Boots Ratings and Reviews
Gok
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Excellence Crème

LOreal L'Oreal Excellence Crème

L'Oreal Excellence Crème gives you triple protection before, during and after colouring your hair.
Average Customer Rating:
4.472 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
31 out of 35(89%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Review 1 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great coverage

Posted02 September 2012
Customer Avatar
ladymatilda
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the only hair colourant that I use that does not damage my hair. The serum that you use before treatment really protects the ends of your hair and I have never had split ends since using this hair colourant and I use it every four weeks. It also covers my grey and as I have coarse hair that is a great achievement.
Advantages: great serum
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Natural Brown 05 (Blondes Be Ware!) & Natural Light Brown 06

Posted03 March 2013
Customer Avatar
twintrouble1
from Derby
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A few months back I decided to go from reddish brown back to blonde using the Garnier lightener first then a blonde dye. My hair was in bad condition after this and though I kept it for a while I decided to go back to brown.
I used Loreal Excellence shade 'Natural Brown 05' first and I am warning anyone with previously blonde/bleached hair if you are using this shade DO NOT leave it on for the recommended time of 30 minutes. I only left it on for 15/20 minutes when my sister said that it looked like it had gone black and I should wash it off. When I washed it off it hadn't only gone jet black, but the most dull, toneless black you could imagine. It looked like a wig, I was devastated! Because my hair was dried and porous from the bleach it had taken the dye very quickly. My hair dresser friend advised that I couldn't do anything but try and fade it with Head & Shoulders & washing up liquid which strips colour as a proper hair stripper would be too damaging on my already dried hair. After I washed and rewashed and rewashed my hair (about 13 times!) the black faded to what I must admit was a lovely ashy dark chocolate brown colour. I would have liked it if I could have kept that colour and aside of this the original mishap the dye left my hair very soft, the preconditioning treatment keeps your hair in good condition and the colour was even and without patches. After 6 weeks my hair had faded to a light brown so I re-dyed it using the shade '06 Natural Light Brown' instead of 05 Natural Brown. Because I was wary of the first experience I only left it on for 15-20 minutes again...and I probably could have left it on for the full 30 as it came out a light brown colour that could have afforded to have gotten a little darker as I can see from the first shade that it will fade with washing. The colour of shade Natural Brown 06 is a lovely brown shade at the moment, and again its an even colour, no patches, and the dye leaves your hair in good condition. I will keep using shade 06 I think it's a very good quality dye and good even result for a very reasonable price. The formula isn't too messy, it isn't the most easy application, a little runny but applies well and even if you are careful, be wary not to have any cloth around that can be stained as it can drip a little during application. The scent of the dye is also not the best but not as strong and headache inducing as some dyes, its bareable, The conditioner supplied is very good.
Advantages: good even colour without patches, protects hair leaves hair soft, good value, doesnt smell too bad
Disadvantages: can drip, blondes be ware of shade 05 dont leave on too long
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great !

Posted25 September 2010
Customer Avatar
missybabyalaina
The colour dyed my hair nicely and left it soft and shiny but if you have thickish hair this product isn't for you unless you buy two dyes but overall i loved this dye and will be using it again (:
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

natural brown.

Posted05 August 2012
Customer Avatar
yasmeen000
from bham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
i would recommend natural brown to anyone that wants a natural brown result, i got the color on the box but abit darker, but it was very natural looking and true to its name, the serum and the conditioner that came with it did wonders for my hair as it did not damage it at all ll, it was in better condition after colouring, excellence gives salon results without the hefty price and it really does give `excellent` results.
Thanks so much loreal!! :)
Advantages: everything
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Colour Ever

Posted16 November 2009
Customer Avatar
ManxMinx
I have been using L'oreal's Lightest Pearl Blonde for longer than I care to remember, it is the most wonderful product with a serum to use before colouring to protect your hair. The conditioner supplied keeps the colour true over several washes. I would not use anything else. It also covers grey--not that I have any grey hair!!! I am blissfuuly blonde.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Light Brown

Posted27 May 2011
Customer Avatar
sookiestackhous9
Age:18-24
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very cautious when I decided to dye my hair again after several failed attempts when I was younger, but I wanted to cover my blonde highlights, I have natural mucky blonde/very light ash brown hair with blonde highlights and this covered it all up perfectly and evenly. I have dyed my hair 'light brown' before and it always ended up having brassy tones and washing out to be a horrible ginger colour, but this has been amazing, its a tiny bit darker than I expected but its the perfect shade and tone of brown ever! and it was so easy to apply I did it by myself and i'm a complete novice when it comes to things like this, its just like putting on conditioner in your hair, and the 3 step thing keeps the colour locked in for longer. I'm in love with this dye!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use and good results

Posted08 July 2014
Customer Avatar
hu1agir1
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
My mum has been using this for years and it's the only colour she can use (she's had reactions to others), so she recommended it to me when I decided to change from semi-permanent to permanent colour. It's really easy to apply and doesn't even smell too bad. The conditioner that comes with it is lovely - I wish I could buy a bottle of it to use all the time! The colour is nice and works for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fab, being using it for over 20 years

Posted10 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Fazakerley, Liverpool
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always use this, have tried others but always go back, quality product, better than salon finish in my experience.
Good value when bought on a deal.
Advantages: colour, grey coverage
Disadvantages: not easy to apply on your own
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hair colourant

