Boots Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boots
Shop Hair offers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Colour-B4 Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover

Colour-B4 Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover

Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover. Safely rewind to your colour before. The first commercial Hair Colour Remover in the UK!
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(224 Reviews) 224
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 224 reviews
5 stars
112
4 stars
40
3 stars
17
2 stars
14
1 star
41
134 out of 214(63%)reviews would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Review 1 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Safe Your Money

Posted21 October 2009
Customer Avatar
NighwishStar
Bought tihis item after reading other reviews, as had colouring mishap. The colour afterwards was maybe a shade lighter.
COMPLETE RUBBISH for a tenner
Had more luck just using Lemon Juice & Conditioner.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really pleased!

Posted20 January 2010
Customer Avatar
MousyNoMore
Just blow dried my hair after following the Colour B4 instructions (exactly!) and i'm really pleased; it rinsed out ALL of the mousy brown permanent pigment I used 5 days ago, just as advertised. And i've been left with highlighted blonde, which is ten times better! However, as I had ash highlights all over my naturally blonde hair, the final colour is very brassy - which is mentioned as an expectation on the instruction leaflet. However, this can be corrected very quickly with an ash toner - i'm going to the hairdresser's! - so all in all a very impressive product. Just be warned that if you've got dyed v.blonde or platinum hair it may look yellowy after the final rinse, but don't panic like I did, it's very easily and cheaply corrected either with a toning shampoo or a hairdresser.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Result!

Posted17 April 2010
Customer Avatar
twirl58
Have been colouring my hair with Boots Semi-Permanent Dark Brown for the last couple of years and thought I would gradually go lighter as befitting my advancing years! Used Casting Walnut which was described as medium brown on the box, thought I would then use the Honey Brown next time and end up with my chosen colour. How wrong I was! My flat, dull hair couldn't have been any blacker if it was black!
Purchased B4 and a pack of Boots Golden Brown Semi-Permanent as a back up. Nervously applied it this morning and I am left with golden brown hair so wont be needing the colourant.
I only noticed the rotten egg smell when I did the sensitvity test so didn't think it was too bad during application.
I would say that my hair feels coarser now but will try some deep conditioning mask on it later. Has it returned my hair to its original colour? To be honest I couldn't say as it must be at least 20 years since I saw it. It isn't an ideal colour now but I can live with it.
All I all I am very satifisfied with the result.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

colour b4- pink box

Posted19 July 2010
Customer Avatar
Jacqui650cc
I had an allergic reation to the full strength one but did not have a reaction to the pink boxed one, this product is a miracle, I have been colouring my hair for over 20 years everything from black to copper, recently dyed my hair dark brown but it turned out black - used colour b4 and got it back to a lovely sandy brown colour- highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

yeahy!

Posted18 August 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I used the regular strength (no extra strength available), not without a lot of doubt, as I have had many a bad colour mishap. My hair was bleached blonde at the start of the year, but I decided to dye a deep cherry red/brown over the top recently. My hair wasn't having any of it and came out in patches after a couple of washes. Instead of turning to colour b4 then, I just kept redying it the pretty black cherry colour untill I decided enough was enough.
Skeptical that the regular strength wouldn't budge many weeks worth of re-dying with permanent, I gave it a go...
after the twenty minutes I washed it out, buffered and to my surprise the red has totally gone, I'm left with a nice, even, lightish brown.
Thank god someones designed something for the masses thats better than orange-tastic irn bru hair bleach.
Highly recommend for all those who change their hair frequently only to look at photos of themselves from a few months ago and say..."I wish I was still blonde"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing !

Posted28 January 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisathefox
I was unsure if it would work but it does ! I am very impressed :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

gave me ginger hair!

