Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Colour-B4 Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover

Colour-B4 Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover

Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover. Safely rewind to your colour before. The first commercial Hair Colour Remover in the UK!
Average Customer Rating:
3.756 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(225 Reviews) 225
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 225 reviews
5 stars
113
4 stars
40
3 stars
17
2 stars
14
1 star
41
134 out of 214(63%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Review 1 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Safe Your Money

Posted21 October 2009
Customer Avatar
NighwishStar
Bought tihis item after reading other reviews, as had colouring mishap. The colour afterwards was maybe a shade lighter.
COMPLETE RUBBISH for a tenner
Had more luck just using Lemon Juice & Conditioner.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really pleased!

Posted20 January 2010
Customer Avatar
MousyNoMore
Just blow dried my hair after following the Colour B4 instructions (exactly!) and i'm really pleased; it rinsed out ALL of the mousy brown permanent pigment I used 5 days ago, just as advertised. And i've been left with highlighted blonde, which is ten times better! However, as I had ash highlights all over my naturally blonde hair, the final colour is very brassy - which is mentioned as an expectation on the instruction leaflet. However, this can be corrected very quickly with an ash toner - i'm going to the hairdresser's! - so all in all a very impressive product. Just be warned that if you've got dyed v.blonde or platinum hair it may look yellowy after the final rinse, but don't panic like I did, it's very easily and cheaply corrected either with a toning shampoo or a hairdresser.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Result!

Posted17 April 2010
Customer Avatar
twirl58
Have been colouring my hair with Boots Semi-Permanent Dark Brown for the last couple of years and thought I would gradually go lighter as befitting my advancing years! Used Casting Walnut which was described as medium brown on the box, thought I would then use the Honey Brown next time and end up with my chosen colour. How wrong I was! My flat, dull hair couldn't have been any blacker if it was black!
Purchased B4 and a pack of Boots Golden Brown Semi-Permanent as a back up. Nervously applied it this morning and I am left with golden brown hair so wont be needing the colourant.
I only noticed the rotten egg smell when I did the sensitvity test so didn't think it was too bad during application.
I would say that my hair feels coarser now but will try some deep conditioning mask on it later. Has it returned my hair to its original colour? To be honest I couldn't say as it must be at least 20 years since I saw it. It isn't an ideal colour now but I can live with it.
All I all I am very satifisfied with the result.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ABSOLUTELY AWFUL PRODUCT

Posted05 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Imogen703
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am naturally a brunette, and have had highlights in my hair for the last 2 months and wanted to go back to my natural colour. I read the instructions for this word for word and I would never ever use it again. Firstly the smell is absolutely awful. I have washed my hair several times and it still smells, think rotten eggs! Secondly it didn't take any colour out of my hair but made it BRIGHT GINGER. PLEASE don't waste your money on this product!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-17points
3of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product for me

Posted07 February 2014
Customer Avatar
mandy524
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
after reviewing all the comments wasn't sure to try this product or not,
But after reading them , i thought i will give it ago, and was very pleased with the outcome, i have had blonde foils a while ago and wanted to go blonde , so brought the colour put it on ... nope didn't like it , Its was too dark, so brought colourb4 hair colour remover .... great result lifted the colour out and i now have the colour i wanted nice and blonde :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good!

Posted26 September 2010
Customer Avatar
usual
I bought this due to a salon disaster leaving me a blonde/gingery colour with bleach highlights.
I didn't find the smell that bad but the endless rinsing gets very boring. I have to say that it didn't work! I knew the bleached highlights would still be there and it has knocked out some of the ginger, but it has now got me looking like a Billy Idol impersonator!
I wish I had just gone back to the salon instead - now I will have to pay to have it put right on top of the price of this item. I think it works best on home-dyed hair in brown shades. I definitely won't buy this again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get's rid of colour, but did not get back my natural hair colour!

