Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Colour-B4 Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover

Colour-B4 Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover

Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover. Safely rewind to your colour before. The first commercial Hair Colour Remover in the UK!
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(216 Reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 216 reviews
5 stars
110
4 stars
38
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
38
133 out of 213(62%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Review 1 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Colour Before EXTRA

Posted25 January 2011
Customer Avatar
Comex
I used to have really light bleached blonde hair but decided to dye it a dark mahogany brown for christmas. I then decided that I want to go back to my blondeness and having read the reviews on colour before, I thought I would give it a try.... It really worked, it has totally stripped the dark reddy colour and have been left with an amber colour which is perfectly wearable as it is, or a good base colour to dye over. Very easy to use when you follow the instructions and does what it says on the box!!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good !!

Posted16 February 2011
Customer Avatar
Miasamantha
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been dyeing my hair black for year's at least 2 years also blue black, iv been searching everywhere for something that will lightern my hair so i can go red but nothing worked then i came across this. I brought it today used it as intructed and the end product was awsome only downfall though that it dident lighten all my hair only my root's and ended up with dark redish on my end's but as am going red anyway i fount this usefull.. i would recomend the extra stenght one for black hair though just incase :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing results

Posted24 March 2011
Customer Avatar
J9bar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have blonde hair and have been dying my hair for years to cover roots. A few days ago I dyed my hair to cover my roots with a permanent hair dye. The colour was mean't to be golden blonde but i ended up with dark blonde / brown hair which I hated. This evening i've used this product and I'm now blonde again, I'm amazed with the results. I followed the instructions fully and wrapped my hair in cling film. All the rinsing is definitely worth it for the results.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product!!

Posted03 February 2011
Customer Avatar
luckystar1703
I was really nervous about using this product as I had seen so many mixed reviews about it, but I finally decided to use it seeing as I had paid for it. I had previously dyed my hair with Loreal Excell 10 in Spiced Chocolate but it was quite a dark brunette colour with a hint of red. Previous to being brunette, I was blonde with highlights in my hair so when using the Colour B4 I was expecting to turn a ginger colour! However I used it exactly to the instructions and when my hair was fully dry my hair was a light mousey brown colour, which is my natural colour. I am so pleased with this product and fully recommend it to anyone :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok if you want to be ginger

Posted13 April 2011
Customer Avatar
sarahxoxoxoxox
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had a brown dye on my hair and i am naturally a very light blonde so then use the b4 colour to get my hair back to that colour, I have now used it twice and my hair is still ginger, ginger is NOT my natural hair colour and the dye was only semi-permenant, although it has stripped the colour out I am left to spend a large amount of money to correct it, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Barely worth it

Posted02 April 2011
Customer Avatar
hairfanatic
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I naturally have light blonde hair and dyed my hair a browny colour which turned ginger eventually. I didnt like it so i decided to use this product. I was very exited about using it but nothing really happened. It has lifted some of the ginger off but i havent gone back to blonde, it wasnt worth the money, ohh and it really smells bad.
Disadvantages: does barely anything., smells awful.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better result than expected

Posted28 April 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Previous colour: bright red. After using Colour B4: strawberry blonde
I read all the reviews I could get my hands on and fully expected to come out with dry, brittle, orange hair. I used Colour B4 3 days ago and my hair is a gorgeous coppery strawberry blonde. And I mean strawberry blonde, not light ginger. My hair condition is no worse than before, but no better either.
Once you've covered your clothing and thoroughly combed your hair (and done the test patch!), you mix the solution according to instructions. People have complained about the smell, but if you compare it to the strength of ammonia you get in most dyes, it isn't more offensive than that. Plus it's worth it.
Maybe I wasn't very clever when spreading the mixture over my hair, but there didn't seem to be very much of it. My hair sits just below my shoulders and the box provided just enough mixture to cover it all. So if your hair is thicker or slightly longer than mine, I'd suggest getting 2 boxes.
I put a carrier bag over my head, to keep the heat in. They're very specific about not being in a cold room or having open windows around you whilst you wait. I left mine in for about 45 minutes, then rinsed thoroughly, used the buffer lotion provided, washed again and buffer again. Don't worry if the water rinses clear, this is totally normal.
Altogether I guess the whole process took 1hour 20. And like I said, I'm left with slighter lighter roots - of dark blonde, then an inch or so away from the root, it blends well into strawberry blonde and then darker again to the ends. I think it suits my colouring (blue eyes, fair irish heritage) but it won't be to everyone's liking. The only thing I intend to do now is have a few highlights scattered through the hair to break up the block colour.
No doubt I will colour my hair again, and if it goes wrong, I will not hesitate to buy this product again.
Advantages: lifts colour at least 3 shades, easy to follow instructions
Disadvantages: doesn't quite lift to natural shade, hideous smell, long process
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did absolutely nothing

