Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LOreal L'Oreal Excellence Crème

LOreal L'Oreal Excellence Crème

L'Oreal Excellence Crème gives you triple protection before, during and after colouring your hair.
Average Customer Rating:
3.884 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(370 Reviews) 370
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 370 reviews
5 stars
206
4 stars
55
3 stars
26
2 stars
26
1 star
57
259 out of 368(70%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Review 1 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted27 August 2014
Customer Avatar
Beeper13
Of all the home hair color products I have tried, Excellence covers my gray the best and lasts the longest. The color always seems to come out darker than shown on the box, but I have learned this and simply wash my hair immediately after I color and then again the following few days and it lightens enough to what I am looking for. That and the slightly redder than expected result are my only complaints. To compensate for the red, I mix a neutral shade with a warm shade to customize my color. The price is right and from experience I know I can get the result I want. For the gray coverage and long lasting color, it is worth the tweaking that I have to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 2 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted14 September 2014
Customer Avatar
amystory
I love this product and color. I have been using it for years. I like the cream because it doesn't drip like other dyes. Also, it is great at gray coverage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 3 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Posted20 September 2014
Customer Avatar
VivianRamos
Try this shade but it did not look anything like the color it says...my hair came out like a dark brown, don't like it one bit...on the other hand the hair feels very soft...don't know if I would try again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 4 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted21 September 2014
Customer Avatar
aescaffi
Light Ash Brown 6A and Mocha Ash Brown 6AB, mixed, is what I actually use. This has been the only product that has dyed my grays. My hair is about 5-10% gray. I don't have so many grays, I know, but the ones I have are super stubborn. My only complaint is that though these are "ash tones" my hair still has a slight coppery tone to it. Not a horrible shade, but more than I would prefer. I use ash tones to minimize brassiness. Overall, however, good hair dye.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 5 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing covers grays better

Posted27 April 2010
Customer Avatar
MsLOreal
from Huntsville,AL
I love this color, its looks like my hair has highlights with the lighter (white) hair I have and it doesn't give me that "washed out" look
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 6 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't cover any gray!

Posted02 January 2011
Customer Avatar
sandys
from New LONDON,WI
I love the product, I normally use Coleur Experte but thought this would cover gray better. I was wrong. I will go back to the multi-tonal product so even though the gray isn't covered, at least the many high/low lights would disguise it, blend it, mix it in. I don't have a lot yet but the gray is coming in chunky!
The dark blonde colors bring out more of my natural reds which I love!
Advantages: hair is soft
Disadvantages: no gray coverage
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 7 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful shade. Shiny and Silky texture.

Posted17 April 2011
Customer Avatar
1browneyedbabe
from lynn,MA
This shade gives you a nice rich dark brown with burgandy highlights. It does come out a little dark at first , but after using a second time I left it on about 25 minutes. A little less than required. The color lasts longer than any other brands I have used. Highly recommend for medium to dark brown hair.
Advantages: true to color, long lasting
Disadvantages: dark at first
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 8 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Excellence 5CB; Very Red and Darker than Expected

Posted25 June 2012
Customer Avatar
FrugalMommie
from Charlotte,NC
Started with Med. length hair natural color is a level 5 ash brown. Had about a level 6 red-goldenish faded brown on ends. Picked 5CB (I had used 5G a while back it also pulled some serious cherry red) Again, almost same result if not more red. Very dark (which usually fades) but tones of cherry/orange red. Not what I was looking for. Looking for a subtle natural brown with some various rich/warm tones. Love excellence as it always make my hair soft but cannot find the right shade for me
Advantages: makes hair healthy, soft
Disadvantages: not true to color
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 9 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft Blond Hair

Posted07 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Blonde4Ever
from FL
I've used a lightening product for many years but with more and more gray hair coming in, I needed something with color. I was so happy to find this product that does lightening and coloring in one step. Product was very easy to use and produced a beautiful color.
Advantages: true to color, easy to use, left my hair very soft
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 10 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted08 April 2013
Customer Avatar
cargru
This is my very favorite hair coloring product. Even though the last time I used it (6R Light Auburn) I didn't really see much of the auburn in my hair (it looked exactly how it looked when I use the Feria Iced Mocha color) but oh well I guess my hair is auburn already! But what I really like about Excellence Creme is the Pro-Keratine protection, since I have the brazilian keratin treatment in my hair, it just boosts the keratin and makes my hair look as straight as if I had just had the treatment, definitely 2 thumbs up!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 11 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Brand!