Posted09 November 2011
Customer Avatar
jennal13
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have naturally dirty blonde hair and I dyed it with a semi-permant ginger colour just to see what it would be like and for a change. I hated the colour so I bought this to get rid of it. My hair is certainly not ginger anymore, but is now a strawberry blonde. It is also a lot lighter than my natural colour, but as my hair had never been highlighted, I'm sure how this could've happened, as the box clearly said it would not change my natural hair colour. So i'm a little annoyed, as I'll now have to either dye my hair again which I really don't fancy after the last disaster, or wait for it to grow out, which as my hair is quite long could take me about 4 years. However, it is a lot better than having ginger hair!
Advantages: gets rid of colour
Disadvantages: not natural result, smells pretty bad
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Getting Rid of Unwanted Colour

Posted07 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product is overall very good and did not dry my hair out in fact it was very well conditioned afterwards.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank god for this product!

Posted24 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Derby
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have naturally dark hair and had recently dyed it red, I got fed up with the red and wanted to return to my natural colour. This was not happening, I tried so many different browns to remove the red and nothing worked. I read about colour b4 and was very nervous about using it after reading some bad reviews. I gave it a go and hoped for the best. After completing the treatment my hair went a caramel colour, which didnt look to bad however still wasnt my natural colour. I then washed my hair the following day and the day after that and my hair got darker each time and returned to its natural colour, so overall I am very happy with this product. Only took an hour to complete the treatment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC!!!!

Posted18 July 2012
Customer Avatar
emma134
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Had red hair and I wanted to do my roots and brighten the colour up with this other red colour and it went wrong and turned it dark red burgundy and I hated it! I was thinking of bleaching my hair back lighter to fix it but thats so damaging so I thought id try this! and I was amazed with the results the red just melted away back to the ginger colour I had it bleached to before dying it red first time. So now I get dye my hair back bright red like i wanted! Im very pleased with the results!!!
only thing is the smell is like eggs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FABULOUS PRODUCT THIS WILL CHANGE MY HAIR DYING WORLD

Posted08 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Dawnieb54
from Solihull
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Last time I saw my own colour of hair was about 25years ago when I was a teenager. I vaguely recall it being dark mousy blonde and have been dying it bright blonde every week since. From time to time I like to dye it a dark auburn and have always ended up wrecking my hair by dying it back with a ferocious peroxide blonde. I tried this for a change and cannot believe the result. About 6 weeks ago it was bright platinum blonde, since then I have coloured it every week with varying dark colours, reds, browns, blacks, auburns. I thought after using this I might need an emergency trip to the salon with lots of different patchy colours. However, it has turned out a very even golden brown/blonde slightly honeyish and I love it.
I was all ready to recolour but honestly I wont need to, fabulous product, I love it, I will be constantly changing colour from now on with this in hand. The smell is slightly unpleasant, but you get used to it very quickly and its a small price to pay.
Advantages: doesnt wreck the condition of your hair, very even colour result, easy to use, excellent value
Disadvantages: slight bad odour
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for me

Posted19 May 2013
Customer Avatar
Arlene2012
My hair is naturally blonde and I stupidly died it brown, then I went back to blonde then I got bored again and died it red. I went to the hairdressers and they helped me get back to a blonde shade but I have still got tones of orange through it. My hair is in bad condition so I wasn't really wanting to properly strip it, I seen this product and thought I would give it a go. I put it in and followed the instructions and nothing happened. My theory is because the hair dressers died it with peroxide ect the colour b4 obviously can't remove it, I think this will only work on a box colour dye that you have done yourself. The only thing I've been left with is smelly hair
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pulled out some of the colour... left patchy

Posted30 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Shellie91
I dyed my hair pink a month ago.. i liked it but I needed to get the colour out as its my sisters wedding in two months and i need my hair a more natural colour. I didnt want to bleach my hair again (my hair is already damaged from bleach) so I thought I would give this ago.
The plan was to use this to get the pink out of my hair and then I could get it dyed back to brown at the salon.
I used it but to my dissapointed although it did take alot of the colour out, it left my hair very streaky. I havve blonde bits and light pink bits and dark pink bits all over my hair!! my hair was fully covered so it wanst that there wasnt enough of it.
I am going to buy a box of the extra strength and see if that will tae the rest of the colour out. I noticed that I did not follow the instructions correctly as it says to rince your hair for 10 minutes? Maybe I didnt rinse it long enough.. anyway I will write another review after my second box of colour b4.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't work for me

