Boots Ratings and Reviews
Gok
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Excellence Crème

LOreal L'Oreal Excellence Crème

L'Oreal Excellence Crème gives you triple protection before, during and after colouring your hair.
Average Customer Rating:
4.457 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
30 out of 34(88%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Review 1 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great !

Posted25 September 2010
Customer Avatar
The colour dyed my hair nicely and left it soft and shiny but if you have thickish hair this product isn't for you unless you buy two dyes but overall i loved this dye and will be using it again (:
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

natural brown.

Posted05 August 2012
Customer Avatar
from bham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
i would recommend natural brown to anyone that wants a natural brown result, i got the color on the box but abit darker, but it was very natural looking and true to its name, the serum and the conditioner that came with it did wonders for my hair as it did not damage it at all ll, it was in better condition after colouring, excellence gives salon results without the hefty price and it really does give `excellent` results.
Thanks so much loreal!! :)
Advantages: everything
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Colour Ever

Posted16 November 2009
Customer Avatar
I have been using L'oreal's Lightest Pearl Blonde for longer than I care to remember, it is the most wonderful product with a serum to use before colouring to protect your hair. The conditioner supplied keeps the colour true over several washes. I would not use anything else. It also covers grey--not that I have any grey hair!!! I am blissfuuly blonde.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hair colourant

Posted19 June 2010
Customer Avatar
This is the first time I've used a permanent hair colour and was very nervous! My hair is naturally mid brown and had caramel highlights through the top. I used colour 7 - Natural Dark Blonde. Due to increasing grey hairs I decided to start dying it myself as it would cost too much to have my hairdresser coour it regularly. I followed the instructions to the letter, they were easy to follow and very clear. The dye was very dark as it was developing, but fear not, the end result was great! In fact one of my friends didn't even notice I'd dyed it. It is a very natural colour and has tones to it, definitely not a 'block' colour. It covered the greys really well and no more highlights, overall really pleased and will be using from now on!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

Posted30 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used a lot of hair dyes and this one is definitely the best one. Its the one I go back to every time now! Personally I use Shade 6 (Natural Light Brown) and its lovely - actually a few shades lighter than on the swatch on here if you have fair to medium hair like me. Its also the only hair dye I've used thats come out the exact same colour on the box and exactly the same even on different hair colours. I first used it as my hair was a mixture of warm blonde, bright pink with bleach blonde roots (failed bleach job, lol!) and I was expecting it to come out uneven but to my joy it turned out completely even. Recently I had a similar experience - purple hair dye that just wouldnt come out my roots. It had faded to a dull blue/greenish colour and I still had some vibrant purple streaks in my light-mid brown hair. Now this time i was CERTAIN it would come out uneven as the ends were much darker and I had my lighter natural roots coming through but to my amazement, once again, it was completely even! My hair feels in lovely condition and its very shiny and soft. The only downside of this hairdye is the smell! It smells very strong but its bareable as you only have to leave it on for half an hour. If I ever want to change my hair colour again (doubtful as this colour is sooo gorgeous) this is the hair dye I'll use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lovely natural colour

Posted29 January 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston, lincs
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
My hair feels so soft and NO GREY ! just a lovely natural blonde thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Is it natural

Posted02 January 2010
Customer Avatar
Nobody knew I colured my hair till I told a friend. Very natural colour i have used this for years very happy...
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Classic

Posted01 April 2009
Customer Avatar
Ive used this for years and have never been disappointed with the result. Ive never had "flat colour" using this. Saves a fortune on over-priced rocket scientists - oh I meant hairdressers ha ha.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

When deciding between two shades, go for the lighter one...