Posted18 April 2011
Customer Avatar
PorcelainPrincess
from Glasgow, Scotland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product was a total waste of money for me. I have long hair so had to use two packs, which totals over £20, and having followed the instructions to the letter there was no difference in the colour of my hair. It not only didn't work to even lighten the dye on my hair, it made it dry and coarse. I'm so disappointed as it sounds like a miracle product. Lesson learned - if it seems too good to be true it probably is! Please don't waste your money on this product.
Advantages: none
Disadvantages: does not do anything, very expensive, leaves hair feeling ravaged
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked better than i expexted

Posted28 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Jifferjen
from York
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This worked a treat, ive been dying my hair for at least 10 years - i only know what colour my natural hair is because of the horrible mousy brown roots. I've had dark brown/reddish hair for the last 3 or 4 years at least. i bought this on saturday -i was hoping to get the extra strength (as i presumed i must have quite a build up of colour) but they were out of stock so i bought this instead thinking it may not work. i'm happy to say that the colour has been lifted quite alot. it has not returned to my natural colour (i didnt think it would as i said i had a lot of red in my hair) it has instead turned a natural light red/brown which blends with my natural colour really well. i don't know whether it would have returned to my natural colour more if i had used the extra strength - but it has definatly lightened my hair considerably without damaging it with bleach. Would def recommend. Brill!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rubbish.

Posted09 March 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product did nothing to remove my hair colour. I previously had dyed red hair which became very faded. For how much it was I would of thought it would of removed the colour. After mixing it all together and putting it on my hair (which is thin) it began to burn my scalp. It was quite a long process as well. Best advice...Get it done professionally!!
Advantages: nice smell to it.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

Posted22 March 2011
Customer Avatar
wendy1805
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this product tonight to remove extremely red tones from my daughters hair. She has had her hair coloured at the hairdressers and also with Live XXL red so I was sceptical about the results but its brilliant.
After reading other reviews I followed the instructions exactly, wrapping it in cling film, keeping it in the heat and rinsing for the required time and the red is totally gone. Her natural colour is light brown and the colour now is blondey ginger but I understand that is as a result of the bleach in the colours used before and a fresh tone over the top will sort it out.
Smell wasn't as bad as others have put
Advantages: easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DOES NOT DO WHAT IT SAYS ON THE PACKET.

Posted04 April 2011
Customer Avatar
londongirl10
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
After much debating, i finally decided to go ahead and use this product. I had only dyed my hair once before in my life, I naturally have mouse brown hair and dyed it a dark brown/black. After afew months, my roots started to come through so i decided to use this product. I followed the instructions perfectly-even wrapping my hair with clingfilm as it is very long- however the overall result is not my natural hair colour. It is a somewhat ginger/orange. I am hugely dissappointed with this product as I states to take hair back to its NATURAL colour. The only benefit is that it has bought my hair to a colour which can by dyed on top of to a colour near my natural one.
Advantages: removes unwanted colour
Disadvantages: turns hair orange/ginger
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

