Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Excellence Crème

LOreal L'Oreal Excellence Crème

L'Oreal Excellence Crème gives you triple protection before, during and after colouring your hair.
Average Customer Rating:
3.827 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(637 Reviews) 637
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 637 reviews
5 stars
326
4 stars
114
3 stars
58
2 stars
39
1 star
100
338 out of 506(67%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Review 1 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted29 October 2015
Customer Avatar
DINAH11
I have used L'oreal hair colour for over 20 years and have always had compliments on my colour- from both friends and stylists.
I have always loved the conditioner that comes with the colour but now find I can't even get it out of the bottle. The tube was great - but the little bottle is just IMPOSSIBLE to get the conditioner out. PLEASE change back to tube.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 2 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted10 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Maud 1
i've been using this product for many years. i find it fantastic, especially now that my hair is turning grey. it blends in so well and gives a lovely highlight effect. I find it so easy to apply and i love the excellent conditioner supplied. It lasts right through to the next application. wouldn't change it for the world. Thanks L'oreal.!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 3 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted16 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruby2
Had a super crop at the hairdresser which cut out any lingering highlights and left my hair all-natural dark mousey blonde. Thought I'd give this colour a try as I wanted to go a shade lighter, a medium neutral blonde. What did I get? Ginger! It lifted my natural colour the right amount, but there is no way this is a neutral/natural tone, it's definitely in the golden range. After a week or so it washed out a little leaving me with a dark golden blonde/ginger/brown colour but doesn't suit my skin tone at all and makes me look very pale. If I'd wanted a reddish blonde I would have used Recital 'Florida' which is a far superior shade and suits my colouring better. As with all L'Oreal hair colour, the condition is good and it blends my few grey hairs effectively but disappointed with this shade. Should not be sold as 'natural' or 'neutral', it's too 'warm' for that. Will stick with L'Oreal because it leaves my hair in great condition but will try a ash shade next time.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 4 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted03 March 2014
Customer Avatar
kaz22
Left my hair thick and horrible, did,nt colour. I have always used l'oreal products but will never buy this one again
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 5 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted29 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Mez20
I love the colour and friends/family often comment on how good my hair looks. This excellence shade is perfect for me and my hair feels soft and has a gloss to it. When my hair looks this good I feel happier'
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 6 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted12 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Alicia
I purchased this produce as I wanted to cover up greys. I chose ash blonde as my natural colour is dark blonde/light brown and I have like an ash blonde in the past. I applied the colour as instructed on the packaging and left the dye on for the recommended developing time for natural hair(As my hair colour was natural). I was completely surprised to find my hair colour is now a dark strawberry blonde!? I could not be more dis-satisfied with this produced and am extremely unhappy that I now have to dye my hair a second time to rectify this. I would not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 7 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted04 February 2015
Customer Avatar
Michaela
Totally disapointed!!! It's not the same colour on the box...now I've got a dark grey colour!! I will never ever try another product from L'oreal!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 8 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted28 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruby2
I think L'oreal is the best for home hair colour. Leaves the hair in great condition and is gentle on the scalp. However, if like me you are a typical British mousey blonde/light brown with a reddish base colour, colouring at home is a nightmare because even though your hair is fairish, it just won't go blonde, just goes brassy! You can get a blonde colour you're satisfied with eventually but it will take you a lot of experimentation and money, not to mention poor hair condition after all the dye. This was a second attempt at home in 3 months (have short hair and colour was mostly cut out) and done as a strand test which just turned orange, so forget messing about, it's off to the hairdressers for me, even though I only want to go a shade lighter. All those people who went dark or blue/green/grey with L'oreal ash shades must have had pre-coloured/bleached hair as it certainly wasn't the case for me on natural fairish hair. Great colour in general L'oreal, but when is someone going to cater for British mousey blondes who want to go a shade or two lighter without the brass? You'd be on to a winner if you catered for us!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 9 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted03 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Devon nan
Fantastic colour and grey cover. Multi tonal salon look. Easy and quick to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 10 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted08 November 2014
Customer Avatar
cinders1
I was initially apprehensive of trying this product as it was a bit darker than I usually go for but my fears were soon allayed. The colour was amazing and allow still early days it is still looking good. I loved the way you could do the test without having to mix up lots of bottles first, the protective serum to use first was new to me but made me feel as if the product was not going to damage my hair. It was easy to apply and didn't drip all over the place. I have been converted from my usual brand after 20 years of use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 11 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted09 November 2014
Customer Avatar
glenny
really easy to apply after the serum treatment.no mess and nicley toned colour
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 12 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted10 November 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen34
The pack was very eye catching that I was instant drawn to it. The colour shade was perfect for me. Very say to apply with no spills or drips. Left my hair feeling fully moisturised.will definitely buy again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 13 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted13 December 2013
Customer Avatar
Muffin
I have just used Excellence Cream shade Natural Light Brown for the first time. (I normally use Recital Preferance, but cannot get in it any longer in my Supermarket - Morrisons)
I found this product quite fiddly. Getting the metal tube emptied into the liquid very messy and I couldn't get all the cream out as I have long nails. Also, I found having applied the mixture to the roots, there was nothing left to complete the ends after the 20 minute setting time.
It took forever to rinse out the colour and conditioner, but I do have to say it left my hair feeling thick and heavy. End result not bad, but I really wouldn't use it again. Will go back to using Recital next time.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 14 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted26 October 2014
Customer Avatar
wendy45
WOW-very impressed,was sent this to try,ive tried many more on the market for years with no success in 100% grey coverage,this delivered 100%,will definately be buying again,would recommend to anyone who has resistant grey that just wont cover.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 15 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted30 June 2014
Customer Avatar
ladyfreeman
I have been using this product for years now. My hairdresser always says how beautiful the colour is on me and also can not fault the way I put this on my hair. So natural looking. Please never discount this one 6.0 brill product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 16 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted11 November 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I typically have my hair coloured at a local salon as I've never been convinced that the boxed dyes work as well. Trying this particular product was a first for me and well I can honestly say that I am impressed. It went on easy, developed quickly and looks just as good as the colour I have in the salon. My only question is how long it will last. Nearly 2 weeks have passed and for now its holding up well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 17 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted10 November 2014
Customer Avatar
Lesley01
This colour was a lot darker than I expected it took a bit of getting used to but it did cover all the grey would use the product again but will go a lighter shade
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 18 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted23 November 2014
Customer Avatar
muppet
will definitely use this again its so easy to use, no drips and the result is fantastic no grey hairs at all now will see how longit lasts
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 19 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted31 October 2014
Customer Avatar
glenny
the comb applicator made it easy apply after the serum treatment,no drips, no smell,and a nicely toned coulor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 20 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted08 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Gilly10
I agree with Bunty57, bring back 8.31 please. No other shade is right. Currently I'm using 8.3 but it looks Ginger.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
1 2 3 4 5 ... 32 next>>