Posted14 May 2012
Customer Avatar
chocoqueen
Excellence is the most gentle haircolor I've used. It colors well, doesn't fade and the color is always vibrant. I"ve tried others, but I always end up coming back to Excellence. I just love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 12 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE COPPER COLOUR NOT AT ALL ASH

Posted27 November 2010
Customer Avatar
JenJen204
from AA
I was extremely disappointed that this turned my father's dark ash blonde hair to a light blonde with a horrible copper tone... only saving grace was that I used the shade finer on the website and it found me th colour to fix it... I will be buying that tomorrow...
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 13 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE, LOVE 7G

Posted06 November 2012
Customer Avatar
Snowflake
from PA
I was tired of my blonde hair. Knowing that darker colors (lightest browns) are VERY dark, I chose the dark golden blonde shade. I've tried the dark blonde color previously and it made my hair a pepper color. I need the golden tones to add depth and pick up the red in my hair. This color did EXACTLY what I wanted it to do....my hair is a beautiful light caramel brown color with just a touch of red. I wish it would stay this way, and not ever fade!
Advantages: love the end result color!
Disadvantages: not a true picture on the box
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 14 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted12 March 2014
Customer Avatar
MargaretP
in my professional opinion the color is not exactly true to its color on the box, I used L'oreal Excellence Creme 01 High Lift on virgin level 7 2" roots, the color lift my hair only two level higher I hate to think what would happen if I use no 9N or 10N.. the color does not show non-damaged results, however, the hair conditioner work great.
in overall, color looks fine except for the hi-lift results. Hair feels bit dry after coloring. The triple protection color hmmm? Expected better results. "/
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 15 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Posted14 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Dismayed
I have dark brown hair & was looking to lighten it considerably (I really want to match the champagne blonde pictured) w/o going platinum blonde. I checked online & was informed that this product would do the trick, & would even cover the gray peppered throughout. NOT THE CASE! The coloring is awful—a brassy reddish light brown on the top & roots (I chose the “Cooler” shade to prevent this reddish tint), the gray remained gray, & the rest of my hair is now this unflattering mousy brown color. Hideous! (Yes, it was applied properly & thoroughly: all of my shoulder length hair was saturated & I left it in for the required 30 minutes.) I’ve previously used Féria to lighten my hair (> 5 years since last color treatment) & NEVER had any problems, so this completely threw me. On top of that, my hair feels coarse & looks frayed—very different from its normally touchably soft look & feel.
I was informed by customer service that in order to fix this—lighten it to a more acceptable shade & eliminate the reddish tones—I can try the Féria 205 Extra Bleach Blonde or the Super Blonde 200 Bleach Blonde product. But I need to wait @ least 48 hours before coloring again. I’ll give it another go this weekend & see how it turns out. Wish me luck!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 16 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Platinum!

Posted25 September 2011
Customer Avatar
heirgaston
from Los Angeles,CA
I have naturally dark brown hair, which I bleach. I used this product to lift my roots and give me an overall platinum shade. When I used this product, I was absolutely stunned at the results I got! I was SOO impressed with the results, I went out and bought 2 more boxes. The result I got was a brass-free, very light ash blonde that looks platinum. The model's hair color on the box is very accurate. I plan on buying this shade again to refresh my all-over color and touch up my roots.
Advantages: true-to-color, high lift
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 17 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

VIBRANT red shade, not at all natural looking

Posted28 October 2012
Customer Avatar
Smarty
Used this color over natural medium/dark brown, with some very light highlights at the ends. It turned out a very dark brown with a bright sheen of cherry red - a very odd, unnatural looking color. An accurate description of this color would be VIBRANT cherry cola. Not the chestnut brown I was hoping for at all.
Sufficently covered the bleached ends to red-brown, though when light hits the area, it's a blazing coppery-cherry color. But the hair is very shiny and smooth.
Advantages: high shine
Disadvantages: unnatural looking color, very unlike swatch color
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 18 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Posted19 June 2013
Customer Avatar
tetigurl
The hair color didn't come out as blonde as it was suppose to and the color faded fast.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 19 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for diffucult hair.

Posted15 August 2011
Customer Avatar
ncljohnson96
from Somewhere,TN
My hair HAS to be done at a salon, or it turns a totally different color then I try to get, like I tried blonde one time and got brown. So, I really wanted to try this. My hair is the same color on the box. I LOVE IT. If you need a new hair dye, get this one. I will continue to use this brand until I get tired of coloring my hair. I am going to try red and blonde, and hope they work. :) Get this brand.
Advantages: true-to-color, long-lasting, easy-to-apply
Disadvantages: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
Review 20 for L'Oreal Excellence Crème
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what I expected

Posted21 August 2011
Customer Avatar
UnaturallyBlond
from CA
First of all, this is the most awful smelling product I have ever used, I can literally feel it burning my insides when I smell it. I'm natural medium brown and have been trying all different kinds of platinum blonde looking shades for a few months. Though even when I use ash blonde, my hair is still this bright yellowish golden blonde, and I don't know why but it's very frustrating. I guess blonde just isn't for me...This didn't lighten it at all, and did not remove the red/orange tones at all
Advantages: feels healthy
Disadvantages: smells horrid, not true to color at all
I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting lorealparisusa.com
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>