Posted19 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought two boxes of this hair dye in the shade Natural Light Brown (No 6), which is very close to my own colour. My hair was previously heavily highlighted and almost all blonde. I have since been colouring it light brown once every 6-8 weeks. Before I used Excellence Creme, my hair was a faded, slightly brassy dark blonde/very light brown with about an inch or so of natural light brown roots coming through. My goal was to achieve a lovely, shiny brown shade without redness.
Applying the dye was quite straightforward. I liked the pre-colour treatment serum. It's perfect if you have dry and damaged hair. The dye didn't smell too bad, but yes, it wasn't a pleasant scent, just what you'd expect from a product with ammonia. I used two boxes as my hair is long and thick. I left the dye on 20 minutes instead of 30 because, in my experience, light brown shades usually run quite a bit darker. Plus, I don't have any greys to worry about yet, so there was no need to keep the colour on for longer.
I washed my hair and applied the balm, wich was creamy and fragrant. My hair felt very soft and detangled. The shade I achieved wasn't exactly perfect. It is darker than expected, more of a medium brown. I am hoping it will fade soon. My roots are covered and the colour is uniform with no brassiness, which is great! My hair looks shiny too. Overall, I recommend this hair product, but be careful when choosing your shade. Next time I am going to mix No 6 with No 7 ( Natural Dark Blonde) to try and get a true light brown colour.
Advantages: doesn't damage hair too much
Disadvantages: darker than expected
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL!

Posted16 December 2010
Customer Avatar
I used natural blonde which was a very similar colour to my hair and was recomended by l'oreals website, but it went darker and have a ginger tinge to my roots. The only good thing was that it left your hair soft.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great soft silky shiny coverage fot great hair

Posted15 November 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cumbria
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I have been using this on my 70% grey hair now for 10 years or so. I use the rich auburn and everyone is always commenting on what great condition my hair is in and how shiny it is and hairdresser's often ask what colour it is. Coverage is excellent and people are always surprised when I say how grey my hair is and coverage which remains long term. It does fade over the weeks slightly and gives a lighter colour but you can't see the grey. I have been very happy and impressed with it. Easy to apply over 30 mins. it does smell quite alot so apply in a well ventilated area and don't drip anywhere cos it really stains so wipe immediately on contact.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The ONLY hair dye I use!

Posted02 January 2013
Customer Avatar
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE this hair dye. I have tried other brands but I always come back to this one. The colours are gorgeous and shiny and the protecting serum (used before dyeing to protect the hair) and the generously sized after care condition are excellent. I find the colour indicators on the box are true to the colour you get after dyeing and hair doesn't feel dry after using it. The only small criticisms I have are that the after care conditioner could smell a bit nicer (but is still not as bad as some others) and the design on the boxes looks a bit dated. However the boxes have now been redesigned.
Advantages: colour is gorgeous and shiny, generously sized aftercare conditioner, does not dry hair out, protecting serum before dyeing
Disadvantages: after care conditioner could smell nicer
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good

Posted29 July 2011
Customer Avatar
from London
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have very fine hair and used this product first before using several others in this range including all the browns and some of the blonde ones. It is a very professional product but came out black on my hair. It was glossy and covered all the greys. It also did not iritate my scalp which is very sensitive. The natural blonde contain a lot more chemicals which has not been a success. I think that its a good product and would recommend it but suggest that you try a lighter shade first. Buy it when its on special offer! two for a tenner.
A handy tip - get a friend to do the back for full coverage and only use a small amount on the roots each time. Decant into an old container. This makes it incredibly cheap and will not damage your hair. A winner of a product!
Advantages: good value, professional
Disadvantages: very dark
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ash blonde 8.1

Posted23 December 2012
Customer Avatar
I decided to use a home dye after two years of continous highlights. I was horrified by pictures of my hair colour and decided an overall colour was the best choice. I settled on Ash Blonde as my hair is naturally dark blonde. The results were fantastic. I have thick, shoulder length hair and required a box and a half (so i have some left over for my roots) and the dye covered my hair evenly which was amazing due to my varying colours of highlights. It was darker than the box indicated and i will try the lighter ash blonde next time. I highly recommend this product - I have saved a fortune in hairdressing bills!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Natural Dark Blonde no7

Posted26 July 2012
Customer Avatar
from Leeds
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
The name of the colour is very misleading! My hair don't look anything like dark blone! It's a horrible brownish mousy colour. My hair was golden blondish ( on a darker side of the blond)before and now it's dark and awful! I wouldn't recomment it to anyone with dark blonde hair as it's more like a light brown colour and it's not very flattering, just flat and boring.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great coverage

