Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Hair offers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Colour-B4 Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover

Colour-B4 Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover

Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover. Safely rewind to your colour before. The first commercial Hair Colour Remover in the UK!
Average Customer Rating:
3.777 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(220 Reviews) 220
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 220 reviews
5 stars
112
4 stars
39
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
39
134 out of 214(63%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Review 1 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Safe Your Money

Posted21 October 2009
Customer Avatar
NighwishStar
Bought tihis item after reading other reviews, as had colouring mishap. The colour afterwards was maybe a shade lighter.
COMPLETE RUBBISH for a tenner
Had more luck just using Lemon Juice & Conditioner.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really pleased!

Posted20 January 2010
Customer Avatar
MousyNoMore
Just blow dried my hair after following the Colour B4 instructions (exactly!) and i'm really pleased; it rinsed out ALL of the mousy brown permanent pigment I used 5 days ago, just as advertised. And i've been left with highlighted blonde, which is ten times better! However, as I had ash highlights all over my naturally blonde hair, the final colour is very brassy - which is mentioned as an expectation on the instruction leaflet. However, this can be corrected very quickly with an ash toner - i'm going to the hairdresser's! - so all in all a very impressive product. Just be warned that if you've got dyed v.blonde or platinum hair it may look yellowy after the final rinse, but don't panic like I did, it's very easily and cheaply corrected either with a toning shampoo or a hairdresser.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Result!

Posted17 April 2010
Customer Avatar
twirl58
Have been colouring my hair with Boots Semi-Permanent Dark Brown for the last couple of years and thought I would gradually go lighter as befitting my advancing years! Used Casting Walnut which was described as medium brown on the box, thought I would then use the Honey Brown next time and end up with my chosen colour. How wrong I was! My flat, dull hair couldn't have been any blacker if it was black!
Purchased B4 and a pack of Boots Golden Brown Semi-Permanent as a back up. Nervously applied it this morning and I am left with golden brown hair so wont be needing the colourant.
I only noticed the rotten egg smell when I did the sensitvity test so didn't think it was too bad during application.
I would say that my hair feels coarser now but will try some deep conditioning mask on it later. Has it returned my hair to its original colour? To be honest I couldn't say as it must be at least 20 years since I saw it. It isn't an ideal colour now but I can live with it.
All I all I am very satifisfied with the result.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

yeahy!

Posted18 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I used the regular strength (no extra strength available), not without a lot of doubt, as I have had many a bad colour mishap. My hair was bleached blonde at the start of the year, but I decided to dye a deep cherry red/brown over the top recently. My hair wasn't having any of it and came out in patches after a couple of washes. Instead of turning to colour b4 then, I just kept redying it the pretty black cherry colour untill I decided enough was enough.
Skeptical that the regular strength wouldn't budge many weeks worth of re-dying with permanent, I gave it a go...
after the twenty minutes I washed it out, buffered and to my surprise the red has totally gone, I'm left with a nice, even, lightish brown.
Thank god someones designed something for the masses thats better than orange-tastic irn bru hair bleach.
Highly recommend for all those who change their hair frequently only to look at photos of themselves from a few months ago and say..."I wish I was still blonde"
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ABSOLUTELY AWFUL PRODUCT

Posted05 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Imogen703
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am naturally a brunette, and have had highlights in my hair for the last 2 months and wanted to go back to my natural colour. I read the instructions for this word for word and I would never ever use it again. Firstly the smell is absolutely awful. I have washed my hair several times and it still smells, think rotten eggs! Secondly it didn't take any colour out of my hair but made it BRIGHT GINGER. PLEASE don't waste your money on this product!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-16points
2of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product for me

Posted07 February 2014
Customer Avatar
mandy524
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
after reviewing all the comments wasn't sure to try this product or not,
But after reading them , i thought i will give it ago, and was very pleased with the outcome, i have had blonde foils a while ago and wanted to go blonde , so brought the colour put it on ... nope didn't like it , Its was too dark, so brought colourb4 hair colour remover .... great result lifted the colour out and i now have the colour i wanted nice and blonde :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good!

