Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Hair Straighteners or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Nicky-Clarke Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042

Nicky-Clarke Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042

The Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy range is designed to help promote hair health and help you keep your hair in great condition, whichever look you go for.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
24 out of 30(80%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Review 1 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is excellent and great value for money

Posted26 April 2012
Customer Avatar
kezza1986
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used these for the first time today and they were so easy to use and left a fantastic shine to my hair.
Disadvantages: on/off switch to near the plates
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fan-sational straighteners

Posted30 January 2016
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I wasn't expecting much from these straighteners that I bought on offer (£19.99). I mean, they're not GHDs so they can't possibly do a good job, can they?
It turns out that they can and they do.
My hair, after using these, looks shiny and healthy and super straight.
The *only* thing that would improve these is a slightly longer lead but that's it.
Buy these straighteners immediately. They're awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value straightener

Posted08 October 2013
Customer Avatar
ElizaB11
from Colchester, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this in a hurry a year ago after my old straightener died, I just picked the second cheapest one I could find on the shelves of my local Boots. I like it very much, it straightens my hair just fine, gives shine, slides easily on the hair strands and it lasts until I wash it again. For the price it's absolutely fantastic! Only downside would be that it doesn't show the exact temperature as I like to keep it below 180 Celsius degrees, but I guess that's somewhere between the "medium" and "thick" range . Would recommend for anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hair straightener and hair spray

Posted19 May 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Nicky Clarke 230 Straightener which arrived just in time at your Moira branch for our visit to N Ireland for a wedding. Not so impressed with the Boots hair spray product. Thank you! PMB
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent straighteners

Posted02 November 2014
Customer Avatar
Bootsaddict1
from Oxford
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Really pleased with these. They do the job perfectly. I'm not sure why you'd pay more. Heat up really quickly and easy to use with a dial for hair thickness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product and great value for money!

Posted03 January 2014
Customer Avatar
SleepingBeautyTurquoise
from East Sussex
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well, what can I say?! I could not afford an expensive pair of ghd straighteners after my old Remmington ones died! Intially chose these ones as price was excellent and Nicky Clarke is a trusted brand. Was very pleasantly surprised at the amazing results! Beautiful smooth soft sleek hair. On and off switch, swivel cable, smooth rounded plates which do not pull or drag the hair. Variable heat setting, paddle brush, comb and two sectioning clips included. They emanate luxury without the high price tag. So far I love them. Yet to try curling my hair with them, straightening results are fantastic.
Nice one Boots and Nicky Clarke! Happy Christmas to meeee! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really fast heat up

Posted15 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Weedi945
from Glasgow
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I exchanged my babyliss 230 elegance for these after the babyliss left my hair full of static.At first they did the same,but once I turned them down to mid setting(which I thought is a great feature as you have fine,medium, thick and max temp of 230)boy what a difference!!!!and they are comfy to hold.On the advice from the assistant in boots I bought an anti static spray also which really helped.Also getting them at half price was a great saving.they look and feel better than more expensive ones that I was going to buy and I'm glad I didn't !!
Advantages: fast heat up, different settings for different hair types/lenght, bargain, free comb brush and clips
Disadvantages: too short a cable
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best I've ever used

Posted05 October 2011
Customer Avatar
jaxxx18
from Peterborough, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW great value at half price. What can I say looked at loads to buy and read reviews till I had a headache. Just need a pair to tame my curly locks. Spent loads in the past on ceramic this and that, I've bought cheaper and rather expensive but must say these are great so go buy now, you should be as happy as I am. Only one thing I would have liked a slightly longer cable but that's just me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bargain

Posted11 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was pleasantly surprised to get a brush and clips with the straightener as I had not expected that. Great product; bargain buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with this product

Posted03 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Uk
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I brought these for my baby girl as an Xmas present & have to say for the price good value & even though I normally buy babyliss these r just as good and leave her hair shiny and straight. Would recommend and fab service as ordered online with boots and came next day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!!!!!!!!!

