Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Excellence Crème

LOreal L'Oreal Excellence Crème

L'Oreal Excellence Crème gives you triple protection before, during and after colouring your hair.
Average Customer Rating:
3.83 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(642 Reviews) 642
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 642 reviews
5 stars
330
4 stars
114
3 stars
58
2 stars
39
1 star
101
341 out of 509(67%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Review 1 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted28 January 2015
Customer Avatar
Very Unhappy
I've been using L'Oreal 8.1 and sometimes 8.0 hair dyes for years with satisfaction, however, quite recently have been horrified with the resultant hair colour. Its gone very dark, even darker than my natural shade. Not only that, it's such a horrible unnatural looking colour too so I will have to wash my hair every day to lighten the colour a bit. I thought LO'Oreal might have put the wrong colour in the wrong box but no, this is the third time using 8.1 hair dye and this horrible dark mousy colour still happens. What have they done to the formula?? I feel very reluctant to use a higher number in order to get a lighter colour. Come on L'Oreal please fix this problem.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 2 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted10 September 2015
Customer Avatar
ali18
i made an account just to write a review for this shockingly bad product. The colour was absolutely nothing like on the packet though my hair was a darkish blonde colour originally. it came out medium brown. . and not a particularly nice one. what a waste of money. DO NOT BUY IF YOU WANT BLONDE HAIR.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 3 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted20 September 2015
Customer Avatar
Jan14
Very disappointed with this product. I am a natural honey blonde looking to cover some grey. I didn't want anything too light as we are coming up to winter, so chose "natural medium blonde". This has come up very dark, far darker than my natural colour, and I will be recolouring as soon as I have time. If the colour indication is so unreliable I doubt I will buy this product again.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 4 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted13 September 2014
Customer Avatar
Jo20
I have naturally dark hair, and wanted to bring it up a shade or two for the summer. This did the job perfectly. No mess, great scent, easy to apply. I'm so impresses I have purchased again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 5 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted04 December 2014
Customer Avatar
StyleExp
The product is great if you have brown hair or reddish one, final result will be iced latte color as on the other product cover model , but you have bleached or too blonde highlighted layers then the product makes it grey. So overall I used product first time yesterday after reading comments of Orange Hair user which was very helpful. Final result is really good, although I had to bleach the lower layers to create ombre effect and get rid of grey color on previously bleached highlights. If you want to get rid of reddish color on any kind of brown base color and get it closer to dark blonde or ice latte color - this is the right product to go for. I will update you ladies , how this color will change after several showers:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 6 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted02 November 2014
Customer Avatar
Orange hair
I loved, loved this product! My hair is natural light brown with warm hues (as Mediterranean hair are). Usually I can die my hair a medium blonde with 20% Vol developer, however I was tired of salon prizes and decided to DIY it.
Iced Latte Casting worked very well, but gave me a rather dark brown colour. I decided to go with Excellence. No 7 made my hair dark brown, No 8.1 made my hair a dark red, Excellence 8.12 (Blonde Legend) initially a rather nice Peach Colour that would wash within 1-2 weeks to proper Orange. So, I got tired of having orange/ginger hair and decided to go with 9.1 that everyone complained makes hair grey/green/blue as that was what my ginger hair wanted! Other reviewers with same problem also said it worked for them.
Result perfect honey like light brown-dark blonde. I love it!!! Mind you I do not know yet how it will wash out. Also, I suspect if I carry on dying hair with this one might turn green/grey/blue so I need another colour to alternate.
Overall, this is what my experimenting with loreal colours taught me: The numbers in tone are not the equivalent to professional. My impression is that if the tone is a 6 Majirel you need an 8 or even 9 with Home Colour. If you have brown hair and want to go lighter you need to choose an Ash Colour from 9 and above. If you want to stay dark 6 and bellow. Everything else will make your hair reddish. If you are natural blonde except if you go for platinum colours avoid the ash colours like the plague. They will make your hair dark or at least this is my impression.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 7 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted23 June 2015
Customer Avatar
Upsadaisy
Have been using Excellence 9, Natural Light Blonde, for at least 15 years. Loved the colour and even my various hairdressers have commented about the nice colour. Until now!!!
Last time I purchased the colour I noticed that the box had changed but foolishly assumed that the colour had remained the same.
Sadly not, after using this my hair looked a sludgy grey blonde. Fortunately, after several washes and exposure to sun, it has improved somewhat.
Now faced with trying every singly blonde colourant on the market in an effort to find the colour I want.
Not happy!!!!!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 8 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted28 May 2015
Customer Avatar
MS OWS
Tried 9.32, as it appears that the boxes/colours have changed, so couldn't find my usual colour. Used "Natural Medium Blonde", and it turned out GINGER!!!!! Someone's got it wrong. I have used many Blonde colours, and none have ever even had a red tinge. Am going to have to use an old box of "Natural Blonde" now to try and rectify the mess!!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 9 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted13 January 2015
Customer Avatar
jane
I could not agree more!!.although the actual product is fine, the makers must be colour blind!!
I am now almost black!!.
Light does not enter into it!!
Please try to do something to make this slightly near the colour on the box!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 10 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted11 October 2014
Customer Avatar
CautiousMale
Might seem strange but I am a 40yo man and many guys like me really have no clue about hair dye and too embarrassed to discuss it and would never get it done professionally lol This review might be useful for other guys
For some reason Loreal stopped doing men's hair dye so all we have now is the 'just for men' range. My friend convinced me to use a woman's one so thought why not, I'll give it a go. The Just for men range is a bit of a con to be honest, more expensive, only a handful of colors and if you don't have short hair there is never enough. Its simply marketed at guys as a manly thing and quick and easy application.