Posted19 June 2010
Customer Avatar
greatvibes
This is the first time I've used a permanent hair colour and was very nervous! My hair is naturally mid brown and had caramel highlights through the top. I used colour 7 - Natural Dark Blonde. Due to increasing grey hairs I decided to start dying it myself as it would cost too much to have my hairdresser coour it regularly. I followed the instructions to the letter, they were easy to follow and very clear. The dye was very dark as it was developing, but fear not, the end result was great! In fact one of my friends didn't even notice I'd dyed it. It is a very natural colour and has tones to it, definitely not a 'block' colour. It covered the greys really well and no more highlights, overall really pleased and will be using from now on!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This hairdye is the best one ive used.(:

Posted03 July 2011
Customer Avatar
xxmisscocoxx
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ive used this hair dye 3 times now, and each time its worked perfectly recently i have used natural light brown which is a gorgeous colour, ive used hazel,and natural brown. all colours gone out glossy and shiny.
other hair dyes leave my hair in funny shades but this hair dye doesnt and its perfect,for any age i think..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

Posted30 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used a lot of hair dyes and this one is definitely the best one. Its the one I go back to every time now! Personally I use Shade 6 (Natural Light Brown) and its lovely - actually a few shades lighter than on the swatch on here if you have fair to medium hair like me. Its also the only hair dye I've used thats come out the exact same colour on the box and exactly the same even on different hair colours. I first used it as my hair was a mixture of warm blonde, bright pink with bleach blonde roots (failed bleach job, lol!) and I was expecting it to come out uneven but to my joy it turned out completely even. Recently I had a similar experience - purple hair dye that just wouldnt come out my roots. It had faded to a dull blue/greenish colour and I still had some vibrant purple streaks in my light-mid brown hair. Now this time i was CERTAIN it would come out uneven as the ends were much darker and I had my lighter natural roots coming through but to my amazement, once again, it was completely even! My hair feels in lovely condition and its very shiny and soft. The only downside of this hairdye is the smell! It smells very strong but its bareable as you only have to leave it on for half an hour. If I ever want to change my hair colour again (doubtful as this colour is sooo gorgeous) this is the hair dye I'll use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Won't use any thing else

Posted03 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Leah09
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use shade 9.1 Natural light ash blonde every time I colour my hair and it's such a lovely colour even my hairdresser likes the colour, very natural looking and cuts out brassy tones. This completely covers my mid brown roots and doesn't dry out my hair either. I won't use nothing else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

Posted05 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Alana
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hair colour is the best I've used in years. Picked it up after suffering a major hair disaster which left me with orange roots and white ends. The shade I chose was 8 Natural Blonde and I couldn't be happier! Gorgeous, multi-tonal natural blonde colour which completely eradicated the red tones in my hair. And despite colouring my fine hair twice in one week (!), I'm pleased to say that it's still in lovely, shiny, soft condition. I'm absolutely thrilled with the results. Highly recommended for someone in the same predicament!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lovely natural colour

Posted29 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Boston, lincs
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
My hair feels so soft and NO GREY ! just a lovely natural blonde thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty good.

Posted03 May 2010
Customer Avatar
the925095
my naturual colour is a medium blonde. I used the rich auburn because I fancyed a change and I used two packets because my hair is very think also.
The colour isnt bad, but it looks quite faded and the red hasnt come out as much as i'd liked it to. I am going to do it again in a couple of weeks, and i'm sure then the colour will come out nice.
but overall, pretty good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

Posted04 August 2014
Customer Avatar
kat335
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
This was the first time I'd dyed my hair myself, having always previously coloured my hair at a salon. My hair was previously blonde, which i had covered with semi-permanent gloss at salons for the past year so i was left with a gingery washed out colour and was unsure whether the L'Oreal hair dye would cover it and not be patchy. However, I was so impressed with the hair dye, it has left my hair really shiny and soft and so easy to apply, i didn't bother with the comb just combed it through with my hands. The colour is amazing and not patchy or a block colour, it's multi tonal and really natural! so impressed :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Is it natural

Posted02 January 2010
Customer Avatar
socialjak76
Nobody knew I colured my hair till I told a friend. Very natural colour i have used this for years very happy...
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Classic

Posted01 April 2009
Customer Avatar
laalaa
Ive used this for years and have never been disappointed with the result. Ive never had "flat colour" using this. Saves a fortune on over-priced rocket scientists - oh I meant hairdressers ha ha.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is best product for usage I've used in years

Posted01 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Chelle821
from Hythe, Southampton, Hampshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This dye was easy to apply with new comb head, covered well with enough for my long hair. It only took 30 minutes development. The best thing was washing it out til water ran clear was really easy and quick. Normally with other dyes I can never get water 100% clear and have dye on towels for weeks after, this one washed perfectly clear within a minute so then I applied conditioner, waited the two minutes, then rinsed off as normal and it was done. No residue, came off skin really easily whilst washing out colour. And it covered all my greys and the blonde highlights that had gone wrong in my hair and where the peroxide had decided to go on its own accord, it was all covered but feels lovely and natural still. I will recommend to anyone.
Advantages: washes out brilliantly, covers totally without any strays
Disadvantages: would like more vibrant shades, need more condition supplied
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Is it suppose to colour your hair?

Posted16 August 2009
Customer Avatar
Brunette95
I wanted to dye my hair so i used this in a rich auburn to transform by med-brown hair. I left it on for the recommended amount of time but the colour was awful, there wasnt any colour there, no-one had even noticed i'd coloured my hair. I was very disapointed with this, on the plus side though, it did make my hair soft, it was easy to use (i loved the protective serum) and didnt smell as bad as clairol although when i used clairol nice n' easy the colour was better than loreal, i would recommend it cause its worth a shot and everything except the colour was brilliant.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>