Posted22 March 2013
Customer Avatar
littlemiss19
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:3-6 months
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is so great! i use it about 3 times a week and it makes my hair light up with glossyness and its dead straight! i wold recomend this product to anyone as it has so many great extra features like a thickness of hair dial and it heats up in about 30 seconds. amazing product!!! :D
Advantages: thick hair thin hair feature, heat up in seconds
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't last long

Posted19 August 2014
Customer Avatar
Claire1754
These are a brilliant pair of straighteners however they don't last for very long. I've had a couple of pairs but each only last 6 months max. Luckily Boots have exchanged them each time without an issue!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent straighteners

Posted01 January 2012
Customer Avatar
angelf
from Hastings
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have short hair and these work really well,there is a dial to use to determine heat required based on hair type, very pleased with these.
Advantages: heat up quickly
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

RUBBISH DESIGN BUT GOOD PRICE

Posted03 September 2011
Customer Avatar
1981mumof2
from ISLE OF WIGHT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I GOT THESE AFTER MY OTHER STRAIGHENERS DECIDED NOT TO WORK ANY MORE.
ALL SEEMED WELL WHEN I OPENED THE BOX, BRUSH, CLIPS AND COMB WAS A FANTASTIC EXTRA BUT THE STRAIGHTENERS THEM SELF ARE RUBBISH. THEY HAVE A SMOOTH PLASTIC COATING (OR SOMETHING) ON THE HANDLES THAT BECOME SLIPPERY WHEN HOLDING THEM AND THE CERAMIC PLATES DONT CLOSE PROPERLY WITH HAIR INSIDE SO YOU HAVE TO HOLD THE END OF THEM BUT THIS IS EXTREAMILY HOT.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
18of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brownie points

Posted02 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bedfordshire
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my daughter loved getting these she hasn't stopped using them yet well worth what i paid for them loads of brownie points
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would definitely recommend these straighteners.

Posted22 November 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from London
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have very thick hair which is tied up all day, and have used these straighteners to straighten my hair in the evening. They have coped brilliantly and are very smooth, and never seem to catch. Would definitely recommend. And I bought them when they were on offer, so they were excellent value as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hair therapy straightener review

Posted04 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Macclesfield
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Before I bought these I read a lot of reviews about them, I don't agree with them completely but overall I'm pleased with the product. For the price they are definitely a great value for money however I still feel like they could be improved, they snag a lot on the end of my hair and I don't like where the on/off switch is positioned (right next to the heated plates) but yes I would recommend this product if you're looking for a decent quality hair straightener in this price range.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not impressed!

Posted29 November 2012
Customer Avatar
imamummy
from West Lothian
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Every day
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am now on my third set of these hair straighteners. They only work for a few months then refuse to heat up.
When they do work they are average straighteners.
Luckily Boots staff were very understanding and swapped them.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better ones out there !

Posted27 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Herts
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Every few days
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had bought these really as they were half price, my Remington ones had died on me after about 4 years and were brilliant, and I couldn't afford to replace them at £59 , so went for these therapy ones, they're okay do the job for my long thick hair, but don't get as hot and as quick as my Remington's were, they don't have heat settings, just settings for fine medium or thick hair, !! Thankfully I kept the sleeve from my previous as these don't come with one, although they did have a paddle brush and comb included, which I wont use, but on the whole they do the job and for £20.00 cant really complain !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nicky Clarke Hair Therapy Straightener NSS042
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bought twice- stopped working twice

Posted04 April 2014
Customer Avatar
shoetwo
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought these straighteners for my daughter- then one plate stopped working. We thought she must've dropped them- not remembered so, because on sale, inexpensive and well-reviewed, we bought the same model, as performance,(for as long as they lasted, was fine). However, after 3 months- and no knocks- the bottom plate has stopped working again. Better off buying some more expensive ones as you are throwing your money away with these.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>