Posted07 September 2011
Customer Avatar
lydmill22
Gender:Female
i died my hair dark brown in april then let it fade to a medium brown, i used this product before going abroad to give me my natural hair colour back ready for the sun. however, the product didnt give me back my natural hair.. it instead cemi-bleched it to a reddy ginger colour and made my hair very dry. since then i have tried dieing my hair a mousy brown but it still has a hint of orange in it.. i wouldnt reccomend using this unless you want to be a laughing stock of your friends!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad experience

Posted20 September 2011
Customer Avatar
Trishak
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used this product after reading all the good reviews and thought what could go wrong. My hair is very short and naturally a mousey brown colour and I had been using Castings semi permanent in Plum for about 6 months, I was hoping to strip the colour out so I could go back to full head blonde. I used Colour B4 as instructed and after the first attempt my hair was very orange, I used it again and it was still very orange. As it says in the instructions that it can be high lighted after using his I bought a Live XXL colour to see if it would bleach my hair and get rid of the orange. Once I had rinsed off the bleach I was gutted to find that my roots were white and the rest of my hair was now illuminous orange!! I then put a 'wash in wash out' brown colour on it as I didnt have anything else and could not go outside looking as I did. The colour I put on did not take as it was still orange, I called a friend who is a hairdresser and she came round and put a quasi-semi colour in brown over the top and was shocked when I told her what had happened. The colour she put in did cover the orange but there is still a red tinge even through the brown.
I would suggest that anyone thinking about using this product should be well prepared for it to go wrong, make sure you have a back up colour to apply should your hair go orange.
Good luck!
Disadvantages: it doesn't work for everyone
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ABSOLUTELY AWFUL PRODUCT

Posted05 April 2012
Customer Avatar
Imogen703
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Application 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am naturally a brunette, and have had highlights in my hair for the last 2 months and wanted to go back to my natural colour. I read the instructions for this word for word and I would never ever use it again. Firstly the smell is absolutely awful. I have washed my hair several times and it still smells, think rotten eggs! Secondly it didn't take any colour out of my hair but made it BRIGHT GINGER. PLEASE don't waste your money on this product!
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-17points
3of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

Posted05 May 2012
Customer Avatar
jvics
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Application 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used it after dip dying my blonde hair with semi permanent blue hair dye, I've used it twice now and the colour hasn't faded at all and my hair has now been left very dry from the remover.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rescue Remedy

Posted07 September 2010
Customer Avatar
aimie33
I would say this product is effective for freshly dyed hair but I would recommend the Extra Strength product for built up colour.
Also, have a deep conditioner handy for post treatment as my hair felt sticky and dry during the rinse steps. It returned to normal condition after conditioning though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Word...AMAZZZING!

Posted04 February 2011
Customer Avatar
Bimboxhollie
I have bleach blonde hair with mousy blonde roots that are about 6 inches now. I decided i wanted a change and bought a Mahogny died (was meant to turn out like Cheryl Coles hair) i put it on my hair and washed it out and it was AWFUL! it was patchy, my roots were a full brown and the ends were a bright reddy pink. It was just bad. The next day after much research on this product i figured what the heck, my hair is already bad what could happen. I bought it, slapped it on, followed it to the T and to my suprise my hair is blonder than before and looks fab! I'd reccomend this to anyone! Big thumbs up :) im very happy with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

inexpensive and does not harm your hair

Posted15 February 2011
Customer Avatar
magzeeb
from widnes
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:Never
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
omg!! used this product today after I dyed my hair a medium brown which turned out black i was impressed because i have a sensitive scalp and i had no problems colour i was left with was of a gingery tone i would advise to use a colour straight away i used a blonde colour and the results are fabulous I cannot recommend this product enough
Advantages: cheaper than a hair salon
Disadvantages: bit smelly rinsing is a pain
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product actually works

Posted10 September 2012
Customer Avatar
mandimoo1963
from west midlands
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Uses Product:A few times per year
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Application 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is brilliant-know that i can change my hair colour whenever i want now
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product for me

Posted07 February 2014
Customer Avatar
mandy524
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
after reviewing all the comments wasn't sure to try this product or not,
But after reading them , i thought i will give it ago, and was very pleased with the outcome, i have had blonde foils a while ago and wanted to go blonde , so brought the colour put it on ... nope didn't like it , Its was too dark, so brought colourb4 hair colour remover .... great result lifted the colour out and i now have the colour i wanted nice and blonde :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good...but...

