Boots Ratings and Reviews
Gok
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Excellence Crème

LOreal L'Oreal Excellence Crème

L'Oreal Excellence Crème gives you triple protection before, during and after colouring your hair.
Average Customer Rating:
4.471 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
29 out of 33(88%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Review 1 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Classic

Posted01 April 2009
Customer Avatar
laalaa
Ive used this for years and have never been disappointed with the result. Ive never had "flat colour" using this. Saves a fortune on over-priced rocket scientists - oh I meant hairdressers ha ha.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Is it suppose to colour your hair?

Posted16 August 2009
Customer Avatar
Brunette95
I wanted to dye my hair so i used this in a rich auburn to transform by med-brown hair. I left it on for the recommended amount of time but the colour was awful, there wasnt any colour there, no-one had even noticed i'd coloured my hair. I was very disapointed with this, on the plus side though, it did make my hair soft, it was easy to use (i loved the protective serum) and didnt smell as bad as clairol although when i used clairol nice n' easy the colour was better than loreal, i would recommend it cause its worth a shot and everything except the colour was brilliant.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Colour Ever

Posted16 November 2009
Customer Avatar
ManxMinx
I have been using L'oreal's Lightest Pearl Blonde for longer than I care to remember, it is the most wonderful product with a serum to use before colouring to protect your hair. The conditioner supplied keeps the colour true over several washes. I would not use anything else. It also covers grey--not that I have any grey hair!!! I am blissfuuly blonde.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Baby Blonde FAB

Posted14 December 2009
Customer Avatar
Bridgettejones
Being brave I coloured my hair myself for the first time EVER !! I liked this colour on a friend and it seemed very natural so I thought what the heck Ill give it a go .... needed to find an alternative to very expensive highlighting. I was very good and followed the instructions to the letter and the colour is natural and stunning I will be doing my own colour from now on ... its never looked so nice ... very happy :-))
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Is it natural

Posted02 January 2010
Customer Avatar
socialjak76
Nobody knew I colured my hair till I told a friend. Very natural colour i have used this for years very happy...
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty good.

Posted03 May 2010
Customer Avatar
the925095
my naturual colour is a medium blonde. I used the rich auburn because I fancyed a change and I used two packets because my hair is very think also.
The colour isnt bad, but it looks quite faded and the red hasnt come out as much as i'd liked it to. I am going to do it again in a couple of weeks, and i'm sure then the colour will come out nice.
but overall, pretty good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hair colourant

Posted19 June 2010
Customer Avatar
greatvibes
This is the first time I've used a permanent hair colour and was very nervous! My hair is naturally mid brown and had caramel highlights through the top. I used colour 7 - Natural Dark Blonde. Due to increasing grey hairs I decided to start dying it myself as it would cost too much to have my hairdresser coour it regularly. I followed the instructions to the letter, they were easy to follow and very clear. The dye was very dark as it was developing, but fear not, the end result was great! In fact one of my friends didn't even notice I'd dyed it. It is a very natural colour and has tones to it, definitely not a 'block' colour. It covered the greys really well and no more highlights, overall really pleased and will be using from now on!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great !

Posted25 September 2010
Customer Avatar
missybabyalaina
The colour dyed my hair nicely and left it soft and shiny but if you have thickish hair this product isn't for you unless you buy two dyes but overall i loved this dye and will be using it again (:
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL!

Posted16 December 2010
Customer Avatar
emsigemsi
I used natural blonde which was a very similar colour to my hair and was recomended by l'oreals website, but it went darker and have a ginger tinge to my roots. The only good thing was that it left your hair soft.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 Star Hair Colour!!!!!

Posted01 February 2011
Customer Avatar
AmberJade123
I have never left a review before but I had to for this because it was such an amazing product I cant recommend it enough and it deserves 5 stars!!! I used the Ash Blonde shade after I had lightened my dark brown hair using Jerome Russell Bblonde for medium to dark brown hair. My hair went a light ginger after using that, so I had heard that using an Ash Blonde hair colour would neutralise that. And this hair colour had done exactly that!! My hair had gone lovely and blonde just how I wanted it to go. I would recommend this product 100% as it covers the hair so nicely. I had to use two boxes though, as my hair is quite long, but that was more than enough and I though that it was great for the price, especially as if I hadn't of used this I was going to get my hair highlighted in the salon and would have cost well over 50 pounds!!!!!! Would definitely use again!!!!!!!!!!!! Saved me lots of money!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

Posted30 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used a lot of hair dyes and this one is definitely the best one. Its the one I go back to every time now! Personally I use Shade 6 (Natural Light Brown) and its lovely - actually a few shades lighter than on the swatch on here if you have fair to medium hair like me. Its also the only hair dye I've used thats come out the exact same colour on the box and exactly the same even on different hair colours. I first used it as my hair was a mixture of warm blonde, bright pink with bleach blonde roots (failed bleach job, lol!) and I was expecting it to come out uneven but to my joy it turned out completely even. Recently I had a similar experience - purple hair dye that just wouldnt come out my roots. It had faded to a dull blue/greenish colour and I still had some vibrant purple streaks in my light-mid brown hair. Now this time i was CERTAIN it would come out uneven as the ends were much darker and I had my lighter natural roots coming through but to my amazement, once again, it was completely even! My hair feels in lovely condition and its very shiny and soft. The only downside of this hairdye is the smell! It smells very strong but its bareable as you only have to leave it on for half an hour. If I ever want to change my hair colour again (doubtful as this colour is sooo gorgeous) this is the hair dye I'll use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good outcome.

