Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop All Fake Tan or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Ambre-Solaire Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml

Ambre-Solaire Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml

A self-tan velvety gel with naturally derived self-tanning ingredient and apricot extract.
Average Customer Rating:
2.059 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
12
5 out of 17(29%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Review 1 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst fake tan I've ever tried

Posted27 April 2010
Customer Avatar
The aptly named No Streaks Bronzer left me with nothing BUT streaks! I regularly wear fake tan so I'm hardly unpracticed at applying it and this is the first tan I've had such problems with. I think the problem comes in because it takes soooooo long to dry (I watched an entire DVD in my room which was quite warm and it was still tacky to touch when the credits rolled) and that was after I'd blasted myself with the hairdryer as soon as I'd put it on!
Awful tan, but on the plus side...the colours not bad (nothing to write home about though, there's plenty of tans out there that'll give you good colour) and it smells ok before the aroma of digestives sets in.
I will be sticking to the Loreal Sublime Bronze range from now on, or good old St Tropez if I'm feeling rich!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rubbish

Posted15 May 2010
Customer Avatar
DONT BUY! streaky, wierd colour, needs more than one layer.... I got a new one after this is BnM bargins called "St Moritz" for only 3 quid. I wasn't expecting anything but its 10x better. You cant go wrong, instant colour, non streaky, LOADS of product, and it smells devine also fast drying! BUY ST MORITZ
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very disapointed!

Posted19 May 2010
Customer Avatar
Left me feeling sticky for hours. Also applied at 1 in the afternoon, instructions said 3 hours for results. Went to bed at 10 still no tan but alas woke in morning to uneven streaky mess!! Exfoliated, applied in circular motion as advised. Very sad would like to know if i can return for refund or exchange for better product?. For now will have to carry on wearing jeans to hide my fashion mistake!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT USE!

Posted14 June 2010
Customer Avatar
i picked this up as i needed a tan asap for the next day, i normally use their gradual tanning cream, which is the best one ive tried. it said quick drying, non sticky even tan, which with two small children i really, really needed those things! when i did it, it was like putting alcohol on my skin, the smell was that bad. it also said a natural tan in three hours, it was STILL drying in three hours! it also was really sticky. the next day, suprise suprise, i looked a mess. so i think i should have just worn the gradual tan after all. a complete waste of time and money, and i still smelt like id been swigging vodka from the bottle all day! to be honest, i wouldnt even give it 1 star.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Steaky

Posted22 April 2010
Customer Avatar
Despite exfoliating & rubbing in thoroughly left streaks all over, had to scrub off. Leaves a sticky feel. Tried twice same thing... would not recommend, try Lorel nuti-summer
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buyer Beware!

Posted09 July 2010
Customer Avatar
This product is awful. It streaks and takes days and days to fade away. UGH!!!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Soooo bad!

Posted21 August 2010
Customer Avatar
I've been using fake tan for years and have gotten pretty good at applying it. This is the worst fake tan I have ever used!! Incredibly streaky and doesn't come off!! I seriously advise you don't buy it.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

fake tan

Posted04 May 2010
Customer Avatar
I must say this is not a good product at all. It is sticky, goes streaky even circular movements as recommended were used and leaves an orange tinge to the skin. I am very disappointed and would not recommend this product at all. Shame as it lets Garnier down.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORST PRODUCT EVER!

Posted30 June 2010
Customer Avatar
This product is possibly the worst thing i have ever used. For one the bottle come only 3/4 full AND it is the streakiest self tan i have ever used, it was very sticky even after the 3 hours developing time and most of it washed off in the shower the next day! complete waste of money DO NOT BOTHER! just get a spray tan
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What you would want in a fake tan.