Posted26 September 2010
Customer Avatar
usual
I bought this due to a salon disaster leaving me a blonde/gingery colour with bleach highlights.
I didn't find the smell that bad but the endless rinsing gets very boring. I have to say that it didn't work! I knew the bleached highlights would still be there and it has knocked out some of the ginger, but it has now got me looking like a Billy Idol impersonator!
I wish I had just gone back to the salon instead - now I will have to pay to have it put right on top of the price of this item. I think it works best on home-dyed hair in brown shades. I definitely won't buy this again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

inexpensive and does not harm your hair

Posted15 February 2011
Customer Avatar
magzeeb
from widnes
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
omg!! used this product today after I dyed my hair a medium brown which turned out black i was impressed because i have a sensitive scalp and i had no problems colour i was left with was of a gingery tone i would advise to use a colour straight away i used a blonde colour and the results are fabulous I cannot recommend this product enough
Advantages: cheaper than a hair salon
Disadvantages: bit smelly rinsing is a pain
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get's rid of colour, but did not get back my natural hair colour!

Posted09 November 2011
Customer Avatar
jennal13
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have naturally dirty blonde hair and I dyed it with a semi-permant ginger colour just to see what it would be like and for a change. I hated the colour so I bought this to get rid of it. My hair is certainly not ginger anymore, but is now a strawberry blonde. It is also a lot lighter than my natural colour, but as my hair had never been highlighted, I'm sure how this could've happened, as the box clearly said it would not change my natural hair colour. So i'm a little annoyed, as I'll now have to either dye my hair again which I really don't fancy after the last disaster, or wait for it to grow out, which as my hair is quite long could take me about 4 years. However, it is a lot better than having ginger hair!
Advantages: gets rid of colour
Disadvantages: not natural result, smells pretty bad
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product actually works

Posted10 September 2012
Customer Avatar
mandimoo1963
from west midlands
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is brilliant-know that i can change my hair colour whenever i want now
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Getting Rid of Unwanted Colour

Posted07 February 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product is overall very good and did not dry my hair out in fact it was very well conditioned afterwards.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank god for this product!

Posted24 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Derby
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have naturally dark hair and had recently dyed it red, I got fed up with the red and wanted to return to my natural colour. This was not happening, I tried so many different browns to remove the red and nothing worked. I read about colour b4 and was very nervous about using it after reading some bad reviews. I gave it a go and hoped for the best. After completing the treatment my hair went a caramel colour, which didnt look to bad however still wasnt my natural colour. I then washed my hair the following day and the day after that and my hair got darker each time and returned to its natural colour, so overall I am very happy with this product. Only took an hour to complete the treatment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC!!!!

Posted18 July 2012
Customer Avatar
emma134
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Had red hair and I wanted to do my roots and brighten the colour up with this other red colour and it went wrong and turned it dark red burgundy and I hated it! I was thinking of bleaching my hair back lighter to fix it but thats so damaging so I thought id try this! and I was amazed with the results the red just melted away back to the ginger colour I had it bleached to before dying it red first time. So now I get dye my hair back bright red like i wanted! Im very pleased with the results!!!
only thing is the smell is like eggs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is amazing!

Posted03 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosette15
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Make sure you follow the steps and especially the timing, I had dyed my hair a dark brown and I really didn't like it but i didn't want to totally strip my hair so I bought this and it did the job! the only thing is your hair will feel really hard and dry so make sure you really condition your hair after with leave on treatments!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FABULOUS PRODUCT THIS WILL CHANGE MY HAIR DYING WORLD