Posted18 January 2011
Customer Avatar
jellykitten7
I've always had natural dark blonde hair and fancied a change, so dyed it semi permanent red. Then when that started to fade and go a bit orange I dyed it semi permanent plum. After a few weeks I wanted to go back blonde as I couldn't be bothered dying it everytime it faded. I used Scott Cornwall, as I'd all the read really good reviews on Boots. Unfortunately my hair came out a really bright shade of blonde with a ginger tint so I did what it said in the instructions and dyed it ash blonde to eliminate the tint.It went brown. So I dyed it an even lighter blonde and I now have browny ginger hair and don't know what to do as it's January and I can't afford to go to a salon! Saving up to have a professional job done on it now.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic hair colour remover!

Posted28 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Becki27
from Durham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this before reading the back of the box properly, got a bit scared when it mentioned fresh hair dye, I've dyed my hair on and off since November last year, I've been brunette and red a few times, last colour I put on was around May, it was permanent dark brown.
Anyway, I thought "I've bought it now, I'm gonna risk it", WELL worth the risk! I've gone back to mousy brown/blonde, i.e. my natural colour, jeez it's amazing.
People complained about the stench, it's not THAT bad!! Also the buffer that's used at the end smells sooooooo lovely, so it's worth it lol
I definitely recommend it!
Advantages: easy to use, actually works!
Disadvantages: bit pricy, despite being easy it's a long process
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Colour b4

Posted14 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Zarri
Tried this to remove black colour at it worked ! Now the colour I have is perfect would defiantly recommend this product very pleased
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not impressed

Posted10 February 2011
Customer Avatar
jules16c
from leicester
Gender:Female
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My daughter had dyed her hair medium brown ,from being blonde,hair went slightly lighter with this product, not much,after a few hours as stated on the box, she put a light blonde colour on her hair,the result is blonde roots and the rest is medium brown hair ,so you could say we are no impressed with this product,and has left quite a dilema,i am now waitng for there offices to open ,so i can phone them for advice,but not looking good
Disadvantages: complete waste of money
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Meh

Posted19 July 2011
Customer Avatar
sarahlouise1992
from ashton under lyne
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this product a while ago but havent got round to the review till now,i had to buy the extra strength remover as my hair was black ,i bought two boxes and i used one on the night time and the other box the day after .Some peoples hair is different but i got a mixture of all the things that every one said would happen.The first night it stripped the black out and my hair was a medium brown but the second day it turned the top blonde,the middle ginger and underneath dark brown.
The smell was horrible,it was literally like rotten eggs and sewage combined,it made my house smell for days and my mum was not impressed lol.My hair wasnt damaged but it was a long process and i got quite bored and smelly! it felt dry for a while but that soon passed.when i had done the two boxes i went out and got a mousey brown colour.and what happened! it turned straight back to a blacky colour but it was all multi tonel and the only thing i could do was dye it back black.i was 20 quid down and not happy!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A bunch of rubbish

Posted16 February 2015
Customer Avatar
Jessicahead1
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ten pounds im never gonna get back! Stripped no colour and let my hair a dry frazzled heap. Absolutely awful all it did was make my bathroom smell of eggs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not massively impressed

Posted08 December 2010
Customer Avatar
charli2299
OK, so I have blondey/ginger hair and I really wanted to go more auburn for christmas, so I used the John Freida foam. Unfortunately it went black/purple - really hideous! Not at all natural.
So I decide to buy this kit in the hope I could undo my mistake (just like it said on the box). I did all the steps and now my hair is a dull brown colour. Although this is a big improvement from purple, its not really what I was hoping for. However it obviously works for a lot of people, so I'd would probably suggest it to a friend.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>