Posted02 September 2012
Customer Avatar
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the only hair colourant that I use that does not damage my hair. The serum that you use before treatment really protects the ends of your hair and I have never had split ends since using this hair colourant and I use it every four weeks. It also covers my grey and as I have coarse hair that is a great achievement.
Advantages: great serum
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Natural Brown 05 (Blondes Be Ware!) & Natural Light Brown 06

Posted03 March 2013
Customer Avatar
from Derby
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A few months back I decided to go from reddish brown back to blonde using the Garnier lightener first then a blonde dye. My hair was in bad condition after this and though I kept it for a while I decided to go back to brown.
I used Loreal Excellence shade 'Natural Brown 05' first and I am warning anyone with previously blonde/bleached hair if you are using this shade DO NOT leave it on for the recommended time of 30 minutes. I only left it on for 15/20 minutes when my sister said that it looked like it had gone black and I should wash it off. When I washed it off it hadn't only gone jet black, but the most dull, toneless black you could imagine. It looked like a wig, I was devastated! Because my hair was dried and porous from the bleach it had taken the dye very quickly. My hair dresser friend advised that I couldn't do anything but try and fade it with Head & Shoulders & washing up liquid which strips colour as a proper hair stripper would be too damaging on my already dried hair. After I washed and rewashed and rewashed my hair (about 13 times!) the black faded to what I must admit was a lovely ashy dark chocolate brown colour. I would have liked it if I could have kept that colour and aside of this the original mishap the dye left my hair very soft, the preconditioning treatment keeps your hair in good condition and the colour was even and without patches. After 6 weeks my hair had faded to a light brown so I re-dyed it using the shade '06 Natural Light Brown' instead of 05 Natural Brown. Because I was wary of the first experience I only left it on for 15-20 minutes again...and I probably could have left it on for the full 30 as it came out a light brown colour that could have afforded to have gotten a little darker as I can see from the first shade that it will fade with washing. The colour of shade Natural Brown 06 is a lovely brown shade at the moment, and again its an even colour, no patches, and the dye leaves your hair in good condition. I will keep using shade 06 I think it's a very good quality dye and good even result for a very reasonable price. The formula isn't too messy, it isn't the most easy application, a little runny but applies well and even if you are careful, be wary not to have any cloth around that can be stained as it can drip a little during application. The scent of the dye is also not the best but not as strong and headache inducing as some dyes, its bareable, The conditioner supplied is very good.
Advantages: good even colour without patches, protects hair leaves hair soft, good value, doesnt smell too bad
Disadvantages: can drip, blondes be ware of shade 05 dont leave on too long
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Light Brown

Posted27 May 2011
Customer Avatar
Age:18-24
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very cautious when I decided to dye my hair again after several failed attempts when I was younger, but I wanted to cover my blonde highlights, I have natural mucky blonde/very light ash brown hair with blonde highlights and this covered it all up perfectly and evenly. I have dyed my hair 'light brown' before and it always ended up having brassy tones and washing out to be a horrible ginger colour, but this has been amazing, its a tiny bit darker than I expected but its the perfect shade and tone of brown ever! and it was so easy to apply I did it by myself and i'm a complete novice when it comes to things like this, its just like putting on conditioner in your hair, and the 3 step thing keeps the colour locked in for longer. I'm in love with this dye!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fab, being using it for over 20 years

Posted10 September 2012
Customer Avatar
from Fazakerley, Liverpool
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always use this, have tried others but always go back, quality product, better than salon finish in my experience.
Good value when bought on a deal.
Advantages: colour, grey coverage
Disadvantages: not easy to apply on your own
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use and good results

Posted08 July 2014
Customer Avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:A few times per year
My mum has been using this for years and it's the only colour she can use (she's had reactions to others), so she recommended it to me when I decided to change from semi-permanent to permanent colour. It's really easy to apply and doesn't even smell too bad. The conditioner that comes with it is lovely - I wish I could buy a bottle of it to use all the time! The colour is nice and works for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>