Posted21 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Southport, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading all the reviews on this product I was sceptical about how well it would work but I found it to remove the colour from my hair amazingly. I dyed my hair a colour that was meant to be medium brown but turned my hair almost black (this was the nice and easy colourant foam in medium brown which i would not recommend as it did not look anything like the colour on the box). As this colour was permanent I thought I would have to pay a fortune to get it fixed at a salon and was worried that my hair would have to be bleached as tint can't lighten tint. I thought for this price I would try colour b4 as it couldn't make my hair any worse and though it was quite a fiddly process and the smell wasn't very pleasant (smelt abit like perming solution) I am extremely pleased with the results. My hair is now a light to medium brown, it is now a very warm tone with a slight ginger colour to it but that can easily be rectified. I think one of the best things about this product is that my hair doesn't feel damaged after using it whereas if I had gone to a salon to have a bleach bath to remove the tint my hair would be extremely dry and porous. I would recommend this product to everyone who has had a dye mishap as it worked perfectly.
Advantages: removed colour from my hair, didn't damage my hair, could do it myself with no help needed
Disadvantages: quite fiddly and has a slight smell to it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

colour b4 hair colour remover

Posted06 April 2011
Customer Avatar
bobbiejade
from colne
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i used coulour b4 hair colour remover today my hair was red and had loads of different colours under the red now i have a blondy ginger coulor i wasnt expecting it to remove all the colours s much s it did but i would recomed it to anyone and dont judge untill dry as i thought it didnt do anything untill it hd dryed so thankyou scott cornwall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Removes a degree of colour!

Posted08 April 2011
Customer Avatar
alana772
from Bournemouth
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this product in great anticipation following reading the reviews but was greatly disappointed! Dont get me wrong, it did remove some colour but does not take you back to your natural colour as stated. Maybe i should have bought the more expensive product? I followed the instructions to the most!
Advantages: removes a little colour
Disadvantages: fails to strip all dye out
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great product!

Posted10 April 2011
Customer Avatar
phoebe1morris
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I dyed my hair with XXL Red hair dye, i liked it at first but then i realised it was permanent! So i found this Colour B4 product and thought i would give it a go. I only heard afterwards that it recommends it not to be used on hair that has been dyed with XXL products BUT it worked perfectly on my hair. I followed the instructions correctly and after putting the buffering stuff on it does make your hair a little dry and coarse but i just put lot's of conditioner on and it is great!
So my hair has gone from bright red to my natural colour! It's a fantastic product and i definitely recommend it to anyone who regrets the colour of the dye they coloured their hair or if they just want to go back to their natural colour!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good will recommend!

Posted12 July 2011
Customer Avatar
sam9415
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This product is very good, i wouldnt say amazing as of price wise as it could be cheaper especially if your needing two bottles as you have long hair (which you will most definately need) I used perfect 10 dark brown which actually turned out black! and hated it. So when i was refered to this product i read the reviews, with mixed emotions i bought it anyway as to be honest if your not happy with the colour you have and you want to change it anything is better than your hair colour you wish to change. It does what is says its gets rid of the colour and returns you to a shade of your lighter colour, i know people were saying it turned you ginger but after a few washed it doesnt ( in my case after one wash it look my natural brown coppery colour) I think the price is a bit high but way worth it than a salon. plus if your not happy with the colour you can easily dye over it! My hair condition didnt change i actually feel it turned out better its so smooth! I would recommend this product it does everything it says, better than paying high end prices when you can do it yourself in less time and less money out of your pocket :) only advice is if you have long and thick hair get two bottles otherwise yourll be using the one bottle sparingly
Advantages: does what it says, can be dyed over if need as doesnt damage, better than salon price
Disadvantages: bit pricey (especially if 2bottles needed), smells a bit but onced washed its fine!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Yellow hair?

Posted13 May 2011
Customer Avatar
samboustead
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
after a colour mishap i decided to try this to see if it could bring me back to my natural colour, which is dark blonde. However after following all the instructions i ended up with bright yellowish hair. Not good, saying the lightest my hair has ever been is my natural colour.
It also stinks! it leaves your hair smelling Horrible afterwards!
i would completely recommend going to the hairdressers to sort out any colour mishaps and not using this product.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did what it said on the box!