Posted08 March 2013
Customer Avatar
Dawnieb54
from Solihull
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Last time I saw my own colour of hair was about 25years ago when I was a teenager. I vaguely recall it being dark mousy blonde and have been dying it bright blonde every week since. From time to time I like to dye it a dark auburn and have always ended up wrecking my hair by dying it back with a ferocious peroxide blonde. I tried this for a change and cannot believe the result. About 6 weeks ago it was bright platinum blonde, since then I have coloured it every week with varying dark colours, reds, browns, blacks, auburns. I thought after using this I might need an emergency trip to the salon with lots of different patchy colours. However, it has turned out a very even golden brown/blonde slightly honeyish and I love it.
I was all ready to recolour but honestly I wont need to, fabulous product, I love it, I will be constantly changing colour from now on with this in hand. The smell is slightly unpleasant, but you get used to it very quickly and its a small price to pay.
Advantages: doesnt wreck the condition of your hair, very even colour result, easy to use, excellent value
Disadvantages: slight bad odour
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pulled out some of the colour... left patchy

Posted30 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Shellie91
I dyed my hair pink a month ago.. i liked it but I needed to get the colour out as its my sisters wedding in two months and i need my hair a more natural colour. I didnt want to bleach my hair again (my hair is already damaged from bleach) so I thought I would give this ago.
The plan was to use this to get the pink out of my hair and then I could get it dyed back to brown at the salon.
I used it but to my dissapointed although it did take alot of the colour out, it left my hair very streaky. I havve blonde bits and light pink bits and dark pink bits all over my hair!! my hair was fully covered so it wanst that there wasnt enough of it.
I am going to buy a box of the extra strength and see if that will tae the rest of the colour out. I noticed that I did not follow the instructions correctly as it says to rince your hair for 10 minutes? Maybe I didnt rinse it long enough.. anyway I will write another review after my second box of colour b4.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money! Total s*#t!

Posted15 February 2011
Customer Avatar
Saawariya
from Southampton, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've naturally brown hair and had died my hair several times to dark brown(looks more like between dark brown and black with hint of ginger), anyway have decided to remove that colour to see what my real hair colour looked like,as I've begun to forget it lol Spent nearly 10 quid on this Colour remover by Scott Cornwall and according to reviews it was good.
Nonsense. It didn't do nothing much with my hair, maybe made my current hair colour a bit lighter so I cannot see the difference between my grown roots and coloured part of hair, but it's still not my hair.
This is waste of money, I'm hoping this will be refunded!
wouldn't suggest it. :((((((((( highly disappointed.
Disadvantages: doesn't do what it says
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
5of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

Posted22 March 2011
Customer Avatar
wendy1805
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this product tonight to remove extremely red tones from my daughters hair. She has had her hair coloured at the hairdressers and also with Live XXL red so I was sceptical about the results but its brilliant.
After reading other reviews I followed the instructions exactly, wrapping it in cling film, keeping it in the heat and rinsing for the required time and the red is totally gone. Her natural colour is light brown and the colour now is blondey ginger but I understand that is as a result of the bleach in the colours used before and a fresh tone over the top will sort it out.
Smell wasn't as bad as others have put
Advantages: easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked Perfectly!

Posted31 July 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I dyed my hair bright red in the summer last year. My natural hair colour was a browny blonde colour. I loved my red hair but after a while it faded and turned orange! I had dyed my hair brown again trying to cover it up but nothing worked. I discovered Colour B4 and thought 'Hey why not give it a shot?' so I bought a box of the regular strength one. (Maybe a little pricey at £10 per box but deffo worth it!) After 30 minutes Colour B4 stripped all the red away from my hair leaving me with my natural brown/blonde hair back. It was easy to apply and the intructions were easy to understand. Would deffinatley reccomend this to a friend!
Advantages: gets rid of unwanted colour, easy to apply, deffinatley worth your money, easy to understand instructions
Disadvantages: kind of an eggy smell but not unbearable, washing and rinsing time
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says on the bottle, brilliant product!

Posted20 August 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I dyed my rather nice aurburn hair dark brown and it looked awful, this was the first time i've dyed my hair. I was a bit sceptical about using this stuff but it is fantastic, i now have my normal hair colour back and it's not damaged the thickness or moisture of my hair either. The cream does have a very stong smell so would open a window or get a nose peg! I followed the instuctions to the letter and kept the product in for 40 minutes.
This is definatley the best way to remedy a hair disater :)
Advantages: back to natural hair, hair in good condition, kept hair volume and shine
Disadvantages: stinks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>