonus. I can honestly say these are as good as my hairdressers ones. I'm definitely going to recommend these to friends and family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't last long

Posted19 August 2014
Customer Avatar
Claire1754
These are a brilliant pair of straighteners however they don't last for very long. I've had a couple of pairs but each only last 6 months max. Luckily Boots have exchanged them each time without an issue!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

review

Posted13 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i love these straighteners. I love the thick/thin temperature dial and the plates give a lovely smooth feel - there's no static at all, which was a problem with my old ones.
i would also recommend the Elvive heat protect styling spray - using these both together, my curls are gone!
there are only two minor things i don't like about the straighteners;
1) they keep falling on their sides (luckily i have a have a heat mat though)
2) the on/off switch is a little bit too close to the plates, so be careful
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly great

Posted09 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Helen19912
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My hair seems to resent any straighteners. I can use GHDs on my hair, then an hour later it will start to flick up at the ends. I doubted this product at first but it works perfectly! And really good for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent straighteners

Posted02 November 2014
Customer Avatar
Bootsaddict1
from Oxford
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Really pleased with these. They do the job perfectly. I'm not sure why you'd pay more. Heat up really quickly and easy to use with a dial for hair thickness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hair therapy straightener review

Posted04 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Macclesfield
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Before I bought these I read a lot of reviews about them, I don't agree with them completely but overall I'm pleased with the product. For the price they are definitely a great value for money however I still feel like they could be improved, they snag a lot on the end of my hair and I don't like where the on/off switch is positioned (right next to the heated plates) but yes I would recommend this product if you're looking for a decent quality hair straightener in this price range.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

Posted18 October 2010
Customer Avatar
XxxFairyGirlxxX
These are amazing straighteners. My old Nicky Clarke ones were starting to look a little worse for wear as I'd had them for ages so I decided to update them. When I saw the price of these I was so shocked, the offer price is madness, so I quickly snapped them up & couldn't wait to start using them. I know how good Nicky Clarke products are so had no worries trying them out. They come with a fantastic paddle brush & 2 hair clips, which are very good quality, not like some additional 'freebies'. The straighteners are the perfect size, weight, have a swivel cord & are so easy to use. I LOVE the different heat settings for fine, medium & thick hair, as well as the max option. My hair's poker straight & shiny, & I am so impressed, however not surprised at the results. The only thing I'd say is you need a heat protecting mat with these as they fall to the side & don't stay upright, so you need to protect your surfaces. Fabulous, give them a try!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+32points
57of 82voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I haven't used straighteners before and this is my first purchase - really pleased!

Posted15 June 2011
Customer Avatar
AwesomeAunt
from Cumbria
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having read the other reviews, I decided to buy these straighteners. They seemed a sensible price and I liked the fact that you can control the heat settings as I have fine hair. They are light to use and are easy to handle. The paddle brush that comes with it is also very useful. I would say a good first buy, but as I haven't used straighterners before, I haven't anything to compare them too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

RUBBISH DESIGN BUT GOOD PRICE

Posted03 September 2011
Customer Avatar
1981mumof2
from ISLE OF WIGHT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I GOT THESE AFTER MY OTHER STRAIGHENERS DECIDED NOT TO WORK ANY MORE.
ALL SEEMED WELL WHEN I OPENED THE BOX, BRUSH, CLIPS AND COMB WAS A FANTASTIC EXTRA BUT THE STRAIGHTENERS THEM SELF ARE RUBBISH. THEY HAVE A SMOOTH PLASTIC COATING (OR SOMETHING) ON THE HANDLES THAT BECOME SLIPPERY WHEN HOLDING THEM AND THE CERAMIC PLATES DONT CLOSE PROPERLY WITH HAIR INSIDE SO YOU HAVE TO HOLD THE END OF THEM BUT THIS IS EXTREAMILY HOT.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
16of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really fast heat up

Posted15 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Weedi945
from Glasgow
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I exchanged my babyliss 230 elegance for these after the babyliss left my hair full of static.At first they did the same,but once I turned them down to mid setting(which I thought is a great feature as you have fine,medium, thick and max temp of 230)boy what a difference!!!!and they are comfy to hold.On the advice from the assistant in boots I bought an anti static spray also which really helped.Also getting them at half price was a great saving.they look and feel better than more expensive ones that I was going to buy and I'm glad I didn't !!
Advantages: fast heat up, different settings for different hair types/lenght, bargain, free comb brush and clips
Disadvantages: too short a cable
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not impressed!

Posted29 November 2012
Customer Avatar
imamummy
from West Lothian
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am now on my third set of these hair straighteners. They only work for a few months then refuse to heat up.
When they do work they are average straighteners.
Luckily Boots staff were very understanding and swapped them.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Straighteners that last max 6 months!

Posted30 December 2012
Customer Avatar
LauraH31
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had 2 pairs of these straighteners now and will not be getting them again. My first pair I had for 4/5 months and one of the plates stopped heating up. I thought it maybe a fault in that particular pair so exchanged for another pair the same. Once again after 6 months this time one of the plates stopped working. Luckily the boots staff were very understanding and I received a full refund and am now looking for a new pair.
Advantages: comes with accessories
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>