Posted09 May 2015
Customer Avatar
steph28s
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Owned Product for:Less than one week
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Application 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used this product to get rid of the permanent mahogany brown dye that I had used about 5 weeks ago.
First of all please please read the infomation leaflet carefully...twice!
The product was easy to put on your hair, it had a consistency between water and runny honey. Now it does smell kinda eggy, but it wasn't that bad I just kinda slapped it on quick to my short hair covered it in some cling film and a then a towel so the heat would make it more effective.
After the 30mins was up its time to rinse rinse and rinse some more! I did everything that the leaflet told me to do, so I was kinda shocked that my hair came out a pale gingery colour. So either this was my natural colour (not seen it for years so it could have been) or I had dyed it so much over the years that my hair is permanently stained forever.
I'm not saying that I regret using this the complete opposite in fact, I was just sort of expecting to see my natural hair colour.
And again don't be put off by all the negative comments about the smell, yes it isn't pleasant but after the final rinse I used a Bumble and Bumble Invisible Oil conditioner, it got rid of the smell and left my hair soft.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor

Posted12 May 2015
Customer Avatar
Laurenk16
After reading the reviews to this product I tried this product myself last night and after leaving it on for 60 mins and following the instructions correctly I ended up with bleach blond hair and bright orange ends( my natural colour is brown). Also on this product description it does state to leave on for 20-30mins NOT 60 mins as stated in the instruction leaflet! Not happy went back and got a refund!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

Posted19 February 2010
Customer Avatar
zappezappe
My hair is naturally dark blonde (which i wanted to go back to), i had a nightmare at the hairdressers and they messed up big time, my hair went from a light brown colour to bleach blonde, to auburn and lastly to dark brown.
Im pleased to report that the product got rid of the dark brown and auburn hair dye as intended and has left me with a warm dark blonde colour, which is the colour I was wanting in the first place.
I definitely think its great value for money- especially when you compare salon stripping prices and also I found that the product didnt smell half as bad as I expected it to as some of the reviews suggest.
It is a shame that the product isnt stocked in the Boots store (well it wasnt in my local store) and is only available online as it is such a good product and as you know, in a hair disaster you want a fix ASAP so it would be great if it were in stores.
I was hesitant to use this product at first, however after consulting the maker of this product himself, i received excellent advice- the customer service was brillant!.
My only regret was not using this product sooner!.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

Posted19 July 2010
Customer Avatar
jomaryaustin
Used this stuff yesterday and I am so pleased with the results. Decided to go a shade darker than usual on Saturday, big mistake, ended up looking like the undead, slept on it, woke up looking even worse if it were possible (for "natural dark brown" on the pack read "blacker than black so you look like extra from Twilight"). Ran into Boots, got regular strength Colour B4, really easy to use and not messy at all (expected black goo everywhere but my hair rinsed completely clear), it restored my original colour only a bit lighter but I love the results, hair looks all sunkissed and coppery. This product is a life saver if you mess up your dye job. Highly recommended and worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Colour B4. Hair Colour Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good!

Posted26 September 2010
Customer Avatar
usual
I bought this due to a salon disaster leaving me a blonde/gingery colour with bleach highlights.
I didn't find the smell that bad but the endless rinsing gets very boring. I have to say that it didn't work! I knew the bleached highlights would still be there and it has knocked out some of the ginger, but it has now got me looking like a Billy Idol impersonator!
I wish I had just gone back to the salon instead - now I will have to pay to have it put right on top of the price of this item. I think it works best on home-dyed hair in brown shades. I definitely won't buy this again.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>