Posted12 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Bedford, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been wanting to go back to my normal colour for a while but didn't want to pay out loads on salon fees. Then I saw this and wasn't sure of it at first, reading the mixed reviews didn't help, so I forgot about it.
Then I saw it at Boots and thought, why not, I only live once and I can soon dye it again if I hate it, so I brought it.
I read the instructions 5 times over, and read them again whilst actually doing the procedure. I followed the instructions to a T and during the 30 minutes, just listened to music whilst I was waiting. I then rinsed and buffed and rinsed again. It said on the instructions to dry it first and then decide if I liked the results so I didn't look in the mirror after I came out of the shower, and just blow dried my hair and then looked.
Wow! I hadn't realised I was properly blonde lol. The product didn't even leave that coppery colour I was expecting and my hair feels great as well.
Really pleased with the product and would definitely by it again
Well done
Advantages: easy to use, no problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says on the tin

Posted13 August 2011
Customer Avatar
AlliElle
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BACKGROUND:
I’m a natural redhead and I love my colour- but, one day, in a fit of pique and temper and just after having been annoyed thoroughly by A Man (note to self: hair is not to be tampered with post-breakup. This is the second disaster in a year and let me tell you, I’m far more distressed by the hair than the breakups. I digress…) I dyed my hair a lovely dark chocolate. I love it to begin with, despite the laments (mainly from my mother) about how lovely my natural colour was.
But then the colour faded. And my hair, which (mercifully, given my manglings of it) grows pretty fast, began to get that horrible root-y look and I decided enough was enough. So I tried Head & Shoulders, Vosene, Fairy Liquid- all failed to do anything (except make my hair just a tad rough). Now, my natural colour is not one that can be found in a bottle and I was loathe to spend a small fortune getting my hair dyed professionally.
FRIEND’S EXPERIENCE:
Then a friend, who has died her hair to every known colour for the past decade, most recently black, recommended Colour B4. She used the extra strength and her hair went a mid-ginger colour, slightly patchy but pale enough to do something with. (We THINK she’s a natural mousey brown but no one quite remembers.) HOWEVER, when she re-dyed with a colour that should have been a dark plum red, it went red black. A little further research shows that using a semi, not permanent, colour works best after using Colour B4 and to go at least a few shades lighter than the desired effect (though we’ve not tested this- she’s keeping the red black shade for a few weeks longer. She also warned me that the stuff stinks.
MY EXPERIENCE:
I went for the regular strength, as the dye I used was only semi-permanent and wasn’t years of build-up. Got the stuff home and read through the instructions. They explained that the product shrinks the hair molecules, allowing them to be washed away (not sure how this works but science was never my strong point) and warned that although Colour B4 would not alter the natural hair colour, it may have been previously damaged by chemicals in the dyes used and gave some tips on how to combat this if it turned out to be the case.
I’d suggest laying your hands on some cling-film (it helps trap heat, which helps the product work), turning the heating on (see aforementioned) and kicking everyone out of the bathroom for a good hour or so. It’s simple to use (mix solutions A and B, put on head, leave, rinse, apply solution C, rinse, solution C again, rinse) but time consuming- all in all, takes close to an hour.
My hair is now back to its former glory without a hitch or colour change. It did look a little gingery at first but darkened up to its usual auburn after a few hours. With all the rinsing (a minimum of 10 minutes in all but suggests more for longer hair- I went with 15), I was concerned my hair would be a bit straw-like but even without applying a conditioner, it was fine and after a wash and condition the next day is possibly even healthier. My only complaint is the smell- it wasn’t unbearable (possibly helped by the chocolate face mask I applied at the same time having been pre-warned about the smell) and no one else in the house noticed the smell in the room afterwards (though did through a window open right after) but it’s lingered a little in my hair. A scented conditioner has helped and it’s cleared up after a couple of washes, but I wouldn’t do this the day of a big date!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+29points
31of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>