Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Colourants or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Colour-B4 Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover

Colour-B4 Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover

Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover. Safely rewind to your colour before. The first commercial Hair Colour Remover in the UK!
Average Customer Rating:
3.783 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(217 Reviews) 217
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 217 reviews
5 stars
111
4 stars
38
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
38
134 out of 214(63%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Review 1 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Safe Your Money

Posted21 October 2009
Customer Avatar
NighwishStar
Bought tihis item after reading other reviews, as had colouring mishap. The colour afterwards was maybe a shade lighter.
COMPLETE RUBBISH for a tenner
Had more luck just using Lemon Juice & Conditioner.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good!

Posted26 September 2010
Customer Avatar
usual
I bought this due to a salon disaster leaving me a blonde/gingery colour with bleach highlights.
I didn't find the smell that bad but the endless rinsing gets very boring. I have to say that it didn't work! I knew the bleached highlights would still be there and it has knocked out some of the ginger, but it has now got me looking like a Billy Idol impersonator!
I wish I had just gone back to the salon instead - now I will have to pay to have it put right on top of the price of this item. I think it works best on home-dyed hair in brown shades. I definitely won't buy this again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC!!!!

Posted18 July 2012
Customer Avatar
emma134
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Had red hair and I wanted to do my roots and brighten the colour up with this other red colour and it went wrong and turned it dark red burgundy and I hated it! I was thinking of bleaching my hair back lighter to fix it but thats so damaging so I thought id try this! and I was amazed with the results the red just melted away back to the ginger colour I had it bleached to before dying it red first time. So now I get dye my hair back bright red like i wanted! Im very pleased with the results!!!
only thing is the smell is like eggs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pulled out some of the colour... left patchy

Posted30 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Shellie91
I dyed my hair pink a month ago.. i liked it but I needed to get the colour out as its my sisters wedding in two months and i need my hair a more natural colour. I didnt want to bleach my hair again (my hair is already damaged from bleach) so I thought I would give this ago.
The plan was to use this to get the pink out of my hair and then I could get it dyed back to brown at the salon.
I used it but to my dissapointed although it did take alot of the colour out, it left my hair very streaky. I havve blonde bits and light pink bits and dark pink bits all over my hair!! my hair was fully covered so it wanst that there wasnt enough of it.
I am going to buy a box of the extra strength and see if that will tae the rest of the colour out. I noticed that I did not follow the instructions correctly as it says to rince your hair for 10 minutes? Maybe I didnt rinse it long enough.. anyway I will write another review after my second box of colour b4.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic hair colour remover!

Posted28 June 2011
Customer Avatar
Becki27
from Durham
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this before reading the back of the box properly, got a bit scared when it mentioned fresh hair dye, I've dyed my hair on and off since November last year, I've been brunette and red a few times, last colour I put on was around May, it was permanent dark brown.
Anyway, I thought "I've bought it now, I'm gonna risk it", WELL worth the risk! I've gone back to mousy brown/blonde, i.e. my natural colour, jeez it's amazing.
People complained about the stench, it's not THAT bad!! Also the buffer that's used at the end smells sooooooo lovely, so it's worth it lol
I definitely recommend it!
Advantages: easy to use, actually works!
Disadvantages: bit pricy, despite being easy it's a long process
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Colour b4

Posted14 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Zarri
Tried this to remove black colour at it worked ! Now the colour I have is perfect would defiantly recommend this product very pleased
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant :-)

Posted20 March 2014
Customer Avatar
MagsB25
I dyed my hair red, got bored then dyed it black :-( it didn't suit me and i looked really pale. Had a look at the reviews on here for color remover, decided id give it a go. So happy i did. All red and black dye now gone Yay my hair is now a nice light brown and looks natural. Its easy to apply wait 30/60 minutes (whichever preferred) wash out, its like magic haha. What a bargain to. Makes your hair feel lovely and soft. Happy customer B-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Colour B4 is brill!

Posted20 June 2010
Customer Avatar
teapot2
Was convinced it wouldn't work as I had 2 layers of semi permanent which was about 2 months old and wouldnt wash out quick enough to avoid major root growth! But although I still have slight patchy areas in the colour I think it's only something I will notice and the result is better than I'd hoped for. The only down side was the eggy smell!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A-mazing.

Posted24 July 2010
Customer Avatar
NikkiBe
Like me you'll be reading all these comments and will be quite dubious as, like they make people do in adverts, ul just hear positive after positive comment. Well this is for real and i can assure you im just a person who's messed up her hair and found this online. I was a bleached blonde (natural color dark blonde) and wanted to get back to my natural colour. Died it a meduim brown and it went more red then brown. I redied it three times. It was hair pigment not changing to the right colour not the hair dye. I bought this and being blonde I used the after care with the mixer A instead of Mixer A and mixer B and scrubbed t through for 20 minutes!! I was mortified!! But guess what.. My colour turned completely natural in the same time even with my inability to read instructions properly. (So make sure YOU do!). Get a good after care conditioner and voila...I would use it again AND tell others too!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!!!

Posted25 October 2011
Customer Avatar
dariuuuuu
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been dying my hair different colours for the past 3 years (bleach blonde, dark brown, purple, and recently red ) then I decided I wanted to go back to my natural hair colour which is dark blonde but I didn't want to spend a fortune to get it done professionally. Then I've heard about colour b4 and decided to give it a go! I have read different reviews and some of you loved it and some of you didn't so I wasn't sure if I should do it and what to expect. I did everything that was written in the leaflet and after 45 minutes I washed it out, when I looked in the mirror I was amazed, I had this beautiful, beautiful dark blonde hair, I am so happy with this product and would recommend it to anyone, one of the best products I've used. It didn't dry out my hair it's in the exact same condition as it was before.
Advantages: does what it says, excellent results, cheap
Disadvantages: smell
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow !

Posted28 January 2011
Customer Avatar
Katekierz
So I have tried all colours including black, red and purple but I always go back to blonde, which is my natural colour, I have been platinum blonde for some time and fancied a change so asked my hairdresser to try honey blonde but unfortunately it came out cinnamon/copper. I wasn't sure what to do and did not want to bleach it so I decided to give this product a try. It stunk and washing the 'molecules' out was a lengthy process :) but the result is amazing, managed to go about three tones lighter and my hair is now beautiful light honey blonde- just what I wanted. I can't see any damage but I decided to sit with conditioner for about an hour and maybe that's why my hair look okay. I never write reviews so apologies if its a bit all over the place but I love this product and would use again if I had to (hopefully not) :)
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ignore the bad reviews!!!

Posted12 January 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Sheffield
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I have been dye-ing my hair for over 30 years, usually red/brown shades but recently I have developed a lot of grey hairs which meant having to dye my roots once a fortnight. I decided to try this to take out the dark colour so I could re-dye a lighter shade.
Yes it smells, it's chemically but so what? It's not unbearable!
Yes it's time consuming, you have to leave the initial product on for an hour but if you wrap cling film around your head you speed this up because it traps heat and therefore speeds up the process and reduces the smell.
You do have to rinse for an age but that's no big deal is it?!
The results were not exactly as I expected, the product removes all the colour but you have used peroxide with every dye and this means I was left with a kind of bleached effect, however, this was easily sorted by putting a light toner on to just add a bit of depth. I would have coloured straight away but the product advised to rest the hair for a few weeks.
It neither improved the condition of my hair or made it any worse but I did use a deep conditioner and this made my hair look so much better than before I started.
Overall, all I can advise is that you READ the instructions and follow them to the letter, use cling film to speed up the process and reduce the smell and buy a toner for straight after.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brilliant!

Posted28 January 2011
Customer Avatar
jessjess297
I would really recommend this, I bought this product after dying my hair with casting creme gloss in caramel. I have blonde hair and after a few washes it started to look green. So I decided to give this ago. It took a long time but it was defiantly worth it, my hair is basically back to its original colour (it only as a little bit of a tint.) It would have taken forever for it wash out so this was the perfect solution.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Amazing

Posted26 August 2013
Customer Avatar
alltimec4ts
from Essex
Age:Under 18
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Up to one month
Uses Product:Once per year
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used this on a friend who had a gingery colour hair and it turned it blonde. I've also used this product on my own hair and it stripped all the colour out and I was very pleased with the result.
Most of the people complaining about this product should have used the Extra Strength version. It's not recommended to use it more than once in a row because it won't work as well. It says on the instructions that if if you're not satisfied with the colour, you should dye it your desired colour, or a colour as close to your natural colour (or words to that effect) so the people complaining clearly didn't read the contents and packaging fully.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing!

Posted10 July 2011
Customer Avatar
graciee100
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i was sceptical at first but bought it because of the good reviews and im amazed! i havent been my natural hair colour in 5 years! got rid of every last scrap of dye and actually made my hair feel in better condition than before i used it! and it doesnt smell bad really!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

colour b4

Posted04 January 2011
Customer Avatar
hjsheehan
After reading the reveiws i thought this is a miracle product, but sadly it didnt do anything to my red hair colour. very disapointed
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok if you want to be ginger

Posted13 April 2011
Customer Avatar
sarahxoxoxoxox
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had a brown dye on my hair and i am naturally a very light blonde so then use the b4 colour to get my hair back to that colour, I have now used it twice and my hair is still ginger, ginger is NOT my natural hair colour and the dye was only semi-permenant, although it has stripped the colour out I am left to spend a large amount of money to correct it, I would not recommend this to a friend.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Colour B4 - Miracle Worker!!!

Posted25 March 2010
Customer Avatar
seventhheaven
I have naturally ginger hair, which I love, but I got a bit bored and stupidly decided to dye it a semi permanent dark brown! Loved it for a day, but after then I decided my complexion was way too pale and I actually preferred my natural hair colour. I tried EVERYTHING!! including washing my hair with fairy liquid, using lemon juice etc to get the colour out and none of them worked, maybe faded it by about 1%. I came across Colour B4 on the boots website and decided 15 pound odd would be worth it if it worked! Im pleased to say it did!!! Took me around an hour to use the product and blow dry my hair to see the results and Im thrilled!! My hair is back to its original colour, which is a hard colour to come across. I definetly recommened this product to anyone who's had a hair dye disaster, all I say is make sure you follow the instructions exactly, cause you never know if you'll get a different result if you dont.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

i want a refund

Posted25 July 2010
Customer Avatar
marisol92
it removed no dye, i look exactly the same as before, which is mid brown hair dye with dark brown roots growing through.
now i have no choice but to dye over this hair and end up with uneven colour.
it makes your hair feel weird and crunchy after washing it out as well.
also the aftersmell is DISGUSTING, even my boyfriend was turned off from the weird rotten smell emanating from my hair.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Really, really useless.

Posted04 January 2010
Customer Avatar
Eliza
This was a waste of money. From reading the reviews it sounded like it would work. I followed the instructions to the letter and nothing happened. I have come to the conclusion it only works on some brands, it does NOT work on Nice'n'Easy dark blonde shades.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>