Posted23 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Swansea, UK
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
My natural hair is Black but before i used this my hair was a some sort of dark brown. I've been using Garnier all the time but because i wanted to get a lighter colour there wasn't any more left in my local market so i picked this. I bought the Shade 7 Natural dark Blonde and i knew that with my colour hair, it wouldn't turn out like it was on the box. . Because i have long hair (above the waist) i bought two boxes but at the end i only managed to use one and a half. I liked the end result because it was deffinitely lighter than my original colour but the roots came a bit light gingery but overall my hair was basically the same colour all over. If you want to see my results. This is a before and after picture. If you want to buy it. Let me warn you first that the smell is really strong and i have to leave the room a few times because i couldn't take it. LOL excuse the editing on my face. i had no makeup 8D.
Advantages: gives you the option of using a comb or not, really soft outcome.
Disadvantages: the strong chemical smell.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Light Brown

Posted27 May 2011
Customer Avatar
sookiestackhous9
Age:18-24
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very cautious when I decided to dye my hair again after several failed attempts when I was younger, but I wanted to cover my blonde highlights, I have natural mucky blonde/very light ash brown hair with blonde highlights and this covered it all up perfectly and evenly. I have dyed my hair 'light brown' before and it always ended up having brassy tones and washing out to be a horrible ginger colour, but this has been amazing, its a tiny bit darker than I expected but its the perfect shade and tone of brown ever! and it was so easy to apply I did it by myself and i'm a complete novice when it comes to things like this, its just like putting on conditioner in your hair, and the 3 step thing keeps the colour locked in for longer. I'm in love with this dye!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This hairdye is the best one ive used.(:

Posted03 July 2011
Customer Avatar
xxmisscocoxx
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ive used this hair dye 3 times now, and each time its worked perfectly recently i have used natural light brown which is a gorgeous colour, ive used hazel,and natural brown. all colours gone out glossy and shiny.
other hair dyes leave my hair in funny shades but this hair dye doesnt and its perfect,for any age i think..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good

Posted29 July 2011
Customer Avatar
ThomKat
from London
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Over 12 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have very fine hair and used this product first before using several others in this range including all the browns and some of the blonde ones. It is a very professional product but came out black on my hair. It was glossy and covered all the greys. It also did not iritate my scalp which is very sensitive. The natural blonde contain a lot more chemicals which has not been a success. I think that its a good product and would recommend it but suggest that you try a lighter shade first. Buy it when its on special offer! two for a tenner.
A handy tip - get a friend to do the back for full coverage and only use a small amount on the roots each time. Decant into an old container. This makes it incredibly cheap and will not damage your hair. A winner of a product!
Advantages: good value, professional
Disadvantages: very dark
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is best product for usage I've used in years

Posted01 October 2011
Customer Avatar
Chelle821
from Hythe, Southampton, Hampshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This dye was easy to apply with new comb head, covered well with enough for my long hair. It only took 30 minutes development. The best thing was washing it out til water ran clear was really easy and quick. Normally with other dyes I can never get water 100% clear and have dye on towels for weeks after, this one washed perfectly clear within a minute so then I applied conditioner, waited the two minutes, then rinsed off as normal and it was done. No residue, came off skin really easily whilst washing out colour. And it covered all my greys and the blonde highlights that had gone wrong in my hair and where the peroxide had decided to go on its own accord, it was all covered but feels lovely and natural still. I will recommend to anyone.
Advantages: washes out brilliantly, covers totally without any strays
Disadvantages: would like more vibrant shades, need more condition supplied
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

Posted05 November 2011
Customer Avatar
Alana
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hair colour is the best I've used in years. Picked it up after suffering a major hair disaster which left me with orange roots and white ends. The shade I chose was 8 Natural Blonde and I couldn't be happier! Gorgeous, multi-tonal natural blonde colour which completely eradicated the red tones in my hair. And despite colouring my fine hair twice in one week (!), I'm pleased to say that it's still in lovely, shiny, soft condition. I'm absolutely thrilled with the results. Highly recommended for someone in the same predicament!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Brown

Posted24 December 2011
Customer Avatar
Angela247
from South Shields
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:1-3 months
Uses Product:A few times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this for the past 4 years after spending 2 hrs in a hairdresser with a colour on. It's simple to apply, makes my hair shiny and healthy and me feeling healthier and younger. It's easy to rinse and doesn't stain simple to apply without any assistance. Perfect and professional looking finish everytime.
Advantages: conditioner smells lovely and never had a reaction
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Natural Dark Blonde no7

Posted26 July 2012
Customer Avatar
Naatia
from Leeds
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
The name of the colour is very misleading! My hair don't look anything like dark blone! It's a horrible brownish mousy colour. My hair was golden blondish ( on a darker side of the blond)before and now it's dark and awful! I wouldn't recomment it to anyone with dark blonde hair as it's more like a light brown colour and it's not very flattering, just flat and boring.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

natural brown.

Posted05 August 2012
Customer Avatar
yasmeen000
from bham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
i would recommend natural brown to anyone that wants a natural brown result, i got the color on the box but abit darker, but it was very natural looking and true to its name, the serum and the conditioner that came with it did wonders for my hair as it did not damage it at all ll, it was in better condition after colouring, excellence gives salon results without the hefty price and it really does give `excellent` results.
Thanks so much loreal!! :)
Advantages: everything
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>