For a guy, its baffling all the colors available codes and brand names. I have no idea what the difference is between Excellence, Ferire, casting creme etc) I naturally have dark blonde hair with about 50% gray. I was encouraged to go for a much lighter shade as my male friend tried one and seriously got it wrong. I guess guys are like me and thinking god this may go wrong and everyone will know I dye my hair! I made a mess of applying it to just the roots so slapped it on all over. After a anxious 30min wait, it turned out fine actually. As I suspected this 7.31 on me came out much darker than the packet. It looks like that 6.13 or 6.3 one. Actually its not bad at all and still looks natural. I'll go for a 8.1 next time
So if your a guy my advice is:
- I'd say go for one of the standard natural ones, nothing with copper etc may look good of a lady but will look odd on a guy. We want to give the impression that we don't dye our hair
- If in doubt, go lighter. Hair product darkens it anyway.
- It seems an 'all or nothing' for the greys, there is no 'touch of grey' like you get in mens ones. However I suspect if you left it on for 20 rather than 30mins you might dampen the intensity down.
- Depends on age but might not be suitable if you have grey eyebrows, over 50 etc
Loreal
Please do an equivalent mens range or publish some guide for all these colors and ranges. We are lost! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 11 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted29 October 2015
Customer Avatar
DINAH11
I have used L'oreal hair colour for over 20 years and have always had compliments on my colour- from both friends and stylists.
I have always loved the conditioner that comes with the colour but now find I can't even get it out of the bottle. The tube was great - but the little bottle is just IMPOSSIBLE to get the conditioner out. PLEASE change back to tube.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 12 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted10 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Maud 1
i've been using this product for many years. i find it fantastic, especially now that my hair is turning grey. it blends in so well and gives a lovely highlight effect. I find it so easy to apply and i love the excellent conditioner supplied. It lasts right through to the next application. wouldn't change it for the world. Thanks L'oreal.!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 13 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted16 January 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruby2
Had a super crop at the hairdresser which cut out any lingering highlights and left my hair all-natural dark mousey blonde. Thought I'd give this colour a try as I wanted to go a shade lighter, a medium neutral blonde. What did I get? Ginger! It lifted my natural colour the right amount, but there is no way this is a neutral/natural tone, it's definitely in the golden range. After a week or so it washed out a little leaving me with a dark golden blonde/ginger/brown colour but doesn't suit my skin tone at all and makes me look very pale. If I'd wanted a reddish blonde I would have used Recital 'Florida' which is a far superior shade and suits my colouring better. As with all L'Oreal hair colour, the condition is good and it blends my few grey hairs effectively but disappointed with this shade. Should not be sold as 'natural' or 'neutral', it's too 'warm' for that. Will stick with L'Oreal because it leaves my hair in great condition but will try a ash shade next time.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 14 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted03 March 2014
Customer Avatar
kaz22
Left my hair thick and horrible, did,nt colour. I have always used l'oreal products but will never buy this one again
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 15 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted29 April 2014
Customer Avatar
Mez20
I love the colour and friends/family often comment on how good my hair looks. This excellence shade is perfect for me and my hair feels soft and has a gloss to it. When my hair looks this good I feel happier'
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 16 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted12 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Alicia
I purchased this produce as I wanted to cover up greys. I chose ash blonde as my natural colour is dark blonde/light brown and I have like an ash blonde in the past. I applied the colour as instructed on the packaging and left the dye on for the recommended developing time for natural hair(As my hair colour was natural). I was completely surprised to find my hair colour is now a dark strawberry blonde!? I could not be more dis-satisfied with this produced and am extremely unhappy that I now have to dye my hair a second time to rectify this. I would not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 17 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted04 February 2015
Customer Avatar
Michaela
Totally disapointed!!! It's not the same colour on the box...now I've got a dark grey colour!! I will never ever try another product from L'oreal!!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 18 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted28 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruby2
I think L'oreal is the best for home hair colour. Leaves the hair in great condition and is gentle on the scalp. However, if like me you are a typical British mousey blonde/light brown with a reddish base colour, colouring at home is a nightmare because even though your hair is fairish, it just won't go blonde, just goes brassy! You can get a blonde colour you're satisfied with eventually but it will take you a lot of experimentation and money, not to mention poor hair condition after all the dye. This was a second attempt at home in 3 months (have short hair and colour was mostly cut out) and done as a strand test which just turned orange, so forget messing about, it's off to the hairdressers for me, even though I only want to go a shade lighter. All those people who went dark or blue/green/grey with L'oreal ash shades must have had pre-coloured/bleached hair as it certainly wasn't the case for me on natural fairish hair. Great colour in general L'oreal, but when is someone going to cater for British mousey blondes who want to go a shade or two lighter without the brass? You'd be on to a winner if you catered for us!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 19 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted03 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Devon nan
Fantastic colour and grey cover. Multi tonal salon look. Easy and quick to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
Review 20 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted08 November 2014
Customer Avatar
cinders1
I was initially apprehensive of trying this product as it was a bit darker than I usually go for but my fears were soon allayed. The colour was amazing and allow still early days it is still looking good. I loved the way you could do the test without having to mix up lots of bottles first, the protective serum to use first was new to me but made me feel as if the product was not going to damage my hair. It was easy to apply and didn't drip all over the place. I have been converted from my usual brand after 20 years of use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting loreal-paris.co.uk
1 2 3 4 5 ... 33 next>>