Posted29 December 2010
Customer Avatar
Despite the negative reviews I went ahead and bought this product, and looking down at my bronzed skin I am glad I did so. There seem to be lots of comments about the tan going "streaky". I am a beginnner and did not experience this. Therefore if i can apply it properly and get the results hoped for it must be good. As with any fake tan it does smell, but that disappears a few hours later, either that or I have just got used to it. Also there was many comments about it not washing off. Isn't that what you look for in a fake tan. I don't know about you but i dont want to be paying for a product that washes off when i hop in the shower. Finally it gives you a good colour, and by that i mean you can see I have tanned. While it may not be as natural as some may desire the word "fake" in the title means its not for you, evidently. I have no problems with this product and will be buying it every few weeks to make myself look golden all year round.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Utter Rubbish.

Posted19 May 2011
Customer Avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When I bought this product i thought it would be fantastic, as it stated that it was a no-streaks bronzer, which gave 'intense mosturisation', had a 'non-sticky, fresh texture' and gave you 'smooth and silky skin'. Which resulted in 'a light, natural looking golden tan effect in just three hours'. This is what actually happens, i gives you sticky feeling skin for hours and if you decide you can't wait any longer and get dressed it leaves even more patchy skin than if you had let it dry. I had loads of streaks on my legs and i tried applying it various ways such as with bare hands and with a special mit created to give a more even coverage. My legs were orange and patchy when it did dry....the next day. I did everything they said on the bottle but i still had orange streaky legs. Would i recommend this....NO. Would i buy again.... NO. Was it worth the money i paid for it ....NO.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Surprised

Posted29 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was steering clear of this fake tan because i read a lot of bad reviews, but i went on holiday and was completely pale as a pale thing, and this was the only thing they sold in the air-port. It was a long flight and i was wearing a skirt, so i put it on, slept, and woke up with a gorgeous but natural tan, and moisturised legs! LOVE IT!!! However, it was a little sticky, but if you continue to rub it in, the stickiness goes xxx
Advantages: natural, no streaks!, i wasn't tangoed
Disadvantages: slightly sticky
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted16 February 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hampshire
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:9-12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
I really love this fake tan and its really stange that other people seem to not like it very much. I don't find it goes streaky at all but I do always use a tanning mitt so maybe its best to use a mitt with this tan. If I want a natural looking tan I just put on one coat but put on at least two for a night out.
Advantages: not streaky, smells fruity, not too dark
Disadvantages: maybe best to use a mitt
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

Posted14 May 2012
Customer Avatar
i got this not expecting much.. i applied it with a tanning mitt and the colour came out great.. as long as you apply it evenly it will be fine.
only down side is th same with every tan and that's not being able to do my back great! anyone any tips on that ? :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy!!

Posted12 May 2012
Customer Avatar
I usually buy Loreal Sublime gel and this was not on sale in the boots I was in. I decided to buy the Ambre solaire gel as it seemed like it would be quite similar. When applying it WAS streaky and the next day I woke up with horrible streaks everywhere. Very disappointed and now I am stuck with jaundice hands for my night out tonight unless I get the brillo pads out!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

For those who want orange streaks!

Posted16 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this in hope of what it said on the back of the bottle, a nice natural tan with that after holiday look but i put it n just as it suggested and 3 hours later i had orange streaks and patches all over my legs and pale skin was showing through and it just looked awful, not a good buy im afraid, yes i am pale but this was terrible!
Disadvantages: orange streaks, orange colour not brown
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garnier Ambre Solaire Light No-Streaks Bronzer Self-Tan Velvety Gel Fair Skin 150ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

superb please read

Posted07 April 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sleaford
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:6-9 months
Uses Product:Every few days
I really cannot believe all the negative reviews!!!! I am very pale and really need a bit of help with my tan, because it is LIGHT it is not OTT and not orange. I find this easy to apply, quick to dry and not streaky at all. I have nothing but compliments about my colour. It lasts well and does not fade in a patchy way like many others do. I apply this every 3 days and i look like i've just got back from holiday all year. I',m stocking up as it would be a nightmare if i couldn't get this anymore!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.